
Vol. 40, No. 18 Pages 619-674May 6, 2021

Kansas Register



Kansas Register

Vol. 40, No. 18, May 6, 2021© Kansas Secretary of State 2021

620

In this issue … Page

Register Office:
1st Floor, Memorial Hall

785-368-8095
kansasregister@ks.gov

Published by
Scott Schwab

Secretary of State
1st Floor, Memorial Hall

120 SW 10th Ave.
Topeka, KS 66612-1594

785-296-4564
www.sos.ks.gov

The Kansas Register (USPS 0662-
190) is an official publication of the 
state of Kansas, published by au-
thority of K.S.A. 75-430. The Kansas 
Register is published weekly and a 
cumulative index is published an-
nually by the Kansas Secretary of 
State. One-year subscriptions are 
$80 (Kansas residents must include 
applicable state and local sales tax). 
Single copies, if available, may be 
purchased for $2. Periodicals post-
age paid at Topeka, Kansas.

POSTMASTER: Send change of ad-
dress form to Kansas Register, Sec-
retary of State, 1st Floor, Memorial 
Hall, 120 SW 10th Ave., Topeka, KS 
66612-1594.

© Kansas Secretary of State 2020. 
Reproduction of the publication in 
its entirety or for commercial pur-
poses is prohibited without prior 
permission. Official enactments of 
the Kansas Legislature and pro-
posed and adopted administrative 
regulations of state agencies may 
be reproduced in any form without 
permission.

Hard copy subscription information 
and current and back issues of the 
Kansas Register (PDF Format) can be 
found at the following link: http://
www.sos.ks.gov/publications/ 
kansas-register.html.

Table of Contents

Rates
Pooled Money Investment Board

Notice of Investment Rates ....................................................................................................621
Secretary of State

Code Mortgage Rate for May ................................................................................................621

Notices
Kansas Department for Children and Families

Request for Proposals to Provide Youth Mentoring, Development, 
   and Leadership Program ....................................................................................................621
Notice of Hearing on Proposed Child Care and Development Fund 
   State Plan and Child Care Market Analysis .....................................................................621

Kansas Water Authority
Notice of Meeting ....................................................................................................................622

Office of Judicial Administration
Notice of Grant Funding for Access to Justice Grant .........................................................622

North Central Regional Planning Commission
Notice to Bidders for Thermal Imaging Cameras ..............................................................622
Notice to Bidders for Technical Search and Rescue Team Equipment 
   Replacement ..........................................................................................................................622 
Notice to Bidders for Saline Fire DHS Area Rae Pro .........................................................623

Board of Regents Universities
Notice to Bidders .....................................................................................................................623

Kansas Department of Administration – Office of Procurement and Contracts
Notice to Bidders for State Purchases ..................................................................................623

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Notice Concerning Proposed Air Quality Construction Permit ......................................624
Notice of Application for Municipal Solid Waste Landfill ................................................624
Notice Concerning Water Pollution Control Permits and Applications .........................625

Kansas Insurance Department
Notice of Changes in Pharmacy Networks .........................................................................626

Executive Branch
Office of the Governor

Executive Order No. 21-22, Allowing for Extensions of Professional 
   and Occupational Licenses During State of Disaster Emergency .................................626

Secretary of State
Executive Appointments ........................................................................................................628

New State Laws
Senate Bill 38, concerning agriculture; relating to environmental 
   remediation; the Kansas department of agriculture division of 
   conservation; implementing the provisions of 2011 executive 
   reorganization order No. 40; establishing the Kansas pesticide 
   waste disposal program and the Kansas pesticide waste disposal 
   fund; permitting annual transfers from the Kansas agricultural 
   remediation fund to the Kansas pesticide waste disposal fund ....................................629
Senate Bill 127, concerning drivers’ licenses; relating to online 
   renewals of commercial driver’s licenses and licenses for individuals 
   up to 65 years of age; providing for the renewal of licenses to be 
   delivered electronically; eligibility for restricted driving privileges; 
   renewal of expired licenses and identification cards; permitting the 
   waiver of traffic fines and court costs in certain manifest hardship 
   situations; providing an exclusion from the additional 90-day period 
   for suspended or revoked licenses ....................................................................................638

Cover Artwork: Green Wheat, Rice County
Photo by Todd Caywood

mailto:kansasregister%40ks.gov?subject=
http://www.sos.ks.gov
http://www.sos.ks.gov/publications/kansas-register.html
http://www.sos.ks.gov/publications/kansas-register.html
http://www.sos.ks.gov/publications/kansas-register.html


621Kansas Register

Vol. 40, No. 18, May 6, 2021 © Kansas Secretary of State 2021

Table of Contents/Rates/Notices

New State Laws
House Bill 2143, concerning sales taxation; relating to exemptions; extending the sunset date of 
   the exemption of certain cash rebates on sales or leases of new motor vehicles; modifying the 
   exemption for construction materials for certain educational institutions; defining nonprofit 
   integrated community care organizations and providing an exemption therefor; providing an 
   exemption for friends of hospice of Jefferson county; relating to returns and payment of tax by 
   retailers; increasing sales tax collection thresholds ................................................................................................................................ 643
Senate Substitute for House Bill 2208, concerning health and healthcare; relating to health 
   professions and facilities; establishing rural emergency hospitals as a rural healthcare licensure 
   category; requirements for licensure; certification and funding of certified community 
   behavioral health clinics; prescribing powers, duties and functions of the Kansas department 
   for aging and disability services and the department of health and environment related thereto; 
   authorizing the issuance of telemedicine waivers for the practice of telemedicine by out-of-state 
   healthcare providers; relating to professions regulated by the behavioral sciences regulatory 
   board; reducing certain licensing requirements; expanding temporary practice permits and the 
   board’s grounds for discipline; providing grant assistance to hospitals in certain counties; 
   prescribing powers, duties and functions of the secretary of health and environment related 
   thereto; establishing the rural hospital innovation grant program and rural hospital innovation 
   grant fund ..................................................................................................................................................................................................... 658

Regulations
Kansas State Board of Technical Professions

Permanent Administrative Regulation ....................................................................................................................................................... 670

Index to administrative regulations .................................................................................................................................................... 671

State of Kansas
Pooled Money Investment Board

Notice of Investment Rates
The following rates are published in accordance with 

K.S.A. 75-4210. These rates and their uses are defined in 
K.S.A. 12-1675(b)(c)(d) and K.S.A. 12-1675a(g).

Effective 5-3-21 through 5-9-21
 Term Rate
 1-89 days 0.06%
 3 months 0.01%
 6 months 0.01%
 12 months 0.06%
 18 months 0.11%
 2 years 0.17%

Scott Miller
Director of Investments

Doc. No. 049095

State of Kansas
Secretary of State

Code Mortgage Rate for May
Pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A. 16a-1-301, Section 

11, the code mortgage rate during the period of May 1-31, 
2021, is 12 percent. The reference rate referred to in the 
definition of “code mortgage rate” set forth in K.S.A. 16a-
1-301(11)(b)(i) is discontinued, has become impractical to 
use, and/or is otherwise not readily ascertainable from 
the Federal Home Loan Mortgage Corporation.

Scott Schwab
Secretary of State

Doc. No. 049098

State of Kansas
Department for Children and Families

Request for Proposals
The Kansas Department for Children and Families 

(DCF), Rehabilitation Services, announces the release of 
a Request for Proposal (RFP) to provide a youth mento-
ring, development, and leadership program for individ-
uals in Kansas between age 14 to age 24 with disabilities. 
Eligible applicant agencies include not-for-profit 501(c)
(3) organizations with a board of directors or consum-
er advisory panel whose members would be comprised 
of 50 percent or more persons with disabilities and can 
demonstrate the services and/or programs supported by 
this award. Sealed bids will be accepted no later than 2:00 
p.m. (CST) June 3, 2021.

A complete copy of the RFP with details of import-
ant dates and timelines may be found at http://www.dcf.
ks.gov/Agency/Operations/Pages/OGC/Grant-RFP.aspx un-
der “Grant Requests for Proposals (RFPs).” Additional 
files may be located at this website throughout the pro-
cess so please monitor on a regular basis for changes.

Laura Howard
Secretary

Doc. No. 049106

State of Kansas
Department for Children and Families

Notice of Hearing
The Kansas Department for Children and Families 

(DCF) will conduct a virtual public hearing at 2:00 p.m. 
(continued)

http://www.dcf.ks.gov/Agency/Operations/Pages/OGC/Grant-RFP.aspx
http://www.dcf.ks.gov/Agency/Operations/Pages/OGC/Grant-RFP.aspx
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June 2, 2021 to receive public comments on the draft Child 
Care and Development Fund (CCDF) State Plan for fed-
eral fiscal years 2022-2024. The three-year plan describes 
how DCF will administer Child Care and Development 
Block Grant (CCDBG) funds to provide subsidized child 
care services to families and to improve and support the 
quality of child care in Kansas.

DCF is also requesting public comment on the Child 
Care Market Analysis. As a part of the CCDF State Plan, 
this report is completed every three years, and provides 
important information to the state on rates and other 
costs of providing child care services.

Anyone desiring to participate via Microsoft Teams 
video conference or teleconference must pre-register. To 
register and review the CCDF State Plan visit the DCF 
website at http://www.dcf.ks.gov/services/ees/Pages/Child_
Care/Child-care-and-early-education.aspx.

Prior to the hearing, written comments may be sub-
mitted by mail to DCF, Attn: Judy Golden, 555 S. Kansas 
Ave., Topeka, KS 66603. Comments by email may be sent 
to ccdfstateplan@dcf.ks.gov. Please identify in the subject 
line “CCDF State Plan” or “Market Rate Analysis.” Com-
ments will be accepted through June 8, 2021.

DCF welcomes individuals with disabilities to partici-
pate in this public hearing. If you have a visual, aural, or 
other impairment and wish to participate please notify 
Judy Golden at judy.golden@ks.gov or by calling 785-368-
6447 no later than May 20, 2021.

Laura Howard
Secretary

Doc. No. 049115

State of Kansas
Water Authority
Notice of Meeting

The Kansas Water Authority (KWA) will have their 
meeting by webinar at 9:00 a.m. Tuesday, May 18, 
2021. For additional meeting information or how to ac-
cess the meeting, visit the Kansas Water Office website 
calendar at www.kwo.ks.gov or call 785-296-3185.

Katie Patterson-Ingels
Communications Director

Doc. No. 049114

State of Kansas
Office of Judicial Administration

Notice of Grant Funding
The Access to Justice Fund is administered by the Kan-

sas Supreme Court. Subject to available funding, Access 
to Justice Grants will be made available for operating 
expenses of programs that provide access to the Kansas 
civil justice system for people who otherwise would not 
be able to participate. Such programs may provide legal 
assistance to pro se litigants, legal counsel for civil and 
domestic matters, or other legal or dispute resolution ser-
vices to recipients that meet financial qualifications un-
der grant guidelines promulgated by the Supreme Court 
of Kansas.

Access to Justice Grant application packets may be re-
quested from the Office of Judicial Administration and 
must be returned to this office by June 18, 2021:

Office of Judicial Administration
Kansas Judicial Center
301 SW 10th Ave., Room 337
Topeka, KS 66612
Please direct telephone inquiries to Jeff Peter at 785-

296-2256.
Jeff Peter

Assistant Financial Officer
Doc. No. 049105

(Published in the Kansas Register May 6, 2021.)

North Central Regional  
Planning Commission

Notice to Bidders
Request for bids for eight (8) thermal imaging cameras 

will be accepted by the North Central Regional Planning 
Commission (NCRPC) until 10:00 a.m. (CST) Friday, 
May 21, 2021, at 109 N. Mill St., Beloit, KS 67420, at which 
time they will be publicly opened and read aloud at the 
same address. Copies of the Request for Bid and proj-
ect specifications can be accessed by going to http://pro-
curement.ncrpc.org/HS/projects.html or by contacting the 
NCRPC at 785-738-2218 or hlscoordinator@ncrpc.org. This 
action is being taken on behalf of the Southwest Kansas 
Regional Homeland Security Council. Estimated project 
value exceeds $25,000.

Lisa Peters
Homeland Security Coordinator

Assistant Executive Director
Doc. No. 049096

(Published in the Kansas Register May 6, 2021.)

North Central Regional  
Planning Commission

Notice to Bidders
Request for bid for NCK FY20 technical search and res-

cue team equipment replacement will be accepted by the 
North Central Regional Planning Commission (NCRPC) 
until 10:00 a.m. (CST) Monday, May 24, 2021, at 109 N. 
Mill St., Beloit, KS 67420, at which time they will be pub-
licly opened and read aloud at the same address. Copies 
of the Request for Bid and project specifications can be 
accessed by going to http://procurement.ncrpc.org/HS/proj-
ects.html or by contacting the NCRPC at 785-738-2218 or 
burks809@gmail.com. This action is being taken on behalf 
of the North Central Kansas Regional Homeland Securi-
ty Council. Estimated project value exceeds $25,000.

Lacey Miller, RN
Regional Public Health Preparedness Coordinator

Homeland Security Program Assistant
Doc. No. 049097

(Published in the Kansas Register May 6, 2021.)

http://www.dcf.ks.gov/services/ees/Pages/Child_Care/Child-care-and-early-education.aspx
http://www.dcf.ks.gov/services/ees/Pages/Child_Care/Child-care-and-early-education.aspx
mailto:ccdfstateplan%40dcf.ks.gov?subject=
mailto:judy.golden%40ks.gov?subject=
http://www.kwo.ks.gov
http://procurement.ncrpc.org/HS/projects.html
http://procurement.ncrpc.org/HS/projects.html
mailto:hlscoordinator%40ncrpc.org?subject=
http://procurement.ncrpc.org/HS/projects.html
http://procurement.ncrpc.org/HS/projects.html
mailto:burks809%40gmail.com?subject=
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North Central Regional  
Planning Commission

Notice to Bidders
Request for bid for FY19 Salina Fire DHS Area Rae Pro 

(2) will be accepted by the North Central Regional Plan-
ning Commission (NCRPC) until 10:00 a.m. (CST) Mon-
day, May 24, 2021, at 109 N. Mill St., Beloit, KS 67420, at 
which time they will be publicly opened and read aloud 
at the same address. Copies of the Request for Bid and 
project specifications can be accessed by going to http://
procurement.ncrpc.org/HS/projects.html or by contacting 
the NCRPC at 785-738-2218 or burks809@gmail.com. This 
action is being taken on behalf of the North Central Kan-
sas Regional Homeland Security Council. Estimated 
project value exceeds $25,000.

Lacey Miller, RN
Regional Public Health Preparedness Coordinator

Homeland Security Program Assistant
Doc. No. 049102

State of Kansas
Board of Regents Universities

Notice to Bidders
The universities of the Kansas Board of Regents en-

courage interested vendors to visit the various universi-
ties’ purchasing offices’ websites for a listing of all trans-
actions, including construction projects, for which the 
universities’ purchasing offices, or one of the consortia 
commonly utilized by the universities, are seeking infor-
mation, competitive bids, or proposals. The referenced 
construction projects may include project delivery con-
struction procurement act projects pursuant to K.S.A. 76-
7,125 et seq.
Emporia State University – Bid postings: https://www.
emporia.edu/about-emporia-state-university/business- 
office/purchasing/. Additional contact info: phone: 620-
341-5134, fax: 620-341-6770, email: purchaseorders@ 
emporia.edu. Mailing address: Emporia State University 
Purchasing, Campus Box 4021, 1 Kellogg Circle, Empo-
ria, KS 66801.
Fort Hays State University – Electronic bid postings: 
http://www.fhsu.edu/purchasing/bids/. Additional contact 
info: phone: 785- 628-4251, fax: 785-628-4046, email: pur-
chasing@fhsu.edu. Mailing address: Fort Hays State Uni-
versity Purchasing Office, 601 Park St., Sheridan Hall 
318, Hays, KS 67601.
Kansas State University – Bid postings: https://www. 
k-state.edu/purchasing/rfq. Due to Covid-19, Kansas State 
University will not be accepting paper bids until further 
notice. Division of Financial Services/Purchasing, 2323 
Anderson Ave., Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS 
66506. Additional contact info: phone: 785-532- 6214, fax: 
785-532-5577, email: kspurch@k-state.edu.
Pittsburg State University – Bid postings: https://www.
pittstate.edu/office/purchasing/. Additional contact info: 
phone: 620-235-4169, email: bstefanoni@pittstate.edu. Mail-
ing address: Pittsburg State University, Purchasing Of-

fice, 1701 S. Broadway, Pittsburg, KS 66762.
University of Kansas – Electronic bid postings: http://
www.procurement.ku.edu/. Due to Covid-19, the Univer-
sity of Kansas will not be accepting paper bids until fur-
ther notice. KU Purchasing Services, 1246 W. Campus 
Road, Room 30, Lawrence, KS 66045. Additional contact 
info: phone: 785-864-5800, fax: 785-864-3454, email: pur-
chasing@ku.edu.
University of Kansas Medical Center – Bid post-
ings: http://www.kumc.edu/finance/purchasing/bid- 
opportunities.html. Additional contact info: phone: 913-
588-1117. Mailing address: University of Kansas Med-
ical Center, Purchasing Department, Mail Stop 2034, 
3901 Rainbow Blvd., Kansas City, KS 66160.
Wichita State University – Bid postings: http://www.wichi-
ta.edu/purchasing. Additional contact info: phone: 316-978-
3080, fax: 316-978-3738, email: purchasing.office@wichita.
edu. Mailing address: Wichita State University, Office of 
Purchasing, 1845 Fairmount Ave., Campus Box 38, Wichi-
ta, KS 67260-0038.

Debbie Redeker
Chair of Regents Purchasing Group

Purchasing Director
Emporia State University

Doc. No. 048393

State of Kansas
Department of Administration

Office of Procurement and Contracts
Notice to Bidders

Sealed bids for items listed will be received by the Di-
rector of Procurement and Contracts until 2:00 p.m. on the 
date indicated. For more information, call 785-296-2376:
05/17/2021 EVT0008026 Metal Roof Replacement – 
  Dodge City
05/17/2021 EVT0008027 Concrete Low Water Crossing – 
  Syracuse
05/18/2021 EVT0008038 Generator Replacements – 
  Capital Complex Topeka
05/20/2021 EVT0008030 Salt for Snow and Ice Removal
05/21/2021 EVT0008040 North Hub Engine 
  Replacements – Cheyenne 
  Bottoms
05/21/2021 EVT0008041 West Hub New Pump Station – 
  Cheyenne Bottoms
05/21/2021 EVT0008043 Dairy Processing Study
05/25/2021 EVT0008044 Agribusiness Commodity Flow 
  Study
05/26/2021 EVT0008037 CERC Impatient Services
05/26/2021 EVT0008039 BEP Equipment Moving
05/27/2021 EVT0008031 Regulatory Consulting Services
05/27/2021 EVT0008034 Jameson Reclamation Project – 
  Cherokee County
05/27/2021 EVT0008035 Harryman Reclamation Project – 
  Crawford County
06/02/2021 EVT0008032 Electronic Health Care Records 
  for KDADS Hospitals
06/03/2021 EVT0008045 Post Rock Limestone Building 
  Survey

The above referenced bid documents can be down-
(continued)

http://procurement.ncrpc.org/HS/projects.html
http://procurement.ncrpc.org/HS/projects.html
mailto:burks809%40gmail.com?subject=
https://www.emporia.edu/about-emporia-state-university/business-office/purchasing/
https://www.emporia.edu/about-emporia-state-university/business-office/purchasing/
https://www.emporia.edu/about-emporia-state-university/business-office/purchasing/
mailto:purchaseorders%40emporia.edu?subject=
mailto:purchaseorders%40emporia.edu?subject=
http://www.fhsu.edu/purchasing/bids/
mailto:purchasing%40fhsu.edu?subject=
mailto:purchasing%40fhsu.edu?subject=
https://www.k-state.edu/purchasing/rfq
https://www.k-state.edu/purchasing/rfq
mailto:kspurch%40k-state.edu?subject=
https://www.pittstate.edu/office/purchasing/
https://www.pittstate.edu/office/purchasing/
mailto:bstefanoni%40pittstate.edu?subject=
http://www.procurement.ku.edu/
http://www.procurement.ku.edu/
mailto:purchasing%40ku.edu?subject=
mailto:purchasing%40ku.edu?subject=
http://www.kumc.edu/finance/purchasing/bid-opportunities.html
http://www.kumc.edu/finance/purchasing/bid-opportunities.html
http://www.wichita.edu/purchasing
http://www.wichita.edu/purchasing
mailto:purchasing.office%40wichita.edu?subject=
mailto:purchasing.office%40wichita.edu?subject=
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loaded at the following website:
http://admin.ks.gov/offices/procurement-and-contracts/bid-so-

licitations

Additional files may be located at the following web-
site (please monitor this website on a regular basis for 
any changes/addenda):
http://admin.ks.gov/offices/procurement-and-contracts/addi-

tional-files-for-bid-solicitations
05/27/2021 A-014148 KDOT; West Wichita Subarea – 
  Building Addition

Information regarding prequalification, projects, and 
bid documents can be obtained at 785-296-8899 or http://
admin.ks.gov/offices/ofpm/dcc.

Richard Beattie, Director
Office of Procurement and Contracts

Doc. No. 049113

State of Kansas
Department of Health and Environment

Notice Concerning Proposed Kansas  
Air Quality Construction Permit

Notice is hereby given that the Kansas Department 
of Health and Environment (KDHE) is soliciting com-
ments regarding a proposed air quality construction 
permit. Emerald Transformer PPM, LLC has applied for 
an air quality construction permit in accordance with 
the provisions of K.A.R. 28-19-300. Emissions of par-
ticulate matter (PM), PM with less than or equal to 10 
microns in aerodynamic diameter (PM10), PM with less 
than or equal to 2.5 microns in aerodynamic diameter 
(PM2.5), volatile organic compounds (VOC), and hazard-
ous air pollutants (HAPs) were evaluated during the 
permit review process.

Emerald Transformer PPM, LLC, 2474 N. US-169 Hwy., 
Coffeyville, KS 67337, owns and operates a Polychlorinat-
ed Biphenyl (PCB) commercial storage located at 2474 N. 
US-169 Hwy., Coffeyville, KS 67337, at which the facility is 
requesting to install a new paint booth and sanding booth.

A copy of the proposed permit, permit application, 
all supporting documentation, and all information re-
lied upon during the permit application review process 
are available for public review from the date of publi-
cation during normal business hours at the KDHE, Bu-
reau of Air (BOA), 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310, Topeka, 
KS 66612-1366 and at the Southeast District Office, 308 
W. 14th St., Chanute, KS 66720. To obtain or review the 
proposed permit and supporting documentation, contact 
Stephen Bartels, 785-296-6024, at the central office of the 
KDHE or Caitlin Mills, 620-860-7235, at the Southeast 
District Office. The standard departmental cost will be 
assessed for any copies requested. The proposed permit, 
accompanied with supporting information, is available, 
free of charge, at the KDHE BOA Public Notice website 
at http://www.kdheks.gov/bar/publicnotice.html.

Please direct written comments or questions regarding 
the proposed permit to Stephen Bartels, KDHE, BOA, 
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310, Topeka, KS 66612-1366. In 
order to be considered in formulating a final permit de-

cision, written comments must be received no later than 
12:00 p.m. Monday, June 7, 2021.

A person may request a public hearing be held on the 
proposed permit. The request for a public hearing shall 
be in writing and set forth the basis for the request. The 
written request must be submitted to Stephen Bartels, 
KDHE, BOA, 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 310, Topeka, KS 
66612-1366, no later than 12:00 p.m. Monday, June 7, 2021 
in order for the Secretary of Health and Environment to 
consider the request.

Lee A. Norman, M.D.
Secretary

Doc. No. 049099

State of Kansas
Department of Health and Environment

Notice of Application for  
Municipal Solid Waste Landfill

The Kansas Department of Health and Environment 
(KDHE) received an application from Reno County for a 
permit modification of the Municipal Solid Waste Land-
fill located at 703 S. Mohawk Rd., Hutchinson, Kansas, 
Permit #723.

The applicant proposes an expansion of the facility 
permitted disposal area from 77 acres to approximately 
102.1 acres.

The Reno County Commissioners have certified that 
the application described herein is consistent with the 
county’s solid waste management plan and compatible 
with surrounding land use. KDHE has reviewed the ap-
plication and found it to be in conformance with state 
solid waste statutes and regulations.

KDHE is providing public notice for the permit modi-
fication application by Reno County. A final decision to 
issue the permit modification has not been made, and 
KDHE will consider information gathered during the 
public comment period before making a final decision. 
A copy of the permit application, engineering drawings, 
and draft permit with respect to this permit action will be 
available for public review at www.kdheks.gov/waste from 
May 6, 2021 through June 7, 2021, and during normal 
business hours at the following locations:

Kansas Department of Health and Environment
Bureau of Waste Management
1000 SW Jackson, Suite 320
Topeka, KS 66612-1366
Contact: Joseph Hacker
785-291-3746

Reno County Clerk
125 W. 1st Ave
Hutchinson, KS 67501
Contact: Donna Patton
620-694-2904
Anyone wishing to comment on the proposed facili-

ty should submit a written statement by 5:00 PM June 
7, 2021 to Joseph Hacker of KDHE at the address listed 
above or via email to Joseph.Hacker@ks.gov. Comments 
that are postmarked by June 7, 2021 and received within 

http://admin.ks.gov/offices/procurement-and-contracts/bid-solicitations
http://admin.ks.gov/offices/procurement-and-contracts/bid-solicitations
http://admin.ks.gov/offices/procurement-and-contracts/additional-files-for-bid-solicitations
http://admin.ks.gov/offices/procurement-and-contracts/additional-files-for-bid-solicitations
http://admin.ks.gov/offices/ofpm/dcc
http://admin.ks.gov/offices/ofpm/dcc
http://www.kdheks.gov/bar/publicnotice.html
http://www.kdheks.gov/waste
mailto:Joseph.Hacker%40ks.gov?subject=
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one week thereafter will also be considered.
After consideration of all formal comments as de-

scribed above, KDHE will make a final decision on 
whether to issue the permit. Notice of the decision will 
be given to the applicant, anyone who submitted formal 
comments, and those who requested notice of the final 
permit decision.

Lee A. Norman, MD
Secretary

Doc. No. 049100

State of Kansas
Department of Health and Environment

Notice Concerning Kansas/Federal Water  
Pollution Control Permits and Applications

In accordance with Kansas Administrative Regula-
tions 28-16-57a through 63, 28-18-1 through 17, 28-18a-1 
through 31 and 33, 28-16-150 through 154, 28-46-7, and 
the authority vested with the state by the administrator 
of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, various 
draft water pollution control documents (permits, notic-
es to revoke and reissue, notices to terminate) have been 
prepared and/or permit applications have been received 
for discharges to waters of the United States and the state 
of Kansas for the class of discharges described below.

The proposed actions concerning the draft documents 
are based on staff review, applying the appropriate stan-
dards, regulations, and effluent limitations of the state of 
Kansas and the Environmental Protection Agency. The 
final action will result in a Federal National Pollutant Dis-
charge Elimination System Authorization and/or a Kansas 
Water Pollution Control permit being issued, subject to 
certain conditions, revocation, and reissuance of the des-
ignated permit or termination of the designated permit.

Public Notice No. KS-AG-21-178/182
Pending Permits for Confined Feeding Facilities

Name and Address 
of Applicant

Legal Description Receiving Water

Midwest Feeders, Inc.
Jeff Sternberger
05013 13 Rd.
Ingalls, KS 67853

S/2 of Section 24
N/2 & SE/4 of 
Section 25
T24S, R29W
All of Section 19
T24S, R28W
Gray County

Upper Arkansas
River Basin

Kansas Permit No. A-UAGY-C005
Federal Permit No. KS0115169
The proposed action is to modify the current NPDES permit for an exist-

ing facility. Modifications to the permit will be the proposed construc-
tion of a new earth retention structure (WSP 8) that will receive and 
transfer waste waters from the other on-site waste storage ponds and 
to the application fields. WSP 8 will retain wastes but will not receive 
external runoff. There are no other changes to the permit. Only the 
portions of the permit being modified are subject to comment. This fa-
cility has an approved Nutrient Management Plan on file with KDHE. 

Name and Address 
of Applicant

Legal Description Receiving Water

DJ Dairy Company
22601 W. 71st S.
Viola, KS 67149

NW/4 of Section 1
T29S, R03W
Sedgwick County

Lower Arkansas
River Basin

Kansas Permit No. A-ARSG-M011

The proposed action is to reissue an existing state permit for an existing 
facility for 160 head (224 animal units) of mature dairy cattle and 25 
head (12.5 animal units) of cattle weighing less than 700 pounds, for 
a total capacity of 236.5 animal units. There will be no change in the 
operation or permitted number of animal units from the previous 
permit.

Name and Address 
of Applicant

Legal Description Receiving Water

Great Bend Feeding, 
    Inc.
Paul Woydziak
355 NW 30 Ave.
Great Bend, KS 67530

E/2 of Section 10
and All of Section 11
T19S, R14W
Barton County

Upper Arkansas
River Basin

Kansas Permit No. A-UABT-C002
Federal Permit No. KS0040576

The proposed action is to modify the current NPDES permit and Nutri-
ent Management Plan (NMP) for an existing facility for 35,000 head 
(35,000 animal units) of cattle weighing greater than 700 pounds. The 
proposed modification is to add composting, along with rendering, 
as a method of mortality management. There are no other changes to 
the permit or NMP. Only the portions of the permit and NMP being 
modified are subject to comment.

Name and Address 
of Applicant

Legal Description Receiving Water

Great Bend Feeding, 
    Inc. – East
251 NW 10th Ave.
Great Bend, KS 67530

All of Section 18
T19S, R13W
Barton County

Upper Arkansas
River Basin

Kansas Permit No. A-UABT-C001
Federal Permit No. KS0040606

The proposed action is to modify the current NPDES permit and Nutri-
ent Management Plan (NMP) for an existing facility for 24,000 head 
(24,000 animal units) of cattle weighing greater than 700 pounds. The 
proposed modification is to add composting, along with rendering, 
as a method of mortality management. There are no other changes to 
the permit or NMP. Only the portions of the permit and NMP being 
modified are subject to comment.

Name and Address 
of Applicant

Legal Description Receiving Water

Cheney Feed Yard
Gary Cheney
12500 S. Kansas Rd.
Scott City, KS 67871

NW/4 of Section 24
T20S, R33W
Scott County

Upper Arkansas
River Basin

Kansas Permit No. A-UASC-C026
Federal Permit No. KS0097063

The proposed action is to approve an update to the Nutrient Manage-
ment Plan (NMP) received for this existing facility currently permit-
ted for 1,500 head (1,500 animal units) of cattle weighing greater than 
700 pounds. The facility’s NMP was updated to include a change in 
the application rate limitation for six fields. The fields’ application 
rate limitations for NE20N, NE20S, SE15N, SE15S, SE23N and SE23S 
have become less restrictive than the previous NMP. There are no 
changes to the permit or in the permitted number of animal units. 
Only the updated portion of the Nutrient Management Plan is sub-
ject to comment.

Persons wishing to comment on or object to the draft 
documents and/or permit applications must submit their 
comments in writing to the Kansas Department of Health 
and Environment (KDHE) if they wish to have the com-
ments or objections considered in the decision-making 
process. All written comments regarding the draft docu-
ments, application or registration notices received on or 
before June 5, 2021, will be considered in the formulation 

(continued)
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of the final determination regarding this public notice. 
Please refer to the appropriate Kansas document number 
(KS-AG-21-178/182) and name of the applicant/permittee 
when preparing comments.

All comments received will be responded to at the 
time the Secretary of Health and Environment issues 
a determination regarding final agency action on each 
draft document/application. If response to any draft 
document/application indicates significant public inter-
est, a public hearing may be held in conformance with 
K.A.R. 28-16-61 (28-46-21 for UIC). A request for public 
hearing must be submitted in writing and shall state the 
nature of the issues proposed to be raised during the 
hearing.

Comments or objections for agricultural related draft 
documents, permit applications, registrations or actions 
should be submitted to the attention of Matthew Steele 
Ph.D., P.E., Section Chief, Livestock Waste Management 
Section at the KDHE, Bureau of Environmental Field 
Services (BEFS), 1000 SW Jackson, Suite 430, Topeka, KS 
66612. Comments or objections for all other proposed 
permits or actions should be sent to Michael Beezhold at 
the KDHE, Bureau of Water, 1000 SW Jackson St., Suite 
420, Topeka, KS 66612.

All draft documents/applications and the supporting 
information including any comments received are on 
file and may be inspected at the offices of the KDHE. 
For agricultural related draft documents or applications 
an appointment can be scheduled, or copies requested 
by contacting Rachel Hammond, BEFS, Livestock Waste 
Management Section at 1000 SW Jackson St., Suite 430, 
Topeka, KS 66612, telephone 785-296-0076 or email at 
kdhe.feedlots@ks.gov. For all other proposed permits or 
actions an appointment can be scheduled, or copies re-
quested by contacting Christopher Zwiener, Bureau of 
Water, 1000 SW Jackson St., Suite 420, Topeka, KS 66612, 
telephone 785-296-3056 or email at Christopher.Zwiener@
ks.gov. These documents are available upon request at 
the copying cost assessed by KDHE. Application infor-
mation and components of plans and specifications for 
all new and expanding swine facilities are available at 
http://www.kdheks.gov/feedlots. Division of Environment 
offices are open from 8:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m., Monday 
through Friday, excluding holidays.

Lee A. Norman, M.D.
Secretary

Doc. No. 04101

State of Kansas
Insurance Department

Notice of Changes in Pharmacy Networks
Pursuant to K.S.A. 40-2,153, the Commissioner of In-

surance is publishing notice that a change has occurred 
in a pharmacy network in the State of Kansas.

Cigna HealthCare of St. Louis, Inc., and affiliates, 
GCLIC and CHLIC, has notified the Department of the 
following additions and deletions to their pharmacy net-
work:

Additions
Facility Name Street Address City State
Axivarx of Kansas, LLC 11425 Stang Line Rd. Lenexa KS
Herington Hostpital 
   Pharmacy 1005 N. B St. Herington KS

Deletions
Facility Name Street Address City State
Georgetown Pharmacy 5605 Merriam Dr. Merriam KS
Auburn Pharmacy #160 2020 Main St. Parsons KS

Perry Drug
12200 W. 106 St., 
   Suite 140 Overland Park KS

Infusion 1909 E. Central Ave. Wichita KS
Shared Solutions 
   Pharmacy 4500 W. 107th St. Overland Park KS
Mid-America 
   Physiatrists

8675 College Blvd., 
   Suite 150 Overland Park KS

Lifework Integrative 
   Health 22742 Midland Dr. Shawnee KS
Hutchinson Clinic PA 2101 N. Waldron St. Hutchinson KS
KC Wellness Center 5417 Johnson Dr. Mission KS
FHC Pharmacy 2002 S. 51st St. Kansas City KS

Any questions should be directed to the Insurance De-
partment at 785-296-3071.

Vicki Schmidt
Insurance Commissioner

Doc. No. 049104

State of Kansas
Office of the Governor
Executive Order No. 21-22 

Allowing for Extensions of Professional  
and Occupational Licenses During State  

of Disaster Emergency
WHEREAS, securing the health, safety, and economic 
well-being of residents of the State of Kansas is this Ad-
ministration’s top priority;
WHEREAS, Kansas is facing a crisis—the pandemic and 
public health emergency of COVID-19—resulting in ill-
ness, quarantines, school closures, and temporary clo-
sure of businesses resulting in lost wages and financial 
hardship to Kansas citizens;
WHEREAS, the United States Departments of Health 
and Human Services declared a public health emergen-
cy for COVID-19 beginning January 27, 2020, with more 
than 31,883,289 cases of the illness and more than 569,272 
deaths as a result of the illness across the United States;
WHEREAS, the World Health Organization declared a 
pandemic on March 11, 2020;
WHEREAS, on March 13, 2020, the President of the Unit-
ed States pursuant to Sections 201 and 301 of the National 
Emergencies Act, 50 U.S.C. § 1601, et seq. and consistent 
with Section 1135 of the Social Security Act, as amended 
(42 U.S.C. § 1320b-5), declared that the COVID-19 out-
break in the United States constitutes a national emer-
gency beginning March 1, 2020;
WHEREAS, a State of Disaster Emergency was pro-
claimed for the State of Kansas on March 12, 2020, and 

mailto:kdhe.feedlots%40ks.gov?subject=
mailto:Christopher.Zwiener%40ks.gov?subject=
mailto:Christopher.Zwiener%40ks.gov?subject=
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extended to May 28, 2021, by Section 5 of Senate Bill 40 
enacted during the 2021 Legislative Session;
WHEREAS, as of this date, there have been over 307,865 
positive cases of COVID-19 in Kansas, spread among all 
105 counties and 4,970 deaths as a result of the illness;
WHEREAS, suspension of certain state statutes and ad-
ministrative rules is necessary to reduce the risk of fur-
ther exposure and spread of COVID-19 and to assist with 
mitigation efforts during the COVID-19 public health 
emergency;
WHEREAS, the State of Kansas, its boards, commissions, 
divisions, or other licensing authorities regularly renew 
thousands of occupational and professional licenses, cer-
tificates, permits, and registrations on a regular basis;
WHEREAS, the COVID-19 public health emergency 
has presented significant—sometimes insurmount-
able—obstacles for the holders of licenses, certificates, 
permits, or registrations to renew or satisfy certain re-
quirements for renewal during the public health emer-
gency, though some of these obstacles have been re-
duced as the spread of the virus has slowed and access 
to vaccines has expanded;
WHEREAS, the holders of licenses, certificates, permits, 
and registrations provide significant services within 
Kansas, and the unavailability of such services would 
hamper efforts to address the escalating COVID-19 pub-
lic health emergency;
WHEREAS, the holders of licenses, certificates, permits, 
and registrations who provide medical care perform 
functions that are necessary to effectively respond to and 
mitigate the COVID-19 pandemic;
WHEREAS, many state agencies rely on funds from re-
newals of licenses, certificates, permits, and registrations 
to fulfill their important public safety regulatory obliga-
tions, requiring some flexibility with any suspension of 
licensing requirements that impact the funding of regu-
latory functions;
WHEREAS, on April 9, 2020, I executed Executive Order 
20-19, which was extended by Executive Orders 20-39, 20-
49, 20-64, 21-02, and 21-09, extending professional and oc-
cupational licenses during the COVID-19 pandemic; and
WHEREAS, in these challenging times this Administra-
tion will do whatever it can to avoid immediate dangers 
to the health, safety, and welfare of Kansans, including en-
suring that Kansans who provide important services can 
continue their work without regulatory interruptions.
NOW, THEREFORE, pursuant to the authority vested 
in me as Governor of the State of Kansas, including but 
not limited to the authority granted me by K.S.A 48-924 
and K.S.A 48-925(c)(1) and (c)(11), in order to mitigate 
the effects of COVID-19, I hereby direct and order the 
following:

1. State agencies may extend renewal deadlines for 
any occupational or professional license, certificate, 
permit, or registration issued by a state agency or 
any board, commission, division, or other licensing 
authority within a state agency to any individual, 
business, or organization, that was in good standing 

as of March 12, 2020, and that has expired or will 
expire during the State of Disaster Emergency.

2. State agencies may extend renewal deadlines for 
any organization, establishment, facility, shop, or 
premises license, certificate, permit, or registration 
issued by a state agency or any board, commission, 
division or other licensing authority within a state 
agency to any individual, business, or organization 
that was in good standing as of March 12, 2020, and 
that has expired or will expire during the State of 
Disaster Emergency.

3. State agencies may waive any late, delinquent, pen-
alty, or expiration fees associated with any license, 
certificate, permit, or registration referred to in 
paragraphs 1 and 2 above.

4. State agencies may extend the deadlines for any 
continuing education requirements mandated by 
any state agency or any board, commission, divi-
sion, or other licensing authority.

5. Any renewal fees, deadlines, or other requirements 
extended pursuant to paragraphs 1 or 2 of Execu-
tive Order 21-09 (and its predecessor orders) shall 
remain extended until at least 15 days after the rel-
evant licensing authority provides notice to licens-
ees through publication on the agency’s website or 
through other electronic means regularly used by the 
agency to communicate with the agency’s licensees.

6. Any license not current as of the earlier of an agen-
cy-selected date published pursuant to paragraph 5 
above or the expiration of this order shall be subject 
to the licensing agency’s normal authority to im-
pose late fees and such license shall not continue to 
be effective by virtue of this or any previous execu-
tive order.

7. The Department of Agriculture shall continue to 
extend renewal deadlines for any license, permit, 
registration, certificate, or other fee imposed under 
the Kansas Food, Drug and Cosmetic Act, K.S.A. 65-
655 et seq. on food establishments or food processors 
that were in good standing as of March 12, 2020.

8. For purposes of this Order, a “state agency” has the 
meaning set forth in K.S.A. 75-3701, and reports to 
or is otherwise located in an executive office under 
the Governor’s control.

9. For purposes of this Order, “in good standing” shall 
include a license, certificate, permit, or registration 
that is subject to probation, or non-disciplinary 
conditions, limitations, or restrictions, but shall not 
include a license, certificate, permit, or registration 
that is revoked, cancelled, surrendered, or suspend-
ed. Any license, certificate, permit, or registration 
that is subject to disciplinary conditions, limita-
tions, or restrictions shall remain subject to such 
conditions, limitations, or restrictions.

10. This order does not affect licensing for attorneys.
11. This order should be read in conjunction with pre-

vious executive orders responding to the COVID-19 
pandemic.

(continued)
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12. Executive Order 21-09 is rescinded and replaced by 
this order.

This document shall be filed with the Secretary of State 
as Executive Order No. 21-22. It shall become effective 
immediately and remain in force until rescinded, or until 
May 28, 2021, whichever is earlier.
Dated April 27, 2021.

Laura Kelly
Governor

Doc. No. 049103

State of Kansas
Secretary of State

Executive Appointments
Executive appointments made by the governor, and in 

some cases by other state officials, are filed with the sec-
retary of state’s office. The following appointments were 
recently filed with the Secretary of State:

Kansas Court of Appeals
Amy Fellows Cline, 6330 N. Richmond, Wichita, KS 

67204. Succeeds Judge Joseph Pierron, Jr.

District Judge, 1st Judicial District
John Bryant, 529 Delaware St., Leavenworth, KS 

66048.

District Judge, 10th Judicial District
Krishnan Christopher Jayaram, Horn Aylward & Ban-

dy, LLC, 2600 Grand Blvd., Suite 1100, Kansas City, MO 
64108.

Director of the Joint Staff of  
the Kansas National Guard

Col. Michael Venerdi, 5239 N. Colonial Ave., Bel Aire, 
KS 67226.

Advisory Commission for Children  
with Special Health Care Needs

Elizabeth Brunscheen-Cartagena, 12330 W. 34th 
Court S, Wichita, KS 67227. Term expires February 27, 
2023. Succeeds Richard Martinez.

Dr. Chet Johnson, 26284 W. 67th St., Shawnee, KS 
66226. Term expires February 27, 2025. Succeeds Dr. Re-
becca Reddy.

Animal Health Board, Kansas
Megan Potter, 807 Ash St., Abilene, KS 67410. Term 

expires June 30, 2023. Succeeds Graydon Dale Springer.
Crecia Reeves, 3644 186th St., Russell, KS 67665. Term 

expires June 30, 2023. Succeeds Larry Martin.
Dr. Wade Taylor, PO Box 41, Oakley, KS 67748. Term 

expires June 30, 2021. Reappointed.

Building Advisory Commission, Kansas State
Robert Bausch, 3000 SW 36th St., Topeka, KS 66614. 

Term expires December 31, 2024. Succeeds Rick Salyer.

Credit Union Council, Kansas
Bradley Dyer, Jr., 10012 W. 20th St. N, Wichita, KS 

67212. Term expires March 15, 2023. Succeeds Jacqueline 
Cully.

Mark Kolarik, 2904 Oakview Dr., Pittsburg, KS 66762. 
Term expires March 15, 2022. Succeeds Rita Hartman.

Disability Concerns, Kansas Commission on
Rob Egan, 2142 N. 127th St. E, Wichita, KS 67206. Term 

expires September 1, 2023.
Shanti Ramcharan, 1009 Chestnut St., Emporia, KS 

66801. Term expires August 31, 2021. Reappointed.
Claire Reagan, 17673 W. 156th St., Olathe, KS 66062. 

Term expires September 1, 2023.

Developmental Disabilities, Kansas Council on
Shirley Fessler, 634 SW Harrison St., Topeka, KS 

66603. Term expires December 31, 2024.
Margaret Heiman, 341 176th Rd., Baileyville, KS 66404. 

Term expires October 31, 2024. Reappointed.
Kathleen Keck, 5823 SW 85th St., Wakarusa, KS 66546. 

Term expires October 31, 2024. Reappointed.
Karey Padding, 226 Bent Tree Ct., Andover, KS 67002. 

Term expires December 31, 2024.
Skylar Schwindt, 3033 W. Second, Room 122, Wich-

ita, KS 67203. Term expires October 31, 2024. Reap-
pointed.

Dr. Kathy Stiffler, 6921 Lake Ridge Pkwy., Ozawkie, 
KS 66070. Term expires December 31, 2024.

Employment First Oversight Commission, Kansas
Bradley Linnenkamp, 1509 W. 25th Ct, Apt. A1, Law-

rence, KS 66046. Term expires June 30, 2022. Succeeds 
Michael Donnelly.

Governmental Ethics Commission, Kansas
Nicholas Hale, 6519 Nall Ave., Mission, KS 66202. 

Term expires January 31, 2023. Reappointed.

Governor’s Council on Tax Reform
Sen. Anthony Hensley, 4240 SE Wisconsin Ave., Tope-

ka, KS 66609.
Rep. Don Hineman, 116 S. Longhorn Rd., Dighton, KS 

67839.
Adam Proffitt, 5620 SW Wanamaker Rd., Topeka, KS 

66610. Succeeds Larry Campbell.
Sen. Dinah Sykes, 10227 Theden Cir., Lenexa, KS 

66220. Succeeds Anthony Hensley.

Human Rights Commission, Kansas
Michael Kane, 4406 N. 112th St., Kansas City, KS 

66109. Term expires January 12, 2025. Reappointed.
Christal Watson, 8532 Spring Ave., Kansas City, KS 

66109. Term expires January 15, 2024. Succeeds Melvin 
Neufeld.

Information Network of Kansas Board
Rep. Tom Sloan, 772 US-40 Hwy., Lawrence, KS 66049. 

Term expires October 1, 2023. Succeeds Doug Gaumer.
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KANSASWORKS State Board
Blanca Soto, 2700 Colleen Ave., Dodge City, KS 67801. 

Succeeds Jermaine Wilson.

Long-Term Care Ombudsman, Kansas State
Camille Russell, 7365 Glen Feshie Dr., PO Box 276, 

Chanute, KS 66720. Term expires March 15, 2024. Suc-
ceeds Barbara Hickert.

Propane Education and Research Council, Kansas
John Jacobsen, 1236 N. Prairie Creek Rd., Andover, 

KS 67002. Term expires August 31, 2023. Succeeds Jeffry 
Thompson.

Respiratory Care Council
Margarita Peschka, 724 N. Fairway Ave., Wichita, KS 

67212. Term expires February 28, 2024. Succeeds Dan 
Conyers.

Lisse Regehr, 315 S. Oak St., Iola, KS 66749. Term ex-
pires February 28, 2023. Reappointed.

Teresa Taylor-Williams, 618 East St., Apt. 6, Emporia, 
KS 66801. Term expires February 28, 2023.

Tax Appeals, Kansas State Board of
Thomas Browne, 3730 SE 27th Terr., Topeka, KS 66605. 

Term expires January 15, 2025. Reappointed.

University of Kansas Hospital  
Authority Board of Directors

David Dillon, 5910 Oakwood Rd., Mission Hills, KS 
66208. Term expires March 15, 2025. Reappointed.

Kevin Lockett, 5413 W. 148th Terr., Suite 232, Leawood, 
KS 66224. Term expires March 15, 2023. Succeeds Michael 
Copeland.

Veterinary Examiners, Kansas State Board of
Dr. Amy Ekerberg, 1204 Parkwood Ln., Newton, KS 

67114. Term expires June 30, 2022. Succeeds Dr. Jill Sandler.

Water Authority, Kansas
Dawn Buehler, 978 E. 2100 Rd., Eudora, KS 66025. Suc-

ceeds Connie Owen.

Workers Compensation and Employment  
Security Boards Nominating Committee

Adam Mills, 3500 N. Rock Rd., Bldg. 1300, Wichita, KS 
67226. Term expires June 30, 2025. Succeeds Kristi Brown.

Scott Schwab
Secretary of State

Doc. No. 049112

State of Kansas
Secretary of State

Certification of New State Laws
I, Scott Schwab, Secretary of State of the State of Kan-

sas, do hereby certify that each of the following bills is 
a correct copy of the original enrolled bill now on file in 
my office.

Scott Schwab
Secretary of State

(Published in the Kansas Register May 6, 2021.)

Senate Bill No. 38
An Act concerning agriculture; relating to environmental remediation; 

the Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation; im-
plementing the provisions of 2011 executive reorganization order 
No. 40; establishing the Kansas pesticide waste disposal program 
and the Kansas pesticide waste disposal fund; permitting annual 
transfers from the Kansas agricultural remediation fund to the Kan-
sas pesticide waste disposal fund; amending K.S.A. 2-1916, 2-3702, 
49-605, 49-611, 49-613, 49-618, 49-620, 49-623, 82a-1602, 82a-1603, 
82a-1607 and 82a-1702 and K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 2-1903, 2-1904, 2-1907, 
2-1907c, 2-1908, 2-1915, 2-1930, 2-1931, 2-1933, 2-3708, 49-603, 49-606 
and 49-621 and repealing the existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

New Section 1. (a) There is hereby established a Kansas pesticide 
waste disposal program to be administered by the secretary of agricul-
ture for the collection and disposal of pesticide waste in the state.

(b) The program shall be funded in accordance with section 2, and 
amendments thereto.

New Sec. 2. (a) There is hereby created in the state treasury the 
Kansas pesticide waste disposal fund. All moneys credited to the Kan-
sas pesticide waste disposal fund shall be used by the secretary of agri-
culture for the Kansas pesticide waste disposal program established by 
section 1, and amendments thereto. All expenditures from the Kansas 
pesticide waste disposal fund shall be made in accordance with appro-
priation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports is-
sued pursuant to vouchers approved by the secretary of agriculture.

(b) The Kansas agricultural remediation board may approve an 
annual transfer of moneys from the Kansas agricultural remediation 
fund to the Kansas pesticide waste disposal fund in an amount that 
shall not exceed $50,000 per calendar year. Upon such approval, the 
director of accounts and reports shall transfer such approved moneys 
from the Kansas agricultural remediation fund to the Kansas pesticide 
waste disposal fund.

(c) On or before January 1 of each year, the secretary of agriculture 
shall submit to the Kansas agricultural remediation board a report con-
cerning the annual expenditures made from the Kansas pesticide waste 
disposal program.

(d) On or before the 10th day of each month, the director of ac-
counts and reports shall transfer from the state general fund to the Kan-
sas pesticide waste disposal fund interest earnings based on:

(1) The average daily balance of moneys in the Kansas pesticide 
waste disposal fund for the preceding month; and

(2) the net earnings rate of the pooled money investment portfolio 
for the preceding month.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 2-1903 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 2-1903. As used in this act:

(1) “District” or “conservation district” means a governmental sub-
division of this state, and a public body corporate and politic, orga-
nized in accordance with the provisions of this act, for the purposes, 
with the powers, and subject to the restrictions hereinafter set forth.

(2) “Supervisor” means one of the members of the governing body 
of a district, elected or appointed in accordance with the provisions of 
this act.

(3) “Commission” or “state conservation commission” means 
the conservation program policy board created in K.S.A. 2-1904, and 
amendments thereto, including the state conservation commission contin-
ued in existence by K.S.A. 74-5,128, and amendments thereto.

(4) “State” means the state of Kansas.
(5) “Agency of this state” includes the government of this state and 

any subdivision, agency or instrumentality, corporation or otherwise, 
of the government of this state.

(6) “United States” or “agencies of the United States” includes 
the United States of America, the soil natural resources conservation 
service of the United States department of agriculture and any oth-
er agency or instrumentality, corporate or otherwise, of the United 
States of America.

(7) “Government” or “governmental” includes the government of 
this state, the government of the United States and any subdivision, 
agency or instrumentality, corporate or otherwise, of either of them.

(continued)
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(8) “Division” or “division of conservation” means the agency divi-
sion of conservation established within the Kansas department of agriculture 
in K.S.A. 74-5,126, and amendments thereto.

(9) “Director” means the executive director of the division.
(10) “Invasive plant species” means a species of plant not native to Kan-

sas whose introduction, presence or spread does or is likely to cause economic 
harm, environmental harm or harm to human health.

(11) “Secretary” means the secretary of the Kansas department of agri-
culture.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 2-1904 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 2-1904. (a) There is hereby established, to serve as a conservation 
program policy board of the state and to perform the functions con-
ferred upon it in this act, the state conservation commission. The state 
conservation commission shall succeed to all the powers, duties and 
property of the state soil conservation committee. The commission shall 
consist of nine members as follows:

(1) The director of the cooperative extension service and the direc-
tor of the state agricultural experiment station dean of the Kansas state 
university college of agriculture located at Manhattan, Kansas, or such 
persons’ designees shall serve, ex officio, as shall appoint two designees 
to serve on the commission as members of the commission. One designee 
shall represent an agricultural experiment station and one shall represent the 
cooperative extension service.

(2) The commission secretary shall request the secretary of agricul-
ture of the United States of America to appoint one person, and the 
secretary of the Kansas department of agriculture to shall appoint one 
person, each of whom shall be residents of the state of Kansas to serve 
as members of the commission. These members shall hold office for 
four years and until a successor is appointed and qualifies, with terms 
commencing on the second Monday in January beginning in 1973.

(3) Five members of the state commission shall be elected by the 
conservation district supervisors at a time and place to be designat-
ed by the state conservation commission. The method of electing such 
members to be conducted as follows: The state is to be divided into 
five separate areas. Area No. I to include the following counties: Chey-
enne, Rawlins, Decatur, Norton, Phillips, Smith, Osborne, Rooks, Gra-
ham, Sheridan, Thomas, Sherman, Wallace, Logan, Gove, Trego, Ellis 
and Russell. Area No. II to include: Greeley, Wichita, Scott, Lane, Ness, 
Rush, Pawnee, Hodgeman, Finney, Kearny, Hamilton, Edwards, Ford, 
Gray, Haskell, Grant, Stanton, Morton, Stevens, Seward, Meade, Clark, 
Comanche and Kiowa. Area No. III to include: Jewell, Republic, Mitch-
ell, Cloud, Lincoln, Ottawa, Ellsworth, Saline, Rice, McPherson, Reno, 
Harvey, Kingman, Sedgwick, Sumner, Harper, Barber, Pratt, Barton 
and Stafford. Area No. IV to include: Washington, Marshall, Nemaha, 
Brown, Doniphan, Clay, Riley, Pottawatomie, Jackson, Atchison, Jeffer-
son, Leavenworth, Wyandotte, Johnson, Douglas, Shawnee, Wabaun-
see, Geary, Dickinson, Morris, Osage, Franklin and Miami. Area No. 
V to include: Marion, Chase, Lyon, Coffey, Anderson, Linn, Bourbon, 
Allen, Woodson, Greenwood, Butler, Elk, Wilson, Neosho, Crawford, 
Cowley, Chautauqua, Montgomery, Labette and Cherokee. Areas II 
and IV will shall elect members in even number even-numbered years and 
Areas I, III and V shall elect members in odd number odd-numbered years 
for two year two-year terms. The elected commission members from 
Areas I, III and V shall take office on January 1, of the even number 
even-numbered years. The remaining two elected members of the state 
commission from Areas II and IV shall take office on January 1, of the 
odd number odd-numbered years. The method of election is to be by area 
caucus of the district supervisors of each of the five separate areas of 
Kansas. The commission shall give each district notice of the time and 
place of such annual election meeting by letter if a member is to be 
elected to the commission from that area that year. The selection of a 
successor to fill an unexpired term shall be by appointment by the com-
mission. The successor who is appointed to fill the unexpired term shall 
be a resident of the same area as that of the predecessor.

(b) The commission shall keep a record of its official actions, and 
shall adopt a seal which seal shall be judicially noticed, and may per-
form such acts, hold such public hearings and adopt review all rules and 
regulations proposed by the division that are necessary for the execution of 
its the division’s functions under this act.

(c) In addition to the powers and duties conferred in this section, 
the state conservation commission shall have the powers and duties not 
delegated to the Kansas department of agriculture division of conserva-
tion pursuant to K.S.A. 74-5,126, and amendments thereto.

(d) The commission shall designate its chairperson and, from time 
to time, may change such designation. A majority of the commission 

shall constitute a quorum, and the concurrence of a majority in any 
matter within their duties shall be required for its determination. Mem-
bers of the state conservation commission attending meetings of such 
commission or attending a subcommittee meeting thereof authorized 
by such commission shall be paid compensation, subsistence allow-
ances, mileage and other expenses as provided in K.S.A. 75-3223, and 
amendments thereto. The commission shall provide for keeping of a 
full and accurate record of all proceedings and of all resolutions, rules 
and regulations and orders issued or adopted.

(e) The state conservation commission together with the Kansas 
department of agriculture division of conservation shall make conser-
vation program policy decisions to be approved by the secretary, including 
modification of current conservation programs, creation of new conser-
vation programs and annual budget recommendations.

(f) The Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation 
in consultation with the state conservation commission shall have the 
following duties and powers:

(1) To offer such assistance as may be appropriate to the supervi-
sors of conservation districts, organized as provided hereinafter, in the 
carrying out of any of their powers and programs;

(2) to keep the supervisors of each of the several districts orga-
nized under the provisions of this act informed of the activities and 
experience of all other districts organized hereunder and to facilitate 
an interchange of advice and experience between such districts and co-
operation between them;

(3) to coordinate the programs of the several conservation districts 
organized hereunder;

(4) to secure the cooperation and assistance of the United States 
and any of its agencies and of agencies of this state, in the work of such 
districts and to contract with or to accept donations, grants, gifts and 
contributions in money, services or otherwise from the United States 
or any of its agencies or from the state or any of its agencies in order to 
carry out the purposes of this act;

(5) to disseminate information throughout the state concerning the 
activities and programs of the conservation districts organized here-
under and to encourage the formation of such districts in areas where 
their organization is desirable;

(6) to cooperate with and give assistance to watershed districts and 
other special purpose districts in the state of Kansas for the purpose of 
cooperating with the United States through the secretary of agriculture 
in the furtherance of conservation pursuant to the provisions of the wa-
tershed protection and flood prevention act, as amended;

(7) to cooperate in and carry out, in accordance with state policies, 
activities and programs to conserve and develop the water resources of 
the state and maintain and improve the quality of such water resources;

(8) to enlist the cooperation and collaboration of state, federal, re-
gional, interstate, local, public and private agencies with the conserva-
tion districts;

(9) to facilitate arrangements under which conservation districts 
may serve county governing bodies and other agencies as their local 
operating agencies in the administration of any activity concerned with 
the conservation of natural resources; and

(10) to take such actions as are necessary to restore, establish, en-
hance and protect natural resources with conservation easements for 
the purpose of compensatory mitigation required under section 404 of 
the federal clean water act, including:

(A) Accepting, purchasing or otherwise acquiring conservation 
easements, as defined in K.S.A. 58-3810, and amendments thereto, on 
behalf of watershed districts for the purpose of protecting compensa-
tory mitigation sites;

(B) contracting with engineering consultants, surveyors and con-
struction contractors for the purpose of restoration, establishment and 
enhancement of natural resources; and

(C) establishing fees for the acquisition and administration of con-
servation easements held on behalf of watershed districts, accepting 
such fees from state and local government agencies, and assuming re-
sponsibility to ensure the terms of the conservation easement are met, 
as approved by the department, for the length of term of the easement 
for which fees have been accepted.

(g) There is hereby established in the state treasury the compensa-
tory mitigation fund, which shall to be administered by the department 
of agriculture. All expenditures from the compensatory mitigation 
fund shall be for conservation. All expenditures from the compensato-
ry mitigation fund shall be made in accordance with appropriation acts 
upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant 
to vouchers approved by the secretary of agriculture or the designee 
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of the secretary. The secretary of agriculture shall remit all moneys re-
ceived by or for the secretary under this section to the state treasurer 
in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments 
thereto. Upon each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the 
entire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the compensatory 
mitigation fund.

(h) All costs associated with compensatory mitigation, including, 
but not limited to, the costs of any litigation or civil fines or penalties, 
shall be paid by the watershed district for which the Kansas depart-
ment of agriculture division of conservation holds the conservation 
easement.

(i) (1) Except as provided in subsection (i) paragraph (2), the Kansas 
department of agriculture shall not expend moneys appropriated from 
the state general fund or from any special revenue fund or funds for the 
purpose of accepting, purchasing or otherwise acquiring conservation 
easements on behalf of watershed districts.

(2) The Kansas department of agriculture may expend moneys in 
the compensatory mitigation fund established by this section for the 
purpose of accepting, purchasing or otherwise acquiring conservation 
easements on behalf of watershed districts and for the administration 
of such conservation easements.

(j) The Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation 
shall not accept, purchase or otherwise acquire any conservation ease-
ment other than for the purposes of this section.

Sec. 5. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 2-1907 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 2-1907. The governing body of the district shall consist of five 
supervisors who are qualified electors residing within the district. The 
supervisors who are first elected shall serve for terms of one, two and 
three years according to the following plan: The two persons receiving 
the highest number of votes in the election shall hold office for three 
years; the two persons receiving the next highest number of votes shall 
hold such office for a term of two years; and the remaining supervisor 
shall hold office for a term of one year. In the event of a tie vote, such 
terms shall be decided by lot. Nothing in this section shall be construed 
as affecting the length of the term of supervisors holding office on Jan-
uary 1, 1995. Successors to such persons shall be elected for terms of 
three years. An annual meeting of all qualified electors of the district 
shall be held in the month of January or February. Notice of the time 
and place of such meeting shall be given by such supervisors by pub-
lishing a notice in the official county paper once each week for two con-
secutive weeks prior to the week in which such meeting is to be held. 
At such meeting the supervisors shall make full and due report of their 
activities and financial affairs since the last annual meeting and shall 
conduct an election by secret ballot of all of the qualified electors of the 
district there present for the election of supervisors whose terms have 
expired. Whenever a vacancy occurs in the membership of the govern-
ing body the remaining supervisors of the district shall appoint a qual-
ified elector of the district to fill the office for the unexpired term. The 
supervisors shall designate a chairperson and may from time to time 
change such designation. A supervisor shall hold office until a succes-
sor has been elected or appointed and has qualified. A majority of the 
supervisors shall constitute a quorum and the concurrence of a majori-
ty of the supervisors in any matter within their duties shall be required 
for its determination. A supervisor shall receive no compensation for 
services, but may be entitled to expenses, including traveling expenses, 
necessarily incurred in the discharge of duties. The supervisors may 
employ a secretary, technical experts, and such other officers, agents, 
and employees, permanent and temporary, as they may require, and 
shall determine their qualifications, duties and compensation. The su-
pervisors may call upon the county attorney of the county in which a 
major portion of the district lies, or the attorney general for such legal 
services as they may require. The supervisors may delegate to their 
chairperson, to one or more supervisors, or to one or more agents, or 
employees such powers and duties as they may deem proper. The su-
pervisors shall furnish to the Kansas department of agriculture division 
of conservation, upon request, copies of such rules, regulations, orders, 
contracts, forms, and other documents as they shall adopt or employ, 
and such other information concerning their activities as it may require 
in the performance of its duties under this act. The supervisors shall 
provide for the execution of surety bonds for all employees and officers 
who shall be entrusted with funds or property; shall provide for the 
keeping of a full and accurate record of all proceedings and of all res-
olutions, regulations, and orders issued or adopted; and shall provide 
for an annual audit of the accounts and receipts and disbursements. 
Any supervisor may be removed by the state conservation secretary in 

consultation with the commission upon notice and hearing in accordance 
with the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act, for ne-
glect of duty or malfeasance in office, but for no other reason. The su-
pervisors may invite the legislative body of any municipality or county 
located near the territory comprised within the district to designate a 
representative to advise and consult with the supervisors of the district 
on all questions of program and policy which that may affect the prop-
erty, water supply, or other interests of such municipality or county.

Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 2-1907c is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 2-1907c. On or before September 1 of each year, each conservation 
district shall submit to the Kansas department of agriculture division 
of conservation a certification of the amount of money to be furnished 
by the county commissioners for conservation district activities for the 
ensuing calendar year. Such amount shall be the same as authorized 
for such purposes in each approved county budget. For the purpose of 
providing state financial assistance to conservation districts, the Kansas 
department of agriculture division of conservation in the regular bud-
get request, as a line item for the forthcoming fiscal year, shall submit 
a special request for an amount equal to the sum of the allocations of 
each county to each conservation district, but in no event to exceed the 
sum of $25,000 per district. This $25,000 limitation shall be applicable 
for fiscal year 2008, and thereafter, subject to appropriations therefor. 
The Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation, as soon 
as practicable after July 1 of the following year, shall disburse such 
moneys as may be appropriated by the state for this purpose to each 
conservation district to match funds allocated by the commissioners of 
each county. Distribution shall be prorated in proportion to county al-
locations in the event that appropriations are insufficient for complete 
matching of funds. Municipal accounting procedures shall be used in 
the distribution of and in the expenditure of all funds.

Sec. 7. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 2-1908 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 2-1908. A conservation district organized under the provisions of 
K.S.A. 2-1901 et seq., and amendments thereto, shall constitute a gov-
ernmental subdivision of this state, and a public body corporate and 
politic, exercising public powers, and such district, and the supervisors 
thereof, shall have the following powers, in addition to others granted 
in other sections of this act:

(a) To conduct surveys, investigations, and research relating to the 
character of soil erosion, soil and grassland health, flood damage, water 
quality and the preventive and control measures needed, to publish the 
results of such surveys, investigations, or research, and to disseminate 
information concerning such preventive and control measures. In or-
der to avoid duplication of research activities, no district shall initiate 
any research program except in cooperation with the government of 
this state or any of its agencies, or with the United States or any of its 
agencies;

(b) to conduct demonstrational projects within the district on lands, 
owned or controlled by this state or any of its agencies, with the cooper-
ation of the agency administering and having jurisdiction thereof, and 
on any other lands within the district upon obtaining the consent of 
the occupier of such lands or the necessary rights or interests in such 
lands, in order to demonstrate by example the means, methods, and 
measures by which soil and soil resources may be conserved, and soil 
erosion in the form of soil blowing and soil washing may be prevented 
and controlled; and to demonstrate by example, the means, methods, 
and measures by which water and water resources may be conserved, 
developed, used and disposed of to alleviate drouth drought, to main-
tain and improve water quality and to reduce flooding and impaired 
drainage;

(c) to carry out preventive and control measures within the district 
including, but not limited to, engineering operations, methods of culti-
vation, the growing of vegetation, changes in use of land, and the mea-
sures listed in subsection C of K.S.A. 2-1902, and amendments thereto, 
on lands owned or controlled by this state or any of its agencies, with 
the cooperation of the agency administering and having jurisdiction 
thereof, and on any other lands within the district upon obtaining the 
consent of the occupier of such lands or the necessary rights or interests 
in such lands;

(d) to cooperate, or enter into agreements with, and within the 
limitations of appropriations duly made available to it by law, to fur-
nish financial or other aid to, any agency, governmental or otherwise, 
or any occupier of lands within the district, in the carrying on of ero-
sion-control flood prevention, soil and grassland health initiatives, water 
quality and water management operations within the district, subject to 

(continued)



632 Kansas Register

Vol. 40, No. 18, May 6, 2021© Kansas Secretary of State 2021

New State Laws

such conditions as the supervisors may deem necessary to advance the 
purposes of this act;

(e) to obtain options upon and to acquire, by purchase, exchange, 
lease, gift, grant, bequest, devise, or otherwise, any property, real or 
personal, or rights or interest therein; to maintain, administer, and im-
prove any properties acquired, to receive income from such properties 
and to expend such income in carrying out the purposes and provisions 
of this act; and to sell, lease, or otherwise dispose of any of its property 
or interests therein in furtherance of the purposes and the provisions 
of this act;

(f) to make available, on such terms as it shall prescribe, to land 
occupiers within the district, agricultural and engineering machinery 
and equipment, fertilizer, seeds, and seedlings, and such other material 
or equipment, as will assist such land occupiers to carry on operations 
upon their lands for the conservation of soil resources, soil and grassland 
health, protection of water quality and for the prevention and control of 
soil erosion;

(g) to develop comprehensive plans for the conservation of soil and 
water resources and for the control and prevention of soil erosion, flood 
damages, impaired drainage, the effects of drouth drought within the 
district and the maintenance and improvement of water quality, which 
with such plans shall specify specifying in such detail as may be pos-
sible, the acts, procedures, performances, and avoidances which that 
are necessary or desirable for the effectuation of such plans, includ-
ing the specification of engineering operations, methods of cultivation, 
the growing of vegetation, cropping programs, tillage practices, and 
changes in use of land, and to publish such plans and information and 
bring them to the attention of occupiers of lands within the district;

(h) to take over, by purchase, lease, gift or otherwise donation, and 
to administer, any soil-conservation, erosion-control, or soil and grass-
land health, erosion-prevention, flood prevention, water quality or wa-
ter management project located within its boundaries undertaken by 
the United States or any of its agencies, or by this state or any of its 
agencies subject to the authority of the authorizing state or federal agency; 
to manage, as agent of the United States or any of its agencies, or of 
this state or any of its agencies, any soil-conservation, erosion-control, 
or erosion-prevention, flood prevention or water management project 
within its boundaries; to act for the district or as agent for the United 
States, or any of its agencies, or for this state or any of its agencies, in 
connection with the acquisition, construction, operation, maintenance, 
or administration of any soil-conservation, erosion-control, or soil and 
grassland health, erosion-prevention, flood prevention, water quality or 
water management project within its boundaries; to accept donations, 
gifts, and contributions in money, services, materials, or otherwise, 
from the United States or any of its agencies, or from this state or any of 
its agencies, and from persons, firms, corporations or associations, and 
to use or expend such moneys, services, materials, or other contribu-
tions in carrying on its operations;

(i) to sue and be sued in the name of the district; to have a seal, which 
seal shall be judicially noticed; to have perpetual succession unless ter-
minated as hereinafter provided; to make and execute contracts and oth-
er instruments, necessary or convenient to the exercise of its powers; to 
make, and from time to time amend and repeal, rules and regulations not 
inconsistent with this act, to carry into effect its purposes and powers;

(j) as a condition to the extending of any benefits under this act, to 
or the performance of work upon, any lands not owned or controlled 
by this state or any of its agencies, the supervisors may require contri-
butions in money, services, materials, or otherwise to any operations 
conferring such benefits, and may require land occupiers to enter into 
and perform such agreements or covenants as to the permanent use of 
such lands as will tend to prevent or control erosion thereon;

(k) no provisions with respect to the acquisition, operation, or 
disposition of property by other public bodies shall be applicable to 
a district organized hereunder unless the legislature shall specifically 
so state;

(l) the supervisors of any district shall not contract debts or obliga-
tions in the name of the district beyond the current appropriation made 
available to the district by the committee division or federal grants or 
other financial sources;

(m) to accept and expend funds donated to the district for purpos-
es of providing at least 20% cost-share for the purchase of an eligible 
water right from the holder of the water right under the provisions of 
K.S.A. 2-1915, and amendments thereto; and

(n) to control and eradicate sericea lespedeza invasive species within 
the district in any county that the secretary of agriculture has designat-
ed as a sericea lespedeza disaster area.

Sec. 8. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 2-1915 is hereby amended to read as 
follows: 2-1915. (a) (1) Appropriations may be made for grants out of 
funds in the treasury of this state for:

(A) Terraces, terrace outlets, check dams, dikes, ponds, ditches, 
critical area planting, grassed waterways, tailwater recovery irrigation 
systems irrigation technology, precision land forming, range seeding, soil 
and grassland health, detention and grade stabilization structures and 
other enduring water conservation and water quality practices installed 
on public lands and on privately owned lands; and,

(B) the control and eradication of sericea lespedeza as provided in 
subsection (n) of K.S.A. 2-1908, and amendments thereto, invasive spe-
cies on public lands and on privately owned lands.

(2) Except as provided by the multipurpose small lakes program 
act and other programs approved by the secretary, any such grant shall not 
exceed 80% of the total cost of any such practice.

(b) A program for protection of riparian and wetland areas shall 
be developed by the Kansas department of agriculture division of 
conservation and implemented by the conservation districts. The con-
servation districts shall prepare district programs to address resource 
management concerns of water quality, erosion and sediment control 
and wildlife habitat as part of the conservation district long-range and 
annual work plans. Preparation and implementation of conservation 
district programs shall be accomplished with assistance from appropri-
ate state and federal agencies involved in resource management.

(c) Subject to the provisions of K.S.A. 2-1919, and amendments 
thereto, any holder of a water right, as defined by subsection (g) of 
K.S.A. 82a-701(g), and amendments thereto, who is willing to volun-
tarily return all or a part of the water right to the state shall be eligible 
for a grant not to exceed 80% of the total cost of the purchase price 
for such water right. The Kansas department of agriculture division of 
conservation shall administer this cost-share program with funds ap-
propriated by the legislature for such purpose. The chief engineer shall 
certify to the Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation 
that any water right for which application for cost-share is received un-
der this section is eligible in accordance with the criteria established in 
K.S.A. 2-1919, and amendments thereto.

(d) (1) Subject to appropriation acts therefor, the Kansas depart-
ment of agriculture division of conservation shall develop the Kansas 
water quality buffer initiative for the purpose of restoring riparian 
areas using best management practices. The executive director of the 
Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation shall ensure 
that the initiative is complementary to the federal conservation reserve 
program and update any applicable standards from time to time as necessary 
for the continued success of the program.

(2) There is hereby created in the state treasury the Kansas water 
quality buffer initiative fund. All expenditures from such fund shall be 
made in accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of the direc-
tor of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers approved by the 
executive director of the Kansas department of agriculture division of 
conservation or the executive director’s designee. Money Moneys credit-
ed to the fund shall be used for the purpose of making grants to install 
water quality best management practices pursuant to the initiative.

(3) The county or district appraiser shall identify and map ripari-
an buffers consisting of at least one contiguous acre per parcel of real 
property located in the appraiser’s county. Notwithstanding any other 
provisions of law, riparian buffers shall be valued by the county or dis-
trict appraiser as tame grass land, native grass land or waste land, as 
appropriate. As used in this subsection (3) paragraph, “riparian buffer” 
means an area of stream-side vegetation that: (A) Consists of tame or 
native grass and may include forbs and woody plants; (B) is located 
along a perennial or intermittent stream, including the stream bank and 
adjoining floodplain; and (C) is a minimum of 66 feet wide and a max-
imum of 180 feet wide.

(e) The Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation, 
with the approval of the state conservation commission secretary, shall 
adopt rules and regulations to administer such grant and protection 
programs. Prior to submission of any proposed rules and regulations of the 
division to the director of the budget, the secretary of administration and the 
attorney general in accordance with the rules and regulations filing act, K.S.A. 
77-415 et seq., and amendments thereto:

(1) The director shall submit such proposed rules and regulations to the 
commission; and

(2) the commission shall review and make recommendations to the direc-
tor and the secretary regarding such proposed rules and regulations.

(f) Any district is authorized to make use of any assistance whatso-
ever given by the United States, or any agency thereof, or derived from 
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any other source, for the planning and installation of such practices. 
The Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation may en-
ter into agreements with other state and federal agencies to implement 
the Kansas water quality buffer initiative.

Sec. 9. K.S.A. 2-1916 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-1916. 
At any time after five (5) years after the organization of a district under 
the provisions of this act, ten percent (10%) of the occupiers of land 
lying within the boundaries of such district may file a petition with the 
state soil conservation committee division praying that the operations of 
the district be terminated and the existence of the district discontinued. 
The committee division may conduct such public meetings and public 
hearings upon such petition as may be necessary to assist it in the con-
sideration thereof. Within sixty (60) days after such a petition has been 
received by the committee it division, the division shall give due notice of 
the holding of a referendum, and shall supervise such referendum, and 
issue appropriate regulations governing the conduct thereof, the ques-
tion to be submitted by ballots upon which the words “For terminating 
the existence of the __________ (name of the soil conservation district 
to be here inserted)” and “against terminating the existence of the 
__________ (name of the soil conservation district to be here inserted)” 
shall be printed, with a square before each proposition and a direction 
to insert an × mark in the square before one or the other of said proposi-
tions as the voter may favor or oppose discontinuance of such district. 
All occupiers of lands lying within the boundaries of the district shall 
be eligible to vote in such referendum. Only such land occupiers shall 
be eligible to vote. No informalities in the conduct of such referendum 
or in any matters relating thereto shall invalidate said referendum or 
the result thereof if notice thereof shall have been given substantially as 
herein provided and said referendum shall have been fairly conducted. 
The committee division shall publish the result of such referendum and 
shall thereafter consider and determine whether the continued oper-
ation of the district within the defined boundaries is administratively 
practicable and feasible. If the committee division shall determine that 
the continued operation of such district is administratively practicable 
and feasible, it shall record such determination and deny the petition. 
If the committee division shall determine that the continued opera-
tion of such district is not administratively practicable and feasible, it 
shall record such determination and shall certify such determination 
to the supervisors of the district. In making such determination, the 
committee division shall give due regard and weight to the attitudes 
of the occupiers of lands lying within the district, the number of land 
occupiers eligible to vote in such referendum who shall have voted, the 
proportion of the votes in such referendum in favor of the discontinu-
ance of the district to the total number of votes cast, the approximate 
wealth and income of the land occupiers of the district, the probable 
expense of carrying on erosion control operations within such district, 
and such other economic and social factors as may be relevant to such 
determination, having due regard to the legislative findings set forth 
in K.S.A. 2-1902: Provided, however, and amendments thereto, except that 
the committee division shall not have authority to determine that the 
continued operation of the district is administratively practicable and 
feasible unless a majority of the votes cast in the referendum shall have 
been cast in favor of the continuance of such district.

Upon receipt from the state soil conservation committee division of 
certification that the committee division has determined that the con-
tinued operation of the district is not administratively practicable and 
feasible, pursuant to the provisions of this section, the supervisors shall 
forthwith immediately proceed to terminate the affairs of the district. 
The supervisors shall dispose of all property belonging to the district 
at public auction and shall pay over the proceeds of such sale to be 
covered into the state treasury. The supervisors shall thereupon file an 
application, duly verified, with the secretary of state for the discontin-
uance of such district, and shall transmit with such application the cer-
tificate of the state soil conservation committee division setting forth the 
determination of the committee division that the continued operation 
of such district is not administratively practicable and feasible. The ap-
plication shall recite that the property of the district has been disposed 
of and the proceeds paid over as in this section provided, and shall set 
forth a full accounting of such properties and proceeds of the sale. The 
secretary of state shall issue to the supervisors a certificate of dissolu-
tion and shall record such certificate in an appropriate book of record in 
his or her the secretary of state’s office.

Upon issuance of a certificate of dissolution under the provisions of 
this section, all ordinances and regulations theretofore adopted and in 
force within such districts shall be of no further force and effect. All con-

tracts theretofore entered into, to which the district or supervisors are 
parties, shall remain in force and effect for the period provided in such 
contracts. The state soil conservation committee division shall be substi-
tuted for the district or supervisors as party to such contracts. The com-
mittee division shall be entitled to all benefits and subject to all liabilities 
under such contracts and shall have the same right and liability to per-
form, to require performance, to sue and be sued thereon, and to modify 
or terminate such contracts by mutual consent or otherwise, as the su-
pervisors of the district would have had. Such dissolution shall not affect 
the lien of any judgment entered under the provisions of K.S.A. 2-1911, 
prior to its repeal, nor the pendency of any action instituted under the pro-
visions of such section, and the committee shall succeed to all the rights 
and obligations of the district or supervisors as to such liens and actions. 
The state soil conservation committee shall not entertain petitions for the 
discontinuance of any district nor conduct referenda upon such petitions 
nor make determinations pursuant to such petitions in accordance with 
the provisions of this act, more often than once in five (5) years.

Sec. 10. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 2-1930 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 2-1930. (a) As used in this section:

(1) “Division” means the Kansas department of agriculture divi-
sion of conservation established within the Kansas department of agriculture 
in K.S.A. 74-5,126, and amendments thereto;

(2) “historic consumptive water use” means an amount of use of a 
water right as calculated pursuant to subsection (k); and

(3) “program” means the water right transition assistance program.
(b) There is hereby established the water right transition assistance 

program. The program shall be administered by the Kansas depart-
ment of agriculture division of conservation. The Kansas department of 
agriculture division of water resources and recognized local governing 
agencies, including groundwater management districts, shall cooperate 
in program implementation. The program shall be administered for the 
purpose of reducing historic consumptive water use in the target or 
high priority areas of the state by issuing water right transition grants 
based on competitive bids for privately held water rights.

(c) (1) The division may receive and expend funds from the federal 
or state government, or a private source for the purpose of carrying out 
the provisions of this section. The division shall carry over unexpended 
funds from one fiscal year to the next.

(2) The maximum amount paid by the division shall not exceed a 
base rate per acre-foot of historic consumptive water use made avail-
able under the water right to be dismissed or permanently reduced. 
The state conservation division, in consultation with the commission, shall 
establish an annual base rate after considering recommendations from 
the chief engineer and the groundwater management districts regard-
ing market conditions.

(d) The division may enter into water right transition assistance 
program contracts with landowners that will result in the permanent 
reduction of part or all of a landowner’s historic consumptive water use 
by action of the chief engineer as provided for in subsection (f).

(e) All applications for permanent irrigation water right retire-
ments shall be considered for funding. Permanent retirement of par-
tial water rights shall only be approved by the Kansas department of 
agriculture division of water resources when the local groundwater 
management district has the metering and monitoring capabilities nec-
essary to ensure compliance with the program.

(f) Applications for permanent water right retirement shall be pri-
oritized for payment based on the following criteria:

(1) The applicant’s bid price;
(2) the timing and extent of the impact of the application on aquifer 

restoration or stream recovery;
(3) the impact on local water management strategies designated by 

the board of each groundwater management district or by the chief en-
gineer for each target area; and

(4) where rights with similar hydrologic impacts are considered, 
priority should be given to the senior right as determined under the 
Kansas water appropriation act.

(g) Water rights enrolled in the program for permanent retirement 
shall require the written consent of all landowners and authorized 
agents to voluntarily request permanent reduction or permanent dis-
missal and forfeiture of priority of the enrolled water right. Upon en-
rollment of the water right into the program, the chief engineer of the 
Kansas department of agriculture division of water resources shall con-
currently permanently reduce or permanently dismiss and terminate 
the water right in accordance with the terms of the contract.

(continued)
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(h) (1) The division shall make water right transition grants avail-
able only in areas that have been designated as:

(A) Target areas by the groundwater management districts and the 
chief engineer of the Kansas department of agriculture division of wa-
ter resources; or

(B) target areas outside the groundwater management districts by 
the chief engineer of the Kansas department of agriculture division of 
water resources.

(2) Each target area shall be in a groundwater aquifer, aquifer 
sub-unit, surface water basin, subbasin or stream reach that the chief 
engineer has closed to further appropriations except for domestic use, 
temporary permits, term permits for five years or less and small-use 
exemptions for 15 acre-feet or less, if the use, permit or exemption does 
not conflict with this program.

(3) The designation of each target area shall include the identifica-
tion of a historic consumptive water use retirement goal. When such 
goal is reached, the target area will shall be delisted.

(4) The designation of each target area shall include the identifi-
cation of sub-regions which that are to be prioritized for retirements 
among competing bids.

(i) Contracts accepted under the program shall result in a net re-
duction in historic consumptive water use in the target area. Except as 
provided for in subsections (l) and (m), once a water right transition 
assistance program grant has been provided, the land authorized to be 
irrigated by the water right or water rights associated with that grant 
shall not be irrigated permanently. Water right transition assistance 
program contracts shall be subject to such terms, conditions and lim-
itations as may be necessary to ensure that such reduction in historic 
consumptive water use occurs and can be adequately monitored and 
enforced.

(j) Only vested or certified water rights which that are in good 
standing shall be eligible for water right retirement grants.

(k) (1) The historic consumptive water use of a water right shall be 
determined by either:

(A) Calculating the average amount of water consumed by crops 
as a result of the lawful beneficial use of water during the 10 preceding 
calendar years of actual irrigation and multiplying the average report-
ed water use for the 10 selected years by a factor of 0.85 for center pivot 
sprinkler irrigation systems, 0.75 for flood or gravity irrigation systems 
and 0.95 for subsurface drip irrigation systems, but not to exceed the 
net irrigation requirements for the 50% chance rainfall for the appro-
priate county as shown in K.A.R. 5-5-12; or

(B) calculating the available pumping capacity of a water right by 
multiplying a flow rate test for each point of diversion applied to be 
retired under the water right by a theoretical pumping duration of 100 
days multiplied by an efficiency factor of 0.85 for center pivot sprinkler 
irrigation systems, 0.75 for flood or gravity irrigation systems and 0.95 
for subsurface drop irrigation systems, but not to exceed the authorized 
quantity of the water right or the net irrigation requirements for the 
50% chance rainfall for the appropriate county as shown in K.A.R. 5-5-
12. Flow rate tests must have been conducted not less than one year 
prior to the application date and certified as acceptable by the local 
groundwater management district or the chief engineer; or

(2) The applicant may also submit an engineering study that de-
termines the average historic consumptive water use as an alternative 
method if it is demonstrated to be more accurate for the water right or 
water rights involved.

(l) Enrollment of an entire water right or a portion of a water right 
where land associated with the quantity is being permanently reduced 
from the water right in the program shall not subsequently prohibit 
irrigation of the land that, prior to enrollment, was authorized by the 
water right or water rights if irrigation can be lawfully allowed by an-
other water right or permit pursuant to the rules and regulations and 
consideration of any future changes to other water rights that may be 
proposed to be transferred to such land.

(m) If more than one water right overlaps the place of use autho-
rized by the water right proposed to be enrolled in the program, then 
all overlapping water rights shall be enrolled in the program or the 
landowners shall take the necessary lawful steps to eliminate the over-
lap with the water right to be enrolled. The burden shall be on the land-
owner to provide sufficient information to substantiate that the pro-
posed use of water by the resulting exercise of all water rights involved 
will result in the net reduction amount of historic consumptive water 
use by the water right or water rights to be enrolled. The division may 
require such documentation to be provided by someone with special 
knowledge or experience related to water rights and such operations.

(n) The division shall adopt rules and regulations as necessary for 
the administration of this section. When adopting such rules and reg-
ulations, the division shall consider cropping, system design, metered 
water use and all other pertinent information that will permit a verifi-
able reduction in historic consumptive water use and permit alternative 
crop or other use of the land so that the landowner’s economic opportu-
nities are taken into account.

(o) The division shall hold a meeting in each target area designat-
ed after July 1, 2012, prior to entering into any water right transition 
assistance program contract for the permanent retirement of part or all 
of landowner water rights in such target area. Such meetings shall in-
form the public of the possible economic and hydrologic impacts of the 
program. The division shall provide notice of such meetings through 
publication in local newspapers of record and in the Kansas register.

(p) The provisions of this section shall expire on July 1, 2022.

Sec. 11. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 2-1931 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 2-1931. (a) Any person who commits any of the following may 
incur a civil penalty as provided by this section:

(1) Any violation of the Kansas water right transition assistance 
program act or any rule and regulation adopted thereunder; and

(2) any violation of term, condition or limitation defined and or 
imposed within the contractual agreement between the Kansas depart-
ment of agriculture division of conservation and the water right owner.

(b) Any participant who violates any section of a water right tran-
sition assistance program contract shall be subject to either one or both 
of the following:

(1) A civil penalty of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 per 
violation. Each day shall constitute a separate violation for purposes of 
this section; and

(2) repayment of the grant amount in its entirety plus a penalty at 
6% of the full grant amount.

(c) Any penalties or reimbursements received under this act shall 
be reappropriated for use in the water right transition assistance pro-
gram.

(d) No civil penalty or order for repayment shall be imposed except upon 
the written order of the secretary or the secretary’s designee. Such order shall 
state the violation, the penalty to be imposed and the right of the person to 
appeal to the secretary. Any person, within 15 calendar days after notification, 
may make written request to the secretary for a hearing in accordance with 
the provisions of the Kansas administrative procedure act. The secretary shall 
affirm, reverse or modify the order and shall specify the reason therefor.

(e) Any person aggrieved by an order of the secretary made under this 
section may appeal such order to the district court in the manner provided by 
the Kansas judicial review act.

(f) The provisions of this section shall expire on July 1, 2022.

Sec. 12. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 2-1933 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 2-1933. (a) As used in this section, “division” means the Kansas 
department of agriculture division of conservation established within 
the Kansas department of agriculture in K.S.A. 74-5,126, and amendments 
thereto.

(b) The division shall administer the conservation reserve enhance-
ment program (CREP) on behalf of the state of Kansas pursuant to 
agreements with the United States department of agriculture for the 
purpose of implementing beneficial water quality and water quantity 
projects concerning targeted watersheds to be enrolled in CREP.

(c) There is hereby established in the state treasury the Kansas con-
servation reserve enhancement program fund, which shall be admin-
istered by the division. All expenditures from the Kansas conservation 
reserve enhancement program fund shall be for the implementation of 
CREP pursuant to agreements between the state of Kansas and the Unit-
ed States department of agriculture. All expenditures from such fund 
shall be made in accordance with appropriation acts upon warrants of 
the director of accounts and reports issued pursuant to vouchers ap-
proved by the secretary of agriculture or by the secretary’s designee.

(d) The division may request the assistance of other state agencies, 
Kansas state university, local governments and private entities in the 
implementation of CREP.

(e) The division may receive and expend moneys from the federal 
or state government or private sources for the purpose of carrying out 
the provisions of this section. All moneys received shall be remitted 
to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-
4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, 
the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury 
to the credit of the Kansas conservation reserve enhancement program 
fund. The division shall carry over unexpended moneys in the Kansas 
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conservation reserve enhancement program fund from one fiscal year 
to the next.

(f) The division may enter into cost-share contracts with landown-
ers that will result in fulfilling specific objectives of projects approved 
in agreements between the United States department of agriculture and 
the state of Kansas.

(g) The division shall administer all CREPs in Kansas subject to the 
following criteria:

(1) The aggregate total number of acres enrolled in Kansas in all 
CREPs shall not exceed 40,000 acres;

(2) the number of acres eligible for enrollment in CREP in Kansas 
shall be limited to 1/2 of the number of acres represented by federal con-
tracts in the federal conservation reserve program that have expired 
in the prior year in counties within the particular CREP area, except 
that if federal law permits the lands enrolled in the CREP program to 
be used for agricultural purposes, such as planting agricultural com-
modities, including, but not limited to, grains, cellulosic or biomass 
materials, alfalfa, grasses or legumes, but not including cover crops, 
then the number of acres eligible for enrollment shall be limited to the 
number of acres represented by contracts in the federal conservation 
reserve program that have expired in the prior year in counties within 
the specific CREP area;

(3) no more than 25% of the acreage in CREP may be in any one 
county, except that the last eligible offer to exceed the number of acres 
constituting a 25% acreage cap in any one county shall be approved;

(4) no whole-field enrollments shall be accepted into a CREP estab-
lished for water quality purposes; and

(5) lands enrolled in the federal conservation reserve program as of 
January 1, 2008, shall not be eligible for enrollment in CREP.

(h) (1) For a CREP established with the purpose of meeting water 
quantity goals, the division shall administer such CREP in accordance 
with the following additional criteria:

(A) No water right that is owned by a governmental entity shall 
be purchased or retired by the state or federal government pursuant 
to CREP; and

(B) only water rights in good standing are eligible for inclusion un-
der CREP.

(2) To be a water right in good standing:
(A) At least 50% of the maximum annual quantity authorized to 

be diverted under the water right that has been used in any three 
years within the most recent five-year period preceding the submis-
sion for which irrigation water use reports are approved and made 
available by the division of water resources of the Kansas department 
of agriculture;

(B) the water rights used for the acreage in CREP during the most 
recent five-year period preceding the submission for which irrigation 
water use reports are approved and made available by the division 
of water resources, shall not have: (i) Exceeded the maximum annual 
quantity authorized to be diverted; and (ii) been the subject of enforce-
ment sanctions by the division of water resources; and

(C) the water right holder has submitted the required annual water 
use report required under K.S.A. 82a-732, and amendments thereto, for 
each of the most recent 10 years.

(i) (1) The Kansas department of agriculture shall submit a CREP 
report to the senate committee on agriculture and natural resources and 
the house committee on agriculture and natural resources at the be-
ginning of each annual regular session of the legislature which shall 
contain containing a description of program activities for each CREP 
administered in the state and shall include including:

(A) The acreage enrolled in CREP during fiscal year 2008 through 
the most current fiscal year to date;

(B) the dollar amounts received and expended for CREP during fis-
cal year 2008 through the most current fiscal year to date;

(C) an assessment of meeting each of the program objectives identi-
fied in the agreement with the farm services agency; and

(D) such other information specified by the Kansas department of 
agriculture.

(2) For a CREP established with the purpose of meeting water 
quantity goals, the following information shall be included in such an-
nual report:

(A) The total water rights, measured in acre-feet, retired in CREP 
from fiscal year 2008 through the current fiscal year to date;

(B) the change in groundwater water levels in the CREP area 
during fiscal year 2008 through the most current fiscal year to date;

(C) the annual amount of water usage in the CREP area from fiscal 
year 2008 through the most current fiscal year to date; and

(D) the average water use, measured in acre-feet, for each of the 
five years preceding enrollment for each water right enrolled.

(j) The Kansas department of agriculture shall submit a report on 
the economic impact of each specific CREP to the senate committee on 
agriculture and natural resources and the house of representatives com-
mittee on agriculture and natural resources every five years, beginning 
in 2017. The report shall include economic impacts to businesses locat-
ed within each specific CREP region.

Sec. 13. K.S.A. 2-3702 is hereby amended to read as follows: 2-3702. 
As used in K.S.A. 2-3701 through 2-3714 et seq., and amendments thereto:

(a) “Agricultural or specialty chemical” means any pesticide, fertil-
izer, plant amendment or soil amendment but does not include nitrate 
and related nitrogen from a natural source.

(b) “Board” means the Kansas agricultural remediation board cre-
ated by K.S.A. 2-3709, and amendments thereto.

(c) “Corrective action” means action in response to release of an 
agricultural or specialty chemical that poses a threat to human health 
or the environment.

(d) “Eligible corrective action costs” means reasonable and neces-
sary costs of corrective action, as determined in accordance with rules 
and regulations adopted by the board.

(e) “Eligible lending institution” means:
(1) A bank, as defined in K.S.A. 75-4201, and amendments thereto, 

that agrees to participate in the remediation linked deposit program 
and is eligible to be a depository of state funds; or

(2) an institution of the farm credit system organized under the federal 
farm credit act of 1971 (, 12 U.S.C. § 2001), as amended, that agrees to par-
ticipate in the remediation linked deposit program and provides securities 
acceptable to the pooled money investment board pursuant to article 42 
of chapter 75 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto.

(f) “Eligible person” means:
(1) A responsible party or an owner of real property, but does not 

include the state, any state agency, any political subdivision of the state, 
the federal government or any agency of the federal government; or

(2) a person who:
(A) Is involved in a transaction relating to real property;
(B) is not a responsible party or owner of the real property; and
(C) voluntarily takes corrective action on the property in response 

to a request or order for corrective action from the department of health 
and environment.

(g) “Fund” means the Kansas agricultural remediation fund estab-
lished by K.S.A. 2-3711, and amendments thereto.

(h) “Kansas pesticide waste disposal fund” means the fund established by 
section 2, and amendments thereto.

(i) “Kansas pesticide waste disposal program” means the program estab-
lished by section 1, and amendments thereto.

(j) “Linked deposit” means an investment account placed by the 
director of investments under the provisions of article 42 of chapter 
75 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto, with an 
eligible lending institution for the purpose of the remediation linked 
deposit loan program.

(i)(k) “Pesticide” means the same as provided in K.S.A. 2-2202, and 
amendments thereto.

(l) (1) “Pesticide waste” means any pesticide that:
(A) Is not exempt from registration under the federal insecticide, fungi-

cide, and rodenticide act, 7 U.S.C. § 136w(b), as in effect on January 1, 2021;
(B) is not eligible for sale or distribution; and
(C) is not otherwise eligible for return or disposal.
(2) “Pesticide waste” includes, but is not limited to:
(A) Pesticides with no identifiable owner or responsible party that have 

been abandoned or illegally dumped at a site;
(B) pesticides that are unregistered, canceled, suspended or revoked by the 

Kansas department of agriculture or the United States environmental protec-
tion agency;

(C) pesticides with missing or illegible labels;
(D) pesticides that have been adulterated;
(E) pesticides in a leaking or damaged container; or
(F) pesticides that are of no use to the current owner of such pesticides.
(m) “Release” means any spill, leak, emission, discharge, escape or 

disposal of an agricultural or specialty chemical into the soils or waters 
of the state.

(j)(n) “Remediation linked deposit loan package” means the forms 
provided by the state treasurer for the purpose of applying for a reme-
diation linked deposit.

(continued)
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(k)(o) “Remediation linked deposit loan program” means the pro-
gram provided for by K.S.A. 2-3703 through 2-3707, and amendments 
thereto.

(l)(p) “Remediation reimbursement program” means the program 
provided for by K.S.A. 2-3709 2-3708 through 2-3713, and amendments 
thereto.

(m)(q) “Site” means all land and water areas, including air space, 
and all plants, animals, structures, buildings, contrivances and machin-
ery, whether fixed or mobile, including anything used for transporta-
tion, within a one-half mile radius of a release.

Sec. 14. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 2-3708 is hereby amended to read as 
follows: 2-3708. (a) There is hereby established the remediation reim-
bursement program. The program shall be for the purpose of:

(1) Providing reimbursement to eligible persons for the costs of 
corrective action approved by the department of health and environ-
ment or taken in accordance with requests or orders issued by the de-
partment of health and environment; and

(2) providing funding to the Kansas pesticide waste disposal program in 
accordance with section 2, and amendments thereto.

(b) The amount of reimbursement that an eligible person may re-
ceive from the fund shall be limited as follows:

(1) Except as provided in paragraph (2), for an eligible person who 
has paid all applicable assessments imposed pursuant to K.S.A. 2-3713, 
and amendments thereto, reimbursement per site shall not exceed an 
amount equal to: (A) 90% of total eligible corrective action costs greater 
than $1,000 and less than or equal to $100,000; plus (B) 80% of total 
eligible corrective action costs greater than $100,000 and less than or 
equal to $200,000. The total amount reimbursed for any one site shall 
not exceed $200,000 within a 5 year five-year period or as otherwise set 
forth by the board pursuant to rules and regulations, unless the prop-
erty has been sold or leased and both the buyer and seller or lessee and 
lessor are responsible for remediation, in which case the total amount 
reimbursed for any such site shall not exceed $400,000 within a five 
year five-year period or as otherwise set forth by the board pursuant to 
rules and regulations.

(2) For an eligible person who is not required to pay or has not paid 
any assessment imposed pursuant to K.S.A. 2-3713, and amendments 
thereto, or for a pesticide dealer who has paid the annual $5 assessment 
pursuant to subsection (a)(4) of K.S.A. 2-3713(a)(4), and amendments 
thereto, reimbursement per site shall not exceed an amount equal to 
100% of total eligible corrective action costs greater than $1,000 and less 
than or equal to $10,000.

Sec. 15. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 49-603 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 49-603. As used in this act:

(a) “Director” means the executive director of the Kansas depart-
ment of agriculture division of conservation or a designee.

(b) “Affected land” means the area of land from which overburden 
has been removed or upon which overburden has been deposited, or 
both, but shall not include crushing areas, stockpile areas or roads.

(c) “Commission” means the conservation program policy board cre-
ated in K.S.A. 2-1904, and amendments thereto, including the state conser-
vation commission continued in existence by K.S.A. 74-5,128, and amend-
ments thereto.

(d) “Mine” means any underground or surface mine developed 
and operated for the purpose of extracting rocks, minerals and indus-
trial materials, other than coal, oil and gas. Mine does not include bor-
row areas created for construction purposes.

(e) “Operator” means any person who engages in surface mining 
or operation of an underground mine or mines.

(f) “Overburden” means all of the earth and other materials which 
that lie above the natural deposits of material being mined or to be 
mined.

(g) “Peak” means a projecting point of overburden removed from 
its natural position and deposited elsewhere in the process of surface 
mining.

(h) “Pit” means a tract of land from which overburden has been or 
is being removed for the purpose of surface mining.

(i) “Ridge” means a lengthened elevation of overburden removed 
from its natural position and deposited elsewhere in the process of sur-
face mining.

(j) (1) “Surface mining” means the mining of material, except for 
coal, oil and gas, for sale or for processing or for consumption in the 
regular operation of a business by removing the overburden lying 
above natural deposits and mining directly from the natural deposits 
exposed, or by mining directly from deposits lying exposed in their nat-

ural state, or the surface effects of underground mining. Surface mining 
shall include dredge operations lying outside the high banks of streams 
and rivers.

(2) Removal of overburden and mining of limited amounts of any 
materials shall not be considered surface mining when done only for 
the purpose and to the extent necessary to determine the location, 
quantity or quality of the natural deposit, if the materials removed 
during exploratory excavation or mining are not sold, processed for 
sale or consumed in the regular operation of a business.

(k) “Topsoil” means the natural medium located at the land surface 
with favorable characteristics for growth of vegetation, which is normal-
ly the A or B, or both, soil horizon layers of the four soil horizons.

(l) “Active site” means a site where surface mining is being con-
ducted.

(m) “Inactive site” means a site where surface mining is not being 
conducted but where overburden has been disturbed in the past for 
the purpose of conducting surface mining and an operator anticipates 
conducting further surface mining operations in the future.

(n) “Materials” means natural deposits of gypsum, clay, stone, 
sandstone, sand, shale, silt, gravel, volcanic ash or any other minerals 
of commercial value found on or in the earth with the exception of coal, 
oil and gas and those located within cut and fill portions of road rights-
of-way.

(o) “Reclamation” means the reconditioning of the area of land af-
fected by surface mining to a usable condition for agricultural, recre-
ational or other use.

(p) “Stockpile” means the finished products of the mining of gyp-
sum, clay, shale, stone, sandstone, sand, silt, gravel, volcanic ash or 
other minerals and removal from its natural position and deposited 
elsewhere for future use in the normal operation as a business.

(q) “Underground mining” means the extraction of rocks, minerals 
and industrial materials, other than coal, oil and gas, from the earth 
by developing entries or shafts from the surface to the seam or deposit 
before recovering the product by underground extraction methods.

(r) “Person” means any individual, firm, partnership, corporation, 
government or other entity.

(s) “Division” or “Kansas department of agriculture division of 
conservation” means the agency division of conservation established by 
within the Kansas department of agriculture in K.S.A. 74-5,126, and amend-
ments thereto.

(t) “Secretary” means the Kansas secretary of agriculture.

Sec. 16. K.S.A. 49-605 is hereby amended to read as follows: 49-605. 
(a) No person shall engage in surface mining or operation of an under-
ground mine or mines, as defined by this act, without first obtaining a 
license from the director.

(b) Licenses shall be issued upon application submitted on a form 
provided by the director and shall be accompanied by a fee of $300. 
Each applicant shall be required to furnish on the form information 
necessary to identify the applicant. Licenses shall expire one year from 
the date of issuance and shall be renewed by the director upon appli-
cation submitted within 30 days prior to the expiration date and ac-
companied by the renewal fee established by the director under K.S.A. 
49-623, and amendments thereto.

(c) A license to mine is only valid when approved by the commis-
sion director and acknowledged by a certificate which that has been 
signed by the director and lists the operator and the assigned license 
number.

Sec. 17. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 49-606 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 49-606. (a) The secretary, at the request of the director, with the ap-
proval of the commission, may deny issuance or renewal of a license for 
repeated or willful violation of the provisions of this act or for failure to 
comply with any provision of a reclamation plan.

(b) The secretary, at the request of the director, with the approval 
of the commission, may suspend or revoke a license for repeated or 
willful violation of any of the provisions of this act or for failure to 
comply with any provision of a reclamation plan. Proceedings for the 
suspension or revocation of a license pursuant to this section shall be 
conducted in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act 
by the director secretary or a presiding officer from the office of admin-
istrative hearings.

Sec. 18. K.S.A. 49-611 is hereby amended to read as follows: 49-611. 
(a) An operator authorized under this act to operate a mine, after com-
pletion of mining operations and within the time specified in K.S.A. 
49-613, and amendments thereto, shall:
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(1) Grade affected lands except for impoundments and pit floors 
to slopes no steeper than one foot vertical rise for each three feet of 
horizontal distance. Where the original topography of the affected land 
was steeper than one foot of vertical rise for each three feet of horizontal 
distance, the affected lands may be graded to blend with the surround-
ing terrain. The grading of high banks of sand pits and highwalls may 
be modified or exempted by the director.

(2) Provide for the vegetation of the affected lands, except for im-
poundments, pit floors, and highwalls, as approved by the director 
before the release of the bond as provided in K.S.A. 49-616, and amend-
ments thereto.

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a), overburden piles where dispo-
sition has not occurred or will not occur for a period of 12 months shall 
be stabilized.

(c) Topsoil that is a part of overburden shall not be buried or de-
stroyed in the process of mining.

(d) The director, with concurrence of the commission secretary, 
may grant a variance from the requirements of subsections (a) and (b).

(e) A bond or security posted under this act to assure reclama-
tion of affected lands shall not be released until all reclamation work 
required by this section has been performed in accordance with the 
provisions of this act, except when a replacement bond or security is 
posted by a new operator or responsibility is transferred under K.S.A. 
49-610, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 19. K.S.A. 49-613 is hereby amended to read as follows: 49-613. 
(a) An operator shall reclaim affected lands within a period not to ex-
ceed three years after the filing of the report required under subsection 
(b) of K.S.A. 49-612(b), and amendments thereto, indicating the mining of 
any part of a site has been completed.

(b) For certain postmining land uses, such as a sanitary land fill, the 
director, with the approval of the commission secretary, may allow an 
extended reclamation period.

(c) An operator, upon completion of any reclamation work re-
quired by K.S.A. 49-611, and amendments thereto, shall apply to the direc-
tor in writing for approval of the work. The director, within a reason-
able time as determined by the commission, shall inspect the completed 
reclamation work. Upon determination by the director that the opera-
tor has satisfactorily completed all required reclamation work on the 
land included in the application, the commission director shall release 
the bond or security on the reclaimed land, shall remove the land from 
registration, and shall terminate or amend, as necessary, the operator’s 
authorization to conduct surface mining on the site.

(d) Periodic inspections may be conducted by the director or the 
director’s designee, to ensure that the operator is following the recla-
mation plan.

Sec. 20. K.S.A. 49-618 is hereby amended to read as follows: 49-618. 
(a) The director or the director’s designee, when accompanied by the 
operator or operator’s designee during regular business hours, may in-
spect any lands on which any operator is authorized to operate a mine 
for the purpose of determining whether the operator is or has been 
complying with the provisions of this act.

(b) The director shall give written notice to any operator who vio-
lates any of the provisions of this act or any rules and regulations ad-
opted by the director pursuant to this act.

(c) If corrective measures approved by the director are not com-
menced within 90 days, the violation shall be referred to the commis-
sion. The operator shall be notified in writing of the referral secretary 
shall, at the request of the director, issue a written order stating the nature of 
the violation, the penalty to be imposed and the right of the person to appeal to 
the secretary pursuant to K.S.A. 49-621, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 21. K.S.A. 49-620 is hereby amended to read as follows: 49-620. 
The attorney general, upon request of the commission, Once an order is-
sued pursuant to this act becomes a final order, the secretary, upon request of 
the director, shall institute proceedings for forfeiture of the bond posted 
by an operator to guarantee reclamation of a site where the operator is 
in violation of any of the provisions of this act or any rule and regulation 
adopted by the director pursuant to this act. Forfeiture of the operator’s 
bond shall fully satisfy all obligations of the operator to reclaim affected 
land covered by the bond. The director shall have the power to reclaim, 
as required by K.S.A. 49-611, and amendments thereto, any surface mined 
land with respect to which a bond has been forfeited, using the proceeds 
of the forfeiture to pay for the necessary reclamation work.

Sec. 22. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 49-621 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 49-621. (a) The director secretary, upon finding that the operator 

has failed to comply with any provision of this act, any provision of a 
reclamation plan or any condition of a license or site registration with 
which the operator is required to comply pursuant to this act, may im-
pose upon the operator a civil penalty not exceeding $1,000 for each 
day of noncompliance.

(b) All civil penalties assessed pursuant to this section shall be due 
and payable within 35 days after written notice of the imposition of a 
civil penalty has been served upon whom the penalty is being imposed, 
unless a longer period of time is granted by the director secretary or 
unless the operator appeals the assessment as provided in this section.

(c) No civil penalty shall be imposed under this section except upon 
the written order of the director secretary or the director’s secretary’s 
designee to the operator upon whom the penalty is to be imposed, stat-
ing the nature of the violation, the penalty imposed and the right of the 
operator upon whom the penalty is imposed to appeal to the director 
for a hearing on the matter. An operator upon whom a civil penalty 
has been imposed may appeal, within 15 days after service of the order 
imposing the civil penalty, to the director secretary. If appealed, a hear-
ing shall be conducted in accordance with the provisions of the Kansas 
administrative procedure act. The decision of the director secretary shall 
be final unless review is sought under subsection (d).

(d) Any action of the director secretary pursuant to this section is 
subject to review in accordance with the Kansas judicial review act.

Sec. 23. K.S.A. 49-623 is hereby amended to read as follows: 49-623. 
(a) The director secretary, with the approval of the commission, shall 
adopt such rules and regulations as necessary to administer and en-
force the provisions of this act.

(b) The commission director shall determine annually the amount 
necessary to carry out and enforce the provisions of this act for the next 
ensuing fiscal year and shall recommend to the director secretary such 
license renewal, registration application, registration and registration 
renewal fees as the commission director determines necessary for that 
purpose. The director shall adopt such fees by rule rules and regulation 
regulations.

(c) Before the director submits any such proposed rules and regulations 
to the director of the budget, the secretary of administration and the attorney 
general in accordance with the rules and regulations filing act, K.S.A. 77-415 
et seq., and amendments thereto:

(1) The director shall submit such rules and regulations to the commis-
sion; and

(2) the commission shall review and make recommendations to the direc-
tor and the secretary regarding such proposed rules and regulations.

(d) Fees for license renewal, registration and registration renewal 
shall be based on an operator’s acres of affected land or the tonnage of 
materials extracted by the operator during the preceding license year, 
or a combination thereof.

(d)(e) Political subdivisions of the state shall be exempt from all 
fees imposed under this act.

Sec. 24. K.S.A. 82a-1602 is hereby amended to read as follows: 82a-
1602. In order to provide public water supply storage and water related 
recreational facilities in the state, there is hereby established a multi-
purpose small lakes program. The program shall be administered by 
the Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation. Except 
as otherwise provided by this act, the Kansas department of agriculture 
division of conservation, with the approval of the state conservation 
commission secretary, shall adopt all rules and regulations necessary to 
implement the provisions of this act.

Sec. 25. K.S.A. 82a-1603 is hereby amended to read as follows: 82a-
1603. When used in this act:

(a) “Chief engineer” means the chief engineer of the division of wa-
ter resources of the department of agriculture.

(b) “Class I funded project” means a proposed new project or ren-
ovation of an existing project located within the boundaries of an orga-
nized watershed district which that is receiving or is eligible to receive 
financial participation from the Kansas department of agriculture divi-
sion of conservation for the flood control storage portion of the project.

(c) “Class II funded project” means a proposed new project or ren-
ovation of an existing project which that is receiving or is eligible to 
receive financial participation from the federal government.

(d) “Class III funded project” means a proposed new project or 
renovation of an existing project located outside the boundaries of an 
organized watershed district which that is not receiving or is not eli-
gible to receive financial participation from the Kansas department of 

(continued)
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agriculture division of conservation or the federal government except 
as provided in K.S.A. 82a-1606, and amendments thereto.

(e) “Division” means the division of conservation established within the 
Kansas department of agriculture in K.S.A. 74-5,126, and amendments thereto.

(f) “Flood control storage” means storage space in reservoirs to 
hold flood waters.

(f)(g) “Future use public water supply storage” means storage 
space which that the Kansas water office determines will be needed 
within the next 20 years for use by public water supply users in an area 
but for which there is no current sponsor.

(g)(h) “General plan” means a preliminary engineering report de-
scribing the characteristics of the project area, the nature and methods 
of dealing with the soil and water problems within the project area, 
and the projects proposed to be undertaken by the sponsor within the 
project area. Such plan shall include: Maps, descriptions and other data 
as may be necessary for the location, identification and establishment 
of the character of the work to be undertaken; a cost-benefit analysis of 
alternatives to the project, including, but not limited to, nonstructural 
flood control options and water conservation and reuse to reduce need 
for new water supply storage; and any other data and information as 
the chief engineer may require.

(h)(i) “Land right” means real property as that term is defined by 
the laws of the state of Kansas and all rights thereto and interest therein 
and shall include includes any road, highway, bridge, street, easement 
or other right-of-way thereon.

(i)(j) “Multipurpose small lake project” means a dam and lake con-
taining: (1) Flood control storage; and (2) either public water supply 
storage or recreation features, or both.

(j)(k) “Public water supply” means a water supply for municipal, 
industrial or domestic use.

(k)(l) “Public water supply storage” means storage of water for 
municipal, industrial or domestic use.

(l)(m) “Recreation feature” means water storage and related facili-
ties for activities such as swimming, fishing, boating, camping or other 
related activities.

(m)(n) “Renovation” means repair or restoration of an existing lake 
which that contains water storage space for use as a public water sup-
ply and which that has either recreational purposes or flood control 
purposes, or both.

(n)(o) “Secretary” means the secretary of the Kansas department of ag-
riculture.

(p) “Sponsor” means: (1) Any political subdivision of the state 
which that has the power of taxation and the right of eminent domain; 
(2) any public wholesale water supply district; or (3) any rural water 
district.

(o)(q) “Water user” means any city, rural water district, wholesale 
water district or any other political subdivision of the state which that is 
in the business of furnishing municipal or industrial water to the public.

Sec. 26. K.S.A. 82a-1607 is hereby amended to read as follows: 82a-
1607. Sponsors shall apply to the state conservation commission division 
for participation in the multipurpose small lakes program. The review 
and approval process of the Kansas department of agriculture division 
of conservation shall be established by rules and regulations which 
that shall be consistent with the state water plan. Following review, the 
Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation, with the 
approval of the state conservation commission secretary, shall request 
appropriations for specific projects from the legislature. Any funds ap-
propriated to carry out the provisions of this act shall be administered 
by the Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation.

Sec. 27. K.S.A. 82a-1702 is hereby amended to read as follows: 82a-
1702. (a) The state shall provide financial assistance to certain public 
corporations for part of the costs or reimbursement of part of the costs 
of installation of water development projects, which that derive gen-
eral benefits to the state as a whole, or to a section thereof beyond the 
boundaries of such public corporation.

(b) (1) Any public corporation shall be eligible for state financial as-
sistance for a part of the costs it becomes actually and legally obligated 
to pay for all lands, easements, and rights-of-way for the water devel-
opment projects in the event the state Kansas department of agriculture 
division of conservation commission shall find that:

(1)(A) Such public corporation has made application for approval 
of such financial assistance with the Kansas department of agriculture 
division of conservation in such form and manner as the Kansas de-
partment of agriculture division of conservation may require, which 
application each public corporation is hereby authorized to make;

(2)(B) such works will confer general flood control benefits beyond 
the boundaries of such public corporation in excess of 20% of the total 
flood control benefits of the works;

(3)(C) such works are consistent with the state water plan;
(4)(D) such public corporation will need such financial assistance 

for actual expenditures within the fiscal year next following; and
(5)(E) the legislature has appropriated funds for the payment of 

such sum.
(2) The payment authorized hereunder shall be limited to an 

amount equal to the total costs the public corporation shall become ac-
tually and legally obligated to spend for lands, easements, and rights-
of-way for such water resource development works, multiplied by the 
ratio that the flood control benefits conferred beyond the boundaries 
of the public corporation bear to the total flood control benefits of the 
project. Such findings shall each be made at and in such manner as is 
provided by procedural rules and regulations which that shall be ad-
opted by the Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation 
with the approval of the state conservation commission secretary.

(c) Any public corporation receiving financial assistance under this 
section shall apply those sums toward the satisfaction of the legal obli-
gations for the specific lands, easements, and rights-of-way for which 
it receives them or toward the reimbursement of those accounts from 
which those legal obligations were satisfied, in whole or in part, and 
it shall return to the state any sums that are not in fact so applied. In 
ascertaining costs of lands, easements, and rights-of-way under this 
section, the Kansas department of agriculture division of conservation 
shall not consider any costs which that relate to land treatment mea-
sures nor or any costs for which federal aid for construction costs is 
granted pursuant to the watershed protection and flood prevention acts 
or pursuant to any other federal acts.

Sec. 28. K.S.A. 2-1916, 2-3702, 49-605, 49-611, 49-613, 49-618, 49-
620, 49-623, 82a-1602, 82a-1603, 82a-1607 and 82a-1702 and K.S.A. 2020 
Supp. 2-1903, 2-1904, 2-1907, 2-1907c, 2-1908, 2-1915, 2-1930, 2-1931, 
2-1933, 2-3708, 49-603, 49-606 and 49-621 are hereby repealed.

Sec. 29. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its 
publication in the Kansas register.

Doc. No. 049108

(Published in the Kansas Register May 6, 2021.)

Senate Bill No. 127
An Act concerning drivers’ licenses; relating to online renewals of 

commercial driver’s licenses and licenses for individuals up to 65 
years of age; providing for the renewal of licenses to be delivered 
electronically; eligibility for restricted driving privileges; renewal 
of expired licenses and identification cards; permitting the waiver 
of traffic fines and court costs in certain manifest hardship situa-
tions; providing an exclusion from the additional 90-day period for 
suspended or revoked licenses; amending K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-240, 
8-247, 8-262, 8-1325 and 8-2110 and repealing the existing sections; 
also repealing K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2110b.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-240 is hereby amended to read as 
follows: 8-240. (a) (1) Every application for an instruction permit shall 
be made upon a form furnished by the division of vehicles and accom-
panied by a fee of $2 for class A, B, C or M and $5 for all commercial 
classes. Every other application shall be made upon a form furnished 
by the division and accompanied by an examination fee of $3, unless a 
different fee is required by K.S.A. 8-241, and amendments thereto, and 
by the proper fee for the license for which the application is made. All 
commercial class applicants shall be charged a $15 driving test fee for 
the drive test portion of the commercial driver’s license application. If 
the applicant is not required to take an examination or the commercial 
license drive test, the examination or commercial drive test fee shall not 
be required. The examination shall consist of three tests, as follows: (A) 
Vision; (B) written; and (C) driving. For a commercial driver’s license, 
the drive test shall consist of three components, as follows: (A) Pre-trip; 
(B) skills test; and (C) road test. If the applicant fails the vision test, 
the applicant may have correction of vision made and take the vision 
test again without any additional fee. If an applicant fails the written 
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test, the applicant may take such test again upon the payment of an 
additional examination fee of $1.50. If an applicant fails the driving 
test, the applicant may take such test again upon the payment of an 
additional examination fee of $1.50. If an applicant for a commercial 
driver’s license fails any portion of the commercial drive test, the ap-
plicant may take such test again upon the payment of an additional 
drive test fee of $10. If an applicant fails to pass all three of the tests 
within a period of six months from the date of original application and 
desires to take additional tests, the applicant shall file an application 
for reexamination upon a form furnished by the division, which shall 
be accompanied by a reexamination fee of $3, except that any applicant 
who fails to pass the written or driving portion of an examination four 
times within a six-month period, shall be required to wait a period of 
six months from the date of the last failed examination before addition-
al examinations may be given. Upon the filing of such application and 
the payment of such reexamination fee, the applicant shall be entitled 
to reexamination in like manner and subject to the additional fees and 
time limitation as provided for examination on an original application. 
If the applicant passes the reexamination, the applicant shall be issued 
the classified driver’s license for which the applicant originally applied, 
which license shall be issued to expire as if the applicant had passed the 
original examination.

(2) Applicants for class M licenses who have completed prior mo-
torcycle safety training in accordance with department of defense in-
struction 6055.04 (DoDI 6055.04) or the motorcycle safety foundation 
are not required to complete further written and driving testing pursu-
ant to paragraph (1). An applicant seeking exemption from the written 
and driving tests pursuant to this paragraph shall provide a copy of the 
motorcycle safety foundation completion form to the division prior to 
receiving a class M license.

(3) On and after January 1, 2017, an applicant for a class M license 
who passes a driving examination on a three-wheeled motorcycle 
which that is not an autocycle shall have a restriction placed on such 
applicant’s license limiting the applicant to the operation of a registered 
three-wheeled motorcycle. An applicant for a class M license who pass-
es a driving examination on a two-wheeled motorcycle may operate 
any registered two-wheeled or three-wheeled motorcycle. The driving 
examination required by this paragraph shall be administered by the 
division, by the department of defense or as part of a curriculum recog-
nized by the motorcycle safety foundation.

(b) (1) For the purposes of obtaining any driver’s license or instruc-
tion permit, an applicant shall submit, with the application, proof of 
age and proof of identity as the division may require. The applicant 
also shall provide a photo identity document, except that a non-pho-
to identity document is acceptable if it includes both the applicant’s 
full legal name and date of birth, and documentation showing the 
applicant’s name, the applicant’s address of principal residence and 
the applicant’s social security number. The applicant’s social security 
number shall remain confidential and shall not be disclosed, except as 
provided pursuant to K.S.A. 74-2012, and amendments thereto. If the 
applicant does not have a social security number the applicant shall 
provide proof of lawful presence and Kansas residency. The division 
shall assign a distinguishing number to the license or permit.

(2) The division shall not issue any driver’s license or instruction 
permit to any person who fails to provide proof that the person is law-
fully present in the United States. Before issuing a driver’s license or 
instruction permit to a person, the division shall require valid docu-
mentary evidence that the applicant: (A) Is a citizen or national of the 
United States; (B) is an alien lawfully admitted for permanent or tem-
porary residence in the United States; (C) has conditional permanent 
resident status in the United States; (D) has an approved application 
for asylum in the United States or has entered into the United States in 
refugee status; (E) has a valid, unexpired nonimmigrant visa or nonim-
migrant visa status for entry into the United States; (F) has a pending 
application for asylum in the United States; (G) has a pending or ap-
proved application for temporary protected status in the United States; 
(H) has approved deferred action status; or (I) has a pending applica-
tion for adjustment of status to that of an alien lawfully admitted for 
permanent residence in the United States or conditional permanent 
resident status in the United States.

(3) If an applicant provides evidence of lawful presence set out in 
subsections (b)(2)(E) through (2)(I), or is an alien lawfully admitted 
for temporary residence under subsection (b)(2)(B), the division may 
only issue a driver’s license to the person under the following con-
ditions: (A) A driver’s license issued pursuant to this subparagraph 
shall be valid only during the period of time of the applicant’s au-

thorized stay in the United States or, if there is no definite end to the 
period of authorized stay, a period of one year; (B) a driver’s license 
issued pursuant to this subparagraph shall clearly indicate that it is 
temporary and shall state the date on which it expires; (C) no driver’s 
license issued pursuant to this subparagraph shall be for a longer pe-
riod of time than the time period permitted by K.S.A. 8-247(a), and 
amendments thereto; and (D) a driver’s license issued pursuant to this 
subparagraph may be renewed, subject at the time of renewal, to the 
same requirements and conditions as set out in this subsection (b) for 
the issuance of the original driver’s license.

(4) The division shall not issue any driver’s license or instruction 
permit to any person who is not a resident of the state of Kansas, except 
as provided in K.S.A. 8-2,148, and amendments thereto.

(5) The division shall not issue a driver’s license to a person hold-
ing a driver’s license issued by another state without making reason-
able efforts to confirm that the person is terminating or has terminated 
the driver’s license in the other state.

(6) The parent or guardian of an applicant under 16 years of age 
shall sign the application for any driver’s license submitted by such 
applicant.

(c) Every application shall state the full legal name, date of birth, 
gender and address of principal residence of the applicant, and briefly 
describe the applicant, and shall state whether the applicant has been 
licensed as a driver prior to such application, and, if so, when and by 
what state or country. Such application shall state whether any such 
license has ever been suspended or revoked, or whether an application 
has ever been refused, and, if so, the date of and reason for such sus-
pension, revocation or refusal. In addition, applications for commer-
cial drivers’ licenses and instruction permits for commercial licenses 
must include the following: The applicant’s social security number; the 
person’s signature; the person’s: (1) Digital color image or photograph; 
or (2) a laser engraved photograph; certifications, including those re-
quired by 49 C.F.R. § 383.71(a), effective January 1, 1991; a consent to re-
lease driving record information; and, any other information required 
by the division. Each application for a driver’s license shall include a 
question asking if the applicant is willing to give such applicant’s au-
thorization to be listed as an organ, eye or tissue donor in the Kansas 
donor registry in accordance with the revised uniform anatomical gift 
act, K.S.A. 65-3220 through 65-3244, and amendments thereto. The gift 
would become effective upon the death of the donor.

(d) When an application is received from a person previously li-
censed in another jurisdiction, the division shall request a copy of the 
driver’s record from the other jurisdiction. When received, the driver’s 
record shall become a part of the driver’s record in this state with the 
same force and effect as though entered on the driver’s record in this 
state in the original instance.

(e) When the division receives a request for a driver’s record from 
another licensing jurisdiction the record shall be forwarded without 
charge.

(f) A fee shall be charged as follows:
(1) For a class C driver’s license issued to a person at least 21 years 

of age, but less than 65 years of age, $18;
(2) for a class C driver’s license issued to a person 65 years of age 

or older, $12;
(3) for a class M driver’s license issued to a person at least 21 years 

of age, but less than 65 years of age, $12.50;
(4) for a class M driver’s license issued to a person 65 years of age 

or older, $9;
(5) for a class A or B driver’s license issued to a person who is at 

least 21 years of age, but less than 65 years of age, $24;
(6) for a class A or B driver’s license issued to a person 65 years of 

age or older, $16;
(7) for any class of commercial driver’s license issued to a person 21 

years of age or older, $18; or
(8) for class A, B, C or M, or a farm permit, or any commercial driv-

er’s license issued to a person less than 21 years of age, $20.
A fee of $10 shall be charged for each commercial driver’s license en-

dorsement, except air brake endorsements which shall have no charge.
A fee of $3 per year shall be charged for any renewal of a license 

issued prior to the effective date of this act to a person less than 21 
years of age.

If one fails to make an original application or renewal application for 
a driver’s license within the time required by law, or fails to make ap-
plication within 60 days after becoming a resident of Kansas, a penalty 
of $1 shall be added to the fee charged for the driver’s license.

(continued)
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(g) Any person who possesses an identification card as provided in 
K.S.A. 8-1324, and amendments thereto, shall surrender such identifica-
tion card to the division upon being issued a valid Kansas driver’s license 
or upon reinstatement and return of a valid Kansas driver’s license.

(h) The division shall require that any person applying for a driver’s 
license submit to a mandatory facial image capture. The captured facial 
image shall be displayed on the front of the applicant’s driver’s license.

(i) The director of vehicles may issue a temporary driver’s license 
to an applicant who cannot provide valid documentary evidence as 
defined by subsection (b)(2), if the applicant provides compelling ev-
idence proving current lawful presence. Any temporary license issued 
pursuant to this subsection shall be valid for one year.

(j) (1) For purposes of this subsection, the division may rely on the 
division’s most recent, existing color digital image and signature im-
age of the applicant for the class C or M driver’s license or any class of 
commercial driver’s license if the division has the information on file. The 
determination on whether an electronic online renewal application or 
equivalent of a driver’s license is permitted shall be made by the direc-
tor of vehicles or the director’s designee. The division shall not renew 
a driver’s license through an electronic online or equivalent process if 
the license has been previously renewed through an electronic online 
application in the immediately preceding driver’s license period. No 
renewal under this subsection shall be granted to any person who is:

(A) Younger than 30 days from turning 21 years of age;
(B) 65 years of age or older;
(C) a registered offender pursuant to K.S.A. 22-4901 et seq., and 

amendments thereto; or
(D) has a person issued a temporary driver’s license issued pursuant 

to K.S.A. 8-240(b)(3), and amendments thereto, provided the license is 
not otherwise withdrawn; or

(E) a person issued a commercial driver’s license that has a hazardous 
materials endorsement.

(2) The vision examination requirements in K.S.A. 8-247(e), and 
amendments thereto, are not required for electronic online renewal 
applications, except that the electronic online renewal applicant must 
certify under penalty of law that the applicant’s vision satisfies the re-
quirements of K.S.A. 8-295, and amendments thereto, and has under-
gone an examination of eyesight by a licensed ophthalmologist or a 
licensed optometrist within the last year. As a condition for any elec-
tronic online renewal application, the applicant must: (A) Authorize the 
exchange of vision and medical information between the division and 
the applicant’s ophthalmologist or optometrist; and (B) is at least 21 
years of age, but less than 50 65 years of age. The ophthalmologist or 
optometrist shall have four business days to confirm or deny the vision 
and medical information of the applicant. If no response is received 
by the division, the division shall accept the vision and medical infor-
mation provided for processing the renewal application. The waiver of 
vision examination for online renewal applications contained within 
this subsection shall expire on July 1, 2022.

(3) The secretary of revenue shall adopt and administer rules and 
regulations to implement a program to permit an electronic online re-
newal of a driver’s license, including, but not limited to, requirements 
that an electronic online renewal applicant shall have previously pro-
vided documentation of identity, lawful presence and residence to the 
division for electronic scanning.

(4) Prior to February 1, 2022, the division shall report to the house 
and senate committees on transportation regarding the online renewal 
process of this subsection and its effects to safety on the state’s roads 
and highways.

(5) Any person seeking to renew a commercial driver’s license pursuant 
to this subsection shall be required to provide the division with a valid medical 
examiner’s certificate and proof of completion of the truckers against traffick-
ing training.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-247 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 8-247. (a) (1) All original licenses issued on and after July 1, 2018, 
shall expire as follows:

(A) Licenses issued to persons who are at least 21 years of age, but 
less than 65 years of age shall expire on the sixth anniversary of the 
date of birth of the licensee which that is nearest the date of application;

(B) licenses issued to persons who are 65 years of age or older shall 
expire on the fourth anniversary of the date of birth of the licensee 
which that is nearest the date of application;

(C) any commercial drivers license shall expire on the fifth anni-
versary of the date of birth of the licensee which that is nearest the date 
of application;

(D) licenses issued to an offender, as defined in K.S.A. 22-4902, and 
amendments thereto, who is required to register pursuant to the Kan-
sas offender registration act, K.S.A. 22-4901 et seq., and amendments 
thereto, shall expire every year on the date of birth of the licensee; or

(E) licenses issued to persons who are less than 21 years of age shall 
expire on the licensee’s 21st birthday.

(2) All renewals under: (A) Paragraph (1)(A) shall expire on every 
sixth anniversary of the date of birth of the licensee; (B) paragraph (1)
(B) shall expire on every fourth anniversary of the date of birth of the 
licensee; (C) paragraph (1)(C) shall expire on every fifth anniversary of 
the date of birth of the licensee; (D) paragraph (1)(D) shall expire every 
year on the date of birth of the licensee; and (E) paragraph (1)(E), if a 
renewal license is issued, shall expire on the licensee’s 21st birthday. No 
driver’s license shall expire in the same calendar year in which when the 
original license or renewal license is issued, except that if the foregoing 
provisions of this section shall require the issuance of a renewal license 
or an original license for a period of less than six calendar months, the 
license issued to the applicant shall expire in accordance with the pro-
visions of this subsection.

(b) If the driver’s license of any person expires while such person 
is outside of the state of Kansas and such person is on active duty in 
the armed forces of the United States, or is the spouse or a person who 
is residing with and is a dependent of such person on active duty, the 
license of such person shall be renewable, without examination, at any 
time prior to the end of the sixth month following the discharge of such 
person from the armed forces, or within 90 days after residence within 
the state is reestablished, whichever time is sooner. If the driver’s license 
of any person under this subsection expires while such person is outside 
the United States, the division shall provide for renewal by mail, as long 
as the division has a photograph or digital image of such person main-
tained in the division’s records. A driver’s license renewed under the 
provisions of this subsection shall be renewed by mail only once.

(c) At least 30 days prior to the expiration of a person’s license the 
division shall mail, or send electronically if authorized by the person, a no-
tice of expiration or renewal application to such person at the address 
shown on the license or the electronic mail address provided to the divi-
sion. The division shall include with such notice a written explanation 
of substantial changes to traffic regulations enacted by the legislature.

(d) (1) Except as provided in paragraph (2) and (3), every driver’s 
license shall be renewable on or before its expiration upon application 
and payment of the required fee and successful completion of the ex-
aminations required by subsection (e). Application for renewal of a val-
id driver’s license shall be made to the division in accordance with rules 
and regulations adopted by the secretary of revenue. Such application 
shall contain all the requirements of K.S.A. 8-240(b), and amendments 
thereto. Such notice shall also include a question asking if the appli-
cant is willing to give such applicant’s authorization to be listed as an 
organ, eye and tissue donor in the Kansas donor registry in accordance 
with the revised uniform anatomical gift act, K.S.A. 65-3220 through 
65-3244, and amendments thereto. Upon satisfying the foregoing re-
quirements of this subsection, and if the division makes the findings 
required by K.S.A. 8-235b, and amendments thereto, for the issuance of 
an original license, the license shall be renewed without examination of 
the applicant’s driving ability. If the division finds that any of the state-
ments relating to revocation, suspension or refusal of licenses required 
under K.S.A. 8-240(b), and amendments thereto, are in the affirmative, 
or if it finds that the license held by the applicant is not a valid one, 
or if the applicant has failed to make application for renewal of such 
person’s license on or before the expiration date thereof, the division 
may require the applicant to take an examination of ability to exercise 
ordinary and reasonable control in the operation of a motor vehicle as 
provided in K.S.A. 8-235d, and amendments thereto.

(2) Any licensee, whose driver’s license expires on the licensee’s 
21st birthday, shall have 45 days from the date of expiration of such 
license to make application to renew such licensee’s license. Such li-
cense shall continue to be valid for such 45 days or until such license is 
renewed, whichever occurs sooner. A licensee who renews under the 
provisions of this paragraph shall not be required by the division to 
take an examination of ability to exercise ordinary and reasonable con-
trol in the operation of a motor vehicle as provided in K.S.A. 8-235d, 
and amendments thereto.

(3) Any licensee, whose driver’s license has expired after March 12, 2020, 
and before March 31, 2021, shall have until June 30, 2021, to renew such 
licensee’s driver’s license.

(e) (1) Prior to renewal of a driver’s license, the applicant shall pass 
an examination of eyesight. Such examination shall be equivalent to the 
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test required for an original driver’s license under K.S.A. 8-235d, and 
amendments thereto. A driver’s license examiner shall administer the 
examination without charge and shall report the results of the examina-
tion on a form provided by the division.

(2) In lieu of the examination of the applicant’s eyesight by the ex-
aminer, the applicant may submit a report on the examination of eye-
sight by a physician licensed to practice medicine and surgery or by a 
licensed optometrist. The report shall be based on an examination of 
the applicant’s eyesight not more than three months prior to the date 
the report is submitted, and it shall be made on a form furnished by the 
division to the applicant.

(3) The division shall determine whether the results of the eyesight 
examination or report is sufficient for renewal of the license and, if the 
results of the eyesight examination or report is insufficient, the division 
shall notify the applicant of such fact and return the license fee. In de-
termining the sufficiency of an applicant’s eyesight, the division may 
request an advisory opinion of the medical advisory board, which and 
the board is hereby authorized to render such opinions.

(4) An applicant who is denied a license under this subsection (e) 
may reapply for renewal of such person’s driver’s license, except that 
if such application is not made within 90 days of the date the division 
sent notice to the applicant that the license would not be renewed, the 
applicant shall proceed as if applying for an original driver’s license.

(5) When the division has good cause to believe that an applicant 
for renewal of a driver’s license is incompetent or otherwise not quali-
fied to operate a motor vehicle in accord with the public safety and wel-
fare, the division may require such applicant to submit to such addi-
tional examinations as are necessary to determine that the applicant is 
qualified to receive the license applied for. Subject to paragraph (6), in 
so evaluating such qualifications, the division may request an advisory 
opinion of the medical advisory board which, and the board is hereby 
authorized to render such opinions in addition to its duties prescribed 
by K.S.A. 8-255b(b), and amendments thereto. Any such applicant who 
is denied the renewal of such a driver’s license because of a mental or 
physical disability shall be afforded a hearing in the manner prescribed 
by K.S.A. 8-255(c), and amendments thereto.

(6) Seizure disorders which that are controlled shall not be consid-
ered a disability. In cases where such seizure disorders are not con-
trolled, the director or the medical advisory board may recommend 
that such person be issued a driver’s license to drive class C or M vehi-
cles and restricted to operating such vehicles as the division determines 
to be appropriate to assure the safe operation of a motor vehicle by the 
licensee. Restricted licenses issued pursuant to this paragraph shall be 
subject to suspension or revocation. For the purpose of this paragraph, 
seizure disorders which that are controlled means that the licensee has 
not sustained a seizure involving a loss of consciousness in the waking 
state within six months preceding the application or renewal of a driv-
er’s license and whenever a person licensed to practice medicine and 
surgery makes a written report to the division stating that the licensee’s 
seizures are controlled. The report shall be based on an examination of 
the applicant’s medical condition not more than three months prior to 
the date the report is submitted. Such report shall be made on a form 
furnished to the applicant by the division. Any physician who makes 
such report shall not be liable for any damages which that may be at-
tributable to the issuance or renewal of a driver’s license and subse-
quent operation of a motor vehicle by the licensee.

(f) If the driver’s license of any person expires while such person is 
outside the state of Kansas, the license of such person shall be extended 
for a period not to exceed six months and shall be renewable, without 
a driving examination, at any time prior to the end of the sixth month 
following the original expiration date of such license or within 10 days 
after such person returns to the state, whichever time is sooner. This 
subsection shall not apply to temporary drivers’ licenses issued pursu-
ant to K.S.A. 8-240(b)(3), and amendments thereto.

(g) (1) The division shall reference the website of the agency in a 
person’s notice of expiration or renewal under subsection (c). The di-
vision shall provide the following information on the website of the 
agency:

(1)(A) Information explaining the person’s right to make an ana-
tomical gift in accordance with K.S.A. 8-243, and amendments thereto, 
and the revised uniform anatomical gift act, K.S.A. 65-3220 through 65-
3244, and amendments thereto;

(2)(B) information describing the organ donation registry program 
maintained by the Kansas federally designated organ procurement 
organization. The information required under this paragraph shall in-
clude, in a type, size and format that is conspicuous in relation to the 

surrounding material, the address and telephone number of Kansas’ 
federally designated organ procurement organization, along with an 
advisory to call such designated organ procurement organization with 
questions about the organ donor registry program;

(3)(C) information giving the applicant the opportunity to be 
placed on the organ donation registry described in paragraph (2); sub-
paragraph (B); and

(4) inform the applicant(D) information that, if the applicant indi-
cates under this subsection a willingness to have such applicant’s name 
placed on the organ donor registry described in paragraph (2) subpara-
graph (B), the division will forward the applicant’s name, gender, date 
of birth and most recent address to the organ donation registry main-
tained by the Kansas federally designated organ procurement organi-
zation, as required by paragraph (6) (3);

(5)(2) the division may fulfill the requirements of paragraph (4) (1)
(D) by one or more of the following methods:

(A) Providing such information on the website of the agency; or
(B) providing printed material to an applicant who personally ap-

pears at an examining station; and.
(6)(3) If an applicant indicates a willingness under this subsection 

to have such applicant’s name placed on the organ donor registry, the 
division shall within 10 days forward the applicant’s name, gender, 
date of birth and most recent address to the organ donor registry main-
tained by the Kansas federally designated organ procurement organi-
zation. The division may forward information under this subsection by 
mail or by electronic means. The division shall not maintain a record 
of the name or address of an individual who indicates a willingness 
to have such person’s name placed on the organ donor registry after 
forwarding that information to the organ donor registry under this sub-
section. Information about an applicant’s indication of a willingness to 
have such applicant’s name placed on the organ donor registry that is 
obtained by the division and forwarded under this paragraph shall be 
confidential and not disclosed.

(h) Notwithstanding any other provisions of law, any offender un-
der subsection (a)(1)(D) who held a valid driver’s license on the effec-
tive date of this act may continue to operate motor vehicles until the 
next anniversary of the date of birth of such offender. Upon such date 
such driver’s license shall expire and the offender shall be subject to the 
provisions of this section.

(i) The director of the division of vehicles shall submit a report to 
the legislature at the beginning of the regular session in 2012 regarding 
the impact of not requiring a written test for the renewal of a driver’s 
license, including any cost savings to the division.

Sec. 3. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-262 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 8-262. (a) (1) Any person who drives a motor vehicle on any high-
way of this state at a time when such person’s privilege so to do is can-
celed, suspended or revoked or while such person’s privilege to obtain 
a driver’s license is suspended or revoked pursuant to K.S.A. 8-252a, 
and amendments thereto, shall be guilty of a class B nonperson misde-
meanor on the first conviction and a class A nonperson misdemeanor 
on the second or subsequent conviction.

(2) No person shall be convicted under this section if such person 
was entitled at the time of arrest under K.S.A. 8-257, and amendments 
thereto, to the return of such person’s driver’s license.

(3) Except as otherwise provided by subsection (a)(4) or (c), every 
person convicted under this section shall be sentenced to at least five 
days’ imprisonment and fined at least $100 and upon a second con-
viction shall not be eligible for parole until completion of five days’ 
imprisonment.

(4) Except as otherwise provided by subsection (c), if a person: (A) 
Is convicted of a violation of this section, committed while the person’s 
privilege to drive or privilege to obtain a driver’s license was suspended 
or revoked for a violation of K.S.A. 8-2,144 or 8-1567, and amendments 
thereto, or any ordinance of any city or resolution of any county or a law 
of another state, which ordinance or resolution or law prohibits the acts 
prohibited by those statutes; and (B) is or has been also convicted of a 
violation of K.S.A. 8-2,144 or 8-1567, and amendments thereto, or any or-
dinance of any city or resolution of any county or law of another state, 
which ordinance or resolution or law prohibits the acts prohibited by 
those statutes, committed while the person’s privilege to drive or privi-
lege to obtain a driver’s license was so suspended or revoked, the person 
shall not be eligible for suspension of sentence, probation or parole until 
the person has served at least 90 days’ imprisonment, and any fine im-
posed on such person shall be in addition to such a term of imprisonment.

(continued)
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(b) (1) Except as provided by subsection (b)(2), the division, upon re-
ceiving a record of the conviction of any person under this section, or 
any ordinance of any city or resolution of any county or a law of an-
other state which is in substantial conformity with this section, upon a 
charge of driving a vehicle while the license of such person is revoked 
or suspended, shall extend the period of such suspension or revocation 
for an additional period of 90 days.

(2) For any person found guilty of driving a vehicle while the license of 
such person is suspended for violating K.S.A. 8-2110, and amendments there-
to, such offense shall not extend the additional period of suspension pursuant 
to subsection (b)(1).

(c) (1) The person found guilty of a class A nonperson misdemean-
or on a third or subsequent conviction of this section shall be sentenced 
to not less than 90 days’ imprisonment and fined not less than $1,500 if 
such person’s privilege to drive a motor vehicle is canceled, suspended 
or revoked because such person:

(A) Refused to submit and complete any test of blood, breath or 
urine requested by law enforcement excluding the preliminary screen-
ing test as set forth in K.S.A. 8-1012, and amendments thereto;

(B) was convicted of violating the provisions of K.S.A. 40-3104, and 
amendments thereto, relating to motor vehicle liability insurance cov-
erage;

(C) was convicted of vehicular homicide, K.S.A. 21-3405, prior to 
its repeal, or K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 21-5406, and amendments thereto, in-
voluntary manslaughter while driving under the influence of alcohol or 
drugs, K.S.A. 21-3442, prior to its repeal, or involuntary manslaughter 
as defined in K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 21-5405(a)(3) and (a)(5), and amend-
ments thereto, or any other murder or manslaughter crime resulting 
from the operation of a motor vehicle; or

(D) was convicted of being a habitual violator, K.S.A. 8-287, and 
amendments thereto.

(2) The person convicted shall not be eligible for release on pro-
bation, suspension or reduction of sentence or parole until the person 
has served at least 90 days’ imprisonment. The 90 days’ imprisonment 
mandated by this subsection may be served in a work release program 
only after such person has served 48 consecutive hours’ imprisonment, 
provided such work release program requires such person to return to 
confinement at the end of each day in the work release program. The 
court may place the person convicted under a house arrest program 
pursuant to K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 21-6609, and amendments thereto, or any 
municipal ordinance to serve the remainder of the minimum sentence 
only after such person has served 48 consecutive hours’ imprisonment.

(d) For the purposes of determining whether a conviction is a first, 
second, third or subsequent conviction in sentencing under this section, 
“conviction” includes a conviction of a violation of any ordinance of 
any city or resolution of any county or a law of another state which that 
is in substantial conformity with this section.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-1325 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 8-1325. (a) Every identification card shall expire, unless earlier 
canceled or subsection (c) of K.S.A. 8-1324, and amendments there-
to, applies, on the sixth birthday of the applicant following the date 
of original issue, except as otherwise provided by K.S.A. 8-1329, and 
amendments thereto. Renewal of any identification card shall be made 
for a term of six years and shall expire in a like manner as the originally 
issued identification card, unless surrendered earlier or subsection (c) 
of K.S.A. 8-1324, and amendments thereto, applies. For any person who 
has been issued an identification card, the division shall mail a notice 
of expiration or renewal at least 30 days prior to the expiration of such 
person’s identification card at the address shown on such identification 
card. The division shall include with such notice, written information 
required under subsection (b). Any application for renewal received 
later than 90 days after expiration of the identification card shall be 
considered to be an application for an original identification card. The 
division shall require payment of a fee of $14 for each identification 
card renewal, except that persons who are 65 or more years of age or 
who are persons with a disability, as defined in K.S.A. 8-1,124, and 
amendments thereto, shall be required to pay a fee of only $10. Any 
identification card holder, whose identification card has expired after March 
12, 2020, and before March 31, 2021, shall have until June 30, 2021, to renew 
such identification card.

(b) The division shall reference the website of the agency in a per-
son’s notice of expiration or renewal under subsection (a). The division 
shall provide the following information on the website of the agency:

(1) Information explaining the person’s right to make an anatom-
ical gift in accordance with K.S.A. 8-1328, and amendments thereto, 

and the revised uniform anatomical gift act, K.S.A. 65-3220 through 65-
3244, and amendments thereto;

(2) information describing the organ donation registry program 
maintained by the Kansas federally designated organ procurement 
organization. The information required under this paragraph shall in-
clude, in a type, size and format that is conspicuous in relation to the 
surrounding material, the address and telephone number of Kansas’ 
federally designated organ procurement organization, along with an 
advisory to call such designated organ procurement organization with 
questions about the organ donor registry program;

(3) information giving the applicant the opportunity to be placed 
on the organ donation registry described in paragraph (2);

(4) inform the applicant that, if the applicant indicates under this 
subsection a willingness to have such applicant’s name placed on the or-
gan donor registry described in paragraph (2), the division will forward 
the applicant’s name, gender, date of birth and most recent address to the 
organ donation registry maintained by the Kansas federally designated 
organ procurement organization, as required by paragraph (6);

(5) the division may fulfill the requirements of paragraph (4) by 
one or more of the following methods:

(A) Providing such information on the website of the agency; or
(B) providing printed material to an applicant who personally ap-

plies for an identification card; and
(6) if an applicant indicates a willingness under this subsection 

to have such applicant’s name placed on the organ donor registry de-
scribed, the division shall within 10 days forward the applicant’s name, 
gender, date of birth and address to the organ donor registry main-
tained by the Kansas federally designated organ procurement organi-
zation. The division may forward information under this subsection by 
mail or by electronic means. The division shall not maintain a record 
of the name or address of an individual who indicates a willingness 
to have such person’s name placed on the organ donor registry after 
forwarding that information to the organ donor registry under this sub-
section. Information about an applicant’s indication of a willingness to 
have such applicant’s name placed on the organ donor registry that is 
obtained by the division and forwarded under this paragraph shall be 
confidential and not disclosed.

Sec. 5. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-2110 is hereby amended to read as fol-
lows: 8-2110. (a) Failure to comply with a traffic citation means failure 
either to: (1) Appear before any district or municipal court in response 
to a traffic citation and pay in full any fine and court costs imposed; 
or (2) otherwise comply with a traffic citation as provided in K.S.A. 
8-2118, and amendments thereto. Failure to comply with a traffic cita-
tion is a misdemeanor, regardless of the disposition of the charge for 
which such citation was originally issued.

(b) (1) In addition to penalties of law applicable under subsection 
(a), when a person fails to comply with a traffic citation, except for 
illegal parking, standing or stopping, the district or municipal court 
in which the person should have complied with the citation shall mail 
notice to the person that if the person does not appear in district or 
municipal court or pay all fines, court costs and any penalties within 
30 days from the date of mailing notice, the division of vehicles will 
be notified to suspend the person’s driving privileges. The district or 
municipal court may charge an additional fee of $5 for mailing such 
notice. Upon the person’s failure to comply within such 30 days of 
mailing notice, the district or municipal court shall electronically 
notify the division of vehicles. Upon receipt of a report of a failure 
to comply with a traffic citation under this subsection, pursuant to 
K.S.A. 8-255, and amendments thereto, the division of vehicles shall 
notify the violator and suspend the license of the violator until satis-
factory evidence of compliance with the terms of the traffic citation 
has been furnished to the informing court. When the court determines 
the person has complied with the terms of the traffic citation, the court 
shall immediately electronically notify the division of vehicles of such 
compliance. Upon receipt of notification of such compliance from the 
informing court, the division of vehicles shall terminate the suspen-
sion or suspension action.

(2) (A) In lieu of suspension under paragraph (1), the driver may 
submit to the division of vehicles a written request for restricted driv-
ing privileges, with a non-refundable $25 application fee, to be applied 
by the division of vehicles for additional administrative costs to imple-
ment restricted driving privileges. The division shall remit all restricted 
driving privilege application fees to the state treasurer in accordance 
with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon 
receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the en-
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tire amount in the state treasury to the credit of the division of vehicles 
operating fund.

(B) A person whose driver’s license has expired during the peri-
od when such person’s driver’s license has been suspended for failure 
to pay fines for traffic citations, the driver may submit to the division 
of vehicles a written request for restricted driving privileges, with a 
non-refundable $25 application fee, to be applied by the division of ve-
hicles for additional administrative costs to implement restricted driv-
ing privileges. The division shall remit all restricted driving privilege 
application fees to the state treasurer in accordance with the provisions 
of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such 
remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the 
state treasury to the credit of the division of vehicles operating fund. An 
individual shall not qualify for restricted driving privileges pursuant to 
this section unless the following conditions are met: (i) The suspended 
license that expired was issued by the division of vehicles; (ii) the sus-
pended license resulted from the individual’s failure to comply with a 
traffic citation pursuant to subsection (b)(1); and (iii) the traffic citation 
that resulted in the failure to comply pursuant to subsection (b)(1) was 
issued in this state; and (iv) the individual has not previously received a 
stayed suspension as a result of a driving while suspended conviction.

(C) Upon review and approval of the driver’s eligibility, the driv-
ing privileges will be restricted by the division of vehicles for a peri-
od up to one year or until the terms of the traffic citation have been 
complied with and the court shall immediately electronically notify 
the division of vehicles of such compliance. If the driver fails to com-
ply with the traffic citation within the one year restricted period, the 
driving privileges will be suspended by the division of vehicles until 
the court determines the person has complied with the terms of the 
traffic citation and the court shall immediately electronically notify the 
division of vehicles of such compliance. Upon receipt of notification of 
such compliance from the informing court, the division of vehicles shall 
terminate the suspension action. When restricted driving privileges are 
approved pursuant to this section, the person’s driving privileges shall 
be restricted to driving only under the following circumstances: (i) In 
going to or returning from the person’s place of employment or school-
ing; (ii) in the course of the person’s employment; (iii) in going to or 
returning from an appointment with a health care provider or during a 
medical emergency; and (iv) in going to and returning from probation 
or parole meetings, drug or alcohol counseling or any place the person 
is required to go by a court.

(c) (1) Prior to July 1, 2018, except as provided in subsection (d), 
when the district or municipal court notifies the division of vehicles of 
a failure to comply with a traffic citation pursuant to subsection (b), the 
court shall assess a reinstatement fee of $59 for each charge on which 
the person failed to make satisfaction regardless of the disposition of 
the charge for which such citation was originally issued and regardless 
of any application for restricted driving privileges. Such reinstatement 
fee shall be in addition to any fine, restricted driving privilege appli-
cation fee, district or municipal court costs and other penalties. The 
court shall remit all reinstatement fees to the state treasurer in accor-
dance with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. 
Upon receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit 
the entire amount in the state treasury and shall credit 42.37% of such 
moneys to the division of vehicles operating fund, 31.78% to the com-
munity alcoholism and intoxication programs fund created by K.S.A. 
41-1126, and amendments thereto, 10.59% to the juvenile alternatives 
to detention fund created by K.S.A. 79-4803, and amendments thereto, 
and 15.26% to the judicial branch nonjudicial salary adjustment fund 
created by K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 20-1a15, and amendments thereto.

(2) On and after July 1, 2018, except as provided in subsection (d), 
when the district or municipal court notifies the division of vehicles of 
a failure to comply with a traffic citation pursuant to subsection (b), the 
court shall assess a reinstatement fee of $100 for each charge on which 
the person failed to make satisfaction regardless of the disposition of 
the charge for which such citation was originally issued and regardless 
of any application for restricted driving privileges. Such reinstatement 
fee shall be in addition to any fine, restricted driving privilege applica-
tion fee, district or municipal court costs and other penalties. The court 
shall remit all reinstatement fees to the state treasurer in accordance 
with the provisions of K.S.A. 75-4215, and amendments thereto. Upon 
receipt of each such remittance, the state treasurer shall deposit the en-
tire amount in the state treasury and shall credit the first $15 of such 
reinstatement fee to the judicial branch nonjudicial salary adjustment 
fund and of the remaining amount, 29.41% of such moneys to the di-
vision of vehicles operating fund, 22.06% to the community alcoholism 

and intoxication programs fund created by K.S.A. 41-1126, and amend-
ments thereto, 7.36% to the juvenile alternatives to detention fund cre-
ated by K.S.A. 79-4803, and amendments thereto, and 41.17% to the 
judicial branch nonjudicial salary adjustment fund created by K.S.A. 
2020 Supp. 20-1a15, and amendments thereto.

(d) The district court or municipal court shall waive the reinstate-
ment fee provided for in subsection (c), if the failure to comply with a 
traffic citation was the result of such person enlisting in or being draft-
ed into the armed services of the United States, being called into ser-
vice as a member of a reserve component of the military service of the 
United States, or volunteering for such active duty, or being called into 
service as a member of the state of Kansas national guard, or volunteer-
ing for such active duty, and being absent from Kansas because of such 
military service.

(e) (1) A person who is assessed a reinstatement fee pursuant to 
subsection (c) may petition the court that assessed the fee at any time to 
waive payment of the fee, any additional charge imposed pursuant to 
subsection (f), or any portion thereof. If it appears to the satisfaction of 
the court that payment of the amount due will impose manifest hard-
ship on the person or the person’s immediate family, the court may 
waive payment of all or part of the amount due or modify the method 
of payment.

(2) A person who is assessed a fine or court costs for a traffic citation may 
petition the court that assessed the fine or costs at any time to waive payment 
of the fine or costs, or any portion thereof. If it appears to the satisfaction of the 
court that payment of the amount due will impose manifest hardship on the 
person or the person’s immediate family, the court may waive payment of all or 
part of the amount due or modify the method of payment.

(f) Except as provided further, the reinstatement fee established in 
this section shall be the only fee collected or moneys in the nature of a 
fee collected for such reinstatement. Such fee shall only be established 
by an act of the legislature and no other authority is established by law 
or otherwise to collect a fee. On and after July 1, 2017, through June 30, 
2019 July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2025, the supreme court may impose 
an additional charge, not to exceed $22 per reinstatement fee, to fund 
the costs of non-judicial personnel.

Sec. 6. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 8-240, 8-247, 8-262, 8-1325, 8-2110 and 
8-2110b are hereby repealed.

Sec. 7. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its 
publication in the Kansas register.

Doc. No. 049109

(Published in the Kansas Register May 6, 2021.)

House Bill No. 2143
An Act concerning sales taxation; relating to exemptions; extending 

the sunset date of the exemption of certain cash rebates on sales or 
leases of new motor vehicles; modifying the exemption for construc-
tion materials for certain educational institutions; defining nonprofit 
integrated community care organizations and providing an exemp-
tion therefor; providing an exemption for friends of hospice of Jef-
ferson county; relating to returns and payment of tax by retailers; 
increasing sales tax collection thresholds; amending K.S.A. 79-3602, 
79-3606 and 79-3607 and repealing the existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

Section 1. K.S.A. 79-3602 is hereby amended to read as follows: 
79-3602. Except as otherwise provided, as used in the Kansas retailers’ 
sales tax act:

(a) “Agent” means a person appointed by a seller to represent the 
seller before the member states.

(b) “Agreement” means the multistate agreement entitled the 
streamlined sales and use tax agreement approved by the streamlined 
sales tax implementing states at Chicago, Illinois on November 12, 2002.

(c) “Alcoholic beverages” means beverages that are suitable for hu-
man consumption and contain 0.05% or more of alcohol by volume.

(d) “Certified automated system (CAS)” means software certified 
under the agreement to calculate the tax imposed by each jurisdiction 
on a transaction, determine the amount of tax to remit to the appropri-
ate state and maintain a record of the transaction.

(continued)
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(e) “Certified service provider (CSP)” means an agent certified un-
der the agreement to perform all the seller’s sales and use tax functions, 
other than the seller’s obligation to remit tax on its own purchases.

(f) “Computer” means an electronic device that accepts informa-
tion in digital or similar form and manipulates it for a result based on a 
sequence of instructions.

(g) “Computer software” means a set of coded instructions de-
signed to cause a computer or automatic data processing equipment 
to perform a task.

(h) “Delivered electronically” means delivered to the purchaser by 
means other than tangible storage media.

(i) “Delivery charges” means charges by the seller of personal 
property or services for preparation and delivery to a location desig-
nated by the purchaser of personal property or services including, but 
not limited to, transportation, shipping, postage, handling, crating and 
packing. Delivery charges shall not include charges for delivery of di-
rect mail if the charges are separately stated on an invoice or similar 
billing document given to the purchaser.

(j) “Direct mail” means printed material delivered or distributed by 
United States mail or other delivery services to a mass audience or to 
addressees on a mailing list provided by the purchaser or at the direc-
tion of the purchaser when the cost of the items are not billed directly to 
the recipients. Direct mail includes tangible personal property supplied 
directly or indirectly by the purchaser to the direct mail seller for inclu-
sion in the package containing the printed material. Direct mail does not 
include multiple items of printed material delivered to a single address.

(k) “Director” means the state director of taxation.
(l) “Educational institution” means any nonprofit school, college 

and university that offers education at a level above the 12th grade, and 
conducts regular classes and courses of study required for accreditation 
by, or membership in, the higher learning commission, the state board 
of education, or that otherwise qualify as an “educational institution,” 
as defined by K.S.A. 74-50,103, and amendments thereto. Such phrase 
shall include: (1) A group of educational institutions that operates ex-
clusively for an educational purpose; (2) nonprofit endowment associ-
ations and foundations organized and operated exclusively to receive, 
hold, invest and administer moneys and property as a permanent 
fund for the support and sole benefit of an educational institution; (3) 
nonprofit trusts, foundations and other entities organized and operat-
ed principally to hold and own receipts from intercollegiate sporting 
events and to disburse such receipts, as well as grants and gifts, in the 
interest of collegiate and intercollegiate athletic programs for the sup-
port and sole benefit of an educational institution; and (4) nonprofit 
trusts, foundations and other entities organized and operated for the 
primary purpose of encouraging, fostering and conducting scholarly 
investigations and industrial and other types of research for the sup-
port and sole benefit of an educational institution.

(m) “Electronic” means relating to technology having electrical, dig-
ital, magnetic, wireless, optical, electromagnetic or similar capabilities.

(n) “Food and food ingredients” means substances, whether in liq-
uid, concentrated, solid, frozen, dried or dehydrated form, that are sold 
for ingestion or chewing by humans and are consumed for their taste 
or nutritional value. “Food and food ingredients” does not include al-
coholic beverages or tobacco.

(o) “Gross receipts” means the total selling price or the amount re-
ceived as defined in this act, in money, credits, property or other con-
sideration valued in money from sales at retail within this state; and 
embraced within the provisions of this act. The taxpayer, may take 
credit in the report of gross receipts for: (1) An amount equal to the sell-
ing price of property returned by the purchaser when the full sale price 
thereof, including the tax collected, is refunded in cash or by credit; and 
(2) an amount equal to the allowance given for the trade-in of property.

(p) “Ingredient or component part” means tangible personal prop-
erty which that is necessary or essential to, and which that is actually 
used in and becomes an integral and material part of tangible personal 
property or services produced, manufactured or compounded for sale 
by the producer, manufacturer or compounder in its regular course of 
business. The following items of tangible personal property are hereby 
declared to be ingredients or component parts, but the listing of such 
property shall not be deemed to be exclusive nor shall such listing be 
construed to be a restriction upon, or an indication of, the type or types 
of property to be included within the definition of “ingredient or com-
ponent part” as herein set forth:

(1) Containers, labels and shipping cases used in the distribution of 
property produced, manufactured or compounded for sale which that are 
not to be returned to the producer, manufacturer or compounder for reuse.

(2) Containers, labels, shipping cases, paper bags, drinking straws, 
paper plates, paper cups, twine and wrapping paper used in the distri-
bution and sale of property taxable under the provisions of this act by 
wholesalers and retailers and which that is not to be returned to such 
wholesaler or retailer for reuse.

(3) Seeds and seedlings for the production of plants and plant 
products produced for resale.

(4) Paper and ink used in the publication of newspapers.
(5) Fertilizer used in the production of plants and plant products 

produced for resale.
(6) Feed for animals, fowl and aquatic plants and animals, the pri-

mary purpose of which is use in agriculture or aquaculture, as defined 
in K.S.A. 47-1901, and amendments thereto, the production of food 
for human consumption, the production of animal, dairy, poultry or 
aquatic plant and animal products, fiber, fur, or the production of off-
spring for use for any such purpose or purposes.

(q) “Isolated or occasional sale” means the nonrecurring sale of 
tangible personal property, or services taxable hereunder by a person 
not engaged at the time of such sale in the business of selling such prop-
erty or services. Any religious organization which that makes a non-
recurring sale of tangible personal property acquired for the purpose 
of resale shall be deemed to be not engaged at the time of such sale 
in the business of selling such property. Such term shall include: (1) 
Any sale by a bank, savings and loan institution, credit union or any 
finance company licensed under the provisions of the Kansas uniform 
consumer credit code of tangible personal property which that has been 
repossessed by any such entity; and (2) any sale of tangible personal 
property made by an auctioneer or agent on behalf of not more than 
two principals or households if such sale is nonrecurring and any such 
principal or household is not engaged at the time of such sale in the 
business of selling tangible personal property.

(r) “Lease or rental” means any transfer of possession or control of 
tangible personal property for a fixed or indeterminate term for con-
sideration. A lease or rental may include future options to purchase or 
extend.

(1) Lease or rental does not include: (A) A transfer of possession or 
control of property under a security agreement or deferred payment 
plan that requires the transfer of title upon completion of the required 
payments;

(B) a transfer or possession or control of property under an agree-
ment that requires the transfer of title upon completion of required 
payments and payment of an option price does not exceed the greater 
of $100 or 1% of the total required payments; or

(C) providing tangible personal property along with an operator 
for a fixed or indeterminate period of time. A condition of this exclu-
sion is that the operator is necessary for the equipment to perform as 
designed. For the purpose of this subsection, an operator must do more 
than maintain, inspect or set-up the tangible personal property.

(2) Lease or rental does include agreements covering motor vehi-
cles and trailers where the amount of consideration may be increased 
or decreased by reference to the amount realized upon sale or disposi-
tion of the property as defined in 26 U.S.C. § 7701(h)(1).

(3) This definition shall be used for sales and use tax purposes 
regardless if a transaction is characterized as a lease or rental under 
generally accepted accounting principles, the internal revenue code, 
the uniform commercial code, K.S.A. 84-1-101 et seq., and amendments 
thereto, or other provisions of federal, state or local law.

(4) This definition will be applied only prospectively from the ef-
fective date of this act and will have no retroactive impact on existing 
leases or rentals.

(s) “Load and leave” means delivery to the purchaser by use of a 
tangible storage media where the tangible storage media is not physi-
cally transferred to the purchaser.

(t) “Member state” means a state that has entered in the agreement, 
pursuant to provisions of article VIII of the agreement.

(u) “Model 1 seller” means a seller that has selected a CSP as its 
agent to perform all the seller’s sales and use tax functions, other than 
the seller’s obligation to remit tax on its own purchases.

(v) “Model 2 seller” means a seller that has selected a CAS to per-
form part of its sales and use tax functions, but retains responsibility 
for remitting the tax.

(w) “Model 3 seller” means a seller that has sales in at least five 
member states, has total annual sales revenue of at least $500,000,000, 
has a proprietary system that calculates the amount of tax due each 
jurisdiction and has entered into a performance agreement with the 
member states that establishes a tax performance standard for the sell-



645Kansas Register

Vol. 40, No. 18, May 6, 2021 © Kansas Secretary of State 2021

New State Laws

er. As used in this subsection a seller includes an affiliated group of 
sellers using the same proprietary system.

(x) “Municipal corporation” means any city incorporated under 
the laws of Kansas.

(y) “Nonprofit blood bank” means any nonprofit place, organi-
zation, institution or establishment that is operated wholly or in part 
for the purpose of obtaining, storing, processing, preparing for trans-
fusing, furnishing, donating or distributing human blood or parts or 
fractions of single blood units or products derived from single blood 
units, whether or not any remuneration is paid therefor, or whether 
such procedures are done for direct therapeutic use or for storage for 
future use of such products.

(z) “Persons” means any individual, firm, copartnership, joint ad-
venture, association, corporation, estate or trust, receiver or trustee, or 
any group or combination acting as a unit, and the plural as well as the 
singular number; and shall specifically mean any city or other political 
subdivision of the state of Kansas engaging in a business or providing a 
service specifically taxable under the provisions of this act.

(aa) “Political subdivision” means any municipality, agency or 
subdivision of the state which that is, or shall hereafter be, authorized to 
levy taxes upon tangible property within the state or which that certifies 
a levy to a municipality, agency or subdivision of the state which that is, 
or shall hereafter be, authorized to levy taxes upon tangible property 
within the state. Such term also shall include any public building com-
mission, housing, airport, port, metropolitan transit or similar authori-
ty established pursuant to law and the horsethief reservoir benefit dis-
trict established pursuant to K.S.A. 82a-2201, and amendments thereto.

(bb) “Prescription” means an order, formula or recipe issued in 
any form of oral, written, electronic or other means of transmission by 
a duly licensed practitioner authorized by the laws of this state.

(cc) “Prewritten computer software” means computer software, in-
cluding prewritten upgrades, which that is not designed and developed 
by the author or other creator to the specifications of a specific purchas-
er. The combining of two or more prewritten computer software pro-
grams or prewritten portions thereof does not cause the combination to 
be other than prewritten computer software. Prewritten computer soft-
ware includes software designed and developed by the author or other 
creator to the specifications of a specific purchaser when it is sold to a 
person other than the purchaser. Where a person modifies or enhances 
computer software of which the person is not the author or creator, the 
person shall be deemed to be the author or creator only of such per-
son’s modifications or enhancements. Prewritten computer software or 
a prewritten portion thereof that is modified or enhanced to any de-
gree, where such modification or enhancement is designed and devel-
oped to the specifications of a specific purchaser, remains prewritten 
computer software, except that where there is a reasonable, separately 
stated charge or an invoice or other statement of the price given to the 
purchaser for such modification or enhancement, such modification or 
enhancement shall not constitute prewritten computer software.

(dd) “Property which is consumed” means tangible personal prop-
erty which that is essential or necessary to and which that is used in 
the actual process of and consumed, depleted or dissipated within one 
year in: (1) The production, manufacture, processing, mining, drilling, 
refining or compounding of tangible personal property; (2) the provid-
ing of services; (3) the irrigation of crops, for sale in the regular course 
of business; or (4) the storage or processing of grain by a public grain 
warehouse or other grain storage facility, and which is not reusable for 
such purpose. The following is a listing of tangible personal property, 
included by way of illustration but not of limitation, which that quali-
fies as property which that is consumed:

(A) Insecticides, herbicides, germicides, pesticides, fungicides, fumi-
gants, antibiotics, biologicals, pharmaceuticals, vitamins and chemicals 
for use in commercial or agricultural production, processing or storage of 
fruit, vegetables, feeds, seeds, grains, animals or animal products wheth-
er fed, injected, applied, combined with or otherwise used;

(B) electricity, gas and water; and
(C) petroleum products, lubricants, chemicals, solvents, reagents 

and catalysts.
(ee) “Purchase price” applies to the measure subject to use tax and 

has the same meaning as sales price.
(ff) “Purchaser” means a person to whom a sale of personal prop-

erty is made or to whom a service is furnished.
(gg) “Quasi-municipal corporation” means any county, township, 

school district, drainage district or any other governmental subdivision 
in the state of Kansas having authority to receive or hold moneys or 
funds.

(hh) “Registered under this agreement” means registration by a 
seller with the member states under the central registration system pro-
vided in article IV of the agreement.

(ii) “Retailer” means a seller regularly engaged in the business of 
selling, leasing or renting tangible personal property at retail or fur-
nishing electrical energy, gas, water, services or entertainment, and 
selling only to the user or consumer and not for resale.

(jj) “Retail sale” or “sale at retail” means any sale, lease or rental for 
any purpose other than for resale, sublease or subrent.

(kk) “Sale” or “sales” means the exchange of tangible personal 
property, as well as the sale thereof for money, and every transaction, 
conditional or otherwise, for a consideration, constituting a sale, in-
cluding the sale or furnishing of electrical energy, gas, water, services 
or entertainment taxable under the terms of this act and including, ex-
cept as provided in the following provision, the sale of the use of tan-
gible personal property by way of a lease, license to use or the rental 
thereof regardless of the method by which the title, possession or right 
to use the tangible personal property is transferred. The term “sale” or 
“sales” shall not mean the sale of the use of any tangible personal prop-
erty used as a dwelling by way of a lease or rental thereof for a term of 
more than 28 consecutive days.

(ll) (1) “Sales or selling price” applies to the measure subject to 
sales tax and means the total amount of consideration, including cash, 
credit, property and services, for which personal property or services 
are sold, leased or rented, valued in money, whether received in money 
or otherwise, without any deduction for the following:

(A) The seller’s cost of the property sold;
(B) the cost of materials used, labor or service cost, interest, losses, 

all costs of transportation to the seller, all taxes imposed on the seller 
and any other expense of the seller;

(C) charges by the seller for any services necessary to complete the 
sale, other than delivery and installation charges;

(D) delivery charges; and
(E) installation charges.
(2) “Sales or selling price” includes consideration received by the 

seller from third parties if:
(A) The seller actually receives consideration from a party other 

than the purchaser and the consideration is directly related to a price 
reduction or discount on the sale;

(B) the seller has an obligation to pass the price reduction or dis-
count through to the purchaser;

(C) the amount of the consideration attributable to the sale is fixed 
and determinable by the seller at the time of the sale of the item to the 
purchaser; and

(D) one of the following criteria is met:
(i) The purchaser presents a coupon, certificate or other documen-

tation to the seller to claim a price reduction or discount where the cou-
pon, certificate or documentation is authorized, distributed or granted 
by a third party with the understanding that the third party will reim-
burse any seller to whom the coupon, certificate or documentation is 
presented;

(ii) the purchaser identifies to the seller that the purchaser is a 
member of a group or organization entitled to a price reduction or dis-
count. A preferred customer card that is available to any patron does 
not constitute membership in such a group; or

(iii) the price reduction or discount is identified as a third party 
price reduction or discount on the invoice received by the purchaser 
or on a coupon, certificate or other documentation presented by the 
purchaser.

(3) “Sales or selling price” shall not include:
(A) Discounts, including cash, term or coupons that are not reim-

bursed by a third party that are allowed by a seller and taken by a pur-
chaser on a sale;

(B) interest, financing and carrying charges from credit extended 
on the sale of personal property or services, if the amount is separate-
ly stated on the invoice, bill of sale or similar document given to the 
purchaser;

(C) any taxes legally imposed directly on the consumer that are 
separately stated on the invoice, bill of sale or similar document given 
to the purchaser;

(D) the amount equal to the allowance given for the trade-in of 
property, if separately stated on the invoice, billing or similar docu-
ment given to the purchaser; and

(E) commencing on July 1, 2018, and ending on June 30, 2021 2024, 
cash rebates granted by a manufacturer to a purchaser or lessee of a 

(continued)
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new motor vehicle if paid directly to the retailer as a result of the orig-
inal sale.

(mm) “Seller” means a person making sales, leases or rentals of 
personal property or services.

(nn) “Service” means those services described in and taxed under 
the provisions of K.S.A. 79-3603, and amendments thereto.

(oo) “Sourcing rules” means the rules set forth in K.S.A. 79-3670 
through 79-3673, K.S.A. 12-191 and 12-191a, and amendments there-
to, which that shall apply to identify and determine the state and local 
taxing jurisdiction sales or use taxes to pay, or collect and remit on a 
particular retail sale.

(pp) “Tangible personal property” means personal property that 
can be seen, weighed, measured, felt or touched, or that is in any other 
manner perceptible to the senses. Tangible personal property includes 
electricity, water, gas, steam and prewritten computer software.

(qq) “Taxpayer” means any person obligated to account to the di-
rector for taxes collected under the terms of this act.

(rr) “Tobacco” means cigarettes, cigars, chewing or pipe tobacco or 
any other item that contains tobacco.

(ss) “Entity-based exemption” means an exemption based on who 
purchases the product or who sells the product. An exemption that is avail-
able to all individuals shall not be considered an entity-based exemption.

(tt) “Over-the-counter drug” means a drug that contains a label 
that identifies the product as a drug as required by 21 C.F.R. § 201.66. 
The over-the-counter drug label includes: (1) A drug facts panel; or (2) 
a statement of the active ingredients with a list of those ingredients con-
tained in the compound, substance or preparation. Over-the-counter 
drugs do not include grooming and hygiene products such as soaps, 
cleaning solutions, shampoo, toothpaste, antiperspirants and sun tan 
lotions and screens.

(uu) “Ancillary services” means services that are associated with or 
incidental to the provision of telecommunications services, including, 
but not limited to, detailed telecommunications billing, directory assis-
tance, vertical service and voice mail services.

(vv) “Conference bridging service” means an ancillary service that 
links two or more participants of an audio or video conference call and 
may include the provision of a telephone number. Conference bridging 
service does not include the telecommunications services used to reach 
the conference bridge.

(ww) “Detailed telecommunications billing service” means an an-
cillary service of separately stating information pertaining to individu-
al calls on a customer’s billing statement.

(xx) “Directory assistance” means an ancillary service of providing 
telephone number information or address information, or both.

(yy) “Vertical service” means an ancillary service that is offered in 
connection with one or more telecommunications services, which that 
offers advanced calling features that allow customers to identify callers 
and to manage multiple calls and call connections, including confer-
ence bridging services.

(zz) “Voice mail service” means an ancillary service that enables 
the customer to store, send or receive recorded messages. Voice mail 
service does not include any vertical services that the customer may be 
required to have in order to utilize the voice mail service.

(aaa) “Telecommunications service” means the electronic transmis-
sion, conveyance or routing of voice, data, audio, video or any other 
information or signals to a point, or between or among points. The term 
telecommunications service includes such transmission, conveyance or 
routing in which computer processing applications are used to act on 
the form, code or protocol of the content for purposes of transmissions, 
conveyance or routing without regard to whether such service is re-
ferred to as voice over internet protocol services or is classified by the 
federal communications commission as enhanced or value added. Tele-
communications service does not include:

(1) Data processing and information services that allow data to be 
generated, acquired, stored, processed or retrieved and delivered by 
an electronic transmission to a purchaser where such purchaser’s pri-
mary purpose for the underlying transaction is the processed data or 
information;

(2) installation or maintenance of wiring or equipment on a cus-
tomer’s premises;

(3) tangible personal property;
(4) advertising, including, but not limited to, directory advertising;
(5) billing and collection services provided to third parties;
(6) internet access service;
(7) radio and television audio and video programming services, 

regardless of the medium, including the furnishing of transmission, 

conveyance and routing of such services by the programming service 
provider. Radio and television audio and video programming services 
shall include, but not be limited to, cable service as defined in 47 U.S.C. 
§ 522(6) and audio and video programming services delivered by com-
mercial mobile radio service providers, as defined in 47 C.F.R. § 20.3;

(8) ancillary services; or
(9) digital products delivered electronically, including, but not lim-

ited to, software, music, video, reading materials or ring tones.
(bbb) “800 service” means a telecommunications service that al-

lows a caller to dial a toll-free number without incurring a charge for 
the call. The service is typically marketed under the name 800, 855, 866, 
877 and 888 toll-free calling, and any subsequent numbers designated 
by the federal communications commission.

(ccc) “900 service” means an inbound toll telecommunications ser-
vice purchased by a subscriber that allows the subscriber’s customers 
to call in to the subscriber’s prerecorded announcement or live service. 
900 service does not include the charge for collection services provided 
by the seller of the telecommunications services to the subscriber, or ser-
vice or product sold by the subscriber to the subscriber’s customer. The 
service is typically marketed under the name 900 service, and any subse-
quent numbers designated by the federal communications commission.

(ddd) “Value-added non-voice data service” means a service that 
otherwise meets the definition of telecommunications services in which 
computer processing applications are used to act on the form, content, 
code or protocol of the information or data primarily for a purpose oth-
er than transmission, conveyance or routing.

(eee) “International” means a telecommunications service that 
originates or terminates in the United States and terminates or origi-
nates outside the United States, respectively. United States includes the 
District of Columbia or a U.S. territory or possession.

(fff) “Interstate” means a telecommunications service that origi-
nates in one United States state, or a United States territory or posses-
sion, and terminates in a different United States state or a United States 
territory or possession.

(ggg) “Intrastate” means a telecommunications service that origi-
nates in one United States state or a United States territory or posses-
sion, and terminates in the same United States state or a United States 
territory or possession.

(hhh) “Cereal malt beverage” shall have the same meaning as such 
term is defined in K.S.A. 41–2701, and amendments thereto, except that 
for the purposes of the Kansas retailers sales tax act and for no other 
purpose, such term shall include beer containing not more than 6% al-
cohol by volume when such beer is sold by a retailer licensed under the 
Kansas cereal malt beverage act.

(iii) “Nonprofit integrated community care organization” means an en-
tity that is:

(1) Exempt from federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of 
the federal internal revenue code of 1986;

(2) certified to participate in the medicare program as a hospice under 42 
C.F.R. § 418 et seq. and focused on providing care to the aging and indigent 
population at home and through inpatient care, adult daycare or assisted living 
facilities and related facilities and services across multiple counties; and

(3) approved by the Kansas department for aging and disability services as 
an organization providing services under the program of all-inclusive care for 
the elderly as defined in 42 U.S.C. § 1396u-4 and regulations implementing 
such section.

Sec. 2. K.S.A. 79-3606 is hereby amended to read as follows: 79-
3606. The following shall be exempt from the tax imposed by this act:

(a) All sales of motor-vehicle fuel or other articles upon which a 
sales or excise tax has been paid, not subject to refund, under the laws of 
this state except cigarettes and electronic cigarettes as defined by K.S.A. 
79-3301, and amendments thereto, including consumable material for 
such electronic cigarettes, cereal malt beverages and malt products as 
defined by K.S.A. 79-3817, and amendments thereto, including wort, 
liquid malt, malt syrup and malt extract, that is not subject to taxation 
under the provisions of K.S.A. 79-41a02, and amendments thereto, mo-
tor vehicles taxed pursuant to K.S.A. 79-5117, and amendments thereto, 
tires taxed pursuant to K.S.A. 65-3424d, and amendments thereto, dry-
cleaning and laundry services taxed pursuant to K.S.A. 65-34,150, and 
amendments thereto, and gross receipts from regulated sports contests 
taxed pursuant to the Kansas professional regulated sports act, and 
amendments thereto;

(b) all sales of tangible personal property or service, including the 
renting and leasing of tangible personal property, purchased direct-
ly by the state of Kansas, a political subdivision thereof, other than a 
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school or educational institution, or purchased by a public or private 
nonprofit hospital or, public hospital authority or, nonprofit blood, 
tissue or organ bank or nonprofit integrated community care organization 
and used exclusively for state, political subdivision, hospital or, public 
hospital authority or, nonprofit blood, tissue or organ bank or nonprofit 
integrated community care organization purposes, except when: (1) Such 
state, hospital or public hospital authority is engaged or proposes to 
engage in any business specifically taxable under the provisions of this 
act and such items of tangible personal property or service are used or 
proposed to be used in such business; or (2) such political subdivision 
is engaged or proposes to engage in the business of furnishing gas, elec-
tricity or heat to others and such items of personal property or service 
are used or proposed to be used in such business;

(c) all sales of tangible personal property or services, including the 
renting and leasing of tangible personal property, purchased direct-
ly by a public or private elementary or secondary school or public or 
private nonprofit educational institution and used primarily by such 
school or institution for nonsectarian programs and activities provided 
or sponsored by such school or institution or in the erection, repair or 
enlargement of buildings to be used for such purposes. The exemption 
herein provided shall not apply to erection, construction, repair, en-
largement or equipment of buildings used primarily for human hab-
itation, except that such exemption shall apply to the erection, construction, 
repair, enlargement or equipment of buildings used for human habitation by 
the cerebral palsy research foundation of Kansas located in Wichita, Kansas, 
and multi community diversified services, incorporated, located in McPher-
son, Kansas;

(d) all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased by 
a contractor for the purpose of constructing, equipping, reconstructing, 
maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities 
for any public or private nonprofit hospital or public hospital authority, 
public or private elementary or secondary school, a public or private 
nonprofit educational institution, state correctional institution includ-
ing a privately constructed correctional institution contracted for state 
use and ownership, that would be exempt from taxation under the 
provisions of this act if purchased directly by such hospital or public 
hospital authority, school, educational institution or a state correction-
al institution; and all sales of tangible personal property or services 
purchased by a contractor for the purpose of constructing, equipping, 
reconstructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remod-
eling facilities for any political subdivision of the state or district de-
scribed in subsection (s), the total cost of which is paid from funds of 
such political subdivision or district and that would be exempt from 
taxation under the provisions of this act if purchased directly by such 
political subdivision or district. Nothing in this subsection or in the 
provisions of K.S.A. 12-3418, and amendments thereto, shall be deemed 
to exempt the purchase of any construction machinery, equipment or 
tools used in the constructing, equipping, reconstructing, maintaining, 
repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities for any politi-
cal subdivision of the state or any such district. As used in this subsec-
tion, K.S.A. 12-3418 and 79-3640, and amendments thereto, “funds of a 
political subdivision” shall mean general tax revenues, the proceeds of 
any bonds and gifts or grants-in-aid. Gifts shall not mean funds used 
for the purpose of constructing, equipping, reconstructing, repairing, 
enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities that are to be leased to the 
donor. When any political subdivision of the state, district described in 
subsection (s), public or private nonprofit hospital or public hospital 
authority, public or private elementary or secondary school, public or 
private nonprofit educational institution, state correctional institution 
including a privately constructed correctional institution contracted for 
state use and ownership shall contract for the purpose of constructing, 
equipping, reconstructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnish-
ing or remodeling facilities, it shall obtain from the state and furnish to 
the contractor an exemption certificate for the project involved, and the 
contractor may purchase materials for incorporation in such project. 
The contractor shall furnish the number of such certificate to all sup-
pliers from whom such purchases are made, and such suppliers shall 
execute invoices covering the same bearing the number of such cer-
tificate. Upon completion of the project the contractor shall furnish to 
the political subdivision, district described in subsection (s), hospital or 
public hospital authority, school, educational institution or department 
of corrections concerned a sworn statement, on a form to be provided 
by the director of taxation, that all purchases so made were entitled 
to exemption under this subsection. As an alternative to the foregoing 
procedure, any such contracting entity may apply to the secretary of 
revenue for agent status for the sole purpose of issuing and furnishing 

project exemption certificates to contractors pursuant to rules and regu-
lations adopted by the secretary establishing conditions and standards 
for the granting and maintaining of such status. All invoices shall be 
held by the contractor for a period of five years and shall be subject to 
audit by the director of taxation. If any materials purchased under such 
a certificate are found not to have been incorporated in the building 
or other project or not to have been returned for credit or the sales or 
compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such materials that will not 
be so incorporated in the building or other project reported and paid 
by such contractor to the director of taxation not later than the 20th day 
of the month following the close of the month in which it shall be de-
termined that such materials will not be used for the purpose for which 
such certificate was issued, the political subdivision, district described 
in subsection (s), hospital or public hospital authority, school, educa-
tional institution or the contractor contracting with the department of 
corrections for a correctional institution concerned shall be liable for tax 
on all materials purchased for the project, and upon payment thereof 
it may recover the same from the contractor together with reasonable 
attorney fees. Any contractor or any agent, employee or subcontractor 
thereof, who shall use or otherwise dispose of any materials purchased 
under such a certificate for any purpose other than that for which such 
a certificate is issued without the payment of the sales or compensating 
tax otherwise imposed upon such materials, shall be guilty of a misde-
meanor and, upon conviction therefor, shall be subject to the penalties 
provided for in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments thereto;

(e) all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased 
by a contractor for the erection, repair or enlargement of buildings or 
other projects for the government of the United States, its agencies or 
instrumentalities, that would be exempt from taxation if purchased 
directly by the government of the United States, its agencies or instru-
mentalities. When the government of the United States, its agencies or 
instrumentalities shall contract for the erection, repair, or enlargement 
of any building or other project, it shall obtain from the state and fur-
nish to the contractor an exemption certificate for the project involved, 
and the contractor may purchase materials for incorporation in such 
project. The contractor shall furnish the number of such certificates to 
all suppliers from whom such purchases are made, and such suppliers 
shall execute invoices covering the same bearing the number of such 
certificate. Upon completion of the project the contractor shall furnish 
to the government of the United States, its agencies or instrumentalities 
concerned a sworn statement, on a form to be provided by the director 
of taxation, that all purchases so made were entitled to exemption un-
der this subsection. As an alternative to the foregoing procedure, any 
such contracting entity may apply to the secretary of revenue for agent 
status for the sole purpose of issuing and furnishing project exemption 
certificates to contractors pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by 
the secretary establishing conditions and standards for the granting and 
maintaining of such status. All invoices shall be held by the contractor 
for a period of five years and shall be subject to audit by the director 
of taxation. Any contractor or any agent, employee or subcontractor 
thereof, who shall use or otherwise dispose of any materials purchased 
under such a certificate for any purpose other than that for which such 
a certificate is issued without the payment of the sales or compensating 
tax otherwise imposed upon such materials, shall be guilty of a misde-
meanor and, upon conviction therefor, shall be subject to the penalties 
provided for in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments thereto;

(f) tangible personal property purchased by a railroad or public 
utility for consumption or movement directly and immediately in in-
terstate commerce;

(g) sales of aircraft including remanufactured and modified aircraft 
sold to persons using directly or through an authorized agent such air-
craft as certified or licensed carriers of persons or property in interstate 
or foreign commerce under authority of the laws of the United States or 
any foreign government or sold to any foreign government or agency 
or instrumentality of such foreign government and all sales of aircraft 
for use outside of the United States and sales of aircraft repair, mod-
ification and replacement parts and sales of services employed in the 
remanufacture, modification and repair of aircraft;

(h) all rentals of nonsectarian textbooks by public or private ele-
mentary or secondary schools;

(i) the lease or rental of all films, records, tapes, or any type of 
sound or picture transcriptions used by motion picture exhibitors;

(j) meals served without charge or food used in the preparation of 
such meals to employees of any restaurant, eating house, dining car, 
hotel, drugstore or other place where meals or drinks are regularly sold 

(continued)
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to the public if such employees’ duties are related to the furnishing or 
sale of such meals or drinks;

(k) any motor vehicle, semitrailer or pole trailer, as such terms are 
defined by K.S.A. 8-126, and amendments thereto, or aircraft sold and 
delivered in this state to a bona fide resident of another state, which 
motor vehicle, semitrailer, pole trailer or aircraft is not to be registered 
or based in this state and which vehicle, semitrailer, pole trailer or air-
craft will not remain in this state more than 10 days;

(l) all isolated or occasional sales of tangible personal property, ser-
vices, substances or things, except isolated or occasional sale of motor 
vehicles specifically taxed under the provisions of K.S.A. 79-3603(o), 
and amendments thereto;

(m) all sales of tangible personal property that become an ingre-
dient or component part of tangible personal property or services pro-
duced, manufactured or compounded for ultimate sale at retail within 
or without the state of Kansas; and any such producer, manufacturer 
or compounder may obtain from the director of taxation and furnish 
to the supplier an exemption certificate number for tangible personal 
property for use as an ingredient or component part of the property or 
services produced, manufactured or compounded;

(n) all sales of tangible personal property that is consumed in the 
production, manufacture, processing, mining, drilling, refining or com-
pounding of tangible personal property, the treating of by-products or 
wastes derived from any such production process, the providing of ser-
vices or the irrigation of crops for ultimate sale at retail within or with-
out the state of Kansas; and any purchaser of such property may obtain 
from the director of taxation and furnish to the supplier an exemption 
certificate number for tangible personal property for consumption in 
such production, manufacture, processing, mining, drilling, refining, 
compounding, treating, irrigation and in providing such services;

(o) all sales of animals, fowl and aquatic plants and animals, the 
primary purpose of which is use in agriculture or aquaculture, as de-
fined in K.S.A. 47-1901, and amendments thereto, the production of 
food for human consumption, the production of animal, dairy, poultry 
or aquatic plant and animal products, fiber or fur, or the production of 
offspring for use for any such purpose or purposes;

(p) all sales of drugs dispensed pursuant to a prescription order by 
a licensed practitioner or a mid-level practitioner as defined by K.S.A. 
65-1626, and amendments thereto. As used in this subsection, “drug” 
means a compound, substance or preparation and any component of 
a compound, substance or preparation, other than food and food in-
gredients, dietary supplements or alcoholic beverages, recognized in 
the official United States pharmacopeia, official homeopathic pharma-
copoeia of the United States or official national formulary, and supple-
ment to any of them, intended for use in the diagnosis, cure, mitigation, 
treatment or prevention of disease or intended to affect the structure 
or any function of the body, except that for taxable years commencing 
after December 31, 2013, this subsection shall not apply to any sales of 
drugs used in the performance or induction of an abortion, as defined 
in K.S.A. 65-6701, and amendments thereto;

(q) all sales of insulin dispensed by a person licensed by the state 
board of pharmacy to a person for treatment of diabetes at the direction 
of a person licensed to practice medicine by the state board of healing arts;

(r) all sales of oxygen delivery equipment, kidney dialysis equip-
ment, enteral feeding systems, prosthetic devices and mobility enhanc-
ing equipment prescribed in writing by a person licensed to practice the 
healing arts, dentistry or optometry, and in addition to such sales, all 
sales of hearing aids, as defined by K.S.A. 74-5807(c), and amendments 
thereto, and repair and replacement parts therefor, including batteries, 
by a person licensed in the practice of dispensing and fitting hearing 
aids pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A. 74-5808, and amendments 
thereto. For the purposes of this subsection: (1) “Mobility enhancing 
equipment” means equipment including repair and replacement parts 
to same, but does not include durable medical equipment, which is pri-
marily and customarily used to provide or increase the ability to move 
from one place to another and which is appropriate for use either in a 
home or a motor vehicle; is not generally used by persons with normal 
mobility; and does not include any motor vehicle or equipment on a 
motor vehicle normally provided by a motor vehicle manufacturer; and 
(2) “prosthetic device” means a replacement, corrective or supportive 
device including repair and replacement parts for same worn on or in 
the body to artificially replace a missing portion of the body, prevent 
or correct physical deformity or malfunction or support a weak or de-
formed portion of the body;

(s) except as provided in K.S.A. 82a-2101, and amendments there-
to, all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased direct-

ly or indirectly by a groundwater management district organized or 
operating under the authority of K.S.A. 82a-1020 et seq., and amend-
ments thereto, by a rural water district organized or operating under 
the authority of K.S.A. 82a-612, and amendments thereto, or by a water 
supply district organized or operating under the authority of K.S.A. 19-
3501 et seq., 19-3522 et seq. or 19-3545, and amendments thereto, which 
property or services are used in the construction activities, operation or 
maintenance of the district;

(t) all sales of farm machinery and equipment or aquaculture ma-
chinery and equipment, repair and replacement parts therefor and 
services performed in the repair and maintenance of such machinery 
and equipment. For the purposes of this subsection the term “farm 
machinery and equipment or aquaculture machinery and equipment” 
shall include a work-site utility vehicle, as defined in K.S.A. 8-126, and 
amendments thereto, and is equipped with a bed or cargo box for haul-
ing materials, and shall also include machinery and equipment used 
in the operation of Christmas tree farming but shall not include any 
passenger vehicle, truck, truck tractor, trailer, semitrailer or pole trailer, 
other than a farm trailer, as such terms are defined by K.S.A. 8-126, and 
amendments thereto. “Farm machinery and equipment” includes pre-
cision farming equipment that is portable or is installed or purchased 
to be installed on farm machinery and equipment. “Precision farming 
equipment” includes the following items used only in computer-as-
sisted farming, ranching or aquaculture production operations: Soil 
testing sensors, yield monitors, computers, monitors, software, glob-
al positioning and mapping systems, guiding systems, modems, data 
communications equipment and any necessary mounting hardware, 
wiring and antennas. Each purchaser of farm machinery and equip-
ment or aquaculture machinery and equipment exempted herein must 
certify in writing on the copy of the invoice or sales ticket to be retained 
by the seller that the farm machinery and equipment or aquaculture 
machinery and equipment purchased will be used only in farming, 
ranching or aquaculture production. Farming or ranching shall include 
the operation of a feedlot and farm and ranch work for hire and the 
operation of a nursery;

(u) all leases or rentals of tangible personal property used as a 
dwelling if such tangible personal property is leased or rented for a 
period of more than 28 consecutive days;

(v) all sales of tangible personal property to any contractor for use 
in preparing meals for delivery to homebound elderly persons over 60 
years of age and to homebound disabled persons or to be served at a 
group-sitting at a location outside of the home to otherwise homebound 
elderly persons over 60 years of age and to otherwise homebound dis-
abled persons, as all or part of any food service project funded in whole 
or in part by government or as part of a private nonprofit food service 
project available to all such elderly or disabled persons residing within 
an area of service designated by the private nonprofit organization, and 
all sales of tangible personal property for use in preparing meals for 
consumption by indigent or homeless individuals whether or not such 
meals are consumed at a place designated for such purpose, and all 
sales of food products by or on behalf of any such contractor or organi-
zation for any such purpose;

(w) all sales of natural gas, electricity, heat and water delivered 
through mains, lines or pipes: (1) To residential premises for noncom-
mercial use by the occupant of such premises; (2) for agricultural use 
and also, for such use, all sales of propane gas; (3) for use in the sever-
ing of oil; and (4) to any property which is exempt from property tax-
ation pursuant to K.S.A. 79-201b, Second through Sixth. As used in this 
paragraph, “severing” means the same as defined in K.S.A. 79-4216(k), 
and amendments thereto. For all sales of natural gas, electricity and 
heat delivered through mains, lines or pipes pursuant to the provisions 
of subsection (w)(1) and (w)(2), the provisions of this subsection shall 
expire on December 31, 2005;

(x) all sales of propane gas, LP-gas, coal, wood and other fuel 
sources for the production of heat or lighting for noncommercial use of 
an occupant of residential premises occurring prior to January 1, 2006;

(y) all sales of materials and services used in the repairing, servic-
ing, altering, maintaining, manufacturing, remanufacturing, or modifi-
cation of railroad rolling stock for use in interstate or foreign commerce 
under authority of the laws of the United States;

(z) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
directly by a port authority or by a contractor therefor as provided by 
the provisions of K.S.A. 12-3418, and amendments thereto;

(aa) all sales of materials and services applied to equipment that 
is transported into the state from without the state for repair, service, 
alteration, maintenance, remanufacture or modification and that is sub-
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sequently transported outside the state for use in the transmission of 
liquids or natural gas by means of pipeline in interstate or foreign com-
merce under authority of the laws of the United States;

(bb) all sales of used mobile homes or manufactured homes. 
As used in this subsection: (1) “Mobile homes” and “manufactured 
homes” mean the same as defined in K.S.A. 58-4202, and amendments 
thereto; and (2) “sales of used mobile homes or manufactured homes” 
means sales other than the original retail sale thereof;

(cc) all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased 
prior to January 1, 2012, except as otherwise provided, for the purpose 
of and in conjunction with constructing, reconstructing, enlarging or 
remodeling a business or retail business that meets the requirements 
established in K.S.A. 74-50,115, and amendments thereto, and the sale 
and installation of machinery and equipment purchased for installa-
tion at any such business or retail business, and all sales of tangible 
personal property or services purchased on or after January 1, 2012, for 
the purpose of and in conjunction with constructing, reconstructing, 
enlarging or remodeling a business that meets the requirements estab-
lished in K.S.A. 74-50,115(e), and amendments thereto, and the sale and 
installation of machinery and equipment purchased for installation at 
any such business. When a person shall contract for the construction, 
reconstruction, enlargement or remodeling of any such business or 
retail business, such person shall obtain from the state and furnish to 
the contractor an exemption certificate for the project involved, and the 
contractor may purchase materials, machinery and equipment for in-
corporation in such project. The contractor shall furnish the number of 
such certificates to all suppliers from whom such purchases are made, 
and such suppliers shall execute invoices covering the same bearing the 
number of such certificate. Upon completion of the project the contrac-
tor shall furnish to the owner of the business or retail business a sworn 
statement, on a form to be provided by the director of taxation, that all 
purchases so made were entitled to exemption under this subsection. 
All invoices shall be held by the contractor for a period of five years 
and shall be subject to audit by the director of taxation. Any contractor 
or any agent, employee or subcontractor thereof, who shall use or oth-
erwise dispose of any materials, machinery or equipment purchased 
under such a certificate for any purpose other than that for which such 
a certificate is issued without the payment of the sales or compensat-
ing tax otherwise imposed thereon, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor 
and, upon conviction therefor, shall be subject to the penalties provid-
ed for in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments thereto. As used in this 
subsection, “business” and “retail business” mean the same as defined 
in K.S.A. 74-50,114, and amendments thereto. Project exemption cer-
tificates that have been previously issued under this subsection by the 
department of revenue pursuant to K.S.A. 74-50,115, and amendments 
thereto, but not including K.S.A. 74-50,115(e), and amendments there-
to, prior to January 1, 2012, and have not expired will be effective for 
the term of the project or two years from the effective date of the cer-
tificate, whichever occurs earlier. Project exemption certificates that are 
submitted to the department of revenue prior to January 1, 2012, and 
are found to qualify will be issued a project exemption certificate that 
will be effective for a two-year period or for the term of the project, 
whichever occurs earlier;

(dd) all sales of tangible personal property purchased with food 
stamps issued by the United States department of agriculture;

(ee) all sales of lottery tickets and shares made as part of a lottery 
operated by the state of Kansas;

(ff) on and after July 1, 1988, all sales of new mobile homes or man-
ufactured homes to the extent of 40% of the gross receipts, determined 
without regard to any trade-in allowance, received from such sale. As 
used in this subsection, “mobile homes” and “manufactured homes” 
mean the same as defined in K.S.A. 58-4202, and amendments thereto;

(gg) all sales of tangible personal property purchased in accor-
dance with vouchers issued pursuant to the federal special supplemen-
tal food program for women, infants and children;

(hh) all sales of medical supplies and equipment, including dura-
ble medical equipment, purchased directly by a nonprofit skilled nurs-
ing home or nonprofit intermediate nursing care home, as defined by 
K.S.A. 39-923, and amendments thereto, for the purpose of providing 
medical services to residents thereof. This exemption shall not apply to 
tangible personal property customarily used for human habitation pur-
poses. As used in this subsection, “durable medical equipment” means 
equipment including repair and replacement parts for such equipment, 
that can withstand repeated use, is primarily and customarily used to 
serve a medical purpose, generally is not useful to a person in the ab-
sence of illness or injury and is not worn in or on the body, but does 

not include mobility enhancing equipment as defined in subsection (r), 
oxygen delivery equipment, kidney dialysis equipment or enteral feed-
ing systems;

(ii) all sales of tangible personal property purchased directly by a 
nonprofit organization for nonsectarian comprehensive multidiscipline 
youth development programs and activities provided or sponsored 
by such organization, and all sales of tangible personal property by 
or on behalf of any such organization. This exemption shall not apply 
to tangible personal property customarily used for human habitation 
purposes;

(jj) all sales of tangible personal property or services, including the 
renting and leasing of tangible personal property, purchased directly 
on behalf of a community-based facility for people with intellectual 
disability or mental health center organized pursuant to K.S.A. 19-4001 
et seq., and amendments thereto, and licensed in accordance with the 
provisions of K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 39-2001 et seq., and amendments there-
to, and all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased by 
contractors during the time period from July, 2003, through June, 2006, 
for the purpose of constructing, equipping, maintaining or furnishing a 
new facility for a community-based facility for people with intellectual 
disability or mental health center located in Riverton, Cherokee Coun-
ty, Kansas, that would have been eligible for sales tax exemption pur-
suant to this subsection if purchased directly by such facility or center. 
This exemption shall not apply to tangible personal property custom-
arily used for human habitation purposes;

(kk) (1) (A) all sales of machinery and equipment that are used in 
this state as an integral or essential part of an integrated production 
operation by a manufacturing or processing plant or facility;

(B) all sales of installation, repair and maintenance services per-
formed on such machinery and equipment; and

(C) all sales of repair and replacement parts and accessories pur-
chased for such machinery and equipment.

(2) For purposes of this subsection:
(A) “Integrated production operation” means an integrated series 

of operations engaged in at a manufacturing or processing plant or fa-
cility to process, transform or convert tangible personal property by 
physical, chemical or other means into a different form, composition 
or character from that in which it originally existed. Integrated produc-
tion operations shall include: (i) Production line operations, including 
packaging operations; (ii) preproduction operations to handle, store 
and treat raw materials; (iii) post production handling, storage, ware-
housing and distribution operations; and (iv) waste, pollution and en-
vironmental control operations, if any;

(B) “production line” means the assemblage of machinery and 
equipment at a manufacturing or processing plant or facility where 
the actual transformation or processing of tangible personal property 
occurs;

(C) “manufacturing or processing plant or facility” means a single, 
fixed location owned or controlled by a manufacturing or processing 
business that consists of one or more structures or buildings in a con-
tiguous area where integrated production operations are conducted 
to manufacture or process tangible personal property to be ultimately 
sold at retail. Such term shall not include any facility primarily operat-
ed for the purpose of conveying or assisting in the conveyance of nat-
ural gas, electricity, oil or water. A business may operate one or more 
manufacturing or processing plants or facilities at different locations to 
manufacture or process a single product of tangible personal property 
to be ultimately sold at retail;

(D) “manufacturing or processing business” means a business that 
utilizes an integrated production operation to manufacture, process, fab-
ricate, finish or assemble items for wholesale and retail distribution as 
part of what is commonly regarded by the general public as an industrial 
manufacturing or processing operation or an agricultural commodity 
processing operation. (i) Industrial manufacturing or processing opera-
tions include, by way of illustration but not of limitation, the fabrication 
of automobiles, airplanes, machinery or transportation equipment, the 
fabrication of metal, plastic, wood or paper products, electricity power 
generation, water treatment, petroleum refining, chemical production, 
wholesale bottling, newspaper printing, ready mixed concrete produc-
tion, and the remanufacturing of used parts for wholesale or retail sale. 
Such processing operations shall include operations at an oil well, gas 
well, mine or other excavation site where the oil, gas, minerals, coal, clay, 
stone, sand or gravel that has been extracted from the earth is cleaned, 
separated, crushed, ground, milled, screened, washed or otherwise treat-
ed or prepared before its transmission to a refinery or before any other 

(continued)
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wholesale or retail distribution. (ii) Agricultural commodity processing 
operations include, by way of illustration but not of limitation, meat 
packing, poultry slaughtering and dressing, processing and packaging 
farm and dairy products in sealed containers for wholesale and retail 
distribution, feed grinding, grain milling, frozen food processing, and 
grain handling, cleaning, blending, fumigation, drying and aeration op-
erations engaged in by grain elevators or other grain storage facilities. 
(iii) Manufacturing or processing businesses do not include, by way of 
illustration but not of limitation, nonindustrial businesses whose opera-
tions are primarily retail and that produce or process tangible personal 
property as an incidental part of conducting the retail business, such as 
retailers who bake, cook or prepare food products in the regular course 
of their retail trade, grocery stores, meat lockers and meat markets that 
butcher or dress livestock or poultry in the regular course of their retail 
trade, contractors who alter, service, repair or improve real property, and 
retail businesses that clean, service or refurbish and repair tangible per-
sonal property for its owner;

(E) “repair and replacement parts and accessories” means all parts 
and accessories for exempt machinery and equipment, including, but 
not limited to, dies, jigs, molds, patterns and safety devices that are 
attached to exempt machinery or that are otherwise used in produc-
tion, and parts and accessories that require periodic replacement such 
as belts, drill bits, grinding wheels, grinding balls, cutting bars, saws, 
refractory brick and other refractory items for exempt kiln equipment 
used in production operations;

(F) “primary” or “primarily” mean more than 50% of the time.
(3) For purposes of this subsection, machinery and equipment shall 

be deemed to be used as an integral or essential part of an integrated 
production operation when used:

(A) To receive, transport, convey, handle, treat or store raw materi-
als in preparation of its placement on the production line;

(B) to transport, convey, handle or store the property undergoing 
manufacturing or processing at any point from the beginning of the 
production line through any warehousing or distribution operation of 
the final product that occurs at the plant or facility;

(C) to act upon, effect, promote or otherwise facilitate a physical 
change to the property undergoing manufacturing or processing;

(D) to guide, control or direct the movement of property undergo-
ing manufacturing or processing;

(E) to test or measure raw materials, the property undergoing man-
ufacturing or processing or the finished product, as a necessary part of 
the manufacturer’s integrated production operations;

(F) to plan, manage, control or record the receipt and flow of in-
ventories of raw materials, consumables and component parts, the flow 
of the property undergoing manufacturing or processing and the man-
agement of inventories of the finished product;

(G) to produce energy for, lubricate, control the operating of or 
otherwise enable the functioning of other production machinery and 
equipment and the continuation of production operations;

(H) to package the property being manufactured or processed in 
a container or wrapping in which such property is normally sold or 
transported;

(I) to transmit or transport electricity, coke, gas, water, steam or 
similar substances used in production operations from the point of gen-
eration, if produced by the manufacturer or processor at the plant site, 
to that manufacturer’s production operation; or, if purchased or deliv-
ered from off-site, from the point where the substance enters the site of 
the plant or facility to that manufacturer’s production operations;

(J) to cool, heat, filter, refine or otherwise treat water, steam, acid, 
oil, solvents or other substances that are used in production operations;

(K) to provide and control an environment required to maintain 
certain levels of air quality, humidity or temperature in special and lim-
ited areas of the plant or facility, where such regulation of temperature 
or humidity is part of and essential to the production process;

(L) to treat, transport or store waste or other byproducts of produc-
tion operations at the plant or facility; or

(M) to control pollution at the plant or facility where the pollution 
is produced by the manufacturing or processing operation.

(4) The following machinery, equipment and materials shall be 
deemed to be exempt even though it may not otherwise qualify as ma-
chinery and equipment used as an integral or essential part of an in-
tegrated production operation: (A) Computers and related peripheral 
equipment that are utilized by a manufacturing or processing business 
for engineering of the finished product or for research and develop-
ment or product design; (B) machinery and equipment that is utilized 
by a manufacturing or processing business to manufacture or rebuild 

tangible personal property that is used in manufacturing or process-
ing operations, including tools, dies, molds, forms and other parts of 
qualifying machinery and equipment; (C) portable plants for aggregate 
concrete, bulk cement and asphalt including cement mixing drums to 
be attached to a motor vehicle; (D) industrial fixtures, devices, support 
facilities and special foundations necessary for manufacturing and pro-
duction operations, and materials and other tangible personal proper-
ty sold for the purpose of fabricating such fixtures, devices, facilities 
and foundations. An exemption certificate for such purchases shall be 
signed by the manufacturer or processor. If the fabricator purchases 
such material, the fabricator shall also sign the exemption certificate; 
(E) a manufacturing or processing business’ laboratory equipment that 
is not located at the plant or facility, but that would otherwise qualify 
for exemption under subsection (3)(E); (F) all machinery and equip-
ment used in surface mining activities as described in K.S.A. 49-601 et 
seq., and amendments thereto, beginning from the time a reclamation 
plan is filed to the acceptance of the completed final site reclamation.

(5) “Machinery and equipment used as an integral or essential part 
of an integrated production operation” shall not include:

(A) Machinery and equipment used for nonproduction purposes, 
including, but not limited to, machinery and equipment used for plant 
security, fire prevention, first aid, accounting, administration, record 
keeping, advertising, marketing, sales or other related activities, plant 
cleaning, plant communications and employee work scheduling;

(B) machinery, equipment and tools used primarily in maintaining 
and repairing any type of machinery and equipment or the building 
and plant;

(C) transportation, transmission and distribution equipment not 
primarily used in a production, warehousing or material handling op-
eration at the plant or facility, including the means of conveyance of 
natural gas, electricity, oil or water, and equipment related thereto, lo-
cated outside the plant or facility;

(D) office machines and equipment including computers and relat-
ed peripheral equipment not used directly and primarily to control or 
measure the manufacturing process;

(E) furniture and other furnishings;
(F) buildings, other than exempt machinery and equipment that is 

permanently affixed to or becomes a physical part of the building, and 
any other part of real estate that is not otherwise exempt;

(G) building fixtures that are not integral to the manufacturing op-
eration, such as utility systems for heating, ventilation, air condition-
ing, communications, plumbing or electrical;

(H) machinery and equipment used for general plant heating, cool-
ing and lighting;

(I) motor vehicles that are registered for operation on public high-
ways; or

(J) employee apparel, except safety and protective apparel that is 
purchased by an employer and furnished gratuitously to employees 
who are involved in production or research activities.

(6) Subsections (3) and (5) shall not be construed as exclusive list-
ings of the machinery and equipment that qualify or do not qualify 
as an integral or essential part of an integrated production operation. 
When machinery or equipment is used as an integral or essential part 
of production operations part of the time and for nonproduction pur-
poses at other times, the primary use of the machinery or equipment 
shall determine whether or not such machinery or equipment qualifies 
for exemption.

(7) The secretary of revenue shall adopt rules and regulations nec-
essary to administer the provisions of this subsection;

(ll) all sales of educational materials purchased for distribution to 
the public at no charge by a nonprofit corporation organized for the 
purpose of encouraging, fostering and conducting programs for the im-
provement of public health, except that for taxable years commencing 
after December 31, 2013, this subsection shall not apply to any sales of 
such materials purchased by a nonprofit corporation which performs 
any abortion, as defined in K.S.A. 65-6701, and amendments thereto;

(mm) all sales of seeds and tree seedlings; fertilizers, insecticides, 
herbicides, germicides, pesticides and fungicides; and services, pur-
chased and used for the purpose of producing plants in order to pre-
vent soil erosion on land devoted to agricultural use;

(nn) except as otherwise provided in this act, all sales of services 
rendered by an advertising agency or licensed broadcast station or any 
member, agent or employee thereof;

(oo) all sales of tangible personal property purchased by a commu-
nity action group or agency for the exclusive purpose of repairing or 
weatherizing housing occupied by low-income individuals;
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(pp) all sales of drill bits and explosives actually utilized in the ex-
ploration and production of oil or gas;

(qq) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by a nonprofit museum or historical society or any combination there-
of, including a nonprofit organization that is organized for the purpose 
of stimulating public interest in the exploration of space by providing 
educational information, exhibits and experiences, that is exempt from 
federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal in-
ternal revenue code of 1986;

(rr) all sales of tangible personal property that will admit the pur-
chaser thereof to any annual event sponsored by a nonprofit organiza-
tion that is exempt from federal income taxation pursuant to section 
501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, except that for 
taxable years commencing after December 31, 2013, this subsection 
shall not apply to any sales of such tangible personal property pur-
chased by a nonprofit organization which performs any abortion, as 
defined in K.S.A. 65-6701, and amendments thereto;

(ss) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by a public broadcasting station licensed by the federal communica-
tions commission as a noncommercial educational television or radio 
station;

(tt) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by or on behalf of a not-for-profit corporation that is exempt from fed-
eral income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal 
revenue code of 1986, for the sole purpose of constructing a Kansas 
Korean War memorial;

(uu) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by or on behalf of any rural volunteer fire-fighting organization for use 
exclusively in the performance of its duties and functions;

(vv) all sales of tangible personal property purchased by any of the 
following organizations that are exempt from federal income taxation 
pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 
1986, for the following purposes, and all sales of any such property by 
or on behalf of any such organization for any such purpose:

(1) The American heart association, Kansas affiliate, inc. for the 
purposes of providing education, training, certification in emergency 
cardiac care, research and other related services to reduce disability 
and death from cardiovascular diseases and stroke;

(2) the Kansas alliance for the mentally ill, inc. for the purpose of 
advocacy for persons with mental illness and to education, research 
and support for their families;

(3) the Kansas mental illness awareness council for the purposes of 
advocacy for persons who are mentally ill and for education, research 
and support for them and their families;

(4) the American diabetes association Kansas affiliate, inc. for the 
purpose of eliminating diabetes through medical research, public edu-
cation focusing on disease prevention and education, patient education 
including information on coping with diabetes, and professional edu-
cation and training;

(5) the American lung association of Kansas, inc. for the purpose 
of eliminating all lung diseases through medical research, public ed-
ucation including information on coping with lung diseases, profes-
sional education and training related to lung disease and other related 
services to reduce the incidence of disability and death due to lung 
disease;

(6) the Kansas chapters of the Alzheimer’s disease and related dis-
orders association, inc. for the purpose of providing assistance and sup-
port to persons in Kansas with Alzheimer’s disease, and their families 
and caregivers;

(7) the Kansas chapters of the Parkinson’s disease association for 
the purpose of eliminating Parkinson’s disease through medical re-
search and public and professional education related to such disease;

(8) the national kidney foundation of Kansas and western Missouri 
for the purpose of eliminating kidney disease through medical research 
and public and private education related to such disease;

(9) the heartstrings community foundation for the purpose of pro-
viding training, employment and activities for adults with develop-
mental disabilities;

(10) the cystic fibrosis foundation, heart of America chapter, for the 
purposes of assuring the development of the means to cure and con-
trol cystic fibrosis and improving the quality of life for those with the 
disease;

(11) the spina bifida association of Kansas for the purpose of pro-
viding financial, educational and practical aid to families and individ-
uals with spina bifida. Such aid includes, but is not limited to, funding 
for medical devices, counseling and medical educational opportunities;

(12) the CHWC, Inc., for the purpose of rebuilding urban core 
neighborhoods through the construction of new homes, acquiring and 
renovating existing homes and other related activities, and promoting 
economic development in such neighborhoods;

(13) the cross-lines cooperative council for the purpose of provid-
ing social services to low income individuals and families;

(14) the dreams work, inc., for the purpose of providing young 
adult day services to individuals with developmental disabilities and 
assisting families in avoiding institutional or nursing home care for a 
developmentally disabled member of their family;

(15) the KSDS, Inc., for the purpose of promoting the indepen-
dence and inclusion of people with disabilities as fully participating 
and contributing members of their communities and society through 
the training and providing of guide and service dogs to people with 
disabilities, and providing disability education and awareness to the 
general public;

(16) the lyme association of greater Kansas City, Inc., for the pur-
pose of providing support to persons with lyme disease and public ed-
ucation relating to the prevention, treatment and cure of lyme disease;

(17) the dream factory, inc., for the purpose of granting the dreams 
of children with critical and chronic illnesses;

(18) the Ottawa Suzuki strings, inc., for the purpose of providing 
students and families with education and resources necessary to enable 
each child to develop fine character and musical ability to the fullest 
potential;

(19) the international association of lions clubs for the purpose of 
creating and fostering a spirit of understanding among all people for 
humanitarian needs by providing voluntary services through commu-
nity involvement and international cooperation;

(20) the Johnson county young matrons, inc., for the purpose of 
promoting a positive future for members of the community through 
volunteerism, financial support and education through the efforts of an 
all volunteer organization;

(21) the American cancer society, inc., for the purpose of eliminat-
ing cancer as a major health problem by preventing cancer, saving lives 
and diminishing suffering from cancer, through research, education, 
advocacy and service;

(22) the community services of Shawnee, inc., for the purpose of 
providing food and clothing to those in need;

(23) the angel babies association, for the purpose of providing as-
sistance, support and items of necessity to teenage mothers and their 
babies; and

(24) the Kansas fairgrounds foundation for the purpose of the pres-
ervation, renovation and beautification of the Kansas state fairgrounds;

(ww) all sales of tangible personal property purchased by the hab-
itat for humanity for the exclusive use of being incorporated within a 
housing project constructed by such organization;

(xx) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by a nonprofit zoo that is exempt from federal income taxation pursu-
ant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, or 
on behalf of such zoo by an entity itself exempt from federal income 
taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue 
code of 1986 contracted with to operate such zoo and all sales of tan-
gible personal property or services purchased by a contractor for the 
purpose of constructing, equipping, reconstructing, maintaining, re-
pairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities for any nonprofit 
zoo that would be exempt from taxation under the provisions of this 
section if purchased directly by such nonprofit zoo or the entity oper-
ating such zoo. Nothing in this subsection shall be deemed to exempt 
the purchase of any construction machinery, equipment or tools used 
in the constructing, equipping, reconstructing, maintaining, repairing, 
enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities for any nonprofit zoo. 
When any nonprofit zoo shall contract for the purpose of constructing, 
equipping, reconstructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnish-
ing or remodeling facilities, it shall obtain from the state and furnish to 
the contractor an exemption certificate for the project involved, and the 
contractor may purchase materials for incorporation in such project. 
The contractor shall furnish the number of such certificate to all sup-
pliers from whom such purchases are made, and such suppliers shall 
execute invoices covering the same bearing the number of such certifi-
cate. Upon completion of the project the contractor shall furnish to the 
nonprofit zoo concerned a sworn statement, on a form to be provided 
by the director of taxation, that all purchases so made were entitled 
to exemption under this subsection. All invoices shall be held by the 
contractor for a period of five years and shall be subject to audit by the 

(continued)
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director of taxation. If any materials purchased under such a certificate 
are found not to have been incorporated in the building or other project 
or not to have been returned for credit or the sales or compensating tax 
otherwise imposed upon such materials that will not be so incorporat-
ed in the building or other project reported and paid by such contractor 
to the director of taxation not later than the 20th day of the month fol-
lowing the close of the month in which it shall be determined that such 
materials will not be used for the purpose for which such certificate was 
issued, the nonprofit zoo concerned shall be liable for tax on all materi-
als purchased for the project, and upon payment thereof it may recover 
the same from the contractor together with reasonable attorney fees. 
Any contractor or any agent, employee or subcontractor thereof, who 
shall use or otherwise dispose of any materials purchased under such a 
certificate for any purpose other than that for which such a certificate is 
issued without the payment of the sales or compensating tax otherwise 
imposed upon such materials, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, 
upon conviction therefor, shall be subject to the penalties provided for 
in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments thereto;

(yy) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by a parent-teacher association or organization, and all sales of tangible 
personal property by or on behalf of such association or organization;

(zz) all sales of machinery and equipment purchased by over-
the-air, free access radio or television station that is used directly and 
primarily for the purpose of producing a broadcast signal or is such 
that the failure of the machinery or equipment to operate would cause 
broadcasting to cease. For purposes of this subsection, machinery and 
equipment shall include, but not be limited to, that required by rules 
and regulations of the federal communications commission, and all 
sales of electricity which are essential or necessary for the purpose of 
producing a broadcast signal or is such that the failure of the electricity 
would cause broadcasting to cease;

(aaa) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by a religious organization that is exempt from federal income taxation 
pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code, and 
used exclusively for religious purposes, and all sales of tangible per-
sonal property or services purchased by a contractor for the purpose 
of constructing, equipping, reconstructing, maintaining, repairing, en-
larging, furnishing or remodeling facilities for any such organization 
that would be exempt from taxation under the provisions of this section 
if purchased directly by such organization. Nothing in this subsection 
shall be deemed to exempt the purchase of any construction machinery, 
equipment or tools used in the constructing, equipping, reconstructing, 
maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities 
for any such organization. When any such organization shall contract 
for the purpose of constructing, equipping, reconstructing, maintain-
ing, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities, it shall ob-
tain from the state and furnish to the contractor an exemption certificate 
for the project involved, and the contractor may purchase materials for 
incorporation in such project. The contractor shall furnish the number 
of such certificate to all suppliers from whom such purchases are made, 
and such suppliers shall execute invoices covering the same bearing the 
number of such certificate. Upon completion of the project the contrac-
tor shall furnish to such organization concerned a sworn statement, on 
a form to be provided by the director of taxation, that all purchases so 
made were entitled to exemption under this subsection. All invoices 
shall be held by the contractor for a period of five years and shall be 
subject to audit by the director of taxation. If any materials purchased 
under such a certificate are found not to have been incorporated in the 
building or other project or not to have been returned for credit or the 
sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such materials that 
will not be so incorporated in the building or other project reported 
and paid by such contractor to the director of taxation not later than the 
20th day of the month following the close of the month in which it shall 
be determined that such materials will not be used for the purpose for 
which such certificate was issued, such organization concerned shall be 
liable for tax on all materials purchased for the project, and upon pay-
ment thereof it may recover the same from the contractor together with 
reasonable attorney fees. Any contractor or any agent, employee or 
subcontractor thereof, who shall use or otherwise dispose of any mate-
rials purchased under such a certificate for any purpose other than that 
for which such a certificate is issued without the payment of the sales 
or compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such materials, shall be 
guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction therefor, shall be sub-
ject to the penalties provided for in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments 
thereto. Sales tax paid on and after July 1, 1998, but prior to the effective 
date of this act upon the gross receipts received from any sale exempt-

ed by the amendatory provisions of this subsection shall be refunded. 
Each claim for a sales tax refund shall be verified and submitted to the 
director of taxation upon forms furnished by the director and shall be 
accompanied by any additional documentation required by the direc-
tor. The director shall review each claim and shall refund that amount 
of sales tax paid as determined under the provisions of this subsection. 
All refunds shall be paid from the sales tax refund fund upon warrants 
of the director of accounts and reports pursuant to vouchers approved 
by the director or the director’s designee;

(bbb) all sales of food for human consumption by an organiza-
tion that is exempt from federal income taxation pursuant to section 
501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, pursuant to a 
food distribution program that offers such food at a price below cost in 
exchange for the performance of community service by the purchaser 
thereof;

(ccc) on and after July 1, 1999, all sales of tangible personal property 
and services purchased by a primary care clinic or health center the pri-
mary purpose of which is to provide services to medically underserved 
individuals and families, and that is exempt from federal income taxa-
tion pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code, 
and all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased by a 
contractor for the purpose of constructing, equipping, reconstructing, 
maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities 
for any such clinic or center that would be exempt from taxation under 
the provisions of this section if purchased directly by such clinic or cen-
ter, except that for taxable years commencing after December 31, 2013, 
this subsection shall not apply to any sales of such tangible person-
al property and services purchased by a primary care clinic or health 
center which performs any abortion, as defined in K.S.A. 65-6701, and 
amendments thereto. Nothing in this subsection shall be deemed to 
exempt the purchase of any construction machinery, equipment or 
tools used in the constructing, equipping, reconstructing, maintaining, 
repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities for any such 
clinic or center. When any such clinic or center shall contract for the 
purpose of constructing, equipping, reconstructing, maintaining, re-
pairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities, it shall obtain 
from the state and furnish to the contractor an exemption certificate 
for the project involved, and the contractor may purchase materials for 
incorporation in such project. The contractor shall furnish the number 
of such certificate to all suppliers from whom such purchases are made, 
and such suppliers shall execute invoices covering the same bearing the 
number of such certificate. Upon completion of the project the contrac-
tor shall furnish to such clinic or center concerned a sworn statement, 
on a form to be provided by the director of taxation, that all purchases 
so made were entitled to exemption under this subsection. All invoices 
shall be held by the contractor for a period of five years and shall be 
subject to audit by the director of taxation. If any materials purchased 
under such a certificate are found not to have been incorporated in the 
building or other project or not to have been returned for credit or the 
sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such materials that 
will not be so incorporated in the building or other project reported 
and paid by such contractor to the director of taxation not later than 
the 20th day of the month following the close of the month in which it 
shall be determined that such materials will not be used for the purpose 
for which such certificate was issued, such clinic or center concerned 
shall be liable for tax on all materials purchased for the project, and 
upon payment thereof it may recover the same from the contractor to-
gether with reasonable attorney fees. Any contractor or any agent, em-
ployee or subcontractor thereof, who shall use or otherwise dispose of 
any materials purchased under such a certificate for any purpose other 
than that for which such a certificate is issued without the payment of 
the sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such materi-
als, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction therefor, 
shall be subject to the penalties provided for in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and 
amendments thereto;

(ddd) on and after January 1, 1999, and before January 1, 2000, all 
sales of materials and services purchased by any class II or III railroad 
as classified by the federal surface transportation board for the con-
struction, renovation, repair or replacement of class II or III railroad 
track and facilities used directly in interstate commerce. In the event 
any such track or facility for which materials and services were pur-
chased sales tax exempt is not operational for five years succeeding the 
allowance of such exemption, the total amount of sales tax that would 
have been payable except for the operation of this subsection shall be 
recouped in accordance with rules and regulations adopted for such 
purpose by the secretary of revenue;
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(eee) on and after January 1, 1999, and before January 1, 2001, all 
sales of materials and services purchased for the original construction, 
reconstruction, repair or replacement of grain storage facilities, includ-
ing railroad sidings providing access thereto;

(fff) all sales of material handling equipment, racking systems and 
other related machinery and equipment that is used for the handling, 
movement or storage of tangible personal property in a warehouse 
or distribution facility in this state; all sales of installation, repair and 
maintenance services performed on such machinery and equipment; 
and all sales of repair and replacement parts for such machinery and 
equipment. For purposes of this subsection, a warehouse or distribu-
tion facility means a single, fixed location that consists of buildings or 
structures in a contiguous area where storage or distribution opera-
tions are conducted that are separate and apart from the business’ retail 
operations, if any, and that do not otherwise qualify for exemption as 
occurring at a manufacturing or processing plant or facility. Material 
handling and storage equipment shall include aeration, dust control, 
cleaning, handling and other such equipment that is used in a public 
grain warehouse or other commercial grain storage facility, whether 
used for grain handling, grain storage, grain refining or processing, or 
other grain treatment operation;

(ggg) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by or on behalf of the Kansas academy of science, which is exempt from 
federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal in-
ternal revenue code of 1986, and used solely by such academy for the 
preparation, publication and dissemination of education materials;

(hhh) all sales of tangible personal property and services pur-
chased by or on behalf of all domestic violence shelters that are member 
agencies of the Kansas coalition against sexual and domestic violence;

(iii) all sales of personal property and services purchased by an 
organization that is exempt from federal income taxation pursuant to 
section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, and such 
personal property and services are used by any such organization in 
the collection, storage and distribution of food products to nonprofit 
organizations that distribute such food products to persons pursuant to 
a food distribution program on a charitable basis without fee or charge, 
and all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased by a 
contractor for the purpose of constructing, equipping, reconstructing, 
maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities 
used for the collection and storage of such food products for any such 
organization which is exempt from federal income taxation pursuant 
to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, that 
would be exempt from taxation under the provisions of this section 
if purchased directly by such organization. Nothing in this subsection 
shall be deemed to exempt the purchase of any construction machinery, 
equipment or tools used in the constructing, equipping, reconstructing, 
maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities 
for any such organization. When any such organization shall contract 
for the purpose of constructing, equipping, reconstructing, maintain-
ing, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities, it shall 
obtain from the state and furnish to the contractor an exemption certif-
icate for the project involved, and the contractor may purchase mate-
rials for incorporation in such project. The contractor shall furnish the 
number of such certificate to all suppliers from whom such purchases 
are made, and such suppliers shall execute invoices covering the same 
bearing the number of such certificate. Upon completion of the project 
the contractor shall furnish to such organization concerned a sworn 
statement, on a form to be provided by the director of taxation, that all 
purchases so made were entitled to exemption under this subsection. 
All invoices shall be held by the contractor for a period of five years 
and shall be subject to audit by the director of taxation. If any materials 
purchased under such a certificate are found not to have been incor-
porated in such facilities or not to have been returned for credit or the 
sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such materials that 
will not be so incorporated in such facilities reported and paid by such 
contractor to the director of taxation not later than the 20th day of the 
month following the close of the month in which it shall be determined 
that such materials will not be used for the purpose for which such cer-
tificate was issued, such organization concerned shall be liable for tax 
on all materials purchased for the project, and upon payment thereof 
it may recover the same from the contractor together with reasonable 
attorney fees. Any contractor or any agent, employee or subcontractor 
thereof, who shall use or otherwise dispose of any materials purchased 
under such a certificate for any purpose other than that for which such 
a certificate is issued without the payment of the sales or compensating 
tax otherwise imposed upon such materials, shall be guilty of a misde-

meanor and, upon conviction therefor, shall be subject to the penalties 
provided for in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments thereto. Sales tax 
paid on and after July 1, 2005, but prior to the effective date of this act 
upon the gross receipts received from any sale exempted by the amen-
datory provisions of this subsection shall be refunded. Each claim for 
a sales tax refund shall be verified and submitted to the director of tax-
ation upon forms furnished by the director and shall be accompanied 
by any additional documentation required by the director. The director 
shall review each claim and shall refund that amount of sales tax paid 
as determined under the provisions of this subsection. All refunds shall 
be paid from the sales tax refund fund upon warrants of the director of 
accounts and reports pursuant to vouchers approved by the director or 
the director’s designee;

(jjj) all sales of dietary supplements dispensed pursuant to a pre-
scription order by a licensed practitioner or a mid-level practitioner as 
defined by K.S.A. 65-1626, and amendments thereto. As used in this 
subsection, “dietary supplement” means any product, other than to-
bacco, intended to supplement the diet that: (1) Contains one or more of 
the following dietary ingredients: A vitamin, a mineral, an herb or oth-
er botanical, an amino acid, a dietary substance for use by humans to 
supplement the diet by increasing the total dietary intake or a concen-
trate, metabolite, constituent, extract or combination of any such ingre-
dient; (2) is intended for ingestion in tablet, capsule, powder, softgel, 
gelcap or liquid form, or if not intended for ingestion, in such a form, is 
not represented as conventional food and is not represented for use as 
a sole item of a meal or of the diet; and (3) is required to be labeled as 
a dietary supplement, identifiable by the supplemental facts box found 
on the label and as required pursuant to 21 C.F.R. § 101.36;

(lll) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by special olympics Kansas, inc. for the purpose of providing year-
round sports training and athletic competition in a variety of olympic- 
type sports for individuals with intellectual disabilities by giving them 
continuing opportunities to develop physical fitness, demonstrate 
courage, experience joy and participate in a sharing of gifts, skills and 
friendship with their families, other special olympics athletes and the 
community, and activities provided or sponsored by such organiza-
tion, and all sales of tangible personal property by or on behalf of any 
such organization;

(mmm) all sales of tangible personal property purchased by or on 
behalf of the Marillac center, inc., which is exempt from federal income 
taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue 
code, for the purpose of providing psycho-social-biological and special 
education services to children, and all sales of any such property by or 
on behalf of such organization for such purpose;

(nnn) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by the west Sedgwick county-sunrise rotary club and sunrise charitable 
fund for the purpose of constructing a boundless playground which 
is an integrated, barrier free and developmentally advantageous play 
environment for children of all abilities and disabilities;

(ooo) all sales of tangible personal property by or on behalf of a 
public library serving the general public and supported in whole or 
in part with tax money or a not-for-profit organization whose purpose 
is to raise funds for or provide services or other benefits to any such 
public library;

(ppp) all sales of tangible personal property and services pur-
chased by or on behalf of a homeless shelter that is exempt from federal 
income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal income tax 
code of 1986, and used by any such homeless shelter to provide emer-
gency and transitional housing for individuals and families experienc-
ing homelessness, and all sales of any such property by or on behalf of 
any such homeless shelter for any such purpose;

(qqq) all sales of tangible personal property and services pur-
chased by TLC for children and families, inc., hereinafter referred to as 
TLC, which is exempt from federal income taxation pursuant to section 
501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, and such property 
and services are used for the purpose of providing emergency shelter 
and treatment for abused and neglected children as well as meeting ad-
ditional critical needs for children, juveniles and family, and all sales of 
any such property by or on behalf of TLC for any such purpose; and all 
sales of tangible personal property or services purchased by a contrac-
tor for the purpose of constructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, 
furnishing or remodeling facilities for the operation of services for TLC 
for any such purpose that would be exempt from taxation under the 
provisions of this section if purchased directly by TLC. Nothing in this 
subsection shall be deemed to exempt the purchase of any construction 
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machinery, equipment or tools used in the constructing, maintaining, 
repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling such facilities for TLC. 
When TLC contracts for the purpose of constructing, maintaining, 
repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling such facilities, it shall 
obtain from the state and furnish to the contractor an exemption certif-
icate for the project involved, and the contractor may purchase mate-
rials for incorporation in such project. The contractor shall furnish the 
number of such certificate to all suppliers from whom such purchases 
are made, and such suppliers shall execute invoices covering the same 
bearing the number of such certificate. Upon completion of the project 
the contractor shall furnish to TLC a sworn statement, on a form to be 
provided by the director of taxation, that all purchases so made were 
entitled to exemption under this subsection. All invoices shall be held 
by the contractor for a period of five years and shall be subject to audit 
by the director of taxation. If any materials purchased under such a 
certificate are found not to have been incorporated in the building or 
other project or not to have been returned for credit or the sales or com-
pensating tax otherwise imposed upon such materials that will not be 
so incorporated in the building or other project reported and paid by 
such contractor to the director of taxation not later than the 20th day of 
the month following the close of the month in which it shall be deter-
mined that such materials will not be used for the purpose for which 
such certificate was issued, TLC shall be liable for tax on all materials 
purchased for the project, and upon payment thereof it may recover 
the same from the contractor together with reasonable attorney fees. 
Any contractor or any agent, employee or subcontractor thereof, who 
shall use or otherwise dispose of any materials purchased under such a 
certificate for any purpose other than that for which such a certificate is 
issued without the payment of the sales or compensating tax otherwise 
imposed upon such materials, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, 
upon conviction therefor, shall be subject to the penalties provided for 
in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments thereto;

(rrr) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by any county law library maintained pursuant to law and sales of tan-
gible personal property and services purchased by an organization that 
would have been exempt from taxation under the provisions of this 
subsection if purchased directly by the county law library for the pur-
pose of providing legal resources to attorneys, judges, students and the 
general public, and all sales of any such property by or on behalf of any 
such county law library;

(sss) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by catholic charities or youthville, hereinafter referred to as charitable 
family providers, which is exempt from federal income taxation pursu-
ant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, and 
which such property and services are used for the purpose of provid-
ing emergency shelter and treatment for abused and neglected children 
as well as meeting additional critical needs for children, juveniles and 
family, and all sales of any such property by or on behalf of charitable 
family providers for any such purpose; and all sales of tangible per-
sonal property or services purchased by a contractor for the purpose 
of constructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or re-
modeling facilities for the operation of services for charitable family 
providers for any such purpose which would be exempt from taxation 
under the provisions of this section if purchased directly by charitable 
family providers. Nothing in this subsection shall be deemed to exempt 
the purchase of any construction machinery, equipment or tools used 
in the constructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or 
remodeling such facilities for charitable family providers. When chari-
table family providers contracts for the purpose of constructing, main-
taining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling such facilities, it 
shall obtain from the state and furnish to the contractor an exemption 
certificate for the project involved, and the contractor may purchase 
materials for incorporation in such project. The contractor shall furnish 
the number of such certificate to all suppliers from whom such pur-
chases are made, and such suppliers shall execute invoices covering 
the same bearing the number of such certificate. Upon completion of 
the project the contractor shall furnish to charitable family providers 
a sworn statement, on a form to be provided by the director of taxa-
tion, that all purchases so made were entitled to exemption under this 
subsection. All invoices shall be held by the contractor for a period of 
five years and shall be subject to audit by the director of taxation. If 
any materials purchased under such a certificate are found not to have 
been incorporated in the building or other project or not to have been 
returned for credit or the sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed 
upon such materials that will not be so incorporated in the building or 
other project reported and paid by such contractor to the director of 

taxation not later than the 20th day of the month following the close of 
the month in which it shall be determined that such materials will not 
be used for the purpose for which such certificate was issued, charitable 
family providers shall be liable for tax on all materials purchased for 
the project, and upon payment thereof it may recover the same from 
the contractor together with reasonable attorney fees. Any contractor 
or any agent, employee or subcontractor thereof, who shall use or oth-
erwise dispose of any materials purchased under such a certificate for 
any purpose other than that for which such a certificate is issued with-
out the payment of the sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed 
upon such materials, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon con-
viction therefor, shall be subject to the penalties provided for in K.S.A. 
79-3615(h), and amendments thereto;

(ttt) all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased 
by a contractor for a project for the purpose of restoring, constructing, 
equipping, reconstructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnish-
ing or remodeling a home or facility owned by a nonprofit museum 
that has been granted an exemption pursuant to subsection (qq), which 
such home or facility is located in a city that has been designated as 
a qualified hometown pursuant to the provisions of K.S.A. 75-5071 et 
seq., and amendments thereto, and which such project is related to the 
purposes of K.S.A. 75-5071 et seq., and amendments thereto, and that 
would be exempt from taxation under the provisions of this section if 
purchased directly by such nonprofit museum. Nothing in this subsec-
tion shall be deemed to exempt the purchase of any construction ma-
chinery, equipment or tools used in the restoring, constructing, equip-
ping, reconstructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or 
remodeling a home or facility for any such nonprofit museum. When 
any such nonprofit museum shall contract for the purpose of restor-
ing, constructing, equipping, reconstructing, maintaining, repairing, 
enlarging, furnishing or remodeling a home or facility, it shall obtain 
from the state and furnish to the contractor an exemption certificate for 
the project involved, and the contractor may purchase materials for in-
corporation in such project. The contractor shall furnish the number of 
such certificates to all suppliers from whom such purchases are made, 
and such suppliers shall execute invoices covering the same bearing 
the number of such certificate. Upon completion of the project, the con-
tractor shall furnish to such nonprofit museum a sworn statement on 
a form to be provided by the director of taxation that all purchases so 
made were entitled to exemption under this subsection. All invoices 
shall be held by the contractor for a period of five years and shall be 
subject to audit by the director of taxation. If any materials purchased 
under such a certificate are found not to have been incorporated in the 
building or other project or not to have been returned for credit or the 
sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such materials that 
will not be so incorporated in a home or facility or other project report-
ed and paid by such contractor to the director of taxation not later than 
the 20th day of the month following the close of the month in which it 
shall be determined that such materials will not be used for the purpose 
for which such certificate was issued, such nonprofit museum shall be 
liable for tax on all materials purchased for the project, and upon pay-
ment thereof it may recover the same from the contractor together with 
reasonable attorney fees. Any contractor or any agent, employee or 
subcontractor thereof, who shall use or otherwise dispose of any mate-
rials purchased under such a certificate for any purpose other than that 
for which such a certificate is issued without the payment of the sales 
or compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such materials, shall be 
guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction therefor, shall be sub-
ject to the penalties provided for in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments 
thereto;

(uuu) all sales of tangible personal property and services pur-
chased by Kansas children’s service league, hereinafter referred to as 
KCSL, which is exempt from federal income taxation pursuant to sec-
tion 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, and which 
such property and services are used for the purpose of providing for 
the prevention and treatment of child abuse and maltreatment as well 
as meeting additional critical needs for children, juveniles and family, 
and all sales of any such property by or on behalf of KCSL for any 
such purpose; and all sales of tangible personal property or services 
purchased by a contractor for the purpose of constructing, maintaining, 
repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities for the opera-
tion of services for KCSL for any such purpose that would be exempt 
from taxation under the provisions of this section if purchased directly 
by KCSL. Nothing in this subsection shall be deemed to exempt the 
purchase of any construction machinery, equipment or tools used in 
the constructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or re-
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modeling such facilities for KCSL. When KCSL contracts for the pur-
pose of constructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or 
remodeling such facilities, it shall obtain from the state and furnish to 
the contractor an exemption certificate for the project involved, and the 
contractor may purchase materials for incorporation in such project. 
The contractor shall furnish the number of such certificate to all sup-
pliers from whom such purchases are made, and such suppliers shall 
execute invoices covering the same bearing the number of such cer-
tificate. Upon completion of the project the contractor shall furnish to 
KCSL a sworn statement, on a form to be provided by the director of 
taxation, that all purchases so made were entitled to exemption under 
this subsection. All invoices shall be held by the contractor for a period 
of five years and shall be subject to audit by the director of taxation. If 
any materials purchased under such a certificate are found not to have 
been incorporated in the building or other project or not to have been 
returned for credit or the sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed 
upon such materials that will not be so incorporated in the building or 
other project reported and paid by such contractor to the director of 
taxation not later than the 20th day of the month following the close of 
the month in which it shall be determined that such materials will not 
be used for the purpose for which such certificate was issued, KCSL 
shall be liable for tax on all materials purchased for the project, and 
upon payment thereof it may recover the same from the contractor to-
gether with reasonable attorney fees. Any contractor or any agent, em-
ployee or subcontractor thereof, who shall use or otherwise dispose of 
any materials purchased under such a certificate for any purpose other 
than that for which such a certificate is issued without the payment of 
the sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such materials, 
shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction therefor, shall be 
subject to the penalties provided for in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amend-
ments thereto;

(vvv) all sales of tangible personal property or services, including 
the renting and leasing of tangible personal property or services, pur-
chased by jazz in the woods, inc., a Kansas corporation that is exempt 
from federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal 
internal revenue code, for the purpose of providing jazz in the woods, 
an event benefiting children-in-need and other nonprofit charities as-
sisting such children, and all sales of any such property by or on behalf 
of such organization for such purpose;

(www) all sales of tangible personal property purchased by or on 
behalf of the Frontenac education foundation, which is exempt from 
federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal in-
ternal revenue code, for the purpose of providing education support 
for students, and all sales of any such property by or on behalf of such 
organization for such purpose;

(xxx) all sales of personal property and services purchased by the 
booth theatre foundation, inc., an organization, which is exempt from 
federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal in-
ternal revenue code of 1986, and which such personal property and ser-
vices are used by any such organization in the constructing, equipping, 
reconstructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remod-
eling of the booth theatre, and all sales of tangible personal property 
or services purchased by a contractor for the purpose of constructing, 
equipping, reconstructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnish-
ing or remodeling the booth theatre for such organization, that would 
be exempt from taxation under the provisions of this section if pur-
chased directly by such organization. Nothing in this subsection shall 
be deemed to exempt the purchase of any construction machinery, 
equipment or tools used in the constructing, equipping, reconstructing, 
maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities 
for any such organization. When any such organization shall contract 
for the purpose of constructing, equipping, reconstructing, maintain-
ing, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities, it shall 
obtain from the state and furnish to the contractor an exemption certif-
icate for the project involved, and the contractor may purchase mate-
rials for incorporation in such project. The contractor shall furnish the 
number of such certificate to all suppliers from whom such purchases 
are made, and such suppliers shall execute invoices covering the same 
bearing the number of such certificate. Upon completion of the project 
the contractor shall furnish to such organization concerned a sworn 
statement, on a form to be provided by the director of taxation, that all 
purchases so made were entitled to exemption under this subsection. 
All invoices shall be held by the contractor for a period of five years 
and shall be subject to audit by the director of taxation. If any materials 
purchased under such a certificate are found not to have been incor-
porated in such facilities or not to have been returned for credit or the 

sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such materials that 
will not be so incorporated in such facilities reported and paid by such 
contractor to the director of taxation not later than the 20th day of the 
month following the close of the month in which it shall be determined 
that such materials will not be used for the purpose for which such cer-
tificate was issued, such organization concerned shall be liable for tax 
on all materials purchased for the project, and upon payment thereof 
it may recover the same from the contractor together with reasonable 
attorney fees. Any contractor or any agent, employee or subcontractor 
thereof, who shall use or otherwise dispose of any materials purchased 
under such a certificate for any purpose other than that for which such 
a certificate is issued without the payment of the sales or compensating 
tax otherwise imposed upon such materials, shall be guilty of a misde-
meanor and, upon conviction therefor, shall be subject to the penalties 
provided for in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments thereto. Sales tax 
paid on and after January 1, 2007, but prior to the effective date of this 
act upon the gross receipts received from any sale which would have 
been exempted by the provisions of this subsection had such sale oc-
curred after the effective date of this act shall be refunded. Each claim 
for a sales tax refund shall be verified and submitted to the director of 
taxation upon forms furnished by the director and shall be accompa-
nied by any additional documentation required by the director. The 
director shall review each claim and shall refund that amount of sales 
tax paid as determined under the provisions of this subsection. All re-
funds shall be paid from the sales tax refund fund upon warrants of the 
director of accounts and reports pursuant to vouchers approved by the 
director or the director’s designee;

(yyy) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by TLC charities foundation, inc., hereinafter referred to as TLC chari-
ties, which is exempt from federal income taxation pursuant to section 
501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 1986, and which such 
property and services are used for the purpose of encouraging private 
philanthropy to further the vision, values, and goals of TLC for children 
and families, inc.; and all sales of such property and services by or on 
behalf of TLC charities for any such purpose and all sales of tangible 
personal property or services purchased by a contractor for the purpose 
of constructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remod-
eling facilities for the operation of services for TLC charities for any such 
purpose that would be exempt from taxation under the provisions of this 
section if purchased directly by TLC charities. Nothing in this subsection 
shall be deemed to exempt the purchase of any construction machinery, 
equipment or tools used in the constructing, maintaining, repairing, en-
larging, furnishing or remodeling such facilities for TLC charities. When 
TLC charities contracts for the purpose of constructing, maintaining, re-
pairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling such facilities, it shall obtain 
from the state and furnish to the contractor an exemption certificate for 
the project involved, and the contractor may purchase materials for in-
corporation in such project. The contractor shall furnish the number of 
such certificate to all suppliers from whom such purchases are made, 
and such suppliers shall execute invoices covering the same bearing the 
number of such certificate. Upon completion of the project the contractor 
shall furnish to TLC charities a sworn statement, on a form to be pro-
vided by the director of taxation, that all purchases so made were enti-
tled to exemption under this subsection. All invoices shall be held by the 
contractor for a period of five years and shall be subject to audit by the 
director of taxation. If any materials purchased under such a certificate 
are found not to have been incorporated in the building or other project 
or not to have been returned for credit or the sales or compensating tax 
otherwise imposed upon such materials that will not be incorporated 
into the building or other project reported and paid by such contractor 
to the director of taxation not later than the 20th day of the month fol-
lowing the close of the month in which it shall be determined that such 
materials will not be used for the purpose for which such certificate was 
issued, TLC charities shall be liable for tax on all materials purchased 
for the project, and upon payment thereof it may recover the same from 
the contractor together with reasonable attorney fees. Any contractor or 
any agent, employee or subcontractor thereof, who shall use or other-
wise dispose of any materials purchased under such a certificate for any 
purpose other than that for which such a certificate is issued without the 
payment of the sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such 
materials, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction there-
for, shall be subject to the penalties provided for in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and 
amendments thereto;

(zzz) all sales of tangible personal property purchased by the rota-
ry club of shawnee foundation, which is exempt from federal income 
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taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue 
code of 1986, as amended, used for the purpose of providing contribu-
tions to community service organizations and scholarships;

(aaaa) all sales of personal property and services purchased by or 
on behalf of victory in the valley, inc., which is exempt from federal 
income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal rev-
enue code, for the purpose of providing a cancer support group and 
services for persons with cancer, and all sales of any such property by 
or on behalf of any such organization for any such purpose;

(bbbb) all sales of entry or participation fees, charges or tickets by 
Guadalupe health foundation, which is exempt from federal income 
taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue 
code, for such organization’s annual fundraising event which purpose 
is to provide health care services for uninsured workers;

(cccc) all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased 
by or on behalf of wayside waifs, inc., which is exempt from federal 
income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal 
revenue code, for the purpose of providing such organization’s annual 
fundraiser, an event whose purpose is to support the care of homeless 
and abandoned animals, animal adoption efforts, education programs 
for children and efforts to reduce animal over-population and animal 
welfare services, and all sales of any such property, including entry or 
participation fees or charges, by or on behalf of such organization for 
such purpose;

(dddd) all sales of tangible personal property or services pur-
chased by or on behalf of goodwill industries or Easter seals of Kansas, 
inc., both of which are exempt from federal income taxation pursuant 
to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code, for the purpose 
of providing education, training and employment opportunities for 
people with disabilities and other barriers to employment;

(eeee) all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased 
by or on behalf of all American beef battalion, inc., which is exempt 
from federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the fed-
eral internal revenue code, for the purpose of educating, promoting 
and participating as a contact group through the beef cattle industry 
in order to carry out such projects that provide support and morale to 
members of the United States armed forces and military services;

(ffff) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by sheltered living, inc., which is exempt from federal income taxation 
pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue code of 
1986, and which such property and services are used for the purpose of 
providing residential and day services for people with developmental 
disabilities or intellectual disability, or both, and all sales of any such 
property by or on behalf of sheltered living, inc., for any such purpose; 
and all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased by a 
contractor for the purpose of rehabilitating, constructing, maintaining, 
repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling homes and facilities for 
sheltered living, inc., for any such purpose that would be exempt from 
taxation under the provisions of this section if purchased directly by 
sheltered living, inc. Nothing in this subsection shall be deemed to ex-
empt the purchase of any construction machinery, equipment or tools 
used in the constructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing 
or remodeling such homes and facilities for sheltered living, inc. When 
sheltered living, inc., contracts for the purpose of rehabilitating, con-
structing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling 
such homes and facilities, it shall obtain from the state and furnish to 
the contractor an exemption certificate for the project involved, and the 
contractor may purchase materials for incorporation in such project. 
The contractor shall furnish the number of such certificate to all suppli-
ers from whom such purchases are made, and such suppliers shall exe-
cute invoices covering the same bearing the number of such certificate. 
Upon completion of the project the contractor shall furnish to sheltered 
living, inc., a sworn statement, on a form to be provided by the direc-
tor of taxation, that all purchases so made were entitled to exemption 
under this subsection. All invoices shall be held by the contractor for 
a period of five years and shall be subject to audit by the director of 
taxation. If any materials purchased under such a certificate are found 
not to have been incorporated in the building or other project or not 
to have been returned for credit or the sales or compensating tax oth-
erwise imposed upon such materials that will not be so incorporated 
in the building or other project reported and paid by such contractor 
to the director of taxation not later than the 20th day of the month fol-
lowing the close of the month in which it shall be determined that such 
materials will not be used for the purpose for which such certificate 
was issued, sheltered living, inc., shall be liable for tax on all materials 
purchased for the project, and upon payment thereof it may recover 

the same from the contractor together with reasonable attorney fees. 
Any contractor or any agent, employee or subcontractor thereof, who 
shall use or otherwise dispose of any materials purchased under such a 
certificate for any purpose other than that for which such a certificate is 
issued without the payment of the sales or compensating tax otherwise 
imposed upon such materials, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, 
upon conviction therefor, shall be subject to the penalties provided for 
in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments thereto;

(gggg) all sales of game birds for which the primary purpose is use 
in hunting;

(hhhh) all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased 
on or after July 1, 2014, for the purpose of and in conjunction with con-
structing, reconstructing, enlarging or remodeling a business identified 
under the North American industry classification system (NAICS) sub-
sectors 1123, 1124, 112112, 112120 or 112210, and the sale and installa-
tion of machinery and equipment purchased for installation at any such 
business. The exemption provided in this subsection shall not apply 
to projects that have actual total costs less than $50,000. When a per-
son contracts for the construction, reconstruction, enlargement or re-
modeling of any such business, such person shall obtain from the state 
and furnish to the contractor an exemption certificate for the project 
involved, and the contractor may purchase materials, machinery and 
equipment for incorporation in such project. The contractor shall fur-
nish the number of such certificates to all suppliers from whom such 
purchases are made, and such suppliers shall execute invoices covering 
the same bearing the number of such certificate. Upon completion of 
the project, the contractor shall furnish to the owner of the business a 
sworn statement, on a form to be provided by the director of taxation, 
that all purchases so made were entitled to exemption under this sub-
section. All invoices shall be held by the contractor for a period of five 
years and shall be subject to audit by the director of taxation. Any con-
tractor or any agent, employee or subcontractor of the contractor, who 
shall use or otherwise dispose of any materials, machinery or equip-
ment purchased under such a certificate for any purpose other than 
that for which such a certificate is issued without the payment of the 
sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed thereon, shall be guilty 
of a misdemeanor and, upon conviction therefor, shall be subject to the 
penalties provided for in K.S.A. 79-3615(h), and amendments thereto;

(iiii) all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased 
by a contractor for the purpose of constructing, maintaining, repair-
ing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling facilities for the operation 
of services for Wichita children’s home for any such purpose that 
would be exempt from taxation under the provisions of this section 
if purchased directly by Wichita children’s home. Nothing in this sub-
section shall be deemed to exempt the purchase of any construction 
machinery, equipment or tools used in the constructing, maintaining, 
repairing, enlarging, furnishing or remodeling such facilities for Wich-
ita children’s home. When Wichita children’s home contracts for the 
purpose of constructing, maintaining, repairing, enlarging, furnishing 
or remodeling such facilities, it shall obtain from the state and furnish 
to the contractor an exemption certificate for the project involved, and 
the contractor may purchase materials for incorporation in such proj-
ect. The contractor shall furnish the number of such certificate to all 
suppliers from whom such purchases are made, and such suppliers 
shall execute invoices covering the same bearing the number of such 
certificate. Upon completion of the project, the contractor shall furnish 
to Wichita children’s home a sworn statement, on a form to be provided 
by the director of taxation, that all purchases so made were entitled 
to exemption under this subsection. All invoices shall be held by the 
contractor for a period of five years and shall be subject to audit by the 
director of taxation. If any materials purchased under such a certifi-
cate are found not to have been incorporated in the building or other 
project or not to have been returned for credit or the sales or compen-
sating tax otherwise imposed upon such materials that will not be so 
incorporated in the building or other project reported and paid by such 
contractor to the director of taxation not later than the 20th day of the 
month following the close of the month in which it shall be determined 
that such materials will not be used for the purpose for which such 
certificate was issued, Wichita children’s home shall be liable for the tax 
on all materials purchased for the project, and upon payment, it may 
recover the same from the contractor together with reasonable attor-
ney fees. Any contractor or any agent, employee or subcontractor, who 
shall use or otherwise dispose of any materials purchased under such a 
certificate for any purpose other than that for which such a certificate is 
issued without the payment of the sales or compensating tax otherwise 
imposed upon such materials, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, 
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upon conviction, shall be subject to the penalties provided for in K.S.A. 
79-3615(h), and amendments thereto;

(jjjj) all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased 
by or on behalf of the beacon, inc., that is exempt from federal income 
taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal revenue 
code, for the purpose of providing those desiring help with food, shel-
ter, clothing and other necessities of life during times of special need;

(kkkk) all sales of tangible personal property and services pur-
chased by or on behalf of reaching out from within, inc., which is ex-
empt from federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the 
federal internal revenue code, for the purpose of sponsoring self-help 
programs for incarcerated persons that will enable such incarcerated 
persons to become role models for non-violence while in correctional 
facilities and productive family members and citizens upon return to 
the community;

(llll) all sales of tangible personal property and services purchased 
by Gove county healthcare endowment foundation, inc., which is ex-
empt from federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the 
federal internal revenue code of 1986, and which such property and 
services are used for the purpose of constructing and equipping an air-
port in Quinter, Kansas, and all sales of tangible personal property or 
services purchased by a contractor for the purpose of constructing and 
equipping an airport in Quinter, Kansas, for such organization, that 
would be exempt from taxation under the provisions of this section 
if purchased directly by such organization. Nothing in this subsection 
shall be deemed to exempt the purchase of any construction machin-
ery, equipment or tools used in the constructing or equipping of facil-
ities for such organization. When such organization shall contract for 
the purpose of constructing or equipping an airport in Quinter, Kansas, 
it shall obtain from the state and furnish to the contractor an exemption 
certificate for the project involved, and the contractor may purchase 
materials for incorporation in such project. The contractor shall furnish 
the number of such certificate to all suppliers from whom such pur-
chases are made, and such suppliers shall execute invoices covering 
the same bearing the number of such certificate. Upon completion of 
the project, the contractor shall furnish to such organization concerned 
a sworn statement, on a form to be provided by the director of taxa-
tion, that all purchases so made were entitled to exemption under this 
subsection. All invoices shall be held by the contractor for a period of 
five years and shall be subject to audit by the director of taxation. If 
any materials purchased under such a certificate are found not to have 
been incorporated in such facilities or not to have been returned for 
credit or the sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed upon such 
materials that will not be so incorporated in such facilities reported and 
paid by such contractor to the director of taxation no later than the 20th 

day of the month following the close of the month in which it shall be 
determined that such materials will not be used for the purpose for 
which such certificate was issued, such organization concerned shall 
be liable for tax on all materials purchased for the project, and upon 
payment thereof it may recover the same from the contractor together 
with reasonable attorney fees. Any contractor or any agent, employee 
or subcontractor thereof, who purchased under such a certificate for 
any purpose other than that for which such a certificate is issued with-
out the payment of the sales or compensating tax otherwise imposed 
upon such materials, shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and, upon con-
viction therefor, shall be subject to the penalties provided for in K.S.A. 
79-3615(h), and amendments thereto. The provisions of this subsection 
shall expire and have no effect on and after July 1, 2019; and

(mmmm) all sales of gold or silver coins; and palladium, platinum, 
gold or silver bullion. For the purposes of this subsection, “bullion” 
means bars, ingots or commemorative medallions of gold, silver, plat-
inum, palladium, or a combination thereof, for which the value of the 
metal depends on its content and not the form; and

(nnnn) all sales of tangible personal property or services purchased by 
friends of hospice of Jefferson county, an organization that is exempt from 
federal income taxation pursuant to section 501(c)(3) of the federal internal 
revenue code of 1986, for the purpose of providing support to the Jefferson 
county hospice agency in end-of-life care of Jefferson county families, friends 
and neighbors, and all sales of entry or participation fees, charges or tickets by 
friends of hospice of Jefferson county for such organization’s fundraising event 
for such purpose.

Sec. 3. On and after January 1, 2024, K.S.A. 79-3607 is hereby 
amended to read as follows: 79-3607. (a) Retailers shall make returns 
to the director at the times prescribed by this section in the manner 
prescribed by the director, including electronic filing, upon forms or 

format prescribed by the director stating: (1) The name and address of 
the retailer; (2) the total amount of gross sales of all tangible personal 
property and taxable services rendered by the retailer during the peri-
od for which the return is made; (3) the total amount received during 
the period for which the return is made on charge and time sales of 
tangible personal property made and taxable services rendered prior to 
the period for which the return is made; (4) deductions allowed by law 
from such total amount of gross sales and from total amount received 
during the period for which the return is made on such charge and 
time sales; (5) receipts during the period for which the return is made 
from the total amount of sales of tangible personal property and taxable 
services rendered during such period in the course of such business, 
after deductions allowed by law have been made; (6) receipts during 
the period for which the return is made from charge and time sales of 
tangible personal property made and taxable services rendered prior 
to such period in the course of such business, after deductions allowed 
by law have been made; (7) gross receipts during the period for which 
the return is made from sales of tangible personal property and tax-
able services rendered in the course of such business upon the basis of 
which the tax is imposed. The return shall include such other pertinent 
information as the director may require. In making such return, the re-
tailer shall determine the market value of any consideration, other than 
money, received in connection with the sale of any tangible personal 
property in the course of the business and shall include such value in 
the return. Such value shall be subject to review and revision by the 
director as hereinafter provided. Refunds made by the retailer during 
the period for which the return is made on account of tangible personal 
property returned to the retailer shall be allowed as a deduction under 
paragraph (4) of this section in case the retailer has theretofore included 
the receipts from such sale in a return made by such retailer and paid 
taxes therein imposed by this act. The retailer shall, at the time of mak-
ing such return, pay to the director the amount of tax herein imposed, 
except as otherwise provided in this section. The director may extend 
the time for making returns and paying the tax required by this act for 
any period not to exceed 60 days under such rules and regulations as 
the secretary of revenue may prescribe. When the total tax for which 
any retailer is liable under this act, does not exceed the sum of $400 
$1,000 in any calendar year, the retailer shall file an annual return on 
or before January 25 of the following year. When the total tax liability 
does not exceed $4,000 $5,000 in any calendar year, the retailer shall 
file returns quarterly on or before the 25th day of the month following 
the end of each calendar quarter. When the total tax liability exceeds 
$4,000 $5,000 in any calendar year, the retailer shall file a return for each 
month on or before the 25th day of the following month. When the total 
tax liability exceeds $40,000 in any calendar year, the retailer shall be re-
quired to pay the sales tax liability for the first 15 days of each month to 
the director on or before the 25th day of that month. Any such payment 
shall accompany the return filed for the preceding month. A retailer 
will be considered to have complied with the requirements to pay the 
first 15 days’ liability for any month if, on or before the 25th day of that 
month, the retailer paid 90% of the liability for that fifteen-day period, 
or 50% of such retailer’s liability in the immediate preceding calendar 
year for the same month as the month in which the fifteen-day peri-
od occurs computed at the rate applicable in the month in which the 
fifteen-day period occurs, and, in either case, paid any underpayment 
with the payment required on or before the 25th day of the following 
month. Such retailers shall pay their sales tax liabilities for the remain-
der of each such month at the time of filing the return for such month. 
When the total tax liability exceeds $50,000 in any calendar year, the retailer 
shall be required to pay the sales tax liability for the first 15 days of each month 
to the director on or before the 25th day of that month. Any such payment shall 
accompany the return filed for the preceding month. A retailer will be consid-
ered to have complied with the requirements to pay the first 15 days’ liability 
for any month if, on or before the 25th day of that month, the retailer paid 90% 
of the liability for that 15-day period or 50% of such retailer’s liability in the 
immediately preceding calendar year for the same month as the month in which 
the 15-day period occurs computed at the rate applicable in the month in which 
the 15-day period occurs, and, in either case, paid any underpayment with the 
payment required on or before the 25th day of the following month. Such retail-
ers shall pay their sales tax liabilities for the remainder of each such month at 
the time of filing the return for such month. Determinations of amounts of 
liability in a calendar year for purposes of determining filing require-
ments shall be made by the director upon the basis of amounts of liabil-
ity by those retailers during the preceding calendar year or by estimates 
in cases of retailers having no previous sales tax histories. The director 

(continued)
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is hereby authorized to modify the filing schedule for any retailer when 
it is apparent that the original determination was inaccurate.

(b) All model 1, model 2 and model 3 sellers are required to file re-
turns electronically. Any model 1, model 2 or model 3 seller may submit its 
sales and use tax returns in a simplified format approved by the director. 
Any seller that is registered under the agreement, which does not have a 
legal requirement to register in this state, and is not a model 1, model 2 or 
model 3 seller, may submit its sales and use tax returns as follows:

(1) Upon registration, the director shall provide to the seller the 
returns required;

(2) seller shall file a return anytime within one year of the month of 
initial registration, and future returns are required on an annual basis 
in succeeding years; and

(3) in addition to the returns required in subsection (b)(2), sellers 
are required to submit returns in the month following any month in 
which they have accumulated state and local sales tax funds for this 
state in the amount of $1,600 or more.

Sec. 4. K.S.A. 79-3602 and 79-3606 are hereby repealed.

Sec. 5. On and after January 1, 2024, K.S.A. 79-3607 is hereby re-
pealed.

Sec. 6. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its 
publication in the Kansas register.

Doc. No. 049110

(Published in the Kansas Register May 6, 2021.)

Senate Substitute for House Bill No. 2208
An Act concerning health and healthcare; relating to health profes-

sions and facilities; establishing rural emergency hospitals as a rural 
healthcare licensure category; requirements for licensure; certifica-
tion and funding of certified community behavioral health clinics; 
prescribing powers, duties and functions of the Kansas department 
for aging and disability services and the department of health and 
environment related thereto; authorizing the issuance of telemedi-
cine waivers for the practice of telemedicine by out-of-state health-
care providers; relating to professions regulated by the behavioral 
sciences regulatory board; reducing certain licensing requirements; 
expanding temporary practice permits and the board’s grounds for 
discipline; providing grant assistance to hospitals in certain counties; 
prescribing powers, duties and functions of the secretary of health 
and environment related thereto; establishing the rural hospital in-
novation grant program and rural hospital innovation grant fund; 
amending K.S.A. 65-425, 65-431, 65-5804a, 65-5807a, 65-5808, 65-
5809, 65-6309a, 65-6311, 65-6404, 65-6405a, 65-6408, 65-6610, 65-6612, 
65-6615, 74-5316a, 74-5324, 74-5363, 74-5367a and 74-5369 and K.S.A. 
2020 Supp. 65-6306 and 65-6411 and repealing the existing sections.

Be it enacted by the Legislature of the State of Kansas:

New Section 1. Sections 1 through 8, and amendments thereto, 
shall be known and may be cited as the rural emergency hospital act.

New Sec. 2. The legislature of the state of Kansas recognizes the 
importance and necessity of providing and regulating the system by 
which healthcare services are structured and integrated to promote 
the availability of and access to necessary and appropriate healthcare 
to protect the general health, safety and welfare of the rural residents 
of Kansas. The legislature of the state of Kansas seeks to: Improve the 
health of the rural population of Kansas; preserve access to healthcare; 
encourage collaboration among rural healthcare providers; promote 
delivery of quality rural healthcare; promote efficiency and efficacy of 
rural healthcare; embrace technology in the delivery of rural health-
care; and promote adequate and fair reimbursement for rural health-
care services. To this end, it is the policy of the state of Kansas to create 
a category of licensure to enable certain Kansas hospitals to receive fed-
eral healthcare reimbursement as rural emergency hospitals, and the 
implementation of this act facilitates such policy.

New Sec. 3. As used in the rural emergency hospital act:
(a) “Act” means the rural emergency hospital act.
(b) “Rural emergency hospital” means an establishment that:
(1) Meets the eligibility requirements described in section 4, and 

amendments thereto;

(2) provides rural emergency hospital services;
(3) provides rural emergency hospital services in the facility 24 

hours per day by maintaining an emergency department that is staffed 
24 hours per day, 7 days per week, with a physician, nurse practitioner, 
clinical nurse specialist or physician assistant;

(4) has a transfer agreement in effect with a level I or level II trauma 
center; and

(5) meets such other requirements as the department of health and 
environment finds necessary in the interest of the health and safety of 
individuals who are provided rural emergency hospital services and 
to implement state licensure that satisfies requirements for reimburse-
ment by federal healthcare programs as a rural emergency hospital.

(c) “Rural emergency hospital services” means the following ser-
vices, provided by a rural emergency hospital, that do not require in 
excess of an annual per-patient average of 24 hours in such rural emer-
gency hospital:

(1) Emergency department services and observation care; and
(2) at the election of the rural emergency hospital, for services pro-

vided on an outpatient basis, other medical and health services as spec-
ified in regulations adopted by the United States secretary of health 
and human services and authorized by the department of health and 
environment.

(d) “Secretary” means the secretary of health and environment.

New Sec. 4. (a) A facility shall be eligible to apply for a rural emer-
gency hospital license if such facility, as of December 27, 2020, was a:

(1) Licensed critical access hospital;
(2) general hospital with not more than 50 licensed beds located in 

a county in a rural area as defined in section 1886(d)(2)(D) of the federal 
social security act; or

(3) general hospital with not more than 50 licensed beds that is 
deemed as being located in a rural area pursuant to section 1886(d)(8)
(E) of the federal social security act.

(b) A facility applying for licensure as a rural emergency hospital 
shall include with the licensure application:

(1) An action plan for initiating rural emergency hospital services, 
including a detailed transition plan that lists the specific services that 
the facility will retain, modify, add and discontinue;

(2) a description of services that the facility intends to provide on 
an outpatient basis; and

(3) such other information as required by rules and regulations ad-
opted by the department of health and environment.

(c) A rural emergency hospital shall not have inpatient beds, except 
that such hospital may have a unit that is a distinct part of such hospital 
and that is licensed as a skilled nursing facility to provide post-hospital 
extended care services.

(d) A rural emergency hospital may own and operate an entity that 
provides ambulance services.

(e) A licensed general hospital or critical access hospital that ap-
plies for and receives licensure as a rural emergency hospital and elects 
to operate as a rural emergency hospital shall retain its original license 
as a general hospital or critical access hospital. Such original license 
shall remain inactive while the rural emergency hospital license is in 
effect.

New Sec. 5. All rural emergency hospitals, including city, county, 
hospital district or other governmental or quasi-governmental hospi-
tals, shall be authorized to enter into any contracts required to be eligi-
ble for federal reimbursement as a rural emergency hospital.

New Sec. 6. In addition to the provisions of K.S.A. 65-4909, and 
amendments thereto, entities engaging in activities and entering into 
contracts required to meet the requirements for licensure and reim-
bursement as a rural emergency hospital, and officers, agents, repre-
sentatives, employees and directors thereof, shall be considered to be 
acting pursuant to clearly expressed state policy as established in this 
act under the supervision of the state. Such entities shall not be subject 
to state or federal antitrust laws while acting in such manner.

New Sec. 7. The secretary shall adopt rules and regulations estab-
lishing minimum standards for the establishment and operation of ru-
ral emergency hospitals in accordance with this act, including licensure 
of rural emergency hospitals.

New Sec. 8. Each individual and group policy of accident and sick-
ness insurance, each contract issued by a health maintenance organiza-
tion and all coverage maintained by an entity authorized under K.S.A. 
40-2222, and amendments thereto, or by a municipal group-funded 
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pool authorized under K.S.A. 12-2618, and amendments thereto, shall 
provide benefits for services when performed by a rural emergency 
hospital if such services would be covered under such policies, con-
tracts or coverage if performed by a general hospital.

New Sec. 9. (a) The Kansas department for aging and disability 
services shall establish a process for certification of and funding for 
certified community behavioral health clinics in accordance with this 
section.

(b) The Kansas department for aging and disability services shall 
certify as a certified community behavioral health clinic any commu-
nity mental health center licensed by the department that provides the 
following services: Crisis services; screening, assessment and diagno-
sis, including risk assessment; person-centered treatment planning; 
outpatient mental health and substance use services; primary care 
screening and monitoring of key indicators of health risks; targeted 
case management; psychiatric rehabilitation services; peer support and 
family supports; medication-assisted treatment; assertive community 
treatment; and community-based mental healthcare for military ser-
vicemembers and veterans.

(c) (1) The department of health and environment shall establish 
a prospective payment system under the medical assistance program 
for funding certified community behavioral health clinics. Such system 
shall permit payment by either daily or monthly rates.

(2) The department of health and environment shall submit to the 
United States centers for medicare and medicaid services any approval 
request necessary to implement this subsection.

(3) Such prospective payment system shall be implemented on or 
before May 1, 2022.

(d) (1) Subject to applications therefor, the Kansas department for 
aging and disability services shall certify community behavioral health 
clinics by not later than the following specified dates:

(A) Six facilities currently receiving grants to operate as certified 
community behavioral health clinics by not later than May 1, 2022;

(B) three additional facilities by not later than July 1, 2022;
(C) nine additional facilities by not later than July 1, 2023; and
(D) eight additional facilities by not later than July 1, 2024.
(2) The Kansas department for aging and disability services may 

certify community behavioral health clinics in advance of the deadlines 
established in paragraph (1), including portions of the specified num-
bers of facilities.

(d) The secretary for aging and disability services adopt rules and 
regulations as necessary to implement and administer this section.

New Sec. 10. (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of law, a 
physician holding a license issued by the applicable licensing agency 
of another state or who otherwise meets the requirements of this sec-
tion may practice telemedicine to treat patients located in the state of 
Kansas, if such physician receives a telemedicine waiver issued by the 
state board of healing arts. The state board of healing arts shall issue 
such a waiver within 15 days from receipt of a complete application, if 
the physician:

(1) Submits a complete application that may include evidence in 
the form of an affidavit from an authorized third party that the appli-
cant meets the requirements of this section in a manner determined by 
the state board of healing arts and pays a fee not to exceed $100; and

(2) holds an unrestricted license to practice medicine and surgery in 
another state or meets the qualifications required under Kansas law for 
a license to practice medicine and surgery and is not the subject of any 
investigation or disciplinary action by the applicable licensing agency.

(b) A physician practicing telemedicine in accordance with this 
subsection shall conduct an appropriate assessment and evaluation of 
the patient’s current condition and document the appropriate medical 
indication for any prescription issued.

(c) Nothing in this section shall supersede or otherwise affect the 
provisions of K.S.A. 65-4a10, and amendments thereto, or K.S.A. 2020 
Supp. 40-2,210 et seq., and amendments thereto.

(d) Any person who receives a telemedicine waiver under the pro-
visions of this section shall be subject to all rules and regulations per-
taining to the practice of the licensed profession in this state and shall 
be considered a licensee for the purposes of the professional practice 
acts administered by the state board of healing arts.

(e) A waiver issued under this section shall expire on the date of ex-
piration established by the state board of healing arts unless renewed in 
the manner established by the state board of healing arts, including pay-
ment of an annual renewal fee not to exceed $100 and evidence that the 
applicant continues to meet the qualifications described in this section.

(f) Notwithstanding any other provision of law to the contrary, a 
physician holding a license issued by the applicable licensing agency 
of another state may provide, without limitation, consultation through 
remote technology to a physician licensed in the state of Kansas.

(g) An applicable healthcare licensing agency of this state may 
adopt procedures consistent with this section to allow other healthcare 
professionals licensed and regulated by such licensing agency to prac-
tice telemedicine within the scope of practice defined by Kansas law for 
such healthcare profession as deemed by such licensing agency to be 
consistent with ensuring patient safety.

(h) Nothing in this section shall be construed to prohibit a licensing 
agency from denying an application for a waiver under this section if 
the licensing body determines that granting the application may en-
danger the health and safety of the public.

(i) As used in this subsection, “telemedicine” means the delivery 
of healthcare services by a healthcare provider while the patient is at a 
different physical location.

New Sec. 11. (a) As used in this section:
(1) “Eligible county” means a county in Kansas other than Doug-

las, Johnson, Sedgwick, Shawnee or Wyandotte county.
(2) “Hospital” means the same as defined in K.S.A. 65-425, and 

amendments thereto.
(3) “Transitional assistance” means any assistance related to chang-

ing a hospital’s current healthcare delivery model to a model more 
appropriate for the community that the hospital serves, including, 
but not limited to: Conducting a market study of healthcare services 
needed and provided in the community; acquiring and implementing 
new technological tools and infrastructure, including, but not limited 
to, telemedicine delivery methods; and acquiring the services of ap-
propriate personnel, including, but not limited to, additional medical 
residents or individuals trained to be needed healthcare professionals.

(b) (1) There is established the rural hospital innovation grant 
program to be administered by the secretary of health and environ-
ment. The program, and any grant awarded thereunder, shall be for 
the purpose of strengthening and improving the healthcare system 
and increasing access to healthcare services in eligible counties to help 
communities in such counties achieve and maintain optimal health by 
providing transitional assistance to hospitals in such counties. The sec-
retary may award a rural hospital innovation grant to a county that 
applies in accordance with this section.

(2) The secretary of health and environment may award a grant 
under this section only if the amount of state moneys to be awarded in 
the grant has been matched by private stakeholders, including hospital 
foundations or other organizations, contributing to the secretary for the 
program, on a basis of $2 of private stakeholder moneys for every $1 
of state moneys. The secretary of health and environment may receive 
moneys by bequest, donation or gift to fulfill the public-private match 
of moneys required under this paragraph. Any such moneys received 
shall be remitted to the state treasurer in accordance with K.S.A. 75-
4215, and amendments thereto. Upon receipt of each such remittance, 
the state treasurer shall deposit the entire amount in the state treasury 
to the credit of the rural hospital innovation grant fund. A private 
stakeholder may certify to the secretary of health and environment 
that an amount of money is dedicated to the rural hospital innovation 
grant program. Such certified dedicated moneys shall remain with the 
private stakeholder until such time as the grant is awarded, and the 
secretary shall count such certified dedicated moneys to fulfill the pub-
lic-private match required under this paragraph.

(3) A private stakeholder who has contributed moneys or certified 
dedicated moneys to the secretary of health and environment may 
specify a county to receive a grant using such private stakeholder’s 
moneys. If the secretary does not award a grant to the specified county 
in the same fiscal year as such request, the secretary shall return the 
amount of contributed moneys to the private stakeholder and any such 
certification shall lapse.

(4) Prior to applying for a rural hospital innovation grant, any eligible 
county may enter into memorandums of understanding and other nec-
essary agreements with private stakeholders and other eligible counties.

(5) The board of county commissioners of an eligible county, or the 
board’s designee, may apply to the secretary for a rural hospital in-
novation grant in the form and manner prescribed by the secretary of 
health and environment. Such application shall include:

(A) A description of the hospital for which the grant moneys will 
be expended, including the name and location of the hospital;

(continued)
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(B) a statement of the amount of grant moneys requested;
(C) a description of the needs of the hospital, the transitional as-

sistance for which the grant moneys will be expended and how such 
transitional assistance will meet the stated needs;

(D) a certification that the hospital has exhausted all opportunities 
for federal moneys available to such hospital for transitional assistance 
purposes, including, but not limited to, any federal moneys related to 
COVID-19 relief that may be used for such purposes; and

(E) any other information that the secretary deems necessary to ad-
minister this section.

(6) Prior to awarding any grant moneys to an eligible county under 
this section, the secretary shall enter into a written agreement with the 
county requiring that the county:

(A) Expend any such grant moneys to provide transitional assis-
tance to a hospital in the eligible county, as approved by the secretary;

(B) not later than one year after any such grant moneys are award-
ed, report to the secretary detailing the effect that such grant is having 
on health and other outcomes in the eligible county and the affected 
community;

(C) repay all awarded grant moneys to the secretary if the county 
fails to satisfy any material term or condition of the grant agreement; and

(D) any other terms and conditions that the secretary deems neces-
sary to administer this section.

(7) No rural hospital innovation grant shall be awarded to provide 
transitional assistance to any hospital that has not exhausted all oppor-
tunities for federal moneys available to such hospital for transitional 
assistance purposes, including, but not limited to, any federal moneys 
related to COVID-19 relief that may be used for such purposes.

(c) (1) There is established in the state treasury the rural hospital 
innovation grant fund to be administered by the secretary of health and 
environment. All moneys credited to the fund shall be used only for 
purposes related to the rural hospital innovation grant program. All 
expenditures from the fund shall be made in accordance with appropri-
ation acts upon warrants of the director of accounts and reports issued 
pursuant to vouchers approved by the secretary of health and environ-
ment or the secretary’s designee.

(2) (A) Notwithstanding the provisions of chapter 1 of the 2020 
Special Session Laws of Kansas or any other provision of law to the 
contrary, on June 15, 2021, the director of the budget shall determine 
the amount of moneys received by the state that are identified as mon-
eys from the federal government for aid to the state of Kansas for coro-
navirus relief as appropriated in the following acts that are eligible to 
be used for the purpose of awarding grants under this section, that may 
be expended at the discretion of the state in compliance with the United 
States office of management and budget’s uniform administrative re-
quirements, cost principles and audit requirements for federal awards 
and that are unencumbered, including:

(i) The federal CARES act, public law 116-136, the federal coronavi-
rus preparedness and response supplemental appropriation act, public 
law 116-123, the federal families first coronavirus response act, public 
law 116-127, and the federal paycheck protection program and health 
care enhancement act, public law 116-139;

(ii) the federal consolidated appropriations act, 2021, public law 
116-260;

(iii) the American rescue plan act of 2021, public law 117-2; and
(iv) any other federal law that appropriates moneys to the state for 

aid for coronavirus relief.
(B) Of the moneys identified in accordance with subparagraph (A), 

the director of the budget shall determine an aggregate amount equal to 
$10,000,000 available in special revenue funds. If such identified mon-
eys are less than $10,000,000, the director of the budget shall determine 
the maximum amount available. The director of the budget shall certify 
the amount determined under this subparagraph from each fund to the 
director of accounts and reports. At the same time as such certification 
is transmitted, the director of the budget shall transmit a copy of such 
certification to the director of legislative research.

(C) On July 1, 2021, or as soon thereafter as moneys are available, 
the director of accounts and reports shall transfer an aggregate amount 
equal to the certification received in accordance with subparagraph (B) 
from such funds to the rural hospital innovation grant fund. If such ag-
gregate amount of moneys certified is less than $10,000,000, the director 
of accounts and reports shall transfer from the state general fund to the 
rural hospital innovation grant fund the difference between $10,000,000 
and the amount certified.

(d) The secretary of health and environment shall adopt rules and 
regulations as necessary to implement and administer this section.

(e) (1) On or before October 1 of each year, for each rural hospital 
innovation grant awarded under this section, the county shall pre-
pare and submit to the secretary of health and environment a report 
describing: The amount and stated purposes of any awarded grant 
moneys; the fulfillment of the terms and conditions of the grant agree-
ment; and the transitional assistance upon which the moneys have 
been spent.

(2) On or before February 1 of each year, the secretary shall com-
pile the information received under this subsection and submit a report 
to the governor and the legislature including such information and a 
description of and reasoning for any applications for a rural hospital 
innovation grant that the secretary has denied.

(f) (1) The rural hospital innovation grant program shall expire on 
June 30, 2025.

(2) On July 1, 2025:
(A) The director of accounts and reports shall transfer all moneys 

in the rural hospital innovation grant fund to the state general fund;
(B) all liabilities of the rural hospital innovation grant fund shall be 

transferred to and imposed on the state general fund; and
(C) the rural hospital innovation grant fund shall be abolished.

Sec. 12. K.S.A. 65-425 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-425. 
As used in this act:

(a) “General hospital” means an establishment with an organized 
medical staff of physicians; with permanent facilities that include inpa-
tient beds; and with medical services, including physician services, and 
continuous registered professional nursing services for not less than 
24 hours of every day, to provide diagnosis and treatment for patients 
who have a variety of medical conditions.

(b) “Special hospital” means an establishment with an organized 
medical staff of physicians; with permanent facilities that include inpa-
tient beds; and with medical services, including physician services, and 
continuous registered professional nursing services for not less than 
24 hours of every day, to provide diagnosis and treatment for patients 
who have specified medical conditions.

(c) “Person” means any individual, firm, partnership, corporation, 
company, association, or joint-stock association, and the legal successor 
thereof.

(d) “Governmental unit” means the state, or any county, munici-
pality, or other political subdivision thereof; or any department, divi-
sion, board or other agency of any of the foregoing.

(e) “Licensing agency” means the department of health and envi-
ronment.

(f) “Ambulatory surgical center” means an establishment with an 
organized medical staff of one or more physicians; with permanent 
facilities that are equipped and operated primarily for the purpose of 
performing surgical procedures; with continuous physician services 
during surgical procedures and until the patient has recovered from 
the obvious effects of anesthetic and at all other times with physician 
services available whenever a patient is in the facility; with continuous 
registered professional nursing services whenever a patient is in the 
facility; and which does not provide services or other accommodations 
for patient to stay more than 24 hours. Before discharge from an ambu-
latory surgical center, each patient shall be evaluated by a physician for 
proper anesthesia recovery. Nothing in this section shall be construed 
to require the office of a physician or physicians to be licensed under 
this act as an ambulatory surgical center.

(g) “Recuperation center” means an establishment with an orga-
nized medical staff of physicians; with, permanent facilities that in-
clude inpatient beds; and with, medical services, including physician 
services, and continuous registered professional nursing services for 
not less than 24 hours of every day, to provide treatment for patients 
who require inpatient care but are not in an acute phase of illness, who 
currently require primary convalescent or restorative services, and who 
have a variety of medical conditions.

(h) “Medical care facility” means a hospital, ambulatory surgical 
center or recuperation center, but shall except that “medical care facili-
ty” does not include a hospice which that is certified to participate in 
the medicare program under 42 code of federal regulations, chapter IV, 
section C.F.R. § 418.1 et seq. and amendments thereto and which that 
provides services only to hospice patients.

(i) “Critical access hospital” shall have the meaning ascribed to 
such term under means the same as defined in K.S.A. 65-468 and amend-
ments thereto.

(j) “Hospital” means “general hospital,” “ critical access hospital,” 
or “special hospital.”
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(k) “Physician” means a person licensed to practice medicine and 
surgery in this state.

(l) “Rural emergency hospital” means the same as defined in section 2, 
and amendments thereto.

Sec. 13. K.S.A. 65-431 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-431. 
(a) The licensing agency shall adopt, amend, promulgate and enforce 
such rules and regulations and standards with respect to the different 
types of medical care facilities to be licensed hereunder as may be de-
signed to further the accomplishment of the purposes of this law in 
promoting safe and adequate treatment of individuals in medical care 
facilities in the interest of public health, safety and welfare.

(b) No rule or regulation shall be made by the licensing agency 
which that would discriminate against any practitioner of the heal-
ing arts who is licensed to practice medicine and surgery in this state. 
Boards of trustees or directors of facilities licensed pursuant to the 
provisions of this act shall have the right, in accordance with law, to 
select the professional staff members of such facilities and to select and 
employ interns, nurses and other personnel, and no rules and regula-
tions or standards of the licensing agency shall be valid which that, if 
enforced, would interfere in such selection or employment. In the se-
lection of professional staff members, no hospital licensed under K.S.A. 
65-425 et seq., and amendments thereto, shall discriminate against any 
practitioner of the healing arts who is licensed to practice medicine and 
surgery in this state for reasons based solely upon the practitioner’s 
branch of the healing arts or the school or health care healthcare facility 
in which where the practitioner received medical schooling or postgrad-
uate training.

(c) In formulating rules and regulations, the agency shall give due 
consideration to the size of the medical care facility, the type of service 
it is intended to render, the scope of such service, requirements for the 
receipt of federal reimbursement for the type of medical care facility and the 
financial resources in and the needs of the community which such fa-
cility serves.

(d) (1) A hospital consisting of more than one establishment shall 
be considered in compliance with the rules and regulations of the li-
censing agency if:

(A) All basic services required by the agency are available as a part 
of the combined operation; and if

(B) the following basic services are available at each establishment:
(i) Continuous nursing service,;
(ii) continuous physician coverage on duty or on call,;
(iii) basic diagnostic radiological and laboratory facilities,;
(iv) drug room,;
(v) emergency services,;
(vi) food service,; and
(vii) patient isolation.
(2) The requirements of paragraphs (1)(A) and (B) shall be deemed to 

be satisfied by a rural emergency hospital if such rural emergency hospital 
meets the licensing requirements established for such hospital by the licens-
ing agency.

Sec. 14. K.S.A. 65-5804a is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-
5804a. (a) Applications for licensure as a professional counselor shall 
be made to the board on a form and in the manner prescribed by the 
board. Each application shall be accompanied by the fee fixed under 
K.S.A. 65-5808, and amendments thereto.

(b) Each applicant for licensure as a professional counselor shall 
furnish evidence satisfactory to the board that the applicant:

(1) Is at least 21 years of age;
(2) has completed 60 graduate semester hours including a gradu-

ate degree in counseling or a related field from a college or university 
approved by the board and that includes 45 graduate semester hours of 
counseling coursework distributed among each of the following areas:

(A) Counseling theory and practice;
(B) the helping relationship;
(C) group dynamics, processing and counseling;
(D) human growth and development;
(E) life-style lifestyle and career development;
(F) appraisal of individuals;
(G) social and cultural foundations;
(H) research and evaluation;
(I) professional orientation; and
(J) supervised practicum and internship;
(3) has passed an examination required by the board; and
(4) has satisfied the board that the applicant is a person who merits 

the public trust.

(c) (1) Applications for licensure as a clinical professional counselor 
shall be made to the board on a form and in the manner prescribed 
by the board. Each applicant shall furnish evidence satisfactory to the 
board that the applicant:

(A) Is licensed by the board as a licensed professional counselor or 
meets all requirements for licensure as a licensed professional counselor;

(B) has completed 15 credit hours, as part of or in addition to the 
requirements under subsection (b), supporting diagnosis or treatment 
of mental disorders with use of the American psychiatric association’s 
diagnostic and statistical manual through identifiable study of the fol-
lowing content areas: Psychopathology, diagnostic assessment, inter-
disciplinary referral and collaboration, treatment approaches and pro-
fessional ethics;

(C) has completed a graduate level supervised clinical practicum 
of supervised professional experience including psychotherapy and 
assessment with individuals, couples, families or groups, integrating 
diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders with use of the American 
psychiatric association’s diagnostic and statistical manual, with not less 
than 350 280 hours of direct client contact or additional postgraduate 
supervised experience as determined by the board;

(D) has completed not less than two years of postgraduate super-
vised professional experience in accordance with a clinical supervi-
sion plan approved by the board of not less than 4,000 3,000 hours of 
supervised professional experience, including at least 1,500 hours of 
direct client contact conducting psychotherapy and assessments with 
individuals, couples, families or groups and not less than 150 100 hours 
of face-to-face clinical supervision, including not less than 50 hours of 
person-to-person individual supervision, as defined by the board in rules 
and regulations, including not less than 50 hours of individual supervision, 
except that the board may waive the requirement that such supervision be face-
to-face upon a finding of extenuating circumstances, integrating diagnosis 
and treatment of mental disorders with use of the American psychiatric 
association’s diagnostic and statistical manual, except that one-half the 
board may waive 1/2 of the requirement of hours required by this subpara-
graph may be waived for persons with an individual who has a doctor’s 
doctoral degree in professional counseling or a related field acceptable 
to approved by the board and who completes the required 1/2 of the hours in 
not less than one year of supervised professional experience;

(E) for persons earning who earned a degree under subsection (b) 
prior to July 1, 2003, in lieu of the education requirements under sub-
paragraphs (B) and (C), has completed the education requirements for 
licensure as a professional counselor in effect on the day immediately 
preceding the effective date of this act;

(F) for persons who apply for and are eligible for a temporary per-
mit to practice as a licensed professional counselor on the day imme-
diately preceding the effective date of this act, in lieu of the education 
and training requirements under subparagraphs (B), (C) and (D), has 
completed the education and training requirements for licensure as a 
professional counselor in effect on the day immediately preceding the 
effective date of this act;

(G) has passed an examination approved by the board; and
(H) has paid the application fee fixed under K.S.A. 65-5808, and 

amendments thereto.
(2) A person who was licensed or registered as a professional coun-

selor in Kansas at any time prior to the effective date of this act, who 
has been actively engaged in the practice of professional counseling as 
a registered or licensed professional counselor within five years prior 
to the effective date of this act and whose last license or registration 
in Kansas prior to the effective date of this act was not suspended or 
revoked, upon application to the board, payment of fees pursuant to 
K.S.A. 65-5808, and amendments thereto, and completion of applicable 
continuing education requirements, shall be licensed as a licensed clin-
ical professional counselor by providing demonstration of competence 
to diagnose and treat mental disorders through at least two of the fol-
lowing areas acceptable to the board:

(A) Either: (i) Graduate coursework; or (ii) passing a national, clin-
ical examination;

(B) either: (i) Three years of clinical practice in a community mental 
health center, its contracted affiliate or a state mental hospital; or (ii) 
three years of clinical practice in other settings with demonstrated ex-
perience in diagnosing or treating mental disorders; or

(C) attestation from one professional licensed to diagnose and treat 
mental disorders in independent practice or licensed to practice medi-
cine and surgery that the applicant is competent to diagnose and treat 
mental disorders.

(continued)
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(3) A licensed clinical professional counselor may engage in the 
independent practice of professional counseling and is authorized to 
diagnose and treat mental disorders specified in the edition of the diag-
nostic and statistical manual of mental disorders of the American psy-
chiatric association designated by the board by rules and regulations. 
When a client has symptoms of a mental disorder, a licensed clinical 
professional counselor shall consult with the client’s primary care phy-
sician or psychiatrist to determine if there may be a medical condition 
or medication that may be causing or contributing to the client’s symp-
toms of a mental disorder. A client may request in writing that such 
consultation be waived and such request shall be made a part of the 
client’s record. A licensed clinical professional counselor may continue 
to evaluate and treat the client until such time that the medical consul-
tation is obtained or waived.

(4) A licensed professional counselor may diagnose and treat men-
tal disorders specified in the edition of the diagnostic and statistical 
manual of mental disorders of the American psychiatric association 
designated by the board by rules and regulations only under the direc-
tion of a licensed clinical professional counselor, licensed psychologist, 
person licensed to practice medicine and surgery or person licensed 
to provide mental health services as an independent practitioner and 
whose licensure allows for the diagnosis and treatment of mental dis-
orders. When a client has symptoms of a mental disorder, a licensed 
professional counselor shall consult with the client’s primary care phy-
sician or psychiatrist to determine if there may be a medical condition 
or medication that may be causing or contributing to the client’s symp-
toms of a mental disorder. A client may request in writing that such 
consultation be waived and such request shall be made a part of the 
client’s record. A licensed professional counselor may continue to eval-
uate and treat the client until such time that the medical consultation is 
obtained or waived.

(d) The board shall adopt rules and regulations establishing the cri-
teria that a college or university shall satisfy in order to be approved by 
the board. The board may send a questionnaire developed by the board 
to any college or university for which the board does not have sufficient 
information to determine whether the school meets the requirements for 
approval and rules and regulations adopted under this section. The ques-
tionnaire providing the necessary information shall be completed and 
returned to the board in order for the college or university to be consid-
ered for approval. The board may contract with investigative agencies, 
commissions or consultants to assist the board in obtaining information 
about colleges and universities. In entering such contracts, the authority 
to approve college and universities shall remain solely with the board.

(e) A person who is waiting to take the examination required by 
the board may apply to the board for a temporary license to practice as 
a licensed professional counselor by:

(1) Paying an application fee of no not more than $150; and
(2) meeting the application requirements as stated in K.S.A. 65-

5804a(b)(1), (2) and (4), and amendments thereto.
(f) (1) A temporary license may be issued by the board after the 

application has been reviewed and approved by the board and the ap-
plicant has paid the appropriate fee set by the board for issuance of new 
licenses a temporary license.

(2) Absent extenuating circumstances approved by the board, a 
temporary license issued by the board shall expire upon the date the 
board issues or denies a license to practice professional counseling or 
six 12 months after the date of issuance of the temporary license. No 
temporary license will be renewed or issued again on any subsequent 
application for the same license level. The preceding provisions in no 
way limit the number of times an applicant may take the examination.

(g) A person practicing professional counseling with a temporary 
license may not use the title “licensed professional counselor” or the 
initials “LPC” independently. The word “licensed” may be used only 
when followed by the words “by temporary license,” such as licensed 
professional counselor by temporary license, or professional counselor 
licensed by temporary license.

(h) No person may practice professional counseling under a tem-
porary license except under the supervision of a person licensed by the 
behavioral sciences regulatory board at the independent level.

(i) Nothing in this section shall affect any temporary license to 
practice issued under this section prior to the effective date of this act 
and in effect on the effective date of this act. Such temporary license 
shall be subject to the provisions of this section in effect at the time of 
its issuance and shall continue to be effective until the date of expira-
tion of the temporary license provided under this section at the time of 
issuance of such temporary license.

Sec. 15. K.S.A. 65-5807a is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-
5807a. (a) Upon written application and board approval, an individ-
ual who is licensed to engage in the independent clinical practice of 
professional counseling at the clinical level in another jurisdiction and, 
who is in good standing in that other jurisdiction and who has engaged in 
the clinical practice of professional counseling in that jurisdiction for at least 
two years immediately preceding application may engage in the indepen-
dent practice of clinical professional counseling as provided by K.S.A. 
65-5801 et seq., and amendments thereto, in this state for no not more 
than 15 30 days per year upon receipt of a temporary permit to practice 
issued by the board. Such individual engaging in such practice in this state 
shall provide quarterly reports to the board on a form approved by the board 
detailing the total days of practice in this state.

(b) Any clinical professional counseling services rendered within 
any 24-hour period shall count as one entire day of clinical professional 
counseling services.

(c) The temporary permit to practice shall be effective on the date 
of approval by the board and shall expire December 31 of that year 
one year after issuance. Upon written application and for good cause 
shown, the board may extend the temporary permit to practice no 
more than 15 additional days not later than 30 days before the expiration 
of a temporary permit and under emergency circumstances, as defined by the 
board, the board may extend the temporary permit for not more than one ad-
ditional year. Such extended temporary permit shall authorize the individual 
to practice in this state for an additional 30 days during the additional year. 
Such individual engaging in such practice shall provide quarterly reports to 
the board on a form approved by the board detailing the total days of practice 
in this state.

(d) The board may charge a fee of a maximum of $200 for a tempo-
rary permit to practice and a fee of a maximum of $200 for an extension 
of a temporary permit to practice as established by rules and regula-
tions of the board.

(e) A person who holds a temporary permit to practice clinical pro-
fessional counseling in this state shall be deemed to have submitted 
to the jurisdiction of the board and shall be bound by the statutes and 
regulations that govern the practice of clinical professional counseling 
in this state.

(f) In accordance with the Kansas administrative procedures pro-
cedure act, the board may issue a cease and desist order or assess a fine 
of up to $1,000 per day, or both, against a person licensed in another 
jurisdiction who engages in the independent practice of clinical profes-
sional counseling in this state without complying with the provisions 
of this section.

(g) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the profes-
sional counselors licensure act.

Sec. 16. K.S.A. 65-5808 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-
5808. (a) The board may fix the following fees, and any such fees shall 
be established by rules and regulations adopted by the board:

(1) For application for licensure as a professional counselor, not 
more than $100;

(2) for an original license as a professional counselor, not more 
than $175;

(3) for a temporary license as a professional counselor, not more 
than $175;

(4) for renewal for licensure as a professional counselor, not more 
than $150;

(5) for application for licensure as a clinical professional counselor, 
not more than $175;

(6) for licensure as a clinical professional counselor, not more than 
$175;

(7) for renewal for licensure as a clinical professional counselor, not 
more than $175;

(8) for late renewal penalty, an amount equal to the fee for renewal 
of a license;

(9) for reinstatement of a license, not more than $175;
(10) for replacement of a license, not more than $20; and
(11) for a wallet card license, not more than $5; and
(12) for application as a board-approved clinical supervisor, not more 

than $50.
(b) Fees paid to the board are not refundable.

Sec. 17. K.S.A. 65-5809 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-
5809. (a) The board may refuse to issue, renew or reinstate a license, 
may condition, limit, revoke or suspend a license, may publicly or pri-
vately censure a licensee or may impose a fine not to exceed $1,000 per 
violation upon a finding that a licensee or an applicant for licensure:
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(1) Is incompetent to practice professional counseling, which. “In-
competent to practice professional counseling” means:

(A) One or more instances involving failure to adhere to the appli-
cable standard of care to a degree that constitutes gross negligence, as 
determined by the board;

(B) repeated instances involving failure to adhere to the applicable 
standard of care to a degree that constitutes ordinary negligence, as 
determined by the board; or

(C) a pattern of practice or other behavior that demonstrates a man-
ifest incapacity or incompetence to practice professional counseling;

(2) has been convicted of a felony offense and has not demonstrat-
ed to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently re-
habilitated to merit the public trust;

(3) has been convicted of a misdemeanor against persons and has 
not demonstrated to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been 
sufficiently rehabilitated to merit the public trust;

(4) is currently listed on a child abuse registry or an adult protec-
tive services registry as the result of a substantiated finding of abuse 
or neglect by any state agency, agency of another state, the District of 
Columbia or the United States, territory of the United States or anoth-
er country and the applicant or licensee has not demonstrated to the 
board’s satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently rehabilitated 
to merit the public trust;

(5) has violated a provision of the professional counselors licensure 
act or one or more rules and regulations of the board;

(6) has obtained or attempted to obtain a license or license renewal 
by bribery or fraudulent representation;

(7) has knowingly made a false statement on a form required by the 
board for a license or license renewal;

(8) has failed to obtain continuing education credits as required by 
rules and regulations adopted by the board;

(9) has been found to have engaged in unprofessional conduct as 
defined by applicable rules and regulations adopted by the board; or

(10) has had a professional registration, license or certificate as a pro-
fessional counselor revoked, suspended or limited, or has had other 
disciplinary action taken, or an application for a registration, license or 
certificate denied, by the proper regulatory authority of another state, 
territory, District of Columbia, or other country, a certified copy of the 
record of the action of the other jurisdiction being conclusive evidence 
thereof; or

(11) has violated any lawful order or directive of the board previously en-
tered by the board.

(b) For issuance of a new license or reinstatement of a revoked or 
suspended license for a licensee or applicant for licensure with a felony 
conviction, the board may only issue or reinstate such license by a 2/3 
majority vote.

(c) Administrative proceedings and disciplinary actions regard-
ing licensure under the professional counselors licensure act shall be 
conducted in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure 
act. Judicial review and civil enforcement of agency actions under the 
professional counselors licensure act shall be in accordance with the 
Kansas judicial review act.

Sec. 18. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 65-6306 is hereby amended to read as 
follows: 65-6306. (a) The board shall issue a license as a baccalaureate 
social worker to an applicant who has:

(1) Has A baccalaureate degree from an accredited college or uni-
versity, including completion of a social work program recognized and 
approved by the board, pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by 
the board;

(2) has passed an examination approved by the board for this pur-
pose; and

(3) has satisfied the board that the applicant is a person who merits 
the public trust.

(b) The board shall issue a license as a master social worker to an 
applicant who has:

(1) Has A master’s degree from an accredited college or univer-
sity, including completion of a social work program recognized and 
approved by the board, pursuant to rules and regulations adopted by 
the board;

(2) has passed an examination approved by the board for this pur-
pose; and

(3) has satisfied the board that the applicant is a person who merits 
the public trust.

(c) The board shall issue a license in one of the social work special-
ties to an applicant who has:

(1) Has A master’s or doctor’s degree from an accredited graduate 
school of social work, including completion of a social work program 
recognized and approved by the board, pursuant to rules and regula-
tions adopted by the board;

(2) has had two years of full-time post-master’s or post-doctor’s 
degree experience under the supervision of a licensed social worker in 
the area of the specialty in which such applicant seeks to be licensed;

(3) has passed an examination approved by the board for this pur-
pose; and

(4) has satisfied the board that the applicant is a person who merits 
the public trust.

(d) (1) The board shall issue a license as a specialist clinical social 
worker to an applicant who:

(A) Has met the requirements of subsection (c);
(B) has completed 15 credit hours as part of or in addition to the 

requirements under subsection (c) supporting diagnosis or treatment 
of mental disorders with use of the American psychiatric association’s 
diagnostic and statistical manual, through identifiable study of the 
following content areas: Psychopathology, diagnostic assessment, in-
terdisciplinary referral and collaboration, treatment approaches and 
professional ethics;

(C) has completed a graduate level supervised clinical practicum 
of supervised professional experience including psychotherapy and 
assessment, integrating diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders 
with use of the American psychiatric association’s diagnostic and sta-
tistical manual, with not less than 350 hours of direct client contact 
or additional postgraduate supervised experience as determined by 
the board;

(D) has completed as part of or in addition to the requirements of 
subsection (c) not less than two years of postgraduate supervised pro-
fessional experience in accordance with a clinical supervision plan ap-
proved by the board of not less than 3,000 hours of supervised profes-
sional experience including at least 1,500 hours of direct client contact 
conducting psychotherapy and assessments with individuals, couples, 
families or groups and not less than 100 hours of face-to-face clinical 
supervision, as defined by the board in rules and regulations, including not 
less than 75 50 hours of person-to-person individual supervision, except 
that the board may waive the requirement that such supervision be face-to-
face upon a finding of extenuating circumstances, integrating diagnosis and 
treatment of mental disorders with use of the American psychiatric as-
sociation’s diagnostic and statistical manual;

(E) for persons earning a degree under subsection (c) prior to July 
1, 2003, in lieu of the education and training requirements under parts 
subparagraphs (B) and (C) of this subsection, has completed the educa-
tion requirements for licensure as a specialist clinical social worker in 
effect on the day immediately preceding the effective date of this act;

(F) for persons who apply for and are eligible for a temporary li-
cense to practice as a specialist clinical social worker on the day imme-
diately preceding the effective date of this act, in lieu of the education 
and training requirements under parts subparagraphs (B), (C) and (D) of 
this subsection, has completed the education and training requirements 
for licensure as a specialist clinical social worker in effect on the day 
immediately preceding the effective date of this act;

(G) has passed an examination approved by the board; and
(H) has paid the application fee.
(2) A licensed specialist clinical social worker may engage in the 

social work practice and is authorized to diagnose and treat mental dis-
orders specified in the edition of the diagnostic and statistical manual 
of mental disorders of the American psychiatric association designated 
by the board by rules and regulations. When a client has symptoms of a 
mental disorder, a licensed specialist clinical social worker shall consult 
with the client’s primary care physician or psychiatrist to determine if 
there may be a medical condition or medication that may be causing 
or contributing to the client’s symptoms of a mental disorder. A client 
may request in writing that such consultation be waived and such re-
quest shall be made a part of the client’s record. A licensed specialist 
clinical social worker may continue to evaluate and treat the client until 
such time that the medical consultation is obtained or waived.

(3) Notwithstanding any other provision of this subsection, a 
licensed master social worker who has provided to the board an ac-
ceptable clinical supervision plan for licensure as a specialist clinical 
social worker prior to the effective date of this act shall be licensed as a 
specialist clinical social worker under this act upon completion of the 
requirements in effect for licensure as a specialist clinical social worker 
at the time the acceptable training plan is submitted to the board.

(continued)
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(4) A person licensed as a specialist clinical social worker on the day 
immediately preceding the effective date of this act shall be deemed to 
be a licensed specialist clinical social worker under this act. Such per-
son shall not be required to file an original application for licensure as 
a specialist clinical social worker under this act.

(e) The board shall adopt rules and regulations establishing the crite-
ria which a social work program of a college or university shall satisfy to 
be recognized and approved by the board under this section. The board 
may send a questionnaire developed by the board to any college or uni-
versity conducting a social work program for which the board does not 
have sufficient information to determine whether the program should be 
recognized and approved by the board and whether the program meets 
the rules and regulations adopted under this section. The questionnaire 
providing the necessary information shall be completed and returned to 
the board in order for the program to be considered for recognition and 
approval. The board may contract with investigative agencies, commis-
sions or consultants to assist the board in obtaining information about a 
social work program of a college or university. In entering such contracts 
the authority to recognize and approve a social work program of a col-
lege or university shall remain solely with the board.

Sec. 19. K.S.A. 65-6309a is hereby amended to read as follows: 
65-6309a. (a) Upon written application and board approval, an indi-
vidual who is licensed to engage in the independent clinical practice 
of social work at the clinical level in another jurisdiction and, who is 
in good standing in that other jurisdiction and who has engaged in the 
clinical practice of social work in that jurisdiction may engage in the inde-
pendent practice of clinical social work as provided by K.S.A. 65-6308, 
and amendments thereto, in this state for no not more than 15 30 days 
per year upon receipt of a temporary permit to practice issued by the 
board. Such individual engaging in such practice in this state shall provide 
quarterly reports to the board on a form approved by the board detailing the 
total days of practice in this state.

(b) Any clinical social work services rendered within any 24-hour 
period shall count as one entire day of clinical social work services.

(c) The temporary permit to practice shall be effective on the date 
of approval by the board and shall expire December 31 of that year one 
year after issuance. Upon written application and for good cause shown, 
the board may extend the temporary permit to practice no more than 
15 additional days not later than 30 days before the expiration of a temporary 
permit and under emergency circumstances, as defined by the board, the board 
may extend the temporary permit for not more than one additional year. Such 
extended temporary permit shall authorize the individual to practice in this 
state for an additional 30 days during the additional year. Such individual 
engaging in such practice shall provide quarterly reports to the board on a form 
approved by the board detailing the total days of practice in this state.

(d) The board may charge a fee of a maximum of $200 for a tempo-
rary permit to practice and a fee of a maximum of $200 for an extension 
of a temporary permit to practice as established by rules and regula-
tions of the board.

(e) A person who holds a temporary permit to practice clinical so-
cial work in this state shall be deemed to have submitted to the juris-
diction of the board and shall be bound by the statutes and regulations 
that govern the practice of clinical social work in this state.

(f) In accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act, the 
board may issue a cease and desist order or assess a fine of up to $1,000 
per day, or both, against a person licensed in another jurisdiction who 
engages in the independent practice of clinical social work in this state 
without complying with the provisions of this section.

(g) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to article 63 of 
chapter 65 of the Kansas Statutes Annotated, and amendments thereto.

Sec. 20. K.S.A. 65-6311 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-
6311. (a) The board may refuse to issue, renew or reinstate a license, 
may condition, limit, revoke or suspend a license, may publicly or pri-
vately censure a licensee or may impose a fine not to exceed $1,000 per 
violation upon a finding that a licensee or an applicant for license:

(1) Is incompetent to practice social work, which. “Incompetent to 
practice social work” means:

(A) One or more instances involving failure to adhere to the appli-
cable standard of care to a degree that constitutes gross negligence, as 
determined by the board;

(B) repeated instances involving failure to adhere to the applicable 
standard of care to a degree that constitutes ordinary negligence, as 
determined by the board; or

(C) a pattern of practice or other behavior that demonstrates a 
manifest incapacity or incompetence to practice social work;

(2) has been convicted of a felony offense and has not demonstrat-
ed to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently re-
habilitated to merit the public trust;

(3) has been convicted of a misdemeanor against persons and has 
not demonstrated to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been 
sufficiently rehabilitated to merit the public trust;

(4) is currently listed on a child abuse registry or an adult protec-
tive services registry as the result of a substantiated finding of abuse 
or neglect by any state agency, agency of another state, the District of 
Columbia or the United States, territory of the United States or anoth-
er country and the applicant or licensee has not demonstrated to the 
board’s satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently rehabilitated 
to merit the public trust;

(5) has violated a provision of the social workers licensure act or 
one or more rules and regulations of the board;

(6) has obtained or attempted to obtain a license or license renewal 
by bribery or fraudulent representation;

(7) has knowingly made a false statement on a form required by the 
board for a license or license renewal;

(8) has failed to obtain continuing education credits as required by 
rules and regulations adopted by the board;

(9) has been found to have engaged in unprofessional conduct as 
defined by applicable rules and regulations adopted by the board; or

(10) has had a professional license, registration or certificate to prac-
tice social work revoked, suspended or limited, or has had other dis-
ciplinary action taken, or an application for a license, registration or 
certificate denied, by the proper regulatory authority of another state, 
territory, District of Columbia, or other country, a certified copy of the 
record of the action of the other jurisdiction being conclusive evidence 
thereof; or

(11) has violated any lawful order or directive of the board previously en-
tered by the board.

(b) For issuance of a new license or reinstatement of a revoked or 
suspended license for a licensee or applicant for licensure with a felony 
conviction, the board may only issue or reinstate such license by a 2/3 
majority vote.

(c) Administrative proceedings and disciplinary actions regarding 
licensure under the social workers licensure act shall be conducted in 
accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act. Judicial re-
view and civil enforcement of agency actions under the social workers 
licensure act shall be in accordance with the Kansas judicial review act.

Sec. 21. K.S.A. 65-6404 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-
6404. (a) An applicant for licensure as a marriage and family therapist 
shall furnish evidence that the applicant has:

(1) Has Attained the age of 21 years of age;
(2) (A) has completed a master’s or doctoral degree from a mar-

riage and family therapy program, in an educational institution with 
standards approved by the board; or (B) has completed a master’s or 
doctoral degree from an educational institution in a related field for 
which the course work is considered by the board to be equivalent 
to that provided in clause (2) subparagraph (A) of this paragraph and 
consists of a minimum of nine semester hours in human development, 
nine semester hours in theories of marriage and family functioning, 
nine semester hours of marital and family assessment and therapy, 
three semester hours in professional studies and three semester hours 
in research; or (C) completed a master’s or doctoral degree from an 
educational institution in a related field with additional work from 
an educational program in marriage and family therapy approved by 
the board and such degree program and additional work includes the 
course work requirements provided in clause (2) subparagraph (B) of 
this paragraph;

(3) has passed an examination approved by the board;
(4) has satisfied the board that the applicant is a person who merits 

the public trust; and
(5) each applicant has paid the application fee established by the 

board under K.S.A. 65-6411, and amendments thereto.
(b) (1) Applications for licensure as a clinical marriage and family 

therapist shall be made to the board on a form and in the manner pre-
scribed by the board. Each applicant shall furnish evidence satisfactory 
to the board that the applicant:

(A) Is licensed by the board as a licensed marriage and family ther-
apist or meets all requirements for licensure as a marriage and family 
therapist;

(B) has completed 15 credit hours as part of or in addition to the 
requirements under subsection (a) supporting diagnosis or treatment 
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of mental disorders with use of the American psychiatric association’s 
diagnostic and statistical manual, through identifiable study of the 
following content areas: Psychopathology, diagnostic assessment, in-
terdisciplinary referral and collaboration, treatment approaches and 
professional ethics;

(C) has completed a graduate level supervised clinical practicum 
of supervised professional experience including psychotherapy and 
assessment with individuals, couples, families or groups, integrating 
diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders with use of the American 
psychiatric association’s diagnostic and statistical manual, with not less 
than 350 hours of direct client contact or additional postgraduate su-
pervised experience as determined by the board;

(D) has completed not less than two years of postgraduate super-
vised professional experience in accordance with a clinical supervision 
plan approved by the board of not less than 4,000 3,000 hours of super-
vised professional experience including at least 1,500 hours of direct 
client contact conducting psychotherapy and assessments with indi-
viduals, couples, families or groups and not less than 150 100 hours 
of face-to-face clinical supervision, as defined by the board in rules and 
regulations, including not less than 50 hours of person-to-person indi-
vidual supervision, except that the board may waive the requirement that 
such supervision be face-to-face upon a finding of extenuating circumstances, 
integrating diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders with use of the 
American psychiatric association’s diagnostic and statistical manual, 
except that one-half the board may waive 1/2 of the requirement of hours 
required by this part (D) may be waived subparagraph for persons with 
an individual who has a doctor’s degree in marriage and family therapy 
or a related field acceptable to the board and who completes the required 
1/2 of the hours in not less than one year of supervised professional experience;

(E) for persons earning who earned a degree under subsection (a) 
prior to July 1, 2003, in lieu of the education and training requirements 
under parts subparagraphs (B) and (C) of this subsection, has complet-
ed the education requirements for licensure as a marriage and family 
therapist in effect on the day immediately preceding the effective date 
of this act;

(F) for persons who apply for and are eligible for a temporary per-
mit to practice as a licensed marriage and family therapist on the day 
immediately preceding the effective date of this act, in lieu of the ed-
ucation and training requirements under parts subparagraphs (B), (C) 
and (D) of this subsection, has completed the education and training 
requirements for licensure as a marriage and family therapist in effect 
on the day immediately preceding the effective date of this act;

(G) has passed an examination approved by the board; and
(H) has paid the application fee fixed under K.S.A. 65-6411, and 

amendments thereto.
(2) A person who was licensed or registered as a marriage and fam-

ily therapist in Kansas at any time prior to the effective date of this act, 
who has been actively engaged in the practice of marriage and family 
therapy as a registered or licensed marriage and family therapist within 
five years prior to the effective date of this act and whose last license or 
registration in Kansas prior to the effective date of this act was not sus-
pended or revoked, upon application to the board, payment of fees and 
completion of applicable continuing education requirements, shall be 
licensed as a licensed clinical marriage and family therapist by provid-
ing demonstration of competence to diagnose and treat mental disor-
ders through at least two of the following areas acceptable to the board:

(A) Either: (i) Graduate coursework; or (ii) passing a national, clin-
ical examination;

(B) either: (i) Three years of clinical practice in a community mental 
health center, its contracted affiliate or a state mental hospital; or (ii) 
three years of clinical practice in other settings with demonstrated ex-
perience in diagnosing or treating mental disorders; or

(C) attestation from one professional licensed to diagnose and treat 
mental disorders in independent practice or licensed to practice medi-
cine and surgery that the applicant is competent to diagnose and treat 
mental disorders.

(3) A licensed clinical marriage and family therapist may engage in 
the independent practice of marriage and family therapy and is autho-
rized to diagnose and treat mental disorders specified in the edition of 
the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders of the Amer-
ican psychiatric association designated by the board by rules and reg-
ulations. When a client has symptoms of a mental disorder, a licensed 
clinical marriage and family therapist shall consult with the client’s pri-
mary care physician or psychiatrist to determine if there may be a med-
ical condition or medication that may be causing or contributing to the 
client’s symptoms of a mental disorder. A client may request in writing 

that such consultation be waived and such request shall be made a part 
of the client’s record. A licensed clinical marriage and family therapist 
may continue to evaluate and treat the client until such time that the 
medical consultation is obtained or waived.

(4) On and after January 1, 2002, a licensed marriage and family 
therapist may diagnose and treat mental disorders specified in the edi-
tion of the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders speci-
fied in the edition of the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental dis-
orders of the American psychiatric association designated by the board 
by rules and regulations only under the direction of a licensed clinical 
marriage and family therapist, licensed psychologist, person licensed 
to practice medicine and surgery or person licensed to provide men-
tal health services as an independent practitioner and whose licensure 
allows for the diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders. When a 
client has symptoms of a mental disorder, a licensed marriage and fam-
ily therapist shall consult with the client’s primary care physician or 
psychiatrist to determine if there may be a medical condition or medi-
cation that may be causing or contributing to the client’s symptoms of a 
mental disorder. A client may request in writing that such consultation 
be waived and such request shall be made a part of the client’s record. 
A licensed marriage and family therapist may continue to evaluate and 
treat the client until such time that the medical consultation is obtained 
or waived.

Sec. 22. K.S.A. 65-6405a is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-
6405a. (a) Upon written application and board approval, an individual 
who is licensed to engage in the independent clinical practice of mar-
riage and family therapy at the clinical level in another jurisdiction and, 
who is in good standing in that other jurisdiction and who has engaged 
in the clinical practice of marriage and family therapy in that jurisdiction for 
at least two years immediately preceding application may engage in the in-
dependent practice of clinical marriage and family therapy as provided 
by K.S.A. 65-6401 et seq., and amendments thereto, in this state for no 
not more than 15 30 days per year upon receipt of a temporary permit 
to practice issued by the board. Such individual engaging in such practice 
in this state shall provide quarterly reports to the board on a form approved by 
the board detailing the total days of practice in this state.

(b) Any clinical marriage and family therapy services rendered 
within any 24-hour period shall count as one entire day of clinical mar-
riage and family therapy services.

(c) The temporary permit to practice shall be effective on the date 
of approval by the board and shall expire December 31 of that year one 
year after issuance. Upon written application and for good cause shown, 
the board may extend the temporary permit to practice no more than 
15 additional days not later than 30 days before the expiration of a temporary 
permit and under emergency circumstances, as defined by the board, the board 
may extend the temporary permit for not more than one additional year. Such 
extended temporary permit shall authorize the individual to practice in this 
state for an additional 30 days during the additional year. Such individual 
engaging in such practice shall provide quarterly reports to the board on a form 
approved by the board detailing the total days of practice in this state.

(d) The board may charge a fee of a maximum of $200 for a tempo-
rary permit to practice and a fee of a maximum of $200 for an extension 
of a temporary permit to practice as established by rules and regula-
tions of the board.

(e) A person who holds a temporary permit to practice clinical 
marriage and family therapy in this state shall be deemed to have sub-
mitted to the jurisdiction of the board and shall be bound by the stat-
utes and regulations that govern the practice of clinical marriage and 
family therapy in this state.

(f) In accordance with the Kansas administrative procedures act, 
the board may issue a cease and desist order or assess a fine of up to 
$1,000 per day, or both, against a person licensed in another jurisdic-
tion who engages in the independent practice of clinical marriage and 
family therapy in this state without complying with the provisions of 
this section.

(g) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the marriage 
and family therapists licensure act.

Sec. 23. K.S.A. 65-6408 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-
6408. (a) The board may refuse to issue, renew or reinstate a license, 
may condition, limit, revoke or suspend a license, may publicly or pri-
vately censure a licensee or may impose a fine not to exceed $1,000 per 
violation upon a finding that a licensee or an applicant for license:

(1) Is incompetent to practice marriage and family therapy, which. 
“Incompetent to practice marriage and family therapy” means:

(continued)
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(A) One or more instances involving failure to adhere to the appli-
cable standard of care to a degree that constitutes gross negligence, as 
determined by the board;

(B) repeated instances involving failure to adhere to the applicable 
standard of care to a degree that constitutes ordinary negligence, as 
determined by the board; or

(C) a pattern of practice or other behavior that demonstrates a 
manifest incapacity or incompetence to practice marriage and family 
therapy;

(2) has been convicted of a felony offense and has not demonstrat-
ed to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently re-
habilitated to merit the public trust;

(3) has been convicted of a misdemeanor against persons and has 
not demonstrated to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been 
sufficiently rehabilitated to merit the public trust;

(4) is currently listed on a child abuse registry or an adult protec-
tive services registry as the result of a substantiated finding of abuse 
or neglect by any state agency, agency of another state, the District of 
Columbia or the United States, territory of the United States or anoth-
er country and the applicant or licensee has not demonstrated to the 
board’s satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently rehabilitated 
to merit the public trust;

(5) has violated a provision of the marriage and family therapists 
licensure act or one or more of the rules and regulations of the board;

(6) has obtained or attempted to obtain a license or license renewal 
by bribery or fraudulent representation;

(7) has knowingly made a false statement on a form required by the 
board for license or license renewal;

(8) has failed to obtain continuing education credits required by 
rules and regulations of the board;

(9) has been found to have engaged in unprofessional conduct as 
defined by applicable rules and regulations adopted by the board; or

(10) has had a professional registration, license or certificate as a 
marriage and family therapist revoked, suspended or limited, or has 
had other disciplinary action taken, or an application for registration, 
license or certificate denied, by the proper regulatory authority of an-
other state, territory, District of Columbia or another country, a cer-
tified copy of the record of the action of the other jurisdiction being 
conclusive evidence thereof; or

(11) has violated any lawful order or directive of the board previously en-
tered by the board.

(b) For issuance of a new license or reinstatement of a revoked or 
suspended license for a licensee or applicant for licensure with a felony 
conviction, the board may only issue or reinstate such license by a 2/3 
majority vote.

(c) Administrative proceedings and disciplinary actions regarding 
licensure under the marriage and family therapists licensure act shall 
be conducted in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure 
act. Judicial review and civil enforcement of agency actions under the 
marriage and family therapists licensure act shall be in accordance with 
the Kansas judicial review act.

Sec. 24. K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 65-6411 is hereby amended to read as 
follows: 65-6411. (a) The board may fix the following fees, and any such 
fees shall be established by rules and regulations adopted by the board:

(1) For application for licensure as a marriage and family therapist, 
not to exceed $150;

(2) for temporary licensure as a marriage and family therapist, not 
to exceed $175;

(3) for original licensure as a marriage and family therapist, not to 
exceed $175;

(4) for renewal for licensure as a marriage and family therapist, not 
to exceed $175;

(5) for application for licensure as a clinical marriage and family 
therapist, not to exceed $175;

(6) for original licensure as a clinical marriage and family therapist, 
not to exceed $175;

(7) for renewal for licensure as a clinical marriage and family ther-
apist, not to exceed $175;

(8) for reinstatement of a license, not to exceed $175;
(9) for replacement of a license, not to exceed $20;
(10) for renewal penalty, an amount equal to the renewal of license; 

and
(11) for a wallet card license, not to exceed $5; and
(12) for application for approval as a board-approved clinical supervisor, 

not to exceed $50.

(b) Fees paid to the board are not refundable.

Sec. 25. K.S.A. 65-6610 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-
6610. (a) An applicant for licensure as an addiction counselor shall fur-
nish evidence that the applicant:

(1) Has attained the age of 21 years of age;
(2) (A) has completed at least a baccalaureate degree from an addic-

tion counseling program that is part of a college or university approved 
by the board; or

(B) has completed at least a baccalaureate degree from a college 
or university approved by the board. As part of, or in addition to, the 
baccalaureate degree coursework, such applicant shall also complete a 
minimum number of semester hours of coursework on substance use 
disorders as approved by the board; or

(C) is currently licensed in Kansas as a licensed baccalaureate so-
cial worker and has completed a minimum number of semester hours 
of coursework on substance use disorders as approved by the board; 
and

(3) has passed an examination approved by the board;
(4) has satisfied the board that the applicant is a person who merits 

the public trust; and
(5) has paid the application fee established by the board under 

K.S.A. 65-6618, and amendments thereto.
(b) Applications for licensure as a master’s addiction counselor 

shall be made to the board on a form and in the manner prescribed 
by the board. Each applicant shall furnish evidence satisfactory to the 
board that the applicant:

(1) (A) Has attained the age of 21 years of age;
(B) (i) has completed at least a master’s degree from an addiction 

counseling program that is part of a college or university approved by 
the board;

(ii) has completed at least a master’s degree from a college or uni-
versity approved by the board. As part of or in addition to the master’s 
degree coursework, such applicant shall also complete a minimum 
number of semester hours of coursework supporting the diagnosis and 
treatment of substance use disorders as approved by the board; or

(iii) is currently licensed in Kansas as a licensed master social 
worker, licensed professional counselor, licensed marriage and family 
therapist or licensed master’s level psychologist; and

(C) has passed an examination approved by the board;
(D) has satisfied the board that the applicant is a person who merits 

the public trust; and
(E) has paid the application fee fixed under K.S.A. 65-6618, and 

amendments thereto; or
(2) (A) has met the following requirements on or before July 1, 2016:
(i) Holds an active license by the board as an addiction counselor; 

and
(ii) has completed at least a master’s degree in a related field from 

a college or university approved by the board; and
(B) has completed six hours of continuing education in the diag-

nosis and treatment of substance use disorders during the three years 
immediately preceding the application date.

(c) Applications for licensure as a clinical addiction counselor shall 
be made to the board on a form and in the manner prescribed by the 
board. Each applicant shall furnish evidence satisfactory to the board 
that the applicant:

(1) Has attained the age of 21 years of age; and
(2) (A) (i) has completed at least a master’s degree from an addic-

tion counseling program that is part of a college or university approved 
by the board; and

(ii) has completed not less than two years of postgraduate super-
vised professional experience in accordance with a clinical supervision 
plan approved by the board of not less than 4,000 3,000 hours of super-
vised professional experience including at least 1,500 hours of direct 
client contact conducting substance abuse assessments and treatment 
with individuals, couples, families or groups and not less than 150 100 
hours of face-to-face clinical supervision, as defined by the board in rules 
and regulations, including not less than 50 hours of person-to-person in-
dividual supervision, except that the board may waive the requirement that 
such supervision be face-to-face upon a finding of extenuating circumstances, 
integrating diagnosis and treatment of substance use disorders with 
use of the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders of the 
American psychiatric association; or has completed not less than one 
year of postgraduate supervised professional experience in accordance 
with a clinical supervision plan approved by the board of not less than 
2,000 hours of supervised professional experience including at least 750 
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hours of direct client contact conducting substance abuse assessments 
and treatment with individuals, couples, families or groups and not 
less than 75 hours of clinical supervision, including not less than 25 
hours of person-to-person individual supervision, integrating diagno-
sis and treatment of substance use disorders with use of the diagnostic 
and statistical manual of mental disorders of the American psychiatric 
association, and such person has a doctoral degree in addiction coun-
seling or a related field as approved by the board, except that the board 
may waive 1/2 of the hours required by this clause for an individual who has a 
doctoral degree in addiction counseling or a related field approved by the board 
and who completes the required 1/2 of the hours in not less than one year of 
supervised professional experience; or

(B) (i) has completed at least a master’s degree from a college or 
university approved by the board. As part of or in addition to the mas-
ter’s degree coursework, such applicant shall also complete a minimum 
number of semester hours of coursework supporting the diagnosis and 
treatment of substance use disorders as approved by the board; and

(ii) has completed not less than two years of postgraduate super-
vised professional experience in accordance with a clinical supervision 
plan approved by the board of not less than 4,000 3,000 hours of super-
vised professional experience including at least 1,500 hours of direct 
client contact conducting substance abuse assessments and treatment 
with individuals, couples, families or groups and not less than 150 100 
hours of face-to-face clinical supervision, as defined by the board in rules 
and regulations, including not less than 50 hours of person-to-person in-
dividual supervision, except that the board may waive the requirement that 
such supervision be face-to-face upon a finding of extenuating circumstances, 
integrating diagnosis and treatment of substance use disorders with 
use of the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders of the 
American psychiatric association; or has completed not less than one 
year of postgraduate supervised professional experience in accordance 
with a clinical supervision plan approved by the board of not less than 
2,000 hours of supervised professional experience including at least 750 
hours of direct client contact conducting substance abuse assessments 
and treatment with individuals, couples, families or groups and not 
less than 75 hours of clinical supervision, including not less than 25 
hours of person-to-person individual supervision, integrating diagno-
sis and treatment of substance use disorders with use of the diagnostic 
and statistical manual of mental disorders of the American psychiatric 
association, and such person has a doctoral degree in addiction coun-
seling or a related field as approved by the board, except that the board 
may waive 1/2 of the hours required by this clause for an individual who has a 
doctoral degree in addiction counseling or a related field approved by the board 
and who completes the required 1/2 of the hours in not less than one year of 
supervised professional experience; or

(C) (i) has completed a master’s degree from a college or university 
approved by the board and is licensed by the board as a licensed mas-
ter’s addiction counselor; and

(ii) has completed not less than two years of postgraduate super-
vised professional experience in accordance with a clinical supervision 
plan approved by the board of not less than 4,000 3,000 hours of super-
vised professional experience including at least 1,500 hours of direct 
client contact conducting substance abuse assessments and treatment 
with individuals, couples, families or groups and not less than 150 100 
hours of face-to-face clinical supervision, as defined by the board in rules 
and regulations, including not less than 50 hours of person-to-person in-
dividual supervision, except that the board may waive the requirement that 
such supervision be face-to-face upon a finding of extenuating circumstances, 
integrating diagnosis and treatment of substance use disorders with 
use of the diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders of the 
American psychiatric association; or has completed not less than one 
year of postgraduate supervised professional experience in accordance 
with a clinical supervision plan approved by the board of not less than 
2,000 hours of supervised professional experience including at least 750 
hours of direct client contact conducting substance abuse assessments 
and treatment with individuals, couples, families or groups and not 
less than 75 hours of clinical supervision, including not less than 25 
hours of person-to-person individual supervision, integrating diagno-
sis and treatment of substance use disorders with use of the diagnostic 
and statistical manual of mental disorders of the American psychiatric 
association, and such person has a doctoral degree in addiction coun-
seling or a related field as approved by the board, except that the board 
may waive 1/2 of the hours required by this clause for an individual who has a 
doctoral degree in addiction counseling or a related field approved by the board 
and who completes the required 1/2 of the hours in not less than one year of 
supervised professional experience; or

(D) is currently licensed in Kansas as a licensed psychologist, li-
censed specialist clinical social worker, licensed clinical professional 
counselor, licensed clinical psychotherapist or licensed clinical mar-
riage and family therapist and provides to the board an attestation 
from a professional licensed to diagnose and treat mental disorders, or 
substance use disorders, or both, in independent practice or licensed to 
practice medicine and surgery stating that the applicant is competent to 
diagnose and treat substance use disorders; and

(3) has passed an examination approved by the board; and
(4) has satisfied the board that the applicant is a person who merits 

the public trust; and
(5) has paid the application fee fixed under K.S.A. 65-6618, and 

amendments thereto.

Sec. 26. K.S.A. 65-6612 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-
6612. (a) Upon written application and board approval, an individ-
ual who is licensed to engage in the independent clinical practice of 
addiction counseling at the clinical level in another jurisdiction and, 
who is in good standing in that other jurisdiction and who has engaged 
in the clinical practice of addiction counseling in that jurisdiction for at least 
two years immediately preceding application may engage in the indepen-
dent practice of clinical addiction counseling as provided by the ad-
diction counselor licensure act, in this state for not more than 15 30 
days per year upon receipt of a temporary permit to practice issued 
by the board. Such individual engaging in such practice shall provide quar-
terly reports to the board on a form approved by the board detailing the total 
days of practice in this state.

(b) Any clinical addiction counseling services rendered within any 
24-hour period shall count as one entire day of clinical addiction coun-
seling services.

(c) The temporary permit to practice shall be effective on the date 
of approval by the board and shall expire December 31 of that year one 
year after issuance. Upon written application and for good cause shown, 
the board may extend the temporary permit to practice no more than 
15 additional days not later than 30 days before the expiration of a temporary 
permit and under emergency circumstances, as defined by the board, the board 
may extend the temporary permit for not more than one additional year. Such 
extended temporary permit shall authorize the individual to practice in this 
state for an additional 30 days during the additional year. Such individual 
engaging in such practice shall provide quarterly reports to the board on a form 
approved by the board detailing the total days of practice in this state.

(d) The board shall charge a fee for a temporary permit to practice 
and a fee for an extension of a temporary permit to practice as fixed 
under K.S.A. 65-6618, and amendments thereto.

(e) A person who holds a temporary permit to practice clinical ad-
diction counseling in this state shall be deemed to have submitted to 
the jurisdiction of the board and shall be bound by the statutes and 
regulations that govern the practice of clinical addiction counseling in 
this state.

(f) In accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act, the 
board may issue a cease and desist order or assess a fine of up to $1,000 
per day, or both, against a person licensed in another jurisdiction who 
engages in the independent practice of clinical addiction counseling in 
this state without complying with the provisions of this section.

Sec. 27. K.S.A. 65-6615 is hereby amended to read as follows: 65-
6615. (a) The board may refuse to issue, renew or reinstate a license, 
may condition, limit, revoke or suspend a license, may publicly or pri-
vately censure a licensee or may impose a fine not to exceed $1,000 per 
violation upon a finding that a licensee or an applicant for license:

(1) Is incompetent to practice addiction counseling, which. “Incom-
petent to practice addiction counseling” means:

(A) One or more instances involving failure to adhere to the appli-
cable standard of care to a degree that constitutes gross negligence, as 
determined by the board;

(B) repeated instances involving failure to adhere to the applicable 
standard of care to a degree that constitutes ordinary negligence, as 
determined by the board; or

(C) a pattern of practice or other behavior that demonstrates a 
manifest incapacity or incompetence to practice addiction counseling;

(2) has been convicted of a felony offense and has not demonstrat-
ed to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently re-
habilitated to merit the public trust;

(3) has been convicted of a misdemeanor against persons and has 
not demonstrated to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been 
sufficiently rehabilitated to merit the public trust;

(continued)
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(4) is currently listed on a child abuse registry or an adult protec-
tive services registry as the result of a substantiated finding of abuse 
or neglect by any state agency, agency of another state, the District of 
Columbia or the United States, territory of the United States or anoth-
er country and the applicant or licensee has not demonstrated to the 
board’s satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently rehabilitated 
to merit the public trust;

(5) has violated a provision of the addiction counselor licensure act 
or one or more of the rules and regulations of the board;

(6) has obtained or attempted to obtain a license or license renewal 
by bribery or fraudulent representation;

(7) has knowingly made a false statement on a form required by the 
board for license or license renewal;

(8) has failed to obtain continuing education credits required by 
rules and regulations of the board;

(9) has been found to have engaged in unprofessional conduct as 
defined by applicable rules and regulations adopted by the board; or

(10) has had a professional registration, license or certificate as an ad-
diction counselor revoked, suspended or limited, or has had other disci-
plinary action taken, or an application for registration, license or certifi-
cate denied, by the proper regulatory authority of another state, territory, 
District of Columbia or another country, a certified copy of the record of 
the action of the other jurisdiction being conclusive evidence thereof; or

(11) has violated any lawful order or directive of the board previously en-
tered by the board.

(b) For issuance of a new license or reinstatement of a revoked or 
suspended license for a licensee or applicant for licensure with a felony 
conviction, the board may only issue or reinstate such license by a 2/3 
majority vote.

(c) Administrative proceedings and disciplinary actions regarding 
licensure under the addiction counselor licensure act shall be conduct-
ed in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure act. Judi-
cial review and civil enforcement of agency actions under the addiction 
counselor licensure act shall be in accordance with the Kansas judicial 
review act.

Sec. 28. K.S.A. 74-5316a is hereby amended to read as follows: 74-
5316a. (a) Upon written application and board approval, an individual 
who is licensed to engage in the independent practice of psychology 
in another jurisdiction and, who is in good standing in that other juris-
diction and who has engaged in the practice of psychology in that jurisdiction 
for at least two years immediately preceding application may engage in the 
independent practice of psychology as provided by K.S.A. 74-5301 et 
seq., and amendments thereto, in this state for no not more than 15 30 
days per year upon receipt of a temporary permit to practice issued by 
the board. Such individual engaging in such practice in this state shall pro-
vide quarterly reports to the board on a form approved by the board detailing 
the total days of practice in this state.

(b) Any psychology services rendered within any 24-hour period 
shall count as one entire day of psychology services.

(c) The temporary permit to practice shall be effective on the date 
of approval by the board and shall expire December 31 of that year one 
year after issuance. Upon written application and for good cause shown, 
the board may extend the temporary permit to practice no more than 
15 additional days not later than 30 days before the expiration of a temporary 
permit and under emergency circumstances, as defined by the board, the board 
may extend the temporary permit for not more than one additional year. Such 
extended temporary permit shall authorize the individual to practice in this 
state for an additional 30 days during the additional year. Such individual 
engaging in such practice shall provide quarterly reports to the board on a form 
approved by the board detailing the total days of practice in this state.

(d) The board may charge a fee of a maximum of $200 for a tempo-
rary permit to practice and a fee of a maximum of $200 for an extension 
of a temporary permit to practice as established by rules and regula-
tions of the board.

(e) A person who holds a temporary permit to practice psychology 
in this state shall be deemed to have submitted to the jurisdiction of the 
board and shall be bound by the statutes and regulations that govern 
the practice of psychology in this state.

(f) In accordance with the Kansas administrative procedures pro-
cedure act, the board may issue a cease and desist order or assess a fine 
of up to $1,000 per day, or both, against a person licensed in another 
jurisdiction who engages in the independent practice of psychology in 
this state without complying with the provisions of this section.

(g) This section shall be a part of and supplemental to the licensure 
of psychologists act.

Sec. 29. K.S.A. 74-5324 is hereby amended to read as follows: 74-
5324. (a) The board may refuse to issue, renew or reinstate a license, 
may condition, limit, revoke or suspend a license, may publicly or pri-
vately censure a licensee or may impose a fine not to exceed $1,000 per 
violation upon a finding that a licensee or an applicant for a license:

(1) Is incompetent to practice psychology, which. “Incompetent to 
practice psychology” means:

(A) One or more instances involving failure to adhere to the appli-
cable standard of care to a degree that constitutes gross negligence, as 
determined by the board;

(B) repeated instances involving failure to adhere to the applicable 
standard of care to a degree that constitutes ordinary negligence, as 
determined by the board; or

(C) a pattern of practice or other behavior that demonstrates a 
manifest incapacity or incompetence to practice psychology;

(2) has been convicted of a felony offense and has not demonstrat-
ed to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently re-
habilitated to merit the public trust;

(3) has been convicted of a misdemeanor against persons and has 
not demonstrated to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been 
sufficiently rehabilitated to merit the public trust;

(4) is currently listed on a child abuse registry or an adult protec-
tive services registry as the result of a substantiated finding of abuse 
or neglect by any state agency, agency of another state or the United 
States, territory of the United States or another country and the appli-
cant or licensee has not demonstrated to the board’s satisfaction that 
such person has been sufficiently rehabilitated to merit the public trust;

(5) has violated a provision of the licensure of psychologists act of 
the state of Kansas or one or more rules and regulations of the board;

(6) has obtained or attempted to obtain a license or license renewal 
by bribery or fraudulent representation;

(7) has knowingly made a false statement on a form required by the 
board for a license or license renewal;

(8) has failed to obtain continuing education credits as required by 
rules and regulations of the board;

(9) has been found to have engaged in unprofessional conduct as 
defined by applicable rules and regulations adopted by the board; or

(10) has had a professional registration, license or certificate as a psy-
chologist revoked, suspended or limited, or has had other disciplinary 
action taken, or an application for registration, license or certificate de-
nied, by the proper regulatory authority of another state, territory, Dis-
trict of Columbia or another country, a certified copy of the record of 
the action of the other jurisdiction being conclusive evidence thereof; or

(11) has violated any lawful order or directive of the board previously en-
tered by the board.

(b) For issuance of a new license or reinstatement of a revoked or 
suspended license for a licensee or applicant for licensure with a felony 
conviction, the board may only issue or reinstate such license by a 2/3 
majority vote.

(c) Administrative proceedings and disciplinary actions regarding 
licensure under the licensure of psychologists act of the state of Kan-
sas shall be conducted in accordance with the Kansas administrative 
procedure act. Judicial review and civil enforcement of agency actions 
under the licensure of psychologists of the state of Kansas act shall be 
in accordance with the Kansas judicial review act.

Sec. 30. K.S.A. 74-5363 is hereby amended to read as follows: 74-
5363. (a) Any person who desires to be licensed under this act shall 
apply to the board in writing, on forms prepared and furnished by the 
board. Each application shall contain appropriate documentation of the 
particular qualifications required by the board and shall be accompa-
nied by the required fee.

(b) The board shall license as a licensed master’s level psychologist 
any applicant for licensure who pays the fee prescribed by the board un-
der K.S.A. 74-5365, and amendments thereto, which shall not be refunded, 
who has satisfied the board as to such applicant’s training and who com-
plies with the provisions of this subsection. An applicant for licensure also 
shall submit evidence satisfactory to the board that such applicant:

(1) Is at least 21 years of age;
(2) has satisfied the board that the applicant is a person who merits 

public trust;
(3) has received at least 60 graduate hours including a master’s de-

gree in psychology based on a program of studies in psychology from 
an educational institution having a graduate program in psychology 
consistent with state universities of Kansas; or until July 1, 2003, has re-
ceived at least a master’s degree in psychology and during such master’s 
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or post-master’s coursework completed a minimum of 12 semester hours 
or its equivalent in psychological foundation courses such as, but not 
limited to, philosophy of psychology, psychology of perception, learning 
theory, history of psychology, motivation, and statistics and 24 semes-
ter hours or its equivalent in professional core courses such as, but not 
limited to, two courses in psychological testing, psychopathology, two 
courses in psychotherapy, personality theories, developmental psychol-
ogy, research methods, social psychology; or has passed comprehensive 
examinations or equivalent final examinations in a doctoral program in 
psychology and during such graduate program completed a minimum 
of 12 semester hours or its equivalent in psychological foundation cours-
es such as, but not limited to, philosophy of psychology, psychology 
of perception, learning theory, history of psychology, motivation, and 
statistics and 24 semester hours or its equivalent in professional core 
courses such as, but not limited to, two courses in psychological testing, 
psychopathology, two courses in psychotherapy, personality theories, 
developmental psychology, research methods, social psychology;

(4) has completed 750 clock hours of academically supervised 
practicum in the master’s degree program or 1,500 clock hours of post-
graduate supervised work experience; and

(5) has passed an examination approved by the board with a mini-
mum score set by the board by rules and regulations.

(c) (1) Applications for licensure as a clinical psychotherapist shall 
be made to the board on a form and in the manner prescribed by the 
board. Each applicant shall furnish evidence satisfactory to the board 
that the applicant:

(A) Is licensed by the board as a licensed master’s level psychologist 
or meets all requirements for licensure as a master’s level psychologist;

(B) has completed 15 credit hours as part of or in addition to the 
requirements under subsection (b) supporting diagnosis or treatment 
of mental disorders with use of the American psychiatric association’s 
diagnostic and statistical manual, through identifiable study of: Psy-
chopathology, diagnostic assessment, interdisciplinary referral and col-
laboration, treatment approaches and professional ethics;

(C) has completed a graduate level supervised clinical practicum 
of supervised professional experience including psychotherapy and 
assessment with individuals, couples, families or groups, integrating 
diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders with use of the American 
psychiatric association’s diagnostic and statistical manual, with not less 
than 350 hours of direct client contact or additional postgraduate su-
pervised experience as determined by the board;

(D) has completed not less than two years of postgraduate super-
vised professional experience in accordance with a clinical supervision 
plan approved by the board of not less than 4,000 3,000 hours of super-
vised professional experience including at least 1,500 hours of direct 
client contact conducting psychotherapy and assessments with indi-
viduals, couples, families or groups and not less than 150 100 hours 
of face-to-face clinical supervision, as defined by the board in rules and 
regulations, including not less than 50 hours of person-to-person indi-
vidual supervision, except that the board may waive the requirement that 
such supervision be face-to-face upon a finding of extenuating circumstances, 
integrating diagnosis and treatment of mental disorders with use of the 
American psychiatric association’s diagnostic and statistical manual;

(E) for persons earning a degree under subsection (b) prior to July 
1, 2003, in lieu of the education requirements under subparagraphs (B) 
and (C), has completed the education requirements for licensure as a 
licensed master’s level psychologist in effect on the day immediately 
preceding the effective date of this act;

(F) for persons who apply for and are eligible for a temporary li-
cense to practice as a licensed master’s level psychologist on the day 
immediately preceding the effective date of this act, in lieu of the edu-
cation and training requirements under subparagraphs (B), (C) and (D), 
has completed the education and training requirements for licensure as 
a master’s level psychologist in effect on the day immediately preced-
ing the effective date of this act;

(G) has passed an examination approved by the board with the 
same minimum passing score as that set by the board for licensed psy-
chologists; and

(H) has paid the application fee, if required by the board.
(2) A person who was licensed or registered as a master’s level psy-

chologist in Kansas at any time prior to the effective date of this act, 
who has been actively engaged in the practice of master’s level psy-
chology as a registered or licensed master’s level psychologist within 
five years prior to the effective date of this act and whose last license 
or registration in Kansas prior to the effective date of this act was not 
suspended or revoked, upon application to the board, payment of fees 

and completion of applicable continuing education requirements, shall 
be licensed as a licensed clinical psychotherapist by providing demon-
stration of competence to diagnose and treat mental disorders through 
at least two of the following areas acceptable to the board:

(A) Either: (i) Graduate coursework; or (ii) passing a national, clin-
ical examination;

(B) either: (i) Three years of clinical practice in a community mental 
health center, its contracted affiliate or a state mental hospital; or (ii) 
three years of clinical practice in other settings with demonstrated ex-
perience in diagnosing or treating mental disorders; or

(C) attestation from one professional licensed to diagnose and treat 
mental disorders in independent practice or licensed to practice medi-
cine and surgery that the applicant is competent to diagnose and treat 
mental disorders.

(3) A licensed clinical psychotherapist may engage in the indepen-
dent practice of master’s level psychology and is authorized to diagnose 
and treat mental disorders specified in the edition of the diagnostic and 
statistical manual of mental disorders of the American psychiatric asso-
ciation designated by the board by rules and regulations. When a client 
has symptoms of a mental disorder, a licensed clinical psychotherapist 
shall consult with the client’s primary care physician or psychiatrist to 
determine if there may be a medical condition or medication that may 
be causing or contributing to the client’s symptoms of a mental disor-
der. A client may request in writing that such consultation be waived 
and such request shall be made a part of the client’s record. A licensed 
clinical psychotherapist may continue to evaluate and treat the client 
until such time that the medical consultation is obtained or waived.

(d) The board shall adopt rules and regulations establishing the cri-
teria which that an educational institution shall satisfy in meeting the 
requirements established under subsection (b)(3). The board may send 
a questionnaire developed by the board to any educational institution 
for which the board does not have sufficient information to determine 
whether the educational institution meets the requirements of subsection 
(b)(3) and rules and regulations adopted under this section. The ques-
tionnaire providing the necessary information shall be completed and re-
turned to the board in order for the educational institution to be consid-
ered for approval. The board may contract with investigative agencies, 
commissions or consultants to assist the board in obtaining information 
about educational institutions. In entering such contracts the authority 
to approve educational institutions shall remain solely with the board.

Sec. 31. K.S.A. 74-5367a is hereby amended to read as follows: 74-
5367a. (a) Upon written application and board approval, an individual 
who is licensed to engage in the independent clinical practice of mas-
ters level psychology at the clinical level in another jurisdiction and, 
who is in good standing in that other jurisdiction and who has engaged in 
the clinical practice of masters level psychology in that jurisdiction for at least 
two years immediately preceding application may engage in the indepen-
dent practice of clinical masters level psychology as provided by K.S.A. 
74-5361 et seq., and amendments thereto, in this state for no not more 
than 15 30 days per year upon receipt of a temporary permit to practice 
issued by the board. Such individual engaging in such practice in this state 
shall provide quarterly reports to the board on a form approved by the board 
detailing the total days of practice in this state.

(b) Any clinical masters level psychology services rendered within 
any 24-hour period shall count as one entire day of clinical masters lev-
el psychology services.

(c) The temporary permit to practice shall be effective on the date 
of approval by the board and shall expire December 31 of that year one 
year after issuance. Upon written application and for good cause shown, 
the board may extend the temporary permit to practice no more than 
15 additional days not later than 30 days before the expiration of a temporary 
permit and under emergency circumstances, as defined by the board, the board 
may extend the temporary permit for not more than one additional year. Such 
extended temporary permit shall authorize the individual to practice in this 
state for an additional 30 days during the additional year. Such individual 
engaging in such practice shall provide quarterly reports to the board on a form 
approved by the board detailing the total days of practice in this state.

(d) The board may charge a fee of a maximum of $200 for a tempo-
rary permit to practice and a fee of a maximum of $200 for an extension 
of a temporary permit to practice as established by rules and regula-
tions of the board.

(e) A person who holds a temporary permit to practice clinical 
masters level psychology in this state shall be deemed to have submit-
ted to the jurisdiction of the board and shall be bound by the statutes 

(continued)
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and regulations that govern the practice of clinical masters level psy-
chology in this state.

(f) In accordance with the Kansas administrative procedures procedure 
act, the board may issue a cease and desist order or assess a fine of up to 
$1,000 per day, or both, against a person licensed in another jurisdiction 
who engages in the independent practice of clinical masters level psychol-
ogy in this state without complying with the provisions of this section.

(g) This act shall be a part of and supplemental to the licensure of 
masters level psychologists act.

Sec. 32. K.S.A. 74-5369 is hereby amended to read as follows: 74-
5369. (a) The board may refuse to issue, renew or reinstate a license, 
may condition, limit, revoke or suspend a license, may publicly or pri-
vately censure a licensee or may impose a fine not to exceed $1,000 per 
violation upon a finding that a licensee or an applicant for licensure:

(1) Is incompetent to practice psychology, which. “Incompetent to 
practice psychology” means:

(A) One or more instances involving failure to adhere to the appli-
cable standard of care to a degree that constitutes gross negligence, as 
determined by the board;

(B) repeated instances involving failure to adhere to the applicable 
standard of care to a degree that constitutes ordinary negligence, as 
determined by the board; or

(C) a pattern of practice or other behavior that demonstrates a man-
ifest incapacity or incompetence to practice master’s level psychology;

(2) has been convicted of a felony offense and has not demonstrat-
ed to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently re-
habilitated to merit the public trust;

(3) has been convicted of a misdemeanor against persons and has 
not demonstrated to the board’s satisfaction that such person has been 
sufficiently rehabilitated to merit the public trust;

(4) is currently listed on a child abuse registry or an adult protec-
tive services registry as the result of a substantiated finding of abuse 
or neglect by any state agency, agency of another state, the District of 
Columbia or the United States, territory of the United States or anoth-
er country and the applicant or licensee has not demonstrated to the 
board’s satisfaction that such person has been sufficiently rehabilitated 
to merit the public trust;

(5) has violated a provision of the licensure of master’s level psy-
chologists act or one or more rules and regulations of the board;

(6) has obtained or attempted to obtain a license or license renewal 
by bribery or fraudulent representation;

(7) has knowingly made a false statement on a form required by the 
board for a license or license renewal;

(8) has failed to obtain continuing education credits as required by 
rules and regulations adopted by the board;

(9) has been found to have engaged in unprofessional conduct as 
defined by applicable rules and regulations of the board; or

(10) has had a professional registration, license or certificate as a 
master’s level psychologist revoked, suspended or limited, or has had 
other disciplinary action taken, or an application for a registration, li-
cense or certificate denied, by the proper regulatory authority of anoth-
er state, territory, District of Columbia or another country, a certified 

copy of the record of the action of the other jurisdiction being conclu-
sive evidence thereof; or

(11) has violated any lawful order or directive of the board previously en-
tered by the board.

(b) For issuance of a new license or reinstatement of a revoked or 
suspended license for a licensee or applicant for licensure with a felony 
conviction, the board may only issue or reinstate such license by a 2/3 
majority vote.

(c) Administrative proceedings and disciplinary actions regarding 
licensure under the licensure of master’s level psychologists act shall 
be conducted in accordance with the Kansas administrative procedure 
act. Judicial review and civil enforcement of agency actions under the 
licensure of master’s level psychologists act shall be in accordance with 
the Kansas judicial review act.

Sec. 33. K.S.A. 65-425, 65-431, 65-5804a, 65-5807a, 65-5808, 65-5809, 
65-6309a, 65-6311, 65-6404, 65-6405a, 65-6408, 65-6610, 65-6612, 65-6615, 
74-5316a, 74-5324, 74-5363, 74-5367a and 74-5369 and K.S.A. 2020 Supp. 
65-6306 and 65-6411 are hereby repealed.

Sec. 34. This act shall take effect and be in force from and after its 
publication in the Kansas register.

Doc. No. 049111

State of Kansas
Board of Technical Professions
Permanent Administrative Regulation

Article 12.—MINIMUM STANDARDS FOR THE 
PRACTICE OF PROFESSIONAL SURVEYING

66-12-1. Minimum standards for the practice of 
professional surveying. The board hereby adopts by ref-
erence “the minimum standards for boundary surveys 
and minimum standards for mortgagee title inspections 
standards of practice” adopted by the Kansas society of 
land surveyors on November 21, 2020. (Authorized by 
and implementing K.S.A. 74-7013; effective May 4, 1992; 
amended Feb. 14, 1994; amended Feb. 13, 1995; amend-
ed March 1, 1996; amended Feb. 4, 2000; amended Jan. 
23, 2009; amended June 18, 2010; amended Jan. 6, 2012; 
amended, T-66-5-30-14, July 1, 2014; amended Sept. 26, 
2014; amended May 21, 2021.)

Larry Karns
Executive Director

Doc. No. 049107
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ANIMAL HEALTH

Reg. No. Action Register
9-2-35 New V. 39, p. 1358
9-3-9 Amended V. 39, p. 1359

AGENCY 10: KANSAS BUREAU  
OF INVESTIGATION

Reg. No. Action Register
10-24-1 New (T) V. 39, p. 732
10-24-1 New V. 39, p. 1074
10-24-2 New (T) V. 39, p. 732
10-24-2 New V.39, p. 1074

10-24-3 New (T) V. 39, p. 732
10-24-3 New V. 39, p. 1075

AGENCY 11: DEPARTMENT OF  
AGRICULTURE—DIVISION OF  

CONSERVATION

Reg. No. Action Register
11-9-5 Amended V. 40, p. 427

AGENCY 16: ATTORNEY GENERAL

Reg. No. Action Register
16-14-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1155
16-14-10 Amended V. 39, p. 1155
16-14-11 Amended V. 39, p. 1155
16-19-1 New V. 39, p. 208
16-19-2 New V. 39, p. 208
16-19-3 New V. 39, p. 208
16-20-1 New (T) V. 39, p. 462
16-20-1 New V. 39, p. 1075

AGENCY 17: OFFICE OF THE  
STATE BANK COMMISSIONER

Reg. No. Action Register
17-23-9 Revoked V. 39, p. 146

AGENCY 21: HUMAN RIGHTS 
COMMISSION

Reg. No. Action Register
21-40-10 Revoked V. 40, p. 265
21-41-1 Revoked V. 40, p. 265
21-41-2 Amended V. 40, p. 265
21-41-3 Amended V. 40, p. 265
21-41-4 Revoked V. 40, p. 265
21-41-6 Amended V. 40, p. 265
21-41-8 Amended V. 40, p. 265
21-41-10 Amended V. 40, p. 265
21-41-11 Revoked V. 40, p. 265

AGENCY 22: STATE FIRE MARSHAL

Reg. No. Action Register
22-26-1 New (T) V. 40, p. 161
22-26-2 New (T) V. 40, p. 162
22-26-3 New (T) V. 40, p. 163
22-26-4 New (T) V. 40, p. 163
22-26-5 New (T) V. 40, p. 164
22-26-6 New (T) V. 40, p. 164
22-26-7 New (T) V. 40, p. 164
22-26-8 New (T) V. 40, p. 164
22-26-9 New (T) V. 40, p. 164
22-26-10 New (T) V. 40, p. 165
22-26-11 New (T) V. 40, p. 165
22-26-12 New (T) V. 40, p. 165
22-26-13 New (T) V. 40, p. 166
22-26-14 New (T) V. 40, p. 166
22-26-15 New (T) V. 40, p. 167
22-26-16 New (T) V. 40, p. 167

AGENCY 26: DEPARTMENT FOR  
AGING AND DISABILITY SERVICES

Reg. No. Action Register
26-38-1 New V. 39, p. 1155
26-38-2 New V. 39, p. 1156
26-38-3 New V. 39, p. 1157
26-38-4 New V. 39, p. 1157
26-38-5 New V. 39, p. 1157
26-38-6 New V. 39, p. 1158
26-38-7 New V. 39, p. 1158
26-38-8 New V. 39, p. 1159
26-38-9 New V. 39, p. 1160
26-38-10 New V. 39, p. 1160
26-38-11 New V. 39, p. 1160 

AGENCY 28: DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
AND ENVIRONMENT

Reg. No. Action Register
28-1-40 New (T) V. 39, p. 1018

28-1-40 New V. 39, p. 1384
28-1-41 New (T) V. 39, p. 1018
28-1-41 New V. 39, p. 1384
28-1-42 New (T) V. 39, p. 1018
28-1-42 New V. 39, p. 1384
28-1-43 New (T) V. 39, p. 1018
28-1-43 New V. 39, p. 1385
28-1-44 New (T) V. 39, p. 1019
28-1-44 New V. 39, p. 1385
28-15-52 Amended V. 39, p. 171
28-15-53 Amended V. 39, p. 171
28-19-719 Revoked V. 39, p. 1459
28-19-720 Amended V. 39, p. 1459
28-24-1 Amended V. 39, p. 336
28-24-2 Amended V. 39, p. 336
28-24-3 Amended V. 39, p. 336
28-24-4 Amended V. 39, p. 337
28-24-5 Amended V. 39, p. 337
28-24-6 Amended V. 39, p. 337
28-24-7 Amended V. 39, p. 337
28-24-8 Amended V. 39, p. 337
28-24-9 Amended V. 39, p. 337
28-24-10 Amended V. 39, p. 338
28-24-11 Amended V. 39, p. 338
28-24-12 Amended V. 39, p. 338
28-24-13 Amended V. 39, p. 339
28-24-14 Amended V. 39, p. 339
28-38-18 Revoked V. 39, p. 1160
28-38-19 Revoked V. 39, p. 1160
28-38-20 Revoked V. 39, p. 1160
28-38-21 Revoked V. 39, p. 1160
28-38-22 Revoked V. 39, p. 1161
28-38-23 Revoked V. 39, p. 1161
28-38-26 Revoked V. 39, p. 1161
28-38-28 Revoked V. 39, p. 1161
28-38-29 Revoked V. 39, p. 1161
28-38-30 Revoked V. 39, p. 1161
28-44-12 Amended V. 39, p. 819
28-44-13 Amended V. 39, p. 819
28-44-14 Amended V. 39, p. 819
28-44-15 Amended V. 39, p. 820
28-44-16 Amended V. 39, p. 820
28-44-17 Amended V. 39, p. 820
28-44-18 Amended V. 39, p. 821
28-44-19 Amended V. 39, p. 821
28-44-20 Amended V. 39, p. 821
28-44-21 Amended V. 39, p. 821
28-44-22 Amended V. 39, p. 822
28-44-23 Amended V. 39, p. 822
28-44-24 Amended V. 39, p. 822
28-44-25 Amended V. 39, p. 822
28-44-26 Amended V. 39, p. 823
28-44-27 Amended V. 39, p. 823
28-44-28 Revoked V. 39, p. 824
28-44-29 Amended V. 39, p. 824
28-44-30 New V. 39, p. 825
28-44-31 New V. 39, p. 825
28-65-1 Amended V. 40, p. 318
28-65-2 Amended V. 40, p. 318
28-65-3 Amended V. 40, p. 318
28-65-4 Amended V. 40, p. 319

AGENCY 36: KANSAS DEPARTMENT 
OF TRANSPORTATION

Reg. No. Action Register
36-45-1 New (T) V. 39, p. 1104
36-45-1 New V. 39, p. 1490
36-45-2 New (T) V. 39, p. 1105
36-45-2 New V. 39, p. 1491
36-45-3 New (T) V. 39, p. 1105
36-45-3 New V. 39, p. 1491
36-45-4 New (T) V. 39, p. 1106
36-45-4 New V. 39, p. 1491
36-45-5 New (T) V. 39, p. 1106
36-45-5 New V. 39, p. 1492
36-45-6 New (T) V. 39, p. 1106

http://www.sos.ks.gov/pubs/pubs_kar.aspx
http://www.sos.ks.gov/pubs/pubs_kar.aspx
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36-45-6 New V. 39, p. 1492
36-45-7 New (T) V. 39, p. 1106
36-45-7 New V. 39, p. 1492
36-45-8 New (T) V. 39, p. 1107
36-45-8 New V. 39, p. 1493
36-45-10 New (T) V. 39, p. 1108
36-45-10 New V. 39, p. 1494

AGENCY 40: INSURANCE  
DEPARTMENT

Reg. No. Action Register
40-1-28 Amended V. 40, p. 191
40-1-52 New V. 40, p. 191

AGENCY 60: BOARD OF  
NURSING

Reg. No. Action Register
60-11-116 Amended V. 39, p. 1021
60-11-119 Amended V. 39, p. 1022
60-13-110 Amended V. 39, p. 1022
60-16-101 Amended V. 39, p. 12
60-16-103 Amended V. 39, p. 12
60-16-104 Amended V. 39, p. 13

AGENCY 61: BOARD OF  
BARBERING

Reg. No. Action Register
61-4-3 New V. 40, p. 161

AGENCY 66: BOARD OF  
TECHNICAL PROFESSIONS

Reg. No. Action Register
66-6-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1425
66-6-10 Amended V. 39, p. 1426
66-7-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1427
66-8-3 Amended V. 39, p. 1427
66-8-4 Amended V. 39, p. 1427
66-9-5 Amended V. 39, p. 1427
66-10-4 Amended V. 39, p. 1427
66-10-9 Amended V. 39, p. 1428
66-10-10b Amended V. 39, p. 1428
66-10-10c New V. 39, p. 1428
66-10-12 Amended V. 39, p. 1428
66-10-13 Amended V. 39, p. 1429
66-11-5 Amended V. 39, p. 1429
66-14-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1429
66-14-2 Amended V. 39, p. 1430
66-14-3 Amended V. 39, p. 1430
66-14-5 Amended V. 39, p. 1430
66-14-6 Amended V. 39, p. 1431
66-14-7 Amended V. 39, p. 1431
66-14-8 Amended V. 39, p. 1431
66-14-9 Amended V. 39, p. 1431
66-14-10 Revoked V. 39, p. 1431
66-14-11 Revoked V. 39, p. 1431
66-14-12 Amended V. 39, p. 1431
66-15-1 New V. 39, p. 14

AGENCY 68: BOARD OF PHARMACY

Reg. No. Action Register
68-2-5 Amended V. 39, p. 105
68-5-16 Amended V. 39, p. 106

AGENCY 69:  BOARD OF  
COSMETOLOGY

Reg. No. Action Register
69-3-8 Amended (T) V. 39, p. 1186
69-3-8 Amended V. 39, p. 1583

AGENCY 70:  BOARD OF  
VETERINARY EXAMINERS

Reg. No. Action Register
70-5-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1495

AGENCY 74:  BOARD OF  
ACCOUNTANCY

Reg. No. Action Register
74-1-3 Amended V. 38, p. 1337

AGENCY 82: STATE CORPORATION 
COMMISSION

Reg. No. Action Register
82-4-3a Amended (T) V. 39, p. 1188
82-4-3a Amended V. 39, p. 1608
82-4-30a Amended (T) V. 39, p. 1383
82-4-30a Amended V. 40, p. 160

AGENCY 86: REAL ESTATE  
COMMISSION

Reg. No. Action Register
86-1-10 Amended V. 39, p. 54
86-1-11 Amended V. 39, p. 55
86-1-12 Amended V. 39, p. 56
86-1-13 Revoked V. 39, p. 56
86-1-16 Revoked V. 39, p. 56
86-1-17 Amended V. 39, p. 56
86-1-18 Revoked V. 39, p. 56
86-3-6a Revoked V. 39, p. 56
86-3-7 Amended V. 39, p. 56
86-3-10 Amended V. 40, p. 497
86-3-18 Amended V. 40, 497
86-3-20 Revoked V. 39, p. 57
86-3-21 Revoked V. 40, p. 498
86-3-22 Amended V. 40, p. 498

AGENCY 88: BOARD OF REGENTS

Reg. No. Action Register
88-10-1 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-10-2 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-10-3 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-10-4 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-10-5 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-10-6 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-10-7 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-10-8 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-10-10 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-10-12 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-11-1 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-11-2 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-11-3 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-11-4 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-11-5 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-11-6 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-11-7 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-11-8 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-11-9 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-11-11 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-11-12 Revoked V. 39, p. 1270
88-25-1 New V. 39, p. 748
88-25-2 New V. 39, p. 748
88-25-3 New V. 39, p. 748
88-25-4 New V. 39, p. 748
88-25-5 New V. 39, p. 748
88-29-1 Revoked V. 39, p. 1215
88-29-3 Amended V. 39, p. 1215
88-29-11 Revoked V. 39, p. 1216
88-29-12 Amended V. 39, p. 1216
88-29-13 Amended V. 39, p. 1216
88-29-14 Amended V. 39, p. 1218
88-29-15 Amended V. 39, p. 1218
88-29-16 Amended V. 39, p. 1219
88-29-17 Amended V. 39, p. 1220
88-29-18 Revoked V. 39, p. 1221
88-29-19 Revoked V. 39, p. 1221
88-29a-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1221
88-29a-5 Amended V. 39, p. 1223
88-29a-6 Amended V. 39, p. 1223
88-29a-7 Amended V. 39, p. 1223
88-29a-7a Amended V. 39, p. 1224
88-29a-9 Amended V. 39, p. 1224
88-29a-10 Amended V. 39, p. 1225
88-29a-11 Amended V. 39, p. 1227

88-29a-18 Amended V. 39, p. 1228
88-29a-19 Amended V. 39, p. 1229
88-29b-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1229
88-29b-3 Amended V. 39, p. 1231
88-29b-5 Amended V. 39, p. 1231
88-29b-6 Amended V. 39, p. 1232
88-29b-7 Amended V. 39, p. 1233
88-29b-7a Amended V. 39, p. 1234
88-29b-9 Amended V. 39, p. 1234
88-29b-10 Amended V. 39, p. 1235
88-29c-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1236
88-29c-5 Amended V. 39, p. 1238
88-29c-7 Amended V. 39, p. 1238
88-29c-9 Amended V. 39, p. 1238
88-29c-10 Amended V. 39, p. 1239
88-29d-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1240
88-29d-5 Amended V. 39, p. 1241
88-29d-7 Amended V. 39, p. 1242
88-29d-9 Amended V. 39, p. 1242
88-29d-10 Amended V. 39, p. 1243
88-30-1 Amended (T) V. 39, p. 890
88-30-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1269
88-30-2 Amended V. 39, p. 1270

AGENCY 92: DEPARTMENT  
OF REVENUE

Reg. No. Action Register
92-19-47 Revoked V. 40, p. 290
92-19-67 Revoked V. 40, p. 290

AGENCY 100: BOARD OF  
HEALING ARTS

Reg. No. Action Register
100-6-2 Amended V. 40, p. 571
100-6-2a New V. 40, p. 290
100-7-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1359
100-8-3 New V. 40, p. 572
100-15-4 Amended V. 40, p. 572
100-15-5 Amended V. 40, p. 573
100-76-6 Amended V. 39, p. 1360
100-78-1 New (T) V. 39, p. 250
100-78-1 New V. 39, p. 570
100-78-2 New (T) V. 39, p. 250
100-78-2 New V. 39, p. 570

AGENCY 105: BOARD OF  
INDIGENTS’ DEFENSE SERVICES

Reg. No. Action Register
105-5-2 Amended V. 39, p. 252
105-5-3 Amended V. 39, p. 252
105-5-6 Amended V. 39, p. 252
105-5-7 Amended V. 39, p. 252
105-5-8 Amended V. 39, p. 252

AGENCY 109: BOARD OF  
EMERGENCY MEDICAL SERVICES

Reg. No. Action Register
109-3-3 Amended V. 39, p. 30 
109-3-4 Amended V. 39, p. 31 
109-5-1a Amended V. 39, p.32
109-11-1a Amended V. 39, p.32

AGENCY 111: KANSAS LOTTERY

A complete index listing all regulations filed 
by the Kansas Lottery from 1988 through 2000 
can be found in the Vol. 19, No. 52, December 
28, 2000 Kansas Register. A list of regulations 
filed from 2001 through 2003 can be found in 
the Vol. 22, No. 52, December 25, 2003 Kansas 
Register. A list of regulations filed from 2004 
through 2005 can be found in the Vol. 24, No. 
52, December 29, 2005 Kansas Register. A list 
of regulations filed from 2006 through 2007 
can be found in the Vol. 26, No. 52, December 
27, 2007 Kansas Register. A list of regulations 
filed from 2008 through November 2009 can 
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be found in the Vol. 28, No. 53, December 
31, 2009 Kansas Register. A list of regulations 
filed from December 1, 2009, through Decem-
ber 21, 2011, can be found in the Vol. 30, No. 
52, December 29, 2011 Kansas Register. A list 
of regulations filed from December 22, 2011, 
through November 6, 2013, can be found in 
the Vol. 32, No. 52, December 26, 2013 Kansas 
Register. A list of regulations filed from No-
vember 7, 2013, through December 31, 2015, 
can be found in the Vol. 34, No. 53, December 
31, 2015 Kansas Register. A list of regulations 
filed from 2016 through 2017, can be found in 
the Vol. 36, No. 52, December 28, 2017 Kansas 
Register. A list of regulations filed from 2018 
through 2019, can be found in the Vol. 38, No. 
52, December 26, 2019 Kansas Register.
Reg. No. Action Register
111-2-328 New V. 39, p. 1460
111-4-3595 New V. 39, p. 57
111-4-3596 New V. 39, p. 58
111-4-3597 New V. 39, p. 59
111-4-3598 New V. 39, p. 60
111-4-3599 New V. 39, p. 61 
111-4-3600 New V. 39, p. 63
111-4-3601 New V. 39, p. 532
111-4-3602 New V. 39, p. 533
111-4-3603 New V. 39, p. 570
111-4-3604 New V. 39, p. 572
111-4-3605 New V. 39, p. 573
111-4-3606 New V. 39, p. 574
111-4-3607 New V. 39, p. 576
111-4-3608 New V. 39, p. 621
111-4-3609 New V. 39, p. 623
111-4-3610 New V. 39, p. 624
111-4-3611 New V. 39, p. 854
111-4-3612 New V. 39, p. 855
111-4-3613 New V. 39, p. 856
111-4-3614 New V. 39, p. 858
111-4-3615 New V. 39, p. 859
111-4-3616 New V. 39, p. 860
111-4-3617 New V. 39, p. 861
111-4-3618 New V. 39, p. 862
111-4-3619 New V. 39, p. 862
111-4-3620 New V. 39, p. 864
111-4-3621 New V. 39, p. 865
111-4-3623 New V. 39, p. 866
111-4-3624 New V. 39, p. 891
111-4-3625 New V. 39, p. 892
111-4-3626 New V. 39, p. 893
111-4-3627 New V. 39, p. 894
111-4-3628 New V. 39, p. 896
111-4-3629 New V. 39, p. 897
111-4-3630 New V. 39, p. 900
111-4-3631 New V. 39, p. 1076
111-4-3632 New V. 39, p. 1077
111-4-3633 New V. 39, p. 1109
111-4-3634 New V. 39, p. 1109
111-4-3635 New V. 39, p. 1110
111-4-3636 New V. 39, p. 1111
111-4-3637 New V. 39, p. 1113
111-4-3638 New V. 39, p. 1114
111-4-3639 New V. 39, p. 1333
111-4-3640 New V. 39, p. 1334
111-4-3641 New V. 39, p. 1335
111-4-3642 New V. 39, p. 1336

111-4-3643 New V. 39, p. 1404
111-4-3644 New V. 39, p. 1460
111-4-3645 New V. 39, p. 1462
111-4-3646 New V. 39, p. 1463
111-4-3647 New V. 39, p. 1465
111-4-3648 New V. 39, p. 1466
111-4-3649 New V. 40, p. 40
111-4-3650 New V. 40, p. 41
111-4-3651 New V. 40, p. 192
111-4-3652 New V. 40, p. 193
111-4-3653 New V. 40, p. 194
111-4-3654 New V. 40, p. 196
111-4-3655 New V. 40, p. 197
111-4-3656 New V. 40, p. 199
111-4-3657 New V. 40, p. 427
111-4-3658 New V. 40, p. 573
111-4-3659 New V. 40, p. 575
111-4-3660 New V. 40, p. 576
111-5-223 Amended V. 40, p. 428
111-5-245 New V. 39, p. 577
111-5-246 New V. 40, p. 429
111-9-223 New V. 39, p. 625
111-9-224 New V. 39, p. 867
111-9-225 New V. 40, p. 578
111-15-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1405
111-15-3 Amended V. 39, p. 1080
111-15-4 Amended V. 39, p. 1081
111-15-5 Amended V. 39, p. 1081
111-15-6 Amended V. 39, p. 1081
111-15-10 Amended V. 39, p. 1082
111-19-72 Amended V. 39, p. 64
111-19-73 New V. 39, p. 64
111-19-74 New V. 39, p. 65
111-19-75 New V. 39, p. 65
111-19-76 New V. 39, p. 74
111-19-77 New V. 39, p. 578
111-19-78 New V. 39, p. 579
111-19-79 New V. 39, p. 580
111-19-80 New V. 39, p. 626
111-19-81 New V. 39, p. 626
111-19-82 New V. 39, p. 868
111-19-83 New V. 39, p. 868
111-19-84 New V. 39, p. 868
111-19-85 New V. 39, p. 869
111-19-86 New V. 39, p. 870
111-19-87 New V. 39, p. 901
111-19-88 New V. 39, p. 901
111-19-89 New V. 39, p. 1082
111-19-90 New V. 39, p. 1115
111-19-91 New V. 39, p. 1116
111-19-92 New V. 39, p. 1116
111-19-93 New V. 39, p. 1337
111-19-94 New V. 39, p. 1405
111-19-95 New V. 39, p. 1405
111-19-96 New V. 39, p. 1406
111-19-97 New V. 40, p. 42
111-19-98 New V. 40, p. 43
111-19-99 New V. 40, p. 44
111-19-100 New V. 40, p. 200
111-19-101 New V. 40, p. 430
111-19-102 New V. 40, p. 578
111-19-103 New V. 40, p. 579
111-301-4 Amended V. 39, p. 534
111-301-5 Amended V. 39, p. 534
111-301-6 Amended V. 39, p. 535
111-301-43 Amended V. 39, p. 537

111-301-60 Amended V. 39, p. 66
111-301-62 Amended V. 39, p. 67
111-301-64 Amended V. 39, p. 538
111-301-66 Amended V. 39, p. 538
111-301-72 New V. 39, p. 1338
111-301-73 New V. 39, p. 1338
111-301-74 New V. 39, p. 1338
111-301-75 New V. 39, p. 1338
111-301-76 New V. 39, p. 1339
111-302-4 Amended V. 39, p. 68
111-302-5 Amended V. 39, p. 1082
111-305-5 Amended V. 39, p. 539
111-305-6 Amended V. 39, p. 539
111-401-253 New V. 39, p. 69
111-401-254 New V. 39, p. 69
111-401-255 New V. 39, p. 71
111-501-71 Amended V. 39, p. 1340
111-501-81 Amended V. 39, p. 1340
111-501-105 Amended V. 40, p. 430
111-501-107 Amended V. 40, p. 431
111-501-108 Amended V. 40, p. 431
111-501-109 Amended V. 40, p. 431
111-501-149 New V. 39, p. 72
111-501-150 New V. 39, p. 72
111-501-151 New V. 39, p. 73
111-501-152 New V. 39, p. 73
111-501-153 New V. 39, p. 74
111-601-4 Amended V. 39, p. 1117
111-601-6 Amended V. 39, p. 1117
111-601-35 Amended V. 40, p. 580

AGENCY 112: KANSAS RACING AND 
GAMING COMMISSION

Reg. No. Action Register
112-105-1 Amended V. 39, p. 251

AGENCY 115: DEPARTMENT OF  
WILDLIFE, PARKS AND TOURISM

Reg. No. Action Register
115-1-1 Amended V. 40, p. 498
115-2-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1525
115-4-2 Amended V. 39, p. 617
115-4-4 Amended V. 39, p. 618
115-4-4a Amended V. 39, p. 1527
115-4-6 Amended V. 40, p. 500
115-5-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1103
115-6-1 Amended V. 39, p. 1103
115-7-3 Amended V. 39, p. 1528
115-7-10 Amended  V. 39, p. 1528
115-14-12 Amended V. 39, p. 1271
115-14-13 Amended V. 39, p. 1273
115-14-14 Amended V. 39, p. 1275
115-18-7 Revoked V. 39, p. 1528
115-18-10 Amended V. 39, p. 1528
115-18-12 Amended V. 39, p. 1529

AGENCY 129: DEPARTMENT OF  
HEALTH AND ENVIRONMENT— 

DIVISION OF HEALTH CARE FINANCE

Reg. No. Action Register
129-6-103 Amended V. 39, p. 1557
129-9-9 New (T) V. 39, p. 647
129-9-9 New V. 39, p. 1019
129-10-31 Amended V. 39, p. 800



Kansas Register
Secretary of State
1st Floor, Memorial Hall
120 SW 10th Ave.
Topeka, KS 66612-1594


	_Hlk53750491
	_Hlk65575354
	_Hlk65656959
	_GoBack

