
Prepared by
Kris W. Kobach

Kansas Secretary of State

A Guide 
to Voter 

Registration 
Drives 

2018

Election Dates

Important Dates for Primary Election

Friday, June 1
Deadline to change party 
affiliation before primary

Tuesday, July 17
Deadline to register to 

vote in primary

Friday, July 31
Deadline to apply for an 

advance ballot to be mailed

Tuesday, August 7
Primary Election

Important Dates for General Election

Tuesday, October 16
Deadline to register to vote

Tuesday, October 30
Deadline to apply for an 

advance ballot to be mailed

Tuesday, November 6
General Election

You Must Not:
•	 Pressure anyone into registering or not registering.

•	 Destroy, fail to deliver or obstruct the prompt 
delivery of applications by the deadline.

•	 Attempt to influence a person’s party affiliation.

•	 Screen applicants or process their applications 
in any way. Do not fail to deliver any applica-
tion on the basis of party affiliation, residence 
or other characteristics.

You May:
•	 Complete a form for a registrant by typing 

or writing the information in the blanks for 
the person, but you may not sign the form for 
the applicant unless requested to do so by an 
applicant with a disability.

•	 Contact your county election office or the sec-
retary of state’s office if you have questions.

Contact Information
Kansas Secretary of State
Memorial Hall, 1st Floor
120 SW 10th Avenue | Topeka, KS 66612-1594
800-262-VOTE (8683) or 785-296-4561
Fax: 785-291-3051
www.sos.ks.gov | www.voteks.org
election@sos.ks.gov

County information may be found at 
www.sos.ks.gov/elections/elections_registration_ceo.asp

Legal Sources: Kansas Constitution Article 5, K.S.A. 25-2309, 25-2421a. Rev. 7/26/18 tc

www.voteks.org
800-262-VOTE (8683)



Voter Registration Drives 

Forms:
Voter registration must be done on a form approved 
by the secretary of state. The same form is used 
to register, change names, change addresses, or to 
affiliate with a party or change affiliation.

Print the voter registration form in English or Span-
ish at the secretary of state’s website at www.sos.
ks.gov/forms/elections/voterregistration.pdf. 
Photocopy the form as needed. You may type all the 
information requested except the signature, print the 
form, sign it and mail, deliver or fax it to the sec-
retary of state’s office or the county election office.

You may obtain up to 25 copies of the form free 
of charge by contacting the secretary of state’s 
office or the county election office. For a larger 
supply, please submit a written request. We ask 
that you return unused forms to the office where 
you obtained them.

Registration is also offered online for people who 
have current and valid Kansas driver’s licenses, at 
www.kdor.ks.gov/apps/voterreg.

Qualifications of Voters:
The Kansas Constitution requires a person to be a 
U.S. citizen, Kansas resident and 18 years of age 
or older in order to be eligible to vote. Kansas law 
provides that a person must register to vote in order 
to be entitled to vote.

Persons serving sentences for felony convic-
tions are ineligible to vote until their sentences 
are fulfilled.

Persons who are 17 years old may register to vote 
if they will be 18 years old by the next election.

A person should re-register when moving or chang-
ing their name or political party.

Deadline:
The deadline to register to vote before any election 
is the 21st day before the election. Forms must 
be received in the county election office or the 
secretary of state’s office by that date in order for 
registrants to be eligible to vote in the upcoming 
election. Applications postmarked by that date will 
be accepted, or if the postmark is illegible or miss-
ing, the application will be accepted if received by 
the ninth day before the election.

Any person conducting a registration drive must 
mail, deliver or fax all forms to the county or 
state election office as soon as they are completed 
by the applicants or by the registration deadline 
before the election.

Processing Applications:
The county election office processes all applica-
tions and mails a notice to each applicant stat-
ing the applicant has been added to the list of 
registered voters and informing the applicant 
of the precinct and polling place location. If 
the application was incomplete, the notice will 
tell the applicant what additional information is 
needed. A person who submits an application is 
not a registered voter until the county election 
office has processed the application and added 
the person’s name to the list or registered voters.

Voters may go to VoterView at www.voteks.org 
to check their registration status.

You Must:
•	 Make sure applicants complete the circles con-

cerning U.S. citizenship and age. Applications will 
be rejected if these questions are not answered.

•	 Emphasize that applicants must meet the con-
stitutional qualifications to register to vote.

•	 Check applications for completion and legibility.

•	 Observe all deadlines so you don’t disenfran-
chise any registrants.

•	 Return any unused forms to the county or state 
election office.

Kansas law requires a qualified 
elector to register to vote before 
voting.

Federal and state laws allow any person to 
conduct voter registration drives. This is a 
guide for voter registration drives in Kansas.


