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EXPLANATORY PREFACE

This volume has been compiled and published in accordance with K.S.A. 77-430a and other
applicable laws.

ARRANGEMENT OF RULES AND REGULATIONS

Administrative rules and regulations of the various state agencies are arranged in accordance
with a three-part system of numbers divided by hyphens. The first number indicates the agency;
the second number indicates the article (a group of regulations of such agency upon the same
subject); the last number indicates the specific section or regulation within the article. For example,
“1-4-11"" refers to agency No. 1, article No. 4 and section No. 11.

The law requires that agencies cite the statutory authority for the regulation and the section(s) of
the statutes which the regulation implements. This is published at the end of the text of the regu-
lation. In addition, the Secretary of State includes a history of the regulation which indicates the
original effective date of the regulation and each subsequent amendment.

SALES

Volumes of the Kansas Administrative Regulations are sold by the Elections/Legislative Matters
Division of the Office of the Secretary of State, First Floor, Memorial Hall, 120 SW 10th Ave.,
Topeka, KS 66612-1594, (785) 296-4557.

CHRIs BIGGs, Secretary of State



COMMENTARY

This volume has been compiled and published in accordance with K.S.A. 77-430a and other
applicable laws.

The 2010 Supplement contains rules and regulations filed after Dec. 31, 2008 and before Jan.
1,2010. Regulations filed on and after Jan. 1, 2010 may be located by checking the Kansas Register,
Kansas’ official state newspaper. An index appears at the back of each Kansas Register and lists the
volume and page number of the Register that contains the most recent version of the particular
regulation. To receive a copy or subscribe to the Kansas Register, write to the Secretary of State’s
Office, Kansas Register, First Floor, Memorial Hall, 120 SW 10th Ave., Topeka, KS 66612, or call
(785) 296-3489.

The history at the end of each regulation cites the authorizing and implementing statute(s). Any
subsequent action follows. For example, in ““amended, T-7-12-11-90, Dec. 31, 1990" the “T"
means temporary, the /7"" is the number assigned to the agency in the K.A.R. volumes, and 12-
11-90 is the date that the regulation was filed. Following the last comma is the effective date.
Therefore, the amendment was filed as a temporary regulation on Dec. 11, 1990 and the amend-
ment became effective on Dec. 31, 1990. If the ““T number” is not included in an action on a
regulation, the regulation was filed as a permanent regulation. A temporary regulation becomes
effective upon approval by the State Rules and Regulations Board and filing in the Secretary of
State’s Office or at a later date when specified in the body of the regulation. A temporary regulation
lasts 120 days unless it is amended or revoked within 120 days. A permanent regulation is effective
15 days following publication in the Kansas Register or at a later date specified in the body of the
regulation. Prior to July 1, 1995, a permanent regulation became effective 45 days following pub-
lication in the Kansas Register or at a later date specified in the body of the regulation. The regulation
remains in effect until amended or revoked.

To find the most recent version of a regulation, first check the index in the Kansas Register, next
check the current K.A.R. Supplement, and finally check the current K.A.R. volume. If the regulation
is found at any of these sequential steps, stop and consider that version the most recent.

General Rules: Volumes replace earlier volumes.
Supplements replace earlier supplements.
Supplements are additions that “supplement’ current volumes.

For example, the 2010 Supplement supplements the 2009 Volumes. At printing, the current
publications are the 2009 Kansas Administrative Regulations, Volumes 1-5, and the 2010 Supple-
ment. The 2010 Supplement contains rules and regulations filed after Dec. 31, 2008 and before
Jan. 1, 2010. Subsequent regulations are published in the Kansas Register and found using the
Kansas Register’s index to the K.A.R. When an individual volume is published, it replaces the same
volume of an earlier year. For example, a 2009 Volume 2 would replace a 2006 Volume 2.

Any questions regarding the K.A.R. may be directed to the Secretary of State’s Office by calling
(785) 296-4564. Questions regarding the filing procedure may be directed to the Kansas Admin-
istrative Regulations Director at (785) 296-2114. For purchasing inquiries call (785) 296-4557.
Questions concerning the subject matter of a regulation should be directed to the agency admin-
istering the regulation.

CHRIS BIGGS, Secretary of State
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Agency 1

Kansas Department of Administration

Articles
1-2. DEFINITIONS.

1-7. PROBATIONARY PERIOD AND EMPLOYEE EVALUATION.
1-14. LAYOFF PROCEDURES AND ALTERNATIVES TO LAYOFF.

Article 2—DEFINITIONS

1-2-64. Probationary employee. “Proba-
tionary employee” means any individual serving a
probationary period pursuant to K.A.R. 1-7-4 (a)
or (d). (Authorized by K.S.A. 75-3706 and K.S.A.
2008 Supp. 75-3747; implementing K.S.A. 75-
2943, 75-2946, 75-3707, and 75-3746; effective
Sept. 25, 2009.)

1-2-65. Probationary status. “Probation-
ary status” means the status of an employee serv-
ing a probationary period pursuant to K.A.R. 1-7-
4 (a) or (d). (Authorized by K.S.A. 75-3706 and
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-3747; implementing K.S.A.
75-2938, 75-2943, 75-2946, 75-3707, and 75-
3746; effective May 1, 1979; amended Sept. 25,
2009.)

Article 7.—PROBATIONARY PERIOD
AND EMPLOYEE EVALUATION

1-7-3. Probationary period required. (a)
The probationary period shall be considered as a
working test of the employee’s ability to perform
adequately in the position to which the employee
was hired. In order to aid the agency in developing
efficient employees, the supervisor shall give rea-
sonable instruction and training that may be re-
quired throughout the probationary period. Each
appointing authority shall establish procedures so
that any problems with probationary employees
will be brought to the attention of the agency
management for appropriate action before the
end of the probationary period.

(b)  Before the end of the probationary period,
the appointing authority shall provide the director
with results of a performance review for the em-
ployee. If the overall performance review rating
given to a probationary employee before the end
of the employee’s probationary period is unsatis-
factory, the employee shall not be granted per-
manent status. The performance review ratings

required by this subsection shall not be required
to occur within the time period established in
K.AR. 1-7-10 (a)(3).

(c) Except as provided in K.AR. 1-7-4, all
new hires, promotions, and rehires shall be ten-
tative and subject to a probationary period as au-
thorized by K.A.R. 1-7-4. If the probationary pe-
riod of an employee is to be extended as
authorized by K.A.R. 1-7-4, the appointing au-
thority, before the end of the probationary period,
shall furnish the employee with a copy of the per-
formance review stating that the probationary pe-
riod is extended. Results of the performance re-
view shall be provided to the director.

(d) Any probationary employee, other than an
employee on probation due to a promotion from
a position in which the employee had permanent
status, may be dismissed by the appointing au-
thority at any time during the probationary period.

(e) This regulation shall be effective on and
after October 1, 2009. (Authorized by K.S.A. 75-
3706 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-3747; imple-
menting K.S.A. 75-2943, 75-2946, 75-3707, and
75-3746; effective May 1, 1983; amended May 1,
1984; amended, T-86-17, June 17, 1985; amended
May 1, 1986; amended Dec. 17, 1995; amended
June 5, 2005; amended Oct. 1, 2009.)

1-7-4. Duration of probationary period.
(a) Each new hire and each rehire made on a basis
other than reemployment or reinstatement who is
employed in a regular position shall be subject to
a probationary period of six months. This proba-
tionary period may be extended by the appointing
authority for not more than six additional months
if action to extend the probationary period is taken
before the end of the original six-month proba-
tionary period. A probationary period of not more
than 12 months may be established by the ap-
pointing authority if specific training or certifica-
tion requirements for a position cannot be com-
pleted within six months.
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(b) Each employee who is promoted shall be
subject to a probationary period of not less than
three months and not more than six months as
determined by the appointing authority. How-
ever, a probationary period of not more than 12
months may be established by the appointing au-
thority if specific training or certification require-
ments for a position cannot be completed within
six months. Each employee with permanent status
who serves a probationary period in accordance
with this subsection shall retain permanent status
throughout the probationary period.

(c) Each person rehired on the basis of reem-
ployment shall have permanent status effective on
the date of rehire.

(d) Each person rehired on the basis of rein-
statement shall be subject to a probationary pe-
riod of not less than three months and not more
than six months as determined by the appointing
authority.

(e) Time on leave with or without pay of more
than 30 consecutive calendar days shall not count
towards total time served on probation. The em-
ployee’s probationary period shall be continued
effective with the employee’s return from leave
until the total probation time served equals the
time required for the position.

(f) Each employee with permanent status
who is transferred from one agency to another, or
transferred within the same agency, shall continue
to have permanent status.

(g) If a probationary employee is transferred
from one position in a class to another position in
the same class or another class in the same pay
grade, the transfer shall have no effect on the em-
ployee’s probationary period. The probationary
period may be extended by the appointing au-
thority for not more than six additional months by
giving written notice of the extension to the em-
ployee and director before the expiration of the
original six-month probationary period.

(h) Each employee who is transferred, de-
moted, or promoted from any position in the un-
classified service to a regular position in the clas-
sified service shall serve a probationary period of
six months.

(i) Persons serving in temporary positions
shall not be subject to a probationary period.

(j) Each employee in a governor’s trainee po-
sition or a position in a training classification shall
be placed on probation for six months when pro-
moted to the regular class at the end of the train-

ing period.

(k) This regulation shall be effective on and
after October 1, 2009. (Authorized by K.S.A. 75-
3706 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-3747; imple-
menting K.S.A. 75-2943, 75-2946, 75-3707, and
75-3746; effective May 1, 1983; amended May 1,
1985; amended Dec. 27, 1993; amended Dec. 17,
1995; amended Oct. 1, 2009.)

1-7-6. Notices relating to probationary
periods and extensions. (a) Before the expira-
tion of each employee’s probationary period, a
performance review shall be completed and a rat-
ing shall be assigned, and the appointing authority
shall notify the employee and the director in writ-
ing of one of the following:

(1) The employee has been dismissed or
demoted.

(2) The probationary period is being ex-
tended, if extension is permissible under the pro-
visions of K.A.R. 1-7-4.

(3) The employee is being given permanent
status.

(b) If a probationary employee has not been
notified in accordance with subsection (a) by the
end of any probationary period, the employee
shall be deemed to have been given permanent
status. In case of dispute as to whether the em-
ployee was notified, a determination shall be
made by the director. (Authorized by K.S.A. 75-
3706 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-3747; imple-
menting K.S.A. 75-2943, 75-2946, 75-3707, and
75-3746; effective May 1, 1983; amended, T-86-
17, June 17, 1985; amended May 1, 1986;
amended May 1, 1987; amended Dec. 17, 1995;
amended Sept. 25, 2009.)

1-7-7. Dismissal of probationary em-
ployee by director. The director may dismiss a
probationary employee at any time during the em-
ployee’s probationary period, after giving the em-
ployee notice and an opportunity to be heard, if
the director finds that the employee was ap-
pointed as a result of a violation of the provisions
of the act or these regulations. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 75-3706 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-3747,;
implementing K.S.A. 75-2943, 75-2946, 75-3707,
and 75-3746; effective May 1, 1983; amended
Sept. 25, 2009.)

1-7-10. Performance reviews. (a) Each
agency’s appointing authority shall implement the
state performance management process that was
developed in accordance with L. 2008, Ch. 159,
Sec. 1 and shall ensure that performance reviews
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are conducted in accordance with this process for
each employee in the classified service. The per-
formance review shall be used to inform employ-
ees of their expected performance outcomes and
to assess the effectiveness of each employee.

(1) The performance review of each em-
ployee shall be completed by the employee’s im-
mediate supervisor or, if the employee’s imme-
diate supervisor has not supervised the employee
for at least 90 days, by another qualified person
designated by the appointing authority. “Qualified
person” shall mean a person who is familiar with
the duties and responsibilities of the employee’s
position and has significant knowledge of the job
performance of the employee.

(2) A performance review shall be completed
and a rating assigned at least annually in the man-
ner required and on the forms prescribed by the
director. An agency may add additional, job-re-
lated performance criteria and measures to the
forms prescribed by the director, as determined
by the appointing authority.

(3) Performance ratings for all permanent
employees shall be assigned on an annual basis
within the period beginning October 1 and ending
December 31.

(4) Midyear reviews for all permanent em-
ployees shall be conducted on an annual basis
within the period beginning April 1 and ending

une 30.

(5) The appointing authority may conduct a
special performance review rating for any em-
ployee at any time, unless prohibited under
K.AR. 1-14-8 due to pending layoffs.

(6) Each employee who receives an unsatis-
factory rating on either of the essential require-
ments set out on the form prescribed by the di-
rector shall have an overall performance review
rating of unsatisfactory.

(7)  Each employee shall be given the oppor-
tunity to sign the employee’s performance review
as evidence that the employee has been informed
of the performance review rating. The employee’s
signature shall not abridge the employee’s right of
appeal if the employee disagrees with the rating.
The failure of the employee to sign the perform-
ance review shall not invalidate the rating.

(b)(1) Any employee entitled to appeal a rat-
ing under K. A.R. 1-7-11 may do so within seven
calendar days after being informed of the rating.
After the period of seven calendar days for filing
appeals has expired and if no appeal has been
filed, the appointing authority or the authority’s

designee shall review the rating, make any
changes deemed necessary, sign the performance
review, place the entire original performance re-
view in the employee’s official personnel file, and
provide a copy of the review to the employee. In
addition, the appointing authority may provide
copies to each reviewer if the appointing authority
deems necessary.

(2) If the appointing authority makes any
change in the rating or adds any comment on the
performance review, the review shall be returned
to the employee to be signed again, and the em-
ployee, if eligible to appeal the rating, shall again
have seven calendar days to file an appeal to the
appointing authority. The final results of the per-
formance review shall be reported to the director.

(c) Subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 75-
2949e and amendments thereto, two performance
review ratings of less than meets expectations that
are conducted within 180 days may be utilized as
a basis for demotion, suspension, or dismissal of
the employee.

(d) If the overall performance review rating
assigned to a probationary employee at the end of
the employee’s probationary period is unsatisfac-
tory, the employee shall not be granted perma-
nent status.

(e) This regulation shall be effective on and
after October 1, 2009. (Authorized by K.S.A. 75-
2943, K.S.A. 75-3706, and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-
3747; implementing K.S.A. 75-2943, 75-2949e,
75-3706, and 75-3746; effective May 1, 1983;
amended May 1, 1984; amended, T-86-17, June
17, 1985; amended May 1, 1986; amended, T-1-
7-27-89, July 27, 1989; amended Nov. 20, 1989;
amended Dec. 17, 1995; amended June 5, 2005;
amended Oct. 1, 2009.)

1-7-11. Employees entitled to appeal
performance reviews. (a) Any employee who
receives a performance rating that is lower than
the highest possible rating may appeal that rating
if the employee meets either of the following
conditions:

(1) The employee has permanent status, in-
cluding an employee with permanent status who
is serving a probationary period due to a
promotion.

(2) The employee is serving a probationary
period due to a rehire on the basis of
reinstatement.

(b)(1) If an action concerning the end of pro-
bationary status is dependent upon the perform-
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ance review, the appeal committee may make a
recommendation to the appointing authority con-
cerning whether or not to grant permanent status
to the employee. However, the appointing au-
thority shall have the right to make the determi-
nation of whether or not to grant permanent
status, subject to whatever limitations are imposed
by the performance rating of the performance re-
view prepared by the appeal committee.

(2) Notwithstanding the limits on the dura-
tion of probationary periods established else-
where in these regulations, the appointing au-
thority may extend the probationary period for a
limited period of time as necessary to allow the
appeal committee to prepare the final perform-
ance review. The total amount of time of this ex-
tension shall not exceed 60 calendar days.

(3) The appointing authority shall report to
the director each extension of a probationary pe-
riod made pursuant to this regulation.

(c) This regulation shall be effective on and
after October 1, 2009. (Authorized by K.S.A. 75-
2943, K.S.A. 75-3706, and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-
3747; implementing K.S.A. 75-2943, 75-2946, 75-
3707, and 75-3746; effective May 1, 1983;
amended, T-86-17, June 17, 1985; amended May
1, 1986; amended Dec. 17, 1995; amended Oct.
24, 1997; amended June 5, 2005; amended Oct.
1, 2009.)

1-7-12. Performance review appeal pro-
cedure. (a) (1) Each employee who is eligible to
appeal a performance review under K.A.R. 1-7-
11 may, within seven calendar days after the em-
ployee has been informed of the rating, submit an
appeal in writing to the appointing authority.

(2) Within seven calendar days following re-
ceipt of the employee’s written notice of appeal,
the appointing authority shall have the option ei-
ther to make any changes in the rating deemed
appropriate or to appoint a committee of three or
more persons to hear the appeal.

(3) If the appointing authority makes any
change in the rating or adds any comments to the
rating form, the rating form shall be returned to
the employee to be signed again. The employee
shall be informed that, if the employee disagrees
with the revised performance review, the em-
ployee may, within seven calendar days, file an
appeal in writing to the appointing authority. If
the employee files an appeal of the revised review,
the appointing authority shall, within seven cal-
endar days following receipt of the employee’s

written notice of appeal, appoint a committee of
three or more persons to hear the appeal.

(4) If an appeal committee is appointed to
hear the appeal, persons shall be appointed who,
in the appointing authority’s judgment, will be fair
and impartial in discharging their responsibilities.
Before appointing the appeal committee, the ap-
pointing authority shall give the employee a rea-
sonable opportunity for consultation on the mat-
ter of appointment of the appeal committee. The
appeal committee shall not include the initial rater
or raters. In general, the members of the appeal
commiittee shall be officers or employees of the
agency. However, the appointing authority may
select one or more members of the committee
from one or more other state agencies if the ap-
pointing authority determines that the objective
of a fair and impartial hearing can best be served
by doing so.

(b)(1) As soon as the committee has been ap-
pointed, the appointing authority shall notify the
employee of the names of the members of the
committee and the date, time, and place of the
hearing,

(2)(A) Before the beginning of the hearing,
the employee may object to any individual pro-
posed to serve as a member of the committee in
writing and shall include the reasons upon which
the employee is basing the objection.

(B)  The appointing authority shall make a de-
termination either to deny the objection or to
grant the objection and appoint another individual
to the committee before the commencement of
the hearing.

(C) The appointing authority shall inform the
employee of the determination in writing.

(D) Each objection taken pursuant to this
subsection and each determination regarding
each objection shall be included as part of the doc-
umentation of the appeal.

(3) The appeal committee shall consider any
relevant evidence that may be offered by the em-
ployee and the rater and shall make available to
the employee any evidence that the committee
may secure on its own initiative. The employee
and rater shall have an opportunity to question any
person offering evidence to the appeal committee.
The appeal committee may limit the offering of
evidence that it deems to be repetitious or
irrelevant.

(4) Within 14 calendar days of the date the
members of the committee were appointed, the
committee shall prepare and sign a rating for the
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employee. That rating shall be final and not sub-
ject to further appeal. The appeal committee shall
give the rating to the appointing authority, who,
within five calendar days, shall provide copies to
the employee and each person who originally
rated the employee. The appeal committee shall
report the rating to the director.

(5) If the appointing authority cannot appoint
an appeal committee within the prescribed seven
calendar days, the employee requests an extension
of the time limit, or the appeal committee cannot
make its rating within 14 calendar days of the date
of its appointment, the appointing authority may
extend these time limits for a reasonable period
of time.

(c) This regulation shall be effective on and
after October 1, 2009. (Authorized by K.S.A. 75-
2943, K.S.A. 75-3706, and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-
3747; implementing K.S.A. 75-2943, 75-3707, and
75-3746; effective May 1, 1983; amended, T-84-
20, July 26, 1983; amended May 1, 1984;
amended, T-86-17, June 17, 1985; amended May
1, 1986; amended Dec. 17, 1995; amended June
5, 2005; amended Oct. 1, 2009.)

Article 14.—LAYOFF PROCEDURES AND
ALTERNATIVES TO LAYOFF

1-14-8. Computation of layoff scores. (a)
Alayoff score shall be computed by the appointing
authority for each employee in the agency who has
permanent status and who either is in a class of
positions identified for layoff or could be affected
by the exercise of bumping rights.

(b)  Layoff scores shall be computed according
to the formula A x L, where A and L have the
following values:

(1) A = the average performance review rat-
ing of the employee, as described in subsection
(d); and

(2) L = the length of service, as defined in
K.AR. 1-2-46(a), expressed in months.

Length of service for a retired employee who
has returned to work shall be calculated in ac-
cordance with K.A.R. 1-2-46 (g). The layoff scores
shall be prepared in accordance with a uniform
score sheet prescribed by the director.

(c) Layoff scores computed by the appointing
authority shall be made available for inspection by
each employee upon request at the time the
agency gives written notice of a proposed layoff to
the director and the secretary pursuant to K.A.R.
1-14-7. Upon request of any employee, the ap-

pointing authority shall review the manner in
which the employee’s score was calculated. Each
dispute as to the proper calculation of a layoff
score of any employee shall be resolved by the
director.

(d) Except as otherwise authorized by this
subsection, the performance review ratings used
in computing the layoff score of an employee shall
be the most recent ratings for the employee dur-
ing the last five years up to and including five rat-
ings, if the employee has as many as five ratings.
However, a rating resulting from a special per-
formance review that is given for a rating period
ending within 90 calendar days of any notice of
the layoff to the director shall not be counted.
Performance reviews completed for rating periods
ending on or after the date the appointing au-
thority notifies the director in writing that a layoff
is to occur shall not be considered in computing
layoff scores; however, the appointing authority
may designate a uniform earlier cutoff date to
identify which performance review ratings are to
be used in computing layoff scores.

(1) For the purposes of calculating layoff
scores in accordance with the formula established
in subsection (b), for performance reviews con-
ducted on or before September 30, 2009, a rating
of exceptional shall have a value of five, a rating
of satisfactory shall have a value of three, and a
rating of unsatisfactory shall have a value of zero.

(2) For the purposes of calculating layoff
scores in accordance with the formula established
in subsection (b), for performance reviews con-
ducted on or after October 1, 2009, a rating of
exceptional shall have a value of five, a rating of
exceeds expectations shall have a value of four, a
rating of meets expectations shall have a value of
three, a rating of needs improvement shall have a
value of two, and a rating of unsatisfactory shall
have a value of zero.

(3) Ifan employee does not have a total of five
performance review ratings for use in computa-
tion of a layoff score, the layoff score shall be an
average of the ratings that the employee has ac-
tually received.

(4) If an employee has no performance review
ratings that may be used to compute a layoff score,
the employee shall be deemed to have been given
a single performance review rating of meets ex-
pectations, and the value of that rating shall be
used to compute a layoff score. New hires and
rehires employed on a basis other than reinstate-
ment who are serving a probationary period and
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employees in training classes shall be subject to
subsections (e), (), and (g).

(5) In case of identical layoff scores, and if
some, but not all, of the persons with the same
score must be laid off, preference among these
persons shall be given to any veteran, as defined
in K.S.A. 73-201 and amendments thereto, and
any orphan, as defined in this paragraph, in that
order. For the purpose of this regulation, “or-
phan” shall mean a minor who is the child of a
veteran who died while, and as a result of, serving
in the armed forces.

If further ties remain, a method of breaking the
ties shall be established by the secretary that is
consistent with agency affirmative action goals and
timetables for addressing underutilization of per-
sons in protected groups. If further ties remain,
preference in retention shall be given to the per-
son with the greatest length of service as defined
in K.A.R. 1-2-46. If a tie still exists, the next pref-
erence shall be given to the person with the
greatest length of service, as defined in K.A.R. 1-
2-46, within that agency. If a tie still exists, the
appointing authority shall be responsible for de-
termining an equitable tie-breaking system.

(e) New hires and rehires with probationary
status shall not be granted permanent status on or
after the date the appointing authority has notified
the director of a proposed layoff. However, any
new hire or rehire with probationary status in a
position for which no employee subject to layoff
meets the required selection criteria may be given
permanent status. New hires and rehires with pro-
bationary status shall have their probationary pe-
riod extended until it is certain that no employee

with permanent status whose position is to be va-
cated by layoff or who otherwise would be laid off
through the exercise of bumping rights is claiming
the position held by the employee with probation-
ary status.

(f) Each employee serving a probationary pe-
riod as a result of one of the following shall be
considered to have permanent status for layoff
purposes:

(1) Promotion of an employee who has per-
manent status;

(2) reallocation of a position if the incumbent
has permanent status; or

(3) promotion from a classified position with
at least six months of continuous classified service.

(g) Each employee who is in training status in
a governor’s trainee position, or in any identified
training position, and who has at least six months
of continuous service shall be considered to have
permanent status for layoff purposes only.

(h)  The layoff list shall be based on the order
of the layoff scores. The person with the lowest
layoff score shall be laid off first. If more than one
person is to be laid off, the persons to be laid off
shall be selected on the basis of the lowest layoff
scores.

(i) This regulation shall be effective on and
after October 1, 2009. (Authorized by K.S.A. 75-
2943, K.S.A. 75-3706, and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-
3747; implementing K.S.A. 75-2943, 75-2948, 75-
3707, and 75-3746; effective May 1, 1984;
amended, T-86-17, June 17, 1985; amended May
1, 1986; amended Dec. 27, 1993; amended Dec.
17, 1995; amended June 5, 2005; amended Oct.
1, 2009.)
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Articles

3-4. LOW-INCOME FAMILY POSTSECONDARY SAVINGS ACCOUNTS INCENTIVE PROGRAM.

Article 4.—LOW-INCOME FAMILY
POSTSECONDARY SAVINGS ACCOUNTS
INCENTIVE PROGRAM

3-4-1. Definitions. In addition to the terms
and definitions in K.S.A. 75-643 and K.S.A. 75-
650 and amendments thereto, the following terms
shall have the meanings specified in this
regulation:

(a) “Account owner” means the account owner
or joint account owners of a participant account.

(b) “Contribution™ means any deposit made by
an account owner to that account owner’s partic-
ipant account during a calendar year, except any
deposit that is one of the following:

(1) A rollover from another account in the Kan-
sas postsecondary education savings program;

(2) a rollover from another state’s qualified tu-
ition program as defined in internal revenue code
section 529;

(3) a transfer from a Coverdell education sav-
ings account as defined in internal revenue code
section 530; or

(4) a transfer of proceeds from a qualified U.S.
savings bond as described in internal revenue
code section 135(c)(2)(C).

(c) “Household” means a group of individuals
who are related by birth, marriage, or adoption
and who share a residence.

(d) “Participant” has the meaning specified in
K.S.A. 75-650, and amendments thereto. Each
participant shall be a beneficiary of a Kansas post-
secondary education savings program account, as
defined in K.S.A. 75-643 and amendments
thereto.

(e) “Participant account” means the Kansas
postsecondary education savings program account
established by an account owner for the benefit
of a participant who is enrolled in the matching
grant program.

This regulation shall be effective on and after
January 1, 2010. (Authorized by and implement-
ing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-650, as amended by L.

2009, ch. 113, sec. 1; effective, T-3-6-29-06, June
29, 2006; effective Oct. 27, 2006; amended July 6,
2007; amended Jan. 1, 2010.)

3-4-2. Eligibility requirements. Each ac-
count owner shall meet the following
requirements:

(a) Be a resident of the state of Kansas;

(b) reside in a household with a combined fed-
eral adjusted gross income for all individuals re-
siding in the household that is not more than 200
percent of the current federal poverty level; and

(c) not be claimed as a dependent on someone
else’s income tax return.

This regulation shall be effective on and after
January 1, 2010. (Authorized by and implement-
ing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-650, as amended by
2009 SB 225, sec. 1; effective, T-3-6-29-06, June
29, 2006; effective Oct. 27, 2006; amended July 6,
2007; amended Jan. 1, 2010.)

3-4-4. Eligibility period. Each participant
shall be entitled to a matching grant equal to the
amount of the account owner’s contributions to
the participant account for the program year in
which the account owner’s application is ap-
proved. The program year shall coincide with the
period designated for contributions that are eli-
gible for the deduction pursuant to K.S.A. 79-
32,117(c)(xv) and amendments thereto. Each ac-
count owner shall reapply each program year to
remain eligible for the program. A participant
shall not be eligible during a program year in
which a qualified or nonqualified withdrawal is
taken from the participant account.

This regulation shall be effective on and after
January 1, 2010. (Authorized by and implement-
ing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-650, as amended by L.
2009, ch. 113, sec. 1; effective, T-3-6-29-06, June
29, 2006; effective Oct. 27, 2006; amended July 6,
2007; amended Jan. 1, 2010.)

3-4-5. Matching grant accounts. The
matching grant funds for each participant shall be
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deposited in a separate account in the account
owner’s name for the benefit of the participant,
with the following restrictions:

(a) No change in ownership of the participant
account or the corresponding matching grant ac-
count shall be allowed, except upon approval by
the treasurer. A change in account ownership to
another account owner who meets the eligibility
requirements in K.A.R. 3-4-2 may be approved by
the treasurer. A change in account ownership to
any individual may be approved by the treasurer
upon the account owner’s death, divorce, or
incapacity.

(b) For participant accounts that are not used
to participate in the matching grant program after
January 1, 2010, any change in the designated
beneficiary for a participant account by the ac-
count owner shall cause the beneficiary for the
corresponding matching grant account to be
changed to the same new beneficiary.

(c) The investment portfolio for the corre-
sponding matching grant account shall always be
the same as the investment portfolio selected for
each participant account.

(d) Each request for a withdrawal from the
matching grant account shall be submitted to the
treasurer’s office for approval. If the treasurer de-
termines that the request is for qualified higher
education expenses, then the request shall be ap-
proved. Each approved withdrawal from the
matching grant account shall be paid either di-
rectly to the educational institution or to the ac-
count owner or the designated beneficiary, upon
presentation of documentation acceptable to the
treasurer that the account owner or designated
beneficiary has paid qualified higher education ex-
penses at least equal to the amount of the re-
quested withdrawal. Each approved withdrawal
shall be equally funded from the participant ac-
count and the corresponding matching grant
account.

This regulation shall be effective on and after
January 1, 2010. (Authorized by and implement-
ing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-650, as amended by
2009 SB 225, sec. 1; effective, T-3-6-29-06, June
29, 2006; effective Oct. 27, 2006; amended July 6,
2007; amended Jan. 1, 2010.)

3-4-6. This regulation shall be revoked on

January 1, 2010. (Authorized by and implement-
ing K.S.A. 2006 Supp. 75-650; effective, T-3-6-29-
06, June 29, 2006; effective Oct. 27, 2006;
amended July 6, 2007; revoked Jan. 1, 2010.)

3-4-7. Forfeit of matching grant funds.
(a)(1) Except as specified in paragraphs (a)(2) and
(a)(3), funds in a matching grant account shall be
forfeited in an amount equal to either of the
following:

(A) Any nonqualified withdrawal from the cor-
responding participant account; or

(B) any rollover distribution to another quali-
fied tuition plan from the corresponding partici-
pant account.

(2) If any nonqualified withdrawal or rollover
distribution closes a participant account, the cor-
responding matching grant account shall be
closed and its entire balance shall be forfeited.

(3) Any account owner who contributes more
than the maximum matching grant amount may
make a nonqualified withdrawal or rollover distri-
bution of the excess contribution without forfeit-
ing funds from the matching grant account.

(b) If the treasurer determines that the account
owner has made a material misrepresentation on
the application, all matching grant funds resulting
from the application shall be forfeited.

(c) If a participant account ever becomes re-
portable as unclaimed property under K.S.A. 58-
3934 et seq. and amendments thereto or the un-
claimed property laws of any other state, the
remaining balance in the corresponding matching
grant account shall be forfeited.

(d) For participants who are enrolled in the
matching grant program on or after January 1,
2010, if the account owner changes the benefici-
ary of the participant account, all funds in the cor-
responding matching grant account shall be for-
feited regardless of when the matching grant was
provided by the state.

(e) All forfeited funds shall be returned to the
Kansas postsecondary education savings trust
fund.

This regulation shall be effective on and after
January 1, 2010. (Authorized by and implement-
ing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-650, as amended by
2009 SB 225, sec. 1; effective, T-3-6-29-06, June
29, 2006; effective Oct. 27, 2006; amended Jan. 1,
2010.)
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Articles
4-6. CERTIFICATE OF FREE SALE.
4-15. PLANTS AND PLANT PRODUCTS.

Article 6.—CERTIFICATE OF FREE SALE

4-6-1. Certificate of free sale; defini-
tions. (a)(1) “Certificate of free sale” and “certif-
icate” shall mean a written document in English
that states that the product described in the doc-
ument was manufactured in Kansas by a business
whose owner or operator meets the following
requirements:

(A) Holds a license, registration, permit, or
other authority issued by the Kansas department
of agriculture for that business; and

(B) complies with the requirements of the Kan-
sas laws for distribution of the product in Kansas
and, where applicable, the United States.

(2) “Person” shall mean any individual, part-
nership, association of persons, corporation, or
governmental agency.

(3) “Secretary” shall mean the secretary of ag-
riculture or a designee of the secretary.

(b) When used in a certificate of free sale, “U.S.
regulations” shall mean those regulations prom-
ulgated by agencies of the federal government as
follows:

(1) Regulations that have been adopted by ref-
erence in regulations of the Kansas department of
agriculture; or

(2) regulations administered by the Kansas de-
partment of agriculture pursuant to a cooperative
agreement with a federal agency. (Authorized by
and implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 74-5,100;
effective Jan. 1, 2009; amended Nov. 20, 2009.)

4-6-2. Certificate of free sale. Any person

may request one or more certificates of free sale
by providing the following information to the sec-
retary on a form provided by the Kansas depart-
ment of agriculture:

(a) The name, address, and telephone number
of the person requesting each certificate;

(b) the name of the licensed, registered, or per-
mitted establishment where the product was
manufactured;

(c) the name and type of product for which each
certificate is requested;

(d) either an original label or an exact and un-
altered photocopy of the label in English for the
product;

(e) the country or countries to which the prod-
uct is to be shipped;

(f) the number of certificates requested;

(g) if more than one product is included in the
request, specification of which products are to be
listed on each certificate; and

(h) the address to which each certificate is to
be sent. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
2008 Supp. 74-5,100; effective Jan. 1, 2009;
amended Nov. 20, 2009.)

Article 15.—PLANTS AND
PLANT PRODUCTS

4-15-5. Live plant dealer license fee. The
fee for a live plant dealer license shall be $60.
(Authorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 2-2126; imple-
menting K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 2-2120; effective Oct.
18, 2002; amended June 5, 2009.)
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Kansas Department of Agriculture—

Division of Water Resources

Articles
5-3. APPROPRIATION RIGHTS.
5-7. ABANDONMENT AND TERMINATION.
5-14. ENFORCEMENT AND APPEALS.
5-20. INTENSIVE GROUNDWATER USE CONTROL AREA.

Article 3.—APPROPRIATION RIGHTS

5-3-4a. Hearing before issuance of an
order. (a) A hearing may be held pursuant to
K.AR. 5-14-3a by the chief engineer, or a person
designated by the chief engineer, before the chief
engineer issues an order if one of the following
conditions is met:

(1) The chief engineer finds it to be in the pub-
lic interest to hold a hearing.

(2) A hearing has been requested by a person
who shows to the satisfaction of the chief engineer
that approval of the application could cause im-
pairment of senior water rights or permits.

(3) The chief engineer desires public input on
the matter.

(b) The hearing shall be electronically recorded
by the chief engineer.

(c) If all of the parties agree, an informal con-
ference instead of a hearing may be held by the
chief engineer pursuant to K.A.R. 5-14-3a. (Au-
thorized by K.S.A. 82a-706a; implementing K.S.A.
82a-706a, K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 82a-708b, 82a-711,
and 82a-737; effective May 1, 1980; amended May
31, 1994; amended March 20, 2009.)

Article 7.—ABANDONMENT AND
TERMINATION

5-7-4. Water rights conservation pro-
gram. (a) Applications for enrollment in the water
rights conservation program (WRCP) shall not be
accepted after December 31, 2009. Applications
received on or before December 31, 2009, shall
be considered for enrollment in the program. En-
rollment in the WRCP approved by the chief en-
gineer and continued compliance with the WRCP
shall constitute due and sufficient cause for non-
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use pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-718, and amendments
thereto, and K.A.R. 5-7-1.

(b) In order to qualify for enrollment in the
WRCP, all of the following requirements and con-
ditions shall be met:

(1) The point of diversion shall be located in
either of the following locations:

(A) In an area that is closed to new appropria-
tions of water, except for temporary permits, term
permits, and domestic use; or

(B) in some other area designated by the chief
engineer as an area where it would be in the pub-
lic interest to allow water rights to be placed in
the WRCP. In areas within the boundaries of a
groundwater management district, the recom-
mendations of the board of the district shall be
taken into consideration by the chief engineer.

(2) Each of the owners of the water right shall
agree to totally suspend all water use authorized
by that water right for the duration of the contract.

(3) The owner or owners of the water right shall
sign a contract with the chief engineer, or the
chief engineer’s authorized representative, before
placing the water right into the WRCP. The con-
tract shall be binding on all successors in interest
to the water right owner.

(4) Only an entire water right may be placed
into the WRCP. If a portion of a water right has
been abandoned, the portion that is still in good
standing may be enrolled in the WRCP. If a water
right is administratively divided by the chief en-
gineer, each portion of a formally divided water
right shall be considered to be an entire water
right for the purpose of this regulation.

(A) If at least five successive years of nonuse
have occurred before application for enrollment
in the WRCP, a determination of whether or not
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that water right is subject to abandonment before
entry into the program, including an analysis of
any reasons given that might constitute due and
sufficient cause for nonuse, shall be made by the
chief engineer.

(B) If, after review of the information, it ap-
pears that the right has been abandoned, the stat-
utory procedures, including the right to a hearing,
shall be followed to determine whether or not the
right has been abandoned.

(5) Only the portion of a water right in good
standing at the time of application for enrollment
may be entered into the WRCP.

(c) Other requirements of enrollment in the
WRCP program shall include the following;

(1) Water rights shall be placed into the WRCP
for a definite period of calendar years of no fewer
than five and no more than 10. Each WRCP con-
tract shall terminate upon expiration of the time
period specified in the contract.

(2) The water right owner or operator shall not
be required to maintain the diversion works or
delivery system during the period of the WRCP
contract. If the pump is removed from a well, the
well shall be properly capped or sealed during the
contract. These requirements shall be in addition
to those made by the Kansas department of health
and environment pursuant to the groundwater ex-
ploration and protection act, K.S.A. 82a-1201 et
seq., and amendments thereto.

(3) A certificate determining the extent to
which a water right has been perfected shall be
issued by the chief engineer before entering the
water right into the WRCP if all of the following
conditions are met:

(A) An applicant has a permit to appropriate
water for beneficial use and has perfected all, or
any portion, of the water right authorized by the

ermit.

(B) The time in which to perfect the water right
has expired, including any authorized extensions
of time.

(C) A field inspection has been completed.

(4) If the time to perfect the water right, or any
authorized extension of that right, has not expired,
enrollment in the WRCP shall be considered as
suspending the time to perfect. Upon expiration
of the WRCP contract pertaining to this water
right, the time to perfect shall again commence,
and the applicant shall be required to perfect the
water right within the remainder of the time al-
lowed to perfect, or any authorized extension of
that time.
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(5) Each year after authorized enrollment in the
WRCP, the water use correspondent shall indi-
cate on the water use report that no water was
used because the water right was enrolled in the
WRCP.

(6) If the owner breaches, or causes or allows a
breach of, the WRCP contract with the chief en-
gineer, each year of nonuse between the effective
date of the contract and the date of the breach
shall be counted as years of nonuse without due
and sufficient cause for the purpose of determin-
ing whether or not the water right has been aban-
doned pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-718, and amend-
ments thereto. Before this penalty is imposed, the
owner shall be given an opportunity to show either
of the following:

(A) A breach of contract did not occur.

(B) A breach occurred, but either was minor or
has been cured, and should not constitute grounds
for imposing the penalty. (Authorized by K.S.A.
82a-706a; implementing K.S.A. 82a-706, K.S.A.
82a-713, K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 82a-714, as amended
by L. 2009, Ch. 51, § 4, and K.S.A. 2008 Supp.
82a-718; effective July 1, 1994; amended Sept. 22,
2000; amended Dec. 28, 2009.)

Article 14.—ENFORCEMENT AND
APPEALS

5-14-3. Orders. (a) An order subject to re-
view pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-1901, and amend-
ments thereto, shall be issued by the chief engi-
neer in each of the following matters:

(1) The approval or dismissal of an application
to change the place of use, the point of diversion,
the use made of water, or any combination of
these, filed pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-708b and
amendments thereto;

(2) the approval or dismissal of an application
to appropriate water for beneficial use filed pur-
suant to K.S.A. 82a-711 and amendments thereto;

(3) the declaration of abandonment and ter-
mination of a water right pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-
718 and amendments thereto; and

(4) the suspension of the use of water under a
term permit, an approved application for a permit
to appropriate water for beneficial use, an appro-
priation right, or a vested right, pursuant to K.S.A.
82a-770 and amendments thereto.

(b) Each order that is issued pursuant to K.S.A.
82a-737, and amendments thereto, and is subject
to review pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-1901, and
amendments thereto, shall be issued by the chief
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engineer, or the chief engineer’s designee, in the
assessment of civil penalty, the modification of a
person’s water right or permit to use water, the
suspension of a person’s water right or permit to
use water, or any combination of these.

(c) Unless limited or prohibited by statute, any
person to whom the order is directed or who has
a property interest that could be adversely af-
fected by the action or proposed action may re-
quest a review pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-1901, and
amendments thereto, without filing a request for
a hearing before the chief engineer.

(d) The chief engineer shall not be required to
hold a hearing before issuing an order unless re-
quired by statute.

(e)(1) Any person to whom an order will be di-
rected may request a hearing before the chief en-
gineer before the issuance of an order by the chief
engineer. The person shall then be notified by the
chief engineer that, if the request is granted by
the chief engineer, the person shall not be allowed
to have a second hearing before the chief engineer
after the issuance of the order. Within 15 days
after the notice is sent, the person shall notify the
chief engineer whether the requestor wants to
proceed with a hearing before the chief engineer
issues the order.

(2) If a hearing is held by the chief engineer
before the issuance of the order by the chief en-
gineer and the person to whom the order is di-
rected still desires to have the order reviewed, the
person shall seek review pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-
1901, and amendments thereto, if that type of re-
view is authorized by statute.

(f) If a person to whom an order was directed
did not have a hearing before the issuance of an
order, that person may request a hearing before
the chief engineer after issuance of the order. The
person shall submit a written request for hearing
to the chief engineer within 15 days of service of
the order pursuant to K.S.A. 77-531, and amend-
ments thereto. If a hearing is not requested, the
person may seek review pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-
1901, and amendments thereto, within 30 days of
service of the order pursuant to K.S.A. 77-531 and
amendments thereto, if that type of review is au-
thorized by statute. Each request for a hearing
shall meet the following requirements:

(1) Be filed in writing with the chief engineer
within 15 days after the date of service of the or-
der; and

(2) set forth the factual and legal basis for the
hearing request. The factual basis may be stated
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generally and shall not be required to be specific
if the written request clearly establishes the exis-
tence of disputed facts. The request for hearing
may be denied if the request fails to clearly estab-
lish factual or legal issues.

(g) A request for intervention in a matter pend-
ing hearing from a person or persons other than
those to whom the order is directed may be
granted by the chief engineer if all of the following
conditions are met:

(1) The chief engineer has issued a notice of
hearing.

(2) The person requesting to intervene has filed
a notice with the chief engineer that the order in
the pending matter could adversely affect one or
more of the following:

(A) The person’s property interest in the pend-
ing matter;

(B) the person’s water right or permit to appro-
priate water; or

(C) the person’s statutory duty to act.

(3) The chief engineer has determined that the
interests of justice and the orderly and prompt
conduct of the proceedings will not be impaired
by allowing the intervention. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 82a-706a; implementing K.S.A. 82a-706a,
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 82a-708b, 82a-711, 82a-718,
82a-737, 82a-770, and 82a-1901; effective Sept.
22, 2000; amended March 20, 2009.)

5-14-3a. Hearing procedure. The proce-
dures specified in this regulation shall apply to any
hearing held by the chief engineer pursuant to
K.A.R. 5-14-3. Upon notice to all parties, these
procedures may be applied by the chief engineer
to any other hearings held under the Kansas water
appropriation act. (a) Unless otherwise required
by statute, the following persons and entities shall
be allowed to be parties to a formal hearing before
the chief engineer:

(1) The division of water resources, Kansas de-
partment of agriculture (DWR);

(2) the person or persons to whom the order is,
or will be, directed;

(3) the applicant to change the place of use, the
point of diversion, the use made of water, or any
combination of these, under K.S.A. 82a-708b and
amendments thereto, or the applicant to appro-
priate water for beneficial use under K.S.A. 82a-
711, and amendments thereto;

(4) the owners of the proposed place of use and
the owners of the place of use authorized under
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the application, water right, or permit to appro-
priate water; and

(5) any other person who has filed a timely pe-
tition for intervention in accordance with K.A.R.
5-14-3(e).

(b) The hearing shall be presided over by the
chief engineer or the chief engineer’s designee.
Authority may be delegated by the chief engineer
to the presiding officer to issue the order or to
make written recommendations to the chief en-
gineer after the hearing.

(c) Unless otherwise required by statute, the
presiding officer shall issue a written notice of
hearing to all parties and to any person who re-
quests notice of a hearing,

(1) Notice of hearing shall be served on the par-
ties as required by statute, but not later than 15
days before the hearing.

(2) The notice of hearing shall be served by
mail, facsimile, electronic mail, or hand-delivery
and shall be evidenced by a certificate of service.
If due diligence fails to locate a person allowed to
be a party, then notice by publication shall be
made in the manner indicated in K.A.R. 5-14-3a
(d) (2).

(3) The notice of hearing shall include the
following:

(A) A case or other identification number and
a descriptive title, which shall appear on all cor-
respondence relating to the docket. If more than
one matter has been consolidated for hearing, all
numbers and descriptive titles shall appear on all
correspondence;

(B) the names and mailing addresses of all
parties;

(C) a statement of the time, place and nature
of the hearing. If more than one matter has been
consolidated for hearing, statement of the nature
of the hearing shall include all matters to be
heard,;

(D) a statement that the presiding officer may
complete the hearing without the participation of
any party who fails to attend or participate in a
prehearing conference, hearing, or other stage in
the proceeding; and

(E) if nonparties are provided an opportunity
to submit comments, the time and place where
oral comments will be accepted and the deadline
and mailing address for the submission of written
comments.

(4) For abandonment hearings under K.S.A.
82a-718, and amendments thereto, the notice of
hearing shall include a copy of the verified report
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of the chief engineer or the chief engineer’s
representative.

(d) Unless otherwise required by statute, if
members of the public will be given an opportu-
nity to submit oral and written comments, notice
of the hearing shall be caused by the chief engi-
neer to be distributed in the place or places where
the action or proposed action will be effective.

(1) Notice of hearing shall be given as required
by statute, but no later than 15 days before the
hearing.

(2) The notice of hearing may be published in
a newspaper of general circulation where the ac-
tion or proposed action will be effective as re-
quired by statute, but shall be published at least
15 days before the hearing. The notice of hearing
shall not be required to be in the form of a legal
notice. The notice may also be given by any other
means reasonably calculated to reach the resi-
dents of the area.

(e) Only the parties named in the notice of
hearing or otherwise designated by the chief en-
gineer may participate in the hearing.

(1) Any party may participate in person or, if
the party is a corporation or other artificial person,
by an authorized representative.

(2) Any party may be represented, at the party’s
own expense, by legal counsel or, if permitted by
law, some other representative.

(3) The presiding officer may refuse to allow
representation that would constitute the unau-
thorized practice of law.

(4) The presiding officer may give nonparties
the opportunity to present oral or written state-
ments to be included in the record of the
proceedings.

(5) The presiding officer may consider only oral
statements that are given under oath or affirma-
tion and signed written statements.

(6) The presiding officer shall allow all parties
a reasonable opportunity to challenge or rebut all
oral and written statements received.

(f) The presiding officer may allow any party to
participate in prehearing conferences, the hear-
ing, or any other stage of the proceedings by tel-
ephone or videoconference.

(1) Unless otherwise authorized by the presid-
ing officer, the party wishing to participate by tel-
ephone shall notify the presiding officer at least
48 hours in advance of the prehearing conference.
The party wishing to participate by telephone may
be granted a continuance if the presiding officer
is not able to grant the request.



ENFORCEMENT AND APPEALS

3-14-3a

(2) The presiding officer may require the party
wishing to participate by telephone to initiate the
call.

(3) The presiding officer may refuse to allow
any party to participate by telephone if the party
has not notified the presiding officer in advance
and made arrangements for that participation or
if any party objects.

(g) The presiding officer may hold one or more
prehearing conferences as necessary to address
preliminary matters or to facilitate the hearing.

(1) Notice of all prehearing conferences shall
be given by the presiding officer to all parties and
to all persons who have requested that notice. No-
tice may also be given to other interested persons
at least 15 days before the prehearing conference.

(2) The notice of prehearing conference shall
include the following:

(A) The names and mailing addresses of all
parties;

(B) a statement of the time, place, and nature
of the prehearing conference; and

(C) a statement that the presiding officer may
complete the hearing without the participation of
any party who fails to attend or participate in a
prehearing conference, hearing, or other stage in
the proceeding.

(3) The presiding officer shall issue a prehear-
ing order after each prehearing conference.

(h) Discovery shall be limited to matters that
are clearly relevant to the proceeding.

(i) Each party shall have the opportunity to file
pleadings, objections, and motions. At the presid-
ing officer’s discretion, any party may be given an
opportunity to file briefs, proposed findings of fact
and conclusions of law, and proposed orders.

(1) Each party shall serve a copy of any written
filings on each of the other parties.

(A) Service may be made by mail, facsimile,
electronic mail, or hand-delivery.

(B) Service shall be presumed if the person
making service signs a written certificate of
service.

(C) Service by mail shall be complete upon
mailing.

(2) The presiding officer shall notify all parties
of the deadlines for written filings and may extend
the deadlines upon request of any party.

(A) Unless otherwise stated in the notice or or-
der of the presiding officer, all deadlines to file
documents within a specific number of days shall
end at the close of business on the third working
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day after the deadline set in the notice or order
mailed out by the presiding officer.

(B) In computing any deadline, the day of serv-
ice shall not be included. Working days shall not
include Saturdays, Sundays, state holidays, and
federal holidays.

(3) The presiding officer shall not be required
to consider any written filing that has not been
filed on or before the deadline or that is not served
on all parties.

(4) Service upon an attorney of record shall be
deemed to be service upon the party represented
by the attorney.

(j) After the presiding officer has issued a notice
of hearing and before an order is issued, no party
or its attorneys shall discuss the merits of the pro-
ceedings with the presiding officer or with any
other person named in the prehearing order as
assisting the presiding officer in the hearing, un-
less all parties have the opportunity to participate.

(1) If the presiding officer receives an ex parte
communication, the presiding officer shall notify
all parties that an ex parte communication has
been received and place the notice in the record
of the pending matter. The notice shall contain
the following:

(A) A copy of any written ex parte communi-
cation received and any written response to the
communication; and

(B) a memorandum stating the substance of any
oral ex parte communication received, any oral re-
sponse made, and the identity of each person from
whom the oral ex parte communication was
received.

(2) Any party may submit written rebuttal to an
ex parte communication within 15 days after serv-
ice of notice of the communication. If any party
submits a written rebuttal to an ex parte com-
munication, that party shall simultaneously serve
a copy on all other parties and the presiding offi-
cer. All timely filed written rebuttals shall be
placed in the record of the pending matter.

(3) A presiding officer who has received an ex
parte communication shall withdraw from the
pending matter if the presiding officer determines
that the communication has rendered the presid-
ing officer no longer qualified to hear the pending
matter because of bias, prejudice, or interest.

(4) Any party may petition for the disqualifica-
tion of a presiding officer upon discovering facts
establishing grounds for disqualification because
of bias, prejudice, or interest.

(5) Each presiding officer whose disqualifica-



3-14-3a

AGRICULTURE—DIVISION OF WATER RESOURCES

tion is requested shall determine whether to grant
the petition, stating facts and reasons for the de-
termination. The facts and reasons for the presid-
ing officer’s decision shall be entered into the
record.

(k) The presiding officer may consolidate any
proceedings if there are common issues to be re-
solved or a common factual basis for the proceed-
ings. The presiding officer may consolidate pro-
ceedings on the presiding officer’s own motion or
upon the request of the parties to all proceedings.

(1) The presiding officer may continue the hear-
ing or any other proceeding on that person’s own
motion or at the request of a party.

(1) A party shall notify all other parties before
requesting a continuance.

(2) The presiding officer shall not be required
to continue the hearing if all other parties have
not been consulted or if any party objects.

(3) Each party who requires a continuance be-
cause of an emergency shall notify the presiding
officer and any other party as soon as the party
reasonably determines that an emergency exists.

(m) Each party shall have a reasonable oppor-
tunity to be heard. Each party shall be given the
opportunity to present evidence and argument,
conduct cross-examination, and submit rebuttal
evidence, except as may be restricted by a pre-
hearing order or limited grant of intervention.

(1) Unless otherwise limited by this regulation
or the presiding officer, each party and each in-
tervener shall be given an opportunity to make
opening statements and closing arguments.

(2) Unless the parties have been required to
exchange exhibits before the hearing, each party
shall bring a copy of each document offered as
evidence for each party and at least two copies for
the presiding officer. If possible, the original doc-
ument, or a certified copy of the document, shall
be offered into evidence at the hearing.

(3) All hearings shall be open to the public.

(4) All testimony of parties and witnesses shall
be made under oath or affirmation.

(5) The direct examination of each witness shall
be followed by cross-examination of the witness.
Cross-examination shall be limited in scope to the
testimony upon direct examination. Redirect ex-
amination shall be limited in scope to the testi-
mony upon cross-examination. Recross-examina-
tion shall be limited in scope to the testimony
upon redirect.

(6) No more than one attorney for each party
shall examine or cross-examine a witness. The pre-
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siding officer may require that only one attorney
be allowed to cross-examine a witness on behalf
of all parties united in interest.

(7) All testimony shall be taken on the record
unless the presiding officer grants a request to go
off the record.

(8) At the time determined by the presiding of-
ficer, the presiding officer shall announce that the
record of exhibits and testimony shall be closed
and, if applicable, that the matter has been taken
under advisement.

(9) The record shall not be reopened except
upon order of the presiding officer or the chief
engineer.

(n)(1) In any hearing concerning an application
filed under K.S.A. 82a-708b or K.S.A. 82a-711
and amendments thereto, the applicant shall bear
the burden of proving, by a preponderance of the
evidence, that the application should be approved.

(2) If the DWR does not offer opinion testi-
mony concerning whether and how the applica-
tion complies or does not comply with the appli-
cable regulations, its participation in the hearing
shall be limited as follows:

(A) The DWR shall make a proffer of the re-
cords of the agency pertaining to the pending mat-
ter and may offer the testimony of fact witnesses
to lay foundation for the proffer. These witnesses
may be cross-examined, but cross-examination
shall be limited to the scope of the direct
questioning.

(B) If any member of the DWR’s staff is called
as a witness for or is cross-examined by another
party, the DWR shall be allowed to conduct cross-
examination of the witnesses offered by that party.

(3) The applicant shall be heard after the
DWR’s proffer, unless the presiding officer de-
termines that another order of presentation will
facilitate the conduct of the hearing.

(4) If the DWR offers opinion testimony con-
cerning whether and how the application com-
plies or does not comply with the applicable reg-
ulations, the DWR shall be heard after the
applicant and the DWR may participate in the
hearing to the same extent as the applicant, unless
the presiding officer determines that a different
order of presentation will facilitate the conduct of
the hearing.

(5) The presiding officer shall determine the
order in which other parties and interveners may
be heard.

(o) In hearings concerning the assessment of a
civil penalty, the modification of a water right, the
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suspension of a water right, or the suspension of
the use of water under a water right, the following
requirements shall be met:

(1) The DWR shall bear the burden of proving,
by a preponderance of the evidence, that a viola-
tion under K.S.A. 82a-737 and amendments
thereto or K.S.A. 82a-770 and amendments
thereto, or both, has occurred.

(2) The DWR shall be heard first at the hearing,
unless the presiding officer determines that a dif-
ferent order of presentation will facilitate the con-
duct of the hearing. The presiding officer shall
determine the order in which other parties and
interveners may be heard.

(p) In an abandonment hearing pursuant to
K.S.A. 82a-718 and amendments thereto, the
DWR shall first present the verified report spec-
ified in K.S.A. 82a-718, and amendments thereto.

(1) The verified report shall be a report of the
DWR’s investigation into the water use history
and shall contain the following:

(A) Documentation that shows the use or non-
use of water authorized by the water right as es-
tablished by the contents of the DWR water right
file and as reported to the DWR, pursuant to
K.S.A. 82a-732 and amendments thereto;

(B) the analysis of the documentation used in
the verified report by the preparer of the verified
report;

(C) a conclusion citing the specific successive
years of nonuse to meet the criteria for abandon-
ment found in K.S.A. 82a-718 and amendments
thereto; and

(D) the years for which due and sufficient cause
for nonuse pursuant to K.A.R. 5-7-1 was reported
to the chief engineer pursuant to K.S.A. 8§2a-732,
and amendments thereto, and verified by the
DWR.

(2)(A) If the verified report specified by K.S.A.
82a-718(a), and amendments thereto, establishes
that there has been no lawful, beneficial use of
water for the period of time specified in K.S.A.
82a-718(a) and amendments thereto and that due
and sufficient cause for the nonuse of water has
not been reported to the DWR pursuant to K.S.A.
82a-732 and amendments thereto during this pe-
riod, this shall be considered to be prima facie
evidence that the water right has been abandoned.

(B) Upon a determination by the presiding of-
ficer that prima facie evidence of abandonment
exists, the water right owner shall bear the burden
of rebutting the prima facie evidence by a pre-
ponderance of the evidence establishing that
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there had been lawful, beneficial use of water dur-
ing the time period in question or that due and
sufficient cause existed for the nonuse of water
during the period of time in question, or both, to
avoid the application of K.S.A. 82a-718(a) and
amendments thereto.

(3) The DWR may participate in the hearing to
the same extent as the owner or owners of the
water right.

(4) The DWR shall be heard first at the hearing,
unless the presiding officer determines that an-
other order of presentation will facilitate the con-
duct of the hearing.

(5) The presiding officer shall determine the
order in which other parties and interveners may
be heard.

(q) During the hearing, all of the following shall
ly:

Fl})] The presiding officer shall not be bound by

the technical rules of evidence.

(2) The presiding officer shall give the parties
a reasonable opportunity to be heard and to pres-
ent evidence.

(3) The presiding officer shall give effect to the
privileges listed in K.S.A. 60-426 through 436, and
amendment thereto, and any other privileges rec-
ognized by law.

(4) Evidence shall not be required to be ex-
cluded solely if the evidence is hearsay.

(5) All parties may note, in the record, their
exceptions to any ruling or other action of the pre-
siding officer.

(6) If the presiding officer sustains an objection
to evidence or testimony, the party may make a
proffer of the excluded evidence. The presiding
officer may add other statements to clearly show
the character of the evidence, the form in which
the evidence was offered, and the objection and
the ruling made. Upon request, the excluded tes-
timony or evidence shall be marked and preserved
for the record upon appeal.

(7) Without notice to the parties and without
receiving a request from any party, the presiding
officer may take administrative notice of the
following:

(A) The Kansas water appropriation act and
other Kansas statutes;

(B) regulations promulgated by the chief
engineer;

(C) orders issued by or on behalf of the chief
engineer; and

(D) specific facts and propositions of general
knowledge that are so universally known or known

a
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within the profession that they cannot reasonably
be the subject of dispute or that are capable of
immediate and accurate determination by using
easily accessible sources of indisputable accuracy.

(8) Upon reasonable notice to the parties and
the opportunity to contest and offer rebuttal evi-
dence, the presiding officer may also take admin-
istrative notice of any of the following:

(A) Scientific or technical matters within the
DWR’s specialized knowledge;

(B) the record of other proceedings before the
DWR; and

(C) codes and standards that have been adopted
by an agency of the United States, the state of
Kansas, or any other state or by a nationally rec-
ognized organization or association.

(r) The hearing and all prehearing conferences
shall be electronically recorded at the expense of
the Kansas department of agriculture (KDA).

(1) Copies of electronic recordings may be ob-
tained from the DWR. Written transcripts of the
recording shall be available by request, and the
requestor shall pay the cost of transcription.

(2) The DWR shall hire and pay for a court
reporter if deemed necessary by the presiding of-
ficer for the presiding officer’s use or for the pres-
ervation of testimony for later use in a court pro-
ceeding. Written transcripts shall be obtained
directly from the court reporter at the requestor’s
expense.

(s) If the chief engineer has not delegated au-
thority to the presiding officer to issue an order,
the presiding officer shall issue written recom-
mendations to the chief engineer after the record
of the hearing is closed.

(1) The recommendations shall be signed by
the presiding officer and shall contain a statement
of the recommended decision and the facts and
conclusions of law upon which the recommended
decision is based.

(2) The presiding officer shall serve the original,
signed recommendations on the chief engineer
and a copy of the recommendations on each party
and on its counsel of record, if any, in the manner
specified in this regulation.

(3) The recommendations shall state that the
parties have at least 15 days after service in which
to provide written comments to the chief engineer
and shall contain a certificate of service. After the
record of the hearing is closed, no party may sub-
mit additional evidence unless specifically per-
mitted to do so by the presiding officer in advance
of the submission. In order to receive permission
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to submit additional evidence, the party shall file
a written request with the presiding officer, in ad-
vance, with a copy to each other party. Each other
party shall be given a reasonable chance to re-
spond to the request to submit additional infor-
mation. If additional evidence is allowed, each
other party shall be allowed a reasonable oppor-
tunity to rebut the additional evidence submitted.

(4) All comments submitted within the speci-
fied time frame shall be considered by the chief
engineer before issuing an order.

(5) The order shall state that it is subject to
review by the secretary of agriculture pursuant to
K.S.A. 82a-1901, and amendments thereto.

(t) An order shall be issued by the chief engi-
neer or, if so authorized, the presiding officer af-
ter the record of the hearing is closed.

(1) The order shall be signed by the chief en-
gineer or the presiding officer and shall contain a
statement of the relevant law and the facts upon
which the decision is based.

(2) The order shall be served on each party or
its counsel of record in the manner specified in
these regulations and shall contain a certificate of
service.

(3) If the presiding officer made recommen-
dations to the chief engineer, the order shall state
which recommendations, if any, have been ac-
cepted by the chief engineer. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 82a-706a; implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp.
82a-708b, 82a-711, 82a-718, 82a-737, 82a-770,
82a-1038, and 82a-1901; effective March 20,
2009.)

Article 20.—INTENSIVE GROUNDWATER
USE CONTROL AREA

3-20-1. Intensive groundwater use con-
trol area; public hearings. (a) In any case in
which the chief engineer initiates proceedings for
the designation of an intensive groundwater use
control area (IGUCA), an independent hearing
officer shall be appointed by the chief engineer.
The independent hearing officer shall meet the
following requirements:

(1) Not have been an employee of the depart-
ment of agriculture for at least five years before
the appointment;

(2) be admitted to practice law in this state; and

(3) be knowledgeable by training and experi-
ence in water law and administrative procedure.

(b)(1) The independent hearing officer shall
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conduct one or more public hearings to determine
whether both of the following conditions are met:

(A) One or more of the circumstances speci-
fied in K.S.A. 82a-1036, and amendments thereto,
exist.

(B) The public interest requires that one or
more corrective control provisions should be
adopted.

(2) Ifboth of the conditions in paragraph (b)(1)
are met, the independent hearing officer shall rec-
ommend the boundaries of the IGUCA.

(c) At the public hearing specified in subsec-
tion (b), all of the following requirements shall be
met:

(1) Documentary and oral evidence shall be
taken, and a full and complete record of the public
hearing shall be kept.

(2) The division of water resource’s (DWR’s)
staff shall make a proffer of the records of the
division pertaining to the proposed IGUCA and
may present background, hydrologic, and other
information and an analysis of that information,
concerning the area in question.

(3) The DWR’s proffer and any other DWR
presentations shall be heard first, unless the hear-
ing officer determines that a different order of
presentation will facilitate the conduct of the
hearing.

(4) If any part of the proposed IGUCA is
within the boundaries of a groundwater manage-
ment district (GMD), a representative of that
GMD shall be allowed to present the GMD’s own
data, analysis, comments, provisions of the
GMD’s revised management plan, regulations,
and recommendations at any public hearing.

(5) Each person shall be allowed to give an oral
statement under oath or affirmation or to present
documentary evidence, including a signed written
statement.

(6) At the end of the public hearing, a reason-
able opportunity for any person to submit oral or
written comments concerning the matters pre-
sented may be allowed by the hearing officer.

(7) The hearing shall be conducted according
to the procedure specified in K.A.R. 5-14-3a. The
hearing officer shall have the discretion to use a
different procedure if it facilitates the conduct of
the hearing.

(8) The independent hearing officer shall make
the following findings of fact:

(A) Whether one or more of the circumstances
specified in K.S.A. 82a-1036, and amendments
thereto, exist; and
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(B) whether the public interest requires that
one or more corrective control provisions should
be adopted.

(9) The independent hearing officer shall
transmit the findings to the chief engineer.

(d) The proceeding shall be concluded if the
independent hearing officer finds that at least one
of the following conditions is met:

(1) None of the circumstances specified in
K.S.A. 82a-1036, and amendments thereto, exist.

(2) The public interest does not require that
any corrective control provisions should be
adopted.

(e) The procedure specified in subsection (f)
shall be followed by the chief engineer if the in-
dependent hearing officer meets all of the follow-
ing conditions:

(1) Finds that one or more of the conditions
specified in K.S.A. 82a-1036, and amendments
thereto, exist;

(2) finds that public interest requires that any
one or more corrective control provisions should
be adopted; and

(3) recommends the boundaries of the pro-
posed IGUCA.

(f) If the independent hearing officer makes
the findings and recommendation specified in
subsection (e), one or more public hearings shall
be conducted by the chief engineer to determine
the following:

(1) What the goals of the IGUCA should be;

(2) what corrective control provisions should
be adopted; and

(3) what the final boundaries of the IGUCA
should be.

After the hearing, the order described in K.S.A.
82a-1038, and amendments thereto, shall be is-
sued by the chief engineer. The chief engineer’s
order shall include the independent hearing offi-
cer’s findings of fact.

(g) Notice of the public hearings held by the
independent hearing officer shall be given by reg-
ular mail and by publication, as specified in K.S.A.
82a-1037 and amendments thereto. (Authorized
by K.S.A. 82a-706a; implementing K.S.A. 74-
510a, K.S.A. 82a-1036, K.S.A. 82a-1037, and
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 82a-1038; effective Sept. 18.
2009.)

5-20-2. Formal review of intensive
groundwater use control area orders. (a) For
each intensive groundwater use control area (IG-

UCA) designated by order of the chief engineer
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before July 1, 2008, pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-1038
and amendments thereto, a public hearing to re-
view the designation shall be conducted by the
chief engineer within seven years of the effective
date of this regulation. A subsequent review of the
designation shall occur within 10 years after the
previous public review hearing or more frequently
as determined by the chief engineer.

(b) For each IGUCA designated by order of
the chief engineer on or after July 1, 2008, a public
hearing to review the designation shall be con-
ducted by the chief engineer within seven years
after the order is final. A subsequent review of the
designation shall occur within 10 years after the
previous public review hearing or more frequently
as determined by the chief engineer.

(c) Upon the request of a petition signed by at
least five percent of the affected water users in an
IGUCA designated by order of the chief engineer,
a public review hearing to review the designation
shall be conducted by the chief engineer. This re-
quested public review hearing shall not be con-
ducted more frequently than every four years.

(d) Written notice of a public review hearing
shall be given to each person holding a water right
in the affected area. Notice of the hearing shall be
given by publication in a newspaper or newspa-
pers of general circulation within the affected area
at least 30 days before the date set for the hearing.
The notice shall indicate the reason for the hear-
ing and shall specify the time and place of the
hearing. At the public review hearing, documen-
tary and oral evidence shall be taken, and a full
and complete record of the public review hearing
shall be kept.

(e) The following shall be considered by the
chief engineer at the public review hearing:
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(1) Whether one or more of the circumstances
specified in K.S.A. 82a-1036, and amendments
thereto, exist; and

(2) whether the public interest requires that
the IGUCA designation be continued. The state
shall have the burden of proving the need for con-
tinuance of the IGUCA designation.

(f) Based on the review specified in subsection
(e), one of the following actions shall be taken by
the chief engineer:

(1) Continue the IGUCA with its original or
current corrective control provisions;

(2) reduce the restrictions imposed by one or
more corrective control provisions within the
scope and goals specified in the original IGUCA
order;

(3) reduce the IGUCA boundaries;

(4) increase any allocations within the IGUCA;

(5) address any other issues that have been
identified in the review; or

(6) revoke the IGUCA order and implement
alternative measures, if necessary, to address the
water issues in the affected areas.

(g) If, as a result of the review specified in sub-
section (e), the chief engineer determines that the
restrictions imposed by current corrective control
provisions may need to be increased or additional
corrective control provisions may be needed, a
hearing shall be conducted by the chief engineer
according to K.A.R. 5-14-3a.

(h) If, as a result of the review specified in sub-
section (e), the chief engineer determines that the
boundaries of the IGUCA may need to be in-
creased, a new IGUCA proceeding shall be initi-
ated by the chief engineer pursuant to K.A.R. 5-
20-1.  (Authorized by K.S.A.  82a-706a;
implementing K.S.A. 82a-706 and K.S.A. 82a-
1036; effective Sept. 18, 2009.)
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Secretary of State

Articles

7-41. KANsAS UNIFORM ELECTRONIC TRANSACTIONS ACT.

Article 41.—KANSAS UNIFORM
ELECTRONIC TRANSACTIONS ACT

7-41-1. Definitions. (a) “Certificate”
means a computer-based record or electronic
message that at a minimum meets the following
conditions:

(1) Identifies the registered certification au-
thority issuing the certificate;

(2) names or identifies a subscriber;

(3) contains the public key of the subscriber;

(4) identifies the period of time during which
the certificate is effective; and

(5) is digitally signed by the registered certifi-
cation authority.

(b) “Certificate policy” means the policy that
identifies the applicability of a certificate to par-
ticular communities and classes of applications
with common security requirements. This term is
also known as “CP.”

(c) “Certificate revocation list” means a list
maintained by a registered certification authority
of the certificates the registered certification au-
thority has issued that are revoked before their
stated expiration dates. This term is also known as
“CRL.”

(d) “Certification practice statement” means a
statement published by a registered certification
authority that specifies the policies or practices
that the registered certification authority employs
in issuing, publishing, suspending, revoking, and
renewing certificates. This term is also known as
“CPS.”

(e) “Compliance review” means documentation
in the form of an information systems audit report
verifying that the applicant or registered certifi-
cation authority has the use of a trustworthy sys-
tem as defined in subsection ().

(f) “Identification and authentication” means
the process of ascertaining and confirming
through appropriate inquiry and investigation the
identity of a certificate applicant in compliance
with the requirements for certificate security lev-
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els specified in the ITEC certificate policy or the
CP. This term is also known as “I and A.”

(g) “Information technology executive council”
means the Kansas information technology execu-
tive council, pursuant to K.S.A. 75-7201 et seq.
and amendments thereto, and is also known as
“ITEC.”

(h) “Information technology executive council
policy 9200” means the “certificate policy for the
state of Kansas public key infrastructure,” version
2, including the appendices, approved by the
ITEC, amended on April 24, 2008, and hereby
adopted by reference. This document applies to
state agencies offering or providing the option of
using a digital signature to persons with whom the
state agencies do business. This term is also
known as “ITEC certificate policy.”

(i) “Information technology identity manage-
ment group” means the group that has been del-
egated authority by the ITEC and is authorized
by the ITEC to make day-to-day administrative
and fiscal decisions for the public key infrastruc-
ture program. This term is also known as
“ITIMG.”

(j) “Local registration authority” means a per-
son operating under the ITEC certificate policy
that has a relationship of trust with a community
of potential subscribers and, for that reason, has
a contractual relationship with a registration au-
thority to perform duties including accepting ap-
plications and conducting identification and au-
thentication ~ for certificate  applicants  in
accordance with the law, the ITEC certificate pol-
icy, and the appended agreements. This term is
also known as “LRA.”

(k) “Local registration authority’s trusted part-
ner” means a person operating under the ITEC
certificate policy that has a relationship of trust
with an LRA and that executes a trusted partner
agreement with an LRA, as contained in the ap-
pendices to the ITEC certificate policy, in order
to secure LRA services for the community of po-
tential subscribers of the local registration au-
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thority’s trusted partner. This term is also known
as “LRA’s trusted partner.”

(1) “Private key” means the key in a subscriber’s
key pair that is kept secret and is used to create
digital signatures and to decrypt messages or files
that were encrypted with the subscriber’s corre-
sponding public key.

(m) “Public key” means the key in a sub-
scriber’s key pair that can be used by another per-
son to verify digital signatures created by a sub-
scriber’s corresponding private key or to encrypt
messages or files that the person sends to the
subscriber.

(n) “Public key infrastructure” means the ar-
chitecture, organization, techniques, practices,
policy, and procedures that collectively support
the implementation and operation of a certificate-
based, public key cryptography system. This term
is also known as “PKI.”

(0) “Registered certification authority” has the
meaning specified in K.S.A. 16-1602, and amend-
ments thereto. This term is also known as “regis-
tered CA.”

(p) “Registration authority” means a person op-
erating under the ITEC certificate policy who has
been authenticated by a registered CA, issued a
registration authority certificate by the registered
CA, approved by the ITEC to process subscriber
applications for certificates and, if required by the
ITEC certificate policy, to conduct I and A of cer-
tificate applicants in accordance with the law, the
ITEC certificate policy, and the appended agree-
ments. This term is also known as “RA.”

(q) “Subscriber” means a person operating un-
der the ITEC certificate policy who meets the fol-
lowing criteria:

(1) Is the subject of a certificate;

(2) accepts the certificate from a registered cer-
tification authority; and

(3) holds the private key that corresponds to the
public key listed in that certificate.

(r) “Trustworthy system” means a secure com-
puter system that materially satisfies the most re-
cent common criteria protection profile for com-
mercial security, known as “CSPP — guidance for
COTS security protection profiles,” published by
the U.S. department of commerce in December
1999 and hereby adopted by reference.

(s) “X.509” means the standard published by
the international telecommunication union-T
(ITU-T) in March 2000 that establishes a model
for certificates. This X.509 standard, including an-
nexes A and B, is hereby adopted by reference.
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(Authorized by K.S.A. 16-1605 and 16-1618; im-
plementing K.S.A. 16-1605, 16-1617, and 16-
1619; effective July 6, 2001; amended Aug. 19,
2005; amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-2. Original registration; renewal;
expiration. (a) Each original registration or re-
newal registration for a registered certification au-
thority shall expire one year from the date of
issuance.

(b) Each renewal application for registration
shall be deemed timely if the registered certifi-
cation authority files a renewal application with
the secretary of state within 60 days before the
date the original application or renewal applica-
tion otherwise will expire. (Authorized by K.S.A
16-1618; implementing K.S.A. 16-1617; effective
July 6, 2001; amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-3. Registration forms. (a) Each per-
son, before performing the duties of a registered
certification authority, shall register with the sec-
retary of state on forms prescribed by the secre-
tary of state.

(b) Original applications, renewal applications,
and other information may be allowed by the sec-
retary of state to be filed electronically.

(c) Each applicant for registered certification
authority shall file the following with the original
application or renewal application:

(1) A compliance review with a report date
within 90 days of the original application or re-
newal application date;

(2) a copy of the applicant’s certification prac-
tice statement and CP;

(3) a nonrefundable original application or re-
newal application fee of $1,000; and

(4) a good and sufficient surety bond, certificate
of insurance, or other evidence of financial secu-
rity in the amount of $100,000. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 16-1618; implementing K.S.A. 16-1617; ef-
fective July 6, 2001; amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-4. Evidence of financial security.
The evidence of financial security shall include, in
addition to the requirements of K.S.A. 16-1617
and amendments thereto, the following: (a) The
identity of the insurer or the financial institution
issuing the surety bond, certificate of insurance,
or irrevocable letter of credit, including the fol-
lowing information:

(1) The name;

(2) the mailing address;

(3) the physical address; and
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(4) the identification, by number or copy of ap-
propriate documentation, of the licensure or ap-
proval as a financial institution or as an insurer in
this state;

(b) the identity of the registered certification
authority on behalf of which the evidence of fi-
nancial security is issued;

(c) a statement that the evidence of financial
security is issued payable to the secretary of state
for the benefit of persons holding qualified rights
of payment against the registered certification au-
thority named as principal of the surety bond, cer-
tificate of insurance, or irrevocable letter of credit;

(d) a statement that the evidence of financial
security is issued for filing pursuant to the Kansas
uniform electronic transactions act and amend-
ments thereto; and

(e) a statement of term that extends at least as
long as the term of the registration to be issued
to the registered certification authority. (Author-
ized by K.S.A. 16-1618; implementing K.S.A. 16-
1617; effective July 6, 2001; amended March 6,
2009.)

7-41-3. Certification practice statement.
Each registered certification authority shall file
with the secretary of state a certification practice
statement as required by K.A.R. 7-41-3. The state-
ment shall declare the practices that the regis-
tered certification authority uses in issuing, sus-
pending, revoking, and renewing certificates. The
statement shall also include the following infor-
mation: (a) If certificates are issued by security
levels, the necessary criteria for each certificate
security level, including the methods of certificate
applicant identification applicable to each security
level;

(b) disclosure of any warnings, liability limita-
tions, warranty disclaimers, and indemnity and
hold harmless provisions, if any, upon which the
registered certification authority intends to rely;

(c) disclosure of any and all disclaimers and lim-
itations on obligations, losses, or damages, if any,
to be asserted by the registered certification
authority;

(d) a written description of all representations
from the certificate applicant required by the reg-
istered certification authority relating to the cer-
tificate applicant’s responsibility to protect the
private key; and

(e) disclosure of any mandatory dispute reso-
lution process, if any, including any choice of fo-
rum and choice of law provisions. (Authorized by
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K.S.A. 16-1618; implementing K.S.A. 16-1617; ef-
fective July 6, 2001; amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-6. Changes to information. Each
original applicant or renewal applicant for a reg-
istered certification authority shall notify the sec-
retary of state about any change to its CP, CPS,
or information contained in its original application
or renewal application, as the CP, CPS, or infor-
mation appears in the secretary of state’s files,
within 30 days of the effective date of the change.
(Authorized by K.S.A. 16-1618; implementing
K.S.A. 16-1617; effective July 6, 2001; amended
March 6, 2009.)

7-41-7. Recordkeeping and retention of
registered certification authority documents.
Each registered certification authority shall main-
tain documentation of compliance with the Kan-
sas uniform electronic transactions act and this ar-
ticle. The documentation shall include evidence
demonstrating that the registered certification au-
thority has met the following requirements:

(a) Each registered certification authority shall
retain its records of the issuance, acceptance, and
any suspension or revocation of a certificate for a
period of at least 10 years after the certificate is
revoked or expires. The registered certification
authority shall retain custody of the records unless
it ceases to act as a registered certification
authority.

(b) All records subject to this article shall be in
the English language. (Authorized by K.S.A. 16-
1618; implementing K.S.A. 16-1617; effective July
6, 2001; amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-8 and 7-41-9. (Authorized by K.S.A.
2000 Supp. 16-1618; implementing K.S.A. 2000
Supp. 16-1617; effective July 6, 2001; revoked
March 6, 2009.)

7-41-10. Procedure upon discontinu-
ance of registered certification authority
business. Each registered certification authority
that discontinues providing registered certifica-
tion authority services without making other ar-
rangements for the preservation of the registered
certification authority’s records shall notify the
secretary of state and the subscribers, in writing,
of its discontinuance of business. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 16-1618; implementing K.S.A. 16-1617; ef-
fective July 6, 2001; amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-11. Recovery against financial se-
curity. (a) In order to recover against a registered
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certification authority’s surety bond, certificate of
insurance, or other evidence of financial security,
the claimant shall meet the following
requirements:

(1) File a signed notice of the claim with the
secretary of state, providing the following
information:

(A) The name and address of the claimant;

(B) the amount claimed;

(C) the grounds for the qualified right to pay-
ment; and

(D) the date of the occurrence forming the ba-
sis of the claim; and

(2) attach to the notice a certified copy of the
judgment upon which the qualified right to pay-
ment is based, except as provided in subsection
(b).

(b) If the notice specified in this regulation is
filed before entry of judgment, the notice shall be
held on file by the secretary of state, without fur-
ther action, until the claimant files a copy of the
judgment. If the secretary of state determines that
the action identified in the notice finally has been
resolved without a judgment awarding the claim-
ant a qualified right to payment, the notice may
be expunged by the secretary of state from the
secretary of state’s records. A notice shall not be
expunged by the secretary of state until two years
have elapsed since the notice first was filed.

(c) A notice for filing shall be rejected by the
secretary of state if the date of the occurrence
forming the basis for the complaint is more than
two years before the filing of the notice.

(d) If the notice and judgment are filed pur-
suant to paragraphs (a)(1) and (2), a copy of the
notice and judgment shall be provided by the sec-
retary of state to the surety, insurer, or issuer of
the financial security for qualified right of pay-
ment to the claimant. (Authorized by K.S.A. 16-
1618; implementing K.S.A. 16-1617; effective July
6, 2001; amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-12. Reciprocity. (a) Any registered
certification authority that is licensed, registered,
or otherwise under the statutory oversight of a
governmental agency, as defined by the Kansas
uniform electronic transactions act and amend-
ments thereto, may be registered as a registered
certification authority in Kansas if all of the fol-
lowing conditions are met:

(1) The oversight of the governmental agency
is equal to or greater than the oversight required
pursuant to the Kansas uniform electronic trans-
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actions act and amendments thereto and this
article.

(2) The registered certification authority sub-
mits to the secretary of state a written request for
registration and a copy of the license or registra-
tion issued by the governmental agency.

(3) The registered certification authority pays
the $1,000 application fee.

(b) Each registered certification authority reg-
istered pursuant to this regulation shall be exempt
from the provisions of K.A.R. 7-41-3(c)(1).

(c) If the information filed pursuant to this reg-
ulation is satisfactory to the secretary of state, a
registered certification authority may be issued a
Kansas reciprocal registration by the secretary of
state. (Authorized by K.S.A. 16-1618; implement-
ing K.S.A. 16-1619; effective July 6, 2001;
amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-13. Use of subscriber information.
Each registered certification authority shall use
subscriber and certificate applicant information
only for the purpose of performing the identifi-
cation and authentication process. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 16-1618; implementing K.S.A. 16-1617; ef-
fective July 6, 2001; amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-14. State agency; compliance. Each
state agency offering or providing the option of
using a digital signature to persons doing business
with the state agency shall meet either of the fol-
lowing requirements:

(a)(1) Become an LRA by executing an agree-
ment with the RA, as contained in the appendices
to the ITEC certificate policy; and

(2) perform the duties of an LRA in accordance
with the ITEC policy and these regulations; or

(b)(1) Become an LRA’s trusted partner by ex-
ecuting a trusted partner agreement with an LRA,
as contained in the appendices to the ITEC cer-
tificate policy; and

(2) perform the duties of an LRA’s trusted part-
ner in accordance with the ITEC certificate policy
and these regulations. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 16-1605; effective Aug. 19, 2005;
amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-15. Registration authority, local
registration authority, and local registration
authority’s trusted partner; compliance. Each
RA, LRA, and LRA’s trusted partner shall meet
the following requirements:

(a) Comply with these regulations and the
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ITEC certificate policy when administering any
certificate or the associated keys; and

(b) ensure that I and A procedures are imple-
mented in compliance with the requirements for
certificate security levels specified in the ITEC
certificate policy. (Authorized by and implement-
ing K.S.A. 16-1605; effective Aug. 19, 2005;
amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-16. Registration authority, local
registration authority, and local registration
authority’s trusted partner; general respon-
sibilities. (a) Each RA, LRA, and LRA’s trusted
partner shall perform that party’s duties in a man-
ner that meets the following requirements:

(1) Complies with the ITEC certificate policy;

(2) promotes a cooperative relationship with
registered CAs; and

(3) uses keys and certificates issued by a regis-
tered CA only for authorized purposes.

(b) The primary duties of each RA, LRA, or
LRA’s trusted partner shall be the following:

(1) The establishment of a trustworthy environ-
ment and procedure for certificate applicants to
submit applications;

(2) the T and A of each person applying for a
certificate or requesting a certificate renewal or a
certificate update in compliance with the require-
ments for certificate security levels specified in
the ITEC certificate policy;

(3) the approval or rejection of certificate ap-
plications; and

(4) the revocation of certificates at the request
of the subscriber or other authorized persons or
upon the initiative of the RA, LRA, or LRA’s
trusted partner. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 16-1605; effective Aug. 19, 2005; amended
March 6, 2009.)

7-41-17. Registration authority, local
registration authority, and local registration
authority’s trusted partner; certification.
Each RA, LRA, and LRA’s trusted partner shall
certify on a form prescribed by the ITIMG that
the RA, LRA, or LRA’s trusted partner has se-
cured an individual subscriber application from a
certificate applicant and authenticated the certif-
icate applicant’s identity in compliance with the
requirements for certificate security levels speci-
fied in the ITEC certificate policy when submit-
ting certificate applicant information to an LRA,
the RA, or a registered CA. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 16-1605; effective Aug. 19,
2005; amended March 6, 2009.)
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7-41-18 through 7-41-29. (Authorized
by and implementing K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 16-1605;
effective Aug. 19, 2005; revoked March 6, 2009.)

7-41-30. Identification and authentica-
tion; certificate security levels. Each RA, LRA,
and LRA’s trusted partner shall ensure that the
applicable requirements for certificate security
levels specified in the ITEC certificate policy are
met when conducting the I and A of a certificate
applicant. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 16-1605; effective Aug. 19, 2005; amended
March 6, 2009.)

7-41-31. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 16-1605; effective Aug. 19,
2005; revoked March 6, 2009.)

7-41-32. Agreements; registration au-
thority; local registration authority; local reg-
istration authority’s trusted partner; certifi-
cate applicant. Each RA, LRA, LRA’s trusted
partner, and certificate applicant shall execute the
agreements contained in the appendices of the
ITEC certificate policy when contracting for cer-
tificate services. The agreements shall be exe-
cuted before the issuance, administration, or use
of the certificates. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 16-1605; effective Aug. 19, 2005;
amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-33. Picture identification creden-
tials. Each facial image identification required by
an RA, LRA, or LRA’s trusted partner for the pur-
pose of I and A shall meet the minimum accept-
able standards used in the identification creden-
tials specified in the ITEC certificate policy for
certificate security levels. (Authorized by and im-
plementing K.S.A. 16-1605; effective Aug. 19,
2005; amended March 6, 2009.)

7-41-34. Certificate; format and name.
Each certificate issued by a registered CA for use
by a state agency pursuant to K.S.A. 16-1605, and
amendments thereto, shall be in the X.509 format
and contain a distinguished name in compliance
with the ITEC certificate policy. (Authorized by
and implementing K.S.A. 16-1605; effective
March 6, 2009.)

7-41-35. Registered certification au-
thority; ITEC certificate policy. Each person
who performs the duties of a registered certifi-
cation authority and issues certificates used by a
state agency pursuant to K.S.A. 16-1605, and
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amendments thereto, shall comply with the ITEC  and 16-1618; implementing K.S.A. 16-1605 and
certificate policy. (Authorized by K.S.A. 16-1605 16-1617; effective March 6, 2009.)
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Agency 17

Office of the State Bank Commissioner

Articles
17-24. MORTGAGE BUSINESS.

Article 24.—MORTGAGE BUSINESS

17-24-2. Mortgage business fees. At the
time of filing any application, or providing any no-
tice that requires the amendment of any license
or registration pursuant to the Kansas mortgage
business act, K.S.A. 9-2201 et seq. and amend-
ments thereto, each applicant, licensee, or regis-
trant shall remit to the office of the state bank
commissioner the following applicable nonre-

fundable fees:
(a) New or renewal application for prin-
cipal place of business or branch of-

fice

(b) Application for new or renewal reg-
istration as loan originator

(c) Amendment of any license or regis-
tration

$50

(Authorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 9-2209, as
amended by 2009 SB 240, §9; implementing
K.S.A. 9-2204, K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 9-2205, as
amended by 2009 SB 240, {7, and K.S.A. 9-2215;
effective, T-17-4-9-99, April 9, 1999; amended
Dec. 21, 2001; amended Oct. 2, 2009.)

17-24-3. Prelicensing and continuing
education; requirements. (a) Each individual
required to register as a loan originator pursuant
to the Kansas mortgage business act, K.S.A. 9-
2201 et seq. and amendments thereto, shall com-
plete at least 20 hours of prelicensing professional
education (PPE) approved in accordance with
subsection (c), which shall include at least the
following:

(1) Three hours of federal law and regulations;

(2) three hours of ethics, which shall include
instruction on fraud, consumer protection, and
fair lending issues; and

(3) two hours of training related to lending
standards for the nontraditional mortgage product
marketplace.

(b) Each individual required to register as a
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loan originator pursuant to the Kansas mortgage
business act, K.S.A. 9-2201 et seq. and amend-
ments thereto, shall annually complete at least
eight hours of approved continuing professional
education (CPE) as a condition of registration re-
newal, which shall include at least the following:

(1) Three hours of federal law and regulations;

(2) two hours of ethics, which shall include in-
struction on fraud, consumer protection, and fair
lending issues; and

(3) two hours of training related to lending
standards for the nontraditional mortgage product
marketplace.

(¢) Each PPE and each CPE course shall first
be approved by the office of the state bank com-
missioner (OSBC), or its designee, before grant-
ing credit.

(d) In addition to the specific topic require-
ments in subsections (a) and (b), PPE and CPE
courses shall focus on issues of mortgage business,
as defined by K.S.A. 9-2201 and amendments
thereto, or related industry topics.

(e) One PPE or CPE hour shall consist of at
least 50 minutes of approved instruction.

(f) Each request for PPE or CPE course ap-
proval shall be submitted on a form approved by
the OSBC. A request for PPE or CPE course ap-
proval may be submitted by any person, as defined
by K.S.A. 9-2201 and amendments thereto.

(g) Evidence of satisfactory completion of ap-
proved PPE or CPE courses shall be submitted in
the manner prescribed by the commissioner.
Each registrant shall ensure that PPE or CPE
credit has been properly submitted to the OSBC
and shall maintain verification records in the form
of completion certificates or other documentation
of attendance at approved PPE or CPE courses.

(h) Each CPE year shall begin on the first day
of January and shall end on the 31st day of De-
cember each year.

(i) A registrant may receive credit for a CPE
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course only in the year in which the course is
taken. A registrant shall not take the same ap-
proved course in the same or successive years to
meet the annual requirements for CPE.

(j) Each registrant who fails to renew the reg-
istrant’s certificate of registration, in accordance
with K.S.A. 9-2205 and amendments thereto, shall
obtain all delinquent CPE before receiving a new
certificate of registration.

(k) A registrant who is an instructor of an ap-
proved continuing education course may receive
credit for the registrant’s own annual continuing
education requirement at the rate of two hours of
credit for every one hour taught. (Authorized by
and implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 9-2209, as
amended by 2009 SB 240, §9; effective March 1,
2002; amended Oct. 2, 2009.)

17-24-4. Record retention. (a) In any
mortgage transaction in which the licensee does
not close the mortgage loan in the licensee’s
name, the licensee shall retain the following doc-
uments, as applicable, for at least 36 months fol-
lowing the loan closing date, or if the loan is not
closed, the loan application date:

(1) The application;

(2) the good faith estimate;

(3) the early truth-in-lending disclosure
statement;

(4) any written agreements with the borrower
that describe rates, fees, broker compensation,
and any other similar fees;

(5) an appraisal performed by a Kansas-li-
censed or Kansas-certified appraiser completed
within 12 months before the loan closing date, the
total appraised value of the real estate as reflected
in the most recent records of the tax assessor of
the county in which the real estate is located, or,
for a nonpurchase money real estate transaction,
the estimated market value as determined
through an acceptable automated valuation
model, pursuant to K.S.A. 16a-1-301(6) and
amendments thereto;

(6) the signed Kansas acknowledgment as re-
quired by K.S.A. 9-2208(b), and amendments
thereto;

(7) the adjustable rate mortgage
disclosure;

(8) the home equity line of credit (HELOC)
disclosure statement;

(9) the affiliated business
disclosure;

(10) evidence that the special information

(ARM)

arrangement

28

booklet, consumer handbook on adjustable rate
mortgages, home equity brochure, reverse mort-
gage booklet, or any suitable substitute was deliv-
ered in a timely manner;

(11) the certificate of counseling for home eq-
uity conversion mortgages (HECMs);

(12) the loan cost disclosure statement for
HECMs;

(13) the notice to the borrower for HECMs;

(14) phone log or any correspondence with as-
sociated notes detailing each contact with the
consumer;

(15) any documentation that aided the licensee
in making a credit decision, including a credit re-
port, title work, verification of employment, veri-
fication of income, bank statements, payroll re-
cords, and tax returns;

(16) the settlement statement; and

(17) all paid invoices for appraisal, title work,
credit report, and any other closing costs.

(b) In any mortgage transaction in which the
licensee provides any money to fund the loan or
closes the mortgage loan in the licensee’s name,
the licensee shall retain both the documents re-
quired in subsection (a) and the following docu-
ments, as applicable, for at least 36 months from
the mortgage loan closing date:

(1) The high loan-to-value notice required by
K.S.A. 16a-3-207 and amendments thereto;

(2) the final truth-in-lending disclosure state-
ment, including an itemization of the amount fi-
nanced and an itemization of any prepaid finance
charges;

(3) any credit insurance requests and insurance
certificates;

(4) the note and any other applicable contract
addendum or rider;

(5) a copy of the filed mortgage or deed;

(6) a copy of the title policy or search;

(7) the assignment of the mortgage and note;

(8) the initial escrow account statement or es-
crow account waiver;

(9) the notice of the right to rescind or waiver
of the right to rescind, if applicable;

(10) the special home ownership and equity
protection act disclosures required by regulation
7Z in 12 CFR 226.32(c) and 226.34(a)(2), as
amended and in effect on October 1, 2009, if
applicable;

(11) the mortgage servicing disclosure state-
ment and applicant acknowledgement;

(12) the notice of transfer of mortgage
servicing;
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(13) any interest rate lock-in agreement or float
agreement; and

(14) any other disclosures or statements re-
quired by law.

(c) In any mortgage transaction in which the
licensee owns the mortgage loan or the servicing
rights of the mortgage loan and directly or indi-
rectly undertakes collection of payments or en-
forcement of rights against debtors, the licensee
shall retain the documents required in subsections
(a) and (b) and the following documents, as ap-
plicable, for at least 36 months from the final entry
to each account:

(1) A complete payment history, including the
following:

(A) An explanation of transaction codes, if
used;

(B) the principal balance;

(C) the payment amount;

(D) the payment date;

(E) the distribution of the payment amount to
the following:

(i) Interest;

ii) principal;
iii) late fees or other fees; and
iv) escrow; and
) any other amounts that have been added
to, or deducted from, a consumer’s account;

(2) any other statements, disclosures, invoices,
or information for each account, including the
following:

(A) Documentation supporting any amounts
added to a consumer’s account or evidence that a
service was actually performed in connection with
these amounts, or both, including costs of collec-
tion, attorney’s fees, property inspections, prop-
erty preservations, and broker price opinions;

(B) annual escrow account statements and re-
lated escrow account analyses;

(C) notice of shortage or deficiency in escrow
account;

(D) loan modification agreements;

(E) forbearance or any other repayment
agreements;

(F) subordination agreements;

) foreclosure notices;

H) evidence of sale of foreclosed homes;

I) surplus or deficiency balance statements;

]) default-related correspondence or documents;
K)

L)

)
C)
D)

(
(
(
(F

~— —

the notice of the consumer’s right to cure;
any property insurance advance disclosure;

(G
(
(
(
(
(
(M) force-placed property insurance;
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(N) notice and evidence of credit insurance
premium refunds;

(O) deferred interest;

(P) suspense accounts;

(Q) phone log or any correspondence with as-
sociated notes detailing each contact between the
servicer and the consumer; and

(R) any other product or service agreements;
and

(3) documents related to the general servicing
activities of the licensee, including the following:

(A) Historical records for all adjustable rate
mortgage indices used;

(B) a log of all accounts sold, transferred, or
assigned that details to whom the accounts were
sold, transferred, or assigned;

(C) alog of all accounts in which foreclosure
activity has been initiated;

(D) alog of all credit insurance claims and ac-
counts paid by credit insurance; and

(E) a schedule of servicing fees and charges
imposed by the licensee or a third party.

(d) In addition to meeting the requirements
specified in subsections (a), (b), and (c), each li-
censee shall retain for at least the previous 36
months the documents related to the general
business activities of the licensee, which shall in-
clude the following:

(1) The business account check ledger or
register;

(2) all financial statements, balance sheets, or
statements of condition;

(3) all escrow account ledgers and related de-
posit statements as required by K.S.A. 9-2213, and
amendments thereto;

(4) a journal of mortgage transactions as re-
quired by K.S.A. 9-2216a and amendments
thereto;

(5) all lease agreements for Kansas locations;
and

(6) a schedule of the licensee’s fees and
charges. (Authorized by K.S.A. 9-2209, as
amended by 2009 SB 240, §9; implementing
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 9-2208, K.S.A. 9-2213, and
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 9-2216, as amended by 2009
SB 240, §12; effective Oct. 31, 2003; amended
Oct. 2, 2009.)

17-24-5. Prelicensure testing. (a) On and
after July 31, 2010, each individual required to
register as a loan originator pursuant to the Kansas
mortgage business act, K.S.A. 9-2201 et seq. and
amendments thereto, shall pass a qualified written
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test. For purposes of this regulation, the commis-
sioner’s designee for developing and administer-
ing the qualified written test shall be the nation-
wide mortgage licensing system and registry.

(b) A written test shall not be treated as a qual-
ified written test for purposes of subsection (a)
unless the test adequately measures the appli-
cant’s knowledge and comprehension in appro-
priate subject areas, including the following:

(1) Ethics;

(2) federal laws and regulations pertaining to
mortgage origination;

(3) state laws and regulations pertaining to
mortgage origination; and

(4) federal and state laws and regulations, in-
cluding instruction on fraud, consumer protec-
tion, the nontraditional mortgage marketplace,
and fair lending issues.

(c)(1) An applicant shall not be considered to
have passed a qualified written test unless the ap-
plicant achieves a test score of at least 75 percent.

(2) An applicant may retake a test three con-
secutive times, with each consecutive taking oc-
curring at least 30 days after the preceding test.

(3) After failing three consecutive tests, an ap-
plicant shall wait at least six months before taking
the test again.

30

(4) A registrant who fails to maintain a valid
license for five years or longer shall retake the test,
not including any time during which the individual
is a registered loan originator, as defined in sec-
tion 1503 of title V, S.A.F.E. mortgage licensing
act of 2008, P.L. 110-289. (Authorized by and im-
plementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 9-2209, as
amended by 2009 SB 240, §9; effective Oct. 2,
2009.)

17-24-6. Bond requirements. Each appli-
cant for a new or renewal Kansas mortgage busi-
ness act license shall submit a bond in the follow-
ing amounts: (a) For any applicant who maintains
a bona fide office, $50,000.00 or, if the applicant
or licensee originated or made more than
$50,000,000.00 in Kansas mortgage loans during
the previous calendar year, $75,000.00; or

(b) for each applicant or licensee who does not
maintain a bona fide office, $100,000.00 or, if the
applicant or licensee originated more than
$50,000,000.00 in Kansas mortgage loans during
the previous calendar year, $125,000.00. (Author-
ized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 9-2209, as amended by
2009 SB 240, {9, and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 9-2211,
as amended by 2009 SB 240, §10; implementing
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 9-2211, as amended by 2009
SB 240, §10; effective Oct. 2, 2009.)



Agency 22
State Fire Marshal

Articles

22-24. REGIONAL HAZARDOUS MATERIALS RESPONSE.

Article 24.—REGIONAL HAZARDOUS
MATERIALS RESPONSE

22-24-3. Adoption by reference. As part
of the development and implementation of a
statewide system of hazardous material assess-
ment and response, the following nationally rec-
ognized standards are hereby adopted by
reference:

(a) “Standard for competence of responders to
hazardous materials/weapons of mass destruction
incidents,” national fire protection association
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(NFPA) standard no. 472, including annexes but
excluding chapter 1, section 2.3 and chapter 9,
2008 edition; and

(b) “standard for competencies for EMS per-
sonnel responding to hazardous materials/weap-
ons of mass destruction incidents,” national fire
protection association (NFPA) standard no. 473,
including annexes but excluding chapter 1, section
2.3, 2008 edition. (Authorized by and implement-
ing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 31-133; effective, T- 22-10-
25-01, Oct. 25, 2001; effective Feb. 15, 2002;
amended Oct. 2, 2009.)






Agency 26

Kansas Department on Aging

Articles

26-39. ADULT CARE HOMES.

26-41.

26-42. HOMES PLUS.

26-43. ADULT DAY CARE FACILITIES.

Article 39.—ADULT CARE HOMES

26-39-100. Definitions. The following
terms and definitions shall apply to all of the de-
partment’s regulations governing adult care
homes:

(a) “Activities director” means an individual
who meets at least one of the following
requirements:

(1) Has a degree in therapeutic recreation;

(2) is licensed in Kansas as an occupational ther-
apist or occupational therapy assistant;

(3) has a bachelor’s degree in a therapeutic ac-
tivity field in art therapy, horticultural therapy,
music therapy, special education, or a related
therapeutic activity field;

(4) is certified as a therapeutic recreation spe-
cialist or as an activities professional by a recog-
nized accrediting body;

(5) has two years of experience in a social or
recreational program within the last five years,
one of which was full-time in an activities program
in a health care setting; or

(6) has completed a course approved by the
Kansas department of health and environment in
resident activities coordination and receives con-
sultation from a therapeutic recreation specialist,
an occupational therapist, an occupational therapy
assistant, or an individual with a bachelor’s degree
in art therapy, music therapy, or horticultural
therapy.

(b) “Administrator” means an individual who is
responsible for the general administration of an
adult care home, whether or not the individual has
an ownership interest in the adult care home.
Each administrator of an adult care home shall be
licensed in accordance with K.S.A. 65-3501 et seq.
and amendments thereto.

(c) “Adult care home” has the meaning speci-
fied in K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto.
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(d) “Adult day care” has the meaning specified
in K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto.

(e) “Advanced registered nurse practitioner”
means an individual who is certified by the Kansas
board of nursing as an advanced registered nurse
practitioner.

(f) “Alteration” means any addition to, modifi-
cation of, or modernization of the structure or us-
age of a facility.

(g) “Ambulatory resident” means any resident
who is physically and mentally capable of per-
forming the following without the assistance of an-
other person:

(1) Getting in and out of bed; and

(2) walking between locations in the living
environment.

(h) “Applicant” means any individual, firm,
partnership, corporation, company, association, or
joint stock association requesting a license to op-
erate an adult care home.

(i) “Assisted living facility” has the meaning
specified in K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments
thereto.

(j) “Audiologist” means an individual who is li-
censed by the Kansas department of health and
environment as an audiologist.

(k) “Basement” means the part of a building
that is below grade.

(1) “Biologicals” means medicinal preparations
made from living organisms and their products,
including serums, vaccines, antigens, and
antitoxins.

(m) “Boarding care home” has the meaning
specified in K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments
thereto.

(n) “Case manager” means an individual as-
signed to a resident to provide assistance in access
and coordination of information and services in a
program authorized by the Kansas department on
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aging, the Kansas department of social and reha-
bilitation services, or the Kansas health policy
authority.

(0) “Change of ownership” means any transac-
tion that results in a change of control over the
capital assets of an adult care home.

(p) “Chemical restraint” means a medication or
biological that meets the following conditions:

(1) Is used to control a resident’s behavior or
restrict a resident’s freedom of movement; and

(2) is not a standard treatment for a resident’s
medical or psychiatric condition.

(q) “Clinical record” means the record that in-
cludes all the information and entries reflecting
each resident’s course of stay in an adult care
home.

(r) “Complicated feeding problems” shall in-
clude difficulty with swallowing, recurrent lung
aspirations, and tube, parenteral, or intravenous
feedings.

(s) “Controlled substance” means any medica-
tion, substance, or immediate precursor included
in any of the schedules designated in K.S.A. 65-
4105, K.S.A. 65-4107, K.S.A. 65-4109, K.S.A. 65-
4111, and K.S.A. 65-4113, and amendments
thereto.

(t) “Day shift” means any eight-hour to 12-hour
work period that occurs between the hours of 6
am. and 9 p.m.

(u) “Department” means the Kansas depart-
ment on aging.

(v) “Dietetic services supervisor” means an in-
dividual who meets one of the following
requirements:

(1) Is licensed in Kansas as a dietitian;

(2) has an associate’s degree in dietetic tech-
nology from a program approved by the American
dietetic association;

(3) is a dietary manager who is certified by the
board of the dietary managers” association; or

(4) has training and experience in dietetic serv-
ices supervision and management that are deter-
mined by the Kansas department on aging to be
equivalent in content to the requirement specified
in paragraph (2) or (3) of this subsection.

(w) “Dietitian” means an individual who is li-
censed by the Kansas department of health and
environment as a dietitian.

(x) “Direct care staff” means the individuals
employed by or working under contract for an
adult care home who assist residents in activities
of daily living. These activities may include the
following:
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Ambulating;
bathing;

bed mobility;
dressing;

eating;

personal hygiene;
toileting; and
transferring.

(y) “Director of nursing” means a position in a
nursing facility or a nursing facility for mental
health that is held by one or more individuals who
meet the following requirements:

(1) Each individual shall be licensed in Kansas
as a registered professional nurse.

(2) If only one individual serves in this position,
the individual shall be employed at least 35 hours
each week.

(3) If more than one individual serves in this
position, the individuals shall be employed collec-
tively for a total of at least 40 hours each week.

(4) Each individual shall have the responsibil-
ity, administrative authority, and accountability
for the supervision of nursing care provided to
residents in the nursing facility or the nursing fa-
cility for mental health.

(z) “Full-time” means 35 or more hours each
week.

(aa) “Health information management practi-
tioner” means an individual who is certified as a
registered health information administrator or a
registered health information technician by the
American  health information management
association.

(bb) “Home plus” has the meaning specified in
K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto.

(cc) “Interdisciplinary team” means the follow-
ing group of individuals:

(1) A registered nurse with responsibility for
the care of the residents; and

(2) other appropriate staff, as identified by res-
ident comprehensive assessments, who are re-
sponsible for the development of care plans for
residents.

(dd) “Intermediate care facility for the mentally
retarded” has the meaning specified in K.S.A. 39-
923 and amendments thereto.

(ee) “Legal representative” means an agent act-
ing within the bounds of the agent’s legal authority
who meets any of the following criteria:

(1) Has been designated by a resident to serve
as the resident’s trustee, power of attorney, du-
rable power of attorney, or power of attorney for
health care decisions;

(1)
(2)
(3)
(4)
(5)
(6)
(7)
(8)
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(2) is a court-appointed guardian or conservator
authorized to act on behalf of the resident in ac-
cordance with K.S.A. 59-3051 et seq. and amend-
ments thereto; or

(3) if the resident is a minor, is either of the
following:

(A) A natural guardian, as defined in K.S.A. 59-
3051 and amendments thereto; or

(B) a court-appointed guardian, conservator,
trustee, or an individual or agency vested with cus-
tody of the minor pursuant to the revised Kansas
code for care of children, K.S.A. 38-2201 through
38-2283, and amendments thereto, or the revised
Kansas juvenile justice code, K.S.A. 38-2301
through 38-2387, and amendments thereto.

(ff) “Licensed mental health technician” means
an individual licensed by the Kansas board of
nursing as a licensed mental health technician.

(gg) “Licensed nurse” means an individual li-
censed by the Kansas board of nursing as a reg-
istered professional nurse or licensed practical
nurse.

(hh) “Licensed practical nurse” means an in-
dividual who is licensed by the Kansas board of
nursing as a licensed practical nurse and is super-
vised by a registered professional nurse, in ac-
cordance with K.S.A. 65-1113 and amendments
thereto.

(ii) “Licensee” means an individual, firm, part-
nership, association, company, corporation, or
joint stock association authorized by a license ob-
tained from the secretary of aging to operate an
adult care home.

(ji) “Medical care provider” means any of the
following individuals:

(1) A physician licensed by the Kansas board of
healing arts to practice medicine and surgery in
accordance with K.S.A. 65-28,102 and amend-
ments thereto;

(2) a physician assistant who is licensed by the
Kansas board of healing arts in accordance with
K.S.A. 65-28202 and amendments thereto and
who provides health care services under the di-
rection and supervision of a responsible physician;
or

(3) an advanced registered nurse practitioner
who is licensed by the Kansas board of nursing in
accordance with K.S.A. 65-1113 and amendments
thereto and who provides health care services in
accordance with article 11 of the Kansas board of
nursing’s regulations.

(kk) “Medication” means any “drug” as defined
by K.S.A. 65-1626 and amendments thereto.
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(II) “Medication administration” means an act
in which a single dose of a prescribed medication
or biological is given by application, injection, in-
halation, ingestion, or any other means to a resi-
dent by an authorized person in accordance with
all laws and regulations governing the administra-
tion of medications and biologicals. Medication
administration shall consist of the following:

(1) Removing a single dose from a labeled con-
tainer, including a unit-dose container;

(2) verifying the medication and dose with the
medical care provider’s orders;

(3) administering the dose to the proper resi-
dent; and

(4) documenting the dose in the resident’s clin-
ical record.

(mm) “Medication aide” means an individual
who has a medication aide certificate issued by the
Kansas department of health and environment ac-
cording to K.A.R. 28-39-169b and is supervised
by a licensed nurse.

(nn) “Medication dispensing” means the deliv-
ery of one or more doses of a medication by a
licensed pharmacist or physician. The medication
shall be dispensed in a container and labeled in
compliance with state and federal laws and regu-
lations.

(00) “Non-ambulatory resident” means any res-
ident who is not physically or mentally capable of
performing the following without the assistance of
another person:

(1) Getting in and out of bed; and

(2) walking between locations in the living
environment.

(pp) “Nurse aide” means an individual who has
a nurse aide certificate issued by the Kansas de-
partment of health and environment according to
K.A.R. 28-39-165 and is supervised by a licensed
nurse.

(qq) “Nurse aide trainee” means an individual
who is in the process of completing a nurse aide
training program as specified in K.A.R. 28-39-165
or K.A.R. 28-39-167 and has not been issued a
nurse aide certificate by the Kansas department
of health and environment.

(rr) “Nursing facility” has the meaning specified
in K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto.

(ss) “Nursing facility for mental health” has the
meaning specified in K.S.A. 39-923 and amend-
ments thereto.

(tt) “Nursing personnel” means all of the
following:

(1) Registered professional nurses;
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(2) licensed practical nurses;

(3) licensed mental health technicians in nurs-
ing facilities for mental health;

(4) medication aides;

) nurse aides;
) nurse aide trainees; and
) paid nutrition assistants.

(uu) “Nursing unit” means a distinct area of a
nursing facility serving not more than 60 residents
and including the service areas and rooms de-
scribed in K.A.R. 28-39-162a.

(vv) “Occupational therapist” means an individ-
ual who is licensed with the Kansas board of heal-
ing arts as an occupational therapist.

(ww) “Occupational therapy assistant” means
an individual who is licensed by the Kansas board
of healing arts as an occupational therapy
assistant.

(xx) “Operator” has the meaning specified in
K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto.

(yy) “Paid nutrition assistant” has the meaning
specified in K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments
thereto. In addition, each paid nutrition assistant
shall meet the following requirements:

(1) Have successfully completed a nutrition as-
sistant course approved by the Kansas department
of health and environment;

(2) provide assistance with eating to residents
of an adult care home based on an assessment by
the supervising licensed nurse, the resident’s most
recent minimum data set assessment or functional
capacity screening, and the resident’s current care
plan or negotiated service agreement;

(3) provide assistance with eating to residents
who do not have complicated feeding problems;

(4) be supervised by a licensed nurse on duty
in the facility; and

(5) contact the supervising licensed nurse ver-
bally or on the resident call system for help in case
of an emergency.

(zz) “Personal care” means assistance provided
to a resident to enable the resident to perform
activities of daily living, including ambulating,
bathing, bed mobility, dressing, eating, personal
hygiene, toileting, and transferring.

(aaa) “Pharmacist” has the meaning specified
in K.S.A. 65-1626 and amendments thereto.

(bbb) “Physical restraint” means any method or
any physical device, material, or equipment at-
tached or adjacent to the resident’s body and
meeting the following criteria:

(1) Cannot be easily removed by the resident;
and

(5
(6
(7
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(2) restricts freedom of movement or normal
access to the resident’s body.

(cce) “Physical therapist”™ means an individual
who is licensed by the Kansas board of healing arts
as a physical therapist.

(ddd) “Physical therapy assistant” means an in-
dividual who is certified by the Kansas board of
healing arts as a physical therapy assistant.

(eee) “Physician” has the meaning specified in
K.S.A. 65-28,102 and amendments thereto.

(fff) “Psychopharmacologic drug” means any
medication prescribed with the intent of control-
ling mood, mental status, or behavior.

(ggg) “Registered professional nurse” means an
individual who is licensed by the Kansas state
board of nursing as a registered professional
nurse.

(hhh) “Resident” has the meaning specified in
K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments thereto.

(iii) “Resident capacity” means the number of
an adult care home’s beds or adult day care slots,
as licensed by the Kansas department on aging.

(jij) “Respite care” means the provision of serv-
ices to a resident on an intermittent basis for per-
iods of fewer than 30 days at any one time.

(kkk) “Restraint” is the control and limitation
of a resident’s movement by physical, mechanical,
or chemical means.

(1) “Sanitization” means effective bactericidal
treatment by a process that reduces the bacterial
count, including pathogens, to a safe level on
utensils and equipment.

(mmm) “Secretary” means the secretary of the
department on aging.

(nnn) “Self-administration of medication”
means the determination by a resident of when to
take a medication or biological and how to apply,
inject, inhale, ingest, or take a medication or bi-
ological by any other means, without assistance
from nursing staff.

(000) “Significant change in condition” means
a decline or improvement in a resident’s mental,
psychosocial, or physical functioning that requires
a change in the resident’s comprehensive plan of
care or negotiated service agreement.

(ppp) “Social services designee” means an in-
dividual who meets at least one of the following
qualifications:

(1) Is licensed by the Kansas behavioral sci-
ences regulatory board as a social worker;

(2) has a bachelor’s degree in a human service
field, including social work, sociology, special ed-
ucation, rehabilitation counseling, or psychology,
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and receives supervision from a licensed social
worker; or

(3) has completed a course in social services co-
ordination approved by the Kansas department of
health and environment and receives supervision
from a licensed social worker on a regular basis.

(qqq) “Social worker” means an individual who
is licensed by the Kansas behavioral sciences reg-
ulatory board as a social worker.

(rrr) “Speech language pathologist” means an
individual who is licensed by the Kansas depart-
ment of health and environment as a speech-lan-
guage pathologist.

(sss) “Working day” means any day other than
a Saturday, Sunday, or day designated as a holiday
by the United States congress or the Kansas leg-
islature or governor. (Authorized by K.S.A. 39-
932; implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 39-923 and
K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 22, 2009.)

26-39-101. Licensure of adult care
homes. (a) Initiation of application process.

(1) Each applicant for a license to operate an
adult care home shall submit a letter of intent to
the department.

(2) The letter of intent shall include all of the
following information:

(A) The type of adult care home license being
requested;

(B) the name, address, and telephone number
of the applicant; and

(C) the street address or legal description of the
proposed site.

(b) Initial licensure application.

(1) Each applicant for an initial license shall
submit the following to the department:

(A) A completed application on a form pre-
scribed by the department;

(B) a copy of each legal document identifying
ownership and control, including applicable
deeds, leases, and management agreements;

(C) any required approval of other owners or
mortgagors;

(D) curriculum vitae or resumes of all facility
and corporate staff responsible for the operation
and supervision of the business affairs of the
facﬂity;

(E) a complete list of names and addresses of
facilities that the applicant operates in states other
than Kansas; and

(F) a financial statement projecting the first
month’s operating income and expenses with a
current balance sheet showing a minimum of one
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month’s operating expenses in cash or owner’s eq-
uity. All financial statements shall be prepared ac-
cording to generally accepted accounting princi-
ples and certified by the applicant to be accurate.

(2) A license shall be issued by the department
if all of the following requirements are met:

(A) A licensure application has been completed
by the applicant.

(B) Construction of the facility or phase is
completed.

(C) The facility is found to meet all applicable
requirements of the law.

(D) The applicant is found to qualify for a li-
cense under K.S.A. 39-928 and amendments
thereto.

(c) Change of ownership or licensee.

(1) The current licensee shall notify the de-
partment, in writing, of any anticipated change in
the information that is recorded on the current
license at least 60 days before the proposed effec-
tive date of change.

(2) Each applicant proposing to purchase, lease,
or manage an adult care home shall submit the
following information, if applicable, to the
department:

(A) A completed application form prescribed by
the department;

(B) a copy of each legal document transferring
ownership or control, including sales contracts,
leases, deeds, and management agreements;

(C) any required approval of other owners or
mortgagors;

(D) curriculum vitae or resumes of all facility
and corporate staff responsible for the operation
and supervision of the business affairs of the fa-
Cﬂity;

(E) a complete list of names and addresses of
facilities the applicant operates in states other
than Kansas; and

(F) a financial statement projecting the first
month’s operating income and expenses with a
current balance sheet showing a minimum of one
month’s operating expenses in cash or owner’s eq-
uity. All financial statements shall be prepared ac-
cording to generally accepted accounting princi-
ples and certified by the applicant as accurate.

(3) A new license shall be issued by the de-
partment if a complete application and the re-
quired forms have been received and the appli-
cant is found to qualify for a license under K.S.A.
39-928 and amendments thereto.

(d) New construction or conversion of an exist-
ing unlicensed building to an adult care home.
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(1) Each applicant for a nursing facility, inter-
mediate care facility for the mentally retarded, as-
sisted living facility, or residential health care fa-
cility shall request approval of the site at least 30
days before construction begins. The written re-
quest for site approval shall include all of the fol-
lowing information:

(A) The name and telephone number of the
individual to be contacted by evaluation
personnel;

(B) the dimensions and boundaries of the site;
and

(C) the name of the public utility or munici-
pality that provides services to the site, including
water, sewer, electricity, and natural gas.

(2) Intermediate care facilities for the mentally
retarded shall not have more than one residential
building with at least six beds and not more than
16 beds located on one site or on contiguous sites.
The residential buildings shall be dispersed geo-
graphically to achieve integration and harmony
with the community or neighborhoods in which
the buildings are located.

(3) The applicant shall submit one copy of the
final plans for new construction or conversion of
an existing unlicensed building, for the entire pro-
ject or phase to be completed, which shall be
sealed, signed, and certified by a licensed archi-
tect to be in compliance with the following
regulations:

(A) For a nursing facility, K.A.R. 28-39-162
through K.A.R. 28-39-162c¢;

(B) for an intermediate care facility for the
mentally retarded with at least six beds and not
more than 16 beds, K.A.R. 28-39-225;

(C) for an intermediate care facility for the
mentally retarded with 17 or more beds, K.A.R.
28-39-162 through K.A.R. 28-39-162¢; and

(D) for an assisted living facility or a residential
health care facility, K.A.R. 28-39-254 through
K.A.R. 28-39-256.

(4) The applicant shall provide the department
with a 30-day notice of each of the following:

(A) The date on which the architect estimates
that 50% of the construction will be completed;
and

(B) the date on which the architect estimates
that all construction will be completed.

(5) The applicant for new construction or con-
version of an existing unlicensed building to a
home plus, boarding care home, or adult day care
facility shall submit a drawing of the proposed fa-
cility that includes identification and dimensions
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of rooms or areas as required in the following
regulations:

(A) For a home plus, K.A.R. 28-39-437;

(B) for a boarding care home, K.A.R. 28-39-
411; and

(C) for an adult day care facility, K.A.R. 28-39-
289 through K.A.R. 28-39-291.

(6) The applicant shall submit to the depart-
ment any changes from the plans, specifications,
or drawings on file at the department.

(e) Alteration and remodeling of licensed adult
care homes involving structural elements.

(1) The licensee shall submit one copy of final
plans, which shall be sealed, signed, and certified
by a licensed architect to be in compliance with
the following regulations:

(A) For a nursing facility, K.A.R. 28-39-162
through K.A.R. 28-39-162c¢;

(B) for an intermediate care facility for the
mentally retarded with at least six beds and not
more than 16 beds, K.A.R. 28-39-225;

(C) for an intermediate care facility for the
mentally retarded with 17 or more beds, K.A.R.
28-39-162 through K.A.R. 28-39-162¢;

(D) for an assisted living facility or a residential
health care facility, K.A.R. 28-39-254 through
K.A.R. 28-39-256; and

(E) for a nursing facility for mental health,
K.A.R. 28-39-227.

(2) The licensee shall submit to the department
a 30-day notice for each of the following:

(A) The date on which the architect estimates
that 50% of the construction will be completed,;

(B) the date on which the architect estimates
all construction will be completed; and

(C) any changes in the plans or specifications
information for the alterations and remodeling.

(f) Alteration, remodeling, and relocation of re-
quired rooms and areas in adult care homes not
involving structural elements.

(1) The licensee shall submit a drawing of the
facility floor plan that includes identification and
dimensions of the affected room or areas and shall
ensure compliance as required in the following
regulations:

(A) For a nursing facility, K.A.R. 28-39-162
through K.A.R. 28-39-162c;

(B) for an intermediate care facility for the
mentally retarded with at least six beds and not
more than 16 beds, K.A.R. 28-39-225;

(C) for an intermediate care facility for the
mentally retarded with 17 or more beds, K.A.R.
28-39-162 through K.A.R. 28-39-162c¢;
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(D) for an assisted living facility or a residential
health care facility, K.A.R. 28-39-254 through
K.A.R. 28-39-256; and

(E) for a nursing facility for mental health,
K.A.R. 28-39-227.

(2) The licensee shall provide the department
with a 30-day notice of the estimated date on
which the alteration, remodeling, or relocation
will be complete.

(g) Change in use of a required room or area.
If an administrator or operator changes resident
bedrooms, individual living units, and apartments
used for an alternative purpose back to resident
bedrooms, individual living units, and apartments,
the administrator or operator shall obtain the sec-
retary’s approval before the change is made.

(h) Change of resident capacity. Each licensee
shall submit a written request for any proposed
change in resident capacity to the department.
The effective date of a change in resident capacity
shall be the first day of the month following de-
partment approval.

(i) Change of administrator, director of nursing,
or operator. Each licensee of an adult care home
shall notify the department within two working
days if there is a change in administrator, director
of nursing, or operator. When a new administrator
or director of nursing is employed, the licensee
shall notify the department of the name, address,
and Kansas license number of the new adminis-
trator or director of nursing. When a new operator
is employed, the licensee shall notify the depart-
ment of the name and address of the new operator
and provide evidence that the individual has com-
pleted the operator course as specified by the sec-
retary of the Kansas department of health and en-
vironment pursuant to K.S.A. 39-923 and
amendments thereto.

(j) Administrator or operator supervision of
multiple homes. An administrator or operator may
supervise more than one separately licensed adult
care home if the following requirements are met:

(1) Each licensee shall request prior authori-
zation from the department for a licensed admin-
istrator or an operator to supervise more than one
separately licensed adult care home. The request
shall be submitted on the appropriate form and
include assurance that the lack of full-time, on-
site supervision of the adult care homes will not
adversely affect the health and welfare of
residents.

(2) All of the adult care homes shall be located
within a geographic area that allows for daily on-
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site supervision of all of the adult care homes by
the administrator or operator.

(3) The combined resident capacities of sepa-
rately licensed nursing facilities, assisted living fa-
cilities, residential health care facilities, homes
plus, and adult day care facilities shall not exceed
120 for a licensed administrator.

(4) The combined resident capacities of sepa-
rately licensed assisted living facilities, residential
health care facilities, homes plus, and adult day
care facilities shall not exceed 60 for an operator.

(5) The combined number of homes plus shall
not exceed four homes for a licensed administra-
tor or an operator.

(k) Reports. Each licensee shall file reports with
the department on forms and at times prescribed
by the department.

(1) Fees. Each initial application for a license
and each annual report filed with the department
shall be accompanied by a fee of $30.00 for each
resident in the stated resident capacity plus
$100.00. Each requested change in resident ca-
pacity shall be accompanied by a fee of $30.00 for
each resident increase or decrease in the stated
resident capacity plus $100.00. No refund of the
fee shall be made if a license application is denied.
(Authorized by K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 39-925, K.S.A.
2007 Supp. 39-930, K.S.A. 39-932, and K.S.A. 39-
933; implementing K.S.A. 39-927, K.S.A. 2007
Supp. 39-930, K.S.A. 39-932, and K.S.A. 39-933;
effective May 22, 2009.)

26-39-102. Admission, transfer, and
discharge rights of residents in adult care
homes. (a) Each licensee, administrator, or op-
erator shall develop written admission policies re-
garding the admission of residents. The admission
policy shall meet the following requirements:

(1) The administrator or operator shall ensure
the admission of only those individuals whose
physical, mental, and psychosocial needs can be
met within the accommodations and services
available in the adult care home.

(A) Each resident in a nursing facility or nursing
facility for mental health shall be admitted under
the care of a physician licensed to practice in
Kansas.

(B) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that no children under the age of 16 are admitted
to the adult care home.

(C) The administrator or operator shall allow
the admission of an individual in need of special-
ized services for mental illness to the adult care
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home only if accommodations and treatment that
will assist that individual to achieve and maintain
the highest practicable level of physical, mental,
and psychosocial functioning are available.

(2) Before admission, the administrator or op-
erator, or the designee, shall inform the prospec-
tive resident or the resident’s legal representative
in writing of the rates and charges for the adult
care home’s services and of the resident’s obliga-
tions regarding payment. This information shall
include the refund policy of the adult care home.

(3) At the time of admission, the administrator
or operator, or the designee, shall execute with
the resident or the resident’s legal representative
a written agreement that describes in detail the
services and goods the resident will receive and
specifies the obligations that the resident has to-
ward the adult care home.

(4) An admission agreement shall not include a
general waiver of liability for the health and safety
of residents.

(5) Each admission agreement shall be written
in clear and unambiguous language and printed
clearly in black type that is 12-point type or larger.

(b) At the time of admission, adult care home
staff shall inform the resident or the resident’s le-
gal representative, in writing, of the state statutes
related to advance medical directives.

(1) If a resident has an advance medical direc-
tive currently in effect, the facility shall keep a
copy on file in the resident’s clinical record.

(2) The administrator or operator, or the des-
ignee, shall ensure the development and imple-
mentation of policies and procedures related to
advance medical directives.

(c) The administrator or operator, or the des-
ignee, shall provide a copy of resident rights, the
adult care home’s policies and procedures for ad-
vance medical directives, and the adult care
home’s grievance policy to each resident or the
resident’s legal representative before the prospec-
tive resident signs any admission agreement.

(d) The administrator or operator of each adult
care home shall ensure that each resident is per-
mitted to remain in the adult care home and is
not transferred or discharged from the adult care
home unless one of the following conditions is
met:

(1) The transfer or discharge is necessary for
the resident’s welfare, and the resident’s needs
cannot be met in the current adult care home.

(2) The safety of other individuals in the adult
care home is endangered.
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(3) The health of other individuals in the adult
care home is endangered.

(4) The resident has failed, after reasonable and
appropriate notice, to pay the rates and charges
imposed by the adult care home.

(5) The adult care home ceases to operate.

(e) Before a resident is transferred or dis-
charged involuntarily, the administrator or oper-
ator, or the designee, shall perform the following:

(1) Notify the resident, the resident’s legal rep-
resentative, and if known, a designated family
member of the transfer or discharge and the rea-
sons; and

(2) record the reason for the transfer or dis-
charge under any of the circumstances specified
in paragraphs (d) (1) through (4) in the resident’s
clinical record, which shall be substantiated as fol-
lows:

(A) The resident’s physician shall document the
rationale for transfer or discharge in the resident’s
clinical record if the transfer or discharge is nec-
essary for the resident’s welfare and the resident’s
needs cannot be met by the adult care home;

(B) the resident’s physician shall document the
rationale for transfer or discharge in the resident’s
clinical record if the transfer or discharge is ap-
propriate because the resident’s health has im-
proved sufficiently so that the resident no longer
needs the services provided by the adult care
home; and

(C) a physician shall document the rationale for
transfer or discharge in the resident’s clinical rec-
ord if the transfer or discharge is necessary be-
cause the health or safety of other individuals in
the adult care home is endangered.

(f) The administrator or operator, or the des-
ignee, shall provide a notice of transfer or dis-
charge in writing to the resident or resident’s legal
representative at least 30 days before the resident
is transferred or discharged involuntarily, unless
one of the following conditions is met:

(1) The safety of other individuals in the adult
care home would be endangered.

(2) The resident’s urgent medical needs require
an immediate transfer to another health care
facility.

(g) Each written transfer or discharge notice
shall include the following:

(1) The reason for the transfer or discharge;

(2) the effective date of the transfer or
discharge;

(3) the address and telephone number of the
complaint program of the Kansas department on
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aging where a complaint related to involuntary
transfer or discharge can be registered;

(4) the address and telephone number of the
state long-term care ombudsman; and

(5) for residents who have developmental dis-
abilities or who are mentally ill, the address and
telephone number of the Kansas advocacy and
protection organization.

(h) The administrator or operator, or the des-
ignee, shall provide sufficient preparation and ori-
entation to each resident before discharge to en-
sure a safe and orderly transfer and discharge
from the adult care home.

(i) The administrator or operator, or the des-
ignee, shall ensure the development of a discharge
plan, with the involvement of the resident, the
resident’s legal representative, and designated
family when practicable.

(j) If the resident is transferred or discharged
to another health care facility, the administrator
or operator, or the designee, shall ensure that suf-
ficient information accompanies the resident to
ensure continuity of care in the new facility.

(k) Before a resident in a nursing facility, nurs-
ing facility for mental health, intermediate care
facility for the mentally retarded, assisted living
facility, residential health care facility, or home
plus is transferred to a hospital or goes on thera-
peutic leave, the administrator or operator, or the
designee, shall provide written information to the
resident or the resident’s legal representative and,
if agreed to by the resident or the resident’s legal
representative, the resident’s family, that specifies
the following:

(1) The period of time during which the resi-
dent is permitted to return and resume residence
in the facility;

(2) the cost to the resident, if any, to hold the
resident’s bedroom, apartment, individual living
unit, or adult day care slot until the resident’s re-
turn; and

(3) a provision that when the resident’s hospi-
talization or therapeutic leave exceeds the period
identified in the policy of a nursing facility, the
resident will be readmitted to the nursing facility
upon the first availability of a comparable room if
the resident requires the services provided by the
nursing facility. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 22, 2009.)

26-39-103. Resident rights in adult care
homes. (a) Protection and promotion of resident
rights. Each administrator or operator shall en-
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sure the protection and promotion of the rights of
each resident as set forth in this regulation. Each
resident shall have a right to a dignified existence,
self-determination, and communication with and
access to persons and services inside and outside
the adult care home.

(b) Exercise of rights.

(1) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that each resident is afforded the right to exercise
the resident’s rights as a resident of the adult care
home and as a citizen.

(2) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that each resident is afforded the right to be free
from interference, coercion, discrimination, or re-
prisal from adult care home staff in exercising the
resident’s rights.

(3) If a resident is adjudged incompetent under
the laws of the state of Kansas, the resident’s legal
representative shall have the power to exercise
rights on behalf of the resident.

(4) In the case of a resident who has executed
a durable power of attorney for health care deci-
sions, the agent may exercise the rights of the res-
ident to the extent provided by K.S.A. 58-625 et
seq. and amendments thereto.

(c) Notice of rights and services.

(1) Before admission, the administrator or op-
erator shall ensure that each resident or the resi-
dent’s legal representative is informed, both orally
and in writing, of the following in a language the
resident or the resident’s legal representative
understands:

(A) The rights of the resident;

(B) the rules governing resident conduct and
responsibility;

(C) the current rate for the level of care and
services to be provided; and

(D) if applicable, any additional fees that will
be charged for optional services.

(2) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that each resident or the resident’s legal represen-
tative is notified in writing of any changes in
charges or services that occur after admission and
at least 30 days before the effective date of the
change. The changes shall not take place until no-
tice is given, unless the change is due to a change
in level of care.

(d) Inspection of records.

(1) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that each resident or resident’s legal representa-
tive is afforded the right to inspect records per-
taining to the resident. The administrator or op-
erator, or the designee, shall provide a photocopy
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of the resident’s record or requested sections of
the resident’s record to each resident or resident’s
legal representative within two working days of
the request. If a fee is charged for the copy, the
fee shall be reasonable and not exceed actual cost,
including staff time.

(2) The administrator or operator shall ensure
access to each resident’s records for inspection
and photocopying by any representative of the
department.

(e) Informed of health status. The administra-
tor or operator shall ensure that each resident and
the resident’s legal representative are afforded the
right to be fully informed of the resident’s total
health status, including the resident’s medical
condition.

(f) Free choice. The administrator or operator
shall ensure that each resident, or resident’s legal
representative on behalf of the resident, is af-
forded the right to perform the following:

(1) Choose a personal attending physician;

(2) participate in the development of an indi-
vidual care plan or negotiated service agreement;

(3) refuse treatment;

(4) refuse to participate in experimental re-
search; and

(5) choose the pharmacy where prescribed
medications are purchased. If the adult care home
uses a unit-dose or similar medication distribution
system, the resident shall have the right to choose
among pharmacies that offer or are willing to offer
the same or a compatible system.

(g) Management of financial affairs. The ad-
ministrator or operator shall ensure that each res-
ident is afforded the right to manage personal fi-
nancial affairs and is not required to deposit
personal funds with the adult care home.

(h) Notification of changes.

(1) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that designated facility staff inform the resident,
consult with the resident’s physician, and notify
the resident’s legal representative or designated
family member, if known, upon occurrence of any
of the following:

(A) An accident involving the resident that re-
sults in injury and has the potential for requiring
a physician’s intervention;

(B) a significant change in the resident’s phys-
ical, mental, or psychosocial status;

(C) a need to alter treatment significantly; or

(D) a decision to transfer or discharge the res-
ident from the adult care home.

(2) The administrator or operator shall ensure
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that a designated staff member informs the resi-
dent, the resident’s legal representative, or au-
thorized family members whenever the desig-
nated staff member learns that the resident will
have a change in room or roommate assignment.

(i) Privacy and confidentiality. The administra-
tor or operator shall ensure that each resident is
afforded the right to personal privacy and confi-
dentiality of personal and clinical records.

(1) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that each resident is provided privacy during med-
ical and nursing treatment, written and telephone
communications, personal care, visits, and meet-
ings of family and resident groups.

(2) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that the personal and clinical records of the resi-
dent are maintained in a confidential manner.

(3) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that a release signed by the resident or the resi-
dent’s legal representative is obtained before re-
cords are released to anyone outside the adult care
home, except in the case of transfer to another
health care institution or as required by law.

(j) Grievances. The administrator or operator
shall ensure that each resident is afforded the
right to the following:

(1) Voice grievances with respect to treatment
or care that was or was not furnished;

(2) be free from discrimination or reprisal for
voicing the grievances; and

(3) receive prompt efforts by the administrator
or operator, or the designee, to resolve any griev-
ances that the resident could have, including any
grievance with respect to the behavior of other
residents.

(k) Work.

(1) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that each resident is afforded the right to refuse
to perform services for the adult care home.

(2) A resident may perform services for the
adult care home, if the resident wishes and if all
of the following conditions are met:

(A) The administrator or operator, or the des-
ignee, has documented the resident’s need or de-
sire for work in the plan of care or negotiated serv-
ice agreement.

(B) The plan of care or negotiated service
agreement specifies the nature of the services per-
formed and whether the services are voluntary or
paid.

(C) The resident or resident’s legal represen-
tative has signed a written agreement consenting
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to the work arrangement described in the plan of
care or negotiated service agreement.

(1) Mail. The administrator or operator shall en-
sure that each resident is afforded the right to
privacy in written communications, including the
right to the following:

(1) Have unopened mail sent and received
promptly; and

(2) have access to stationery, postage, and writ-
ing implements at the resident’s own expense.

(m) Access and visitation rights.

(1) The administrator or operator shall ensure
the provision of immediate access to any resident
by the following:

(A) Any representative of the secretary of the
Kansas department on aging;

(B) the resident’s attending medical care
provider;

(C) the state long-term care ombudsman;

(D) any representative of the secretary of the
Kansas department of social and rehabilitation
services;

(E) immediate family or other relatives of the
resident; and

(F) others who are visiting with the consent of
the resident subject to reasonable restrictions.

(2) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that each resident is afforded the right to deny or
withdraw visitation consent for any person at any
time.

(n) Telephone. The administrator or operator
shall ensure that each resident is afforded the
right to reasonable access to a telephone in a place
where calls can be made without being overheard.

(o) Personal property. The administrator or op-
erator shall ensure that each resident is afforded
the right to retain and use personal possessions,
including furnishings and appropriate clothing as
space permits, unless doing so would infringe
upon the rights or health and safety of other
residents.

(p) Married couples. The administrator or op-
erator shall ensure that each resident is afforded
the right to share a room with the resident’s
spouse if married residents live in the same adult
care home and both spouses consent.

(q) Self-administration of medication. The ad-
ministrator shall ensure that each resident in a
nursing facility or a nursing facility for mental
health is afforded the right to self-administer
medications unless the resident’s attending phy-
sician and the interdisciplinary team have deter-
mined that this practice is unsafe. In any assisted
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living facility, residential health care facility, home
plus, or adult day care facility, a resident may self-
administer medication if a licensed nurse has de-
termined that the resident can perform this func-
tion safely and accurately. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 22,
2009.)

26-39-104. Receivership of adult care
homes. (a) A person may be designated by the
secretary to be a receiver if that person meets the
following requirements:

(1) Has operated a Kansas adult care home for
at least five consecutive years; and

(2) has a history of compliance with licensure
standards.

(b) A person designated as a receiver shall not
use the designation for any commercial purpose.
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 2007
Supp. 39-954; effective May 22, 2009.)

26-39-105. Adoptions by reference:
general. The following material shall apply to all
adult care homes except nursing facilities for men-
tal health, intermediate care facilities for the men-
tally retarded, and boarding care homes:

(a) Dietary guidelines. In the “dietary guide-
lines for Americans,” 2005, published by the U.S.
department of health and human services and
U.S. department of agriculture, appendixes A-1
and A-2 and “notes for appendix A-2” are hereby
adopted by reference.

(b) Infection control. The department’s docu-
ment titled “tuberculosis (TB) guidelines for adult
care homes,” dated July 2008, is hereby adopted
by reference. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 22, 2009.)

26-39-144. (Authorized by K.S.A. 39-932;
implementing K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 39-923, K.S.A.
2004 Supp. 39-925, and K.S.A. 39-932; effective
Nov. 4, 2005; revoked May 22, 2009.)

26-39-243. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 39-923, K.S.A. 2004
Supp. 39-925, and K.S.A. 39-932; effective Nov.
4, 2005; revoked May 29, 2009.)

26-39-278. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 39-923, K.S.A. 2004
Supp. 39-925, and K.S.A. 39-932; effective Nov.
4, 2005; revoked May 29, 2009.)

26-39-427. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 2004 Supp. 39-923, K.S.A. 2004
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Supp. 39-925, and K.S.A. 39-932; effective Nov.
4, 2005; revoked May 29, 2009.)

Article 41.—ASSISTED LIVING
FACILITIES AND RESIDENTIAL
HEALTH CARE FACILITIES

26-41-101. Administration. (a) Adminis-
trator and operator responsibilities. The adminis-
trator or operator of each assisted living facility or
residential health care facility (“facility”) shall en-
sure that the facility is operated in a manner so
that each resident receives care and services in
accordance with each resident’s functional capac-
ity screening and negotiated service agreement.

(b) Administrator and operator criteria. Each
licensee shall appoint an administrator or operator
who meets the following criteria:

(1) Is at least 21 years of age;

(2) possesses a high school diploma or the
equivalent;

(3) holds a Kansas license as an adult care home
administrator or has successfully completed an
operator training course and passed the test ap-
proved by the secretary of Kansas department of
heath and environment pursuant to K.S.A. 39-923
and amendments thereto; and

(4) has authority and responsibility for the op-
eration of the facility and compliance with licens-
ing requirements.

(c) Administrator and operator position de-
scription. Each licensee shall adopt a written po-
sition description for the administrator or opera-
tor that includes responsibilities for the following:

(1) Planning, organizing, and directing the
facﬂity;

(2) implementing operational policies and pro-
cedures for the facility; and

(3) authorizing, in writing, a responsible em-
ployee who is 18 years old or older to act on the
administrator’s or operator’s behalf in the absence
of the administrator or operator.

(d) Resident rights. Each administrator or op-
erator shall ensure the development and imple-
mentation of written policies and procedures that
incorporate the principles of individuality, auton-
omy, dignity, choice, privacy, and a home envi-
ronment for each resident. The following provi-
sions shall be included in the policies and
procedures:

(1) The recognition of each resident’s rights, re-
sponsibilities, needs, and preferences;

(2) the freedom of each resident or the resi-
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dent’s legal representative to select or refuse a
service and to accept responsibility for the
consequences;

(3) the development and maintenance of social
ties for each resident by providing opportunities
for meaningful interaction and involvement
within the facility and the community;

(4) furnishing and decorating each resident’s
personal space;

(5) the recognition of each resident’s personal
space as private and the sharing of an apartment
or individual living unit only when agreed to by
the resident;

(6) the maintenance of each resident’s lifestyle
if there are not adverse effects on the rights and
safety of other residents; and

(7) the resolution of grievances through a spe-
cific process that includes a written response to
each written grievance within 30 days.

(e) Resident liability. Each resident shall be li-
able only for the charges disclosed to the resident
or the resident’s legal representative and docu-
mented in a signed agreement at admission and
in accordance with K.A.R. 26-39-103.

(1) A resident who is involuntarily discharged,
including discharge due to death, shall not be re-
sponsible for the following:

(A) Fees for room and board beyond the date
established in the signed contractual agreement
or the date of actual discharge if an appropriate
discharge notice has been given to the resident or
the resident’s legal representative in accordance
with K.A.R. 26-39-102; and

(B) fees for any services specified in the nego-
tiated services agreement after the date the resi-
dent has vacated the facility and no longer re-
ceives these services.

(2) A resident who is voluntarily discharged
shall not be responsible for the following:

(A) Fees for room and board accrued beyond
the end of the 30-day period following the facil-
ity’s receipt of a written notice of voluntary dis-
charge submitted by the resident or resident’s le-
gal representative or the date of actual discharge
if this date extends beyond the 30-day period; and

(B) fees for any services specified in the nego-
tiated services agreement after the date the resi-
dent has vacated the facility and no longer re-
ceives these services.

(f) Staff treatment of residents. Each adminis-
trator or operator shall ensure the development
and implementation of written policies and pro-
cedures that prohibit the abuse, neglect, and ex-
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ploitation of residents by staff. The administrator
or operator shall ensure that all of the following
requirements are met:

(1) No resident shall be subjected to any of the
following:

(A) Verbal, mental, sexual, or physical abuse,
including corporal punishment and involuntary
seclusion;

(B) neglect; or

(C) exploitation.

(2) The facility shall not employ any individual
who has been identified on a state nurse aide reg-
istry as having abused, neglected, or exploited any
resident in an adult care home.

(3) Each allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploi-
tation shall be reported to the administrator or
operator of the facility as soon as staff is aware of
the allegation and to the department within 24
hours. The administrator or operator shall ensure
that all of the following requirements are met:

(A) An investigation shall be started when the
administrator or operator, or the designee, re-
ceives notification of an alleged violation.

(B) Immediate measures shall be taken to pre-
vent further potential abuse, neglect, or exploita-
tion while the investigation is in progress.

(C) Each alleged violation shall be thoroughly
investigated within five working days of the initial
report. Results of the investigation shall be re-
ported to the administrator or operator.

(D) Appropriate corrective action shall be taken
if the alleged violation is verified.

(E) The department’s complaint investigation
report shall be completed and submitted to the
department within five working days of the initial
report.

(F) A written record shall be maintained of each
investigation of reported abuse, neglect, or
exploitation.

(g) Availability of policies and procedures. Each
administrator or operator shall ensure that poli-
cies and procedures related to resident services
are available to staff at all times and are available
to each resident, legal representatives of resi-
dents, case managers, and families during normal
business hours. A notice of availability shall be
posted in a place readily accessible to residents.

(h) Power of attorney, guardianship, and con-
servatorship. Authority as a power of attorney, du-
rable power of attorney for health care decisions,
guardian, or conservator shall not be exercised by
anyone employed by or having a financial interest
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in the facility, unless the person is related to the
resident within the second degree.

(i) Reports. Each administrator or operator
shall ensure the accurate completion and elec-
tronic submission of annual and semiannual sta-
tistical reports regarding residents, employees,
and facility occupancy to the department no later
than 20 days following the last day of the period
being reported. The administrator or operator
shall ensure the submission of any other reports
required by the department.

(j) Emergency telephone. Each administrator
or operator shall ensure that the residents and em-
ployees have access to a telephone for emergency
use at no cost. The administrator or operator shall
ensure that the names and telephone numbers of
persons or places commonly required in emer-
gencies are posted adjacent to this telephone.

(k) Ombudsman. Each administrator or opera-
tor shall ensure the posting of the names, ad-
dresses, and telephone numbers of the Kansas de-
partment on aging and the office of the long-term
care ombudsman with information that these
agencies can be contacted to report actual or po-
tential abuse, neglect, or exploitation of residents
or to register complaints concerning the operation
of the facility. The administrator or operator shall
ensure that this information is posted in an area
readily accessible to all residents and the public.

(1) Survey report and plan of correction. Each
administrator or operator shall ensure that a copy
of the most recent survey report and plan of cor-
rection is available in a public area to residents
and any other individuals wishing to examine sur-
vey results. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-41-102. Staff qualifications. (a) The
administrator or operator of each assisted living
facility or residential health care facility shall en-
sure the provision of a sufficient number of qual-
ified personnel to provide each resident with serv-
ices and care in accordance with that resident’s
functional capacity screening, health care service
plan, and negotiated service agreement.

(b) Direct care staff or licensed nursing staff
shall be awake and responsive at all times.

(c) A registered professional nurse shall be
available to provide supervision to licensed prac-
tical nurses, pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1113 and
amendments thereto.

(d) The employee records and agency staff re-
cords shall contain the following documentation:
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(1) Evidence of licensure, registration, certifi-
cation, or a certificate of successful completion of
a training course for each employee performing a
function that requires specialized education or
training;

(2) supporting documentation for criminal
background checks of facility staff and contract
staff, excluding any staff licensed or registered by
a state agency, pursuant to K.S.A. 39-970 and
amendments thereto;

(3) supporting documentation from the Kansas
nurse aide registry that the individual does not
have a finding of having abused, neglected, or ex-
ploited a resident in an adult care home; and

(4) supporting documentation that the individ-
ual does not have a finding of having abused, ne-
glected, or exploited any resident in an adult care
home, from the nurse aide registry in each state
in which the individual has been known to have
worked as a certified nurse aide. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 39-932 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 39-936; im-
plementing K.S.A. 39-932, K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 39-
936, and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 39-970; effective May
29, 2009.)

26-41-103. Staff development. (a) The
administrator or operator of each assisted living
facility or residential health care facility shall en-
sure the provision of orientation to new employ-
ees and regular in-service education for all em-
ployees to ensure that the services provided assist
residents to attain and maintain their individuality,
autonomy, dignity, independence, and ability to
make choices in a home environment.

(b) The topics for orientation and in-service ed-
ucation shall include the following:

(1) Principles of assisted living;

2) fire prevention and safety;
disaster procedures;
accident prevention;
resident rights;

infection control; and

(7) prevention of abuse, neglect, and exploita-
tion of residents.

(c) If the facility admits residents with demen-
tia, the administrator or operator shall ensure the
provision of staff orientation and in-service edu-
cation on the treatment and appropriate response
to persons who exhibit behaviors associated with
dementia. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-41-104. Disaster and emergency
preparedness. (a) The administrator or operator

(2)
(3)
(4)
(5)
(6)
7)
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of each assisted living facility or residential health
care facility shall ensure the provision of a suffi-
cient number of staff members to take residents
who would require assistance in an emergency or
disaster to a secure location.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the development of a detailed written emergency
management plan to manage potential emergen-
cies and disasters, including the following:

(1) Fire;
flood;
severe weather;
tornado;
explosion;
natural gas leak;
lack of electrical or water service;
missing residents; and
any other potential emergency situations.

(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the establishment of written agreements that will
provide for the following if an emergency or dis-
aster occurs:

(1) Fresh water;

(2) evacuation site; and

(3) transportation of residents to an evacuation
site.

(d) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
disaster and emergency preparedness by ensuring
the performance of the following:

(1) Orientation of new employees at the time
of employment to the facility’s emergency man-
agement plan;

(2) education of each resident upon admission
to the facility regarding emergency procedures;

(3) quarterly review of the facility’s emergency
management plan with employees and residents;
an

(4) an emergency drill, which shall be con-
ducted at least annually with staff and residents.
This drill shall include evacuation of the residents
to a secure location.

(e) Each administrator or operator shall make
the emergency management plan available to the
staff, residents, and visitors. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29,
2009.)

26-41-105. Resident records. (a) The ad-
ministrator or operator of each assisted living fa-
cility or residential health care facility shall ensure
the maintenance of a record for each resident in
accordance with accepted professional standards
and practices.

(2)
(3)
(4)
(5)
(6)
(7)
(8)
(9)
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(1) Designated staff shall maintain the record
of each discharged resident who is 18 years of age
or older for at least five years after the discharge
of the resident.

(2) Designated staff shall maintain the record
of each discharged resident who is less than 18
years of age for at least five years after the resident
reaches 18 years of age or at least five years after
the date of discharge, whichever time period is
longer.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that all information in each resident’s record, re-
gardless of the form or storage method for the
record, is kept confidential, unless release is re-
quired by any of the following:

(1) Transfer of the resident to another health
care facility;

(2) law;

(3) third-party payment contract; or

(4) the resident or legal representative of the
resident.

(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the safeguarding of resident records against the
following:

(1) Loss;

(2) destruction;

(3) fire;

(4) theft; and

(5) unauthorized use.

(d) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the accuracy and confidentiality of all resident in-
formation transmitted by means of a facsimile
machine.

(e) If electronic medical records are used, each
administrator or operator shall ensure the devel-
opment of policies addressing the following
requirements:

(1) Protection of electronic medical records, in-
cluding entries by only authorized users;

(2) safeguarding of electronic medical records
against unauthorized alteration, loss, destruction,
and use;

(3) prevention of the unauthorized use of elec-
tronic signatures;

(4) confidentiality of electronic medical re-
cords; and

(5) preservation of electronic medical records.

(f) Each resident record shall contain at least
the following:

(1) The resident’s name;

(2) the dates of admission and discharge

(3) the admission agreement
amendments;

3
4
5
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and any
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(4) the functional capacity screenings;

(5) the health care service plan, if applicable;

(6) the negotiated service agreement and any
revisions;

(7) the name, address, and telephone number
of the physician and the dentist to be notified in
an emergency;

(8) the name, address, and telephone number
of the legal representative or the individual of the
resident’s choice to be notified in the event of a
significant change in condition;

(9) the name, address, and telephone number
of the case manager, if applicable;

(10) records of medications, biologicals, and
treatments administered and each medical care
provider’s order if the facility is managing the res-
ident’s medications and medical treatments; and

(11) documentation of all incidents, symptoms,
and other indications of illness or injury including
the date, time of occurrence, action taken, and
results of the action. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-41-106. Community governance. (a)
The administrator or operator of each assisted liv-
ing facility or residential health care facility shall
ensure the facilitation of the organization of at
least one resident council, each of which shall
meet at least quarterly to provide residents with a
forum to provide input into community
governance.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the accommodation of the council process by pro-
viding space for the meetings, posting notices of
the meetings, and assisting residents who wish to
attend the meetings.

(c) In order to permit a free exchange of ideas
and concerns, each administrator or operator shall
ensure that all meetings are conducted without
the presence of facility staff, unless allowed by the
residents.

(d) Each administrator or operator shall re-
spond to each written idea and concern received
from the council, in writing, within 30 days after
the meeting at which the written ideas and con-
cerns were collected. The administrator or oper-
ator shall ensure that a copy of each written idea
or concern and each response is available to sur-
veyors. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-41-200. Resident criteria. (a) The ad-
ministrator or operator of each assisted living fa-
cility or residential health care facility shall ensure
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the development and implementation of written
admission, transfer, and discharge policies that
protect the rights of each resident, pursuant to
K.A.R. 26-39-102. In addition, the administrator
or operator shall ensure that any resident who has
one or more of the following conditions is not ad-
mitted or retained unless the negotiated service
agreement includes services sufficient to meet the
needs of the resident:

(1) Incontinence, if the resident cannot or will
not participate in management of the problem;

(2) immobility, if the resident is totally depend-
ent on another person’s assistance to exit the
building;

(3) any ongoing condition requiring two or
more persons to physically assist the resident;

(4) any ongoing, skilled nursing intervention
needed 24 hours a day; or

(5) any behavioral symptom that exceeds
manageability.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that any resident whose clinical condition requires
the use of physical restraints is not admitted or
retained. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-41-201. Resident functional capacity
screening. (a) On or before each individual’s ad-
mission to an assisted living facility or residential
health care facility, a licensed nurse, a licensed
social worker, or the administrator or operator
shall conduct a screening to determine the indi-
vidual’s functional capacity and shall record all
findings on a screening form specified by the de-
partment. The administrator or operator may in-
tegrate the department’s screening form into a
form developed by the facility, which shall include
each element and definition specified by the
department.

(b) A licensed nurse shall assess any resident
whose functional capacity screening indicates the
need for health care services.

(c) Designated facility staff shall conduct a
screening to determine each resident’s functional
capacity according to the following requirements:

(1) At least once every 365 days;

(2) following any significant change in condition
as defined in K.A.R. 26-39-100; and

(3) at least quarterly if the resident receives as-
sistance with eating from a paid nutrition assistant.

(d) Designated facility staff shall ensure that
each resident’s functional capacity at the time of
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screening is accurately reflected on that resident’s
screening form.

(e) Designated facility staff shall use the results
of the functional capacity screening as a basis for
determining the services to be included in the res-
ident’s negotiated service agreement. (Authorized
by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective
May 29, 2009.)

26-41-202. Negotiated service agree-
ment. (a) The administrator or operator of each
assisted living facility or residential health care fa-
cility shall ensure the development of a written
negotiated service agreement for each resident,
based on the resident’s functional capacity screen-
ing, service needs, and preferences, in collabora-
tion with the resident or the resident’s legal rep-
resentative, the case manager, and, if agreed to by
the resident or the resident’s legal representative,
the resident’s family. The negotiated service
agreement shall provide the following
information:

(1) A description of the services the resident
will receive;

(2) identification of the provider of each serv-
ice; and

(3) identification of each party responsible for
payment if outside resources provide a service.

(b) The negotiated service agreement shall pro-
mote the dignity, privacy, choice, individuality,
and autonomy of the resident.

(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the development of an initial negotiated service
agreement at admission.

(d) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the review and, if necessary, revision of each ne-
gotiated service agreement according to the fol-
lowing requirements:

(1) At least once every 365 days;

(2) following any significant change in condi-
tion, as defined in K.A.R. 26-39-100;

(3) at least quarterly, if the resident receives
assistance with eating from a paid nutrition assis-
tant; and

(4) if requested by the resident or the resident’s
legal representative, facility staff, the case man-
ager, or, if agreed to by the resident or the resi-
dent’s legal representative, the resident’s family.

(e) A licensed nurse shall participate in the de-
velopment, review, and revision of the negotiated
service agreement if the resident’s functional ca-
pacity screening indicates the need for health care
services.
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(f) If a resident or the resident’s legal represen-
tative refuses a service that the administrator or
operator, the licensed nurse, the resident’s med-
ical care provider, or the case manager believes is
necessary for the resident’s health and safety, the
negotiated service agreement shall include the
following:

(1) The service or services refused;

(2) identification of any potential negative out-
comes for the resident if the service or services
are not provided;

(3) evidence of the provision of education to the
resident or the resident’s legal representative of
the potential risk of any negative outcomes if the
service or services are not provided; and

(4) an indication of acceptance by the resident
or the resident’s legal representative of the poten-
tial risk.

(g) The negotiated service agreement shall not
include circumstances in which the lack of a serv-
ice has the potential to affect the health and safety
of other residents, facility staff, or the public.

(h) Each individual involved in the develop-
ment of the negotiated service agreement shall
sign the agreement. The administrator or operator
shall ensure that a copy of the initial agreement
and any subsequent revisions are provided to the
resident or the resident’s legal representative.

(i) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that each resident receives services according to
the provisions of that resident’s negotiated service
agreement.

(j) If a resident’s negotiated service agreement
includes the use of outside resources, the desig-
nated facility staff shall perform the following:

(1) Provide the resident, the resident’s legal
representative, the case manager, and, if agreed
to by the resident or the resident’s legal represen-
tative, the resident’s family, with a list of providers
available to provide needed services;

(2) assist the resident, if requested, in contact-
ing outside resources for services; and

(3) monitor the services provided by outside re-
sources and act as an advocate for the resident if
services do not meet professional standards of
practice. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-41-203. General services. (a) Range
of services. The administrator or operator of each
assisted living facility or residential health care fa-
cility shall ensure the provision or coordination of
the range of services specified in each resident’s
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negotiated service agreement. The range of serv-
ices may include the following:

(1) Daily meal service based on each resident’s
needs;

(2) health care services based on an assessment
by a licensed nurse and in accordance with K.A.R.
26-41-204;

(3) housekeeping services essential for the
health, comfort, and safety of each resident;

(4) medical, dental, and social transportation;

(5) planned group and individual activities that
meet the needs and interests of each resident; and

(6) other services necessary to support the
health and safety of each resident.

(b) Adult day care services. Any administrator
or operator of an assisted living facility or residen-
tial health care facility may provide adult day care
services to any individual who meets the facility’s
admission and retention criteria and receives serv-
ices less than 24 hours a day if the administrator
or operator ensures that all of the following con-
ditions are met:

(1) Written policies are developed and proce-
dures are implemented for the provision of adult
day care services.

(2) All the requirements for admission of a res-
ident to an assisted living facility or residential
health care facility are met for an individual ad-
mitted for adult day care services.

(3) At least 60 square feet of common use living,
dining, and activity space is available in the facility
for each resident of the facility and each resident
receiving adult day care services.

(4) The provision of adult day care services does
not adversely affect the care and services offered
to other residents of the facility.

(c) Respite care services. Any administrator or
operator of an assisted living facility or residential
health care facility may provide respite care serv-
ices to individuals who meet the facility’s admis-
sion and retention criteria on a short-term basis if
the administrator or operator ensures that the fol-
lowing conditions are met:

(1) Written policies are developed and proce-
dures are implemented for the provision of respite
care services.

(2) All the requirements for admission of a res-
ident to an assisted living facility or residential
health care facility are met for an individual ad-
mitted for respite care services.

(d) Special care. Any administrator or operator
of an assisted living facility or residential health
care facility may choose to serve residents who do
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not exceed the facility’s admission and retention
criteria and who have special needs in a special
care section of the facility or the entire facility, if
the administrator or operator ensures that all of
the following conditions are met:

(1) Written policies and procedures are devel-
oped and are implemented for the operation of
the special care section or facility.

(2) Admission and discharge criteria are in ef-
fect that identify the diagnosis, behavior, or spe-
cific clinical needs of the residents to be served.
The medical diagnosis, medical care provider’s
progress notes, or both shall justify admission to
the special care section or the facility.

(3) A written order from a medical care pro-
vider is obtained for admission.

(4) The functional capacity screening indicates
that the resident would benefit from the services
and programs offered by the special care section
or facility.

(5) Before the resident’s admission to the spe-
cial care section or facility, the resident or resi-
dent’s legal representative is informed, in writing,
of the available services and programs that are
specific to the needs of the resident.

(6) Direct care staff are present in the special
care section or facility at all times.

(7) Before assignment to the special care sec-
tion or facility, each staff member is provided with
a training program related to specific needs of the
residents to be served, and evidence of comple-
tion of the training is maintained in the em-
ployee’s personnel records.

(8) Living, dining, activity, and recreational ar-
eas are provided within the special care section,
except when residents are able to access living,
dining, activity, and recreational areas in another
section of the facility.

(9) The control of exits in the special care sec-
tion is the least restrictive possible for the resi-
dents in that section.

(e) Maintenance. Designated staff shall provide
routine maintenance, including the control of
pests and rodents, and repairs in each resident’s
bedroom and common areas inside and outside
the facility as specified in the admission
agreement.

(f) Services not provided. If an administrator or
operator of an assisted living facility or residential
health care facility chooses not to provide or co-
ordinate any service as specified in subsection (a),
the administrator or operator shall notify the res-
ident, in writing, on or before the resident’s ad-
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mission to the facility. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-41-204. Health care services. (a) The
administrator or operator in each assisted living
facility or residential health care facility shall en-
sure that a licensed nurse provides or coordinates
the provision of necessary health care services that
meet the needs of each resident and are in ac-
cordance with the functional capacity screening
and the negotiated service agreement.

(b) If the functional capacity screening indi-
cates that a resident is in need of health care serv-
ices, a licensed nurse, in collaboration with the
resident, the resident’s legal representative, the
case manager, and, if agreed to by the resident or
resident’s legal representative, the resident’s fam-
ily, shall develop a health care service plan to be
included as part of the negotiated service
agreement.

(c) The health care services provided by or co-
ordinated by a licensed nurse may include the
following:

(1) Personal care provided by direct care staff
or by certified or licensed nursing staff employed
by a home health agency or a hospice;

(2) personal care provided gratuitously by
friends or family members; and

(3) supervised nursing care provided by, or un-
der the guidance of, a licensed nurse.

(d) The negotiated service agreement shall con-
tain a description of the health care services to be
provided and the name of the licensed nurse re-
sponsible for the implementation and supervision
of the plan.

(e) A licensed nurse may delegate nursing pro-
cedures not included in the nurse aide or medi-
cation aide curriculums to nurse aides or medi-
cation aides, respectively, under the Kansas nurse
practice act, K.S.A. 65-1124 and amendments
thereto.

(f) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that a licensed nurse is available to provide im-
mediate direction to medication aides and nurse
aides for residents who have unscheduled needs.

(g) Skilled nursing care shall be provided in ac-
cordance with K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments
thereto.

(1) The health care service plan shall include
the skilled nursing care to be provided and the
name of the licensed nurse or agency responsible
for providing each service.

(2) The licensed nurse providing the skilled
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nursing care shall document the service and the
outcome of the service in the resident’s record.

(3) A medical care provider’s order for skilled
nursing care shall be documented in the resident’s
record in the facility. A copy of the medical care
provider’s order from a home health agency or
hospice may be used. Medical care provider or-
ders in the clinical records of a home health
agency located in the same building as the facility
may also be used if the clinical records are avail-
able to licensed nurses and direct care staff of the
facility.

(4) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that a licensed nurse is available to meet each res-
ident’s unscheduled needs related to skilled nurs-
ing services.

(h) A licensed nurse may provide wellness and
health monitoring as specified in the resident’s ne-
gotiated service agreement.

(i) All health care services shall be provided to
residents by qualified staff in accordance with ac-
ceptable standards of practice. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29,
2009.)

26-41-205. Medication management.
(a) Self-administration of medication. Any resi-
dent may self-administer and manage medications
independently or by using a medication container
or syringe prefilled by a licensed nurse or phar-
macist or by a family member or friend providing
this service gratuitously, if a licensed nurse has
performed an assessment and determined that the
resident can perform this function safely and ac-
curately without staff assistance.

(1) An assessment shall be completed before
the resident initially begins self-administration of
medication, if the resident experiences a signifi-
cant change of condition, and annually.

(2) Each assessment shall include an evaluation
of the resident’s physical, cognitive, and functional
ability to safely and accurately self-administer and
manage medications independently or by using a
prefilled medication container or prefilled
syringe.

(3) The resident’s clinical record shall contain
documentation of the assessment and the
determination.

(4) If a resident self-administers medication
with a prefilled medication container or syringe,
the prefilled medication container or syringe shall
have a label with the resident’s name and the date
the container or syringe was prefilled. The label,
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or a medication administration record provided to
the resident, shall also include the name and dos-
age of each medication and the time or event at
which the medication is to be self-administered.
Facility staff may remind residents to take medi-
cations or inquire as to whether medications were
taken.

(b) Administration of select medications. Any
resident who self-administers medication may se-
lect some medications to be administered by a li-
censed nurse or medication aide. The negotiated
service agreement shall reflect this service and
identify who is responsible for the administration
and management of selected medications.

(c) Administration of medication by family or
friends. Any resident may choose to have personal
medication administered by family members or
friends gratuitously, pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1124
and amendments thereto.

(d) Facility administration of resident’s medi-
cations. If a facility is responsible for the admin-
istration of a resident’s medications, the adminis-
trator or operator shall ensure that all medications
and biologicals are administered to that resident
in accordance with a medical care provider’s writ-
ten order, professional standards of practice, and
each manufacturer’s recommendations. The ad-
ministrator or operator shall ensure that all of the
following are met:

(1) Only licensed nurses and medication aides
shall administer and manage medications for
which the facility has responsibility.

(2) Medication aides shall not administer med-
ication through the parenteral route.

(3) A licensed nurse or medication aide shall
perform the following:

(A) Administer only the medication that the li-
censed nurse or medication aide has personally
prepared;

(B) identify the resident before medication is
administered;

(C) remain with the resident until the medica-
tion is ingested or applied; and

(D) document the administration of each resi-
dent’s medication in the resident’s medication ad-
ministration record immediately before or follow-
ing completion of the task. If the medication
administration record identifies only time inter-
vals or events for the administration of medica-
tion, the licensed nurse or medication aide shall
document the actual clock time the medication is
administered.

(4) Any licensed nurse may delegate nursing
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procedures not included in the medication aide
curriculum to medication aides under the Kansas
nurse practice act, K.S.A. 65-1124 and amend-
ments thereto.

(e) Medication orders. Only a licensed nurse or
a licensed pharmacist may receive verbal orders
for medication from a medical care provider. The
licensed nurse shall ensure that all verbal orders
are signed by the medical care provider within
seven working days of receipt of the verbal order.

(f) Standing orders. Only a licensed nurse shall
make the decision for implementation of standing
orders for specified medications and treatments
formulated and signed by the resident’s medical
care provider. Standing orders of medications
shall not include orders for the administration of
schedule IT medications or psychopharmacologi-
cal medications.

(g) Ordering, labeling, and identifying. All med-
ications and biologicals administered by licensed
nurses or medication aides shall be ordered from
a pharmacy pursuant to a medical care provider’s
written order.

(1) Any resident who self-administers and man-
ages personal medications may request that a li-
censed nurse or medication aide reorder the res-
ident’s medication from a pharmacy of the
resident’s choice.

(2) Each prescription medication container
shall have a label that was provided by a dispens-
ing pharmacist or affixed to the container by a
dispensing pharmacist in accordance with K.A.R.
68-7-14.

(3) A licensed nurse or medication aide may
accept over-the-counter medication only in its
original, unbroken manufacturer’s package. A li-
censed pharmacist or licensed nurse shall place
the full name of the resident on the package. If
the original manufacturer’s package of an over-
the-counter medication contains a medication in
a container, bottle, or tube that can be removed
from the original package, the licensed pharmacist
or a licensed nurse shall place the full name of the
resident on both the original manufacturer’s med-
ication package and the medication container.

(4) Licensed nurses and medication aides may
administer sample medications and medications
from indigent medication programs if the admin-
istrator or operator ensures the development of
policies and implementation of procedures for re-
ceiving and identifying sample medications and
medications from indigent medication programs
that include all of the following conditions:
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(A) The medication is not a controlled
medication.

(B) A medical care provider’s written order ac-
companies the medication, stating the resident’s
name; the medication name, strength, dosage,
route, and frequency of administration; and any
cautionary instructions regarding administration.

(C) A licensed nurse or medication aide re-
ceives the medication in its original, unbroken
manufacturer’s package.

(D) A licensed nurse documents receipt of the
medication by entering the resident’s name and
the medication name, strength, and quantity into
a log.

(E) A licensed nurse places identification infor-
mation on the medication or package containing
the medication that includes the medical care pro-
vider’s name; the resident’s name; the medication
name, strength, dosage, route, and frequency of
administration; and any cautionary instructions as
documented on the medical care provider’s order.
Facility staff consisting of either two licensed
nurses or a licensed nurse and a medication aide
shall verify that the information on the medication
matches the information on the medical care pro-
vider’s order.

(F) A licensed nurse informs the resident or the
resident’s legal representative that the medication
did not go through the usual process of labeling
and initial review by a licensed pharmacist pur-
suant to K.S.A. 65-1642 and amendments thereto,
which requires the identification of both adverse
drug interactions or reactions and potential aller-
gies. The resident’s clinical record shall contain
documentation that the resident or the resident’s
legal representative has received the information
and accepted the risk of potential adverse
consequences.

(h) Storage. Licensed nurses and medication
aides shall ensure that all medications and biolog-
icals are securely and properly stored in accord-
ance with each manufacturer’s recommendations
or those of the pharmacy provider and with fed-
eral and state laws and regulations.

(1) Licensed nurses or medication aides shall
store non-controlled medications and biologicals
managed by the facility in a locked medication
room, cabinet, or medication cart. Licensed
nurses and medication aides shall store controlled
medications managed by the facility in separately
locked compartments within a locked medication
room, cabinet, or medication cart. Only licensed
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nurses and medication aides shall have access to
the stored medications and biologicals.

(2) Each resident managing and self-adminis-
tering medication shall store medications in a
place that is accessible only to the resident, li-
censed nurses, and medication aides.

(3) Any resident who self-administers medica-
tion and is unable to provide proper storage as
recommended by the manufacturer or pharmacy
provider may request that the medication be
stored by the facility.

(4) A licensed nurse or medication aide shall not
administer medication beyond the manufacturer’s
or pharmacy provider’s recommended date of
expiration.

(i) Accountability and disposition of medica-
tions. Licensed nurses and medication aides shall
maintain records of the receipt and disposition of
all medications managed by the facility in suffi-
cient detail for an accurate reconciliation.

(1) Records shall be maintained documenting
the destruction of any deteriorated, outdated, or
discontinued controlled medications and biologi-
cals according to acceptable standards of practice
by one of the following combinations:

(A) Two licensed nurses; or

(B) a licensed nurse and a licensed pharmacist.

(2) Records shall be maintained documenting
the destruction of any deteriorated, outdated, or
discontinued non-controlled medications and bi-
ologicals according to acceptable standards of
practice by any of the following combinations:

(A) Two licensed nurses;

(B) a licensed nurse and a medication aide;

(C) alicensed nurse and a licensed pharmacist;
or

(D) a
pharmacist.

(j) Medications sent for short-term absence. A
licensed nurse or medication aide shall provide
the resident’s medication to the resident or the
designated responsible party for the resident’s
short-term absences from the facility, upon
request.

(k) Clinical record. The administrator or oper-
ator, or the designee, shall ensure that the clinical
record of each resident for whom the facility man-
ages medication or prefills medication containers
or syringes contains the following documentation:

(1) A medical care provider’s order for each
medication;

(2) the name of the pharmacy provider of the
resident’s choice;

medication aide and a licensed

53

(3) any known medication allergies; and

(4) the date and the 12-hour or 24-hour clock
time any medication is administered to the
resident.

(1) Medication regimen review. A licensed phar-
macist shall conduct a medication regimen review
at least quarterly for each resident whose medi-
cation is managed by the facility and each time
the resident experiences any significant change in
condition.

(1) The medication regimen review shall iden-
tify any potential or current medication-related
problems, including the following:

(A) Lack of clinical indication for use of
medication;

(B) the use of a subtherapeutic dose of any
medication;

(C) failure of the resident to receive an ordered
medication;

(D) medications administered in excessive dos-
age, including duplicate therapy;

(E) medications administered in excessive
duration;

(F) adverse medication reactions;

(G) medication interactions; and

(H) lack of adequate monitoring.

(2) The licensed pharmacist or licensed nurse
shall notify the medical care provider upon dis-
covery of any variance identified in the medication
regimen review that requires immediate action by
the medical care provider. The licensed pharma-
cist shall notify a licensed nurse within 48 hours
of any variance identified in the resident’s regi-
men review that does not require immediate ac-
tion by the medical care provider and specify a
time within which the licensed nurse must notify
the resident’s medical care provider. The licensed
nurse shall seek a response from the medical care
provider within five working days of the medical
care provider’s notification of a variance.

(3) The administrator or operator, or the des-
ignee, shall ensure that the medication regimen
review is kept in each resident’s clinical record.

(4) The administrator or operator, or the des-
ignee, shall offer each resident who self-adminis-
ters medication a medication regimen review to
be conducted by a licensed pharmacist at least
quarterly and each time a resident experiences a
significant change in condition. A licensed nurse
shall document the resident’s decision in the res-
ident’s clinical record. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)
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26-41-206. Dietary services. (a) Provi-
sion of dietary services. The administrator or op-
erator of each assisted living facility or residential
health care facility shall ensure the provision or
coordination of dietary services to residents as
identified in each resident’s negotiated service
agreement. If the administrator or operator of the
facility establishes a contract with another entity
to provide or coordinate the provision of dietary
services to the residents, the administrator or op-
erator shall ensure that entity’s compliance with
these regulations.

(b) Staff. The supervisory responsibility for di-
etetic services shall be assigned to one employee.

(1) A dietetic services supervisor or licensed di-
etician shall provide scheduled on-site supervision
in each facility with 11 or more residents.

(2) If a resident’s negotiated service agreement
includes the provision of a therapeutic diet, me-
chanically altered diet, or thickened consistency
of liquids, a medical care provider’s order shall be
on file in the resident’s clinical record, and the
diet or liquids, or both, shall be prepared accord-
ing to instructions from a medical care provider
or licensed dietitian.

(c) Menus. A dietetic services supervisor or li-
censed dietitian or, in any assisted living facility or
residential health care facility with fewer than 11
residents, designated facility staff shall plan
menus in advance and in accordance with the di-
etary guidelines adopted by reference in K.A.R.
26-39-105.

(1) Menu plans shall be available to each resi-
dent on at least a weekly basis.

(2) A method shall be established to incorporate
input by residents in the selection of food to be
served and scheduling of meal service.

(d) Food preparation. Food shall be prepared
using safe methods that conserve the nutritive
value, flavor, and appearance and shall be served
at the proper temperature.

(1) Food used by facility staff to serve to the
residents, including donated food, shall meet all
applicable federal, state, and local laws and
regulations.

(2) Food in cans that have significant defects,
including swelling, leakage, punctures, holes, frac-
tures, pitted rust, or denting severe enough to
prevent normal stacking or opening with a man-
ual, wheel-type can opener, shall not be used.

(3) Food provided by a resident’s family or
friends for individual residents shall not be re-
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quired to meet federal, state, and local laws and
regulations.

(e) Food storage. Facility staff shall store all
food under safe and sanitary conditions.

(1) Containers of poisonous compounds and
cleaning supplies shall not be stored in the areas
used for food storage, preparation, or serving.

(2) Any resident may obtain, prepare, and store
food in the resident’s apartment or individual liv-
ing unit if doing so does not present a health or
safety hazard to that resident or any other individ-
ual. The administrator or operator shall ensure
that residents are provided assistance with obtain-
ing food if that service is included in the negoti-
ated service agreement. (Authorized by and im-
plementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29,
2009.)

26-41-207. Infection control. (a) The ad-
ministrator or operator of each assisted living fa-
cility or residential health care facility shall ensure
the provision of a safe, sanitary, and comfortable
environment for residents.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the development of policies and implementation
of procedures to prevent the spread of infections.
These policies and procedures shall include the
following requirements:

(1) Using universal precautions to prevent the
spread of blood-borne pathogens;

(2) techniques to ensure that hand hygiene
meets professional health care standards;

(3) techniques to ensure that the laundering
and handling of soiled and clean linens meet pro-
fessional health care standards;

(4) providing sanitary conditions for food
service;

(5) prohibiting any employee with a communi-
cable disease or any infected skin lesions from
coming in direct contact with any resident, any
resident’s food, or resident care equipment until
the condition is no longer infectious;

(6) providing orientation to new employees and
employee in-service education at least annually on
the control of infections in a health care setting;
and

(7) transferring a resident with an infectious
disease to an appropriate health care facility if the
administrator or operator is unable to provide the
isolation precautions necessary to protect the
health of other residents.

(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the facility’s compliance with the department’s tu-
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berculosis guidelines for adult care homes
adopted by reference in K.A.R. 26-39-105. (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932; ef-
fective May 29, 2009.)

Article 42.—HOMES PLUS

26-42-101. Administration. (a) Adminis-
trator and operator responsibilities. The adminis-
trator or operator of each home plus (“home”)
shall ensure that the home is operated in a manner
so that each resident receives care and services in
accordance with each resident’s functional capac-
ity screening and negotiated service agreement.

(b) Administrator and operator criteria. Each
licensee shall appoint an administrator or operator
who meets the following criteria:

(1) Is at least 21 years of age;

(2) possesses a high school diploma or the
equivalent;

(3) holds a Kansas license as an adult care home
administrator or has successfully completed an
operator training course and passed the test ap-

proved by the secretary of Kansas department of

heath and environment pursuant to K.S.A. 39-923
and amendments thereto; and

(4) has authority and responsibility for the op-
eration of the home and compliance with licensing
requirements.

(c) Administrator and operator position de-
scription. Each licensee shall adopt a written po-
sition description for the administrator or opera-
tor that includes responsibilities for the following:

(1) Planning, organizing, and directing the
home;

(2) implementing operational policies and pro-
cedures for the home; and

(3) authorizing, in writing, a responsible em-
ployee who is 18 years old or older to act on the
administrator’s or operator’s behalf in the absence
of the administrator or operator.

(d) Resident rights. Each administrator or op-
erator shall ensure the development and imple-
mentation of written policies and procedures that
incorporate the principles of individuality, auton-
omy, dignity, choice, privacy, and a home envi-
ronment for each resident. The following provi-
sions shall be included in the policies and
procedures:

(1) The recognition of each resident’s rights, re-
sponsibilities, needs, and preferences;

(2) the freedom of each resident or the resi-
dent’s legal representative to select or refuse a
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service and to accept responsibility for the
consequences;

(3) the development and maintenance of social
ties for each resident by providing opportunities
for meaningful interaction and involvement
within the home and the community;

(4) furnishing and decorating each resident’s
personal space;

(5) the recognition of each resident’s personal
space as private and the sharing of a bedroom only
when agreed to by the resident;

(6) the maintenance of each resident’s lifestyle
if there are not adverse effects on the rights and
safety of other residents; and

(7) the resolution of grievances through a spe-
cific process that includes a written response to
each written grievance within 30 days.

(e) Resident liability. Each resident shall be li-
able only for the charges disclosed to the resident
or the resident’s legal representative and docu-
mented in a signed agreement at admission and
in accordance with K.A.R. 26-39-103.

(1) A resident who is involuntarily discharged,
including discharge due to death, shall not be re-
sponsible for the following:

(A) Fees for room and board beyond the date
established in the signed contractual agreement
or the date of actual discharge if an appropriate
discharge notice has been given to the resident or
the resident’s legal representative in accordance
with K.A.R. 26-39-102; and

(B) fees for any services specified in the nego-
tiated services agreement after the date the resi-
dent has vacated the facility and no longer re-
ceives these services.

(2) A resident who is voluntarily discharged
shall not be responsible for the following:

(A) Fees for room and board accrued beyond
the end of the 30-day period following the home’s
receipt of a written notice of voluntary discharge
submitted by the resident or resident’s legal rep-
resentative or the date of actual discharge if this
date extends beyond the 30-day period; and

(B) fees for any services specified in the nego-
tiated service agreement after the date the resi-
dent has vacated the home and no longer receives
these services.

(f) Staff treatment of residents. Each adminis-
trator or operator shall ensure the development
and implementation of written policies and pro-
cedures that prohibit the abuse, neglect, and ex-
ploitation of residents by staff. The administrator
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or operator shall ensure that all of the following
requirements are met:

(1) No resident shall be subjected to any of the
following:

(A) Verbal, mental, sexual, or physical abuse,
including corporal punishment and involuntary
seclusion;

(B) neglect; or

(C) exploitation.

(2) The home shall not employ any individual
who has been identified on a state nurse aide reg-
istry as having abused, neglected, or exploited any
resident in an adult care home.

(3) Each allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploi-
tation shall be reported to the administrator or
operator of the home as soon as staff is aware of
the allegation and to the department within 24
hours. The administrator or operator shall ensure
that all of the following requirements are met:

(A) An investigation shall be started when the
administrator or operator, or the designee, re-
ceives notification of an alleged violation.

(B) Immediate measures shall be taken to pre-
vent further potential abuse, neglect, or exploita-
tion while the investigation is in progress.

(C) Each alleged violation shall be thoroughly
investigated within five working days of the initial
report. Results of the investigation shall be re-
ported to the administrator or operator.

(D) Appropriate corrective action shall be taken
if the alleged violation is verified.

(E) The department’s complaint investigation
report shall be completed and submitted to the
department within five working days of the initial
report.

(F) A written record shall be maintained of each
investigation of reported abuse, neglect, or
exploitation.

(g) Availability of policies and procedures. Each
administrator or operator shall ensure that poli-
cies and procedures related to resident services
are available to staff at all times and are available
to each resident, legal representatives of resi-
dents, case managers, and families during normal
business hours. A notice of availability shall be
posted in a place readily accessible to residents.

(h) Power of attorney, guardianship, and con-
servatorship. Authority as a power of attorney, du-
rable power of attorney for health care decisions,
guardian, or conservator shall not be exercised by
anyone employed by or having a financial interest
in the home, unless the person is related to the
resident within the second degree.
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(i) Reports. Each administrator or operator
shall ensure the accurate completion and elec-
tronic submission of annual and semiannual sta-
tistical reports regarding residents, employees,
and home occupancy to the department no later
than 20 days following the last day of the period
being reported. The administrator or operator
shall ensure the submission of any other reports
required by the department.

(j) Emergency telephone. Each administrator
or operator shall ensure that the residents and em-
ployees have access to a telephone for emergency
use at no cost. Each administrator or operator
shall ensure that the names and telephone num-
bers of persons or places commonly required in
emergencies are posted adjacent to this
telephone.

(k) Ombudsman. Each administrator or opera-
tor shall ensure the posting of the names, ad-
dresses, and telephone numbers of the Kansas de-
partment on aging and the office of the long-term
care ombudsman with information that these
agencies can be contacted to report actual or po-
tential abuse, neglect, or exploitation of residents
or to register complaints concerning the operation
of the home. The administrator or operator shall
ensure that this information is posted in a com-
mon area accessible to all residents and the public.

(1) Survey report and plan of correction. Each
administrator or operator shall ensure that a copy
of the most recent survey report and plan of cor-
rection is available in a common area to residents
and any other individuals wishing to examine sur-
vey results. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-42-102. Staff qualifications. (a) The
administrator or operator of each home plus shall
ensure the provision of a sufficient number of
qualified personnel to provide each resident with
services and care in accordance with that resi-
dent’s functional capacity screening, health care
service plan, and negotiated service agreement.

(b) Direct care staff or licensed nursing staff
shall be in attendance and responsive at all times.

(c) A registered professional nurse shall be
available to provide supervision to licensed prac-
tical nurses, pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1113 and
amendments thereto.

(d) The employee records and agency staff re-
cords shall contain the following information:

(1) Evidence of licensure, registration, certifi-
cation, or a certificate of successful completion of
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a training course for each employee performing a
function that requires specialized education or
training;

(2) supporting documentation for criminal
background checks of facility staff and contract
staff, excluding any staff licensed or registered by
a state agency, pursuant to K.S.A. 39-970 and
amendments thereto;

(3) supporting documentation from the Kansas
nurse aide registry that the individual does not
have a finding of having abused, neglected, or ex-
ploited a resident in an adult care home; and

(4) supporting documentation that the individ-
ual does not have a finding of having abused, ne-
glected, or exploited any resident in an adult care
home, from the nurse aide registry in each state
in which the individual has been known to work
as a certified nurse aide. (Authorized by K.S.A.
39-932 and K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 39-936; imple-
menting K.S.A. 39-932, K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 39-
936, and K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 39-970; effective May
29, 2009.)

26-42-103.

26-42-104. Disaster and emergency
preparedness. (a) The administrator or operator
of each home plus shall ensure the provision of a
sufficient number of staff members to take resi-
dents who would require assistance in an emer-
gency or disaster to a secure location.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the development of a detailed written emergency
management plan to manage potential emergen-
cies and disasters, including the following:

(1) Fire;

Reserve.

severe weather;
tornado;
explosion;
natural gas leak;
lack of electrical or water service;
missing residents; and
any other potential emergency situations.
(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the establishment of written agreements that will
provide for the following if an emergency or dis-
aster occurs:
(1) Fresh water;
(2) evacuation site; and
(3) transportation of residents to an evacuation
site.
(d) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
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disaster and emergency preparedness by ensuring
the performance of the following:

(1) Orientation of new employees at the time
of employment to the home’s emergency man-
agement plan;

(2) education of each resident upon admission
to the home regarding emergency procedures;

(3) quarterly review of the home’s emergency
management plan with employees and residents;
and

(4) an emergency drill, which shall be con-
ducted at least annually with staff and residents.
This drill shall include evacuation of the residents
to a secure location.

(e) Each administrator or operator shall make
the emergency management plan available to the
staff, residents, and visitors. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29,
2009.)

26-42-105. Resident records. (a) The ad-
ministrator or operator of each home plus shall
ensure the maintenance of a record for each res-
ident in accordance with accepted professional
standards and practices.

(1) Designated staff shall maintain the record
of each discharged resident who is 18 years of age
or older for at least five years after the discharge
of the resident.

(2) Designated staff shall maintain the record
of each discharged resident who is less than 18
years of age for at least five years after the resident
reaches 18 years of age or at least five years after
the date of discharge, whichever time period is
longer.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that all information in each resident’s record, re-
gardless of the form or storage method for the
record, is kept confidential, unless release is re-
quired by any of the following:

(1) Transfer of the resident to another health
care facility;

(2) law;

(3) third-party payment contract; or

(4) the resident or legal representative of the
resident.

(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the safeguarding of resident records against the
following:

(1) Loss;

(2) destruction;

(3) fire;
(4) theft; and



26-42-106

KANSAS DEPARTMENT ON AGING

(5) unauthorized use.

(d) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the accuracy and confidentiality of all resident in-
formation transmitted by means of a facsimile
machine.

(e) If electronic medical records are used, each
administrator or operator shall ensure the devel-
opment of policies addressing the following
requirements:

(1) Protection of electronic medical records, in-
cluding entries by only authorized users;

(2) safeguarding of electronic medical records
against unauthorized alteration, loss, destruction,
and use;

(3) prevention of the unauthorized use of elec-
tronic signatures;

(4) confidentiality of electronic medical re-
cords; and

(5) preservation of electronic medical records.

(f) Each resident record shall contain at least
the following:

(1) The resident’s name;

(2) the dates of admission and discharge;

(3) the admission agreement and
amendments;

(4) the functional capacity screenings;

(5) the health care service plan, if applicable;

(6) the negotiated service agreement and any
revisions;

(7) the name, address, and telephone number
of the physician and the dentist to be notified in
an emergency;

(8) the name, address, and telephone number
of the legal representative or the individual of the
resident’s choice to be notified in the event of a
significant change in condition;

(9) the name, address, and telephone number
of the case manager, if applicable;

(10) records of medications, biologicals, and
treatments administered and each medical care
provider’s order if the facility is managing the res-
ident’s medications and medical treatments; and

(11) documentation of all incidents, symptoms,
and other indications of illness or injury including
the date, time of occurrence, action taken, and
results of the action. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-42-106.

26-42-200. Resident criteria. (a) The ad-
ministrator or operator of each home plus shall
ensure the development and implementation of
written admission, transfer, and discharge policies

any
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that protect the rights of each resident, pursuant
to K.A.R. 26-39-102. In addition, the administra-
tor or operator shall ensure that any resident who
has one or more of the following conditions is not
admitted or retained unless the negotiated service
agreement includes services sufficient to meet the
needs of the resident:

(1) Incontinence, if the resident cannot or will
not participate in management of the problem;

(2) immobility, if the resident is totally depend-
ent on another person’s assistance to exit the
building;

(3) any ongoing condition requiring two or
more persons to physically assist the resident;

(4) any ongoing, skilled nursing intervention
needed 24 hours a day; or

(5) any behavioral symptom that exceeds
manageability.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that any resident whose clinical condition requires
the use of physical restraints is not admitted or
retained. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-42-201. Resident functional capacity
screening. (a) On or before each individual’s ad-
mission to a home plus, a licensed nurse, a li-
censed social worker, or the administrator or op-
erator shall conduct a screening to determine the
individual’s functional capacity and shall record all
findings on a screening form specified by the de-
partment. The administrator or operator may in-
tegrate the department’s screening form into a
form developed by the home, which shall include
each element and definition specified by the
department.

(b) A licensed nurse shall assess any resident
whose functional capacity screening indicates the
need for health care services.

(c) Designated staff shall conduct a screening
to determine each resident’s functional capacity
according to the following requirements:

(1) At least once every 365 days;

(2) following any significant change in condition
as defined in K.A.R. 26-39-100; and

(3) at least quarterly if the resident receives as-
sistance with eating from a paid nutrition assistant.

(d) Designated staff shall ensure that each res-
ident’s functional capacity at the time of screening
is accurately reflected on that resident’s screening
form.

(e) Designated staff shall use the results of the
functional capacity screening as a basis for deter-
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mining the services to be included in the resi-
dent’s negotiated service agreement. (Authorized
by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective
May 29, 2009.)

26-42-202. Negotiated service agree-
ment. (a) The administrator or operator of each
home plus shall ensure the development of a writ-
ten negotiated service agreement for each resi-
dent, based on the resident’s functional capacity
screening, service needs, and preferences, in col-
laboration with the resident or the resident’s legal
representative, the case manager, and, if agreed
to by the resident or the resident’s legal represen-
tative, the resident’s family. The negotiated serv-
ice agreement shall provide the following
information:

(1) A description of the services the resident
will receive;

(2) identification of the provider of each serv-
ice; and

(3) identification of each party responsible for
payment if outside resources provide a service.

(b) The negotiated service agreement shall pro-
mote the dignity, privacy, choice, individuality,
and autonomy of the resident.

(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the development of an initial negotiated service
agreement at admission.

(d) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the review and, if necessary, revision of each ne-
gotiated service agreement according to the fol-
lowing requirements:

(1) At least once every 365 days;

(2) following any significant change in condi-
tion, as defined in K.A.R. 26-39-100;

(3) at least quarterly if the resident receives as-
sistance with eating from a paid nutrition assistant;
and

(4) if requested by the resident or the resident’s
legal representative, staff, the case manager, or, if
agreed to by the resident or the resident’s legal
representative, the resident’s family.

(e) A licensed nurse shall participate in the de-
velopment, review, and revision of the negotiated
service agreement if the resident’s functional ca-
pacity screening indicates the need for health care
services.

(f) If a resident or the resident’s legal represen-
tative refuses a service that the administrator or
operator, the licensed nurse, the resident’s med-
ical care provider, or the case manager believes is
necessary for the resident’s health and safety, the
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negotiated service agreement shall include the
following:

(1) The service or services refused;

(2) identification of any potential negative out-
comes for the resident if the service or services
are not provided;

(3) evidence of the provision of education to the
resident or the resident’s legal representative of
the potential risk of any negative outcomes if the
service or services are not provided; and

(4) an indication of acceptance by the resident
or the resident’s legal representative of the poten-
tial risk.

(g) The negotiated service agreement shall not
include circumstances in which the lack of a serv-
ice has the potential to affect the health and safety
of other residents, staff, or the public.

(h) Each individual involved in the develop-
ment of the negotiated service agreement shall
sign the agreement. The administrator or operator
shall ensure that a copy of the initial agreement
and any subsequent revisions are provided to the
resident or the resident’s legal representative.

(i) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that each resident receives services according to
the provisions of that resident’s negotiated service
agreement.

(j) If a resident’s negotiated service agreement
includes the use of outside resources, the desig-
nated staff shall perform the following:

(1) Provide the resident, the resident’s legal
representative, the case manager, and, if agreed
to by the resident or resident’s legal representa-
tive, the resident’s family, with a list of providers
available to provide needed services;

(2) assist the resident, if requested, in contact-
ing outside resources for services; and

(3) monitor the services provided by outside re-
sources and act as an advocate for the resident if
services do not meet professional standards of
practice. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-42-203. General services. (a) Range
of services. The administrator or operator of each
home plus shall ensure the provision or coordi-
nation of the range of services specified in each
resident’s negotiated service agreement. The
range of services may include the following:

(1) Daily meal service based on each resident’s
needs;

(2) health care services based on an assessment
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by a licensed nurse and in accordance with K.A.R.
26-42-204;

(3) housekeeping services essential for the
health, comfort, and safety of each resident;

(4) medical, dental, and social transportation;

(5) planned group and individual activities that
meet the needs and interests of each resident; and

(6) other services necessary to support the
health and safety of each resident.

(b) Adult day care services. Any administrator
or operator of a home plus may provide adult day
care services to any individual who meets the
home’s admission and retention criteria and re-
ceives services less than 24 hours a day if the ad-
ministrator or operator ensures that all of the fol-
lowing conditions are met:

(1) Written policies are developed and proce-
dures are implemented for the provision of adult
day care services.

(2) All requirements for admission of a resident
to a home plus are met for an individual admitted
for adult day care services.

(3) At least 60 square feet of common use living,
dining, and activity space is available in the home
for each resident of the home and each resident
receiving adult day care services.

(4) The provision of adult day care services does
not adversely affect the care and services offered
to other residents of the home.

(c) Respite care services. Any administrator or
operator of a home plus may provide respite care
services to individuals who meet the home’s ad-
mission and retention criteria on a short-term ba-
sis if the administrator or operator ensures that
the following conditions are met:

(1) Written policies are developed and proce-
dures are implemented for the provision of respite
care services.

(2) All the requirements for admission of a res-
ident to a home plus are met for an individual
admitted for respite care services.

(d) Maintenance. Designated staff shall provide
routine maintenance, including the control of
pests and rodents, and repairs in each resident’s
bedroom and common areas inside and outside
the home as specified in the admission agreement.

(e) Services not provided. If the administrator
or operator of a home plus chooses not to provide
or coordinate any service as specified in subsec-
tion (a), the administrator or operator shall notify
the resident, in writing, on or before the resident’s
admission to the home. (Authorized by and im-
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plementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29,
2009.)

26-42-204. Health care services. (a) The
administrator or operator in each home plus shall
ensure that a licensed nurse provides or coordi-
nates the provision of necessary health care serv-
ices that meet the needs of each resident and are
in accordance with the functional capacity screen-
ing and the negotiated service agreement.

(b) If the functional capacity screening indi-
cates that a resident is in need of health care serv-
ices, a licensed nurse, in collaboration with the
resident, the resident’s legal representative, the
case manager, and, if agreed to by the resident or
resident’s legal representative, the resident’s fam-
ily, shall develop a health care service plan to be
included as part of the negotiated service
agreement.

(c) The health care services provided by or co-
ordinated by a licensed nurse may include the
following:

(1) Personal care provided by direct care staff
or by certified or licensed nursing staff’ employed
by a home health agency or a hospice;

(2) personal care provided gratuitously by
friends or family members; and

(3) supervised nursing care provided by, or un-
der the guidance of, a licensed nurse.

(d) The negotiated service agreement shall con-
tain a description of the health care services to be
provided and the name of the licensed nurse re-
sponsible for the implementation and supervision
of the plan.

(e) A licensed nurse may delegate nursing pro-
cedures not included in the nurse aide or medi-
cation aide curriculums to nurse aides or medi-
cation aides, respectively, under the Kansas nurse
practice act, K.S.A. 65-1124 and amendments
thereto.

(f) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that a licensed nurse is available to provide im-
mediate direction to medication aides and nurse
aides for residents who have unscheduled needs.

(g) Skilled nursing care shall be provided in ac-
cordance with K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments
thereto.

(1) The health care service plan shall include
the skilled nursing care to be provided and the
name of the licensed nurse or agency responsible
for providing each service.

(2) The licensed nurse providing the skilled
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nursing care shall document the service and the
outcome of the service in the resident’s record.

(3) A medical care provider’s order for skilled
nursing care shall be documented in the resident’s
record in the home. A copy of the medical care
provider’s order from a home health agency or
hospice may be used.

(4) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that a licensed nurse is available to meet each res-
ident’s unscheduled needs related to skilled nurs-
ing services.

(h) A licensed nurse may provide wellness and
health monitoring as specified in the resident’s ne-
gotiated service agreement.

(i) All health care services shall be provided to
residents by qualified staff in accordance with ac-
ceptable standards of practice. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29,
2009.)

26-42-205. Medication management.
(a) Self-administration of medication. Any resi-
dent may self-administer and manage medications
independently or by using a medication container
or syringe prefilled by a licensed nurse or phar-
macist or by a family member or friend providing
this service gratuitously, if a licensed nurse has
performed an assessment and determined that the
resident can perform this function safely and ac-
curately without staff assistance.

(1) An assessment shall be completed before
the resident initially begins self-administration of
medication, if the resident experiences a signifi-
cant change of condition, and annually.

(2) Each assessment shall include an evaluation
of the resident’s physical, cognitive, and functional
ability to safely and accurately self-administer and
manage medications independently or by using a
prefilled medication container or prefilled
syringe.

(3) The resident’s clinical record shall contain
documentation of the assessment and the
determination.

(4) If a resident self-administers medication
with a prefilled medication container or syringe,
the prefilled medication container or syringe shall
have a label with the resident’s name and the date
the container or syringe was prefilled. The label,
or a medication administration record provided to
the resident, shall also include the name and dos-
age of each medication and the time or event at
which the medication is to be self-administered.
Facility staff may remind residents to take medi-
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cations or inquire as to whether medications were
taken.

(b) Administration of select medications. Any
resident who self-administers medication may se-
lect some medications to be administered by a li-
censed nurse or medication aide. The negotiated
service agreement shall reflect this service and
identify who is responsible for the administration
and management of selected medications.

(c) Administration of medication by family or
friends. Any resident may choose to have personal
medication administered by family members or
friends gratuitously, pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1124
and amendments thereto.

(d) Home administration of resident’s medica-
tions. If a home is responsible for the administra-
tion of a resident’s medications, the administrator
or operator shall ensure that all medications and
biologicals are administered to that resident in ac-
cordance with a medical care provider’s written
order, professional standards of practice, and each
manufacturer’s recommendations. The adminis-
trator or operator shall ensure that all of the fol-
lowing are met:

(1) Only licensed nurses and medication aides
shall administer and manage medications for
which the home has responsibility.

(2) Medication aides shall not administer med-
ication through the parenteral route.

(3) A licensed nurse or medication aide shall
perform the following:

(A) Administer only the medication that the li-
censed nurse or medication aide has personally
prepared;

(B) identify the resident before medication is
administered;

(C) remain with the resident until the medica-
tion is ingested or applied; and

(D) document the administration of each resi-
dent’s medication in the resident’s medication ad-
ministration record immediately before or follow-
ing completion of the task. If the medication
administration record identifies only time inter-
vals or events for the administration of medica-
tion, the licensed nurse or medication aide shall
document the actual clock time the medication is
administered.

(4) Any licensed nurse may delegate nursing
procedures not included in the medication aide
curriculum to medication aides under the Kansas
nurse practice act, K.S.A. 653-1124 and amend-
ments thereto.

(e) Medication orders. Only a licensed nurse or
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a licensed pharmacist may receive verbal orders
for medication from a medical care provider. The
licensed nurse shall ensure that all verbal orders
are signed by the medical care provider within
seven working days of receipt of the verbal order.

(f) Standing orders. Only a licensed nurse shall
make the decision for implementation of standing
orders for specified medications and treatments
formulated and signed by the resident’s medical
care provider. Standing orders of medications
shall not include orders for the administration of
schedule IT medications or psychopharmacologi-
cal medications.

(g) Ordering, labeling, and identifying. All med-
ications and biologicals administered by licensed
nurses or medication aides shall be ordered from
a pharmacy pursuant to a medical care provider’s
written order.

(1) Any resident who self-administers and man-
ages personal medications may request that a li-
censed nurse or medication aide reorder the res-
ident’'s medication from a pharmacy of the
resident’s choice.

(2) Each prescription medication container
shall have a label that was provided by a dispens-
ing pharmacist or affixed to the container by a
dispensing pharmacist in accordance with K.A.R.
68-7-14.

(3) A licensed nurse or medication aide may
accept over-the-counter medication only in its
original, unbroken manufacturer’s package. A li-
censed pharmacist or licensed nurse shall place
the full name of the resident on the package. If
the original manufacturer’s package of an over-
the-counter medication contains a medication in
a container, bottle, or tube that can be removed
from the original package, the licensed pharmacist
or a licensed nurse shall place the full name of the
resident on both the original manufacturer’s med-
ication package and the medication container.

(4) Licensed nurses and medication aides may
administer sample medications and medications
from indigent medication programs if the admin-
istrator or operator ensures the development of
policies and implementation of procedures for re-
ceiving and identifying sample medications and
medications from indigent medication programs
that include all of the following conditions:

(A) The medication is not a controlled
medication.

(B) A medical care provider’s written order ac-
companies the medication, stating the resident’s
name; the medication name, strength, dosage,
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route, and frequency of administration; and any
cautionary instructions regarding administration.

(C) A licensed nurse or medication aide re-
ceives the medication in its original, unbroken
manufacturer’s package.

(D) A licensed nurse documents receipt of the
medication by entering the resident’s name and
the medication name, strength, and quantity into
a log.

(E) A licensed nurse places identification infor-
mation on the medication or package containing
the medication that includes the medical care pro-
vider’s name; the resident’s name; the medication
name, strength, dosage, route, and frequency of
administration; and any cautionary instructions as
documented on the medical care provider’s order.
Staff consisting of either two licensed nurses or a
licensed nurse and a medication aide shall verify
that the information on the medication matches
the information on the medical care provider’s
order.

(F) A licensed nurse informs the resident or the
resident’s legal representative that the medication
did not go through the usual process of labeling
and initial review by a licensed pharmacist pur-
suant to K.S.A. 65-1642 and amendments thereto,
which requires the identification of both adverse
drug interactions or reactions and potential aller-
gies. The resident’s clinical record shall contain
documentation that the resident or resident’s legal
representative has received the information and
accepted the risk of potential adverse
consequences.

(h) Storage. Licensed nurses and medication
aides shall ensure that all medications and biolog-
icals are securely and properly stored in accord-
ance with each manufacturer’s recommendations
or those of the pharmacy provider and with fed-
eral and state laws and regulations.

(1) Licensed nurses or medication aides shall
store non-controlled medications and biologicals
managed by the home in a locked medication
room, cabinet, or medication cart. Licensed
nurses and medication aides shall store controlled
medications managed by the home in separately
locked compartments within a locked medication
room, cabinet, or medication cart. Only licensed
nurses and medication aides shall have access to
the stored medications and biologicals.

(2) Each resident managing and self-adminis-
tering medication shall store medications in a
place that is accessible only to the resident, li-
censed nurses, and medication aides.
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(3) Any resident who self-administers medica-
tion and is unable to provide proper storage as
recommended by the manufacturer or pharmacy
provider may request that the medication be
stored by the home.

(4) A licensed nurse or medication aide shall not
administer medication beyond the manufacturer’s
or pharmacy provider’s recommended date of
expiration.

(i) Accountability and disposition of medica-
tions. Licensed nurses and medication aides shall
maintain records of the receipt and disposition of
all medications managed by the home in sufficient
detail for an accurate reconciliation.

(1) Records shall be maintained documenting
the destruction of any deteriorated, outdated, or
discontinued controlled medications and biologi-
cals according to acceptable standards of practice
by one of the following combinations:

(A) Two licensed nurses; or

(B) a licensed nurse and a licensed pharmacist.

(2) Records shall be maintained documenting
the destruction of any deteriorated, outdated, or
discontinued non-controlled medications and bi-
ologicals according to acceptable standards of
practice by any of the following combinations:

(A) Two licensed nurses;

(B) a licensed nurse and a medication aide;

(C) alicensed nurse and a licensed pharmacist;
or

(D) a
pharmacist.

(j) Medications sent for short-term absence. A
licensed nurse or medication aide shall provide
the resident’s medication to the resident or the
designated responsible party for the resident’s
short-term absences from the home, upon
request.

(k) Clinical record. The administrator or oper-
ator, or the designee, shall ensure that the clinical
record of each resident for whom the home man-
ages the resident’s medication or prefills medi-
cation containers or syringes contains the follow-
ing documentation:

(1) A medical care provider’s order for each
medication;

(2) the name of the pharmacy provider of the
resident’s choice;

(3) any known medication allergies; and

(4) the date and the 12-hour or 24-hour clock
time any medication is administered to the
resident.

(1) Medication regimen review. A licensed phar-

medication aide and a licensed
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macist or licensed nurse shall conduct a medica-
tion regimen review at least quarterly for each res-
ident whose medication is managed by the home
and each time the resident experiences any sig-
nificant change in condition.

(1) The medication regimen review shall iden-
tify any potential or current medication-related
problems, including the following:

(A) Lack of clinical indication for use of
medication;

(B) the use of a subtherapeutic dose of any
medication;

(C) failure of the resident to receive an ordered
medication;

(D) medications administered in excessive dos-
age, including duplicate therapy;

(E) medications administered
duration;

(F) adverse medication reactions;

(G) medication interactions; and

(H) lack of adequate monitoring.

(2) The licensed pharmacist or licensed nurse
shall notify the medical care provider upon dis-
covery of any variance identified in the medication
regimen review that requires immediate action by
the medical care provider. The licensed pharma-
cist shall notify a licensed nurse within 48 hours
of any variance identified in the resident’s regi-
men review that does not require immediate ac-
tion by the medical care provider and specify a
time within which the licensed nurse must notify
the resident’s medical care provider. The licensed
nurse shall seek a response from the medical care
provider within five working days of the medical
care provider’s notification of a variance.

(3) The administrator or operator, or the des-
ignee, shall ensure that the medication regimen
review is kept in each resident’s clinical record.

(4) The administrator or operator, or the des-
ignee, shall offer each resident who self-adminis-
ters medication a medication regimen review to
be conducted by a licensed pharmacist or licensed
nurse at least quarterly and each time the resident
experiences a significant change in condition. A
licensed nurse shall maintain documentation of
the resident’s decision in the resident’s clinical
record. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-42-206. Dietary services. (a) The ad-
ministrator or operator of each home plus shall
ensure the provision or coordination of dietary

in excessive
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services to residents as identified in each resi-
dent’s negotiated service agreement.

(b) The supervisory responsibility for dietetic
services shall be assigned to one employee.

(c) If a resident’s negotiated service agreement
includes the provision of a therapeutic diet, me-
chanically altered diet, or thickened consistency
of liquids, a medical care provider’s order shall be
on file in the resident’s clinical record, and the
diet or liquids, or both, shall be prepared accord-
ing to instructions from a medical care provider
or licensed dietitian.

(d) The menus shall be planned in advance and
in accordance with the dietary guidelines adopted
by reference in K.A.R. 26-39-105.

(1) Menu plans shall be available to each resi-
dent on at least a weekly basis.

(2) A method shall be established to incorporate
input by residents in the selection of food to be
served and scheduling of meal service.

(e) Food shall be prepared using safe methods
that conserve the nutritive value, flavor, and ap-
pearance and shall be served at the proper
temperature.

(1) Food used by facility staff to serve to the
residents, including donated food, shall meet all
applicable federal, state, and local laws and
regulations.

(2) Food in cans that have significant defects,
including swelling, leakage, punctures, holes, frac-
tures, pitted rust, or denting severe enough to
prevent normal stacking or opening with a man-
ual, wheel-type can opener, shall not be used.

(3) Food provided by a resident’s family or
friends for individual residents shall not be re-
quired to meet federal, state, and local laws and
regulations.

(f) Staff shall store all food under safe and san-
itary conditions. Containers of poisonous com-
pounds and cleaning supplies shall not be stored
in the areas used for food storage, preparation, or
serving.

(g) Each home shall maintain at least a three-
day supply of food to meet the requirements of
the planned menus. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-42-207. Infection control. (a) The ad-
ministrator or operator of each home plus shall
ensure the provision of a safe, sanitary, and com-
fortable environment for residents.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the development of policies and implementation

64

of procedures to prevent the spread of infections.
These policies and procedures shall include the
following requirements:

(1) Using universal precautions to prevent the
spread of blood-borne pathogens;

(2) techniques to ensure that hand hygiene
meets professional health care standards;

(3) techniques to ensure that the laundering
and handling of soiled and clean linens meet pro-
fessional health care standards;

(4) providing sanitary conditions for food
service;

(5) prohibiting any employee with a communi-
cable disease or any infected skin lesions from
coming in direct contact with any resident, any
resident’s food, or resident care equipment until
the condition is no longer infectious;

(6) providing orientation to new employees and
employee in-service education at least annually on
the control of infections in a health care setting;
and

(7) transferring a resident with an infectious
disease to an appropriate health care facility if the
administrator or operator is unable to provide the
isolation precautions necessary to protect the
health of other residents.

(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the home’s compliance with the department’s tu-
berculosis guidelines for adult care homes
adopted by reference in K.A.R. 26-39-105. (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932; ef-
fective May 29, 2009.)

Article 43.—ADULT DAY CARE
FACILITIES

26-43-101. Administration. (a) Adminis-
trator and operator responsibilities. The adminis-
trator or operator of each adult day care facility
(“facility”) shall ensure that the facility is operated
in a manner so that each resident receives care
and services in accordance with each resident’s
functional capacity screening and negotiated serv-
ice agreement.

(b) Administrator and operator criteria. Each
licensee shall appoint an administrator or operator
who meets the following criteria:

(1) Is at least 21 years of age;

(2) possesses a high school diploma or the
equivalent;

(3) holds a Kansas license as an adult care home
administrator or has successfully completed an
operator training course and passed the test ap-
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proved by the secretary of Kansas department of
heath and environment pursuant to K.S.A. 39-923
and amendments thereto; and

(4) has authority and responsibility for the op-
eration of the facility and compliance with licens-
ing requirements.

(c) Administrator and operator position de-
scription. Each licensee shall adopt a written po-
sition description for the administrator or opera-
tor that includes responsibilities for the following:

(1) Planning, organizing, and directing the
facility;

(2) implementing operational policies and pro-
cedures for the facility; and

(3) authorizing, in writing, a responsible em-
ployee who is 18 years old or older to act on the
administrator’s or operator’s behalf in the absence
of the administrator or operator.

(d) Resident rights. Each administrator or op-
erator shall ensure the development and imple-
mentation of written policies and procedures that
incorporate the principles of individuality, auton-
omy, dignity, choice, privacy, and a home envi-
ronment for each resident. The following provi-
sions shall be included in the policies and
procedures:

(1) The recognition of each resident’s rights, re-
sponsibilities, needs, and preferences;

(2) the freedom of each resident or the resi-
dent’s legal representative to select or refuse a
service and to accept responsibility for the
consequences;

(3) the development and maintenance of social
ties for each resident by providing opportunities
for meaningful interaction and involvement
within the facility and the community;

(4) the maintenance of each resident’s lifestyle
if there are not adverse effects on the rights and
safety of other residents; and

(5) the resolution of grievances through a spe-
cific process that includes a written response to
each written grievance within 30 days.

(e) Resident liability. Each resident shall be li-
able only for the charges disclosed to the resident
or the resident’s legal representative and docu-
mented in a signed agreement at admission and
in accordance with K.A.R. 26-39-103.

(f) Staff treatment of residents. Each adminis-
trator or operator shall ensure the development
and implementation of written policies and pro-
cedures that prohibit the abuse, neglect, and ex-
ploitation of residents by staff. The administrator
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or operator shall ensure that all of the following
requirements are met:

(1) No resident shall be subjected to any of the
following:

(A) Verbal, mental, sexual, or physical abuse,
including corporal punishment and involuntary
seclusion;

(B) neglect; or

(C) exploitation.

(2) The facility shall not employ any individual
who has been identified on a state nurse aide reg-
istry as having abused, neglected, or exploited any
resident in an adult care home.

(3) Each allegation of abuse, neglect, or exploi-
tation shall be reported to the administrator or
operator of the facility as soon as staff is aware of
the allegation and to the department within 24
hours. The administrator or operator shall ensure
that all of the following requirements are met:

(A) An investigation shall be started when the
administrator or operator, or the designee, re-
ceives notification of an alleged violation.

(B) Immediate measures shall be taken to pre-
vent further potential abuse, neglect, or exploita-
tion while the investigation is in progress.

(C) Each alleged violation shall be thoroughly
investigated within five working days of the initial
report. Results of the investigation shall be re-
ported to the administrator or operator.

(D) Appropriate corrective action shall be taken
if the alleged violation is verified.

(E) The department’s complaint investigation
report shall be completed and submitted to the
department within five working days of the initial
report.

(F) A written record shall be maintained of each
investigation of reported abuse, neglect, or
exploitation.

(g) Availability of policies and procedures. Each
administrator or operator shall ensure that poli-
cies and procedures related to resident services
are available to staff at all times and are available
to each resident, legal representatives of resi-
dents, case managers, and families during normal
business hours. A notice of availability shall be
posted in a place readily accessible to residents
and the public.

(h) Power of attorney, guardianship, and con-
servatorship. Authority as a power of attorney, du-
rable power of attorney for health care decisions,
guardian, or conservator shall not be exercised by
anyone employed by or having a financial interest
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in the facility, unless the person is related to the
resident within the second degree.

(i) Reports. Each administrator or operator
shall ensure the accurate completion and elec-
tronic submission of annual and semiannual sta-
tistical reports regarding residents, employees,
and facility occupancy to the department no later
than 20 days following the last day of the period
being reported. The administrator or operator
shall ensure the submission of any other reports
required by the department.

(j) Emergency telephone. Each administrator
or operator shall ensure that the residents and em-
ployees have access to a telephone for emergency
use at no cost. The administrator or operator shall
ensure that the names and telephone numbers of
persons or places commonly required in emer-
gencies are posted adjacent to this telephone.

(k) Ombudsman. Each administrator or opera-
tor shall ensure the posting of the names, ad-
dresses, and telephone numbers of the Kansas de-
partment on aging and the office of the long-term
care ombudsman with information that these
agencies can be contacted to report actual or po-
tential abuse, neglect, or exploitation of residents
or to register complaints concerning the operation
of the facility. The administrator or operator shall
ensure that this information is posted in an area
readily accessible to all residents and the public.

(1) Survey report and plan of correction. Each
administrator or operator shall ensure that a copy
of the most recent survey report and plan of cor-
rection is available in a public area to residents
and any other individuals wishing to examine sur-
vey results. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-43-102. Staff qualifications. (a) The
administrator or operator of each adult day care
facility shall ensure the provision of a sufficient
number of qualified personnel to provide each
resident with services and care in accordance with
that resident’s functional capacity screening,
health care service plan, and negotiated service
agreement.

(b) Direct care staff or licensed nursing staff
shall be in attendance and responsive at all times.

(c) A registered professional nurse shall be
available to provide supervision to licensed prac-
tical nurses, pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1113 and
amendments thereto.

(d) The employee records and agency staff re-
cords shall contain the following documentation:

66

(1) Evidence of licensure, registration, certifi-
cation, or a certificate of successful completion of
a training course for each employee performing a
function that requires specialized education or
training;

(2) supporting documentation for criminal
background checks of facility staff and contract
staff, excluding any staff licensed or registered by
a state agency, pursuant to K.S.A. 39-970 and
amendments thereto;

(3) supporting documentation from the Kansas
nurse aide registry that the individual does not
have a finding of having abused, neglected, or ex-
ploited a resident in an adult care home; and

(4) supporting documentation that the individ-
ual does not have a finding of having abused, ne-
glected, or exploited any resident in an adult care
home, from the nurse aide registry in each state
in which the individual has been known to work.
(Authorized by K.S.A. 39-932 and K.S.A. 2007
Supp. 39-936; implementing K.S.A. 39-932,
K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 39-936, and K.S.A. 2007 Supp.
39-970; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-43-103. Staff development. (a) The
administrator or operator of each adult day care
facility shall ensure the provision of orientation to
new employees and regular in-service education
for all employees to ensure that the services pro-
vided assist residents to attain and maintain their
individuality, autonomy, dignity, independence,
and ability to make choices in a home
environment.

(b) The topics for orientation and in-service ed-
ucation shall include the following:

(1) Principles of adult day care;

2) fire prevention and safety;
) disaster procedures;
) accident prevention;
) resident rights;
) infection control; and
(7) prevention of abuse, neglect, and exploita-
tion of residents.

(c) If the facility admits residents with demen-
tia, the administrator or operator shall ensure the
provision of staff orientation and in-service edu-
cation on the treatment and appropriate response
to persons who exhibit behaviors associated with
dementia. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-43-104. Disaster and emergency
preparedness. (a) The administrator or operator
of each adult day care facility shall ensure the pro-
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vision of a sufficient number of staff members to
take residents who would require assistance in an
emergency or disaster to a secure location.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the development of a detailed written emergency
management plan to manage potential emergen-
cies and disasters, including the following:

(1) Fire;
flood;
severe weather;
tornado;
explosion;
natural gas leak;
lack of electrical or water service;
missing residents; and
any other potential emergency situations.

(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the establishment of written agreements that will
provide for the following if an emergency or dis-
aster occurs:

(1) Fresh water;

(2) evacuation site; and

(3) transportation of residents to an evacuation
site.

(d) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
disaster and emergency preparedness by ensuring
the performance of the following:

(1) Orientation of new employees at the time
of employment to the facility’s emergency man-
agement plan;

(2) education of each resident upon admission
to the facility regarding emergency procedures;

(3) quarterly review of the facility’s emergency
management plan with employees and residents;
and

(4) an emergency drill, which shall be con-
ducted at least annually with staff and residents.
This drill shall include evacuation of the residents
to a secure location.

(e) Each administrator or operator shall make
the emergency management plan available to the
staff, residents, and visitors. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29,
2009.)

26-43-105. Resident records. (a) The ad-
ministrator or operator of each adult day care fa-
cility shall ensure the maintenance of a record for
each resident in accordance with accepted pro-
fessional standards and practices.

(1) Designated staff shall maintain the record
of each discharged resident who is 18 years of age

(2)
(3)
(4)
(5)
(6)
(7)
(8)
(9)
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or older for at least five years after the discharge
of the resident.

(2) Designated staff shall maintain the record
of each discharged resident who is less than 18
years of age for at least five years after the resident
reaches 18 years of age or at least five years after
the date of discharge, whichever time period is
longer.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that all information in each resident’s record, re-
gardless of the form or storage method for the
record, is kept confidential, unless release is re-
quired by any of the following:

(1) Transfer of the resident to another health
care facility;

(2) law;

(3) third-party payment contract; or

(4) the resident or legal representative of the
resident.

(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the safeguarding of resident records against the
following:

(1) Loss;
destruction;
fire;
theft; and
unauthorized use.

(d) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the accuracy and confidentiality of all resident in-
formation transmitted by means of a facsimile
machine.

(e) If electronic medical records are used, each
administrator or operator shall ensure the devel-
opment of policies addressing the following
requirements:

(1) Protection of electronic medical records, in-
cluding entries by only authorized users;

(2) safeguarding of electronic medical records
against unauthorized alteration, loss, destruction,
and use;

(3) prevention of the unauthorized use of elec-
tronic signatures;

(4) confidentiality of electronic medical re-
cords; and

(5) preservation of electronic medical records.

(f) Each resident record shall contain at least
the following:

(1) The resident’s name;

(2) the dates of admission and discharge;

(3) the admission agreement and
amendments;

(4) the functional capacity screenings;

(5) the health care service plan, if applicable;

(2)
(3)
(4)
(5)

any
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(6) the negotiated service agreement and any
revisions;

(7) the name, address, and telephone number
of the physician and the dentist to be notified in
an emergency;

(8) the name, address, and telephone number
of the legal representative or the individual of the
resident’s choice to be notified in the event of a
significant change in condition;

(9) the name, address, and telephone number
of the case manager, if applicable;

(10) records of medications, biologicals, and
treatments administered and each medical care
provider’s order if the facility is managing the res-
ident’s medications and medical treatments; and

(11) documentation of all incidents, symptoms,
and other indications of illness or injury including
the date, time of occurrence, action taken, and
results of the action. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-43-106. Community governance. (a)
The administrator or operator of each adult day
care facility shall ensure the facilitation of the or-
ganization of at least one resident council, each of
which shall meet at least quarterly to provide res-
idents with a forum to provide input into com-
munity governance.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the accommodation of the council process by pro-
viding space for the meetings, posting notices of
the meetings, and assisting residents who wish to
attend the meetings.

(c) In order to permit a free exchange of ideas
and concerns, each administrator or operator shall
ensure that all meetings are conducted without
the presence of facility staff, unless allowed by the
residents.

(d) Each administrator or operator shall re-
spond to each written idea and concern received
from the council, in writing, within 30 days after
the meeting at which the written ideas and con-
cerns were collected. The administrator or oper-
ator shall ensure that a copy of each written idea
or concern and each response is available to sur-
veyors. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-43-200. Resident criteria. (a) The ad-
ministrator or operator of each adult day care fa-
cility shall ensure the development and imple-
mentation of written admission, transfer, and
discharge policies that protect the rights of each
resident, pursuant to K.A.R. 26-39-102. In addi-
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tion, the administrator or operator shall ensure
that any resident who has one or more of the fol-
lowing conditions is not admitted or retained un-
less the negotiated service agreement includes
services sufficient to meet the needs of the resi-
dent while in the facility:

(1) Incontinence, if the resident cannot or will
not participate in management of the problem;

(2) immobility, if the resident is totally depend-
ent on another person’s assistance to exit the
building;

(3) any ongoing condition requiring two or
more persons to physically assist the resident; or

(4) any behavioral symptom that exceeds
manageability.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that any resident whose clinical condition requires
the use of physical restraints is not admitted or
retained. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-43-201. Resident functional capacity
screening. (a) On or before each individual’s ad-
mission to an adult day care facility, a licensed
nurse, a licensed social worker, or the administra-
tor or operator shall conduct a screening to de-
termine the individual’s functional capacity and
shall record all findings on a screening form spec-
ified by the department. The administrator or op-
erator may integrate the department’s screening
form into a form developed by the facility, which
shall include each element and definition speci-
fied by the department.

(b) A licensed nurse shall assess any resident
whose functional capacity screening indicates the
need for health care services.

(c) Designated facility staff shall conduct a
screening to determine each resident’s functional
capacity according to the following requirements:

(1) At least once every 365 days;

(2) following any significant change in condition
as defined in K.A.R. 26-39-100; and

(3) at least quarterly if the resident receives as-
sistance with eating from a paid nutrition assistant.

(d) Designated facility staff shall ensure that
each resident’s functional capacity at the time of
screening is accurately reflected on that resident’s
screening form.

(e) Designated facility staff shall use the results
of the functional capacity screening as a basis for
determining the services to be included in the res-
ident’s negotiated service agreement. (Authorized
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by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective
May 29, 2009.)

26-43-202. Negotiated service agree-
ment. (a) The administrator or operator of each
adult day care facility shall ensure the develop-
ment of a written negotiated service agreement
for each resident, based on the resident’s func-
tional capacity screening, service needs, and pref-
erences, in collaboration with the resident or the
resident’s legal representative, the case manager,
and, if agreed to by the resident or the resident’s
legal representative, the resident’s family. The ne-
gotiated service agreement shall provide the fol-
lowing information:

(1) A description of the services the resident
will receive;

(2) identification of the provider of each serv-
ice; and

(3) identification of each party responsible for
payment if outside resources provide a service.

(b) The negotiated service agreement shall pro-
mote the dignity, privacy, choice, individuality,
and autonomy of the resident.

(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the development of an initial negotiated service
agreement at admission.

(d) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the review and, if necessary, revision of each ne-
gotiated service agreement according to the fol-
lowing requirements:

(1) At least once every 365 days;

(2) following any significant change in condi-
tion, as defined in K.A.R. 26-39-100;

(3) at least quarterly, if the resident receives
assistance with eating from a paid nutrition assis-
tant; and

(4) if requested by the resident or the resident’s
legal representative, facility staff, the case man-
ager, or, if agreed to by the resident or the resi-
dent’s legal representative, the resident’s family.

(e) A licensed nurse shall participate in the de-
velopment, review, and revision of the negotiated
service agreement if the resident’s functional ca-
pacity screening indicates the need for health care
services.

(f) If a resident or the resident’s legal represen-
tative refuses a service that the administrator or
operator, the licensed nurse, the resident’s med-
ical care provider, or the case manager believes is
necessary for the resident’s health and safety, the
negotiated service agreement shall include the
following:
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(1) The service or services refused;

(2) identification of any potential negative out-
comes for the resident if the service or services
are not provided;

(3) evidence of the provision of education to the
resident or the resident’s legal representative of
the potential risk of any negative outcomes if the
service or services are not provided; and

(4) an indication of acceptance by the resident
or the resident’s legal representative of the poten-
tial risk.

(g) The negotiated service agreement shall not
include circumstances in which the lack of a serv-
ice has the potential to affect the health and safety
of other residents, facility staff, or the public.

(h) Each individual involved in the develop-
ment of the negotiated service agreement shall
sign the agreement. The administrator or operator
shall ensure that a copy of the initial agreement
and any subsequent revisions are provided to the
resident or the resident’s legal representative.

(i) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that each resident receives services according to
the provisions of that resident’s negotiated service
agreement.

(j) If a resident’s negotiated service agreement
includes the use of outside resources, the desig-
nated facility staff shall perform the following:

(1) Provide the resident, the resident’s legal
representative, the case manager, and, if agreed
to by the resident or resident’s legal representa-
tive, the resident’s family, with a list of providers
available to provide needed services;

(2) assist the resident, if requested, in contact-
ing outside resources for services; and

(3) monitor the services provided by outside re-
sources and act as an advocate for the resident if
services do not meet professional standards of
practice. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
39-932; effective May 29, 2009.)

26-43-203. General services. (a) Range
of services. The administrator or operator of each
adult day care facility shall ensure the provision or
coordination of the range of services specified in
each resident’s negotiated service agreement. The
range of services may include the following:

(1) Daily meal service based on each resident’s
needs;

(2) health care services based on an assessment
by a licensed nurse and in accordance with K.A.R.
26-43-204;

(3) medical, dental, and social transportation;
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(4) planned group and individual activities that
meet the needs and interests of each resident; and

(5) other services necessary to support the
health and safety of each resident.

(b) Special care. Any administrator or operator
of an adult day care facility may choose to serve
residents who do not exceed the facility’s admis-
sion and retention criteria and who have special
needs in a special care section of the facility or the
entire facility, if the administrator or operator en-
sures that all of the following conditions are met:

(1) Written policies are developed and proce-
dures are implemented for the operation of the
special care section or facility.

(2) Admission and discharge criteria are in ef-
fect that identify the diagnosis, behavior, or spe-
cific clinical needs of the residents to be served.
The medical diagnosis, medical care provider’s
progress notes, or both shall justify admission to
the special care section or the facility.

(3) A medical care provider’s written order is
obtained for admission.

(4) The functional capacity screening indicates
that the resident would benefit from the services
and programs offered by the special care section
or facility.

(5) Before the resident’s admission to the spe-
cial care section or facility, the resident or resi-
dent’s legal representative is informed, in writing,
of the available services and programs that are
specific to the needs of the resident.

(6) Direct care staff are present in the special
care section or facility at all times.

(7) Before assignment to the special care sec-
tion or facility employment, each staff member is
provided with a training program related to spe-
cific needs of the residents to be served, and ev-
idence of completion of the training is maintained
in the employee’s personnel records.

(8) Living, dining, activity, and recreational ar-
eas are provided within the special care section,
except when residents are able to access living,
dining, activity, and recreational areas in another
section of the facility.

(9) The control of exits in the special care sec-
tion is the least restrictive possible for the resi-
dents in the section.

(c) Maintenance. Designated staff shall provide
routine maintenance, including the control of
pests and rodents, and repairs in common areas
inside and outside the facility.

(d) Services not provided. If an administrator
or operator of an adult day care facility chooses
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not to provide or coordinate any service as speci-
fied in subsection (a), the administrator or oper-
ator shall notify the resident, in writing, on or be-
fore the resident’s admission to the facility.
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932;
effective May 29, 2009.)

26-43-204. Health care services. (a) The
administrator or operator in each adult day care
facility shall ensure that a licensed nurse provides
or coordinates the provision of necessary health
care services that meet the needs of each resident
and are in accordance with the functional capacity
screening and the negotiated service agreement.

(b) If the functional capacity screening indi-
cates that a resident is in need of health care serv-
ices, a licensed nurse, in collaboration with the
resident, the resident’s legal representative, the
case manager, and, if agreed to by the resident or
resident’s legal representative, the resident’s fam-
ily, shall develop a health care service plan to be
included as part of the negotiated service
agreement.

(c) The health care services provided by or co-
ordinated by a licensed nurse may include the
following:

(1) Personal care provided by direct care staff
or by certified or licensed nursing staff employed
by a home health agency or a hospice;

(2) personal care provided gratuitously by
friends or family members; and

(3) supervised nursing care provided by, or un-
der the guidance of, a licensed nurse.

(d) The negotiated service agreement shall con-
tain a description of the health care services to be
provided and the name of the licensed nurse re-
sponsible for the implementation and supervision
of the plan.

(e) A licensed nurse may delegate nursing pro-
cedures not included in the nurse aide or medi-
cation aide curriculums to nurse aides or medi-
cation aides, respectively, under the Kansas nurse
practice act, K.S.A. 65-1124 and amendments
thereto.

(f) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
that a licensed nurse is available to provide im-
mediate direction to medication aides and nurse
aides for residents who have unscheduled needs.

(g) Skilled nursing care shall be provided in ac-
cordance with K.S.A. 39-923 and amendments
thereto.

(1) The health care service plan shall include
the skilled nursing care to be provided and the
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name of the licensed nurse or agency responsible
for providing each service.

(2) The licensed nurse providing the skilled
nursing care shall document the service and the
outcome of the service in the resident’s record.

(3) A medical care provider’s order for skilled
nursing care shall be documented in the resident’s
record in the facility. A copy of the medical care
provider’s order from a home health agency or
hospice may be used. Medical care provider or-
ders in the clinical records of a home health
agency located in the same building as the facility
may also be used if the clinical records are avail-
able to licensed nurses and direct care staff of the
facility.

(4) The administrator or operator shall ensure
that a licensed nurse is available to meet each res-
ident’s unscheduled needs related to skilled nurs-
ing services.

(h) A licensed nurse may provide wellness and
health monitoring as specified in the resident’s ne-
gotiated service agreement.

(i) All health care services shall be provided to
residents by qualified staff in accordance with ac-
ceptable standards of practice. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29,
2009.)

26-43-205. Medication management.
(a) Self-administration of medication. Any resi-
dent may self-administer and manage medications
independently or by using a medication container
or syringe prefilled by a licensed nurse or phar-
macist or by a family member or friend providing
this service gratuitously, if a licensed nurse has
performed an assessment and determined that the
resident can perform this function safely and ac-
curately without staff assistance.

(1) An assessment shall be completed before
the resident initially begins self-administration of
medication, if the resident experiences a signifi-
cant change of condition, and annually.

(2) Each assessment shall include an evaluation
of the resident’s physical, cognitive, and functional
ability to safely and accurately self-administer and
manage medications independently or by using a
prefilled medication container or prefilled
syringe.

(3) The resident’s clinical record shall contain
documentation of the assessment and the
determination.

(4) If a resident self-administers medication
with a prefilled medication container or syringe,
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the prefilled medication container or syringe shall
have a label with the resident’s name and the date
the container or syringe was prefilled. The label,
or a medication administration record provided to
the resident, shall also include the name and dos-
age of each medication and the time or event at
which the medication is to be self-administered.
Facility staff may remind residents to take medi-
cations or inquire as to whether medications were
taken.

(b) Administration of select medications. Any
resident who self-administers medication may se-
lect some medications to be administered by a li-
censed nurse or medication aide. The negotiated
service agreement shall reflect this service and
identify who is responsible for the administration
and management of selected medications.

(c) Administration of medication by family or
friends. Any resident may choose to have personal
medication administered by family members or
friends gratuitously, pursuant to K.S.A. 65-1124
and amendments thereto.

(d) Facility administration of resident’s medi-
cations. If a facility is responsible for the admin-
istration of a resident’s medications, the adminis-
trator or operator shall ensure that all medications
and biologicals are administered to that resident
in accordance with a medical care provider’s writ-
ten order, professional standards of practice, and
each manufacturer’s recommendations. The ad-
ministrator or operator shall ensure that all of the
following are met:

(1) Only licensed nurses and medication aides
shall administer medications for which the facility
has responsibility.

(2) Medication aides shall not administer med-
ication through the parenteral route.

(3) A licensed nurse or medication aide shall
perform the following:

(A) Administer only the medication that the li-
censed nurse or medication aide has personally
prepared;

(B) identify the resident before medication is
administered;

(C) remain with the resident until the medica-
tion is ingested or applied; and

(D) document the administration of each resi-
dent’s medication in the resident’s medication ad-
ministration record immediately before or follow-
ing completion of the task. If the medication
administration record identifies only time inter-
vals or events for the administration of medica-
tion, the licensed nurse or medication aide shall
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document the actual clock time the medication is
administered.

(4) Any licensed nurse may delegate nursing
procedures not included in the medication aide
curriculum to medication aides under the Kansas
nurse practice act, K.S.A. 65-1124 and amend-
ments thereto.

(e) Medication orders. Only a licensed nurse or
a licensed pharmacist may receive verbal orders
for medication from a medical care provider. The
licensed nurse shall ensure that all verbal orders
are signed by the medical care provider within
seven working days of receipt of the verbal order.

(f) Standing orders. Only a licensed nurse shall
make the decision for implementation of standing
orders for specified medications and treatments
formulated and signed by the resident’s medical
care provider. Standing orders of medications
shall not include orders for the administration of
schedule II medications or psychopharmacologi-
cal medications.

(g) Ordering, labeling, and identifying. All med-
ications and biologicals administered by licensed
nurses or medication aides shall be ordered from
a pharmacy pursuant to a medical care provider’s
written order.

(1) Any resident who self-administers and man-
ages personal medications may request that a li-
censed nurse or medication aide reorder the res-
ident’s medication from a pharmacy of the
resident’s choice.

(2) Each prescription medication container
shall have a label that was provided by a dispens-
ing pharmacist or affixed to the container by a
dispensing pharmacist in accordance with K.A.R.
68-7-14.

(3) A licensed nurse or medication aide may
accept over-the-counter medication only in its
original, unbroken manufacturer’s package. A li-
censed pharmacist or licensed nurse shall place
the full name of the resident on the package. If
the original manufacturer’s package of an over-
the-counter medication contains a medication in
a container, bottle, or tube that can be removed
from the original package, the licensed pharmacist
or a licensed nurse shall place the full name of the
resident on both the original manufacturer’s med-
ication package and the medication container.

(4) Licensed nurses and medication aides may
administer sample medications and medications
from indigent medication programs if the admin-
istrator or operator ensures the development of
policies and implementation of procedures for re-
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ceiving and identifying sample medications and
medications from indigent medication programs
that include all of the following conditions:

(A) The medication is not a controlled
medication.

(B) A medical care provider’s written order ac-
companies the medication, stating the resident’s
name; the medication name, strength, dosage,
route, and frequency of administration; and any
cautionary instructions regarding administration.

(C) A licensed nurse or medication aide re-
ceives the medication in its original, unbroken
manufacturer’s package.

(D) A licensed nurse documents receipt of the
medication by entering the resident’s name and
the medication name, strength, and quantity into
a log.

(E) A licensed nurse places identification infor-
mation on the medication or package containing
the medication that includes the medical care pro-
vider’s name; the resident’s name; the medication
name, strength, dosage, route, and frequency of
administration; and any cautionary instructions as
documented on the medical care provider’s order.
Facility staff consisting of either two licensed
nurses or a licensed nurse and a medication aide
shall verify that the information on the medication
matches the information on the medical care pro-
vider’s order.

(F) A licensed nurse informs the resident or the
resident’s legal representative that the medication
did not go through the usual process of labeling
and initial review by a licensed pharmacist pur-
suant to K.S.A. 65-1642 and amendments thereto,
which requires the identification of both adverse
drug interactions or reactions and potential aller-
gies. The resident’s clinical record shall contain
documentation that the resident or the resident’s
legal representative has received the information
and accepted the risk of potential adverse
consequences.

(h) Storage. Licensed nurses and medication
aides shall ensure that all medications and biolog-
icals are securely and properly stored in accord-
ance with each manufacturer’s recommendations
or those of the pharmacy provider and with fed-
eral and state laws and regulations.

(1) Licensed nurses or medication aides shall
store non-controlled medications and biologicals
managed by the facility in a locked medication
room, cabinet, or medication cart. Licensed
nurses and medication aides shall store controlled
medications managed by the facility in separately
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locked compartments within a locked medication
room, cabinet, or medication cart. Only licensed
nurses and medication aides shall have access to
the stored medications and biologicals.

(2) Each resident managing and self-adminis-
tering medication shall store medications in a
place that is accessible only to the resident, li-
censed nurses, and medication aides.

(3) Any resident who self-administers medica-
tion and is unable to provide proper storage as
recommended by the manufacturer or pharmacy
provider may request that the medication be
stored by the facility.

(4) A licensed nurse or medication aide shall not
administer medication beyond the manufacturer’s
or pharmacy provider’'s recommended date of
expiration.

(i) Accountability and disposition of medica-
tions. Licensed nurses and medication aides shall
maintain records of the receipt and disposition of
all medications managed by the facility in suffi-
cient detail for an accurate reconciliation.

(1) Records shall be maintained documenting
the destruction of any deteriorated, outdated, or
discontinued controlled medications and biologi-
cals according to acceptable standards of practice
by one of the following combinations:

(A) Two licensed nurses; or

(B) a licensed nurse and a licensed pharmacist.

(2) Records shall be maintained documenting
the destruction of any deteriorated, outdated, or
discontinued non-controlled medications and bi-
ologicals according to acceptable standards of
practice by any of the following combinations:

(A) Two licensed nurses;

(B) a licensed nurse and a medication aide;

(C) a licensed nurse and a licensed pharmacist;
or

(D) a medication aide and a licensed
pharmacist.

(j) Clinical record. The administrator or oper-
ator, or the designee, shall ensure that the clinical
record of each resident for whom the facility man-
ages the resident’s medication or prefills medi-
cation containers or syringes contains the follow-
ing documentation:

(1) A medical care provider’s order for each
medication;

(2) the name of the pharmacy provider of the
resident’s choice;

(3) any known medication allergies; and

(4) the date and the 12-hour or 24-hour clock
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time any medication is administered to the
resident.

(k) Medication regimen review. The adminis-
trator or operator, or the designee, shall offer each
resident a medication regimen review to be con-
ducted by a licensed pharmacist or a licensed
nurse at least quarterly and each time the resident
experiences any significant change in condition. A
licensed nurse shall document the resident’s de-
cision in the resident’s clinical record.

(1) The medication regimen review shall iden-
tify any potential or current medication-related
problems, including the following:

(A) Lack of clinical indication for use of
medication;

(B) the use of subtherapeutic dose of any
medication;

(C) failure of the resident to receive an ordered
medication;

(D) medications administered in excessive dos-
age, including duplicate therapy;

(E) medications administered in excessive
duration;

(F) adverse medication reactions;

(G) medication interactions; and

(H) lack of adequate monitoring.

(2) The licensed pharmacist or licensed nurse
shall report each variance identified in the medi-
cation regimen review to the resident’s medical
care provider.

(3) The administrator or operator, or the des-
ignee, shall ensure that the medication regimen
review is kept in each resident’s clinical record.

(1) At least annually, the administrator or op-
erator shall ensure that a licensed pharmacist or a
licensed nurse conducts an educational program
on medication usage and health-related topics for
the residents, the residents’ legal representatives,
and the residents’ families. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29,
2009.)

26-43-206. Dietary services. (a) Provi-
sion of dietary services. The administrator or op-
erator of each adult day care facility shall ensure
the provision or coordination of dietary services to
residents as identified in each resident’s negoti-
ated service agreement. If the administrator or
operator of the facility establishes a contract with
another entity to provide or coordinate the pro-
vision of dietary services to the residents, the ad-
ministrator or operator shall ensure that entity’s
compliance with these regulations.
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(b) Staff. The supervisory responsibility for di-
etetic services shall be assigned to one employee.

(1) A dietetic services supervisor or licensed di-
etician shall provide scheduled on-site supervision
in each facility with 11 or more residents.

(2) If a resident’s negotiated service agreement
includes the provision of a therapeutic diet, me-
chanically altered diet, or thickened consistency
of liquids, a medical care provider’s order shall be
on file in the resident’s clinical record, and the
diet or liquids, or both, shall be prepared accord-
ing to instructions from a medical care provider
or licensed dietitian.

(c) Menus. A dietetic services supervisor or li-
censed dietitian or, in any facility with fewer than
11 residents, designated facility staff shall plan
menus in advance and in accordance with the di-
etary guidelines adopted by reference in K.A.R.
26-39-105.

(1) Menu plans shall be available to each resi-
dent on at least a weekly basis.

(2) A method shall be established to incorporate
residents” input in the selection of food to be
served and scheduling of meal service.

(d) Food preparation. Food shall be prepared
using safe methods that conserve the nutritive
value, flavor, and appearance and shall be served
at the proper temperature.

(1) Food used by facility staff to serve to the
residents, including donated food, shall meet all
applicable federal, state, and local laws and
regulations.

(2) Food in cans that have significant defects,
including swelling, leakage, punctures, holes, frac-
tures, pitted rust, or denting severe enough to
prevent normal stacking or opening with a man-
ual, wheel-type can opener, shall not be used.

(3) Food provided by a resident’s family or
friends for individual residents shall not be re-
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quired to meet federal, state, and local laws and
regulations.

(e) Food storage. Facility staff shall store all
food under safe and sanitary conditions. Contain-
ers of poisonous compounds and cleaning supplies
shall not be stored in the areas used for food stor-
age, preparation, or serving. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective May 29,
2009.)

26-43-207. Infection control. (a) The ad-
ministrator or operator of each adult day care fa-
cility shall ensure the provision of a safe, sanitary,
and comfortable environment for residents.

(b) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the development of policies and implementation
of procedures to prevent the spread of infections.
These policies and procedures shall include the
following requirements:

(1) Using universal precautions to prevent the
spread of blood-borne pathogens;

(2) techniques to ensure that hand hygiene
meets professional health care standards;

(3) techniques to ensure that the laundering
and handling of soiled and clean linens meet pro-
fessional health care standards;

(4) providing sanitary conditions for food
service;

(5) prohibiting any employee with a communi-
cable disease or any infected skin lesions from
coming in direct contact with any resident, any
resident’s food, or resident care equipment until
the condition is no longer infectious; and

(6) providing orientation to new employees and
employee in-service education at least annually on
the control of infections in a health care setting.

(c) Each administrator or operator shall ensure
the facility’s compliance with the department’s tu-
berculosis guidelines for adult care homes
adopted by reference in K.A.R. 26-39-105. (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932; ef-
fective May 29, 2009.)
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Article 4.—MATERNAL AND CHILD
HEALTH

28-4-1200. Definitions. For the purposes
of K.A.R. 28-4-1200 through K.A.R. 28-4-1218,
the following definitions shall apply: (a) “Admin-
istrator” means a person employed by a PRTF
who is responsible for the overall administration
of the PRTF.

(b) “Applicant” means a person who has applied
for a license but who has not yet been granted a
license to operate a PRTF. This term shall include
an applicant who has been granted a temporary
permit to operate a PRTF.

(c) “Basement” means each area in a building
with a floor level more than 30 inches below
ground level on all sides.

(d) “Department” means the Kansas depart-
ment of health and environment.

(e) “Direct care staff” means the staff members
employed by the PRTF to supervise the residents.

(f) “Exception” means a waiver of compliance
with a specific PRTF regulation or any portion of
a specific PRTF regulation that is granted by the
secretary to an applicant or a licensee.

(g) “Individual plan of care” means a written,
goal-oriented treatment plan and therapeutic ac-
tivities designed to move the resident to a level of
functioning consistent with living in a community
setting.

(h) “Licensee” means a person who has been
granted a license to operate a PRTF.

(i) “Program” means the comprehensive and
coordinated activities and services providing for
the care and treatment of residents.

(j) “Program director” means the staff person
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responsible for the oversight and implementation
of the program.

(k) “Psychiatric residential treatment facility”
and “PRTF” mean a residential facility for which
the applicant or licensee meets the requirements
of K.A.R. 28-4-1201.

(I) “Resident” means an individual who is at
least six years of age but not yet 22 years of age
and who is accepted for care and treatment in a
PRTF.

(m) “Resident record” means any electronic or
written document concerning a resident admitted
to a PRTF that is created or obtained by an em-
ployee of the PRTF.

(n) “Restraint” means the application of physi-
cal force or any mechanical devices or the admin-
istration of any drugs for the purpose of restricting
the free movement of a resident’s body.

(0) “Seclusion” means the involuntary confine-
ment of a resident in a separate or locked room
or an area from which the resident is physically
prevented from leaving.

(p) “Secretary” means the secretary of the Kan-
sas department of health and environment.

(q) “Treatment” means comprehensive, indi-
vidualized, goal-directed, therapeutic services
provided to residents. (Authorized by K.S.A. 65-
508 and 65-510; implementing K.S.A. 65-503 and
65-508; effective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1201. License requirements. (a)
Each applicant and each licensee shall meet all of
the following requirements in order to obtain and
maintain a license to operate a PRTF:

(1) The state and federal participation require-
ments for medicaid reimbursement;
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(2) receipt of accreditation of the PRTF by one
of the following accrediting organizations:

(A) Council on accreditation of rehabilitation
facilities (CARF);

(B) council on accreditation of child and family
agencies (COA);

(C) the joint commission or the joint commis-
sion on accreditation of healthcare organizations
(JCAHO); or

(D) an accrediting body approved by the Kansas
health policy authority (KHPA), the Kansas de-
partment of social and rehabilitation services
(SRS), and the Kansas juvenile justice authority
(JJA); and

(3) receipt of approval of the PRTF by the Kan-
sas department of social and rehabilitation serv-
ices as meeting the state requirements.

(b) Each applicant and each licensee, if a cor-
poration, shall be in good standing with the Kan-
sas secretary of state.

(c) Each applicant and each licensee shall main-
tain documentation of compliance with all appli-
cable building codes, fire safety requirements, and
zoning codes. (Authorized by K.S.A. 65-508; im-
plementing K.S.A. 65-504 and 65-508; effective
Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1202. Application procedures. (a)
Each person, in order to obtain a license, shall
submit a complete application on forms provided
by the department. The application shall be sub-
mitted at least 90 calendar days before the
planned opening date of the PRTF and shall in-
clude the following:

(1) A description of the program and services
to be offered, including the following:

(A) A statement of the PRTF’s purpose and
goals; and

(B) the number, ages, and gender of residents
for whom the PRTF is designed,;

(2) the anticipated opening date;

(3) arequest for the background checks for staff
members and volunteers specified in K.A.R. 28-
4-1205;

(4) documentation of compliance with the li-
cense requirements in K.A.R. 28-4-1201; and

(5) the license fee specified in K.A.R. 28-4-92.

(b) Each applicant shall notify the school dis-
trict where the PRTF is to be located of the
following:

(1) The planned opening date and the number,
age range, gender, and anticipated special edu-
cation needs of the residents to be served;
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(2) a statement indicating whether the residents
will attend public school or will receive educa-
tional services on-site at the PRTF; and

(3) documentation that the notification was re-
ceived by the school district at least 90 days before
the planned opening date.

The 90-day notification to the local school dis-
trict may be waived by the secretary upon receipt
of a written agreement by the local school district.

(c) Each applicant shall submit to the depart-
ment floor plans for each building that will be
used as a PRTF. Each floor plan shall state
whether or not any building will rely on locked
entrances and exits or on delayed-exit mecha-
nisms to secure the PRTF. Each applicant want-
ing to use delayed-exit mechanisms or to use hard-
ware to lock or otherwise secure the exits shall
obtain and shall submit to the department prior
written approval from the Kansas state fire mar-
shal, the Kansas department of social and reha-
bilitation services, the Kansas juvenile justice au-
thority, and the Kansas health policy authority.

(d) Each applicant shall provide the department
with a copy of the approval of the Kansas state fire
marshal’s office for the floor plan and the use of
any delayed-exit mechanism or hardware to lock
or otherwise secure the exits before a license is
issued.

(e) The granting of a license to any applicant
may be refused by the secretary if the applicant is
not in compliance with the requirements of the
following:

(1) K.S.A. 65-504 through 65-508 and amend-
ments thereto;

(2) K.S.A. 65-512 and 65-513 and amendments
thereto;

(3) K.S.A. 65-516 and amendments thereto;

(4) K.S.A. 65-531 and amendments thereto;
and

(5) all regulations governing psychiatric resi-
dential treatment facilities. (Authorized by K.S.A.
65-508; implementing K.S.A. 65-501, 65-504, 65-
505, and 65-508 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 65-516;
effective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1203. Capacity; posting require-
ments; validity of temporary permit or li-
cense; new application required; advertising;
closure. (a) Capacity. The maximum number, the
age range, and the gender of residents authorized
by the temporary permit or license shall not be
exceeded.

(b) Posting requirements. The current tempo-
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rary permit or the current license shall be posted
conspicuously within the PRTF.

(c) Validity of temporary permit or license.
Each temporary permit or license shall be valid
only for the applicant or licensee and for the ad-
dress specified on the temporary permit or the
license. When an initial or amended license be-
comes effective, all temporary permits or licenses
previously granted to the applicant or licensee at
the same address shall become void.

(d) New application required. A new applica-
tion and the fee specified in K.A.R. 28-4-92 shall
be submitted for each change of ownership or lo-
cation at least 90 calendar days before the planned
change.

(e) Advertising. The advertising for each PRTF
shall conform to the statement of services as given
on the application. A claim for specialized services
shall not be made unless the PRTF is staffed and
equipped to offer those services.

(f) Closure. Any applicant may withdraw the ap-
plication for a license. Any licensee may submit,
at any time, a request to close the PRTF operated
by the licensee. If an application is withdrawn or
a PRTF is closed, the current temporary permit
or license granted to the applicant or licensee for
that PRTF shall become void. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 65-508; implementing K.S.A. 65-504, 65-
505, and 65-508; effective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1204. Licensure; renewal; notifi-
cations; exceptions; amendments. (a) No per-
son shall operate a PRTF unless issued a tempo-
rary permit or a license by the secretary.

(b) No earlier than 90 days before the renewal
date but no later than the renewal date, each li-
censee who wishes to renew the license shall com-
plete and submit an application for renewal on
forms provided by the department, including the
requests for background checks specified in
K.A.R. 28-4-1205, and shall submit the fee spec-
ified in K.A.R. 28-4-92.

(c) Failure to submit the renewal application
and fee as required by subsection (b) shall result
in an assessment of a late renewal fee pursuant to
K.S.A. 65-505, and amendments thereto, and may
result in closure of the PRTF.

(d) Each licensee shall notify the department
within 24 hours of any change in approval or ac-
creditation required in K.A.R. 28-4-1201.

(e) Any applicant or licensee may request an
exception from the secretary.

(1) Any request for an exception may be
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granted if the secretary determines that the ex-
ception is in the best interest of one or more res-
idents or the family of a resident and the exception
does not violate statutory requirements.

(2) Written notice from the secretary stating the
nature of each exception and its duration shall be
kept on file at the PRTF and shall be readily ac-
cessible to the department, SRS, and JJA.

(f) Each licensee shall obtain the secretary’s
written approval before making any change in any
of the following:

(1) The use or proposed use of the buildings;

(2) any changes to the physical structure of any
building, including the following:

(A) An addition or alteration as specified in
K.A.R. 28-4-1215;

(B) any change in the use of locked entrances
or exits; and

(C) any change in any delayed-exit mechanisms;

(3) the addition or removal of a locking system
for any room used for seclusion, as specified in
K.A.R. 28-4-1212; or

(4) the program, provided through either of the
following:

(A) Direct services; or

(B) agreements with specified community
resources.

(g) Any licensee may submit a written request
for an amended license.

(1) Each licensee who intends to change the
terms of the license, including the maximum
number, the age range, or the gender of residents
to be served, shall submit a request for an amend-
ment on a form provided by the department and
a nonrefundable amendment fee of $35. An
amendment fee shall not be required if the re-
quest to change the terms of the license is made
at the time of the renewal.

(2) Each request for a change in the maximum
number, the age range, or the gender of residents
to be served shall include written documentation
of the notification to the school district where the
PRTF is located, as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-1202.

(3) The licensee shall make no change to the
terms of the license, including the maximum
number of residents, the age range of residents to
be served, the gender of residents, and the type
of license, until an amendment is granted, in writ-
ing, by the secretary. (Authorized by K.S.A. 65-
508; implementing K.S.A. 65-504, 65-505, and 65-
508 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 65-516; effective Oct.
9, 2009.)
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28-4-1205. Background checks. (a) With
each initial application or renewal application,
each applicant or licensee shall submit a request
to conduct a background check by the Kansas bu-
reau of investigation and a background check by
the Kansas department of social and rehabilitation
services in order to comply with the provisions of
K.S.A. 65-516, and amendments thereto. Each re-
quest shall be submitted on a form provided by
the department. The request shall list the re-
quired information for each individual 10 years of
age and older who will be residing, working, or
regularly volunteering in the PRTF.

(b) Each licensee shall submit a request to the
department to conduct a background check by the
Kansas bureau of investigation and a background
check by the Kansas department of social and re-
habilitation services before each new individual
begins residing, working, or regularly volunteer-
ing in the PRTF.

(c) A copy of each request for a background
check shall be kept on file at the PRTF.

(d) Residents admitted into a PRTF for care
and treatment shall not be considered to be resid-
ing in the PRTF for the purposes of background
checks. (Authorized by K.S.A. 65-508; imple-
menting K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 65-516; effective Oct.
9, 2009.)

28-4-1206. Administration. (a) Each
PRTF shall be governed by one of the following
entities:

(1) A public agency, which shall employ an ad-
ministrator for the PRTF; or

(2) a private entity with a governing board that
is legally responsible for the operation, policies,
finances, and general management of the PRTF.
The private entity shall employ an administrator
for the PRTF. The administrator shall not be a
voting member of the governing board.

(b) Each licensee shall develop and implement
written policies and procedures for the operation
of the PRTF that shall include detailed descrip-
tions of the roles and the responsibilities for staff
and volunteers. The staff practices shall conform
to the written policies and procedures and to all
regulations governing PRTFs.

(¢) A licensee or a staff member of a PRTF shall
not accept permanent legal guardianship of any
individual before the individual is admitted to the
PRTF or while the individual is in treatment at
the PRTF.

(d) A copy of the regulations governing PRTF's
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shall be kept on the premises at all times and shall
be made available to all staff members.

(e) Each licensee shall make available to the
department all reports and findings of on-site sur-
veys, periodic performance reviews, monitoring
visits, and accreditation reports by the PRTF’s ac-
crediting body.

(f) Each licensee shall have sufficient finances
to ensure the provision of program activities and
services to each resident. Each licensee shall pro-
vide the financial resources necessary to maintain
compliance with these regulations.

(g) Each resident’s personal money shall be
kept separate from the PRTF’s funds. Each li-
censee shall maintain financial records of each
resident’s personal money. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective Oct. 9,
2009.)

28-4-1207. Staff requirements. (a) Each
individual working or volunteering in a PRTF
shall be qualified by temperament, emotional ma-
turity, judgment, and understanding of residents
necessary to maintain the health, comfort, safety,
and welfare of individuals placed in psychiatric
residential treatment facilities.

(b) Each food service staff member shall dem-
onstrate compliance with all of the following
requirements through ongoing job performance:

(1) Knowledge of the nutritional needs of
residents;

(2) understanding of quantity food preparation
and service;

(3) sanitary food handling and storage methods;

(4) willingness to consider individual, cultural,
and religious food preferences of the residents;
and

(5) willingness to work with the program direc-
tor in planning learning experiences for residents
about nutrition. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 65-508; effective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1208. Records. Each licensee shall
develop and implement written policies and pro-
cedures that address PRTF recordkeeping
requirements, including resident records, person-
nel records, and general records. (a) Resident re-
cords. Each licensee shall maintain an individual
record for each resident, which shall include the
following information:

(1) A health record that meets the requirements
in K.A.R. 28-4-1211;

(2) a copy of each written report of any inci-
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dents involving the resident and specified in
K.A.R. 28-4-1209 and K.A.R. 28-4-1214;

(3) documentation of each use of seclusion for
the resident; and

(4) a financial record of the resident’s personal
money as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-1206.

(b) Personnel records. Each licensee shall
maintain an individual personnel record for each
staff member, which shall include the following
information:

(1) A health record that meets the requirements
in K.A.R. 28-4-1211, including a record of the re-
sults of any health examinations and tuberculin
tests;

(2) the staff
responsibilities;

(3) documentation that the staff member has
read, understands, and agrees to all of the
following:

(A) The statutes and regulations regarding the
mandatory reporting of suspected child abuse, ne-
glect, and exploitation;

(B) all regulations governing PRTF's; and

(C) the PRTF’s policies and procedures appli-
cable to the job responsibilities of the staff mem-
ber; and

(4) a copy of a valid driver’s license of a type
appropriate for the vehicle being used, for any
staff member who transports any resident.

(¢) Volunteer records. Each licensee shall main-
tain an individual record for each volunteer of the
PRTF, which shall include the following
information:

(1) A health record that meets the requirements
in K.A.R. 28-4-1211, including a record of the re-
sults of any health examinations and tuberculin
tests, for each volunteer in contact with residents;
and

(2) a copy of a valid driver’s license of a type
appropriate for the vehicle being used, for any vol-
unteer who transports any resident.

(d) General records. Each licensee shall ensure
that general records are completed and main-
tained, which shall include the following:

(1) Documentation of the requests submitted
to the department for the purpose of background
checks for each staff member and volunteer in
order to comply with the provisions of K.S.A. 65-
516, and amendments thereto;

(2) documentation of notification to the school
district;

(3) documentation of each approval granted by
the secretary for any change, exception, or amend-

member’s  current

job
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ment as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-1204 and K.A.R.
28-4-1215;

(4) the policies and procedures of the PRTF;

(5) all reports and findings of on-site visits, pe-
riodic performance reviews, monitoring visits to
determine compliance with PRTF regulations and
standards, and any accreditation reports by the
PRTF’s accrediting body;

(6) all written reports of the following:

(A) All incidents or events specified in K.A.R.
28-4-1209 and K.A.R. 28-4-1214; and

(B) the use of restraint or seclusion;

(7) all documentation specified in K.A.R. 28-4-
1218 for transporting residents;

(8) all documentation specified in K.A.R. 28-4-
1212 for the locking systems for the door of each
room used for seclusion, including documentation
of the state fire marshal’s approval;

(9) all documentation specified in K.A.R. 28-4-
1214 for emergency plans, fire and tornado drills,
and written policies and procedures on the secu-
rity and control of the residents;

(10) all documentation specified in K.A.R. 28-
4-1214 for the inspection and the maintenance of
security devices, including locking mechanisms
and any delayed-exit mechanisms on doors;

(11) documentation of approval of any private
water or sewage systems as specified in K.A.R. 28-
4-1215; and

(12) documentation of vehicle and liability in-
surance for each vehicle used by the PRTF to
transport residents as specified in K.A.R. 28-4-
1218. (Authorized by K.S.A. 65-508; implement-
ing K.S.A. 65-507 and 65-508 and K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 65-516; effective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1209. Notification and reporting
requirements. (a) Each licensee shall ensure that
the following notifications are submitted verbally
or in writing upon discovery of the incident or
event, but no later than 24 hours after the
discovery:

(1) Each instance of suspected abuse or neglect
of a resident shall be reported to the Kansas de-
partment of social and rehabilitation services or to
law enforcement.

(2) Each incident resulting in the death of any
resident shall be reported to the following:

(A) Law enforcement;

B) the department;

the parent or guardian of the resident;
the resident’s placing agent;

the state medicaid agency;

(
(C)
(D)
(E)
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(F) the Kansas department of social and reha-
bilitation services; and

(G) the state-designated protection and advo-
cacy entity.

(3) Each incident resulting in the death of a
staff member while on duty at the PRTF shall be
reported to the department and to any other en-
tities according to the policies of the PRTF.

(4) Each incident resulting in a serious injury
to any resident, including burns, lacerations, bone
fractures, substantial hematomas, and injuries to
internal organs, shall be reported to the following:

(A) The department;

(B) the county health department in which the
PRTF is located;

(C) the parent or legal guardian of any resident
involved in the incident;

(D) the placing agent of any resident involved
in the incident;

(E) the state medicaid agency;

(F) the Kansas department of social and reha-
bilitation services; and

(G) the state-designated protection and advo-
cacy entity.

(5) Each incident of suspected sexual assault
involving a resident as a victim or as a perpetrator
shall be reported to the following:

(A) Law enforcement;

(B) the Kansas department of social and reha-
bilitation services;

(C) the parent or legal guardian of the resident;

(D) the resident’s placing agent; and

(E) the department.

(6) Each suicide attempt by a resident shall be
reported to the following:

(A) The department;

(B) the resident’s placing agent;

(C) the parent or guardian of the resident;

(D) the state medicaid agency;

(E) the Kansas department of social and reha-
bilitation services; and

(F) the state-designated protection and advo-
cacy entity.

(7) Each natural disaster shall be reported to
the department.

(8) Each instance of work stoppage shall be re-
ported to the department.

(9) Each incident that involves a riot or the tak-
ing of hostages shall be reported to the
department.

(10) Each fire shall be reported to the depart-
ment and to the state fire marshal.

(11) Each incident that involves any suspected
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illegal act committed by a resident while in the
PRTF or by a staff member while on duty at the
PRTF shall be reported to law enforcement in
accordance with the policies of the PRTF.

(12) If any resident, staff member, or volunteer
of the PRTF contracts a reportable infectious or
contagious disease specified in K.A.R. 28-1-2, the
licensee shall ensure that a report is submitted to
the local county health department within 24
hours, excluding weekends and holidays.

(b) Each licensee shall complete a written re-
port within five calendar days of the discovery of
any incident or event identified in subsection (a).
(Authorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508;
effective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1210. Admission requirements. (a)
No individual less than six years of age shall be
admitted to a PRTF. No individual 21 years of age
or older shall be admitted to a PRTF as a new
resident, but any current resident may continue
to receive treatment until that resident reaches 22
years of age.

(b) Each individual who shows evidence of be-
ing physically ill, injured, or under the influence
of alcohol or drugs shall be assessed in accordance
with the PRTF’s policies and procedures to de-
termine the appropriateness of admission and any
need for immediate medical care. (Authorized by
and implementing K.S.A. 65-508 and 65-510; ef-
fective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1211. Health care. (a) Policies for
resident health care. Each licensee, in consulta-
tion with a physician, shall develop written poli-
cies that include provisions for the following:

(1) A health checklist and review for each res-
ident upon admission, including the following:

(A) Current physical, including oral, health
status;

(B) any allergies, including medication, food,
and plant;

(C) any current pain, including cause, onset,
duration, and location;

(D) preexisting medical conditions;

(E) current mood and affect;

(F) any current suicidal thoughts and history of
suicide attempts;

(G) any infectious or contagious diseases;

(H) documentation of current immunizations
or documentation of an exemption for medical or
religious reasons as specified in K.A.R. 28-1-20;

(I) any drug or alcohol use;

(J) any current medications;
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any physical disabilities;

menstrual history, if applicable;

M) any sexually transmitted disease; and

N) any history of pregnancy;

2) follow-up health care, including a health as-
sessment and referrals for any concerns identified
in the health checklist and review;

(3) if medically indicated, chronic care, conva-
lescent care, and preventive care;

(4) care for minor illness, including the use and
administration of prescription and nonprescrip-
tion drugs;

(5) care for residents under the influence of al-
cohol or other drugs;

(6) consultation regarding each individual resi-
dent, if indicated,;

(7) infection control measures and universal
precautions to prevent the spread of blood-borne
infectious diseases, including medically indicated
isolation; and

(8) maternity care as required by K.A.R. 28-4-
279.

(b) Physical health of residents at admission and
throughout placement. Each licensee shall main-
tain a health record for each resident to document
the provision of health services, including dental
services.

(1) Each licensee shall ensure that a health
checklist is completed for each resident at the
time of admission by the individual who admits
the resident. The health checklist shall serve as a
guide to determine if a resident is in need of med-
ical or dental care and to determine if the resident
is using any prescribed medications.

(2) Each licensee shall ensure that the PRTF’s
physician, a physician’s assistant operating under
a written protocol as authorized by a responsible
physician, or an advanced registered nurse prac-
titioner (ARNP) operating under a written pro-
tocol as authorized by a responsible physician and
operating under the ARNP’s scope of practice is
contacted for any resident who is taking a pre-
scribed medication at the time of admission, to
assess the need for continuation of the
medication.

(3) Each change of prescription or directions
for administering a prescription medication shall
be ordered by the authorized medical practitioner
with documentation placed in the resident’s rec-
ord. Prescription medications shall be adminis-
tered only to the designated resident as ordered
by the authorized medical practitioner.

(4) Each licensee shall ensure that a physician,
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a physician’s assistant operating under a written
protocol as authorized by the responsible physi-
cian, or an ARNP operating under a written pro-
tocol as authorized by a responsible physician and
operating within the ARNP’s scope of practice is
contacted for any resident who has acute symp-
toms of illness or who has a chronic illness.

(5) Within 72 hours of admission, a physician,
a physician’s assistant operating under a written
protocol as authorized by a responsible physician,
or a nurse approved to conduct screening and
health assessments shall review the health check-
list. Based upon health indicators derived from
the checklist or in the absence of documentation
of a screening within the past 24 months, the re-
viewing physician, physician’s assistant, or nurse
shall determine whether or not a full screening
and health assessment are necessary. If a full
screening and health assessment are necessary,
the following requirements shall be met:

(A) The screening and health assessment shall
be conducted by a licensed physician, a physician’s
assistant operating under a written protocol as au-
thorized by a responsible physician, or a nurse ap-
proved to conduct these examinations.

(B) The screening and health assessment shall
be completed within 10 days of admission.

(6) Each licensee shall ensure that each resi-
dent receives a screening for symptoms of tuber-
culosis. A Mantoux test, a tuberculin blood assay
test, or a chest X-ray shall be required if any of
the following occurs:

(A) The resident has a health history or shows
symptoms compatible with tuberculosis.

(B) The location of the PRTF is in an area iden-
tified by the local health department or the sec-
retary as a high-risk area for tuberculosis
exposure.

(C) Significant exposure to an active case of tu-
berculosis occurs, or symptoms compatible with
tuberculosis develop.

(D) If there is a positive reaction to the diag-
nostic procedures, proof of proper treatment or
prophylaxis shall be required. Documentation of
the test, X-ray, or treatment results shall be kept
on file in the resident’s health record, and the
county health department shall be informed of the
results.

(7) Each licensee shall ensure that written pol-
icies and procedures prohibit the use of tobacco
in any form by any resident while in care.

(c) Oral health of residents. Each licensee shall
ensure that the following requirements are met:
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(1) Dental care shall be available for all
residents.

(2) Each resident who has not had a dental ex-
amination within the year before admission to the
PRTF shall have a dental examination no later
than 60 days after admission.

(3) Each resident shall receive emergency den-
tal care as needed.

(4) Each licensee shall develop and implement
a plan for oral health education and staff super-
vision of residents in the practice of good oral
hygiene.

(d) Health record. Each licensee shall maintain
a health record for each resident to document the
provision of health services required in subsec-
tions (a), (b), and (c).

(e) Personal health and hygiene of residents.

(1) Each resident shall have access to drinking
water, a lavatory, and a toilet.

(2) Each licensee shall ensure that each resi-
dent is given the opportunity to bathe upon ad-
mission and daily.

(3) Each licensee shall furnish each resident
with toothpaste and a toothbrush.

(4) Each licensee shall ensure that each resi-
dent is given the opportunity to brush the resi-
dent’s teeth after each meal.

(5) Each licensee shall make opportunities
available to the residents for daily shaving and reg-
ular haircuts.

(6) Each resident’s washable clothing shall be
changed and laundered at least twice a week.
Each licensee shall ensure that clean underwear
and socks are available to each resident on a daily
basis.

(7) Each female resident shall be provided per-
sonal hygiene supplies for use during her men-
strual cycle.

(8) Each licensee shall ensure that clean, indi-
vidual washcloths and bath towels are issued to
each resident at least twice each week.

(9) Each licensee shall allow each resident to
have at least eight hours of sleep each day.

(f) Personal health of staff members and vol-
unteers of the PRTF.

(1) Each individual shall meet the following
requirements:

(A) Be free from any infectious or contagious
disease requiring isolation or quarantine as spec-
ified in K.A.R. 28-1-6;

(B) be free of any physical, mental, or emotional
health conditions that would adversely affect the
individual’s ability to fulfill the responsibilities
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listed in the individual’s job description and to
protect the health, safety, and welfare of the res-
idents; and

(C) be free from impaired ability due to the use
of alcohol, prescription or nonprescription drugs,
or other chemicals.

(2) Each individual who has contact with any
resident or who is involved in food preparation or
service shall have received a health assessment
within one year before employment. This assess-
ment shall be conducted by a licensed physician,
a physician’s assistant operating under a written
protocol as authorized by a responsible physician,
or a nurse authorized to conduct these
assessments.

(3) The results of each health assessment shall
be recorded on forms provided by the department
and shall be kept on file.

(4) A health assessment record may be trans-
ferred from a previous place of employment if the
assessment occurred within one year before the
individual’s employment at the PRTF and if the
assessment was recorded on the form provided by
the department.

(5) The initial health examination shall include
a screening for symptoms of tuberculosis. A Man-
toux test, a tuberculin blood assay test, or a chest
X-ray shall be required if any of the following
oceurs:

(A) The individual has a health history or shows
symptoms compatible with tuberculosis.

(B) The PRTF is located in an area identified
by the local health department or the secretary as
a high-risk area for tuberculosis exposure.

(C) Significant exposure to an active case of tu-
berculosis occurs, or symptoms compatible with
tuberculosis develop.

(D) If there is a positive reaction to any of the
diagnostic procedures, proof of proper treatment
or prophylaxis shall be required. Documentation
of the test, X-ray, and treatment results shall be
kept on file in the individual’s health record, and
the county health department shall be informed
of the results.

(6) If an individual experiences a significant
change in physical, mental, or emotional health,
including any indication of substance abuse, an
assessment of the individual’s current health
status may be required by the licensee or the sec-
retary. A licensed health care provider qualified
to diagnose and treat the condition shall conduct
the health assessment. A written report of the as-
sessment shall be kept in the individual’s person-
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nel record and shall be submitted to the secretary
on request.

(g) Tobacco products shall not be used inside
the PRTF. Tobacco products shall not be used by
staff members or volunteers of the PRTF in the
presence of residents. (Authorized by K.S.A. 65-
508; implementing K.S.A. 65-507 and 65-508; ef-
fective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1212. Health and safety require-
ments for the use of seclusion rooms. (a) Each
licensee shall ensure that the following require-
ments are met for each room used for seclusion:

(1) The locking system shall be approved by the
state fire marshal.

(2) No room used for seclusion shall be in a
basement.

(3) Each door shall be equipped with a window
mounted in a manner that allows inspection of the
entire room.

(4) Each window in a room used for seclusion
shall be impact-resistant and shatterproof.

(5) The walls shall be completely free of objects.

(6) A mattress shall be available, if needed. If a
mattress is used, the mattress shall be clean and
in good repair.

(b) No more than one resident shall be placed
in a room used for seclusion at the same time.

(c) Before any resident is admitted to a room
used for seclusion, all items that could be used to
injure oneself or others shall be removed from the
resident.

(d) Each resident shall be permitted to wear
clothing necessary to maintain modesty and com-
fort at all times. Paper clothing may be substituted
if a resident uses clothing for self-harm. Sheets,
towels, blankets, and similar items shall not be
substituted for clothing.

(e) Each resident shall receive all meals and
snacks normally served and shall be allowed time
to exercise and perform necessary bodily
functions.

(f) Each resident shall have ready access to
drinking water and bathroom facilities upon re-
quest. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
65-508; effective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1213. Library; recreation; work.
(a) Library.

(1) Each licensee shall have written policies and
procedures that govern the PRTF’s library pro-
gram, including acquisition of materials, hours of

availability, and staffing.
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(2) Library services shall be available to all
residents.

(A) Reading and other library materials may be
provided for use during non-library hours.

(B) The reading and library materials shall be
age-appropriate and suitable for various levels of
reading competency and shall reflect a variety of
interests.

(b) Recreation.

(1) Each licensee shall ensure that indoor and
outdoor recreational areas and equipment are
provided where security and visual supervision
can be maintained at all times. Unless restricted
for health reasons or for inclement weather, all
residents shall be allowed to engage in supervised
indoor and outdoor recreation on a daily basis.

(2) Each licensee shall ensure that art and craft
supplies, books, current magazines, games, and
other indoor recreational materials are provided
for leisure activities.

(¢) Work.

(1) Work assignments shall not be used as a
substitute for recreation.

(2) Residents shall be prohibited from perform-
ing any of the following duties:

(A) Personal services for the staff members;

(B) cleaning or maintaining areas away from the
PRTF;

(C) replacing employed staff members; or

(D) any work experience classified as hazardous
by the Kansas department of labor regulations
governing child labor.

(d) Auxiliary staff members may supervise li-
brary, recreation, or work activities. Direct care
staff shall be within visual and auditory distance
to provide immediate support, if necessary. (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; ef-
fective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1214. Emergency plan; drills; fa-
cility security and control of residents; stor-
age and use of hazardous substances and un-
safe items. (a) Emergency plan. Each licensee
shall develop an emergency plan to provide for the
safety of all residents in emergencies, including
fires, tornadoes, storms, floods, and serious inju-
ries. The licensee shall review the plan at least
annually and update it as needed.

(1) The emergency plan shall contain provisions
for the care of residents in emergencies.

(2) Each licensee that permits the use of seclu-
sion shall have a policy and procedure to evacuate
each resident in seclusion if an emergency occurs.
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(3) All of the staff members in the PRTF shall
be informed of the emergency plan, which shall
be posted in a prominent location.

(b) Fire and tornado drills. The PRTF staff shall
conduct at least one fire drill and one tornado drill
during each shift during each quarter. Drills shall
be planned to allow participation by the residents
in at least one fire drill and at least one tornado
drill during each quarter.

(c) Facility security and control of residents.
Each licensee shall develop and implement writ-
ten policies and procedures that include the use
of a combination of supervision, inspection, and
accountability to promote safe and orderly oper-
ations. The policies and procedures shall prohibit
the use of mace, pepper spray, and other chemical
agents.

(1) All written policies and procedures for fa-
cility security and the control of residents shall be
available to all staff members. Each licensee shall
review the policies and procedures at least an-
nually, update them as needed, and ensure that
all of the requirements are met. These policies
and procedures shall include all of the following
requirements:

(A) Written operational shift assignments shall
state the duties and responsibilities for each as-
signed position in the PRTF.

(B) Supervisory staff shall maintain a perma-
nent log and prepare shift reports that record rou-
tine and emergency situations.

(C) All security devices, including locking
mechanisms on doors and any delayed-exit mech-
anisms on doors, shall have current written ap-
proval from the state fire marshal and shall be
regularly inspected and maintained, with any cor-
rective action completed as necessary and
recorded.

(D) No resident shall have access to any am-
munition or weapons, including firearms and air-
powered guns. If a licensee prohibits carrying a
concealed weapon on the premises of the PRTF,
the licensee shall post notice pursuant to K.S.A.
75-7c11, and amendments thereto.

(E) Procedures shall be developed and imple-
mented for the control and use of keys, tools,
medical supplies, and culinary equipment.

(F) No resident or group of residents shall ex-
ercise control or authority over another resident,
have access to the records of another resident, or
have access to or the use of keys that control
security.

(G) Procedures shall be developed and imple-
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mented for knowing the whereabouts of all resi-
dents at all times and for handling runaways and
unauthorized absences.

(H) Safety and security precautions pertaining
to the PRTF and any staff vehicles used to trans-
port residents shall be developed and imple-
mented.

(2) Each licensee shall ensure the development
of policies and procedures that govern documen-
tation of all incidents, including riots, the taking
of hostages, and the use of restraint.

(A) The policies and procedures shall require
submission of a written report of all incidents to
the program director no later than the conclusion
of that shift. A copy of the report shall be kept in
the record of each resident involved in the
incident.

(B) Reports of incidents shall be made to doc-
ument compliance with K.A.R. 28-4-1209.

(3) A written plan shall provide for continuing
operations if a work stoppage occurs. A copy of
this plan shall be available to each staff member.

(d) Storage and use of hazardous substances
and unsafe items.

(1) No resident shall have unsupervised access
to poisons, hazardous substances, or flammable
materials. These items shall be kept in locked stor-
age when not in use.

(2) Each licensee shall develop and implement
policies and procedures for the safe and sanitary
storage and distribution of personal care and hy-
giene items. The following items shall be stored
in an area that is either locked or under the con-
trol of staff:

(A) Aerosols;

(B) alcohol-based products;
(C) any products in glass containers; and
(D) razors, blades, and any other sharp items.

(3) Each licensee shall develop and implement
policies and procedures for the safe storage and
disposal of prescription and nonprescription med-
ications. All prescription and nonprescription
medications shall be stored in a locked cabinet
located in a designated staff-accessible and super-
vised area. All refrigerated medications shall be
stored under all food items in a locked refrigera-
tor, in a refrigerator in a locked room, or in a
locked medicine box in a refrigerator. Medications
taken internally shall be kept separate from other
medications. All unused medications shall be ac-
counted for and disposed of in a safe manner, in-
cluding being returned to the pharmacy, trans-
ferred with the resident, or safely discarded.
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(4) Each PRTF shall have first-aid supplies,
which shall be stored in a locked cabinet located
in a staff-accessible and supervised area. First-aid
supplies shall include the following:

(A) Assorted adhesive strip bandages;
adhesive tape;

a roll of gauze;

SCiSSOrs;

a package of gauze squares;
liquid soap;

an elastic bandage;
tweezers;

) rubbing alcohol; and

(]) disposable nonporous gloves in assorted
sizes. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
65-508; effective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1215. Environmental
(a) General building requirements.

(1) Each licensee shall ensure that public water
and sewage systems, where available, are used. If
public water and sewage systems are not available,
each licensee shall maintain approval by the ap-
propriate health authorities for any private water
and sewage systems that are used.

(2) A licensed architect shall be responsible for
the plans for any newly constructed building or
for any major addition or major alteration to an
existing building.

(A) For a new building, preliminary plans and
outline specifications, including plot plans, shall
be submitted to the department for review before
commencing the final working drawings and spec-
ifications. Each licensee shall submit the final
working drawings, construction specifications, and
plot plans to the department for review and writ-
ten approval before the letting of contracts.

(B) For an addition or alteration to an existing
building, each licensee shall submit a written
statement defining the proposed use of the con-
struction and detailing the plans and specifications
to the department for review and written approval
before commencing construction.

(3) If construction is not commenced within
one year of submitting a proposal for a new build-
ing or an addition or alteration to an existing build-
ing, each licensee shall resubmit the plans and
proposal to the department before proposed con-
struction begins.

(b) Location and grounds requirements.

(1) Community resources, including health
services, police protection, and fire protection

(B)
(©)
(D)
(E)
(F)
(G)
(H)
(I

standards.
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from an organized fire department, shall be
available.

(2) There shall be at least 100 square feet of
outside activity space available for each resident
allowed to utilize each outdoor area at any one
time.

(3) The outside activity area shall be free of
physical hazards.

(4) Sufficient space for visitor and staff parking
at each PRTF shall be provided.

(c) Structural requirements and use of space.
Each licensee shall ensure that the PRTF design,
structure, interior and exterior environment, and
furnishings promote a safe, comfortable, and ther-
apeutic environment for the residents.

(1) Each PRTF shall be accessible to and usable
by persons with disabilities.

(2) Each PRTF’s structural design shall facili-
tate personal contact and interaction between
staff members and residents.

(3) Each sleeping room shall meet the following
requirements:

(A) No resident’s room shall be in a basement.

(B) The minimum square footage of floor space
shall be 80 square feet in each room occupied by
one resident. Each room occupied by more than
one resident shall have at least 60 square feet of
floor space for each resident. At least one dimen-
sion of the usable floor space unencumbered by
furnishings or fixtures shall be at least seven feet.

(C) The minimum ceiling height shall be seven
feet eight inches over at least 90 percent of the
room area.

(D) An even temperature of between 68 de-
grees Fahrenheit and 78 degrees Fahrenheit shall
be maintained, with an air exchange of at least
four times each hour.

(E) Sleeping rooms occupied by residents shall
have a window source of natural light. Access to a
drinking water source and toilet facilities shall be
available 24 hours a day.

(F) Separate beds with level, flat mattresses in
good condition shall be provided for each resi-
dent. All beds shall be above the floor level.

(G) Clean bedding, adequate for the season,
shall be provided for each resident. Bed linen shall
be changed at least once a week or more fre-
quently when soiled.

(4) Each sleeping room, day room, and class-
room utilized by residents shall have lighting of at
least 20 foot-candles in all parts of the room.
There shall be lighting of at least 35 foot-candles
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in areas used for reading, study, or other close
work.

(5) Adequate space for study and recreation
shall be provided.

(6) Each living unit shall contain the following:

(A) Furnishings that provide sufficient seating
for the maximum number of residents expected
to use the area at any one time;

(B) writing surfaces that provide sufficient
space for the maximum number of residents ex-
pected to use the area at any one time; and

(C) furnishings that are consistent with the
needs of the residents.

(7) Each PRTF shall have adequate central
storage for household supplies, bedding, linen,
and recreational equipment.

(8) If the PRTF is on the same premises as that
of another licensed facility, the living unit of the
PRTF shall be maintained in a separate, self-con-
tained unit. Residents of the PRTF shall not use
space shared with another licensed facility at the
same time unless the plan for the use of space is
approved, in writing, by the secretary and by SRS.

(9) If a PRTF has one or more day rooms, each
day room shall provide space for a variety of res-
ident activities. Day rooms shall be situated im-
mediately adjacent to the residents’ sleeping
rooms, but separated from the sleeping rooms by
a floor-to-ceiling wall. Each day room shall pro-
vide at least 35 square feet for each resident, ex-
clusive of lavatories, showers, and toilets, for the
maximum number of residents expected to use
the day room area at any one time.

(10) Each room used for sports and other phys-
ical activities shall provide floor space equivalent
to at least 100 square feet for each resident util-
izing the room for those purposes at any one time.

(11) Sufficient space shall be provided for visi-
tation between residents and nonresidents. The
PRTF shall have space for the screening and
search of both residents and visitors, if screening
and search are included in the PRTF’s policies
and procedures. Private space shall be available
for searches as needed. Storage space shall be pro-
vided for the secure storage of visitors™ coats,
handbags, and other personal items not allowed
into the visitation area.

(12) A working telephone shall be accessible to
staff members in all areas of the building. Emer-
gency numbers, including those for the fire de-
partment, the police, a hospital, a physician, the
poison control center, and an ambulance, shall be
posted by each phone.
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(13) A service sink and a locked storage area for
cleaning supplies shall be provided in a room or
closet that is well ventilated and separate from
kitchen and living areas.

(d) Bathroom facilities.

(1) For each eight or fewer residents of each
sex, at least one toilet, one lavatory, and either a
bathtub or a shower shall be provided. All toilets
shall be above floor level.

(2) Each bathroom shall be ventilated to the
outdoors by means of either a window or a me-
chanical ventilating system, with a minimum of 10
air changes each hour.

(3) Toilet and bathing accommodations and
drinking water shall be in a location accessible to
sleeping rooms and living and recreation rooms.

(4) Drinking water and at least one bathroom
shall be accessible to the reception and admission
areas.

(5) Cold water and hot water not exceeding 120
degrees Fahrenheit shall be supplied to lavatories,
bathtubs, and showers.

(6) Liquid soap, toilet paper, and paper towels
shall be available in all bathroom facilities.

(e) Building maintenance standards.

(1) Each building shall be clean at all times and
free from vermin infestation.

(2) The walls shall be smooth, easily cleanable,
and sound. Lead-free paint shall be used on all
painted surfaces.

(3) The floors and walking surfaces shall be kept
free of hazardous substances at all times.

(4) The floors shall not be slippery or cracked.

(5) Each rug or carpet used as a floor covering
shall be slip-resistant and free from tripping haz-
ards. A floor covering, paint, or sealant shall be
required over concrete floors for all buildings
used by the residents.

(6) All bare floors shall be swept and mopped
daily.

(7) A schedule for cleaning each building shall
be established and maintained.

(8) Washing aids, including brushes, dish mops,
and other hand aids used in dishwashing activities,
shall be clean and used for no other purpose.

(9) Mops and other cleaning tools shall be
cleaned and dried after each use and shall be hung
on racks in a well-ventilated place.

(10) Pesticides and any other poisons shall be
used in accordance with the product instructions.
These substances and all other poisons shall be
stored in a locked area.

(11) Toilets, lavatories, sinks, and other such ac-
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commodations in the living areas shall be cleaned
each day. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 65-508; effective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1216. Food services. Each licensee
shall ensure that food preparation, service, safety,
and nutrition meet the requirements of this reg-
ulation. For purposes of this regulation, “food”
shall include beverages.

(a) Sanitary practices. Each individual engaged
in food preparation and food service shall use san-
itary methods of food handling, food service, and
storage.

(1) Only authorized individuals shall be in the
food preparation area.

(2) Each individual who has any symptoms of
an illness, including fever, vomiting, or diarrhea,
shall be excluded from the food preparation area
and shall remain excluded from the food prepa-
ration area until the time at which the individual
has been asymptomatic for at least 24 hours or
provides the PRTF with written documentation
from a health care provider stating that the symp-
toms are from a noninfectious condition.

(3) Each individual who has contracted an in-
fectious or contagious disease specified in K.A.R.
28-1-6 shall be excluded from the food prepara-
tion area and shall remain excluded from the food
preparation area for the time period required for
that disease.

(4) Each individual with an open cut or abrasion
on the hand or forearm or with a skin sore shall
cover the sore, cut, or abrasion with a bandage
before handling or serving food.

(5) The hair of each individual shall be re-
strained when the individual is handling food.

(6) Each individual handling or serving food
shall comply with each of the following require-
ments for handwashing:

(A) Each individual shall wash that individual’s
hands and exposed portions of the individual’s
arms before working with food, after using the
toilet, and as often as necessary to keep the indi-
vidual’s hands clean and to minimize the risk of
contamination.

(B) Each individual shall use an individual
towel, disposable paper towels, or an air dryer to
dry that individual’s hands.

(7) Each individual preparing or handling food
shall minimize bare hand and bare arm contact
with exposed food that is not in a ready-to-eat
form.

(8) Except when washing fruits and vegetables,
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no individual handling or serving food may contact
exposed, ready-to-eat food with the individual’s
bare hands.

(9) Each individual shall use single-use gloves,
food-grade tissue paper, dispensing equipment, or
utensils, including spatulas or tongs, when han-
dling or serving exposed ready-to-eat food.

(b) Nutrition.

(1) Meals and snacks shall meet the nutritional
needs of the residents in accordance with the
United States department of agriculture’s rec-
ommended daily allowances. A sufficient quantity
of food shall be prepared for each meal to allow
each resident second portions of bread and milk
and either vegetables or fruit.

(2) Special diets shall be provided for residents
for either of the following reasons:

(A) Medical indication; or

(B) accommodation of religious practice, as in-
dicated by a religious consultant.

(3) Each meal shall be planned and the menu
shall be posted at least one week in advance. A
copy of the menu of each meal served for the pre-
ceding month shall be kept on file and available
for inspection.

(c) Food service and preparation areas. If food
is prepared on the premises, each licensee shall
provide a food preparation area that is separate
from the eating area, activity area, laundry area,
and bathrooms and that is not used as a passage-
way during the hours of food preparation and
cleanup.

(1) All surfaces used for food preparation and
tables used for eating shall be made of smooth,
nonporous material.

(2) Before and after each use, all food prepa-
ration surfaces shall be cleaned with soapy water
and sanitized by use of a solution of one ounce of
bleach to one gallon of water or a sanitizing so-
lution used in accordance with the manufacturer’s
instructions.

(3) Before and after each use, the tables used
for eating shall be cleaned by washing with soapy
water.

(4) All floors shall be swept daily and mopped
when spills occur.

(5) Garbage shall be disposed of in a garbage
disposal or in a covered container. If a container
is used, the container shall be removed at the end
of each day or more often as needed to prevent
overflow or to control odor.

(6) Each food preparation area shall have hand-
washing facilities equipped with soap and hot and
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cold running water and with individual towels, pa-
per towels, or air dryers. Each sink used for hand-
washing shall be equipped to provide water at a
temperature of at least 100 degrees Fahrenheit.
The water temperature shall not exceed 120 de-
grees Fahrenheit.

(A) If the food preparation sink is used for
handwashing, the sink shall be sanitized before
using it for food preparation by use of a solution
of ¥4 cup of bleach to one gallon of water.

(B) Each PRTF with 25 or more residents shall
be equipped with handwashing facilities that are
separate from the food preparation sink.

(7) Clean linen used for food preparation or
service shall be stored separately from soiled
linen.

(d) Food storage and refrigeration. All food
shall be stored and served in a way that protects
the food from cross-contamination.

(1) Nonrefrigerated food.

(A) All food not requiring refrigeration shall be
stored at least six inches above the floor in a clean,
dry, well-ventilated storeroom or cabinet in an
area with no overhead drain or sewer lines and no
vermin infestation.

(B) Dry bulk food that has been opened shall
be stored in metal, glass, or food-grade plastic
containers with tightly fitting covers and shall be
labeled with the contents and the date opened.

(C) Food shall not be stored with poisonous or
toxic materials. If cleaning agents cannot be stored
in a room separate from food storage areas, the
cleaning agents shall be clearly labeled and kept
in locked cabinets not used for the storage of food.

(2) Refrigerated and frozen food.

(A) All perishables and potentially hazardous
foods requiring refrigeration shall be continuously
maintained at 41 degrees Fahrenheit or lower in
the refrigerator or 0 degrees Fahrenheit in the
freezer.

(B) Each refrigerator and each freezer shall be
equipped with a visible, accurate thermometer.

(C) Each refrigerator and each freezer shall be
kept clean inside and out.

(D) All food stored in the refrigerator shall be
covered, wrapped, or otherwise protected from
contamination. Unserved, leftover perishable
foods shall be dated, refrigerated immediately af-
ter service, and eaten within three days.

(E) Raw meat shall be stored in the refrigerator
in a manner that prevents meat fluids from drip-
ping on other foods.

(F) Ready-to-eat, commercially processed
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foods, including luncheon meats, cream cheese,
and cottage cheese, shall be eaten within five days
after opening the package.

(G) If medication requiring refrigeration is
stored with refrigerated food, the medication shall
be stored in a locked medicine box in a manner
that prevents cross-contamination.

(3) Hot foods.

(A) Hot foods that are to be refrigerated shall
be transferred to shallow containers in layers less
than three inches deep and shall not be covered
until cool.

(B) Potentially hazardous cooked foods shall be
cooled in a manner to allow the food to cool within
two hours from 135 degrees Fahrenheit to 70 de-
grees Fahrenheit or within six hours from 135 de-
grees Fahrenheit to 41 degrees Fahrenheit.

(e) Meals or snacks prepared on the premises.

(1) Each licensee shall ensure that all of the
following requirements are met:

(A) All dairy products shall be pasteurized. Dry
milk shall be used for cooking only.

(B) Meat shall be obtained from government-
inspected sources.

(C) Raw fruits and vegetables shall be washed
thoroughly before being eaten or used for
cooking.

(D) Frozen foods shall be defrosted in the re-
frigerator, under cold running water, in a micro-
wave oven using the defrost setting, or during the
cooking process. Frozen foods shall not be de-
frosted by leaving them at room temperature or
in standing water.

(E) Cold foods shall be maintained and served
at temperatures of 41 degrees Fahrenheit or less.

(F) Hot foods shall be maintained and served
at temperatures of at least 140 degrees
Fahrenheit.

(2) Each licensee shall ensure that the following
foods are not served or kept:

(A) Home-canned food;

(B) food from dented, rusted, bulging, or leak-
ing cans; and

(C) food from cans without labels.

(f) Meals or snacks catered. If the licensee
serves a meal or snack that is not prepared on the
premises, the snack or meal shall be obtained
from a food service establishment or a catering
service licensed by the secretary of the Kansas de-
partment of agriculture. If food is transported to
the premises, the licensee shall ensure that only
food that has been transported promptly in clean,
covered containers is served to the residents.
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(g) Table service and cooking utensils.

(1) Each licensee shall ensure that all of the
table service, serving utensils, and food cooking or
serving equipment is stored in a clean, dry loca-
tion at least six inches above the floor. None of
these items shall be stored under an exposed
sewer line or a dripping water line or in a
bathroom.

(2) Each licensee shall provide clean table serv-
ice to each resident, including dishes, cups or
glasses, and forks, spoons, and knives, as appro-
priate for the food being served.

(A) Clean cups, glasses, and dishes designed for
repeat use shall be made of smooth, durable, and
nonabsorbent material and shall be free from
cracks or chips.

(B) Disposable, single-use table service shall be
of food grade and medium weight and shall be
disposed of after each use.

(3) If nondisposable table service and cooking
utensils are used, each licensee shall sanitize the
table service and cooking utensils using either a
manual washing method or a mechanical
dishwasher.

(A) If using a manual washing method, each
licensee shall meet all of the following require-
ments:

(i) A three-compartment sink with hot and cold
running water to each compartment and a drain-
board shall be used for washing, rinsing, sanitiz-
ing, and air-drying.

(ii) An appropriate chemical test kit, a ther-
mometer, or another device shall be used for test-
ing the sanitizing solution and the water
temperature.

(B) If using a mechanical dishwasher, each li-
censee shall ensure that all of the following
requirements are met:

(i) Each commercial dishwashing machine and
each domestic-type dishwashing machine shall be
installed and operated in accordance with the
manufacturer’s instructions and shall be main-
tained in good repair.

(ii) If an automatic detergent dispenser, rinsing
agents dispenser, or liquid sanitizer dispenser is
used, the dispenser shall be installed and main-
tained according to the manufacturer’s
instructions.

(iii) Each dishwashing machine using hot water
to sanitize shall be installed and operated accord-
ing to the manufacturer’s specifications and shall
achieve surface temperature of at least 160 de-
grees Fahrenheit for all items.
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(iv) If a domestic-type dishwasher is used, the
dishwasher shall have the capacity to complete the
cleaning cycle for all items in two cycles between
each meal. (Authorized by and implementing
K.S.A. 65-508; effective Oct. 9, 2009.)

28-4-1217. Laundry. (a) If laundry is
done at the PRTF, the laundry sinks, appliances,
and countertops or tables used for laundry shall
be located in an area separate from food prepa-
ration areas and shall be installed and used in a
manner that safeguards the health and safety of
the residents. Adequate space shall be allocated
for the laundry room and the storage of laundry
supplies, including locked storage for all chemical
agents used in the laundry area.

(b) Adequate space shall be allocated for the
storage of clean and dirty linen and clothing.
Soiled linen shall be stored separately from clean
linen.

(c) Blankets shall be laundered at least once
each month or, if soiled, more frequently. Blan-
kets shall be laundered or sanitized before reissue.

(d) Each mattress shall be water-repellent and
washed down and sprayed with disinfectant be-
fore reissue. Mattress materials and treatments
shall meet the applicable requirements of the
state fire marshal’s regulations. (Authorized by
and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; effective Oct. 9,
2009.)

28-4-1218. Transportation. Each [i-
censee shall establish and implement written pol-
icies and procedures for transporting residents.

(a) The transportation policies and procedures
shall include all of the following information:

(1) A list of the individuals authorized to trans-
port residents for the PRTF;

(2) a description of precautions to prevent the
escape of any resident during transfer;

(3) documentation of a current and appropriate
license for each PRTF driver for the type of ve-
hicle in use; and

(4) procedures to be followed in case of acci-
dent, injury, or other incident as specified in
K.A.R. 28-4-1214, including notification proce-
dures.

(b) Each transporting vehicle owned or leased
by the licensee shall have a yearly safety check. A
record of the yearly safety check and all repairs or
improvements made shall be kept on file at the
PRTF. When residents are transported in a pri-
vately owned vehicle, the vehicle shall be in safe
working condition.
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(c) Each vehicle used by the PRTF to transport
residents shall be covered by accident and liability
insurance as required by the state of Kansas.

(d) A first-aid kit shall be kept in the transport-
ing vehicle and shall include disposable nonpo-
rous gloves in various sizes, a cleansing agent, scis-
sors, bandages of assorted sizes, adhesive tape, a
roll of gauze, one package of gauze squares at least
four inches by four inches in size, and one elastic
bandage.

(e) Each vehicle used to transport residents
shall be equipped with an individual seat belt for
the driver and an individual seat belt or child
safety seat for each passenger. The driver and
each passenger shall be secured by a seat belt or
a child safety seat when the vehicle is in motion.

(f) Seat belts and child safety seats shall be used
appropriate to the age, weight, and height of each
individual and the placement of each individual in
the vehicle, in accordance with state statutes and
regulations. Each child safety seat shall be in-
stalled and used according to manufacturer’s
instructions.

(g) Residents who are less than 13 years of age
shall not be seated in the front seat of a vehicle
that is equipped with a passenger air bag.

(h) Smoking in any vehicle owned or leased by
the licensee shall be prohibited whether or not a
resident is present in the vehicle.

(i) Residents shall be transported directly to the
location designated by the licensee and shall make
no unauthorized stops along the way, except in an
emergency.

(j) Handcuffs or shackles shall not be used on
any resident being transported by staff members.

(k) No 15-passenger vans shall be used to trans-
port residents. Each licensee owning or leasing a
15-passenger van purchased or leased before the
effective date of this regulation shall be exempt
from the requirements of this subsection. (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 65-508; ef-
fective Oct. 9, 2009.)

Article 17.—DIVISION OF VITAL
STATISTICS

28-17-6. Fees for copies, abstracts, and
searches. (a)(1) Subject to the requirements of
K.S.A. 65-2417 and K.S.A. 65-2418 (a)(2) and
amendments thereto, certified copies or abstracts
of certificates or parts of certificates shall be fur-
nished by the state registrar upon request by an
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authorized applicant and payment of the required
fee.

(2)(A) The fees for making and certifying copies
or abstracts of birth, stillbirth, marriage, and di-
vorce certificates shall be $15.00 for the first copy
or abstract and $15.00 for each additional copy or
abstract of the same record requested at the same
time.

(B) The fees for making and certifying copies
or abstracts of death certificates shall be $15.00
for the first copy or abstract and $15.00 for each
additional copy or abstract of the same record re-
quested at the same time.

(b) For any search or verification of the files
and records for birth, death, stillbirth, marriage,
or divorce certificates if no certified copy or ab-
stract is made, the fee shall be $15.00 for each
five-year period for which a search is requested,
or for each fractional part of a five-year period.

(c) For any search of the files necessary for pre-
paring an amendment to a birth, stillbirth, death,
marriage, or divorce certificate or abstract already
on file, the fee shall be $15.00.

(d) For non-certified copies or abstracts of cer-
tificates or parts of certificates requested for sta-
tistical research purposes, the following fees shall
be charged:

(1)(A) $10.00 for each copy of a birth, marriage,
divorce, or stillbirth certificate, if the state certif-
icate number is provided; and

(B) $15.00 for each copy of a birth, marriage,
divorce, or stillbirth certificate, if the state certif-
icate number is not provided; and

(2)(A) $10.00 for each copy of a death certifi-
cate, if the state certificate number is provided;
and

(B) $15.00 for each copy of a death certificate,
if the state certificate number is not provided.

(e) For each certified copy of an heirloom cer-
tificate, the fee shall not exceed $40.00. (Author-
ized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 65-2418; implementing
K.S.A. 23-110 and 65-2417 and K.S.A 2008 Supp.
65-2418 and 65-2422d; effective Jan. 1, 1966;
amended Jan. 1, 1968; amended, E-78-18, July 7,
1977; amended May 1, 1978; amended May 1,
1983; amended, T-84-13, July 1, 1983; amended
May 1, 1984; amended May 1, 1988; amended
Oct. 7, 1991; amended, T-28-9-25-92, Sept. 25,
1992; amended Nov. 16, 1992; amended Aug. 16,
1993; amended, T-28-7-2-01, July 2, 2001;
amended Oct. 12, 2001; amended, T-28-6-27-02,
July 1, 2002; amended Oct. 18, 2002; amended,
T-28-7-1-03, July 1, 2003; amended Oct. 17, 2003;
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amended, T-28-11-5-04, Nov. 5, 2004; amended
Feb. 25, 2005; amended Jan. 15, 2010.)

28-17-12. Delayed certificate of birth;
filing fee. Each application for a delayed certifi-
cate of birth shall be accompanied by a fee of
$20.00 for the filing and registration of the birth
certificate. A certified copy may be issued in ac-
cordance with K.A.R. 28-17-6. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 65-2420; effective Jan. 1,
1966; amended Jan. 1, 1968; amended May 1,
1983; amended Oct. 22, 1990; amended Oct. 7,
1991; amended, T-28-9-25-92, Sept. 25, 1992;
amended Nov. 16, 1992; amended Jan. 15, 2010.)

Article 19.—AMBIENT AIR QUALITY
STANDARDS AND AIR POLLUTION
CONTROL

28-19-350. Prevention of significant de-
terioration (PSD) of air quality. (a) PSD
requirements. The requirements of this regula-
tion shall apply to the construction of major sta-
tionary sources and major modifications of sta-
tionary sources as defined in 40 C.F.R. 52.21 in
areas of the state designated as attainment areas
or unclassified areas for any pollutant under the
procedures prescribed by section 107(d) of the
federal clean air act, 42 U.S.C. 7407(d).

(b) Adoption by reference; exceptions.

(1) 40 C.F.R. 52.21, as revised on July 1, 2007,
is adopted by reference, except as specified in par-
agraphs (b)(2) and (3).

(2) The following subsections of the federal reg-
ulation adopted in paragraph (b)(1) are excluded
from adoption:

(A) Plan disapproval, 52.21(a)(1);

B) stack heights, 52.21(h);

C) air quality analysis, 52.21(m)(1)(v);

D) visibility monitoring, 52.21(0)(3);

E) public participation, 52.21(q);

F) environmental impact statements, 52.21(s);
G) disputed permits or

52.21(t);

(H) delegation of authority, 52.21(u); and

(I) permit rescission, 52.21(w).

(3) The following subsections of the federal reg-
ulation adopted in paragraph (b)(1), which are
subject to a federal court order of stay or remand
or have been vacated, are excluded from adoption:

(A) Routine maintenance, repair, and
replacement:

(i) The second sentence of 52.21(b)(2)(iii)(a);

(ii) 52.21(b)(55-58); and

(
(
(
(
(
(

redesignations,
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(iii) 52.21(cc); and

(B) recordkeeping requirements for projected
actual emissions: the clause “in circumstances
where there is a reasonable possibility that a pro-
ject that is not a part of a major modification may
result in a significant emissions increase” in
52.21(r)(6).

(c) Provisions adopted by reference; term us-
age. When used in any provision adopted from 40
C.F.R. 52.21, each reference to “administrator”
shall mean the “secretary of health and environ-
ment or an authorized representative of the sec-
retary,” except for the following:

(1) In subsections 52.21(b)(3)(iii)(a) and 52.21
(b)(48)(ii), “administrator” shall mean both the
“secretary of health and environment” and the
“administrator of USEPA.”

(2) In subsections 52.21(b)(17), 52.21(b)(37)(i),
52.21(b)(43), 52.21(b)(48)(ii)(c), 52.21(b)(50)(),
52.21(b)(51), 52.21(g), 52.21(i)(6-8), 52.21(1)(2),
and  52.21(m)(1)(vii-viii), “administrator” shall
mean only the “administrator of USEPA.”

(d) Internal references. The following federal
regulations and appendices as revised on July 1,
2007, which are referred to in the federal regu-
lation adopted in paragraph (b)(1), are hereby
adopted by reference:

(1) 40 C.F.R. part 51, subpart I; and

(2) 40 C.F.R. part 51, appendices S and W.

(e) Definitions. For the purposes of this regu-
lation, the following definitions shall apply:

(1) “Act” shall mean the federal clean air act,
42 U.S.C. 7401 et seq.

(2) “Class I, IT or III area” shall mean a classi-
fication assigned to any area of the state under the
provisions of sections 162 and 164 of the act, 42
U.S.C. 7472 and 7474, and amendments thereto.

(3) “State” shall mean the state of Kansas, un-
less the context clearly indicates otherwise.

(f) Ambient air ceiling protection. In relation to
ambient air ceilings, the following requirements
shall apply:

(1) Except as stated in paragraph (£)(2) of this
regulation, a permit shall not be issued for any
new major stationary source or major modification
as defined in 40 C.F.R. 52.21(b) if the source or
modification will be located in an attainment area
or an unclassifiable area for any national ambient
air quality standard and if the source or modifi-
cation would cause or contribute to a violation of
any national ambient air quality standard. A major
source or major modification shall be considered
to cause or contribute to a violation of a national
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ambient air quality standard if the air quality im-
pact of the source or modification would exceed
the following levels at any locality that does not or
would not meet the applicable national standard:

Averaging Time

Pollutant  Annual 24 hrs. 8 hrs. 3 hrs. 1 hr.
Sulphur

dioxide 1.0 pg/m®  pg/m? e 25 pg/m?  --------
PM,, 1.0 pg/m® 5 ug/m?  ceeeee s e
Nitrogen

dioxide 10 pg/m®  ceeeeeee s s e
Carbon

monoxide  -------- —eeeeee 0.5 mg/m®  ----eeev 2 mg/m?®

(2) A permit may be granted for a major sta-
tionary source or major modification as identified
in paragraph (f)(1) of this regulation if the impact
of the major stationary source’s or major modifi-
cation’s emissions upon air quality is reduced by
a sufficient amount to compensate for any adverse
impact at the location where the major source or
modification would otherwise cause or contribute
to a violation of any national ambient air quality
standard. Subsection (f) shall not apply to a major
stationary source or major modification with re-
spect to a particular pollutant if the owner or op-
erator demonstrates that the source is located in
an area that has been identified as not meeting
either the national primary or secondary ambient
air quality standard for that particular pollutant.

(g) Stack height requirements. K.A.R. 28-19-18
through K.A.R. 28-19-18f, regarding stack height
requirements, shall apply to the sources subject to
this regulation.

(h) Application required. Each application for
a PSD permit shall be submitted by the owner or
operator on the forms provided or approved by
the department. K.A.R. 28-19-300 through K.A.R.
28-19-304, regarding construction permit and ap-
proval requirements, shall apply to the sources
subject to this regulation.

(i) Impact on federal class I areas; notification
required. If the emissions from any proposed ma-
jor stationary source or major modification subject
to this regulation will affect any air quality-related
values in any federal class I area, a copy of the
permit application for the source or modification
shall be transmitted by the secretary or an au-
thorized representative of the secretary to the ad-
ministrator of USEPA through the appropriate re-
gional office. The administrator, through the
appropriate regional office, shall also be notified
of every action taken concerning the application.

(j) Permit suspension or revocation. Any permit
issued under this regulation may be suspended or

92

revoked by the secretary upon a finding that the
owner or operator has failed to comply with any
requirement specified in the permit or with any
other statutory or regulatory requirement. This
subsection shall not be interpreted to preclude
any other remedy provided by law to the
secretary.

(k) Public participation requirements. In addi-
tion to the requirements of K.A.R. 28-19-204, the
following public participation requirements shall
be met before issuance of the permit:

(1) The public notice shall include the
following:

(A) A statement specifying the portion of the
applicable maximum allowable increment that is
expected to be consumed by the source or mod-
ification; and

(B) a statement that the federal land manager
of any adversely impacted federal class I area has
the opportunity to provide the secretary with a
demonstration that the emissions from the pro-
posed source or modification will have an adverse
impact on air quality-related values in the federal
class I area.

(2) A copy of the public notice shall be mailed
to the following:

(A) The applicant;

(B) the administrator of USEPA through the
appropriate regional office;

(C) any state or local air pollution control
agency having jurisdiction in the air quality control
region in which the new or modified installation
will be located;

(D) the chief executives of the city and county
where the source will be located;

(E) any comprehensive regional land use plan-
ning agency having jurisdiction where the source
will be located; and

(F) any state, federal land manager, or Indian
governing body whose lands will be affected by
emissions from the new construction or
modification.

(3) In addition to those materials required to be
available for public review at the appropriate dis-
trict office or local agency, a summary analysis and
discussion of those materials as they relate to es-
tablishing compliance with the requirements of
this regulation shall be made available for public
review.

(4) Copies of all comments received and the
written determination of the secretary shall be
made available for public inspection at the appro-
priate district office or local agency. (Authorized
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by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 65-3005, as amended by L.
2009, ch. 141, sec. 23; implementing K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 65-3005, as amended by L. 2009, ch. 141,
sec. 23 and K.S.A. 65-3008; effective Nov. 22,
2002; amended June 30, 2006; amended Oct. 23,
2009.)

Article 29.—SOLID WASTE
MANAGEMENT

28-29-501. Uncontaminated soil. For
the purposes of K.S.A. 65-3402 and amendments
thereto, “uncontaminated soil” shall mean soil
that meets all the following conditions:

(a) The soil meets the definition of “construc-
tion and demolition waste” in K.S.A. 65-3402, and
amendments thereto.

(b) The soil has not been generated at a facility
that is under state or federal oversight for the in-
vestigation or cleanup of contamination, unless
the state or federal project manager who is pro-
viding the oversight approves the use of the soil
as clean rubble, as defined in K.S.A. 65-3402 and
amendments thereto.

(c) The soil exhibits no characteristic that would
be expected to create either of the following if the
soil is managed as clean rubble:

(1) An odor or other nuisance that would be
offensive to a reasonable person; or

(2) an obvious risk to human health or safety or
the environment, due to any physical or chemical
property of the soil.

(d) The soil is determined to be suitable for use
as clean rubble by one of the following methods:

(1) The generator of the soil determines that
there is no indication of contamination in the soil.
Indication of contamination shall be based on in-
formation readily available to the generator of the
soil, including the following:

(A) The visual appearance of the soil;

(B) the odor of the soil; and

(C) all known past activities at the site from
which the soil is being removed.

(2) The generator of the soil obtains analytical
data from representative soil samples according to
the requirements in subsection (e) and all of the
following criteria are met:

(A) The soil is not a hazardous waste.

(B) Total nitrate plus ammonia is less than 40
mg/kg.

(C) The level of total petroleum hydrocarbons
is less than N=1, as described in section 5.0 of
“risk-based standards for Kansas” (“RSK man-
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ual”), published in June 2007 by the department
and hereby adopted by reference, including all ap-
pendices. The GRO tier 2 value shall be 39 mg/
kg and the DRO tier 2 value shall be 2000 mg/kg.

(D) If the analyte is a chemical other than ni-
trate, ammonia, or a petroleum hydrocarbon, all
of the following criteria are met:

(i) There is no more than one anthropogenic
analyte present in the soil. For the purposes of
this regulation, the term “anthropogenic analyte”
shall mean a chemical or substance present in the
environment due to human activity.

(ii) The anthropogenic analyte is listed in the
KDHE tier 2 risk-based summary table in appen-
dix A of the RSK manual.

(iii) The concentration of the anthropogenic an-
alyte is less than the level listed in the KDHE tier
2 risk-based summary table for residential scenar-
ios for the soil pathway or for the soil to ground
water protection pathway, whichever is lower.

(3) The secretary determines that if the soil is
used as clean rubble, the soil will not present a
risk to human health or safety or the environment,
based on information provided by the generator
of the soil. The generator of the soil shall submit
the following information to the department:

(A) Analytical reports from representative soil
samples; and

(B) the following information, if requested by
the department:

(i) Analytical reports indicating naturally occur-
ring background concentrations at the site from
which the soil is being removed;

(ii) the cumulative cancer risk level of all anal-

es;

(iii) the hazard index value, as defined in K.A.R.
28-71-1, of all analytes; and

(iv) any other information required by the de-
partment to evaluate the potential risk to human
health or safety or the environment.

(e) If analytical data is used to meet the con-
ditions of this regulation, the following require-
ments are met:

(1) At least one representative sample shall be
collected and analyzed for each 500 cubic yards
of soil.

(2) Each analysis shall be performed and re-
ported by a laboratory that has departmental cer-
tification, if this certification is available, for that
analysis.

(3) Each analytical report shall include the fol-
lowing information:

(A) The results of each analysis;
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(B) quality control data;

(C) a copy of the chain of custody for each sam-
ple; and

(D) a statement signed by the generator that
the analytical results are representative of the soil.

(4) The generator shall maintain each analytical
report on file for at least three years after the re-
port is received and shall make the report availa-
ble to the department upon request. (Authorized
by K.S.A. 65-3406; implementing K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 65-3402; effective Jan. 15, 2010.)

Article 39.—LICENSURE OF ADULT
CARE HOMES

28-39-145a. (Authorized by K.S.A. 39-
930, 39-932, and 39-933; implementing K.S.A. 39-
927, 39-930, 39-932, and 39-933; effective Oct. 8,
1999; revoked May 22, 2009.)

28-39-146. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 39-954; effective Nov. 1, 1993;
amended Feb. 21, 1997; revoked May 22, 2009.)

28-39-147 and 28-39-148. (Authorized
by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932; effective
Nov. 1, 1993; amended Feb. 21, 1997; revoked
May 22, 2009.)

28-39-164. Definitions. (a) “Adult care
home” means any facility that meets the definition
specified in K.A.R. 28-39-144.

(b) “Clinical instruction” means training in
which the trainee demonstrates knowledge and
skills while performing tasks on an individual un-
der the direct supervision of the course instructor.
Clinical instruction may be performed in any of
the following settings:

(1) An adult care home;

(2) a long-term care unit of a hospital; or

(3) a simulated laboratory.

(c) “Department” means Kansas department of
health and environment.

(d) “Direct care” means assistance provided in
activities of daily living. These activities shall in-
clude grooming, eating, toileting, transferring,
and ambulation.

(e) “Direct supervision” means that the super-
visor is on the facility premises and is readily ac-
cessible for one-on-one consultation, instruction,
and assistance, as needed.

(f) “Eligible for employment,” when describing
a certified nurse aide, means that the certified
nurse aide meets the following criteria:

(1) Has been employed to perform nursing or
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nursing-related services for at least eight hours in
the preceding 24 months;

(2) has no record of abuse, neglect, and exploi-
tation; and

(3) is not prohibited from employment based
upon criminal convictions pursuant to K.S.A. 39-
970, and amendments thereto.

(g) “Instructor” means an individual who has
been approved by the secretary to teach nurse
aide, home health aide, or medication aide train-
ing courses.

(h) “Licensed nursing experience” means ex-
perience as a registered nurse or licensed practical
nurse.

(i) “Nurse aide trainee I” means an individual
in the process of completing part I of a 90-hour
nurse aide course as specified in K.A.R. 28-39-
165.

(j) “Nurse aide trainee II” means an individual
who has successfully completed part I of a 90-hour
nurse aide course specified in K.A.R. 28-39-165
or whose training has been endorsed as specified
in K.A.R. 28-39-167.

(k) “Secretary” means secretary of the Kansas
department of health and environment.

(1) “Simulated laboratory” means an enclosed
area that is in a school, institution, adult care
home, or other facility and that is similar to an
adult care home residential room. In a simulated
laboratory, trainees practice and demonstrate ba-
sic nurse aide skills while an instructor observes
and evaluates the trainees. (Authorized by K.S.A.
2008 Supp. 39-925(d)(2); implementing K.S.A.
2008 Supp. 39-936; effective Feb. 28, 1994;
amended Dec. 29, 2003; amended June 12, 2009.)

28-39-165. Nurse aide training pro-
gram. (a) Requirements. Unlicensed employees
who provide direct individual care to residents
shall be required to perform the following:

(1) Successfully complete at least a 90-hour
nurse aide course that has been approved by the
secretary; and

(2) pass a state test as specified in K.A.R. 28-
39-168.

(b) Certification. Each person shall be issued a
nurse aide certificate by the secretary and shall be
listed on a public registry upon completion of the
requirements specified in subsection (a).

(c) Employment as a trainee.

(1) Each nurse aide trainee I in an approved
90-hour course shall be required to successfully
complete part I of the course to demonstrate in-
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itial competency before being employed or used
as a nurse aide trainee II. A nurse aide trainee II
may provide direct care to residents only under
the direct supervision of a registered nurse or li-
censed practical nurse.

(2) Each nurse aide trainee II in an approved
90-hour course shall be issued a nurse aide cer-
tificate by the secretary, upon completion of the
requirements specified in subsection (a), within
four months from the beginning date of the initial
course in order to continue employment provid-
ing direct care. Nurse aide trainee II status for
employment shall be for one four-month period
only.

(d) 90-hour nurse aide course.

(1) Each nurse aide course shall be prepared
and administered in accordance with the guide-
lines established by the department in the “Kan-
sas certified nurse aide curriculum guidelines (90
hours),” including the appendices, dated May
2008, and the “Kansas 90-hour certified nurse
aide sponsor and instructor manual,” pages 1
through 20 and the appendices, dated May 2008,
which are hereby adopted by reference.

(2) Each nurse aide course shall consist of a
combination of didactic and clinical instruction. At
least 50 percent of part I and part II of the course
curriculum  shall be provided as clinical
instruction.

(3) Each nurse aide course shall be sponsored
by one of the following:

(A) An adult care home;

(B) a long-term care unit of a hospital; or

(C) a postsecondary school under the jurisdic-
tion of the state board of regents.

(4) Clinical instruction shall be conducted in
one or a combination of the following locations:

(A) An adult care home;

(B) a long-term care unit of a hospital; or

(C) a simulated laboratory.

(5) An adult care home shall not sponsor or pro-
vide clinical instruction for a 90-hour nurse aide
course if that adult care home has been subject to
any of the sanctions under the medicare certifi-
cation regulations listed in 42 C.F.R.
483.151(b)(2), as in effect on October 1, 2007.

(e) Correspondence courses. No correspon-
dence course shall be approved as a nurse aide
course.

(f) Other offerings. Distance-learning offerings
and computer-based educational offerings shall
meet the standards specified in subsection (d).

(Authorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 39-925(d)(2);
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implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 39-936; effective
Feb. 28, 1994; amended Dec. 29, 2003; amended
June 12, 2009.)

28-39-166. Nurse aide course instruc-
tor. (a) Approval and qualifications.

(1) Each person who intends to be a course in-
structor shall submit a completed instructor ap-
proval application form to the department at least
three weeks before offering an initial course and
shall receive approval as an instructor before the
first day of an initial course.

(2) Each course instructor shall be a registered
nurse with a minimum of two years of licensed
nursing experience, with at least 1,750 hours of
experience in either or a combination of an adult
care home or long-term care unit of a hospital.
Each course instructor shall have completed a
course in teaching adults, shall have completed a
professional continuing education offering on su-
pervision or adult education, or shall have expe-
rience in teaching adults or supervising nurse
aides.

(b) Course instructor and course sponsor
responsibilities.

(1) Each course instructor and course sponsor
shall be responsible for ensuring that the follow-
ing requirements are met:

(A) A completed course approval application
form shall be submitted to the department at least
three weeks before offering a course. Approval
shall be obtained from the secretary at the begin-
ning of each course whether the course is being
offered initially or after a previous approval. Each
change in course location, schedule, or instructor
shall require approval by the secretary.

(B) All course objectives shall be accomplished.

(C) Only persons in health professions having
the appropriate skills and knowledge shall be se-
lected to conduct any part of the training. Each
person shall have at least one year of experience
in the subject area in which that person is provid-
ing training.

(D) Each person providing a part of the training
shall do so only under the direct supervision of
the course instructor.

(E) The provision of direct care to residents by
a nurse aide trainee II during clinical instruction
shall be limited to clinical experiences that are for
the purpose of learning nursing skills under the
direct supervision of the course instructor.

(F) When providing clinical instruction, the
course instructor shall perform no other duties
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but the direct supervision of the nurse aide
trainees.

(G) Each nurse aide trainee in the 90-hour
nurse aide course shall demonstrate competency
in all skills identified on the part I task checklist
before the checklist is signed and dated by the
course instructor as evidence of successful com-
pletion of part I of the course.

(H) The course shall be prepared and admin-
istered in accordance with the guidelines in the
“Kansas certified nurse aide curriculum guide-
lines (90 hours)” and the “Kansas 90-hour certi-
fied nurse aide sponsor and instructor manual,” as
adopted in K.A.R. 28-39-165.

(2) Any course instructor or course sponsor who
does not meet the requirements of this regulation
may be subject to withdrawal of approval to serve
as a course instructor or a course sponsor. (Au-
thorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 39-925(d)(2); im-
plementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 39-936; effective
Feb. 28, 1994; amended Dec. 29, 2003; amended
June 12, 2009.)

28-39-167. Out-of-state and allied
health training endorsement for nurse aide.
(a) Each person whom the secretary has deter-
mined to have successfully completed training or
passed a test, or both, that is equivalent to the
training or test required by this state may be em-
ployed without taking this state’s test.

(b) Each person whom the secretary has deter-
mined not to be exempt from examination pur-
suant to subsection (a) but who meets any one of
the following requirements shall be deemed to
have met the requirements specified in K.A.R. 28-
39-165 if that person passes a state test as speci-
fied in K.A.R. 28-39-168:

(1) Each person who has received nurse aide
training in another state, is listed on another
state’s registry as a nurse aide, and is eligible for
employment as a nurse aide shall be deemed eli-
gible to take the state test as specified in K.A.R.
28-39-168. Each person whose training in another
state is endorsed and who has passed the state test
shall be issued a nurse aide certificate.

(2) Each person who meets any of the following
criteria shall be deemed eligible to take the state
test as specified in K.A.R. 28-39-168:

(A) Has completed training deemed equivalent
to the requirements specified in K.A.R. 28-39-
165;

(B) is currently licensed in Kansas or another
state to practice as a registered nurse, licensed
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practical nurse, or licensed mental health techni-
cian, with a license that has not been suspended
or revoked; or

(C) has a license to practice as a registered
nurse, licensed practical nurse, or licensed mental
health technician that has expired within the 24-
month period before applying for equivalency, but
has not been suspended or revoked.

(3) Each person who has received training from
an accredited nursing or mental health technician
training program within the 24-month period be-
fore applying for equivalency and whose training
included a basic skills component comprised of
personal hygiene, nutrition and feeding, safe
transfer and ambulation techniques, normal range
of motion and positioning, and a supervised clin-
ical experience in geriatrics shall be deemed eli-
gible to take the state test as specified in K.A.R.
28-39-168.

(c) Each person qualified under subsection (a)
shall receive written notification from the depart-
ment of exemption from the requirement to take
this state’s test and the fact that the person is el-
igible for employment.

(d) Each person qualified under subsection (b)
shall receive written approval from the depart-
ment or its designated agent to take the state test.
Upon receiving written approval from the depart-
ment or its designated agent to take the state test,
that person may be employed by an adult care
home as a nurse aide trainee II to provide direct
care under the direct supervision of a registered
nurse or licensed practical nurse. Each person
employed as a nurse aide trainee II shall be issued
a nurse aide certificate by the secretary, upon
completion of the requirements specified in
K.A.R. 28-39-165, within one four-month period
starting from the date of approval, in order to con-
tinue employment providing direct care. (Author-
ized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 39-925(d)(2); imple-
menting K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 39-936; effective Feb.
28, 1994; amended Dec. 29, 2003; amended June
12, 2009.)

28-39-168. State nurse aide test. (a)
Composition of state nurse aide test. The state test
shall be comprised of 100 multiple-choice ques-
tions. A score of 75 percent or higher shall con-
stitute a passing score.

(b) State nurse aide test eligibility.

(1) Only persons who have successfully com-
pleted an approved 90-hour nurse aide course or
completed education or training that has been en-



UNDERGROUND CRUDE OIL STORAGE WELLS AND BRINE PONDS

28-45h-1

dorsed or deemed equivalent as specified in
K.A.R. 28-39-167 shall be allowed to take the state
test.

(2) Each person shall have a maximum of three
attempts within 12 months from the beginning
date of the course to pass the state test after com-
pleting an approved 90-hour course as specified
in K.A.R. 28-39-165.

(3) If the person does not pass the state test
within 12 months after the starting date of taking
an approved 90-hour course, the person shall re-
take the entire course.

(4) If a person whose education or training has
been endorsed or deemed equivalent as specified
in K.A.R. 28-39-167 and the person does not pass
the state test on the first attempt, the person shall
successfully complete an approved 90-hour nurse
aide course as specified in K.A.R. 28-39-165 to
retake the state test. Each person whose training
was endorsed or deemed equivalent, who failed
the state test, and who has successfully completed
an approved nurse aide course shall be eligible to
take the test three times within a year after the
beginning date of the course.

(c) Application fee.

(1) Each nurse aide trainee shall pay a nonre-
fundable application fee of $20.00 before taking
the state test. A nonrefundable application fee
shall be required each time the test is scheduled
to be taken. Each person who is scheduled to take
the state test, but fails to take the state test, shall
submit another fee before being scheduled for an-
other opportunity to take the test.

(2) Each course instructor shall collect the ap-
plication fee for each nurse aide candidate eligible
to take the state test and shall submit the fees,
class roster, application forms, and accommoda-
tion request forms to the department or its des-
ignated agent.

(d) Each person who is eligible to take the state
test and who has submitted the application fee
and application form shall be issued written ap-
proval, which shall be proof of eligibility to sit for
the test.

(e) Test accommodation.

(1) Any reasonable test accommodation or aux-
iliary aid to address a disability may be requested
by any person who is eligible to take the state test.
Each request for reasonable accommodation or
auxiliary aid shall be submitted each time a can-
didate is scheduled to take the test.

(2) Each person requesting a test accommoda-
tion shall submit an accommodation request form
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along with an application form to the instructor.
The instructor shall forward these forms to the
department or its designated agent at least three
weeks before the desired test date. Each instruc-
tor shall verify the need for the accommodation
by signing the accommodation request form.

(3) Each person whose second language is Eng-
lish shall be allowed to use a bilingual dictionary
while taking the state test. Limited English pro-
ficiency shall not constitute a disability with regard
to accommodations. An extended testing period
of up to two additional hours may be offered to
persons with limited English proficiency.

(f) This regulation shall not apply to any person
who meets the requirement of K.A.R. 28-39-
167(a). (Authorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 39-
925(d)(2) and 39-936; implementing K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 39-936; effective Feb. 28, 1994; amended
Dec. 29, 2003; amended June 12, 2009.)

28-39-240. Authorized by and implement-
ing K.S.A. 39-932; effective Feb. 21, 1997,
amended Oct. 8, 1999; revoked May 29, 2009.)

28-39-241 through 28-39-244. (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932; ef-
fective Feb. 21, 1997; revoked May 29, 2009.)

28-39-245. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 39-932; effective Feb. 21, 1997,
amended Oct. 8, 1999; revoked May 29, 2009.)

28-39-246. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 39-932; effective Feb. 21, 1997;
revoked May 29, 2009.)

28-39-247. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 39-932; effective Feb. 21, 1997;
amended Oct. 8, 1999; revoked May 29, 2009.)

28-39-248 through 28-39-253. (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932; ef-
fective Feb. 21, 1997; revoked May 29, 2009.)

28-39-275 through 28-39-288. (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932; ef-
fective Oct. 8, 1999; revoked May 29, 2009.)

28-39-425 through 28-39-436. (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 39-932; ef-
fective Oct. 8, 1999; revoked May 29, 2009.)

Article 45b.—UNDERGROUND CRUDE
OIL STORAGE WELLS AND
ASSOCIATED BRINE PONDS

28-45bh-1. Definitions. (a) “Active well”
means an unplugged well that is in service or in
monitoring status.
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(b) “American petroleum institute gravity” and
“API gravity” mean the specific gravity scale de-
veloped by the American petroleum institute for
measuring the relative density of various petro-
leum liquids, expressed in degrees APL

(c) “Applicant” means the operator and the
owner requesting a permit as specified in this ar-
ticle. If the operator and the owner are not the
same person, the owner and the operator shall
jointly submit an application for a permit.

(d) “Brine” means saline water with a sodium
chloride concentration equal to or greater than 90
percent.

(e) “Brine pond” means the excavated or diked
structure used for the surface containment of
brine used in the creation, maintenance, and op-
eration of an underground crude oil storage well.

(f) “Crude oil” means unrefined, liquid petro-
leum.

(g) “Crude oil reserve” means the storage of
crude oil for future use.

(h) “Crude oil storage well,” “underground
crude oil storage well,” and “storage well” mean
a well used for the injection or withdrawal of
crude oil into or out of an underground crude oil
storage cavern.

(i) “Department” means Kansas department of
health and environment.

(j) “Draft permit” means a document that is
pending approval by the secretary to be issued as
a permit.

(k) “Fracture gradient” means the pressure gra-
dient, measured in pounds per square inch per
foot, that causes the geological formations to phys-
ically fracture.

(1) “Freshwater” means water containing not
more than 1,000 milligrams per liter of total dis-
solved solids (TDS).

(m) “Licensed geologist” means a geologist li-
censed to practice geology in Kansas by the Kan-
sas board of technical professions.

(n) “Licensed professional engineer” means a
professional engineer licensed to practice engi-
neering in Kansas by the Kansas board of tech-
nical professions.

(o) “Licensed professional land surveyor”
means a professional land surveyor licensed to
practice land surveying in Kansas by the Kansas
board of technical professions.

(p) “Liner” means the casing normally installed
within the production casing.

(@) “Maximum allowable operating pressure”
means the maximum pressure authorized by the
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department and measured at the product side of
the wellhead.

(r) “Maximum allowable synthetic membrane
liner leakage rate” means a monitored or a cal-
culated leakage rate of 10 percent of the collection
and leak return system capacity.

(s) “Maximum operating pressure” means the
maximum pressure monitored during a 24-hour
period and measured at the product side of the
wellhead.

(t) “Monitoring status” means temporary status
for a well that has been placed out of service by
removing the product and filling the cavern with
brine.

(u) “Municipal population center” means an in-
corporated city.

(v) “Operator” means the person recognized by
the secretary as being responsible for the physical
operation of an underground crude oil storage fa-
cility or a brine pond.

(w) “Owner” means the person owning all or
part of any underground crude oil storage facility
or brine pond.

(x) “Permit” means an authorization, license, or
equivalent control document issued to the owner
and the operator by the secretary. A permit may
be issued for any of the following:

(1) A new underground crude oil storage facility
and the associated crude oil storage wells;

(2) an existing underground crude oil storage
facility and the associated crude oil storage wells;
or

(3) a brine pond.

(y) “Permittee” means the owner and the op-
erator issued a permit, as defined in this regula-
tion, by the secretary.

(z) “Person” means any individual, company,
corporation, institution, association, partnership,
municipality, township, and local, state, or federal
agency.

(aa) “Plugged well” means a storage well that
has been plugged or placed into plugging-moni-
toring status pursuant to K.A.R. 28-45b-18.

(bb) “Plugging-monitoring status” means the
status of a storage well that will not be returned
to active status but will be filled with brine to
monitor cavern stabilization in lieu of plugging.

(cc) “Porosity storage” means the storage of hy-
drocarbon gas in underground porous and per-
meable strata that have been converted to hydro-
carbon gas storage.

(dd) “Pressure gradient” means the ratio of
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pressure per unit depth, expressed as pounds per
square inch per foot of depth.

(ee) “Product” means crude oil.

(ff) “Saturated brine” means saline water with
a sodium chloride concentration that is equal to
or greater than 90 percent.

(gg) “Secretary” means secretary of the depart-
ment of health and environment.

(hh) “Solutioning” means the process of inject-
ing fluid into a well to dissolve salt or any other
readily soluble rock or mineral.

(ii) “Sour crude oil” means crude oil with a sul-
fur content greater than 0.5 percent.

(ji) “Supervisory control and data acquisition”
means an automated surveillance system in which
the monitoring and control of storage activities are
accomplished at a central or remote location.

(kk) “Sweet crude oil” means crude oil with a
sulfur content not greater than 0.5 percent by
weight.

(1) “Type” means the description of the prod-
uct that includes American petroleum institute
gravity, non-hydrocarbon impurities, and hydro-
gen sulfide content.

(mm) “Underground crude oil storage cavern,”
“cavern,” and “storage cavern” mean the storage
space for crude oil created in a salt formation by
solution mining.

(nn) “Underground crude oil storage facility”
and “facility” mean the acreage associated with
the storage field, with facility boundaries ap-
proved by the secretary. This term shall include
the brine ponds, storage wells, wellbore tubular
goods, the wellheads, and any related equipment,
including any appurtenances associated with the
well field.

(0o) “Unplugged,”when used to describe a well,
means a storage well that either is not plugged or
is in plugging-monitoring status.

(pp) “Unsaturated brine” means saline water
with a sodium chloride concentration less than 90
percent.

(qq) “Usable water formation” means an aqui-
fer or any portion of the aquifer that meets any of
the following criteria:

(1) Supplies any public water system;

(2) contains a supply of groundwater that is suf-
ficient to supply a public water system and that
currently supplies drinking water for human con-
sumption; or

(3) contains fewer than 10,000 milligrams per
liter total dissolved solids and is not an exempted
aquifer.
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(rr) “Variance” means the secretary’s written
approval authorizing an alternative action to one
or more of the requirements of these regulations.
(Authorized by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 55-1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117;
effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45h-2. Permit required for facilities
and storage wells; variances. (a) No person
shall create, operate, or maintain an underground
crude oil storage facility or any crude oil storage
well without first obtaining a permit from the
secretary.

(b) The storage of crude oil in caverns con-
structed in any rock formations other than bedded
salt shall be prohibited.

(c) A variance to any requirement of this article
may be granted by the secretary if both of the
following conditions are met:

(1) The variance is protective of public health,
safety, and the environment.

(2) The applicant or permittee agrees to per-
form any additional testing, monitoring, or well
improvements, or any combination, if required by
the secretary.

(d) Each applicant or permittee seeking a var-
iance shall submit a written request, including jus-
tification for the variance and any supporting data,
to the secretary for review and consideration for
approval. (Authorized by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a; implementing
K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45b-3. Well conversions and reentry.
(a) The conversion of an existing well that was not
originally designed for crude oil storage to an un-
derground crude oil storage well shall be consid-
ered for approval if both of the following condi-
tions are met:

(1) The applicant submits a completed appli-
cation as required by K.A.R. 28-45b-4.

(2) The secretary determines that the conver-
sion is protective of public health, safety, and the
environment.

(b) Any permittee may convert an unplugged
underground crude oil storage well to monitoring
status if all of the following requirements are met:

(1) Each permittee shall verify the integrity of
the storage well and cavern by conducting a me-
chanical integrity test before converting the well
to monitoring status.

(2) Each permittee shall run a gamma-density
log, a thermal neutron decay time log, or a pulsed
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neutron log to verify the roof thickness before
converting the well to monitoring status.

(3) Each permittee shall meet the requirements
specified in the department’s document titled
“procedure for converting a crude oil storage well
to monitoring status,” procedure #UICLPG-27,
dated October 2008, which is hereby adopted by
reference.

(4) Each permittee of an underground crude
oil storage cavern that is in monitoring status shall
conduct a casing inspection evaluation before
placing the cavern into service. (Authorized by
K.S.A.55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a;
implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6,
2009.)

28-45b-4. Permit required for facility
and associated storage wells. (a) Each appli-
cant who intends to construct a new underground
crude oil storage well shall submit a completed
permit application to the secretary, on a form ap-
proved by the department, at least 180 days be-
fore the proposed commencement date for the
construction of the new crude oil storage well.
Well construction shall not begin until the secre-
tary has issued the permit.

(b) Each applicant who intends to convert an
existing well to a crude oil storage well shall sub-
mit a completed permit application to the secre-
tary, on a form approved by the department, at
least 180 days before the proposed date for op-
eration of the crude oil storage well. Well modi-
fications and operations shall not commence until
the secretary has issued the permit.

(c) Each applicant who intends to construct a
new storage well for the purpose of creating a
crude oil reserve shall submit a completed permit
application to the secretary at least 180 days be-
fore the proposed commencement date for stor-
age well construction. Well construction shall not
begin until the secretary has issued the permit.

(d) Each applicant who wishes to convert an
existing storage well for the purpose of creating a
crude oil reserve shall submit a completed permit
application to the secretary at least 180 days be-
fore the proposed date for operation of the crude
oil storage well. Well modifications and operations
shall not commence until the secretary has issued
the permit.

(e) Each applicant who intends to create a
crude oil reserve shall include the following with
the permit application:

(1) A description of monitoring and testing

methods to demonstrate that the quality of the
crude oil is maintained during storage;

(2) a description of methods and a schedule for
routinely testing the integrity of the wellhead, cas-
ing, and transfer equipment; and

(3) a description of the brine transfer system,
including brine source, disposal method, and
means of transfer.

(f) Upon review of each application, one of the
following shall be issued by the secretary:

(1) A permit, if the application is approved; or

(2) a notice that the permit has been denied if
the applicant has not complied with the require-
ments of this article. The notice shall include jus-
tification for the permit denial.

(g) Each application for a permit shall include
areport prepared by a licensed geologist and shall
include the following:

(1) An evaluation of the geology and hydro-
geology, including cross-sections, isopach and
structure maps of the salt formation, and water-
level or potentiometric maps;

(2) a regional stratigraphic evaluation;

(3) local and regional structural analyses, in-
cluding maps, cross-sections, and available geo-
physical data;

(4) a flood assessment identifying floodplain
and flood-prone areas, including the following:

(A) Flood response procedures; and

(B) design criteria for the well and facility
equipment; and

(5) an assessment of the potential for ground
subsidence.

(h) Each applicant shall submit the following
information with the application:

(1) A plan view map showing locations of all
water, solution—mining, storage, monitoring, dis-
posal, injection, oil, and gas wells within a one-
mile perimeter of the facility’s boundary; and

(2) a plan view map of man-made surface struc-
tures and activities within a one-mile perimeter of
the facility’s boundary.

(i) Each permittee shall submit a compliance
audit every 10 years, on a form furnished by the
department, for review and consideration for ap-
proval for the continued operation of each storage
well.

(j) Each permittee shall submit a sample log of
well cuttings from any new well drilled at the fa-
cility, including new crude oil storage wells, mon-
itoring wells, and stratigraphic test holes.

(1) Cuttings shall be collected at 10-foot inter-
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vals from surface to total well depth or at an in-
terval specified by the department.

(2) Well cuttings shall be collected, described,
and logged as specified in the department’s doc-
ument titled “procedure for sample logging,”
which is adopted by reference in K.A.R. 28-45-6a.

(3) The collection of cuttings shall be super-
vised by a licensed geologist or a licensed geolo-
gist’s designee.

(4) The description and logging of the sample
cuttings shall be performed by a licensed
geologist.

(5) Each permittee shall submit a sample log
and a dry sample set to the department within 45
days after the completion of the well.

(k) Each permittee shall provide a minimum of
one core from each facility. The following provi-
sions shall apply:

(1) Each permittee shall submit a plan for a new
core describing the coring interval, coring proce-
dures, and core testing with the permit application
to the secretary for review and consideration for
approval. The plan shall be submitted at least 60
days before the coring event.

(2) Each permittee shall submit the core anal-
ysis for a new core after installing the first storage
well and before developing the storage field.

(3) Any permittee may submit existing core data
if the secretary determines that the core is rep-
resentative of the geology of the area.

(4) Each permittee shall submit the core anal-
ysis for an approved existing core with the permit
application.

(5) Each permittee shall make the core availa-
ble for inspection upon request by the secretary.

(1) Each permittee shall submit a water analysis
for any water-bearing formation encountered in
drilling a new monitoring well. The water shall be
analyzed for the following parameters:

(1) Chloride;

(2) total dissolved solids; and

(3) any parameter that the secretary determines
could pose a potential threat to public health,
safety, and the environment.

(m) Each permittee shall ensure that the stored
crude oil, formation water, lithology, and sub-
stances used in the solutioning of the storage cav-
erns are compatible.

(n) Each permittee shall submit open-hole logs
for any new crude oil storage well. The logging
interval shall be from the surface to at least 100
feet below the top of the salt section. At a mini-
mum, the following logs shall be run:

(1) A gamma ray log;

(2) a neutron log, if the source is registered in
Kansas, or a sonic log;

(3) a density log; and

(4) a caliper log.

(0) Any permittee may use an alternative log if
the secretary determines that the alternative log
is substantially equivalent to one of the logs spec-
ified in subsection (n). The permittee shall submit
the following information:

(1) A description of the log and the theory of
operation for that log;

(2) a description of the field conditions under
which the log can be used;

(3) the procedure for interpreting the log; and

(4) an interpretation of the log upon completion
of the logging event.

(p) If a facility has a new storage cavern, the
permittee shall ensure that a minimum salt roof
thickness of 100 feet is maintained above the stor-
age cavern.

(q) Each permittee shall submit supporting data
showing that a minimum crude oil inventory in
each storage cavern shall be maintained to protect
the salt roof during short time periods when
changing service, conducting workover activities,
or performing surface facility maintenance.

(r) If a facility has an existing cavern approved
for crude oil storage with a salt roof thickness
greater than 50 feet but less than 100 feet, the
permittee shall meet the following requirements:

(1) The permittee shall use only saturated brine
to displace product.

(2) The permittee shall submit a schedule for
monitoring brine salinity.

(3) The salt roof thickness shall be monitored
with gamma ray and density logs, or any other log
specified in subsection (o), every three years.

(4) The permittee shall provide any additional
information, including a geomechanical study
from core analysis, that may be requested by the
secretary to verify the integrity of the salt roof.

(s) Underground crude oil storage caverns with
a salt roof thickness of 50 feet or less shall be
prohibited.

(t) Underground communication between un-
derground crude oil storage caverns in the upper
50 feet of the salt formation shall be prohibited.

(u) Underground communication between un-
derground crude oil storage caverns below the up-
per 50 feet of the salt formation shall be prohib-
ited, unless the secretary determines that the
communication is protective of public health,
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safety, and the environment. The permittee shall
submit the following:

(1) A sonar survey for each cavern that is in
communication with another cavern; and

(2) aplan describing the monitoring and testing
that the permittee will conduct to ensure that the
integrity of the underground crude oil storage
wells and caverns will be maintained.

(v) The horizontal distance separating new un-
derground crude oil storage caverns shall be at
least 100 feet between the cavern boundaries.

(w) Any existing cavern approved for crude oil
storage with horizontal separation less than 100
feet may operate if the following requirements are
met:

(1) Each permittee shall submit a justification
for each existing underground crude oil storage
cavern with horizontal separation less than 100
feet. The following requirements shall apply:

(A) The justification shall include spacing-to-
diameter ratios, cavern pressure differentials, and
analyses of cavern shape, size, and depth.

(B) The horizontal spacing shall be reevaluated
every five years.

(2) Horizontal spacing of less than 50 feet be-
tween caverns shall be prohibited.

(x) The maximum horizontal diameter of each
cavern shall not exceed 300 feet.

(y) Each permittee shall ensure the integrity of
the storage well, including the wellhead and cas-
ing, and storage cavern before commissioning any
new storage cavern into service. Storage opera-
tions may commence when the following require-
ments are met:

(1) The permittee shall submit a notice of com-
pletion of construction on a form furnished by the
department.

(2) Each new storage well shall be inspected by
the secretary before storage operations com-
mence. If the well fails the inspection, the per-
mittee shall not commence storage operations.
(Authorized by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 55-1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117;
effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45h-5. Public notice. (a) Public notice
shall be given by the secretary for any of the fol-
lowing permit actions:

(1) Any permit application for a crude oil stor-
age well;

(2) the denial of a permit; or

(3) a scheduled hearing.

(b) Public notice and, if applicable, a copy of

the draft permit shall be mailed or electronically
mailed by the department to the permit applicant.

(c) Each public notice shall be mailed by the
department to the following:

(1) Any person who submits a written request
for placement on the mailing list;

(2) the official county newspaper of each county
in which the lands affected by the application are
located, for publication in at least two issues; and

(3) the Kansas register.

(d) Each public notice shall include the follow-
ing information:

(1) The name and address of the department
processing the permit action for which the notice
is being given;

(2) the name and address of the person or com-
pany seeking the permit;

(3) a brief description of the business con-
ducted at the facility or the activity described in
the permit application;

(4) the name, address, and telephone number
of the departmental contact whom interested per-
sons may contact for further information, includ-
ing copies of the application, draft permit, or any
other appropriate information;

(5) a brief description of the comment proce-
dures for public notice; and

(6) a statement of the procedure to request a
hearing and any other procedures that allow pub-
lic participation in the final permit decision.

(e) Any interested person may submit written
comments on any permit action to the secretary
during the 30-day public comment period. The
following requirements shall apply:

(1) All comments shall be submitted by the
close of the public comment period.

(2) All supporting materials submitted shall be
included in full. The supporting materials shall not
be incorporated by reference, unless the support-
ing materials are any of the following:

(A) Part of the administrative record in the
same proceeding;

(B) state or federal statutes and regulations;

(C) state or environmental protection agency
documents of general applicability; or

(D) other generally available
materials.

(3) Commentators shall make supporting ma-
terials not already included in the administrative
record available to the secretary.

(f) The response to all relevant comments con-
cerning any permit actions and the reasons for

reference
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changing any provisions in the draft permit shall
be issued when the permit decision is issued.

(g) The response to comments shall be made
available to the public upon request. (Authorized
by K.S.A. 55-1.117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-
1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective
July 6, 2009.)

28-45bh-6. Modification and transfer of a
permit. (a) The automatic transfer of a permit
shall be prohibited. The requirements for each
permit transfer shall be as follows:

(1) Each person requesting a permit transfer
shall notify the secretary at least 60 days before
the effective date of the proposed transfer.

(2) Each owner and each operator shall comply
with the conditions of the existing permit until the
secretary reissues the permit.

(b) Any permit may be modified by the secre-
tary under any of the following conditions:

(1) The secretary receives information that was
not available when the permit was issued.

(2) The secretary receives a request for the
modification of a permit.

(3) The secretary conducts a review of the per-
mit file and determines that a modification is nec-
essary.

(c) Only the permit actions subject to modifi-
cation shall be reopened.

(d) Minor modifications that do not require
public notification shall include the following, ex-
cept as otherwise specified:

(1) Correction of typographical errors;

(2) requirements for more frequent monitoring
or reporting by the permittee;

(3) a date change in a schedule of compliance;

(4) a change in ownership or operational control
of the facility, unless the secretary determines that
public notification is necessary to protect the pub-
lic interest;

(5) a change in construction requirements, if
the secretary determines that the change is pro-
tective of public health, safety, and the environ-
ment; and

(6) any amendments to a facility plugging plan.

(e) A draft permit and notification to the public
shall be required if any of the following conditions
is met:

(1) A permittee proposes substantial alterations
or additions to the facility or proposes an activity
that justifies a change in the permit requirements,
including cumulative effects on public health,
safety, or the environment.

(2) Information has become available that
would have initially justified different permit
requirements.

(3) Regulations on which the permit was based
have changed due to the promulgation of new or
amended regulations or due to a judicial decision
after the permit was issued.

(f) Any permittee may request a permit modi-
fication within 180 days after any of the following:

(1) The adoption of new regulations;

(2) any deadline to achieve compliance with
regulations; or

(3) any judicial remand and stay of a promul-
gated regulation if the permit requirement was
based on the remanded regulation. (Authorized
by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-
1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective
July 6, 2009.)

28-45h-7. Signatories for permit appli-
cations and reports. (a) Each applicant for a per-
mit shall designate at least one signatory to sign
the permit applications and all reports required
by the secretary.

(b) The positions that may be approved by the
secretary to be signatories shall be the following:

(1) Plant or operations manager;

(2) cavern specialist;

(3) superintendent; and

(4) any position with responsibility at least
equivalent to that required by the positions listed
in this subsection.

(c) Any signatory may submit written notifica-
tion to the secretary specifying a position having
responsibility for the overall operation of the fa-
cility or activity to act as a designated signatory.

(d) Each signatory and each signatory’s desig-
nee shall submit a signature statement, on a form
furnished by the department, to the secretary with
each permit application. (Authorized by K.S.A.
55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a; imple-
menting K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45h-8. Siting requirements for new
storage wells and facilities. (a) Each applicant
shall assess the geographical, topographical, and
physical data for any proposed underground crude
oil storage well location to determine whether sit-
ing requirements have been met. The following
siting requirements shall be met:

(1) Each new storage facility shall be located at
least three miles from the established boundaries
of municipal population centers.

(2) Each proposed new facility or boundary ex-
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pansion for an existing facility shall be located as
follows:

(A) Not less than five miles from an active or
abandoned conventional shaft mining operation;
and

(B) not less than two miles from the facility’s
boundary of any solution mining operation.

(3) Each applicant shall assess the extent and
nature of current or past conventional subsurface
mining activities within five miles of the under-
ground crude oil storage facility’s boundary to de-
termine any potential impact to public health,
safety, or the environment resulting from the pro-
posed activities at the facility.

(4) Each applicant shall identify and assess all
wells, including abandoned wells, from available
sources of information, within a one-mile perim-
eter of the facility’s boundary to determine if the
following conditions are met:

(A) The wells have been constructed in a man-
ner to protect public health, property, and the
environment.

(B) The abandoned wells, including water, oil,
gas, monitoring, and underground storage wells,
have been properly plugged.

(b) Each applicant shall conduct a regional ge-
ological evaluation to determine if the integrity of
each proposed storage cavern will be adversely af-
fected by any of the following:

(1) Salt thinning due to any stratigraphic
change;

(2) a dissolution zone in the bedded salt; or

(3) abrupt changes in the lithology within the
salt interval.

(c) Each applicant shall determine if the facil-
ity’s location is in a floodplain or flood-prone area.

(d) No new facility’s boundary or the expansion
of an existing facility’s boundary shall be located
less than one mile from any existing underground
porosity storage facility.

(e) Each applicant shall identify potential risks
to the storage operation from activities conducted
at adjacent facilities.

(f) Each applicant shall identify all utilities hav-
ing a right-of-way, including pipeline, railway,
roadway, and electrical lines, and shall assess the
potential impact of the utilities on the location or
operation of the facility. If a facility is exposed and
subject to hazards, including vehicular traffic, rail-
roads, electrical power lines, and aircraft traffic,
the facility shall be protected from accidental
damage, by distance or barricades.

(g) No outer boundary of an underground

crude oil storage cavern shall be less than 100 feet
from any of the following:

(1) The property boundary of any owners who
have not consented to subsurface storage under
their property;

(2) any existing surface structure not owned by
the facility’s owner; or

(3) any public transportation artery. (Author-
ized by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-
1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective
July 6, 2009.)

28-45h-9. Financial assurance for clo-
sure of underground crude oil storage facil-
ity. (a) Each applicant shall submit, with the per-
mit application and annually thereafter on or
before the permit renewal date, proof of financial
assurance to the secretary for the following:

(1) Closure of the facility; and

(2) the plugging of any crude oil storage well.

(b) Each applicant shall meet the following
requirements:

(1) Submit a detailed written estimate, in cur-
rent dollars, of the cost to close all underground
storage wells and storage caverns at the proposed
facility following the closure procedures specified
in K.A.R. 28-45b-18. The estimate shall be re-
viewed and approved by a licensed professional
engineer or licensed geologist; and

(2) prepare an estimate of the closure cost for
all storage wells and storage caverns at the pro-
posed facility based on the cost charged by a third
party to plug the underground storage wells.

(c)(1) Each permittee shall increase the closure
cost estimate and the amount of financial assur-
ance provided if any change in the facility opera-
tion or closure plan increases the maximum cost
of closure at any time.

(2) Each permittee shall provide continuous fi-
nancial assurance coverage for closure until the
secretary approves the facility closure.

(d) Each permittee shall comply with the pro-
visions of the department’s document titled “pro-
cedure for demonstrating financial assurance for
an underground crude oil storage well,” proce-
dure #UICLPG-28, dated October 2008, which is
hereby adopted by reference. (Authorized by
K.S.A.55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a;
implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6,
2009.)

28-45b-10. Operations and mainte-
nance plan. (a) Each applicant shall submit a
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plan for the long-term operation and maintenance
of the facility with the permit application.

(b) Each operation and maintenance plan shall
include the following information:

(1) A description of the methods to be used to
prevent the overpressuring of wells and storage
caverns;

(2) a plan view map of the location of any dis-
posal wells and corrosion control wells; and

(3) the location, depth, and well construction
for all shallow and deep groundwater monitoring
and observation wells.

(c) Each permittee shall maintain at the facility
and make available for inspection by the secretary
the following information:

(1) A location map of all wells within the facil-
ity’s boundaries and a listing of the global posi-
tioning system coordinates for each well;

(2) a schematic of the brine and product lines
for each cavern; and

(3) a schematic of the gathering line system that
connects all wells within the underground crude
oil storage facility to a central distribution point.

(d) Each applicant shall submit a plan for so-
lutioning or washing any cavern to the secretary
for review and consideration for approval. The
plan shall include the following:

(1) A list of acceptable blanket pad materials;

(2) methods for monitoring the solutioning or
washing process; and

(3) a monitoring schedule.

(e) Only saturated brine shall be used to dis-
place any product.

(f) The maximum allowable operating pressure
and test pressure shall not exceed 0.8 pounds per
square inch per foot of depth measured at the
higher elevation of either the casing seat or the
highest interior elevation of the storage cavern
roof.

(g) Each permittee shall submit justification for
a minimum operating pressure that is protective
of cavern integrity and shall maintain the mini-
mum operating pressure at each storage well.

(h) Each permittee shall meet the notification
requirements in the facility’s emergency response
plan, give oral notification to the department
within two hours, and submit written notification
within one week to the department if any of the
following events occurs:

(1) The overpressuring or the overfilling of an
underground crude oil storage cavern;

(2) the loss of integrity for an underground
crude oil storage well or cavern;

(3) the release of brine, product, or any other
chemical parameter that poses a threat to public
health, safety, or the environment;

(4) any uncontrolled or unanticipated loss of
product or brine that is detectable by any moni-
toring or testing;

(5) any other condition that could endanger
public health, safety, or the environment;

(6) the establishment of communication be-
tween storage caverns;

(7) the triggering of any alarms verifying that
the permit safety requirements have been ex-
ceeded; or

(8) any equipment malfunction or failure that
could result in potential harm to public health,
safety, or the environment.

(i) Each permittee shall notify the secretary of
any change in the type of product stored in any
storage cavern and shall certify that the compati-
bility of product types and the changes in pressure
will not adversely affect the wellhead, casing, tub-
ing, and cavern. (Authorized by K.S.A. 55-1,117
and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a; implementing
K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45h-11. Emergency response plan
and safety and security measures. (a)(1) Each
applicant for a permit for an underground crude
oil storage facility shall make the emergency re-
sponse plan available for inspection by the secre-
tary when the permit application is submitted to
the department.

(2) Each permittee shall maintain the emer-
gency response plan at the facility and at the com-
pany headquarters and shall make the plan avail-
able for inspection by the secretary.

(b) Each permittee shall update the emergency
response plan annually and also shall update the
plan whenever new information regarding the
requirements for the emergency response plan
becomes available.

(c) Each emergency response plan shall include
a description of the facility’s response to the fol-
lowing events:

(1) Spills and releases;

(2) fires and explosions;

(3) cavern subsidence and collapse; and

(4) any other activity that endangers public
health and safety or that constitutes a threat to the
environment.

(d) Each emergency response plan shall include
the following information:
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(1) A description of the warning systems in op-
eration at the facility;

(2) a description of the facility’s emergency re-
sponse communication system that includes the
following:

(A) A plat showing the location of all occupied
buildings within a two-mile perimeter of the fa-
cility’s boundaries; and

(B) a list of addresses and telephone numbers
for all persons to contact within a two-mile perim-
eter of the facility’s boundaries if a release or
emergency condition occurs;

(3) the procedures for coordination of emer-
gency response with local emergency planning
committees, including emergency notification and
evacuation of citizens and employees;

(4) a description of employee training for emer-
gency response;

(5) a plat of the facility, showing the following
locations:

(A) All crude oil storage wells;

(B) all underground injection control wells;

(C) all monitoring wells;

(D) all brine and product lines;

(E) railroad and transportation routes;

(F) brine ponds; and

(G) any other appurtenances at the facility; and

(6) a plan map of man-made surface structures
and any construction activities within a one-mile
perimeter of the facility’s boundaries.

(e) A copy of the emergency response plan shall
be available at the facility, the company head-
quarters, and the office of each coordinating
agency or committee involved in the emergency
response plan.

(f) Each permittee shall establish an educa-
tional program for community safety and aware-
ness of the emergency response plan.

(g) Each permittee of an underground crude oil
storage facility shall provide security measures to
protect the public and to prevent unauthorized
access. These security measures shall include the
following:

(1) Methods for securing the facility from unau-
thorized entry and for providing a convenient op-
portunity for escape to a place of safety;

(2) at least one visible, permanent sign at each
point of entry and along the facility’s boundary,
identifying the storage well or facility name,
owner, and contact telephone number;

(3) security lighting;

(4) alarm systems;

(5) appropriate warning signs in areas that

could contain accumulations of hazardous or nox-
ious vapors or where physical hazards exist; and

(6) a direct communication link with the local
control room or any remote control center for
service and maintenance crews.

(h) Warning systems and alarms shall consist of
the following:

(1) Combustible gas detectors, hydrogen sul-
fide detectors, heat sensors, pressure sensors, and
emergency shutdown instrumentation integrated
with warning systems audible and visible in the
local control room and at any remote control
center;

(2) circuitry designed so that the failure of a
detector or heat sensor, excluding meltdown and
fused devices, will activate the warning; and

(3) a manually operated alarm that is audible to
facility personnel.

(i) Each wellhead shall be protected with safety
devices to prevent pressures in excess of the max-
imum allowable operating pressure from being ex-
erted on the storage well or cavern and to prevent
the backflow of any stored crude oil if a flowline
ruptures.

(j) Each wellhead shall be equipped with man-
ual isolation valves. Each port on a wellhead shall
be equipped with either a valve or a blind {flange.
The valve or blind flange shall be rated at the same
pressure as that for the wellhead.

(k) Each permittee shall ensure that the facility
has a supervisory control and data acquisition sys-
tem approved by the secretary to monitor storage
operations for individual storage wells. Each of
the following instruments shall be connected to
an alarm:

(1) Flow indicators for crude oil;

(2) combustible gas and hydrogen sulfide de-
tection indicators; and

(3) pressure indicators on both the product and
brine lines at the wellhead.

(1) Each permittee shall install emergency shut-
down valves on all crude oil, brine, and water
lines. Criteria for emergency shutdown valves
shall include the following:

(1) (A) Be rated at least equivalent to 125 per-
cent of the maximum pressure that could be ex-
erted at the surface; or

(B) meet a pressure-rating standard equivalent
to that specified in paragraph (1)(1)(A) and deter-
mined by the secretary to be protective of public
health, safety, and the environment;

(2) fail to the closed position;
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(3) be capable of remote and local operation;
and
4) be activated by the following:

A) Overpressuring;
B) underpressuring; and
C) gas and heat detection.

(m) Each permittee shall conduct annual in-
spections of all wellhead instrumentation.

(n) Each permittee shall function-test each crit-
ical control system and emergency shutdown valve
semiannually.

(o) Each permittee shall perform trip-testing of
each loop, including the instrumentation, valves,
shutdown equipment, and all wiring connections,
to ensure the integrity of the circuit.

(p) Each permittee shall ensure that the equip-
ment automatically closes all inlets and outlets to
the storage cavern and safely shuts down or di-
verts any operation associated with the storage
cavern, in case of overfilling or an emergency.

(q) Each permittee shall ensure that the auto-
matic valve closure times meet the valve design
limits for closure times.

(r) Each permittee shall cease operations or
shall comply with the instructions from the sec-
retary if the secretary determines that an immi-
nent threat to public health, safety, or the envi-
ronment exists due to any unsafe operating
condition. The permittee may resume operations
if the secretary determines that the facility’s op-
erations no longer pose a risk to public health,
safety, or the environment. (Authorized by K.S.A.
55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a; imple-
menting K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45b-12. Design and construction of
storage wells. (a) Each permittee shall ensure
that each storage well is constructed with surface
casing. The following requirements shall apply:

(1) The surface casing shall be set through all
fresh and usable water formations and into com-
petent bedrock.

(2) The surface casing shall be cemented by cir-
culating cement through the bottom of the casing
to the surface.

(3) The annular space between the casing and
the formation shall be filled with cement.

(b) Each permittee shall install in each storage
well double casing protection with an intermedi-
ate casing and a production casing set into the
upper part of the salt formation. The following
requirements shall apply:

(
(
(
(

(1) The intermediate casing shall extend at least
105 feet into the salt formation.

(2) The production casing shall extend at least
to the depth of the intermediate casing.

(3) The annular space between the intermedi-
ate and production casings and between the in-
termediate casing and formation shall be filled
with cement by circulating cement through the
bottom of the casing to the surface.

(c) For each existing storage well that does not
have double casing protection, the permittee shall
provide a casing protection evaluation as specified
in K.A.R. 28-45b-14.

(d) The casing and tubing shall meet the per-
formance standards for collapse resistance, inter-
nal yield pressure, and pipe body yield strength
for the well’s setting depths using criteria speci-
fied in the American petroleum institute’s bulletin
5C2, which is adopted by reference in K.A.R. 28-
45-14.

(e) Each permittee shall designate and maintain
a maximum fill level above the bottom of the brine
string. The permittee shall submit the following
information:

(1) A schematic of the well construction;

(2) the cavern capacity as determined from the
most recent sonar survey;

(3) supporting data that shows calculations used
to determine the maximum fill level; and

(4) the method that will be used to maintain the
maximum fill level.

(f) Only new steel casing shall be installed in a
new storage well. Used parts, materials, and
equipment that have been tested and certified for
continued service may be used for repairs.

(g) Liners shall extend from the surface to a
depth near the bottom of the production casing
that allows room for workover operations.

(h) The following cementing requirements shall
be met:

(1) The cement shall be compatible with the
rock formation water and the drilling fluids. Salt-
saturated cement shall be used when cementing
through the salt section.

(2) The cement across the confining zone and
to the surface shall have a compressive strength
of not less than 1,000 pounds per square inch.

(3) Remedial cementing shall be completed if
there is evidence of either of the following:

(A) Communication between the confining
zone and other horizons; or

(B) annular voids that would allow either fluid
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contact with the casing or channeling across the
confining zone or above the confining zone.

(4) The following requirements for cement
evaluation shall apply:

(A) Samples shall be obtained at the start and
end of the cementing operation for evaluation of
cement properties. All cement samples collected
shall be representative of the cement being
utilized.

(B) All samples shall be tested for compressive
strength.

(C) A cement bond log shall be run on the sur-
face casing, intermediate casing, and cemented
production casing after the neat cement has cured
for at least 72 hours.

(i) Casing patches shall be prohibited, unless
the secretary determines that the use of casing
patches is protective of public health, safety, and
the environment. The following requirements
shall apply:

(1) Each permittee shall submit a plan for the
installation of the casing patch to the secretary.

(2) Each permittee shall meet the requirements
specified in the department’s document titled
“procedure for internal casing repair,” which is
adopted by reference in K.A.R. 28-45-14.

(j) Each permittee shall pressure-test each pro-
duction casing for leaks when the well construc-
tion is completed.

(k) Each permittee shall submit a casing in-
spection base log for the entire cased interval for
the innermost casing string or for the cemented
liner that extends the entire length of the casing
after the well construction is completed.

(1) Each permittee shall contain, in a tank, all
workover wastes, drilling fluids, drilling mud, and
drill cuttings from any drilling operation or work-
over. Drilling fluids, drilling mud, and drill cut-
tings shall be disposed of in a manner determined
by the secretary to be protective of public health,
safety, and the environment.

(m) A licensed professional engineer shall re-
view and approve the construction plans for the
crude oil storage well and cavern system.

(n) A licensed professional engineer or a li-
censed geologist, or the licensed professional en-
gineer’s or licensed geologist’s designee, shall su-
pervise the installation of each storage well.

(o) Each permittee shall maintain a corrosion
control system. The following requirements shall
apply:

(1) The corrosion control system shall be ca-
pable of protecting the well casings.

(2) The corrosion control system shall be as-
sessed according to the protocol and time sched-
ule recommended by the corrosion control system
manufacturer, and the results shall be reported to
the secretary. (Authorized by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a; implementing
K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45b-13. Monitoring. (a) Each per-
mittee shall ensure that pressure sensors contin-
uously monitor wellhead pressures for both the
product and brine sides at the wellhead for each
storage well. The following requirements shall
apply:

(1) The pressure sensor shall be capable of re-
cording the maximum and minimum operating
pressures during a 24-hour period.

(2) The pressure sensor shall be capable of re-
cording operating pressures at an interval ap-
proved by the secretary.

(3) Each permittee shall provide pressure data,
including historic continuous monitoring, to the
secretary upon request.

(b) Each permittee shall submit a plan for any
monitoring activity, including logging and sonar
surveys, to the secretary for review and consid-
eration for approval to ensure the protection of
public health, safety, and the environment, at least
60 days before the commencement of these mon-
itoring activities.

(c) Each permittee shall submit a summary and
the results of the monitoring activity to the sec-
retary within 45 days after completion of the mon-
itoring activity.

(d) Each permittee shall monitor the thickness
of the salt roof for each cavern with a gamma ray
log and a density log, or with another log as spec-
ified in K.A.R. 28-45b-4, as follows:

(1) Every five years;

(2) every three years, if the cavern meets cri-
teria specified in K.A.R. 28-45b-4;

(3) at any time that the secretary determines
that cavern integrity is suspect; and

(4) before plugging the well.

(e) Each permittee shall monitor the cavern
storage capacity and the cavern geometry with a
sonar survey. The sonar survey shall be conducted
as follows:

(1) Before placing the underground crude oil
storage cavern in service;

(2) every 10 years;

(3) for determining the stability of the cavern
and the overburden if the salt roof thickness and
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cavern geometry indicate that the stability of the
cavern or overburden is at risk;

(4) after any growth of the cavern that results
in a solution volume increase of 20 percent or
more of cavern capacity; and

(5) before plugging the well if a sonar survey
has not been run in the past five years.

(f) Any permittee may use an alternative
method for the sonar survey if the secretary de-
termines that the alternative method is substan-
tially equivalent to the method specified in sub-
section (e). The permittee shall submit the
following information for the secretary’s
consideration:

(1) A description of the proposed method and
the theory for its operation;

(2) a description of the storage well and cavern
conditions under which the log can be used;

(3) the procedure for interpreting the survey
results; and

(4) an assessment of the capacity and stability
of the cavern upon completion of the survey.

(g)(1) Each applicant shall submit a ground
subsidence monitoring plan to the secretary with
the permit application. The ground subsidence
monitoring plan shall include the following
information:

(A) A description of the method for conducting
an elevation survey; and

(B) the criteria for establishing monuments,
benchmarks, and wellhead survey points.

(2)(A) Each permittee shall meet the following
requirements:

(i) Ensure level measurements to the accuracy
of 0.01 foot;

(ii) report any surface elevation changes in ex-
cess of 0.10 foot within 24 hours to the secretary;

(iii) for any change in established benchmarks,
submit justification that the change is protective
of public health, safety, and the environment; and

(iv) for each change in established benchmarks,
note the elevation change from the previous
benchmark noted in the elevation survey report.

(B) Each permittee shall submit the elevation
before and after any wellhead work that results in
a change in the survey point at the wellhead.

(C) The elevation survey shall be conducted by
a licensed professional land surveyor.

(D) Each permittee shall submit biennial sur-
vey results to the department within 30 days after
completion of the survey.

(h) Before commencing facility operations,
each permittee shall submit to the secretary, for

review and consideration for approval, an inven-
tory balance plan for measuring the volume of
crude oil injected into or withdrawn from each
underground crude oil storage well, including
methods for measuring and verifying volume.
(Authorized by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 55-1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117;
effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45b-14. Testing and inspections. (a)
Each permittee shall submit a plan to the secre-
tary for review and consideration for approval to
ensure the protection of public health, safety, and
the environment, before conducting any testing of
a storage well or a cavern. Testing shall not com-
mence without prior approval from the secretary.

(b) Each permittee shall submit a summary of
the testing to the secretary within 45 days after
completing the test. The summary shall include
the following:

(1) A chronology of the test;

(2) copies of all logs;

(3) storage well construction information;
(4) pressure readings;

(5) volume measurements; and

(6) an explanation of the test results.

(c) Each permittee shall test each unplugged
storage well and cavern for mechanical integrity.
The following requirements shall apply:

(1) Integrity tests shall be conducted on the
storage well and cavern as follows:

(A) Before the cavern is initially placed in
service;

(B) every five years after the initial service date;

(C) before the storage well is placed back in
service after being in monitoring status; and

(D) before the well is plugged, unless the me-
chanical integrity test has been performed in the
last five years.

(2) Integrity tests shall be conducted on the un-
derground crude oil storage well after each work-
over that involves physical changes to any ce-
mented casing string.

(3) Each underground crude oil storage cavern
shall be tested for mechanical integrity using a
product-brine interface test.

(4) The nitrogen-brine test may be used if the
surface equipment is rated for the nitrogen pres-
sure on the upstream side of the well head valves.

(5) Each underground crude oil storage well
shall be tested for mechanical integrity using one
of the following:
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(A) An interface test capable of identifying the
location of a leak in the casing; or

(B) a hydraulic casing test.

(6) Each permittee shall submit a test proce-
dure plan, on a form furnished by the department,
to the secretary for review and consideration for
approval at least 30 days before test commence-
ment. The plan shall include the following
information:

(A) The justification for test parameters;

(B) the test sensitivities; and

(C) the pass and fail criteria for the test.

(7) Each permittee shall notify the secretary at
least five days before conducting any integrity test.

(8) The integrity test shall be conducted at the
maximum allowable operating pressure.

(9) All test procedures shall use certified gauges
and pressure transducers that have been cali-
brated annually.

(d) Any permittee may use an alternative integ-
rity test if the secretary determines that the alter-
native integrity test is substantially equivalent to
the integrity tests specified in subsection (c). The
permittee shall submit the following information
for the secretary’s consideration:

(1) A description of the test method and the
theory of operation, including the test sensitivi-
ties, a justification for the test parameters, and the
pass and fail criteria for the test;

(2) a description of the well and cavern condi-
tions under which the test can be conducted;

(3) the procedure for interpreting the test re-
sults; and

(4) an interpretation of the test upon comple-
tion of the test.

(e) No storage well and cavern shall be used for
storage if the mechanical integrity is not verified.

(f) Each permittee shall submit a casing evalu-
ation for each underground crude oil storage well.
Acceptable casing evaluation methods shall in-
clude magnetic flux and ultrasonic imaging.

(g) Any permittee may use an alternative casing
evaluation method if the secretary determines
that the alternative casing evaluation method is
substantially equivalent to the casing evaluation
methods specified in subsection (f). The per-
mittee shall meet the following requirements:

(1) Each permittee shall submit a description
of the logging method, including the theory of op-
eration and the well conditions suitable for log
use.

(2) Each permittee shall submit the specifica-
tions for the logging tool, including tool dimen-

sions, maximum temperature and pressure rating,
recommended logging speed, approximate image
resolution, and hole size range.

(3) Each permittee shall describe the capabili-
ties of the log for determining the following:

(A) The presence of any metal loss due to either
of the following:

(i) Internal or external corrosion; or

(ii) internal wear;

(B) the degree of penetration of the corrosion
or the casing defect; and

(C) the circumferential extent of the corrosion
or the casing defect.

(4) Each permittee shall submit a log and an
interpretation of the log to the secretary.

(h) Each permittee shall submit a casing eval-
uation according to the following time schedule:

(1) Every 10 years for either of the following
conditions:

(A) The storage well has double casing protec-
tion; or

(B) an existing storage well has a liner and a
production casing;

(2) after any workover involving the cemented
casing; and

(3) every five years, if the storage well does not
have double casing protection or if a determina-
tion is made by the secretary that the integrity of
the long string casing could be adversely affected
by any naturally occurring condition or man-made
activity.

(i) Each permittee shall submit a cement bond
log with the casing evaluation if a cement bond
log has not been previously submitted.

(j) A licensed professional engineer or licensed
geologist, or licensed professional engineer’s or li-
censed geologist’s designee, shall supervise all test
procedures and associated field activity.

(k) Each permittee shall have a licensed pro-
fessional engineer or licensed geologist review all
test results.

() Each permittee shall visually inspect each
wellhead monthly for any leakage.

(m) Each permittee shall conduct an inspection
of facility records, using a form furnished by the
department, every two years to ensure that the
required records are being maintained in accord-
ance with these regulations. The permittee shall
maintain these records at the facility and shall
make the records available to the secretary upon
request. (Authorized by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a; implementing
K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6, 2009.)
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28-45b-15. Groundwater monitoring.
(a) Each applicant shall submit a groundwater
monitoring plan with the permit application to the
secretary for review and consideration for ap-
proval to ensure the protection of public health,
safety, and the environment.

(b) Each permittee shall ensure that the
groundwater monitoring wells meet the following
requirements:

(1) Each permittee shall set the screen in each
shallow monitoring well at a depth that is inclusive
of the seasonal fluctuation of the water table.

(2) Each permittee shall ensure that all deep
groundwater monitoring wells extend a minimum
of 25 feet into the bedrock, or to a depth based
on the geology and hydrogeology at the facility
and approved by the secretary to ensure the pro-
tection of public health, safety, and the
environment.

(c) All well locations and the spacing between
all well locations shall be based on the geology and
the hydrogeology at the facility and shall be re-
quired to be approved by the secretary to ensure
the protection of public health, safety, and the
environment.

(d) Before commencing facility operations,
each applicant shall submit a quality assurance
plan, including techniques for sampling and anal-
ysis, to the secretary for review and consideration
for approval to ensure the protection of public
health, safety, and the environment.

(e) Each permittee shall collect groundwater
samples and analyze the samples for chlorides and
any other parameter determined by the secretary
to pose a threat to public health, safety, and the
environment. The reporting format shall be de-
termined by the secretary.

(f) Each permittee shall submit the results for
chloride analyses from groundwater samples to
the department on a quarterly basis.

(g) Each permittee shall monitor monthly for
the presence of combustible gas in the headspace
in monitoring wells and shall quarterly submit the
results to the department.

(h) Each permittee shall submit a static ground-
water level measurement for each monitoring well
with the quarterly chloride analyses results spec-
ified in subsection (f).

(i) Any permittee of a facility where chloride
concentrations in the groundwater exceed 250
milligrams per liter may be required by the sec-
retary to submit a work plan, for review and con-
sideration for approval, that describes the meth-

ods to delineate potential source areas and to
control migration of the chloride contamination.

(j) Each permittee of a well in which combus-
tible gas is detected shall submit a work plan to
the secretary for review and consideration for ap-
proval. Each permittee shall describe the pro-
posed methods to eliminate any source areas and
return the combustible gas levels to levels that do
not pose a potential threat to public health, safety,
or the environment. The plan shall be approved if
the secretary determines that the plan is protec-
tive of public health, safety, and the environment.
(Authorized by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 55-1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117;
effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45b-16. Record requirements and
retention. (a) Each permittee shall submit an an-
nual report, on a form approved by the depart-
ment, on or before April 1 of each year. The an-
nual report shall include the following:

(1) A description of any incident of uncon-
trolled or unanticipated product loss;

(2) the well number and date of any logs or
sonar surveys conducted;

(3) the estimated storage capacity for each cav-
ern associated with an unplugged well;

(4) a list of any caverns being washed;

(5) alist of the volume of product injected and
withdrawn for each storage well;

(6) a list, by well number, of the type of product
stored; and

(7) alist, by well number, of the maximum and
minimum produet storage pressures encountered
during the report year.

(b) Each permittee shall maintain facility re-
cords at the facility or at a location approved by
the secretary for the following time periods:

(1) A period of 10 years, for the following
records:

(A) The maximum and minimum operating
pressures for each storage well; and

(B) the annual inspections required by the
secretary;

(2) the life of each storage well, for the follow-
ing records:

(A) The casing records for each storage well;

(B) the cementing records for each storage
well;

(C) the workover records;

(D) monitoring information, including calibra-
tion and maintenance records; and

(E) continuous monitoring data; and
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(3) the life of the facility, for the following re-
cords:

(A) All logging events;

(B) all mechanical integrity tests and other
testing;

(C) all groundwater monitoring data; and

(D) all correspondence relating to the permit,
including electronic mail.

(c) Surface elevation surveys shall be main-
tained and retained for the life of facility plus 20
years after the facility’s closure.

(d) If the facility permit is transferred, the for-
mer permittee shall provide all required facility
records, reports, and documents to the new pem-
ittee. (Authorized by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A.
2008 Supp. 55-1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-
1,117; effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45bh-17. Well workovers. (a) Each
permittee shall submit a workover plan to the sec-
retary for review and consideration for approval
to ensure the protection of public health, safety,
and the environment. The following provisions
shall apply:

(1) Each permittee shall submit the workover
plan at least 10 days before performing any down-
hole or wellhead work that involves dismantling
or removal of the wellhead.

(2) A permittee shall not be required to submit
a workover plan for routine maintenance or re-
placement of gauges, sensors, or valves.

(3) Verbal authorization to initiate downhole or
wellhead work may be issued by the secretary if
the permittee has fulfilled the requirements of
this subsection.

(b) Each permittee shall ensure that a blowout
preventer with a pressure rating greater than the
pressures anticipated to be encountered is used
during eachworkover.

(c) Each permittee shall ensure that all logging
procedures are conducted through a lubricator
unit with a pressure rating greater than the pres-
sures anticipated to be encountered.

(d) Each permittee shall provide to the person
logging a storage well or performing a well work-
over all relevant information concerning the status
and condition of the storage well and cavern be-
fore initiating any work. (Authorized by K.S.A. 55-
1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a; imple-
menting K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45b-18. Plugging and plugging-
monitoring requirements. (a) Each permittee
shall submit a plugging plan, including monitoring

and testing requirements, to the secretary for re-
view and consideration for approval at least 60
days before each plugging event.

(b) Each permittee shall follow the plugging
procedure for a plugging event specified in the
department’s document titled “procedure for the
plugging and abandonment of a crude oil storage
well,” procedure #UICLPG-29, dated October
2008, which is hereby adopted by reference.

(c) Each permittee wishing to place a storage
well and cavern into plugging-monitoring status
shall submit a plugging-monitoring plan to the
secretary for review and consideration for ap-
proval at least 60 days before the plugging-moni-
toring event. The plan shall include the following:

(1) A schematic of the storage well
configuration;

(2) the most recent results from the gamma-
density log, the casing inspection log, the cement
bond log, and the sonar survey; and

(3) the procedure for placing the cavern into
plugging-monitoring status.

(d) Each permittee of a crude oil storage well
to be placed into plugging-monitoring status may
be required to perform additional testing or log-
ging before placing the cavern into plugging-mon-
itoring status if either of the following conditions
exists:

(1) The required logging and testing are not
current.

(2) A lack of storage well or cavern integrity
poses a threat to public health, safety, or the
environment.

(e) Each permittee of a storage well and cavern
placed into plugging-monitoring status shall mon-
itor the cavern pressure with a gauge on a weekly
basis or continue to monitor pressures with a pres-
sure transducer connected to a supervisory con-
trol and data acquisition system.

(f) Each permittee shall report any unexpected
increase or decrease in pressure at a well in plug-
ging-monitoring status to the secretary within 24
hours. Testing, logging, or any other necessary
measures may be required by the secretary to de-
termine if a threat to public health, safety, or the
environment exists.

(g) Each permittee shall restore and preserve
the integrity of the site as follows:

(1) Dispose of all liquid waste in an environ-
mentally safe manner;

(2) clear the area of debris;

(3) drain and fill all excavations;
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(4) remove all unused concrete bases, machin-
ery, and materials; and

(5) level and restore the site. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a;
implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6,
2009.)

28-45h-19. Underground crude oil
storage fees. (a) Each permit applicant shall sub-
mit a fee of $700 for each proposed storage well
with the permit application.

(b) Each permittee shall submit an annual per-
mit fee of $18,890 per facility and $305 per un-
plugged storage well on or before April 1 of each
year.

(c) Fees shall be made payable to the “Kansas
department of health and environment — sub-
surface hydrocarbon storage fund.”

(d) The fees collected under the provisions of
this regulation shall not be refunded.

(e) If ownership of an underground crude oil
storage well or underground crude oil storage fa-
cility changes during the term of a valid permit,
no additional fee shall be required unless a change
occurs that results in a new storage well or an
expanded facility operation. (Authorized by K.S.A.
55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a; imple-
menting K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45b-20. Permit required for a brine
pond. Since the underground storage of crude oil
and the access to and transfer of crude oil are
dependent on the safe and secure operation and
maintenance of associated brine ponds, no person
shall construct, operate, or maintain any brine
pond associated with an underground crude oil
storage facility without first obtaining a brine
pond permit {from the secretary. (Authorized by
K.S.A.55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a;
implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6,
2009.)

28-45b-21. Brine pond permit applica-
tion; permit renewal. (a)(1) Each applicant for
a permit for a new brine pond shall submit an
application to the secretary at least 90 days before
the construction of the new brine pond com-
mences. Brine pond construction shall not begin
until the secretary has issued the permit.

(2) Upon review of the application, either of the
following shall be issued by the secretary:

(A) A final permit if the application is approved;
or

(B) a notice that the permit has been denied if

the applicant has not complied with the applicable
requirements of this article. The notice shall in-
clude justification for the permit denial.

(b) Each permit for a brine pond shall be au-
thorized for a term not to exceed 10 years.

(c) Each permittee wanting to renew the permit
shall submit a completed renewal application at
least 90 days before the expiration date of the per-
mit in effect.

(d) Each permit application for a new brine
pond shall include a hydrogeological investigation
conducted under the direction of a licensed ge-
ologist or a licensed professional engineer. Each
hydrogeological investigation for a new brine
pond shall include the following information:

(1) A site characterization for brine pond con-
struction, which shall meet the following
requirements:

(A) The bottom of the brine pond shall be de-
termined by the lowest surface elevation of com-
pacted or excavated soils used in creating the pond
structure;

(B) all required excavations or boreholes shall
be drilled to a depth of at least 10 feet below the
bottom of the brine pond;

(C) the separation distance between the bottom
of the brine pond and the water table, which shall
meet one of the following requirements:

(i) A separation distance of at least 10 feet shall
be maintained between the brine pond bottom
and the water table; or

(ii) a separation distance of less than 10 feet
shall require the installation of a clay tertiary sub-
liner; and

(D) the surface area shall be measured at the
interior top dike elevation;

(2) the location and elevation of each borehole
or excavation, based on surface area, which shall
be determined by the following criteria:

(A) At least two boreholes or excavations for
each five acres of proposed brine pond surface
area; or

(B) at least two boreholes or excavations if the
brine pond surface area is less than five acres; and

(3) the following information for each borehole
or excavation:

(A) A log of soil types encountered in each
borehole or excavation; and

(B) a groundwater level measurement at each
borehole or excavation.

(e) Each permittee shall notify the department
at least five days before conducting any field ac-
tivities for the hydrogeological investigation. (Au-
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thorized by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 55-1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117;
effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45b-22. Public notice for a brine
pond. (a) Public notice shall be given by the sec-
retary for the following permit actions:

(1) A permit application for any new brine pond
associated with an underground crude oil storage
well;

(2) a denied permit; and

(3) a scheduled hearing.

(b) The public notice and, if applicable, a copy
of the draft permit shall be mailed or electroni-
cally mailed by the department to the permit
applicant.

(c) Each public notice shall be mailed by the
department to the following:

(1) Any person who submits a written request
for placement on the mailing list;

(2) the official county newspaper of each county
in which the lands affected by the application are
located, for publication in at least two issues; and

(3) the Kansas register.

(d) Each public notice shall include the follow-
ing information:

(1) The name and address of the department
processing the permit action for which the notice
is being given;

(2) the name and address of the person seeking
the permit;

(3) a brief description of the activity described
in the permit application;

(4) the name, address, and telephone number
of the person that interested persons may contact
for further information, including copies of the
application, draft permit, or other appropriate
information;

(5) a brief description of the comment proce-
dures for public notice; and

(6) a statement of the procedure to request a
hearing and other procedures that allow public
participation in the final permit decision.

(e) Any interested person may submit written
comments to the secretary on any permit action
during the 30-day public comment period. The
following requirements shall apply:

(1) Comments shall be submitted by the close
of the public comment period.

(2) All supporting materials submitted shall be
included in full. The supporting materials shall not
be incorporated by reference, unless the support-
ing materials are any of the following:

(A) Part of the administrative record in the
same proceeding;

(B) state or federal statutes and regulations;

(C) state or environmental protection agency
documents of general applicability; or

(D) other generally available
materials.

(3) Commentators shall make available to the
secretary all supporting materials not already in-
cluded in the administrative record.

(f) The response to all relevant comments con-
cerning any permit actions and the reasons for
changing any provisions in the draft permit shall
be issued when the final permit decision is issued.

(g) The response to comments shall be made
available to the public upon request. (Authorized
by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-
1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective
July 6, 2009.)

28-45h-23. Modification and transfer of
a brine pond permit; variance. (a) Any reissu-
ance or modification of a brine pond permit and
any variance may be authorized by the secretary
for a term of less than 10 years.

(b) The automatic transfer of a brine pond per-
mit shall be prohibited. The terms of a permit
transfer shall include the following:

(1) Each person requesting a permit transfer
shall submit a completed application to the sec-
retary at least 60 days before the proposed effec-
tive date of the transfer.

(2) Each permittee shall comply with the
requirements of the existing permit until the sec-
retary reissues the permit.

(c) Any permit for a brine pond may be modi-
fied by the secretary for any of the following
reasons:

(1) The secretary receives information not avail-
able when the permit was issued.

(2) The secretary receives a request for a
modification.

(3) The secretary conducts a review of the per-
mit file and determines that a modification is
necessary.

(d) Only the permit actions subject to modifi-
cation shall be reopened.

(e) Minor modifications that shall not require
public notification shall include the following:

(1) Correction of typographical errors;

(2) requirements for more frequent monitoring
or reporting by the permittee;

(3) date change in a schedule of compliance;

reference
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(4) change in ownership or operational control
of the facility, unless the secretary determines that
public notification is necessary to protect the pub-
lic interest;

(5) change in construction requirements, if ap-
proved by the secretary; and

(6) amendments to a brine pond closure plan.

(f) A draft permit and notification to the public
shall be required if any of the following conditions
is met:

(1) A permittee proposes substantial alterations
to the brine ponds or proposes any activity that
justifies a change in permit requirements, includ-
ing cumulative effects on public health, safety, or
the environment.

(2) Information has become available that
would have initially justified different permit
conditions.

(3) The regulations on which the permit was
based have changed because of the promulgation
of new or amended regulations or because of a
judicial decision.

(g) Any permittee may request a permit modi-
fication within 180 days after any of the following:

(1) The adoption of any new regulations;

(2) any deadline to achieve compliance with
regulations before the expiration date of the per-
mit; or

(3) any judicial remand and stay of a promul-
gated regulation, if the permit condition was
based on the remanded regulation. (Authorized
by K.S.A. 551,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-
1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective
July 6, 2009.)

28-45b-24. Signatories for brine pond
permit applications and reports. (a) Each ap-
plicant for a permit for a new brine pond shall
designate at least one signatory to sign the permit
applications and reports required by the secretary.

(b) The positions that may be approved by the
secretary as signatories shall include any of the
following:

(1) Operations manager;

(2) brine pond specialist; or

(3) any position with responsibility at least
equivalent to that required by the positions listed
in this subsection.

(c) Any signatory may submit written notifica-
tion to the secretary specifying a position having
responsibility for the overall operation of the fa-
cility or activity to act as a designated signatory.

(d) Each signatory and each signatory’s desig-

nee shall submit a signature statement, on a form
furnished by the department, to the secretary with
the brine pond permit application. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a;
implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6,
2009.)

28-45b-25. Financial assurance for
brine pond closure. (a) Each applicant for a per-
mit for a new brine pond shall submit, with the
application and annually thereafter on or before
the permit renewal date, proof of financial assur-
ance to the secretary.

(b)(1) Each brine pond permittee shall estab-
lish financial assurance for the decommissioning
and abandonment of any brine pond permitted by
the secretary under this article.

(2) Each applicant and each permittee shall
meet the following requirements:

(A) Submit a detailed written estimate, in cur-
rent dollars, of the cost to close any brine pond at
the facility. The estimate shall be reviewed and
approved by a licensed professional engineer or
licensed geologist;

(B) develop an estimate of the closure cost for
each brine pond at the facility as follows:

(i) The estimate shall be based on the cost
charged by a third party to decommission the
brine pond in accordance with this article; and

(ii) the brine pond shall be assumed to be at
maximum storage capacity; and

(C) increase the closure cost estimate and the
amount of financial assurance provided if any
change in the brine pond closure plan or in the
operation increases the maximum cost of brine
pond closure at any time.

(c) Each permittee shall provide continuous fi-
nancial assurance coverage for closure until the
secretary approves the brine pond closure.

(d) Each permittee shall comply with the pro-
visions of the department’s document titled “pro-
cedure for demonstrating financial assurance for
a brine pond associated with a storage facility,”
procedure # UICLPG-30, dated October 2008,
which is hereby adopted by reference. (Author-
ized by K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-
1,117a; implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective
July 6, 2009.)

28-45h-26. Design, construction, and
maintenance of brine ponds. (a) Each applicant
for a brine pond permit shall submit a design and
construction plan for each new brine pond asso-
ciated with an underground crude oil storage fa-
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cility to the secretary. The design and construction
plan shall be approved if the secretary determines
that the plan is protective of public health, safety,
and the environment. Each brine pond shall be
designed by a licensed professional engineer.

(b) Each applicant shall ensure that the imper-
meable synthetic membrane liner system for each
brine pond consists of primary and secondary im-
permeable synthetic membrane liners with an in-
termediate leak detection system. The following
requirements shall apply:

(1) The primary and secondary liners shall each
be at least 30 mils in thickness.

(2) The engineer designing the brine pond shall
obtain a certification from the liner manufacturer
providing the following information:

(A) Confirmation that the specified liner is
compatible for use with the brine;

(B) confirmation that the specified liner is ul-
traviolet-resistant; and

(C) data for the manufacturer’s estimated leak-
age, permeability, or transmissivity rate for spe-
cific liners, including the rate of movement of flu-
ids through the synthetic membrane liner due to
the properties and thickness of the liner material,
expressed in units of volume per area per time;

(D) any normally expected manufacturing de-
fects in the liner material; and

(E) any normally expected defects associated
with the seaming and installation process.

(c) Each brine pond permittee shall submit a
contingency plan to the secretary that outlines the
procedures for brine containment issues associ-
ated with brine pond maintenance and dewatering
due to liner failure, repair, replacement, or ex-
pansion of the brine pond. The contingency plan
shall be approved if the secretary determines that
the plan is protective of public health, safety, and
the environment.

(d) Each permittee of an existing brine pond
and each applicant for a permit for a new brine
pond shall submit a flood response plan if the
brine pond is located in a floodplain or a flood-
prone area.

(e) Each permittee shall cease operations or
shall comply with instructions from the secretary
if the secretary determines that an imminent
threat to public health, safety, or the environment
exists due to any unsafe operating condition. The
permittee may resume operations if the secretary
determines that the brine pond operations no
longer pose a risk to public health, safety, or the
environment,

(f) Each permittee shall ensure that the primary
and secondary liners for each brine pond are sep-
arated to provide a conduit for the movement of
any fluid between the liners to the leak detection
monitoring location for detection and removal.

(g) Each permittee shall ensure that all mate-
rials between the primary and secondary liners are
capable of transmitting at least Y64 inch per acre
per day of flow with a head of no more than two
feet placed on the secondary liner. Acceptable
materials shall include the following:

(1) Clean sand;

(2) pea gravel;

(3) geotextile fabric;

(4) geonet-type material; and

(5) any alternatives recommended by the liner
manufacturer, if the secretary determines that the
alternatives are substantially equivalent to mate-
rials listed in this subsection.

(h) Each permittee shall ensure that the leak
detection system design for each brine pond limits
the maximum travel time required for fluid pen-
etrating the liner to reach the leak detection mon-
itoring location to 24 hours or less.

(i) Each permittee shall ensure that the bottom
of each brine pond has a slope adequate for the
proper operation of the leak detection system,
with not less than 0.5 percent for the slope for the
collection pipes and 1.0 percent for all other
slopes.

(j) Each permittee shall ensure that the dew-
atering system design for each brine pond is ca-
pable of the following:

(1) Monitoring the volume of fluid removed
from the intermediate space between the primary
and secondary liners; and

(2) pumping the volume of fluid generated
equal to 10 times the maximum allowable liner
leakage rate.

(k) Each permittee shall ensure that the com-
paction of all brine pond embankments and of the
upper six inches of the interior lagoon bottom be-
low the secondary liner meets all of the following
requirements:

(1) The maximum standard proctor density
shall be at least 95 percent at optimum moisture
to optimum moisture plus three percent.

(2) The maximum thickness of the layers of ma-
terial to be compacted shall not exceed six inches.

(3) The moisture content range of the com-
pacted soils shall be optimum moisture to opti-
mum moisture plus three percent.
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(4) The maximum size of dirt clods in the com-
pacted soil shall be less than one inch in diameter.

(1) Each permittee shall ensure that the follow-
ing requirements for the installation of the liners
at each brine pond are met:

(1) The primary and secondary liners shall be
anchored at the top of the brine pond dike in ac-
cordance with the liner manufacturer’s
instructions.

(2) Installation shall be performed in accord-
ance with the liner manufacturer’s instructions.

(3) Installation shall be performed by a con-
tractor experienced in the installation of imper-
meable synthetic membrane liners.

(4) On-site supervision of the liner installation
shall be provided by an individual that has expe-
rience in liner installation practices.

(m) Each permittee shall ensure that the vol-
ume of fluid monitored from the intermediate
leak detection system at the brine pond is based
on a rate of 10 percent of leak return system ca-
pacity and does not exceed 1,000 gallons per day
per acre of pond area.

(n) Each permittee shall submit, to the secre-
tary, a seam testing method to verify the adequacy
of the seaming process for the liners at each brine
pond. The following requirements shall apply:

(1) The testing method shall include the
following:

(A) The methods for destructive and nonde-
structive seam testing;

(B) the protocol describing the number of tests
per lineal foot of field seam;

(C) the size of the destructive test specimen
required; and

(D) any other pertinent quality control provi-
sions recommended by the liner manufacturer.

(2) All field seams shall be subjected to non-
destructive testing.

(o) Each permittee shall install an oil-brine sep-
arator to separate entrained product from the
brine used to transfer product. (Authorized by
K.S.A.55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a;
implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6,
2009.)

28-45b-27. Groundwater monitoring
for brine ponds. (a) Each applicant for a permit
for a new brine pond shall submit a groundwater
monitoring plan with the application for a brine
pond permit to the secretary for review and con-
sideration for approval. The monitoring plan shall
be approved if the secretary determines that the

plan is protective of public health, safety, and the
environment.

(b) Each applicant for a permit for a new brine
pond shall meet the following requirements:

(1) Install monitoring wells around the perim-
eter of the brine pond. The well spacing shall be
based on the geology and hydrogeology at the fa-
cility and shall be approved by the secretary if the
secretary determines that the well spacing is pro-
tective of public health, safety, and the environ-
ment; and

(2) set the screen in all shallow groundwater
monitoring wells at a depth that is inclusive of the
seasonal fluctuation of the water table.

(c) Each applicant for a permit for a new brine
pond shall submit, with the groundwater moni-
toring plan, a quality assurance plan to the sec-
retary for review and consideration for approval
to ensure the protection of public health, safety,
and the environment.

(d) Each permittee shall collect groundwater
samples and analyze the samples for chloride and
any other parameter determined by the secretary
as posing a potential threat to public health, safety,
and the environment. The reporting format shall
be determined by the secretary.

(1) Each permittee shall submit the following
to the department on a quarterly basis:

(A) The results for the chloride analyses from
groundwater samples; and

(B) a static groundwater level measurement for
each monitoring well.

(2) Each permittee shall monitor monthly for
the presence of combustible gas in the headspace
in monitoring wells and submit the results to the
department on a quarterly basis.

(e) Any permittee of a brine pond where chlo-
ride concentrations in the groundwater exceed
250 milligrams per liter may be required by the
secretary to submit a work plan, for review and
consideration for approval, that describes pro-
posed methods to delineate the extent of the con-
tamination and to control migration of the chlo-
ride contamination. (Authorized by K.S.A.
55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a; imple-
menting K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6, 2009.)

28-45h-28. Brine pond closure require-
ments. (a) Each brine pond permittee shall sub-
mit a closure plan, including monitoring and test-
ing requirements, to the secretary for review and
consideration for approval at least 60 days before
the closure of a brine pond. The closure plan shall
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be approved if the secretary determines that the
closure plan is protective of public health, safety,
and the environment.

(b) The permittee shall not commence closure
activities without the secretary’s prior approval.

(c) Each permittee shall include the following
information in the brine pond closure plan:

(1) The procedure for deactivating the various
brine lines employed at the facility;

(2) the procedures for the remediation, re-
moval, or disposal of brine, accumulated sludge in
the brine pond, contaminated soils, and contam-
inated groundwater;

(3) a description regarding the proposed main-
tenance, deactivation, conversion, or demolition
of the brine pond structure; and

(4) procedures addressing the plugging of any
water wells or groundwater monitoring wells as-
sociated with the brine pond. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 55-1,117 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 55-1,117a;
implementing K.S.A. 55-1,117; effective July 6,
2009.)

Article 53.—CHARITABLE HEALTH CARE
PROVIDERS

28-53-1. Definitions. (a) “Agreement”
means a written understanding between the sec-
retary and a “charitable health care provider,” as
defined in K.S.A. 75-6102 and amendments
thereto, regarding the rendering of professional
services to a medically indigent person.

(b) “Department” means the Kansas depart-
ment of health and environment.

(c) “Federally qualified health center” means
one of the following:

(1) An entity that meets the requirements for
federal funding in 42 USC 1396d(1)(2)(B) and has
been designated as a “federally qualified health
center” by the federal government; or

(2) an entity that, based on the recommenda-
tion of the federal health resources and services
administration, is deemed to meet the require-
ments of the federal grant program and has been
designated a “federally qualified health center
look-alike” by the federal government but does
not receive the federal grant funding specified in
42 USC 1396d(1)(2)(B).

(d) “Indigent health care clinic” has the mean-
ing specified in K.S.A. 75-6102, and amendments
thereto.

(e) “Local health department” has the meaning

specified in K.S.A. 65-241, and amendments
thereto.

(f) (1) “Point of entry” means an entity that per-
forms the following:

(A) Determines whether an individual meets
the criteria for a medically indigent person;

(B) refers any medically indigent person to a
charitable health care provider;

(C) has submitted a completed application to
the department on forms prescribed by the de-
partment; and

(D) agrees to maintain records and submit an
annual activity report as prescribed by the
secretary.

(2) This term may include either of the
following:

(A) An entity meeting the definition of “feder-
ally qualified health center” or “federally qualified
health center look-alike”; or

(B) an entity meeting the definition of “chari-
table health care provider” in K.S.A. 75-6102, and
amendments thereto.

(g) “Secretary” means the secretary of the Kan-
sas department of health and environment. (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 75-6120; ef-
fective April 1, 1991; amended July 13, 1992;
amended March 20, 2009.)

28-53-2. Agreement. (a) Each person or
entity applying for an agreement shall submit a
completed application to the department on
forms prescribed by the department.

(b) An agreement may be terminated by the
secretary or the charitable health care provider
with 30 days of prior written notice to the de-
partment. Failure of the charitable health care
provider to maintain the required licensure shall
constitute concurrent cancellation of the agree-
ment. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
75-6120; effective April 1, 1991; amended July 13,
1992; amended March 20, 2009.)

28-53-3. Eligibility criteria for a medi-
cally indigent person. An individual shall qualify
as a medically indigent person if a point of entry
determines that the individual meets either of the
following requirements:

(a) Is determined to be a member of a family
unit earning at or below 200% of the current fed-
eral poverty level and is not indemnified against
costs arising from medical and dental care by a
policy of accident and sickness insurance, an em-
ployee health benefits plan, or any similar cover-
age; or
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(b) is eligible for publicly funded health care
programs administered by the Kansas health pol-
icy authority or the department or is qualified for
Indian health services. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 75-6120; effective April 1, 1991;
amended March 20, 2009.)

28-53-4. Records and reports. (a) Each
charitable health care provider shall ensure that
each point of entry through which the charitable
health care provider delivers care meets the fol-
lowing requirements:

(1) Maintains the completed forms prescribed
by the department; and

(2) submits a completed annual activity report
to the department on a form prescribed by the
department.

(b) Failure of the charitable health care pro-
vider or the point of entry to comply with this
regulation shall be grounds for termination of the
agreement with the charitable health care pro-
vider. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
75-6120; effective April 1, 1991; amended March
20, 2009.)

28-53-5. Referrals. Each referral of pro-
fessional services shall be documented in the re-
cords of the point of entry. (Authorized by and
implementing K.S.A. 75-6120; effective April 1,
1991; amended March 20, 2009.)

Article 70.—CANCER REGISTRY

28-70-4. Confidential data for follow-up
patient studies. (a) For the purposes of this reg-
ulation, the following definitions shall apply:

(1) “Institutional review board” means an insti-
tutional review board established and conducted
pursuant to 45 CFR 46.101 through CFR 46.117,
as revised on October 1, 2008.

(2) “Person” shall mean a state university, a
state agency, or a county health department.

(b) Each person with a proposal for a follow-up
cancer study (“study”) shall submit the proposal
to each of the following for approval before the
commencement of the study:

(1) The person’s institutional review board;

(2) the department’s health and environmental
institutional review board;

(3) the university of Kansas medical center’s in-
stitutional review board; and

(4) the cancer registry data release board.

(c) Each study not approved by each board
specified in subsection (b) shall be returned to the

person for revisions. Any unapproved study may
be resubmitted to each board.

(d) After receiving the approvals required in
subsection (b) and before commencing the study,
the person proposing the study shall submit the
proposal for the study to the secretary or the sec-
retary’s designee for approval.

(e) Each person conducting an approved study
shall reimburse the cancer registry for all costs
pertaining to the retrieval of confidential data.
The cancer registry shall be credited by the per-
son on any publication or presentation when the
cancer registry data is used.

(f) Before proceeding with each study, the can-
cer registry director shall obtain informed consent
from each individual who is the subject of the data
or from that individual’s parent or legal guardian.
The consent form shall accompany or follow the
notice specified in subsection (g). Signing the con-
sent form shall indicate that the individual has
read and understands the information provided in
the notice.

(g) The cancer registry director shall deliver a
notice to each subject individual or the subject
individual’s parent or legal guardian. Each notice
shall include the following information:

(1) All details of the study to be conducted, in-
cluding the purpose, methodology, and public
health benefit; and

(2) the following information:

(A) Participation in the study is voluntary;

(B) the method of data collection will be at the
convenience of the subject individual. Data will
be collected in writing, by telephone, or by per-
sonal interview; and

(C) the subject individual will be provided with
a summary of the final report of the study. (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp.
65-1,172; effective June 12, 2009.)

Article 73.—ENVIRONMENTAL USE
CONTROLS PROGRAM

28-73-1. Definitions. (a) “Act” means
K.S.A. 65-1,221 et seq. and amendments thereto.

(b) “Applicant” means the owner, as defined in
K.S.A. 65-1,222 (¢) and amendments thereto, of
an eligible property who submits to the secretary
an application for approval of environmental use
controls for the eligible property.

(c) “Eligible property” means real property that
exhibits environmental contamination exceeding
department standards for unrestricted use and
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that is being or has been investigated or remedi-
ated, or both, as a result of participating in a de-
partment-approved program.

(d) “Environmental contamination” means
“pollution” or “contamination,” as those terms are
used in the following acts and statutes, as well as
any regulations adopted under the authority of
those statutes, unless this act or any of the follow-
ing acts specifically exclude or exempt certain
forms of pollution or contamination from the pro-
visions of this act:

(1) K.S.A. 65-3452a through K.S.A. 65-3457a,
and amendments thereto, concerning hazardous
substances;

(2) the voluntary cleanup and property rede-
velopment act, K.S.A. 65-34,161 through K.S.A.
65-34,174, and amendments thereto;

(3) the Kansas drycleaner environmental re-
sponse act, K.S.A. 65-34,141 through K.S.A. 65-
34,155, and amendments thereto;

(4) K.S.A. 65-3430 through K.S.A. 65-3447, and
amendments thereto, concerning hazardous
waste;

(5) K.S.A. 65-161 through K.S.A. 65-171y, and
amendments thereto, concerning the waters of
the state;

(6) the Kansas storage tank act, K.S.A. 65-
34,100 through K.S.A. 65-34,130, and amend-
ments thereto; and

(7) K.S.A. 65-3401 through K.S.A. 65-3427, and
amendments thereto, concerning solid waste.

(e) “Environmental use control agreement”
means a legal document specifically defining the
environmental use controls and other related
requirements for an eligible property according to
K.AR. 28-73-3. The agreement shall be issued by
the secretary and shall be signed by the applicant.
The signatures of the secretary and applicant shall
be notarized, and as required by K.S.A. 65-1,225
and amendments thereto, the agreement shall be
recorded by the register of deeds in the county
where the eligible property is located.

(f) “Financial assurance” means any method of
guaranteeing or ensuring adequate financial ca-
pability that is approved by the secretary as part
of a long-term care agreement. One or more of
the following methods of financial assurance may
be required by the secretary as a part of a long-
term care agreement:

(1) An environmental insurance policy;

(2) a financial guarantee;

(3) a surety bond guaranteeing payment or per-
formance or a similar performance bond;

(4) an irrevocable letter of credit;

(5) documentation of the applicant’s qualifica-
tion as self-insurer; and

(6) other methods the secretary determines are
adequate to ensure the protection of public health
and safety and the environment.

Federal and state governmental entities that
qualify as applicants under these regulations shall
not be required to provide financial assurance.

(g) “Legal description” means identification of
the land boundaries of an eligible property that is
subject to an environmental use control agree-
ment. The identification of land boundaries shall
be provided by one or more of the following
methods:

(1) A definite and unequivocal identification of
lines and boundaries that contains dimensions to
enable the description to be plotted and retraced
and that describes the legal surveys by county and
by at least one of the following additional
identifiers:

(A) Government lot;

(B) aliquot parts; or

(C) quarter section, section, township, and
range;

(2) a metes and bounds legal survey commenc-
ing with a corner marked and established in the
U.S. public land survey system; or

(3) the identifying number or other description
of the subject lot, block, or subdivision if the land
is located in a recorded subdivision or recorded
addition to the subdivision.

(h) “Legal survey” means a boundary survey or
land survey that is performed by a land surveyor
licensed in the state of Kansas and that is con-
ducted for both of the following purposes:

(1) Describing, documenting, and locating the
boundary lines of an eligible property, a portion
of an eligible property, or both; and

(2) plotting a parcel of land that includes the
eligible property.

(i) “Long-term care agreement” means a legally
binding document that is entered into as provided
in K.A.R. 28-73-4 by an applicant and the secre-
tary and that describes the responsibilities and fi-
nancial obligations of the applicant to fund the
department’s inspection and maintenance activi-
ties at a category 3 property, as described in
K.S.A. 65-1,226 and amendments thereto.

(j) “Residual contamination” means environ-
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mental contamination remaining at a property
that prohibits the unrestricted use of that
property.

(k) “Unrestricted use” means that there are no
limits or conditions placed on the use of a prop-

erty, including use for residential purposes. (Au-
thorized by K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 65-1,232; imple-
menting K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 65-1,224 and
65-1,228; effective April 7, 2006; amended Jan.
30, 2009.)
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Agency 30

Department of Social and Rehabilitation Services

Articles

30-4. PUBLIC ASSISTANCE PROGRAM.
30-45. YOUTH SERVICES.
30-46. CHILD ABUSE AND NEGLECT.
30-63.

Article 4.—PUBLIC ASSISTANCE
PROGRAM

30-4-90. Eligibility factors specific to
the GA program. (a) To be eligible for GA, each
applicant or recipient shall meet the applicable
general eligibility requirements of K.A.R. 30-4-50
and the following specific eligibility requirements:

(1) Each applicant or recipient shall be ineli-
gible for GA under any of the following
circumstances:

(A) The applicant or recipient is eligible for a
federal cash program.

(B) The applicant or recipient has been denied
or rendered ineligible for a federal cash program
due to a voluntary action on the part of the appli-
cant or recipient.

(C) The applicant or recipient has been deter-
mined ineligible for or has been denied social se-
curity disability benefits, unless both of the follow-
ing conditions are met:

(i) The individual is exercising appeal rights at
any level through the appeals council. In this case,
the individual may receive assistance until social
security disability benefits are awarded or until
the individual is denied either disability benefits
or consideration by the appeals council.

(ii) Credible, competent medical evidence ex-
ists, as determined by the social security admin-
istration or by an entity designated by the social
security administration or the state of Kansas to
make the determination that the individual is dis-
abled as defined in title XVI of the social security
act and is unable to engage in employment.

(D) The applicant or recipient does not have a
medically determinable severe impairment, as de-
fined in title XVI of the social security act, as de-
termined by the social security administration or
by an entity designated by the social security ad-

DEVELOPMENTAL DISABILITIES—LICENSING PROVIDERS OF COMMUNITY SERVICES.

ministration or the state of Kansas to make this
determination.

(2) Each applicant or recipient is disabled or
has a medically determinable severe impairment,
as defined in title XVI of the social security act, as
determined by the social security administration
or by an entity designated by the social security
administration or the state of Kansas to make this
determination.

(3) The needs of the applicant or recipient and
the spouse of the applicant or recipient shall be
included in the same assistance plan, if the appli-
cant or recipient and the spouse are living to-
gether, except for persons who are not otherwise
eligible. In determining eligibility, the needs of
each of the following persons in the family group
who are not otherwise eligible shall be excluded
while the resources of those persons shall be in-
cluded, unless the resources are specifically
exempt:

(A) Any SSI recipient;

(B) any person denied assistance based on the
provisions of K.A.R. 30-4-50 (c) or (d);

(C) any person who is ineligible due to a sanc-
tion; and

(D) any alien who is ineligible because of the
citizenship and alienage requirements or sponsor-
ship provisions.

(b)(1) A presumptive eligibility determination
shall be made for each person who is being re-
leased from Osawatomie state hospital, rainbow
mental health facility, Larned state security hos-
pital, or Larned correctional mental health facility,
in accordance with an approved discharge plan.
Minimally, the presumptive determination shall
be based on available information concerning the
person’s income and resources. The general eli-
gibility requirements of K.A.R. 30-4-50 may be
waived until a formal eligibility determination is
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completed. The time limit specified in subsection
(e) of this regulation shall be waived for the period
during which assistance is provided in accordance
with paragraph (b)(2) of this regulation.

(2) The assistance provided shall equal 100
percent of the applicable GA budgetary standards,
and the requirements of K.A.R. 30-4-140 (a)(1)
shall be waived. The assistance shall not extend
beyond the month of discharge and the two fol-
lowing months, except that the assistance may be
extended by the secretary beyond the three-
month limitation for good cause.

(c) Each applicant or recipient who refuses to
authorize the department to file for and claim re-
imbursement from the social security administra-
tion for the amount of GA provided to the indi-
vidual, pending a determination of eligibility for
the supplemental security income program, shall
be ineligible for GA.

(d) Each applicant or recipient who fails or re-
fuses to cooperate with legal counsel or any other
entity assigned by the agency or retained by the
applicant or recipient to aid, advise, assist, or rep-
resent the applicant or recipient with regard to
applying for and securing social security disability
benefits shall be ineligible for GA.

(e) Assistance under this regulation shall be
limited to a lifetime maximum of 18 calendar
months, or a time frame to be determined by the
secretary. This determination shall be based on
the level of appropriations received for the
program.

(f) The lifetime maximum of 18 calendar
months or the time frame established by the sec-
retary shall not apply if the GA recipient is also
receiving Medicaid benefits and one of the follow-
ing conditions is met:

(1) The individual’s initial application for social
security disability benefits is still pending the ini-
tial determination or is currently on appeal. If the
individual is otherwise eligible and is either await-
ing the initial determination or exercising appeal
rights at any level through the appeals council, the
individual may receive assistance until social se-
curity disability benefits are awarded or until the
individual is denied either disability benefits or
consideration by the appeals council.

(2) The individual has reapplied for social se-
curity disability benefits and establishes by credi-
ble, competent medical evidence, as determined
by the social security administration or by an en-
tity designated by the social security administra-
tion or the state of Kansas to make such a deter-

mination, either that a new impairment exists or
that the existing impairment has increased in se-
verity since the individual originally applied for
social security disability benefits. The individual
may receive assistance until social security disa-
bility benefits are awarded or until the individual
is denied either disability benefits or considera-
tion by the appeals council.

(g) This regulation shall be effective on and af-
ter July 1, 2009. (Authorized by K.S.A. 39-708c;
implementing K.S.A. 39-708c¢ and K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 39-709; effective May 1, 1981; amended, E-
82-11, June 17, 1981; amended May 1, 1982;
amended, T-84-8, March 29, 1983; amended May
1, 1983; amended, T-84-9, March 29, 1983;
amended May 1, 1984; amended, T-85-34, Dec.
19, 1984; amended May 1, 1985; amended May
1, 1986; amended May 1, 1987; amended, T-88-
14, July 1, 1987; amended, T-88-59, Dec. 16,
1987; amended May 1, 1988; amended Sept. 26,
1988; amended July 1, 1989; amended Oct. 1,
1989; amended, T-30-6-10-91, ]uly 1, 1991;
amended Oct. 28, 1991; amended, T-30-6-10-92,
July 1, 1992; amended Oct. 1, 1992; amended
Dec. 31, 1992; amended, T-30-2-15-93, Feb. 15,
1993; amended June 1, 1993; amended July 1,
1994; amended Jan. 1, 1997; amended March 1,
1997; amended Oct. 1, 1997; amended July 1,
2002; amended, T-30-5-27-04, July 1, 2004;
amended Aug. 6, 2004; amended July 1, 2006;
amended July 1, 2009.)

Article 45.—YOUTH SERVICES

30-45-20. Foster child educational as-
sistance. Any individual meeting the definition of
foster child in K.S.A. 75-53,112 (b), and amend-
ments thereto, and wanting to receive the benefits
of the foster child educational assistance act may
obtain an application form from any office of the
department of social and rehabilitation services
(“department”) or from any Kansas educational
institution, as defined in K.S.A. 75-53,112 and
amendments thereto. The individual shall submit
the completed application to the registrar’s office
at the educational institution where the applicant
enrolls. The applicant’s eligibility shall be verified
by the department upon receipt of the application
from the educational institution. Within 30 days
after enrollment, the student shall notify the de-
partment of that student’s enrollment status and
intended program of study. (Authorized by K.S.A.
2008 Supp. 75-53,117; implementing K.S.A. 2008
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Supp. 75-53,113 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-
53,120; effective July 6, 2009.)

Article 46.—CHILD ABUSE AND
NEGLECT

30-46-10. Definitions. For the purpose of
the child abuse and neglect registry, the following
definitions shall apply.

(a) “Abuse” means any act specified in K.S.A.
38-2202(x) or (cc), and amendments thereto, in-
volving a child who resides in Kansas or is found
in Kansas, regardless of where the act occurred.
This term shall include any act that occurred in
Kansas, regardless of where the child is found or
resides.

(b) “Alleged perpetrator” means the person
identified in the initial report or during the inves-
tigation as the person suspected of perpetrating
an act of abuse or neglect.

(c) “Child” means anyone under the age of 18
or anyone under the age of 21 and in the custody
of the secretary pursuant to K.S.A. 38-2255 and
amendments thereto.

(d) “Child abuse and neglect registry” means
the list of names for individuals identified by the
department as substantiated perpetrators.

(e) “Child care facility” has the meaning spec-
ified in K.S.A. 65-503 and amendments thereto.

(f)  “Department” means the Kansas depart-
ment of social and rehabilitation services.

(g) “Investigation” means the gathering and as-
sessing of information to determine if a child has
been harmed, as defined in K.S.A. 38-2202 (k) and
amendments thereto, as the result of abuse or ne-
glect, to identify the individual or individuals re-
sponsible, and to determine if the individual or
individuals identified should reside, work, or reg-
ularly volunteer in a child care facility.

(h) “Mental or emotional abuse” has the mean-
ing specified in K.S.A. 38-2202(x), and amend-
ments thereto, and shall include any act, behavior,
or omission that impairs or endangers a child’s
social or intellectual functioning. This term may
include the following:

(1) Terrorizing a child, by creating a climate of
fear or engaging in violent or threatening behavior
toward the child or toward others in the child’s
presence that demonstrates a flagrant disregard
for the child,;

(2) emotionally abandoning a child, by being

psychologically unavailable to the child, demon-

strating no attachment to the child, or failing to
provide adequate nurturance of the child; and

(3) corrupting a child, by teaching or rewarding
the child for unlawful, antisocial, or sexually ma-
ture behavior.

(i) “Neglect” has the meaning specified in
K.S.A. 38-2202(s), and amendments thereto, in-
volving a child who resides in Kansas or is found
in Kansas, regardless of where the act or failure
to act occurred. This term shall include any act or
failure to act that occurred in Kansas, regardless
of where the child is found or resides.

(j) “Sexual abuse” has the meaning specified in
K.S.A. 38-2202(cc), and amendments thereto, and
shall include contact solely between children only
if the contact also involves force, intimidation, dif-
ference in maturity, or coercion.

(k) “Substantiated perpetrator” and “perpetra-
tor” mean a person who has been validated by the
secretary or designee, using clear and convincing
evidence, to have committed an act of abuse or
neglect, regardless of where the person resides
and who should not be permitted to reside, work,
or regularly volunteer in a child care facility.
These terms shall replace the term “validated per-
petrator.” (Authorized by K.S.A. 39-708c; imple-
menting K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 38-2226 and 38-2230;
effective Jan. 2, 1989; amended Jan. 2, 1990;
amended Oct. 1, 1993; amended Jan. 1, 1997;
amended Oct. 3, 1997; amended July 9, 2004;
amended July 6, 2009.)

30-46-17. Expungement of record of
perpetrator from central registry. (a) Appli-
cation for expungement.

(1) Any perpetrator of abuse or neglect may
apply in writing to the secretary to have the per-
petrator’s record expunged from the central reg-
istry when three years have passed since the per-
petrator’s name was entered on the central
registry or when information is presented that was
not available at the time of the finding of abuse
or neglect.

(2) Each application for expungement shall
be referred to the expungement review panel.
The panel shall consist of the director of children
and family services or the director’s designee, the
chief legal counsel of the department or the coun-
sel’s designee, and a representative of the public
appointed by the secretary. The director of chil-
dren and family services or the director’s designee
shall chair the panel.

(b) Review hearing.
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(1) A review hearing shall be convened by the
panel, at which time the applicant may present
evidence supporting expungement of the appli-
cant’s name from the central registry. The appli-
cant shall have the burden of providing the panel
with the basis for granting the application. Evi-
dence in support of or in opposition to the appli-
cation may be presented by the regional office
that conducted the original investigation. An ap-
plication for expungement from a perpetrator
shall be accepted no more than once every 12
months.

(2) Recommendations of the review panel shall
be determined by majority vote. The following
factors shall be considered by the panel in making
its recommendation:

(A) The nature and severity of the act of abuse
or neglect;

(B) the number of findings of abuse or ne-
glect involving the applicant;

(C) if the applicant was a child at the time of
the findings of abuse or neglect for which
expungement is requested, the age of the appli-
cant at the time of this occurrence;

(D) circumstances that no longer exist that
contributed to the finding of abuse or neglect by
the applicant; and

(E) actions taken by the applicant to prevent
the reoccurrence of abuse or neglect.

(3) The review hearing shall be set within 30
days from the date the application for expunge-
ment is received by the department. A written no-
tice shall be sent to the applicant and the regional
office that made the finding by the director of
children and family services or the director’s des-
ignee at least 10 days before the hearing. The no-
tice shall state the day, hour, and place of the
hearing. Continuances may be granted only for
good cause.

(4) A written recommendation to the secretary
shall be rendered by the panel within 60 days from
the date of the hearing. The recommendation to
the secretary shall be submitted in writing and
shall set forth the reasons for the
recommendation.

(c) Expungement.

(1) Based upon findings and recommendations
of the panel, a record may be expunged or
expungement may be denied by the secretary.

(2) Any record may be expunged from the cen-
tral registry by the secretary or the designee of
the secretary when 18 years have passed since the
most recent finding of abuse or neglect.

(3) Each record of a perpetrator who was under
18 at the time of abuse or neglect shall be ex-
punged five years after the finding of abuse or
neglect is entered in the central registry if the per-
petrator has had none of the following after entry
in the registry:

(A) A finding of abuse or neglect;

(B) juvenile offender adjudication for any act
that, if committed by an adult, would be a class A
person misdemeanor or any person felony; or

(C) criminal conviction for a class A person mis-
demeanor or any person felony.

(4) The decision of the secretary shall be in
writing and shall set forth the reasons for the de-
cision. Denial of the application shall be the final
agency order. The applicant shall be informed of
the right to appeal pursuant to the Kansas judicial
review act. (Authorized by K.S.A. 39-708c and 65-
516; implementing K.S.A. 65-516; effective Jan. 2,
1989; amended Jan. 1, 1990; amended July 1,
1997; amended July 9, 2004; amended July 6,
2009.)

Article 63.—DEVELOPMENTAL
DISABILITIES—LICENSING PROVIDERS
OF COMMUNITY SERVICES

30-63-10. License required; exceptions.
(a) Each individual, group, association, corpora-
tion, local government department, or local quasi-
government agency providing services to persons
18 years of age or older in need of services greater
than those provided in a boarding care home as
defined in K.S.A. 39-923(a) (8), and amendments
thereto, shall be licensed in accordance with the
provisions of this article, except when those serv-
ices are provided in or by any of the following:

(1) In a medical care facility, as defined and
required to be licensed in K.S.A. 65-425 et seq.
and amendments thereto;

(2) in a nursing facility, nursing facility for men-
tal health, intermediate care facility for the men-
tally retarded, assisted living facility, or residential
health care facility, or in a home plus setting, as
defined and required to be licensed in K.S.A. 39-
923 et seq. and amendments thereto;

(3) by a home health agency, as defined and
provided for the licensing of in K.S.A. 65-5101 et
seq. and amendments thereto; or

(4) in a manner so that the services constitute
in-home services, funded under the federal home-
and community-based services/mental retardation
waiver or with state funding under terms like
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those of the federal home- and community-based
services/mental retardation waiver, and are pro-
vided in compliance with all of the following
conditions:

(A) The services are directed and controlled by
an adult receiving services, the parent or parents
of a minor child receiving services, or the guardian
of an adult receiving services.

(B) The person or person’s representative di-
recting and controlling the services selects, trains,
manages, and dismisses the individual or business
entity providing the services and coordinates
payment.

(C) The person or person’s representative di-
recting and controlling the services owns, rents,
or leases the whole or a portion of the home in
which services are provided.

(D) If any individual providing services also
lives in the home in which services are provided,
there is a written agreement specifying that the
person receiving services will not be required to
move from the home if there is any change in who
provides services, and that any individual or busi-
ness entity chosen to provide services will be al-
lowed full and reasonable access to the home in
order to provide services.

(E) The person receiving services does not re-
ceive services in a home otherwise requiring a li-
cense pursuant to these regulations.

(F) Any individual providing services is at least
16 years of age, or at least 18 years of age if a
sibling of the person receiving services, unless an
exception to this requirement has been granted
by the commission, based upon the needs of the
person receiving services.

(G) Any individual or business entity providing
services receives at least 15 hours of prescribed
training, or the person or person’s representative
directing and controlling the services has provided
written certification to the community develop-
mental disability organization (CDDO) that suf-
ficient training to meet the person’s needs has
been provided.

(H) The person or person’s representative di-
recting and controlling the services has chosen
case management from the CDDO or an agency
affiliated with the CDDO. That case management
may be limited, at the choice of the person or
person’s representative directing and controlling
the services, to reviewing the services on a regular
basis to ensure that the person’s needs are met,
annual reevaluation of continued eligibility for

funding, and development of the person’s plan of
care.

(I) The person or person’s representative di-
recting and controlling the services cooperates
with the CDDO’s quality assurance committee
and allows review of the services as deemed nec-
essary by the committee to ensure that the per-
son’s needs are met. In addition, the person di-
recting and controlling the services cooperates
with the commission and allows monitoring of the
person’s services to ensure that the case manager
and the CDDO’s quality assurance committee
have adequately reviewed and determined that
the person’s needs are met.

(]) The person or person’s representative di-
recting and controlling the services agrees to both
of the following:

(i) If it is determined by the CDDO or the com-
mission that the person receiving services is or
could be at risk of imminent harm to the person’s
health, safety, or welfare, the person or person’s
representative directing and controlling the serv-
ices shall correct the situation promptly.

(ii) If the situation is not so corrected, after no-
tice and an opportunity to appeal, funding for the
services shall not continue.

(b) Each license issued pursuant to this article
shall be valid only for the provider named on the
license. Each substantial change of control or
ownership of either a corporation or other pro-
vider previously licensed pursuant to this article
shall void that license and shall require a reappli-
cation for licensure. (Authorized by K.S.A. 39-
1810 and K.S.A. 75-3304; implementing K.S.A.
39-1806 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-3307h; effec-
tive July 1, 1996; amended Oct. 1, 1998; amended
Jan. 15, 2010.)

30-63-11. Two types of license; display.
(a) Two types of license may be issued by the sec-
retary pursuant to this article to operate as a pro-
vider. One type shall be a “full license,” and the
other type shall be a “limited license.” Both types
of license may be issued on a “temporary” or on
a “with requirements” basis as specified in K.A.R.
30-63-12.

(b) Both licenses issued pursuant to this article
shall be prepared by the commission.

(c) Each holder of a license shall prominently
display the license in the holder’s principal place
of business.

(d) A full license shall apply to all providers ex-
cept those providers specified in subsection (e).
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(e) A “limited license” shall apply to providers
who provide services only to either one or two
specified persons to whom the provider is related
or with whom the provider has a preexisting re-
lationship. The services shall be provided in the
home of the person being served. A provider op-
erating with a limited license shall be afforded
greater flexibility in the means by which that pro-
vider is required to comply with all of the require-
ments of this article if the services are provided
in a manner that protects the health, safety, and
welfare of the specific person being served, as de-
termined by the commission. (Authorized by and
K.S.A. 39-1810 and K.S.A. 75-3304; implement-
ing K.S.A. 39-1806 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-
3307b; effective July 1, 1996; amended Jan. 15,
2010.)

30-63-12. Licensing procedure; re-
quirements; duration of license. (a) Each pro-
vider required to be licensed pursuant to this ar-
ticle shall submit an application for an appropriate
license to the commissioner, on a form provided
by the commission.

(b) For a full license, each applicant shall pro-
vide the following:

(1) Certification that the applicant’s chief di-
rector of services, regardless of title, is qualified
to develop and modify, if appropriate, a program
of individualized services to be provided to per-
sons as defined in K.A.R. 30-63-1, as evidenced
by that individual’s having either of the following:

(A) A bachelor’s or higher degree in a field of
human services awarded by an accredited college
or university; or

(B) work experience in the area of human serv-
ices at the rate of 1,040 hours of paid work ex-
perience substituted for a semester of higher ed-
ucation, which shall mean 15 undergraduate
credit hours, with at least eight full-time semes-
ter’s worth of either satisfactorily passed educa-
tion or work experience;

(2) certification that the applicant’s chief direc-
tor of services, regardless of title, is qualified to
supervise the delivery of a program of services to
persons, as evidenced by that individual’s having
one of the following:

(A) At least one year of experience in a senior
management-level position with a licensed
provider;

(B) at least two years of experience as either a
case manager or a services manager with super-

visory authority over at least two other individuals
providing direct services to persons; or

(C) at least five years of experience delivering
direct care services to persons;

(3) three letters of reference concerning the ap-
plicant’s chief director of services, regardless of
title. Each letter written shall be by an individual
knowledgeable both of the applicant and of the
delivery of services to persons;

(4) evidence of completion of a background
check meeting the requirements of the “SRS/CSS
policy regarding background checks,” dated Sep-
tember 8, 2009 and hereby adopted by reference,
done on the applicant’s chief director of services,
regardless of title;

(5) a set of written policies and procedures
specifying how the applicant intends to comply
with the requirements of this article;

(6) a written business plan that shows how the
applicant intends to market its services, to accom-
modate growth or retrenchment in the size of its
operations without jeopardizing consumer health
or safety issues, to respond to other risk factors as
could be foreseeable in the specific case of that
applicant, and to keep the operation fiscally sol-
vent during the next three years, unless the ap-
plication is for a renewal of a succession of licenses
that the applicant has had for at least three years.
In this case, the viability of the applicant’s oper-
ation shall be presumed, unless the commissioner
determines that there is reason to question the
viability of the licensed provider applying for li-
cense renewal and requires the submission of a
written business plan despite how long the re-
newal applicant has been previously licensed; and

(7) if required of the applicant by the United
States department of labor, a subminimum wage
and hour certificate.

(c) For a limited license, each applicant shall
provide the following:

(1) A description of the preexisting relationship
with the one or two persons proposed to be pro-
vided services;

(2) documentation that the individual who will
be chiefly responsible for providing services is
qualified to do so, as evidenced by that individual’s
having either of the following:

(A)(i) At least one year of work experience in
providing services to a person; and

(ii) completion of the curriculum of studies des-
ignated by the commission and accessed through
the commission’s web site; or
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(B) the qualifications specified in paragraph
(b)(1);

(3) evidence of completion of a background
check meeting the requirements of the back-
ground check policy adopted by reference in par-
agraph (b)(4), done on the individual who will be
chiefly responsible for the operations of the
applicant;

(4) a written plan that shows how the applicant
intends to comply with the requirements of this
article applicable to the specific circumstances of
the one or two persons to whom those services are
proposed to be provided; and

(5) a written business plan that shows how the
applicant intends to keep the applicant’s proposed
provider operation fiscally solvent during the next
three years, except as specified in this paragraph.
If the application is for a renewal of a succession
of licenses that the applicant has had for at least
three years, the viability of the applicant’s opera-
tion shall be presumed, unless the commissioner
determines that there is reason to question the
viability of the licensed provider applying for li-
cense renewal and requires the submission of a
written business plan, regardless how long the ap-
plicant has been previously licensed.

(d) Upon receipt of an application, the com-
mission shall determine whether the applicant is
in compliance with the requirements of subsec-
tion (b) or (c) and with this article.

(e) The applicant shall be notified in writing if
the commission finds that the applicant is not in
compliance with the requirements of subsection
(b) or (¢) or with this article.

(f) A temporary license or a temporary license
with requirements may be issued by the secretary
to allow an applicant to begin the operations of a
new provider. A license with requirements may
be issued by the secretary to allow a provider seek-
ing renewal of a previously issued license to con-
tinue operations. A license with requirements
shall be designated as contingent upon the pro-
vider’s developing, submitting to the commission,
and implementing an acceptable plan of correc-
tive action intended to bring the provider into
continuing compliance with the requirements of
this article.

(1) Findings made by the commission with re-
gard to the implementation of a plan of corrective
action shall be given to the provider in writing.

(2) Failure of a provider to be in compliance
with the requirements of this article or to imple-
ment an acceptable plan of corrective action may

be grounds for denial of a license whether or not
a temporary license or a license with requirements
has been issued.

(g) Based upon findings made by the commis-
sion regarding compliance with or the implemen-
tation of an acceptable plan of corrective action,
the commissioner shall determine whether to rec-
ommend issuance or denial of the full or limited
license applied for. The applicant shall be notified
in writing of any decision to recommend denial of
an application for a license. The notice shall
clearly state the reasons for a denial. The applicant
may appeal this denial to the administrative ap-
peals section pursuant to article seven of these
regulations.

(h)(1) A full or limited license issued pursuant
to this article shall remain in effect for not more
than two years from the date of issuance. The ex-
act date on which the license expires shall be
stated upon the license. However, the license shall
earlier expire under any of the following
circumstances:

(A) The license is revoked for cause.

(B) The license is voided.

(C) For a temporary license or a license with
requirements, the license is superseded by the is-
suance of a full or a limited license as applied for.

(D) The license is voluntarily surrendered by
the provider.

(2) Each license term shall be determined by
the commissioner based upon the commission’s
findings regarding the history and strength of the
applicant’s provider operations, including evi-
dence of the provider’s having earned certification
from a nationally recognized agency or organiza-
tion that specializes in certifying providers of
services.

(i) Each license with requirements shall specify
the length of time for which the license is valid,
which shall not exceed one year. Successive li-
censes with requirements may be issued by the
secretary, but successive licenses with require-
ments shall not be issued for more than two years.

(j) Each temporary license shall be valid for six
months. If, at the expiration of that six months,
the licensee has not yet commenced providing
services to any person but the licensee wishes to
continue efforts to market the licensee’s services,
a successive temporary license may be issued for
another six-month period. No further extensions
of a temporary license shall be granted.

(k) A license previously issued shall be voided
for any of the following reasons:
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(1) Issuance by mistake;

(2) a substantial change of control or ownership,
as provided for in K.A.R. 30-63-10(b); or

(3) for a limited license, the licensee’s cessation
of provision of services to the person or persons
for whom the license was specifically sought and
obtained.

(I) In order to renew a license, the licensee shall
reapply for a license in accordance with this
regulation.

(m) If a provider is licensed pursuant to this
article on or before the effective date of the
amendments to this regulation, the requirements
specified in either paragraphs (b)(1) and (b)(2) or
paragraph (c)(2) shall not apply to any renewal
request of that licensee made during the one-year
period following the effective date of these
amendments. (Authorized by K.S.A. 39-1810 and
K.S.A. 75-3304; implementing K.S.A. 39-1806
and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 75-3307b; effective July 1,
1996; amended Jan. 15, 2010.)
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Articles

40-1. GENERAL.

40-2. LIFE INSURANCE.

40-3. FIRE AND CASUALTY INSURANCE.
40-4. ACCIDENT AND HEALTH INSURANCE.
40-7.  AGENTS.

Article 1.—GENERAL
40-1-37. Audited financial reports; fil-

ing requirements. The Kansas insurance de-
partment’s “policy and procedure requiring an-
nual audited financial reports,” dated May 26,
2009, is hereby adopted by reference. (Authorized
by K.S.A. 40-103 and K.S.A. 40-225; implement-
ing K.S.A. 40-225; effective July 10, 1989;
amended Jan. 4, 1993; amended Sept. 14, 2001;
amended Sept. 21, 2007; amended July 6, 2009.)

40-1-38. Insurance companies; hazard-
ous financial condition; standards; corrective
actions. The Kansas insurance department’s “pol-
icy and procedure for companies deemed to be in
hazardous financial condition,” dated August 4,
2009, is hereby adopted by reference. (Authorized
by K.S.A. 40-103; implementing K.S.A. 40-222b
and K.S.A. 40-222d; effective, T-40-9-26-91, Sept.
26, 1991; effective Jan. 6, 1992; amended Nov. 20,
2009.)

Article 2.—LIFE INSURANCE

40-2-28. Preneed insurance contracts;
minimum standards for determining re-
serves. The Kansas insurance department’s “pol-
icy and procedure pertaining to preneed life in-
surance minimum standards for determining
reserve liabilities and nonforfeiture values,” ex-
cept section 1, dated November 25, 2008, is
hereby adopted by reference. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 40-103 and K.S.A. 40-409; implementing
K.S.A. 40-409; effective March 27, 2009.)

Article 3.—FIRE AND CASUALTY
INSURANCE

40-3-30. Fire and casualty insurance;
assigned risk plans; forms and procedures. (a)

Each insurance company authorized to transact
fire and casualty business in this state shall inform
its certified agents of the following:

(1) The Kansas assigned risk plans, their avail-
ability, eligibility, and other related procedures;
an

(2) the location of forms necessary to place
risks in the various Kansas assigned risk plans.

(b) All agents shall be informed of the as-
signed risk plans upon their initial appointment.
All appointed agents shall be informed of the as-
signed risk plans at least annually.

(c) This regulation shall apply only to agents
certified to write insurance for which a Kansas
assigned risk plan is available. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 40-103; implementing K.S.A. 40-2102 and
40-2109; effective Jan. 1, 1969; amended May 1,
1979; amended May 1, 1986; amended Feb. 13,
2009.)

40-3-56. Controlled insurance pro-
grams. Each controlled insurance program pro-
viding coverage for general liability or workers
compensation, or both, shall meet the following
requirements:

(a) Establish a method for the quarterly re-
porting of the participant’s respective claims de-
tails and loss information to that participant;

(b) provide that cancellation of any or all of the
coverage provided to a participant before comple-
tion of work on the applicable project shall require
the owner or contractor who establishes a con-
trolled insurance program to either replace the
insurance or pay the subcontractor’s cost to do so;

(c) not charge enrolled participants who are not
the sponsoring participants a deductible in excess
of $2,500 per occurrence or a per claim assess-
ment by the sponsor;

(d) keep self-insured retentions fully funded or
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collateralized by the owner or contractor estab-
lishing the controlled insurance program, except
that this subsection shall not apply to deductible
programs;

(e) disclose specific requirements for safety or
equipment before accepting bids from contractors
and subcontractors on a construction project; and

(f) allow monetary fines for alleged safety vio-
lations to be assessed only by government agen-
cies. (Authorized by K.S.A. 40-103 and 2009 HB
2214, sec. 3; implementing 2009 HB 2214, sec. 3;
effective Oct. 30, 2009.)

40-3-57. Controlled insurance pro-
grams including general liability. Each con-
trolled insurance program including general lia-
bility coverage for the participants shall require
the following:

(a) Coverage for completed operations liability
shall not, after substantial completion of a con-
struction project, be canceled, lapse, or expire be-
fore the limitation on actions has expired as estab-
lished by K.S.A. 60-513(b), and amendments
thereto, but in no case more than 10 years. If an-
other carrier takes responsibility for completed
operations liability coverage, any and all prior
completed operation liability carriers shall be re-
leased from completed operations liability unless
specified otherwise in subsequent policies.

(b) General liability coverage shall not be re-
quired of project participants except for liabilities
not arising on the site or sites of the construction
project, and any coverage maintained by the par-
ticipants shall cover liabilities not arising on the
site or sites of the construction project.

(c) The general liability coverage provided to
participants shall provide for severability of inter-
est, except with respect to limits of liability, so that
participants shall be treated as if separately cov-
ered under the policy.

(d) Participants shall be given the same shared
limits of liability coverage as those that apply to
the sponsoring participant under the controlled
insurance program.

(e) Participants shall not be required to waive
rights of recovery for claims covered by the con-
trolled insurance program against another partic-
ipant in the controlled insurance program covered
by general liability insurance provided by the con-
trolled insurance program. (Authorized by K.S.A.
40-103 and 2009 HB 2214, sec. 3; implementing
2009 HB 2214, sec. 3; effective Oct. 30, 2009.)

40-3-538. Controlled insurance pro-

grams including workers compensation lia-
bilities. Each controlled insurance program in-
cluding coverage for workers compensation
liabilities of the participants shall require the
following:

(a) Workers compensation coverage shall in-
clude all workers compensation for which payroll
attributable to the contractual agreement has
been reported and the premiums collected cov-
ering all services performed incidental to, arising
out of, or emanating from the construction site or
sites and the coming or going to or from the site
or sites. Nothing in this regulation shall be con-
strued to expand, reduce, or otherwise modify
current statutory law, regulations, or judicial de-
cisions regarding the scope of workers compen-
sation obligations regarding off-site injuries. This
regulation shall be limited to requiring that any
controlled insurance program provide coverage
for the work-related off-site injuries only to the
extent that the injuries would otherwise be cov-
ered under existing law and regulations. This reg-
ulation shall be construed to require that any con-
trolled insurance program provide coverage for
work-related off-site injuries to the extent that the
injuries would be covered under existing law as
interpreted by the courts.

(b) Participants shall not be required to provide
employment to a worker who has been injured on
the job unless both of the following conditions are
met:

(1) The worker’s treating health care provider
certifies that the worker is fit to perform the par-
ticipant’s work on the job site consistent with the
treating physician’s limitations.

(2) The employer has the preinjury job or mod-
ified work available. (Authorized by K.S.A. 40-
103, 2009 HB 2214, sec. 3, and 2009 HB 2214,
sec. 4; implementing 2009 HB 2214, sec. 3 and
sec. 4; effective Oct. 30, 2009.)

Article 4.—ACCIDENT AND HEALTH
INSURANCE

40-4-35. Medicare supplement policies;
minimum standards; requirements. (a) The
Kansas insurance department’s “policy and pro-
cedure to implement medicare supplement insur-
ance minimum standards,” including the appen-
dices, dated May 28, 2009, is hereby adopted by
reference, except for sections 1, 2, 25, and 26.

(b) This regulation shall supersede any other
Kansas insurance department regulation to the ex-
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tent that the other regulation or any provision of
it is inconsistent with or contrary to this
regulation.

(c) If any provision of the document adopted in
subsection (a) or the application of any provision
of this document to any person or circumstance is
for any reason deemed invalid, the remainder of
this regulation and the application of the provision
to other persons or circumstances shall not be af-
fected. (Authorized by K.S.A. 40-103, K.S.A. 40-
2221, and K.S.A. 40-2404a; implementing K.S.A.
2008 Supp. 40-2215, K.S.A. 40-2221, and K.S.A.
40-2403; effective May 1, 1982; amended May 1,
1984; amended May 1, 1986; effective, T-40-12-
16-88, Dec. 16, 1988; amended, T-40-3-31-89,
March 31, 1989; amended June 5, 1989; amended
Oct. 15, 1990; amended April 1, 1992; amended
May 24, 1996; amended, T-40-3-18-99, April 29,
1999; amended Aug. 20, 1999; amended Jan. 1,
2001; amended Sept. 7, 2001; amended Aug. 26,
2005; amended June 26, 2009.)

40-4-36. Accident and sickness insur-
ance; conversion policies; reasonable notice
of right to convert. (a) The requirements for
reasonable notice by the insurer of the right to
convert specified in K.S.A. 40-19¢06, K.S.A. 40-
2209, and K.S.A. 40-3209, and amendments
thereto, shall be fulfilled if, during the 18-month
continuation period, a form meeting the following
requirements is transmitted to the person eligible
for conversion:

(1) Describes the conversion options;

(2) describes the premiums or subscriber’s
charges for each option;

(3) provides instructions regarding the action
required to effect conversion; and

(4) describes the availability of types of cov-
erage through the Kansas health insurance
association.

(b) Insurers may include provisions in their
group policies, subscription agreements, and cer-
tificates of coverage that are necessary to identify
or obtain identification of persons and events that
would activate the continuation and conversion
rights created by K.S.A. 40-19¢06, K.S.A. 40-
2209, and K.S.A. 40-3209, and amendments
thereto. (Authorized by K.S.A. 40-103 and K.S.A.
2007 Supp. 40-2209, as amended by L. 2008, Ch.
164, §5; implementing K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 40-
19¢06, as amended by L. 2008, Ch. 164, §3, 40-
2209, as amended by L. 2008, Ch. 164, {5, and
40-3209, as amended by L. 2008, Ch. 164, §7;

effective, T-86-3, Jan. 9, 1985; effective May 1,
1985; amended May 1, 1986; amended May 29,
1998; amended April 25, 2003; amended Sept. 4,
2009.)

40-4-37v. Long-term care; agent train-
ing. (a) On and after July 1, 2010, each licensed
insurance agent who is an individual and who sells,
solicits, or negotiates a long-term care partnership
program policy shall have four hours of initial
training in courses certified by the commissioner
of insurance as long-term care partnership pro-
gram training. For each biennium after obtaining
the initial training, each licensed insurance agent
who is an individual and who sells, solicits, or ne-
gotiates a long-term care partnership program
policy shall obtain at least one hour of training in
any course certified by the commissioner of in-
surance as long-term care partnership program
training.

(b) The number of hours required by this reg-
ulation may be used to meet the requirements of
K.S.A. 40-4903, and amendments thereto, if the
training is submitted to and approved by the com-
missioner of insurance for continuing education
credit. (Authorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 40-2137;
implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 40-2136; effec-
tive May 29, 2009.)

Article 7.—AGENTS

40-7-20a. Agents; continuing educa-
tion; approval of courses; requirements. (a)
Definitions. For the purposes of this regulation,
the following definitions shall apply:

(1) “Coordinator” means an individual who is
responsible for monitoring continuing education
offerings.

(2) “Course” means a series of lectures or les-
sons that deals with a particular subject following
a prearranged agenda or study plan and that may
culminate in a written examination.

(3) “Instructor” means an individual lecturing
in a continuing education offering.

(4) “Licensee,” “licensed agent,” and “agent”
mean a natural person licensed by this state as an
agent.

(5) “Person” means a natural person, firm, in-
stitution, partnership, corporation, or association.

(6) “Provider” and “providing organization”
mean a person or firm offering or providing in-
surance education.

(7)  “Self-study courses” means courses that
are primarily delivered or conducted in other than
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a classroom setting or with on-site instruction and
are designed to be completed independently by
the student.

(b) General requirements.

(1) Only courses that impart substantive and
procedural knowledge relating to insurance and
are beneficial to the insuring public after initial
licensing shall be approved for credit. Approved
courses shall be classified as life, health, and var-
iable contracts courses; property and casualty
courses; general courses; ethics courses; or gen-
eral management courses. Credit earned from
general courses, ethics courses, or general man-
agement courses shall be acceptable in meeting
the requirements for the property and casualty in-
surance or the life and health insurance license
classifications.

(2)  Courses of the following types shall not
meet the basic criteria for approvable courses de-
scribed in paragraph (1) of this subsection:

(A) Courses designed to prepare students for
a license examination;

(B) courses in mechanical office skills, includ-
ing typing, speed reading, and the use of calcu-
lators or other machines or equipment; and

(C) courses in sales promotion, including
meetings held in conjunction with the general
business of the licensee.

(3)(A)  Each licensee shall attend a course in
its entirety in order to receive full credit.

(B) Upon completion of each approved
course, the student shall receive credit for the
number of hours approved for the course, which
shall be equivalent to one hour of credit for each
hour of instruction.

(C) If the number of credit hours for which a
course is approved is fewer than the total number
of hours of the course presentation, the student
shall attend the entire course in order to receive
credit for the number of approved hours.

(D) The number of approved hours shall not
include time spent on introductions, breaks, or
other activities not directly related to approved
educational information or material.

(E) Neither a student nor an instructor shall
earn full credit for attending or instructing any
subsequent offering of the same course in the cur-
rent biennial license period after attending or
teaching the course.

(4) Course examinations shall not be required
for approval of continuing education courses ex-
cept self-study courses.

(5) Each provider shall submit proposed

courses to the commissioner or the commis-
sioner’s designee for preapproval at least 30 days
before the date on which the course is to be held.

(6) An advertisement shall not state or imply
that a course has been approved by the commis-
sioner or the commissioner’s designee unless writ-
ten confirmation of this approval has been re-
ceived by the provider or the course is advertised
as having approval pending.

(7) If approval has been granted for the initial
offering of a course, approval for subsequent of-
ferings not disclosed in the initial submission may
be obtained by providing written notification to
the commissioner or the commissioner’s designee
at least 30 days before the date the program is to
be held, indicating that no change has been made
in the course and specifying the additional times
and places the course will be presented.

(8) The provider shall submit all fees required
for individual course approval with the course
submission. If the provider elects to pay the pre-
scribed fee for all courses, the provider shall pay
the fee annually and shall submit the fee with the
first course submission each year.

(9) Each course of study, except self-study
courses, shall be conducted in a classroom or
other facility that comfortably accommodates the
faculty and the number of students enrolled. The
provider may limit the number of students en-
rolled in a course.

(10)(A) Each successfully completed course
leading to a nationally or regionally recognized
designation shall receive credit as approved by the
commissioner or the commissioner’s designee.

(B) Any agent attending at least 80 but less
than 100 percent of regularly scheduled classroom
sessions for any single course may receive full ed-
ucational credit if the course is filed as a formal
classroom course. This credit may be earned to
the extent that adequate records are maintained
and appropriate certification of such attendance
is provided by the course instructor.

(11)(A) The amount of credit received by an
agent for a self-study course shall be based upon
successful completion of the course and an inde-
pendently monitored examination subject to the
number of hours assigned by the commissioner or
the commissioner’s designee.

(B) Examination monitors shall not be affili-
ated in any way with the providing organization or
the licensee and shall be subject to approval by
the commissioner or the commissioner’s designee.
Each examination utilized or to be utilized shall
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be included in the material submitted for course
approval. No examination shall be approved un-
less the commissioner is satisfied that security
procedures protecting the integrity of the exami-
nation can be maintained. If security is compro-
mised, no credit shall be granted.

(C) Each provider of self-study courses shall
clearly disclose to any agent wishing to receive
credit in Kansas the number of hours for which
that particular course has been approved by the
commissioner or the commissioner’s designee.

(D) Each self-study course provided online
shall meet the following requirements:

(i) Require the agent to enroll and pay for the
course before having access to the course
materials;

(ii) prevent access to the course exam before
review of the course materials;

(iii) prevent the downloading of any course
exam;

(iv) provide review questions at the end of
each unit or chapter and prevent access to the
following unit or chapter until the review ques-
tions after the previous unit or chapter have been
correctly answered;

(v) provide exam questions that do not dupli-
cate unit review questions;

(vi) prevent alternately accessing course ma-
terials and course exams; and

(vii) prevent the issuance of a monitor affi-
davit until the course and course examination are
successfully completed.

(c) Each licensee or provider found to have
falsified a continuing education report to the com-
missioner shall be subject to suspension or revo-
cation of the licensee’s or provider’s insurance li-
cense in accordance with K.S.A. 40-4909 and
amendments thereto, a penalty as prescribed in
K.S.A. 40-254 and amendments thereto, or ter-
mination of approval as a provider.

(d) Course requirements.

(1) Each course of study shall have a coordi-
nator who is responsible for supervising the
course and ensuring compliance with the statutes
and regulations governing the offering of insur-
ance continuing education courses.

(2)(A) Each provider and each providing or-
ganization shall maintain accurate records relating
to course offerings, instructors, and student at-
tendance. If the coordinator leaves the employ of
the provider or otherwise ceases to monitor con-
tinuing education offerings, the records shall be
transferred to the replacement coordinator or an

officer of the provider. If a provider ceases oper-
ations, the coordinator shall maintain the records
or provide a custodian of the records acceptable
to the commissioner. In order to be acceptable, a
custodian shall agree to make copies of student
records available to students free of charge or at
a reasonable fee. The custodian of the records
shall not be the commissioner, under any
circumstances.

(B) Each provider shall provide students with
course completion certificates, in a manner pre-
scribed or approved by the commissioner, within
30 days after completion of the course. A provider
may require payment of the course tuition as a
condition for receiving the course completion
certificate.

(3) Each instructor shall possess at least one
of the following qualifications:

(A) Recent experience in the subject area be-
ing taught; or

(B) an appropriate professional designation in
the area being taught.

(4) Each instructor
following:

(A)  Comply with all laws and regulations per-
taining to insurance continuing education;

(B) provide the students with current and ac-
curate information;

(C) maintain an atmosphere conducive to
learning in a classroom; and

(D) provide assistance to the students and re-
spond to questions relating to course material.

(5)  Each provider, coordinator, and instructor
shall notify the commissioner within 10 days after
the occurrence of any of the following:

(A) A felony or misdemeanor conviction or
disciplinary action taken against a provider or
against an insurance or other occupational license
held by the coordinator or instructor; and

(B) any change of information contained in an
application for course approval.

(e) Licensee reporting requirement.

(1) Each licensee shall report continuing ed-
ucation credit on forms and in a manner pre-
scribed by the commissioner. Each course shall
be completed or attended during the reporting
period for which the credit hours are to be
applied.

(2) Each request for an extension permitted
by K.S.A. 40-4903 and amendments thereto shall
be submitted in writing not later than the report-
ing deadline and shall include an explanation and
independent verification of the hardship. (Au-

shall perform the
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thorized by K.S.A. 40-103 and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 28-90, Aug. 30, 1990; amended Oct. 15, 1990;
40-4916; implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 40- amended Feb. 8, 1993; amended April 11, 1997;
4903; effective May 15, 1989; amended, T-40-8- amended Feb. 9, 2007; amended May 22, 2009.)

136



Agency 48

Department of Labor—

Employment Security Board of Review

Editor’s Note:

The Kansas Department of Human Resources was renamed the
Kansas Department of Labor by Executive Reorganization Order

No. 31. See L. 2004, Ch. 191.
Editor’s Note:

Formerly referred to as Board of Review—Labor.

Articles
48-1. APPELLATE PROCEDURE.
48-2. BOARD: ORGANIZATION AND PROCEDURE.
48-3. APPEALS.
48-4. FILING APPEALS.

Article 1.—APPELLATE PROCEDURE
48-1-1. Filing of appeal. Each party ap-

ealing from a decision of an examiner or referee
shall file with any representative of the division of
employment a written notice of appeal stating the
reasons for the appeal. (Authorized by K.S.A.
2008 Supp. 44-709(g); implementing K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 44-709(b) and (c); effective Jan. 1, 1966;
amended Jan. 1, 1971; amended May 1, 1980;
amended Jan. 22, 2010.)

48-1-2. Notice of hearing. Upon the
scheduling of a hearing on an appeal, notice of
hearing on a form approved by the board of re-
view and titled notice of hearing shall be mailed
by the office of appeals to the last known address
of the claimant, employer, and other interested
parties, at least five days before the date of hear-
ing. The notice shall specify the time and place of
the hearing, issues to be decided, and an indica-
tion of whether the hearing will be by telephone
or in person. (Authorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp.
44-709(g); implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-
709(c) and (k); effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended
Jan. 1, 1971; amended Jan. 22, 2010.)

48-1-3. Disqualification of referees. No
referee shall participate in the hearing of an ap-
peal in which the referee has an interest. All chal-
lenges to the interest of any referee shall be made

to the referee on or before the date set for the
hearing unless good cause is shown for later chal-
lenges. Each challenge to the interest of a referee
shall be heard and decided immediately by the
referee or, at the referee’s discretion, referred to
the board of review. If the challenge is not heard
immediately or is referred to the board of review,
the hearing of the appeal shall be continued until
the disposition of the challenge. The referee shall
cause all parties to be notified of the new date set
for the hearing by mailing a notice to the last
known address of all parties to the appeal at least
five days before the date set for the hearing. (Au-
thorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(g); imple-
menting K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(d); effective
Jan. 1, 1966; amended May 1, 1980; amended Jan.
22, 2010.)

48-1-4. Conduct of hearing. (a) (1) Each
hearing shall be conducted informally and in such
a manner as to ascertain all of the facts and the
full rights of the parties.

(2) The referee shall receive evidence logically
tending to prove or disprove a given fact in issue,
including hearsay evidence and irrespective of
common law rules of evidence. Hearsay evidence
shall be admissible but carries less weight than
direct evidence and shall not be persuasive if the
other party contests its admissibility. Each party
submitting its evidence shall explain its relevance
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to the issue in question before the referee admits
the evidence into the record. The claimant and
any other party to an appeal before a referee shall
present pertinent evidence regarding the issues
involved.

(3) Uncorroborated hearsay evidence shall not
solely support a finding of fact or decision.

(4) If any evidence is unnecessarily cumulative
in effect or evidence neither proves nor disproves
relevant facts in issue, the referee shall, on objec-
tion of appellant, claimant, or interested party or
on that individual’s own motion, exclude or pro-
hibit any of this evidence from being received.

(b) When a party appears in person or by tele-
phone, the referee shall examine the party and the
party’s witnesses, if any, to the extent necessary to
ascertain all of the facts. During the hearing of
any appeal, the referee shall, with or without no-
tice to either of the parties, take any additional
evidence deemed necessary to determine the is-
sues identified in the notice of hearing. If during
the hearing a party raises an issue not identified
in the notice of hearing, the referee shall not de-
termine that issue or consider any evidence in
support of that issue unless the other party con-
sents to the referee’s deciding that issue.

(c) The parties to an appeal, with the consent
of the referee, may stipulate in writing or under
oath at the hearing as to the facts involved.

(d) The referee shall record the hearing by use
of a recording device or a court reporter. The re-
cording shall constitute the official record. Other
recording devices or methods shall not be allowed
in the hearing.

(e) (1) Hearings may be conducted in person or
by telephone, subject to the following require-
ments:

(A) The hearing shall be conducted by tele-
phone if none of the parties requests an in-person
hearing.

(B) If only one party requests an in-person
hearing, the referee shall have the discretion of
requiring all parties to appear in person or allow
the party not requesting an in-person hearing to
appear by telephone.

(C) If all the parties involved request an in-per-
son hearing before the date of a scheduled tele-
phone hearing, the matter shall be continued and
set for an in-person hearing.

(D) The party requesting the in-person hearing
shall be deemed to have agreed that the hearing
will be scheduled at a time and geographic loca-
tion to be determined by the office of appeals and

shall be deemed to have agreed to a delay of the
hearing to accommodate scheduling of the
hearing.

(E) An in-person hearing shall be held if
deemed necessary by the secretary of labor or the
secretary’s designee for the fair disposition of the
appeal.

(2) Each hearing scheduled in person or by tel-
ephone shall meet these requirements:

(A) Permit confrontation and cross-examination
of the parties and witnesses; and

(B) permit the simultaneous participation of all
parties.

(3) An authorized representative or an attorney
representing a party may appear by telephone at
a geographic location different from that of the
party represented.

(4) Documentary evidence shall be submitted
no later than 1:00 p.m. on the business day before
the hearing by mail or fax to the referee and op-
posing party. However, the referee shall allow the
submission of documentary evidence at the hear-
ing or after the hearing, if to do so is necessary
for the fair disposition of the appeal and the party
attempting to introduce the evidence shows to the
referee’s satisfaction there was good cause for not
submitting the evidence in advance of the hearing.

(f) If a party appears by telephone, the party
shall call as instructed by the notice of hearing no
later than 1:00 p.m. on the business day before
the scheduled hearing to give the telephone num-
ber at which the party and any witness can be
contacted by the referee at the time of the hear-
ing. If the hearing is continued, the referee shall
contact the parties and any witnesses at the tele-
phone numbers provided for the original hearing.
If a party or witness cannot be contacted at the
telephone number originally given, the party shall
call the office of appeals no later than 1:00 p.m.
on the regular business day before the date on
which the hearing is to be continued and shall give
the telephone number at which the party and any
witness can be contacted. Unless good cause is
shown to the referee, failure to provide the tele-
phone numbers as required by this subsection
shall constitute a nonappearance, and the hearing
shall proceed as scheduled without the participa-
tion of the party or witness.

(g) The appearance of a party or witness by cel-
lular or mobile telephone shall be permitted.
However, the referee shall allow the appearance
of a party or witness by cellular or mobile tele-
phone only if the use is under safe conditions. If
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the referee determines that the party or witness
is not using the cellular or mobile telephone under
safe conditions, the referee may stop the hearing
and continue the hearing until the party or witness
can participate safely. The unsafe use of a cellular
or mobile telephone shall include driving a vehicle
or operating any sort of mechanical device while
participating in the hearing.

If the transmission of the cellular or mobile tel-
ephone is disrupted, causing the call to be
dropped or making it difficult for the referee to
hear the party’s or witness’s testimony or speak to
the party or witness, the hearing shall proceed
without the participation of the party or witness.
If the hearing proceeds, the inability of the party
or witness to participate shall be considered a non-
appearance for the purpose of rendering a deci-
sion based on the merits of the case.

(h) If the ability of a party or witness to partic-
ipate in a hearing before a referee or the board of
review is impaired because of a disability or dif-
ficulty with the English language, the party shall
contact the office of appeals for assistance and in-
formation about a qualified interpreter. The use
of a personal interpreter for the purposes of pre-
senting the party’s argument and evidence and ex-
amining witnesses shall not be allowed. The only
interpreter permitted to give assistance to a party
or a witness in the hearing shall be an interpreter
approved by the office of appeals.

(i) All parties and witnesses shall testify under
oath and be subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 44-
719, and amendments thereto.

(j) (1) After making reasonable attempts allow-
able by the circumstances to secure the presence
of a witness or to obtain copies of documents in
the possession of the other party or third parties,
a party may request the issuance of a subpoena
for a witness or documents by submitting a writ-
ten request to the office of appeals. The request
shall contain the correct name and address of each
witness to be subpoenaed. If the subpoena is for
documents, the documents shall be described to
make them reasonably identifiable, and the re-
quest shall include the name of the party in pos-
session of those documents.

(2) The referee shall exercise discretion in de-
termining whether the party requesting the sub-
poena has made reasonable attempts as allowed
by the circumstances to secure the presence of a
witness or obtain the documents sought without
the use of a subpoena. If, in the opinion of the
referee, the requesting party has not made rea-

sonable efforts, the request shall be denied and
the matter shall be set for a hearing.

(3) The referee shall reschedule a hearing if a
subpoena cannot be effectively served in accord-
ance with the service requirements of K.S.A. 44-
714(h) and amendments thereto. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(g) and K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 44-714(g); implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp.
44-709(c) and (k), K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-714(h),
and K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-719; effective Jan. 1,
1966; amended Jan. 1, 1971; amended May 1,
1980; amended May 1, 1987; amended May 22,
1998; amended Jan. 22, 2010.)

48-1-5. Continuance of hearings; with-
drawal of appeal. The referee may continue any
hearing upon the referee’s own motion or upon
written application of any party to the appeal sub-
mitted to the referee no later than 1:00 p.m. on
the business day before the hearing. If a party be-
lieves that the party needs additional time beyond
what is scheduled for the hearing, the party shall
notify the referee of the need for allocating ad-
ditional time for the hearing no later than 1:00
p-m. on the business day before the hearing. The
referee shall exercise discretion whether to grant
a party’s request for a longer hearing than origi-
nally scheduled. (a) Failure to appear. If the ap-
pellant or any other party fails to appear at any
hearing, the referee shall make a decision based
on the record at hand. If the nonappearing party
within 10 days following the mailing of the deci-
sion petitions the referee for a hearing and shows
good cause for the nonappearance, the referee
shall set aside the decision and reschedule the
matter for hearing.

(b) Notice of continuance. The referee shall
cause notices to be mailed to the last known ad-
dress of all interested parties to the appeal wher-
ever there is a continuance.

(c) Withdrawal of appeal. An appellant, with the
consent of the referee, may withdraw an appeal
in writing or under oath at the hearing. (Author-
ized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(g); implement-
ing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(c) and (g); effective
Jan. 1, 1966; amended Jan. 1, 1971; amended May
1, 1980; amended Jan. 22, 2010.)

48-1-6. Determination of appeal. After
the hearing of an appeal, the referee shall, within
a reasonable time, announce findings of fact and
the decision with respect to the appeal. The de-
cision shall be in writing and shall be signed by
the referee. The referee shall set forth findings of
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fact with respect to the matters of appeal, the de-
cision, and the reasons for the decision. (a) Copies
of all decisions shall be mailed by the referee to
the last known address of the claimant, employer,
and all other interested parties to the appeal.

(b) All decisions shall contain the appeal rights
of the parties. (Authorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp.
44-709(g); implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-
709(c); effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended Jan. 1,
1971; amended May 1, 1980; amended Jan. 22,
2010.)

Article 2.—BOARD: ORGANIZATION AND
PROCEDURE

48-2-1. Creation and organization. Elec-
tion of officers. The board of review shall annually
in July elect one of its members chairperson. A
vice chairperson and the officers shall serve for
one year and until a successor is elected. (Au-
thorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(g); imple-
menting K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(f); effective
Jan. 1, 1966; amended Jan. 1, 1971; amended May
1, 1980; amended Jan. 22, 2010.)

48-2-2. Filing of appeal to the board of
review. Each party appealing from a decision of
a referee shall file with any representative of the
division of employment a written notice of appeal
within the period the law allows, stating the rea-
sons for the appeal. Copies of the notice of appeal
shall be mailed by the division of employment to
the last known address of all parties interested in
the decision of the referee that is being appealed.
(Authorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(g); im-
plementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(c) and (f);
effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended Jan. 1, 1971;
amended May 1, 1980; amended Jan. 22, 2010.)

48-2-3. Hearing of appeals. The board of
review shall accept appeals that have an appeala-
ble issue from any referee decision that has been
timely filed. The board’s decision on the merits
shall be based upon the evidence and the record
made before the referee and any additional evi-
dence that the board directs to be taken. (Au-
thorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(g); imple-
menting K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(c) and (f);
effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended Jan. 1, 1971;
amended May 1, 1980; amended Jan. 22, 2010.)

48-2-4. Additional evidence. The board of
review shall, at its discretion, remand any claim or
any issue involved in a claim to a referee or special
hearing officer for the taking of any additional ev-

idence that the board of review deems necessary.
The evidence shall be taken before the referee or
special hearing officer in the manner prescribed
for hearings before the referee. (Authorized by
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(g); implementing
K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(f); effective Jan. 1,
1966; amended May 1, 1980; amended Jan. 22,
2010.)

48-2-5. Decision of the board of review.
The board of review shall within a reasonable time
announce its findings of fact and decision with re-
spect to each appeal. The decision shall be in writ-
ing and signed by those members who concur
with the decision. If the decision is not unani-
mous, the decision of the majority shall control.
The minority opinion, including any written dis-
sent, shall be made a part of the record. Copies
of all decisions of the board of review shall be
mailed to the last known address of the parties to
the appeal. All decisions shall inform the parties
of their appeal rights. (Authorized by K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 44-709(g); implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp.
44-709(f) and (i); effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended
Jan. 1, 1971; amended May 1, 1980; amended Jan.
22, 2010.)

Article 3.—APPEALS

48-3-1. Witnesses. Each witness subpoe-
naed for any hearing before a referee or special
hearing officer shall be paid pursuant to K.S.A.
28-125 and K.S.A. 75-3203 and amendments
thereto. (Authorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-
709(g); implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-
709(h); effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended Jan. 1,
1971; amended May 1, 1980; amended Jan. 22,
2010.)

48-3-2. Representation before referee
and board of review. (a) Appearance in person.
The parties may appear in person and by an at-
torney or by an authorized representative.

(b) Representation by attorney. A party to the
proceeding may be represented by an attorney
who is regularly admitted to practice before the
supreme court of Kansas, or by any attorney from
without the state who complies with the provi-
sions of Kansas Supreme Court rule 116. Each
attorney representing a party before a referee
shall file an entry of appearance with the referee
before the hearing begins. Each attorney who did
not represent a party before the referee but is
representing a party before the board of review
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shall file an entry of appearance with the board of
review.

(c) Representation by an authorized represen-
tative.

(1) Any party may be represented by an au-
thorized representative. For the purpose of this
article, an authorized representative shall mean
any of the following:

(A) A union representative;

(B) an employee of an unemployment compen-
sation cost-control management firm;

(C) an employee of a corporate party; or

(D) a legal intern authorized to represent cli-
ents pursuant to the provisions of Kansas Su-
preme Court rule 719.

(2) A referee or the board of review may limit
or disallow participation in a hearing by an au-
thorized representative under either of the follow-
ing circumstances:

(A) The representative does not effectively aid
in the presentation of the represented party’s
case.

(B) The representative delays the orderly pro-
gression of the hearing.

(d) Standards of conduct. A referee or the
board of review may exclude a party, witness, or
a party’s representative from participation in the
hearing or may terminate the hearing and issue a
decision based upon the available evidence if a
party or a party’s representative intentionally and
repeatedly fails to observe the provisions of the
Kansas employment security law, the regulations
of the secretary of labor or the board of review,
or the instructions of a referee or the board of
review.

(e) Fees. No fees shall be charged or received
for the representation of an individual claiming
unemployment benefits until the fees have been
approved in accordance with K.S.A. 44-718(b) and
amendments thereto. (Authorized by K.S.A. 2008
Supp. 44-709(g); implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp.
44-709(c) and (k); effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended
Jan. 1, 1971; amended May 1, 1980; amended
May 1, 1987; amended Jan. 22, 2010.)

48-3-4. Service of notice. Notice of all
hearings or proceedings required by this article
shall, unless otherwise provided, be given by mail
to the last known address of the parties and other
interested parties. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(g); effective
Jan. 1, 1966; amended Jan. 22, 2010.)

48-3-5. Disqualification of board mem-
bers. No member of the board of review shall
participate in the consideration of any case in
which the member has an interest. (Authorized
by and implementing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-
709(g); effective Jan. 1, 1966; amended May 1,
1980; amended Jan. 22, 2010.)

Article 4.—FIILNG APPEALS

48-4-1. Notice of appeal; when filed.
Each notice of appeal filed in person shall be con-
sidered filed on the date delivered to any em-
ployee or representative of the division of em-
ployment. Each notice of appeal filed by mail shall
be considered filed on the date postmarked. If the
postmark on the envelope is illegible or is missing,
the appeal filed by mail shall be considered filed
on the date received by the agency less a calcu-
lated time reasonably expected to elapse enroute
between the place of mailing and the place of de-
livery, but in no case less than three days. (Au-
thorized by K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(g); imple-
menting K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(b) and (c);
effective Jan. 1, 1967; amended, E-70-32, July 1,
1970; amended Jan. 1, 1971; amended May 1,
1980; amended Jan. 22, 2010.)

48-4-2. Constructive filing. A notice of
appeal not filed on time as prescribed by K.S.A.
44-709, and amendments thereto, and these reg-
ulations may be considered timely filed if the ref-
eree or the board of review finds that the party
appealing failed to file a timely appeal because of
excusable neglect. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-709(g); effective,
E-70-32, July 1, 1970; effective Jan. 1, 1971;
amended Jan. 1, 1974; amended May 1, 1980;
amended Jan. 22, 2010.)
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Agency 51

Department of Labor—

Division of Workers Compensation

Editor’s Note:

The Kansas Department of Human Resources was renamed the Kansas Department of Labor by Executive

Reorganization Order No. 31. See L. 2004, Ch. 191.
Editor’s Note:

This agency was formerly entitled “Workmen’s Compensation Director,” see Executive Reorganization

Order No. 14 (L. 1976, ch. 354).

Articles
51-9. MEDICAL AND HOSPITAL.

Article 9.—MEDICAL AND HOSPITAL

531-9-7. Fees for medical and hospital
services. Fees for medical, surgical, hospital,
dental, and nursing services, medical equipment,
medical supplies, prescriptions, medical records,
and medical testimony rendered pursuant to the
Kansas workers compensation act shall be the
lesser of the usual and customary charge of the
health care provider, hospital, or other entity pro-
viding the health care services or the amount al-
lowed by the “schedule of medical fees” published
by the Kansas department of labor, dated January
1, 2010, and approved by the director of workers
compensation on September 27, 2009, including

the ground rules incorporated in the schedule and
the appendices, which is hereby adopted by
reference.

This regulation shall be effective on and after
January 1, 2010. (Authorized by and implement-
ing K.S.A. 2008 Supp. 44-510i; effective Jan. 1,
1966; amended Jan. 1, 1969; amended Jan. 1,
1973; amended May 1, 1976; amended May 1,
1978; amended, T-88-20, July 1, 1987; amended
May 1, 1988; amended Nov. 1, 1993; amended
April 5, 1996; amended Aug. 29, 1997; amended
Oct. 1, 1999; amended Dec. 1, 2001; amended
Dec. 1, 2003; amended Dec. 2, 2005; amended
Jan. 1, 2008; amended Jan. 1, 2010.)
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Agency 60
Kansas State Board of Nursing

Articles
60-2. REQUIREMENTS FOR APPROVED NURSING PROGRAMS.
60-9. CONTINUING EDUCATION FOR NURSES.
60-11. ADVANCED REGISTERED NURSE PRACTITIONERS.
60-13. FEES; REGISTERED NURSE ANESTHETIST.
60-15. PERFORMANCE OF SELECTED NURSING PROCEDURES IN SCHOOL SETTINGS.

Article 2—REQUIREMENTS FOR
APPROVED NURSING PROGRAMS

60-2-105. Clinical resources. (a) Written
contractual agreements between the nursing ed-
ucation program and each affiliating agency shall
be signed and kept on file in the nursing education
program office.

(b) Clinical learning experiences and sites shall
be selected to provide learning opportunities nec-
essary to achieve the nursing education program
objectives or outcomes.

(c) The faculty of each nursing education pro-
gram shall be responsible for student learning and
evaluation in the clinical area.

(d) The nursing education program shall pro-
vide verification that each affiliating agency used
for clinical instruction has clinical facilities that are
adequate for the number of students served in
terms of space, equipment, and other necessary
resources, including an adequate number of pa-
tients or clients necessary to meet the program
objectives or outcomes.

(e) A maximum of a 1:10 faculty-to-student ra-
tio, including students at observational sites, shall
be maintained during the clinical experience.

(f) Clinical observational experiences.

(1) The objectives or outcomes for each obser-
vational experience shall reflect observation rather
than participation in nursing interventions.

(2) Affiliating agencies in which observational
experiences take place shall not be required to be
staffed by registered nurses.

(3) Observational experiences shall constitute
no more than 15 percent of the total clinical hours
for the course, unless approved by the board.

(g) Clinical experiences with preceptors shall be

no more than 20 percent of the total clinical hours
of the nursing education program. This prohibi-
tion shall not apply to the capstone course.

(h) Each affiliating agency used for clinical in-
struction shall be staffed independently of student
assignments.

(i) The number of affiliating agencies used for
clinical experiences shall be adequate for meeting
curriculum objectives or outcomes. The nursing
education program faculty shall provide the affil-
iating agency staff with the organizing curriculum
framework and either objectives or outcomes for
clinical learning experiences used.

(j) A sufficient number and variety of patients
representing all age groups shall be utilized to
provide learning experiences that meet curricu-
lum objectives or outcomes. If more than one
nursing education program uses the same affili-
ating agency, the nursing education programs
shall document the availability of appropriate
learning experiences for all students. (Authorized
by and implementing K.S.A. 65-1119; effective
April 4, 1997; amended Jan. 24, 2003; amended
March 6, 2009.)

60-2-106. Educational facilities. (a)
Classrooms, laboratories, and conference rooms
shall be available when needed and shall be ade-
quate in size, number, and type according to the
number of students and the educational purposes
for which the rooms are to be used.

(b) Each nursing education program shall pro-
vide the following:

(1) A physical facility that is safe and is condu-
cive to learning;

(2) offices that are available and adequate in
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size, number, and type to provide the faculty with
privacy in counseling students;

(3) secure space for nursing student records;
and

(4) current technological resources.

(c) The library resources, instructional media,
and materials shall be of sufficient recency, per-
tinence, level of content, and quantity as indicated
by the curriculum to meet the needs of nursing
students and faculty. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 65-1119; effective April 4, 1997;
amended Jan. 24, 2003; amended March 6, 2009.)

Article 9.—CONTINUING EDUCATION
FOR NURSES

60-9-105. Definitions. (a) “Approval”
means the act of determining that a providership
application or course offering meets applicable
standards based on review of either the total pro-
gram or the individual offering.

(b) “Approved provider” means a person, or-
ganization, or institution that is approved by the
board and is responsible for the development, ad-
ministration, and evaluation of the continuing
nursing education (CNE) program or offering.

(c) “Authorship” means a person’s develop-
ment of a manuscript for print or a professional
paper for presentation. Each page of text, for-
matted according to the American psychological
association’s guidelines, shall equal three contact
hours.

(1) Authorship of a manuscript means a per-
son’s development of an original manuscript for a
journal article or text accepted by a publisher for
statewide or national distribution on a subject re-
lated to nursing or health care. Proof of accep-
tance from the editor or the published work shall
be deemed verification of this type of credit.
Credit shall be awarded only once per topic per
renewal period.

(2) Authorship of a professional research paper
means a person’s completion of a nursing research
project as principal investigator, co-investigator,
or project director and presentation to other
health professionals. A program brochure, course
syllabus, or letter from the offering provider iden-
tifying the person as a presenter shall be deemed
verification of this type of credit. Credit shall be
awarded only once.

(d) “Behavioral objectives” means the intended
outcome of instruction stated as measurable
learner behaviors.

(e) “Certificate” means a document that is
proof of completion of an offering consisting of
one or more contact hours.

(f) “CE transcript” means a document that is
proof of completion of one or more continuing
nursing education offerings.

(g) “Clinical hours” means planned learning ex-
periences in a clinical setting. Three clinical hours
equal one contact hour.

(h) “College course” means a class taken
through a college or university and meeting the
definition of CNE in K.S.A. 65-1117 and amend-
ments thereto. One college credit hour equals 15
contact hours.

(i) “Computer-based instruction” means a
learning application that provides computer con-
trol to solve an instructional problem or to facili-
tate an instructional opportunity.

(j) “Contact hour” means 50 minutes of partic-
ipation in a learning experience that meets the
definition of CNE in K.S.A. 65-1117, and amend-
ments thereto.

(k) “Distance learning” means the acquisition
of knowledge and skills through information and
instruction,  encompassing a  variety  of
technologies.

(I) “Independent study” means a self-paced
learning activity undertaken by the participant in
an unstructured setting under the guidance of and
monitored by an approved provider. This term
may include self-study programs, distance learn-
ing, and authorship.

(m) “Individual offering approval (IOA)” means
a request for approval of an education offering
meeting the definition of CNE but not presented
by an approved provider or other acceptable ap-
proving body.

(n) “In-service education” and “on-the-job
training” mean learning activities in the work set-
ting designed to assist the individual in fulfilling
job responsibilities. In-service education and on-
the-job-training shall not be eligible for CNE
credit.

(0) “Offering” means a single CNE learning ex-
perience designed to enhance knowledge, skills,
and attitudes related to nursing. Each offering
shall consist of at least one contact hour.

(p) “Orientation” means formal or informal in-
struction designed to acquaint employees with the
institution and the position. Orientation shall not
be considered CNE.

(q) “Program” means an organized effort to
achieve overall CNE goals.
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(r) “Refresher course” means a course of study
providing review of basic preparation and current
developments in nursing practice.

(s) “Total program evaluation” means a system-
atic process by which an approved provider ana-
lyzes outcomes of the overall continuing nursing
education program in order to make subsequent
decisions. (Authorized by K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 65-
1117, K.S.A. 65-1119, and K.S.A. 65-4203; imple-
menting K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 65-1117, K.S.A. 65-
1119, and K.S.A. 2007 Supp. 65-4205; effective
Sept. 2, 1991; amended March 9, 1992; amended
April 26, 1993; amended April 3, 1998; amended
April 20, 2001; amended Oct. 25, 2002; amended
March 6, 2009.)

60-9-107. Approval of continuing nursing
education. (a) Offerings of approved providers
shall be recognized by the board.

(1) Long-term provider. A completed applica-
tion for initial approval or five-year renewal for a
long-term continuing nursing education (CNE)
providership shall be submitted to the board at
least 60 days before a scheduled board meeting.

(2) Single offering provider. The application for
a single CNE offering shall be submitted to the
board at least 30 days before the anticipated date
of the first offering.

(b) Each applicant shall include the following
information on the application:

(1)(A) The name and address of the organiza-
tion; and

(B) the name and address of the department or
unit within the organization responsible for ap-
proving CNE, if different from the name and ad-
dress of the organization;

(2) the name, education, and experience of the
program coordinator responsible for CNE, as
specified in subsection (c);

(3) written policies and procedures, including
at least the following areas:

(A) Assessing the need and planning for CNE
activities;

(B) fee assessment;

(C) advertisements or offering announcements.
Published information shall contain the following
statement: “(name of provider) is approved as a
provider of continuing nursing education by the
Kansas State Board of Nursing. This course offer-
ing is approved for contact hours applicable for
RN, LPN, or LMHT relicensure. Kansas State
Board of Nursing provider number:

(D) for long-term providers, the offering ap-
proval process as specified in subsection (d);

(E) awarding contact hours, as specified in sub-
section (e);

(F) verifying participation and successful com-
pletion of the offering, as specified in subsections
(f) and (g);

(G) recordkeeping and record storage, as spec-
ified in subsection (h);

(H) notice of change of coordinator or required
policies and procedures. The program coordinator
shall notify the board in writing of any change of
the individual responsible for the providership or
required policies and procedures within 30 days;
and

(I) for long-term providers, a copy of the total
program evaluation plan; and

(4) the proposed continuing nursing education
offering, as specified in subsection (i).

(c) (1) Long-term provider. The individual re-
sponsible for CNE shall meet these requirements:

(A) Be a licensed professional nurse;

(B) have three years of clinical experience;

(C) have one year of experience in developing
and implementing nursing education; and

(D) have a baccalaureate degree, except those
individuals exempted under K.S.A. 65-1119 (e)
(6), and amendments thereto.

(2) Single offering provider. If the offering co-
ordinator is not a nurse, the applicant shall also
include the name, education, and experience of
the nurse consultant. The individual responsible
for CNE or the nurse consultant shall meet these
requirements:

(A) Be licensed to practice nursing; and

(B) have three years of clinical experience.

(d) For long-term providers, the policies and
procedures for the offering approval process shall
include the following;

(1) A summary of the planning;

(2) the behavioral objectives;

(3) the content, which shall meet the definition
of CNE in K.S.A. 65-1117, and amendments
thereto;

(4) the instructor’s education and experience,
documenting knowledge and expertise in the con-
tent area;

(5) a current bibliography that is reflective of
the offering content. The bibliography shall in-
clude books published within the past 10 years,
periodicals published within the past five years, or
both; and
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(6) an offering evaluation that includes each
participant’s assessment of the following:

(A) The achievement of each objective; and

(B) the expertise of each individual presenter.

(e) An approved provider may award any of the
following:

(1) Contact hours as documented on an offering
agenda for the actual time attended, including
partial credit for one or more contact hours;

(2) credit for fractions of hours over one contact
hour;

(3) instructor credit, which shall be two contact
hours for each hour of first-time preparation and
presentation of an approved offering, excluding
any standardized, prepared curriculum;

(4) independent study credit that is based on
the time required to complete the offering, as
documented by the provider’s pilot test results; or

(5) clinical hours.

(f) (1) Each provider shall maintain documen-
tation to verify that each participant attended the
offering. The provider shall require each partici-
pant to sign a daily roster, which shall contain the
following information:

(A) The provider’s name, address, provider
number, and coordinator;

(B) the date and title of the offering, and the
presenter or presenters; and

(C) the participant’s name and license number,
and the number of contact hours awarded.

(2) Each provider shall maintain documenta-
tion to verify completion of each independent
study offering, if applicable. To verify completion
of an independent study offering, the provider
shall maintain documentation that includes the
following:

(A) The provider’s name, address, provider
number, and coordinator;

(B) the participant’s name and license number,
and the number of contact hours awarded;

(C) the title of the offering;

(D) the date on which the offering was com-
pleted; and

(E) either the completion of a posttest or a re-
turn demonstration.

(g) (1) A certificate of attendance shall be
awarded to each participant after completion of
an offering, or a CE transcript shall be provided
according to the policies and procedures of the
long-term provider.

(2) Each certificate and each CE transcript shall
be complete before distribution to the participant.

(3) Each certificate and each CE transcript shall
contain the following information:

(A) The provider’s name, address, and provider
number;

(B) the title of the offering;

(C) the date or dates of attendance or
completion;

(D) the number of contact hours awarded and,
if applicable, the designation of any independent
study or instructor contact hours awarded;

(E) the signature of the individual responsible
for the providership; and

(F) the name and license number of the
participant.

(h)(1) For each offering, the approved provider
shall retain the following for two years:

(A) A summary of the planning;

(B) a copy of the offering announcement or
brochure;

(C) the title and objectives;

(D) the offering agenda or, for independent
study, pilot test results;

(E) a bibliography;

(F) a summary of the participants” evaluations;

(G) each instructor’s education and experience;
and

(H) documentation to verify completion of the
offering, as specified in subsection (f).

(2) The record storage system used shall ensure
confidentiality and easy retrieval of records by au-
thorized individuals.

(3) Each approved single offering CNE pro-
vider shall submit to the board the original sig-
nature roster and a typed, alphabetized roster of
individuals who have completed an offering,
within 15 working days of course completion.

(i)(1) Long-term provider application. The pro-
vider shall submit two proposed offerings, includ-
ing the following:

(A) A summary of planning;

(B) a copy of the offering announcement or
brochure;

(C) the title and behavioral objectives;

(D) the offering agenda or, for independent
study, pilot test results;

(E) each instructor’s education and experience;

(F) a current bibliography, as specified in par-
agraph (d)(5); and

(G) the offering evaluation form.

(2) Single offering provider application. The
provider shall submit the proposed offering,
which shall include the information specified in

paragraphs (i)(1)(A) through (G).
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(j) (1) Long-term provider application. Each
prospective coordinator who has submitted an ap-
plication for a long-term CNE providership that
has been reviewed once and found deficient, or
has approval pending, shall submit all materials
required by this regulation at least two weeks be-
fore the next board meeting. If the application
does not meet all of the requirements or the pro-
spective coordinator does not contact the board
for an extension on or before this deadline, the
application process shall be considered aban-
doned. A new application and fee shall be sub-
mitted if a providership is still desired.

(2) Single offering approval application. If the
application for a single offering has been reviewed
and found deficient, or has approval pending, the
CNE coordinator shall submit all materials re-
quired by this regulation before the date of offer-
ing. If the apphcation does not meet requirements
before the offering deadline, the application shall
be considered abandoned. There shall be no ret-
roactive approval of single offerings.

(k) (1) Each approved long-term provider shall
pay a fee for the upcoming year and submit an
annual report for the period of July 1 through
June 30 of the previous year on or before the
deadline designated by the board. The annual re-
port shall contain the following:

(A) An evaluation of all the components of the
providership based on the total program evalua-
tion plan;

(B) a statistical summary report; and

(C) for each of the first two years of the provid-
ership, a copy of the records for one offering as
specified in paragraphs (h)(1)(A) through (H).

(2) If approved for the first time after January
1, a new long-term provider shall submit only the
statistical summary report and shall not be re-
quired to submit the annual fee or evaluation
based on the total program evaluation plan.

(1) (1) If the long-term provider does not renew
the providership, the provider shall notify the
board in writing of the location at which the of-
fering records will be accessible to the board for
two years.

(2) If' a provider does not continue to meet the
criteria for current approval established by regu-
lation or if there is a material misrepresentation
of any fact with the information submitted to the
board by an approved provider, approval may be
withdrawn or conditions relating to the providers-
hip may be applied by the board after giving the

approved provider notice and an opportunity to

be heard. These proceedings shall be conducted
in accordance with provisions of the Kansas ad-
ministrative procedures act.

(3) Any approved provider that has voluntarily
relinquished the providership or has had the pro-
vidership withdrawn by the board may reapply as
a long-term provider. The application shall be
submitted on forms supplied by the board and
accompanied by the designated, nonrefundable
fee as specified in K.A.R. 60-4-103(a)(3). (Au-
thorized by and implementing K.S.A. 2007 Supp.
65-1117 and K.S.A. 65-1119; effective March 9,
1992; amended Sept. 27, 1993; amended April 3,
1998; amended Oct. 25, 2002; amended March 6,
2009.)

Article 11.—ADVANCED REGISTERED
NURSE PRACTITIONERS

60-11-101. Definition of expanded role;
limitations; restrictions. (a) Each “advanced
registered nurse practitioner” (ARNP), as defined
by K.S.A. 65-1113 and amendments thereto, shall
function in an expanded role to provide primary,
secondary, and tertiary health care in the ARNP’s
category of advanced practice. Each ARNP shall
be authorized to make independent decisions
about advanced practice nursing needs of families,
patients, and clients and medical decisions based
on the authorization for collaborative practice
with one or more physicians. This regulation shall
not be deemed to require the immediate and
physical presence of the physician when care is
given by an ARNP. Each ARNP shall be directly
accountable and responsible to the consumer.

(b) “Authorization for collaborative practice”
shall mean that an ARNP is authorized to develop
and manage the medical plan of care for patients
or clients based upon an agreement developed
jointly and signed by the ARNP and one or more
physicians. Each ARNP and physician shall jointly
review the authorization for collaborative practice
annually. Each authorization for collaborative
practice shall include a cover page containing the
names and telephone numbers of the ARNP and
the physician, their signatures, and the date of re-
view by the ARNP and the physician. Each au-
thorization for collaborative practice shall be
maintained in either hard copy or electronic for-
mat at the ARNP’s principal place of practice.

(c) “Physician” shall mean a person licensed to
practice medicine and surgery by the state board
of healing arts.
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(d) “Prescription” shall have the meaning spec-
ified in K.S.A. 65-1626, and amendments thereto.

(e) “Prescription order” shall have the meaning
specified in K.S.A. 65-1626, and amendments
thereto. (Authorized by and implementing K.S.A.
65-1113 and K.S.A. 65-1130; effective May 1,
1984; amended March 31, 2000; amended Sept.
4, 2009.)

60-11-102. Categories of advanced reg-
istered nurse practitioners. The four categories
of advanced registered nurse practitioners certi-
fied by the board of nursing shall be the following:

(a) Clinical nurse specialist;

(b) nurse anesthetist;

(¢) nurse-midwife; and

(d) nurse practitioner. (Authorized by and im-
plementing K.S.A. 65-1113, 65-1130; effective
May 1, 1984; amended Sept. 4, 2009.)

60-11-103. Educational requirements
for advanced registered nurse practitioners.
(a) To be issued a certificate of qualification as an
advanced registered nurse practitioner in any of
the categories of advanced practice, as identified
in K.A.R. 60-11-102, each applicant shall meet at
least one of the following criteria:

(1) Complete a formal, post-basic nursing ed-
ucation program located or offered in Kansas that
has been approved by the board and prepares the
nurse to function in the advanced role for which
application is made;

(2) complete a formal, post-basic nursing edu-
cation program that is not located or offered in
Kansas but is determined by the board to meet
the standards for program approval established by
K.A.R. 60-17-101 through 60-17-108;

(3) have completed a formal, post-basic nursing
education program that may be no longer in ex-
istence but is determined by the board to meet
standards at least as stringent as those required
for program approval by the board at the time of
graduation;

(4) hold a current certificate of authority to
practice as an advanced registered nurse practi-
tioner in the category for which application is
made and that meets the following criteria:

(A) Was issued by another board of nursing; and

(B) required completion of a program meeting
standards equal to or greater than those estab-
lished by K.A.R. 60-17-101 through 60-17-108; or

(5) complete a formal educational program of
post-basic study and clinical experience that can
be demonstrated by the applicant to have suffi-

ciently prepared the applicant for practice in the
category of advanced practice for which applica-
tion is made. The applicant shall show that the
curriculum of the program is consistent with pub-
lic health and safety policy and that it prepared
individuals to perform acts generally recognized
by the nursing profession as capable of being per-
formed by persons with post-basic education in
nursing.

(b) Each applicant for a certificate of qualifi-
cation as an advanced registered nurse practi-
tioner in a category other than anesthesia or mid-
wifery shall meet one of the following
requirements:

(1) Have met one of the requirements of sub-
section (a) before July 1, 1994;

(2) if none of the requirements in subsection
(a) have been met before July 1, 1994, meet one
of the requirements of subsection (a) and hold a
baccalaureate or higher degree in nursing; or

(3) if none of the requirements in subsection
(a) have been met before July 1, 2002, meet one
of the requirements of subsection (a) and hold a
master’s or higher degree in a clinical area of
nursing.

(c) Each applicant for a certificate of qualifi-
cation as an advanced registered nurse practi-
tioner in the category of anesthesia shall meet one
of the following requirements:

(1) Have met one of the requirements of sub-
section (a) before July 1, 2002; or

(2) if none of the requirements in subsection
(a) have been met before July 1, 2002, meet one
of the requirements of subsection (a) and hold a
master’s degree or a higher degree in nurse an-
esthesia or a related field.

(d) Each applicant for a certificate of qualifi-
cation as an advanced registered nurse practi-
tioner in the category of midwifery shall meet one
of the following requirements:

(1) Have met one of the requirements of sub-
section (a) before July 1, 2000;

(2) if none of the requirements in subsection
(a) have been met before July 1, 2000, meet one
of the requirements of subsection (a) and hold a
baccalaureate degree in nursing; or

(3) if none of the requirements in subsection
(a) are met before January 1, 2010, meet one of
the requirements of subsection (a) and hold a
master’s degree or a higher degree in nursing,
midwifery, or a related field.

(e) A certificate of qualification may be granted
if an individual has been certified by a national
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nursing organization whose certification standards
have been approved by the board as equal to or
greater than the corresponding standards estab-
lished by the board for obtaining a certificate of
qualification to practice as an advanced registered
nurse practitioner. National nursing organizations
with certification standards that meet this stan-
dard shall be identified by the board, and a cur-
rent list of national nursing organizations with cer-
tification standards approved by the board shall
be maintained by the board. Any licensee may re-
quest that a certification program be considered
by the board for approval and, if approved, in-
cluded by the board on its list of national nursing
organizations  with  approved  certification
standards.

(f) Each applicant who completes an advanced
registered nurse practitioner program after Janu-
ary 1, 1997 shall have completed three college
hours in advanced pharmacology or the
equivalent.

(g) Each applicant who completes an advanced
registered nurse practitioner program after ]anu—
ary 1, 2001 in a category other than anesthesia or
midwifery shall have completed three college
hours in advanced pathophysiology or its equiva-
lent and three college hours in advanced health
assessment or its equivalent.

(h) Each applicant who completes an advanced
registered nurse practitioner program after July 1,
2009 shall have completed three college hours in
advanced pathophysiology or its equivalent and
three college hours in advanced health assessment
or its equivalent.

(i) Notwithstanding the provisions of subsec-
tions (a) through (h), each applicant for a certifi-
cate of qualification as an advanced registered
nurse practitioner who has not gained 1,000 hours
of advanced nursing practice during the five years
preceding the date of application shall be required
to successfully complete a refresher course as de-
fined by the board. (Authorized by and imple-
menting K.S.A. 65-1130; effective May 1, 1984;
amended, T-85-16, June 5, 1984; amended May
1, 1985; amended, T-60-11-14-90, Nov. 14, 1990;
amended, T-60-3-14-91, March 14, 1991;
amended Sept. 2, 1991; amended March 9, 1992;
amended Sept. 14, 1992; amended April 26, 1993;
amended Sept. 6, 1994; amended Jan. 3, 1997;
amended March 31, 2000; amended Sept. 4,
2009.)

60-11-104. Functions of the advanced

registered nurse practitioner in the category
of nurse practitioner. Each advanced registered
nurse practitioner in the category of nurse prac-
titioner shall function in an expanded role at a
specialized level, through the application of ad-
vance knowledge and skills and shall be author-
ized to perform the following: (a) Provide health
promotion and maintenance, disease prevention,
and independent nursing diagnosis, as defined in
K.S.A. 65-1113(b) and amendments thereto, and
treatment, as defined in K.S.A. 65-1113(c) and
amendments thereto, of acute and chronic
diseases;

(b) develop and manage the medical plan of
care for patients or clients, based on the authori-
zation for collaborative practice;

(c) provide health care services for which the
nurse practitioner is educationally prepared and
for which competency has been established and
maintained. Educational preparation may include
academic coursework, workshops, institutes, and
seminars if theory or clinical experience, or both,
are included;

(d) provide health care for individuals by man-
aging health problems encountered by patients
and clients; and

(e) provide innovation in evidence-based nurs-
ing practice based upon advanced clinical exper-
tise, decision making, and leadership skills and
serve as a consultant, researcher, and patient ad-
vocate for individuals, families, groups, and com-
munities to achieve quality, cost-effective patient
outcomes and solutions. (Authorized by and im-
plementing K.S.A. 65-1113, 65-1130; effective
May 1, 1984; amended, T-85-16, June 5, 1984;
amended May 1, 1985; amended Sept. 4, 2009.)

60-11-105. Functions of the advanced
registered nurse practitioner in the category
of nurse-midwife. Each advanced registered
nurse practitioner in the category of nurse-mid-
wife shall function in an expanded role through
the application of advanced skills and knowledge
of women’s health care through the life span and
shall be authorized to perform the following: (a)
Provide independent nursing diagnosis, as de-
fined in K.S.A. 65-1113(b) and amendments
thereto, and treatment, as defined in K.S.A. 65-
1113(c) and amendments thereto;

(b) develop and manage the medical plan of
care for patients or clients, based on the authori-
zation for collaborative practice;

(c) provide health care services for which the
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nurse-midwife is educationally prepared and for
which competency has been established and
maintained. Educational preparation may include
academic coursework, workshops, institutes, and
seminars if theory or clinical experience, or both,
are included;

(d) in a manner consistent with subsection (c),
provide health care for women, focusing on gy-
necological needs, pregnancy, childbirth, the post-
partum period, care of the newborn, and family
planning, including indicated partner evaluation,
treatment, and referral for infertility and sexually
transmitted diseases; and

(e) provide innovation in evidence-based nurs-
ing practice based upon advanced clinical exper-
tise, decision making, and leadership skills and
serve as a consultant, researcher, and patient ad-
vocate for individuals, families, groups, and com-
munities to achieve quality, cost-effective patient
outcomes and solutions. (Authorized by and im-
plementing K.S.A. 65-1113, 65-1130; effective
May 1, 1984; amended, T-85-16, June 5, 1984;
amended May 1, 1985; amended Sept. 4, 2009.)

60-11-107. Functions of the advanced
registered nurse practitioner in the category
of clinical nurse specialist. Each advanced reg-
istered nurse practitioner in the category of clin-
ical nurse specialist shall function in an expanded
role to provide evidence-based nursing practice
within a specialty area focused on specific patients
or clients, populations, settings, and types of care.
Each clinical nurse specialist shall be authorized
to perform the following: (a) Provide independent
nursing diagnosis, as defined in K.S.A. 65-1113(b)
and amendments thereto, and treatment, as de-
fined in K.S.A. 65-1113(¢) and amendments
thereto;

(b) develop and manage the medical plan of
care for patients or clients, based on the authori-
zation for collaborative practice;

(c) provide health care services for which the
clinical nurse specialist is educationally prepared
and for which competency has been established
and maintained. Educational preparation may in-
clude academic coursework, workshops, insti-
tutes, and seminars if theory or clinical experi-
ence, or both, are included;

(d) provide care for specific patients or clients
or specific populations, or both, utilizing a broad
base of advanced scientific knowledge, nursing
theory, and skills in assessing, planning, imple-

menting, and evaluating health and nursing care;
and

(e) provide innovation in evidence-based nurs-
ing practice based upon advanced clinical exper-
tise, decision making, and leadership skills and
serve as a consultant, researcher, and patient ad-
vocate for individuals, families, groups, and com-
munities to achieve quality, cost-effective patient
outcomes and solutions. (Authorized by and im-
plementing K.S.A. 65-1113, 65-1130; effective
May 1, 1984; amended, T-85-16, June 5, 1984;
amended May 1, 1985; amended Sept. 4, 2009.)

Article 13.—FEES; REGISTERED NURSE
ANESTHETIST

60-13-103. School approval require-
ments. (a) In order for a school of nurse anesthe-
sia to be approved by the board of nursing, con-
sideration shall be given as to whether the school
meets the requirements in standards I, II, IIT, IV,
and V and the appendix in the “standards for ac-
creditation of nurse anesthesia educational pro-
grams,” as revised by the council on accreditation
of nurse anesthesia educational programs in Jan-
uary 2006 and effective March 1, 2006. These por-
tions are hereby adopted by reference.

(b) An up-to-date list of approved programs
shall be prepared and kept by the board.

(¢) A program shall not be approved without the
formal action of the board.

(d) (1) A program review shall be conducted by
the board at least once every five years, or in con-
junction with the council on accreditation review
cycles.

(2) The school shall submit to the board of nurs-
ing for review a copy of a self-study report docu-
menting compliance with the established
standards.

(3) Additional information may be requested by
the board of nursing to assess the school’s com-
pliance with standards.

(4) An on-site visit to the school of nurse an-
esthesia may be conducted by the board of nurs-
ing if there is reason to believe that the program
is in violation of the established standards or if the
program is placed on public probation by the
council on accreditation. (Authorized by K.S.A.
65-1164; implementing K.S.A. 65-1152; effective,
T-88-48, Dec. 16, 1987; effective May 1, 198S;
amended March 22, 2002; amended March 6,
2009.)

60-13-104. Exam approval. The content
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outline of the examination administered by the
council on certification of nurse anesthetists shall
be reviewed and approved annually by the board
of nursing. (Authorized by K.S.A. 65-1164; imple-
menting K.S.A. 65-1152; effective, T-88-48, Dec.
16, 1987; effective May 1, 1988; amended March
6, 2009.)

Article 15.—PERFORMANCE OF
SELECTED NURSING PROCEDURES IN
SCHOOL SETTINGS

60-15-101. Definitions and functions.
(a) Each registered professional nurse in a school
setting shall be responsible for the nature and
quality of all nursing care that a student is given
under the direction of the nurse in the school set-
ting. Assessment of the nursing needs, the plan of
nursing action, implementation of the plan, and
evaluation of the plan shall be considered essential
components of professional nursing practice and
shall be the responsibility of the registered pro-
fessional nurse.

(b) In fulfilling nursing care responsibilities, any
nurse may perform the following:

(1) Serve as a health advocate for students re-
ceiving nursing care;

(2) counsel and teach students, staff, families,
and groups about health and illness;

(3) promote health maintenance;

(4) serve as health consultant and a resource to
teachers, administrators, and other school staff
who are providing students with health services
during school attendance hours or extended pro-
gram hours; and

(5) utilize nursing theories, communication
skills, and the teaching-learning process to func-
tion as part of the interdisciplinary evaluation
team.

(c) The services of a registered professional
nurse may be supplemented by the assignment of
tasks to a licensed practical nurse or by the dele-
gation of selected nursing tasks or procedures to
unlicensed personnel under supervision by the
registered professional nurse or licensed practical
nurse.

(d) “Unlicensed person” means anyone not li-
censed as a registered professional nurse or li-
censed practical nurse.

(e) “Delegation” means authorization for an un-
licensed person to perform selected nursing tasks
or procedures in the school setting under the di-
rection of a registered professional nurse.

(f) “Activities of daily living” means basic care-
taking or specialized caretaking.

(g) “Basic caretaking” means the following
tasks:

(1) Bathing;

(2) dressing;

(3) grooming;

(4) routine dental, hair, and skin care;

(5) preparation of food for oral feeding;

(6) exercise, excluding occupational therapy
and physical therapy procedures;

(7) toileting, including diapering and toilet

training;

8) handwashing;

9) transferring; and

10) ambulation.

h) “Specialized caretaking” means the follow-
procedures:

1) Catheterization;

2) ostomy care;

3) preparation and administration of gastros-
tomy tube feedings;

(4) care of skin with damaged integrity or po-
tential for this damage;

(5) medication administration;

(6) taking vital signs;

(7) blood glucose monitoring, which shall in-
clude taking glucometer readings and carbohy-
drate counting; and

(8) performance of other nursing procedures as
selected by the registered professional nurse.

(i) “Anticipated health crisis” means that a stu-
dent has a previously diagnosed condition that,
under predictable circumstances, could lead to an
imminent risk to the student’s health.

(j) “Investigational drug” means a drug under
study by the United States food and drug admin-
istration to determine safety and efficacy in hu-
mans for a particular indication.

(k) “Nursing judgment” means the exercise of
knowledge and discretion derived from the bio-
logical, physical, and behavioral sciences that re-
quires special education or curricu