Volume 40 - Issue 28 - July 15, 2021
State of Kansas
Office of the Governor
Executive Order No. 21-24
Expansion of Paid Parental Leave for State of Kansas Employees
WHEREAS, time spent by new parents bonding and nurturing the newest member of their family is critical to a child’s health and development;
WHEREAS, paid time off for new parents allows them to focus their time and efforts on their new family member without having to be concerned with the financial impact of being away from their job or the possibility of losing their job because they chose to spend time with their new child;
WHEREAS, paid time off for new parents is an important benefit that many employers offer in order to retain current employees and attract new employees who plan to start a family;
WHEREAS, recruiting and retaining the best and brightest individuals to serve the citizens of Kansas is an ongoing and important goal of this Administration;
WHEREAS, allowing parents to spend quality time with their children leads to stronger families and communities, which in turn makes Kansas a better place to live, work, and raise a family.
NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to the authority vested in me as Governor of the State of Kansas, I hereby expand the State of Kansas Parental Leave Policy and order the following for all State of Kansas employees of all agencies, departments, or other entities in the Executive Branch under my jurisdiction:
- Every benefits-eligible employee in an agency, department, or other entity under my jurisdiction, whether employed in a classified or unclassified position or on a full or part-time basis, shall be eligible to receive paid parental leave for the birth or adoption of a child or the placement of a foster child(ren). Employees starting after the effective date of this Executive Order must be employed by the State of Kansas for a period of at least 180 days before being eligible for such leave.
- Every parent who is the primary caregiver shall receive eight weeks of paid parental leave.
- Every parent who is the secondary caregiver shall receive four weeks of paid parental leave.
- If both parents are State of Kansas employees, each parent shall receive parental leave, which may be taken concurrently, consecutively, or at different times.
- For employees who assume the placement of a foster child(ren), eligibility for paid parental leave pursuant to this Executive Order shall be limited to a total of eight weeks per calendar year for primary caregiver and four weeks per calendar year for the secondary caregiver.
- Paid parental leave authorized under this Executive Order provides leave at 100% of regular salary.
- Employees utilizing paid parental leave shall continue to accrue vacation and sick leave in accordance with State rules and regulations during the period of parental leave. Official and observed holidays for the State of Kansas shall not be counted against parental leave.
- Paid parental leave shall run concurrently with Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) leave if the employee is eligible.
- Paid parental leave may not be donated and any such leave not utilized within 12 weeks after the birth, adoption, or foster placement shall be forfeited.
- Paid parental leave may be used up to 30 days prior to the projected date of birth or adoption of a child, or the placement of a foster child(ren), for time away from work in preparation for or otherwise directly related to the arrival of the child.
- The Office of Personnel Services within the Kansas Department of Administration shall issue guidelines and establish leave codes to implement this policy and make such information available to State of Kansas agencies and employees.
- Other statewide elected officials, independent boards and commissions, the Regents Universities, and the Judicial and Legislative Branches are encouraged to adopt comparable policies for their employees.
- Executive Order 18-19 is hereby rescinded and superseded by this order.
This document shall be filed with the Secretary of State as Executive Order No. 21-24 and shall become effective immediately.
Dated July 6, 2021.
Doc. No. 049285